Sports – the last frontier to unite Malaysians – is now used to divide Malaysians

Sports - the last frontier to unite Malaysians - is now used to divide Malaysians

Sports – the last frontier to unite Malaysians – is now used to divide Malaysians.

This is what I told the Sports and Youth Minister, Datuk Azalina binti Othman Said in Parliament during the winding-up of the Royal Address debate yesterday.

As proof, I gave three instances:

1. Newly-crowned All-England doubles champions Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong being “forced” by Deputy Sports and Youth Minister, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai to campaign for MCA and Barisan Nasional in the Machap by-election by making an appearance at the “Malaysia Love Badminton Campaign” in Machap on Sunday.

2. Sports Commissioners Tan Sri Elyas Omar approving and registering Malaysian Sepaktakraw Association as a “sports body” under Section 11 of the Sports Development Act 1997 although it violated the law with its very narrow and discriminatory provision in its by-laws.

Section 13.10 of the Malaysian Sepaktakraw Association Constitution stipulating that “Semua Ahli Majlis Tertinggi dan setiap Pegawai dalam Persatuan hendaklah terdiri dari Bumiptuera Warganegara Malaysia” violates Section 2 of Second Schedule of the Sports Development Act 1997 on “Constitution and Rules of Sports Bodies Acting as the Governing or Representative Body of its Sports at National Level” which reads:

“2. Its activities are conducted without discrimination as to sex, race, colour, religion, social origin, language, political inclination or any other opinion held by its members.”

3. Sports Ministry discriminating against Malaysian Cricket Association by channeling all its funds to the Malaysian Malay Cricket Association.

Azalina cannot be blamed for the abuse of powers in forcing Kien Keat and Boon Heong to help MCA in its Machap by-election campaign, for it was clearly the brain-wave of the Deputy Sports and Youth Minister and MCA Youth leader, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai.

But it was just wrong and most deplorable to manipulate and commandeer Kien Keat and Boon Heong to serve the MCA Machap by-election campaign.

I told Azalina and Parliament aht Kien Keat and Boon Heong are heroes for all Malaysians, regardless of political beliefs, race, religion or age, and all Malaysians hope that they can advance to greater glories in badminton for themselves and the nation — winning the Thomas Cup and Olympic Gold.

It is all the more contemptible on the part of the MCA Youth leader to diminish Kien Keat and Boon Heong’s status as heroes for all Malaysians by forcing them to be part of the MCA Machap by-election campaign – an abuse of power which must be condemned by all right-thinking Malaysians.

As for the second and third instances, Azalina said she would need to check before making any comments.

1. #1 by Taiko on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 5:22 pm

The gahmen itself can’t differentiate many other things from politics.

2. #2 by malaysia born on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 5:22 pm

so what else is new in malaysia?

eversince from day one, we have been segegrated according to our race and/or religious belief.

the existence of political parties based on race and religion is a very clear example….or are we malaysians so blind and/or stupid not to have realised it?

to talk about national unity is an insult to our intelligence. as a matter of fact, that ministry of national unity or whatever should had been abolished long ago. but then again, there would be one less crony to satisfy,right?

to ‘recruit’ the all-england doubles champion as their ‘mascot’ is just plain cheap publicity.

by the way, whatever happened to the mt everest conquering malaysians (in my eyes, but plain indians in their eyes!).

to mr lee lam thye, please tell us with TRUE conviction, that the national service thing is REALLY boosting inter-racial relationship. the only boost that i can see is the boost to the cronies bank account/wallets.

these are lousy days to be a malaysian !!!

3. #3 by comingto50 on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 5:26 pm

Signs of DESPERATIONS!!!

4. #4 by meehailam on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 5:29 pm

Do I see hopes for Malaysia? Sport being the neutral activities that being enjoyed together by all Malaysia are now being used for political mileage. Shame on those who misuses their power. I pity both Kien Kiat and Boon Heong for being drag into this.

5. #5 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 5:41 pm

To the voters of Machap and all voters in the coming GE.

Please read and decide for yourself who you want to vote, the future is in your hand, the decision is yours to make.

I had read some blogs postings that the bn is:

1)The only party that can lead this country

2)bn is the most fair:

a)Non racist
    b)Equal rights for all its citizen
    c)Only the best, i.e by merit for universities entry

3)bn is the cleanest government, no corruption

4)bn is transparent in all its dealing. All contracts are open tenders and awarded according to capabilities.

5)The pm is citizen friendly, ” tell me and work with me”

6)bn and its control medias do not lie, always telling the truth
    We do not like to link to the above postings as they are of no good to us because they are telling lies.

I agree fully with the pm and his ministers telling us that posting in blogs are lies.

Now fellow Malaysian in order to help the pm and his minister we must not let the blog postings lie to us such as the list above. They are all lies and we have to help the pm to refute them.

1)bn is not the only party that can run this country.

2)bn is the most unfair:
    a)racist, racist, racist right through
    b)discrimination of its own citizen
    c)entry into U is not by merit but by you know what

3)bn is the most corrupted government

4)bn is nontransparent in all its dealing. All contracts are awarded according to you know who.

5)The pm is most unfriendly, ” tell me and work with me” this phrase you can judge for yourself

6)bn and its control medias do not lie, always telling the truth and these you also judge for yourself

So voters do your duty by casting your votes for the opposition to lead us into a real first world country.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

6. #6 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 6:19 pm

The newly crowned All England doubles pair are too young to understand DAP’s fight but if they are there to be a showpiece for MCA……………………this shows how shallow minded are the MCA leaders. “Running on empty”

They are just UMNO’s dogs.

Defend the constitution, Time to change!

7. #7 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 7:11 pm

MCA is selling their race and Chinese who supports MCA are equally guilty.
    Chinese and Indians are second class citizens because they asked for it and seem very happy to be so.
    Now whom do you blame, if you chosee to be UMNO’s running dogs.

8. #8 by tsn on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 7:47 pm

What to do, being too long as concubine to UMNO, mentality & behaviour become exactly like UMNO, doing things without using “big brain”.
    The bunch of Chinese educated leaders like Ong Ka Ting, Liau Tiong Lai can’t they understand the simple Chinese proverb “eventhough unsuccessful but still full with pride. MCA please we are already losing our right, do not lose our wisdom.

9. #9 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 8:12 pm

Lets face reality here.

We will never have a true world champion. Before Kien Keat and Boon Heong went to Machap, Kien Keat already missed the first day of training after his All England and Swiss Open wins. The rot has already set in then.

10. #10 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 8:29 pm

“MCA is selling their race and Chinese who supports MCA are equally guilty.” – Libra2

Wooooo pretty strong statement there. I would retract it if I were you.

Would you say no if titles and money and contracts are offered to you? Now, please think carefully before you answer.

That said, if we look at the history of the chinese race, they have always been a sell out. It is in the make up of the chinese to sell out for personal gains etc.

11. #11 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 8:41 pm

What MCA did in Macap by-eleaction campaign by coercing sports personalities, Koo Kien Keat & Tan Boon Heong, to appear for them, just because Liow Tiong Lai is the Deputy Sports Minister, has left a very taste in the mouths of Chinese in the country, and shows that MCA is willing to stoop as low as it can, to try to get at what they want.

We hope they realize that what they did in Macap may boomerang on them elsewhere.

12. #12 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 8:47 pm

shortie kiasu,

To be fair, you cannot put the blame on MCA alone. Both Kien Keat and Boon Heong could have say no. No one pointed a gun at them and marched them to Machap. They just dont have the character and guts to say no.

13. #13 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 8:56 pm

Guts to say no ? And have the NSC demote them so that their careers will be over before they have had a chance to blossom? It’s about necessity and it’s about promises for the future. If you are a millionaire already, then you can have the guts to do anything, but if you are just starting out and totally dependent on the government for support, you leave your guts at the door.

What would you have your children do ?

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 8:58 pm

When you have no shame or dignity, like all BN parties, then you do exactly what the MCA has done – try to win at all costs. It’s not very different from stealing – you need to have no shame to be able to do it over and over again.

15. #15 by outsider in own country on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 9:45 pm

mca would have dragged the 2 black labrador dogs (flo & lucky) to machap too if possible!! the end justify the means mah. malaysia boleh!!!

16. #16 by hasilox on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 9:50 pm

Look at how they screwed soccer. This bunch of clowns practically screw everything that moves. Not much left to salvage but what can we do? Make sure we document them and let the world see, especially the future generations.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 9:52 pm

This is sad.

We have seen how politicization of language and education over the years have served to benefit no one. Now we see the politicization of sports – perhaps the last stronghold of multiculturalism, the last hope we have to generate and foster multiculturalism.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 9:55 pm

Politicians of whatever political affiliations are to be blamed for the mess ordinary people like me find ourselves in.

19. #19 by grandfathersclocks on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 10:33 pm

Whatever that runs by the Barisan Nasional belongs to the Barisan Nasional; just like in the civil service in which all the government servants belong to the Barisan Nasional too. So there is no exception if whichever sport has been taken care of by the Barisan Nasional. For all you know, Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong and others are Barisan Nasional supporters. Have you asked them who do they support ? They are not too young not to vote. So in their minds, they already know who they support.
    Look at the way the television for one, helps Barisan Nasional to campaign in Machap. When it came to some reporting for the DAP, there was disruption and could not be aired. Sabotage may be.
    However after saying all these, the real achievers in sports have their training done privately which works more wonders than if they are trained under a government body.

20. #20 by ipohfly on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 10:44 pm

“When you have no shame or dignity, like all BN parties, then you do exactly what the MCA has done – try to win at all costs.” – Godfather

Exactly. Considering the publicity that Kien Keat and Boon Hiong brings, it is no surprise that BN used them to attract voters.

21. #21 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 10:55 pm

RealWorld,
    You are entitled to your opinion and I am entitled to mine.
    No, I will never sell my race for pittance. Titles mean nothing to me.
    Friend, I have principles.
    If you wish to support MCA, go ahead. I have many good friends who are MCA members.

22. #22 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 11:47 pm

How come they didnt drag Nicol David to Machap or Ijok? Becos they knew that Nicol wont be as easy to manipulate as the two young fellas. She has a solid family background and has “been there, done that” in many parts of the world.

Speaking of sports, bowling will also see the end of its glory should politicians come into the fore. THere was a bit of power struggle previously and we hv a joker aiming for a high post but thank God he didnt succeed. All gila glory and gila wang and status. Bunch of crap!

23. #23 by burn on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 12:37 am

what to do, most BN UMNO MPs telor separuh masak! when election come, they start building this and that! after a year… batang hidung pun tak nampak! same goes to MCA, MIC and their clowns.
    make sure DAP follow up with what they have promise!

hidup DAP and KEADILAN!

24. #24 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 1:29 am

“And have the NSC demote them so that their careers will be over before they have had a chance to blossom? It’s about necessity and it’s about promises for the future.” – Godfather

So, what you are saying that it is ok to ‘go along’ with a ‘corrupt regime’ (as so many here claimed)? Are Kien Keat and Boon Heong both a sell out?

25. #25 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 1:32 am

“How come they didnt drag Nicol David to Machap or Ijok? ” – smeagroo

Errr I think Nicol David is now based in Amsterdam. And between squash and badminton, I believe the latter has a wider following.

26. #26 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 1:39 am

“No, I will never sell my race for pittance. Titles mean nothing to me.” – Libra2

Dear Libra2,

Like a politician, your answer is very vague. Let me put it to you again my question ; Would you say no if titles and money and contracts are offered to you?

Your answer of “I will never sell my race for pittance” tells me that you are willing to sell if the $$ offered is substantial.

27. #27 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 2:31 am

“Your answer of “I will never sell my race for pittance” tells me that you are willing to sell if the $$ offered is substantial.” – RealWorld

Please define your “substantial”. RM100 million? RM10mil? Let me tell you, no sane politician in the world will offer such an amount just for an ordinary supporter. When Libra2 said “pittance”, he meant those amount that currently being offer to kampung folks and dullard like you.

Lim Kit Siang was asking why MCA used Kien Keat-Boon Heong as a political tool and you went on to say Kien Keat-Boon Heong could choose “no” as an option. See how naive you are. Is there an option such as “no” acceptable to MCA when MCA have been a lapdog for UMNO (U-Must-Never-Object) even before the day you were born. In other words, i would say there is no option for the badminton pair to reject at all.

As i remember, a forumer here once said an idiot(an addition by me) like RealWorld is not in here to engage in serious discussion, but to chide others’ comments. When others retaliate against him(yes, that you, RealWorld), he will call others racists, cheap etc.

If you really want to talk rubbish, then please come to Malaysia-Today website. There will be more people to entertain you there. LKS blog is for serious or meaningful discussion only.

28. #28 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 3:30 am

“Please define your “substantial”. ” – devilmaster

I already did. You just need to remove your goggles. I asked ‘ Would you say no if titles and money and contracts are offered to you?’ To help a gimp like you along, let me highlight ‘titles’, ‘money’ and ‘contract’.

How would you know that our badminton pair had no option at all? You saw a gun pointed at them? It is a death sentence if they had say no, is it? You are talking about me being naive but I think I am looking at your stupidity here. Yes, sorry ass stupidity.

Not here to engage in a serious discussion? Just because I have a different view point than yours, I am not serious? Dude, do yourself a favour, try to think first before you open that gap of yours.

LKS blog is indeed for meaningful discussion but sadly it has become a meeting point for gimps and dimwits like you who brings nothing to the table but empty rhetorics, whingeings and rants.

29. #29 by tsn on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:04 am

Undergrad 2:Even more hopeless & useless just to blame others for the mess you are in. Work & turn yourself to be the person who get people out of the mess.

30. #30 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:56 am

Liow Tiong Lai obviously neither had the foresight nor the understanding to sense that the exploitation of the All-England badminton champions and other members of the national squad to further the party’s political objectives was not morally correct and would constitute a breach of the players’ political conscience. It is the right of the players to keep their political affiliations sub-silentio; after all they are badminton players, not political players. It is far-fetched for commentators like you & me to go so far as to lambast the players; they had no choice in the same way that the 15 marine soldiers of UK had no choice but to confess under Iranian custody.

All said, there should be a certain decency in politics that would keep the fray above any exploitation of race, religion, sex, language and education – and anything that would demean the people and defraud the people’s interests. The interests of the people must not be a bargaining chip; political parties must fight on the basis of who has the best delivery systems for the common good.

In this regard, vote BN out. They have no sense to understand basic sensibilities, how will they understand anything more sophisticated or such lofty ideals when their vision, mission and passion is to rape *& plunder the people!!!!!!!!

31. #31 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 9:00 am

Can you trust the BN government with this? I can’t. I don’t think any of us can. They have shown more times than there are rainy days in a year that they are liars and hypocrites – come election time, there is just so much propaganda and such an overflow of deceit!

NST Reports:
    “Speed up unity efforts, schools told
    PUTRAJAYA: Underlining its seriousness in wanting greater unity, the government yesterday ordered school administrators to speed-up integration-related programmes.”

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 9:10 am

MCA could not stop the politicization of education for the last thirty years. Should we expect MCA today to be able to stop the politicization of sports??

33. #33 by Count Dracula on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:23 am

It shows how bankrupt they are of ideas. You cannot unite then let us divide.

34. #34 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 11:16 am

Endangered Hornbill said:

“All said, there should be a certain decency in politics that would keep the fray above any exploitation of race, religion, sex, language and education – and anything that would demean the people and defraud the people’s interests. The interests of the people must not be a bargaining chip; political parties must fight on the basis of who has the best delivery systems for the common good.”

I take it that you are not living in Bodohland.

35. #35 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 2:09 pm

I have more faith in BN to find new avenues to divide us. They certaintly don’t know how to do the other thing for sure…

36. #36 by accountability on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 2:36 pm

uncle Kit,

this goes to show how desperate the current ruling BN has become – out of practical and good ideas to improve our country, they once again turn to all these PR nonsense to fish for votes

37. #37 by Alex on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 2:59 pm

Dear respect gentlemen,
    We all understand the intention of MCA, I also believe that the Machap villages are not dullard or dimwit. Let them select their preference…….. If they (MAchap villages) still tend to rely on those beauty promises, they should deserve the consequence.

38. #38 by lakshy on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 3:30 pm

..and yet BN will win in Machap.

39. #39 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 5:00 pm

Some of the arguments, comments posted are becoming very personal and emotional; full of name calling, thus becoming meaningless and lack credibility and depth in views presented.

40. #40 by vesewe on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 5:30 pm

The non-malays have heard this one before – If you think that Malaysia not good, please go out this country.

Umno has been brought up to think they are the prince of the land.

Every time they get cornered, Umno will tell the other race to go out where they belong. I think Umno must change their thinking or they will pull down the country to the middle age.

So far there is no Umno leader that can lead them to be modern 21st century citizens.

Rather Umno is anti this or anti that. There is no forward looking and thinking to break free perspective.

Malaysia developed nation on year 2020?

The problem with Malaysia ministers is that they are mostly underachievers academically!

That is the reason why they simply speak without logic and reasons. This is also the very reason that I admire Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh etc, who can debate intelligently with those monkeys who never bother to understand what is uttered.

Just compare the resume of Malaysia ministers with that from our southern neighbour! Then you will understand.

I know their prime minister has a first class honors in science from Cambridge if I am not mistaken. The rest of his cabinets are very highly qualified. Hence you don’t hear nonsense from them.

For your information, some Malaysia ministers would not be at all qualified for even an assistant post!

Our country leaders, not necessary meaning the prime minister, but overall people in power, people of authority etc, have no self respect, no moral, no integrity, and most of no responsibility and accountability.

Let us not compare with other countries, as no countries have perfect leaders, but what they have is integrity.

When they do something wrong and they know it is wrong, nobody need to tell them to resign, they won’t say our Malaysia usual line, “Nobody can resign me except the prime minister” – we should call this the ball-less line.

If you have integrity and honest enough, you should just resign.

This is why Malaysia is moving backward. With this kind of ministers who are not willing to tackle the root of the issue, but instead blaming others for exposing bad news and sweeping things under the carpet – what hope can you foresee for Malaysia in the future!

Perhaps we should have “Look Africa” policy, rather than “Look East” policy – since a lot of things are similar between Malaysia and African countries except oil.

Singapore has shown us that if the government plan properly and harness all the human talents and resources, a small country without much natural resources can be better than a big country with lots of natural resources.

We all started equal, RM1 = S$1, but see what happen now.

MSA = MAS and SIA. See the difference?

If we continue to ignore human talents and resources, by year 2020, the two countries will be even further apart!

41. #41 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:11 pm

The people of Machap are simple folks and some politicians are making use of the badminton players to gain some leverage. Try this on the educated urban folks and it will work the other way round. I can also see a lot of bribery going on in Machap; so how can you ask them to eradicate corruption. No way, Corruption is here to stay.

Politicians will use any tactics that can give them some advantages and some had sold the Chinese souls to UMNO.

Dag Hammarskjold had once said “Never for the sake of peace and quiet deny your convictions.” But can you convince the rural folks on this? 65% of the population are rural folks and our type of democracy gives them more voting rights than those in the urban areas. Reason is the voters population are very much smaller than in the urban area for the one seat.

42. #42 by pongsakling on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:02 pm

Dear Bro & Sis in Machap, just vote for DAP, enough is enough with BN!

43. #43 by fargowin on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:17 pm

It should be an interesting study on how Singapore has capitalised on the failure of the NEP, and the Malaysia system where we removed all the Sultans powers and replaced them with politicians, who now rule our lives through devious means.

Each year, Singapore attracts hundreds of our best and brightest.

Even my malay friends advise me not to go back Malaysia after completing my PhD here. It is a well-known fact that no matter how hard they strive, they will never be able to go to the top.

This comes from the horse mouth of a group of foreign experts and researchers in my university. Just feel a bit embarrass when they told me this. But have to admit. After all, it is the truth, nothing but the truth.

Meritocracy in Malaysia? We must be in the land of fantasy! With the present socio-political status quo, Vision 2020 is nothing but a mere mirage.

Why is that so? Because it is creating a mediocre-minded culture that drives away excellent-minded non-malays and malays.

Can you work in an environment where merit is not rewarded?

As long as the blatant, shameless policy of rewarding only the mediocre, and denying opportunities to the best, based merely on one race and religion, the obviously myopic leaders of this country are ensuring that this country will go down to the dogs in the not too distant future.

The standard of English language in Malaysia going down to the dogs is one fine example of our leaders myopic policies.

A lot of things change for those who leave. Once you are in Singapore, much pressure is “applied” to keep you there.

The programs in Singapore are structured in such a way to make sure that the “immigrants” would stay after completing their studies. Many take up Singaporean citizenship after many years of agony and contemplation.

This normally happens after one finds his/her spouse. Practical considerations come in; idealism flies away.

These “Malaysians” never forget their Malaysians past. But as the days, weeks, months, years go by, they slowly lose their Malaysians and become one of those floating masses in the global village. (I have met Malaysians of this kind in all sorts of odd places in different parts of the world.)

Make no mistake – however – most of them are very successful.

The malays do not live in this country alone. Malaysia is made up of all the races. Everybody looks the same when they send out the tax forms. In fact, our economy will be doomed if one of the component of our multi-racial society suddenly vanished.

Our overseas brains refuse to come back. Capable brains here not valued and they want to leave. The rotting education system stops producing capable brains. Overseas countries are “fishing” for smart brains worldwide. Added together……….you get the brain drain effect.

Unless there is a structural change in our mindset to set things right, we will continue talking about the same thing for the next 100 years.

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 9:07 pm

The issue of emigration and immigration is nothing new. It is a phenomenon which affects countries both developed and developing. Today’s world is fast becoming a global village.

It is the reason as to the emigration and immigration that should concern the ‘receiving’ countries and the ‘sending’ countries.

Migration over borders is a fact of life since borders are political in nature and are artificially created. Like capital which moves to where return is maximized, so does human capital.

In Malaysia emigration is more due to ‘push’ factors rather than ‘pull’ but when ‘push’ factors are artificially created then one must ask if there is not a hidden agenda on the part of those who identify themselves as being the proud architects of the policy.

45. #45 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:46 pm

“Everybody looks the same when they send out the tax forms.”
    fargowin

Goddamn it!

I do not think so. We all look and behave differently, eat different foods and make love in different ways.

“Capable brains here not valued and they want to leave.”

Now what do we have?? Brains with legs? This sounds like a bad sci-fi movie.

“Each year, Singapore attracts hundreds of our best and brightest.”

Don’t you think that there will be a point when the island is so overcrowded it will have to tilt to one side? Does this policy of accepting immigrants from Malaysia in such a liberal manner mean that their citizens are leaving for greener pastures?

46. #46 by general-sir on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 2:41 am

The brains behind the Sepak takraw organisation surely knew what is good for them. Not only the game is played by mostly the bumiputeras, they needed to ensure that it is kept that way. Look at what happened to Malaysian football. Ask any non Malay footballer and he will tell you ‘ quota la brother’ or ‘i dont have the ‘kulitfication’. Surely this is the last thing one should do to ensure Malaysia excel in these sports. BUT wait a minute..who needs to excel..we are in Malaysia. Sekadar boleh cukuplah. Buat apa nak susah-susah. kita main sama sembahyang sama..kan gitu.
    When will we ever learn. To top it all, we now have an ‘excellent’ policeman known as the sports commissioner. Every sports body he touches will end up having infighting among its members or facing some sort of management problem. It only happens after the sports body’s officers seek advice from the sports commissioner’s office. I knew of days that the sepaktakraw competition use to feature a mix race event just to invite the non malays. I wonder whether the non malays would still want to associate themselves with this kind of sports body. The article 13-10 in the constitution comes of a surprise to a good buddy of mine who has a 15 year
    old son who plays in a mix regu for a school as the tekong. His response was only ‘Sports should bring people together and not drive them apart. Why ruin the good fun the game give our kids.’ Haven’t they heard of countries at war stop fighting just to watch a cricket match. Can Azalina actually do something about this. Of course NOT. she doesnt even have control over her officers. The talk in the sports fraternity is..Elyas is more powerful than azalina. ‘kawan lama Pak lah..la’. So..

47. #47 by RealWorld on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 6:45 am

To the people of Machap,

Vote for stability and development. BN is stable unlike the Opposition parties who will come to a marriage of convenience before the election.

If the Opposition parties are not united under one banner, how can they govern effectively?

48. #48 by pamelaoda on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:58 am

Can anyone define “bn is stable”? Or why Oppositions remain as it is now as compared to 20-30 years ago…Why after Merdeka for 50 years, Malaysia is indeed moved backwards instead of forwards..why are there still so many poor malay,chinese and indians everywhere inside and outside KL? Why is the education is still so poor..Because..

a) No fair coverage for Oppostions’s voices to be heard?Then these BN suckers took the advantage to manupalate the situation..

b) To unite the Oppostion, first some issues need to be clear ie PAS is strong but very islam that scared the chinese and muslim also afraid of DAP because so un islamed..wow chicken and egg story leh..blah blah But this team up is possible, so uncle lim please look into this area again..

c) Time is the factor..previous teamed up was backfired due to lack of time and poor coordination..by the opposition parties..Like some contributors from Po Kuan’blog wrote and suggested, Oppostion’s supporter were stunned with the team up and lack of confident.so they voted BN instead. Hence if you guys have no coverage advantages, then you should go knocking from door to door to promote YOURSELF against BN..is not illegal right since it is not a perhimpunan…just like any salesman only what?

d( Dont expect major win but gradually, as now the main issues is at least to have more oppostion seated in the parliament so that BN will not be “one hand covering the sky”. More voices to bangkang at least could slowed down the rotting…

Hey, we are all malaysians by the way, normal citizens…I just my country to be properly runned and to be competitive enough to fight in this globalised village!

Other countries are cracking their head to stay ahead of others, my god, Malaysians are fighting amongst themselves and failed to see one day our resources and wealth would dried up. And the poor people are the most angry people and if fight “erupted”, hey malays, do you think only chinese and indian suffered ? If this your precious country then, Malays with over 55% percent suffered the most! Think about it!

49. #49 by lakshy on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 11:40 am

ha..ha..ha….their stint in Machap did not win them the Sportsmen awards. Poor chaps. At least they tried.

Winning major tournaments and supporting the right party is apparently not the equation for getting the award ….definately not if you are of the wrong skin colour. Maybe converting…?

Malaysian sports today is in a sad state. And worst still because it is in the state of denial.

Like everything else, we can only go down in our ratings.

Hidup M.la..

50. #50 by lakshy on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 11:50 am

Political parties and leaders: ruling-coalition National Front (Barisan Nasional) or BN, consisting of the following parties:
    Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia Party or PGRM;
    Liberal Democratic Party (Parti Liberal Demokratik – Sabah) or LDP Malaysian Chinese Association (Persatuan China Malaysia) or MCA
    Malaysian Indian Congress (Kongresi India Malaysia) or MIC
    Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah or PBRS
    Parti Bersatu Sabah or PBS
    Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu or PBB
    Parti Rakyat Sarawak or PRS
    Sabah Progressive Party (Parti Progresif Sabah) or SAPP
    Sarawak United People’s Party (Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sarawak) or SUPP
    United Malays National Organization or UMNO
    United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organization (Pertubuhan Pasko Momogun Kadazan Dusun Bersatu) or UPKO
    People’s Progressive Party (Parti Progresif Penduduk Malaysia) or PPP
    Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party or SPDP

Stable full of horses or sheep or horses asses?
    And what does that make all of us, when we unfailingly put them in power for the past 50 years, and probably will contin ue to do so?

14 parties vs the oppositions DAP/Keadilan and PAS. Looks like the opposition are more united than the BN! Ever thought about that?