Nazri’s reply in Parliament completely unsatisfactory and unacceptable

The reply by the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datu Nazri Aziz in the final winding-up of the debate on the Royal Address yesterday is totally unsatisfactory and unacceptable, particularly on four public interest issues of national importance.

As Nazri’s reply blatantly disregarded the paramount principle in nation-building which had recently been enunciated by the Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Nazrin Shah, MCA Ministers are challenged to speak up in Cabinet to dissociate themselves from Nazri’s reply on four important public interest issues:

• Brain drain with migration overseas of one to two million of the best and brightest of Malaysian sons and daughters for over three decades;
  • Education Minister and UMNO Youth leader, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein’s keris-wielding at the recent Umno Youth assembly in the context of rising chauvinist and extremist demands and pressures;
  • Rejection of the Inter-Faith Council proposal;
  • Worst corruption crisis in nation’s 50-year history.

Nazrin’s keynote address on “Prospects and Challenges of Nation-building” at the Young Malaysians’ Roundtable Discussion on National Unity and Development in Malaysia last week must be compulsory reading for Cabinet Ministers and all Barisan Nasional MPs — and they should be made to pass a test to ensure that they fully understand Nazrin’s speech and grasp the message of the Raja Muda of Perak.

The most important message of Nazrin’s keynote address is that Malaysia belongs to all Malaysians equally, and all have an equal right and responsibility to take ownership of their country and its future, as represented by this declaration: “Malaysians of all races, religions, and geographic locations need to believe beyond a shadow of doubt that they have a place under the Malaysian sun.”

Unfortunately, Nazrin’s message that all Malaysians must have an equal place under the Malaysian sun has not been understood by Nazri, Barisan Nasional Cabinet Ministers and MPs particularly from the MCA.

This is best illustrated by Nazri’s most unsatisfactory and unacceptable answers on behalf of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet on the following four issues:

1. Brain drain of 1-2 million Malaysians

Nazri’s likening the brain drain of one to two million of the best and brightest Malaysian sons and daughters for over three decades as “ants attracted to sugar” is not only offensive to the Malaysians who had been forced to migrate overseas because of unfair and discriminatory nation-building policies which did not give them and their children an equal place under the Malaysian sun, but proof of the stubborn continuance of the denial syndrome for an urgent reappraisal of 50 years of Barisan Nasional nation-building policies.

Not much seem to have been changed from the seventies when I raised the issue of brain drain in Parliament in the seventies, when a top government leader dismissed the issue as “Good Riddance to Bad Rubbish” to the present, when the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department could dismiss it as “ants attracted to sugar”.

In actual fact, the brain drain of one to two million talented, creative and enterprising Malaysians for over three decades since the introduction of the New Economic Policy marks the greatest nation-building failure in the past 50 years, and why Malaysia had trailed behind Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan and South Korea when we were ahead of them in terms of economic development when we achieved Merdeka in 1957 — and now risks losing to other more vibrant and dynamic nations like Thailand and Vietnam, and one day even Indonesia!

What is shocking is the total silence of MCA Ministers to speak up in Cabinet and Parliament against unfair and discriminatory nation-building policies which had resulted in the brain drain, with the country facing a new wave of brain drain.

MCA Ministers in Cabinet in particular should speak up in Parliament to dissociate themselves from Nazri’s reply on this subject and the other three issues and demand that Nazri retract and render a public apology for refusing to acknowledge that unfair and discriminatory nation-building policies continue to be one main cause of the brain drain.

2. Hishammuddin’s wielding of Malay keris

It is sad that Hishammuddin’s deplorable wielding of the Malay keris, in the context of rising extremist and chauvinist demands, is not only defended by Nazri but also by MCA Ministers and MPs.

Nazri compounded the offence when he repeated Hishammuddin’s earlier statement that he would have no objection if I had brandished the “guan dao”. Have MCA Ministers and MPs explained to Hishammuddin and Nazri that talk about wielding the “guan dao” is completely inappropriate, and why no MCA Minister or MP had ever wielded the “guan dao”.

I had yesterday asked in Parliament whether MCA Ministers and MPs could accept Nazri’s justification of Hishammuddin’s use of the Malay keris — which makes him as the most divisive Education Minister in history, undermining the most important goal of the national education policy to foster national unity among the diverse races, languages, cultures and religions in the country. There was only deafening silence.

3. Rejection of the Inter-Faith Council proposal

I find Nazri’s explanation why the Cabinet rejected the Inter-Faith Council proposal and the proposal to amend the Federal Constitution on Article 121(1A) to end the deepening crisis over the rights and sensitivities of non-Muslim Malaysians over freedom of religion the most astounding of all.

I had raised two important issues:

Firstly, why the Cabinet cannot accept the proposal for an Inter-Faith Council when in the early decades of Independence, there was a similar body, the Inter-Religious Council, which was initiated by the first Prime Minister, Tunku Abdul Rahman and chaired by a Cabinet Minister.

Secondly, the increasing insensitivity and intolerance of the religious rights and sensitivities of non-Muslim faiths in the country, as illustrated by the series of controversies from Moorthy to the Subashini cases.

I had stressed that the amendment of Article 121(1A) of the Federal Constitution in 1988 was to provide to Muslims the constitutional protection of their rights to be adjudicated in syariah courts without detracting any constitutional rights from non-Muslims.

However in the past few years, particularly after the “929 Declaration” of Tun Dr. Mahathir that Malaysia is an Islamic state, non-Muslim Malaysians have seen their religious and constitutional sensitivities and rights to be adjudicated in civil courts and not shariah courts come under relentless erosion.

The time has come for an amendment to the Federal Constitution to make it clear that Article 121(1A) does not derogate from non-Muslim Malaysians any rights which they had enjoyed without challenge or dispute before the 1988 Constitution amendment.

What was Nazri’s reply? He said my arguments were valid but there was no way the Barisan Nasional government could agree because it could not convince and persuade Malays who constitute the majority of the electorate to support such a constitutional amendment!

How can such an argument be accepted — which will set a most dangerous precedent for the erosion of the constitutional guarantees and rights in the Merdeka social contract of Malaysia as a democratic, tolerant, multi-religious and secular nation with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic State, just on the ground that there is no way to get the support of the Malays, the majority of the electorate!

It is most shocking that MCA Ministers and MPs can accept such an outrageous justification for the arbitrary and unconstitutional erosion and violation of constitutional rights and principles of Malaysians.

4. Worst corruption crisis in nation’s 50-year history

I just cannot imagine how Nazri could stand up in Parliament yesterday and boast about the government’s anti-corruption record in the past three years when it coincided with the worst corruption crisis in the nation’s history.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had said that the Chinese should learn from China which is fast rising to become a world economic super-power.

What is even more important is for the Barisan Nasional government to learn from China, such as in the battle against corruption.

I reminded Nazri and Parliament yesterday that when Zhu Rongji became Chinese premier in 1998, he declared war against corruption and asked for a hundred coffins, 99 for the corrupt in high places and one for himself — underlining the high stakes and personal risks involved in any all-out war against corruption.

I had asked whether the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would have the political will to emulate Zhu Rongji, by asking for a hundred coffins, 99 for the corrupt and powerful and one for himself?

It is most unfortunate that Nazri tried to make a joke of the “100 coffins” analogy, saying that he would reserve ten coffins for DAP — which attracted my riposte that DAP leaders are not afraid of dire consequences for standing up to fight corruption.

The time has come for Abdullah to summon a special meeting of the Cabinet to exclusively address the worst corruption crisis in the nation’s 50 year history — and to demonstrate the political will to arrest, prosecute and jail top political government leaders, whether national or state, for corruption.

(Media Conference Statement in Parliament on Wednesday, 11th April 2007)

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 2:59 pm

It is obvious that the ills afflicting this country today is caused by the non-adherance to the separation of powers among the executive, legistrative and judiciary branches of government.
    When this separation is properly respected, no single branch can gather sufficient power to itself that will allow it to exercise despotic control over the whole nation.
    “Legislative, Executive and Judiciary offices shall be kept forever separate, and no person exercising the one shall be capable of appointment to the others, or to either of them.” –Thomas Jefferson in the Draft Virginia Constitution, 1776
    http://www.nccs.net/articles/ril31.html

2. #2 by Zeebra on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 4:06 pm

It has always been “who you know” rather than “what you know” that run this nation. With this type of policy in place, we will never excel, because incapable people is running the show.

3. #3 by lakshy on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 4:10 pm

1)Hey its good that we have some high value exports in terms of brains. Malaysia Boleh!……

2) Let the guy play with his toys and keep conning his people how they protect their rights and they will hidup. Why let it bother us? After all he is conning only his own people. And if they are conned, they asked for it, for voting them in in the first place.

3) Nazri also knocked the formation of a constitutional court. I think this should be put in place so tat more issues can be brought to court. As it stands, many issues such as Malay rights cant be challenged. But of course, this is the reason they dont want to have a constitutional court in the first place.

4) For corruption to be there, there must be a giver an d ataker. No great secret as to who the givers are. Now the problem that arises is that teh takers are demanding more. Wonder who created this mess in the first place.

4. #4 by sotong on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 4:36 pm

Decades of reckless spending from oil revenue had nothing to do with good economy planning and managament.

Every politician is for himself/herself……..the country and ordinary people will be the ultimate victims.

5. #5 by Taiko on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 4:48 pm

The MCAs are good for nothing! They did not speak up for us when we need them and when they do speak up, they speak for our enemy!!

6. #6 by Loh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 5:12 pm

///Nazri’s likening the brain drain of one to two million of the best and brightest Malaysian sons and daughters for over three decades as “ants attracted to sugar”///

Quite obviously Nazri does not understand statistics. If he is thinking about students who have completed tertiary education and stayed in developed countries to earn good salaries, then the figure would not have come out to two million. Even if the Chinese and Indians are hardworking, and as intelligent as the Malays, the two million emigrants cannot be all holding the or highest paid positions in the developed world, where competitions are keen. There are many who are not attracted so much as to ‘sugar’ for the time being but rather to the chance that their offsprings will not be discrminated in the homeland. Nazri has a degree from the UK, and not from Malaysia, so he could not be that stupid. So he pretends to be stupid, so as to support the policy which is racist. He hopes that a stupid answer would send a serious question away.

In case Nazri does not know simple arithmatics, the emigrants account for a quarter of the total number of non-Malays in Bolehland. That started in 1969. The non-Malays that have left Bolehland equal to half the population of Singapore. There are on average as capable as Singaporeans, and taking the level of Singaporean per capita GDP as their earning potential, had there been no NEP as implemented, the tax revenue of Bolahland would be increased by 50% or maybe more, annually.

The wasted opportunities are for all to see.

To waive the 30% requirement in IDR is not doing the non-Malays any favour because the larger equity base will again make the 30% a moving target, and the government would again implement all those NEP programmes such as education quota, housing price differential, and racial polarization will continue. By all means get the 30% through cheat or steal, but discontinue all NEP programmes not directly related to the 30%. Many ordinary Chinese do not have shares in KLSE, and their only hope for better life is that at least one child would finish tertiary education. UMNO can feel for Malays, and why should they not empathise with the position of Chinese and Indians.

7. #7 by vesewe on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 5:15 pm

Here is the statistic from my own experience……….

Of the same batch of students graduated during the same semester in my college in USA, only 3 of the 12 students returned to Malaysia so far. None of them intend to return in the near future.

Right after graduation, my friend went to Melbourne to do her masters, with one objective on her mind, she wants to get a PR there.

Of the 100000 or more Malaysians who have emigrated to Australia, most are professionals. Their offsprings more often than not, are some of the best performers in schools here (Australia).

Some ocne mentioned that two-thirds of the community of practicing doctors in Singapore is Malaysian Chinese.

Don’t forget Singapore’s Netwater – that is founded by Olivia Lum, and presently also a nominated member of parliament in Singapore who made it only because she left Malaysia for Singapore!

Our Malaysia country is so lucky to be blessed with abundant of very best quality resources including human resources. I leave it to you yourself to go and find out who is who.

You name it and we have it. We just have a lot of very talented people from all fields, be it finance, IT, R&D, and etc. These people are highly sought by not just first world countries but the developing ones as well. They willing to offer everything they could even citizenships and needless to say about monetary rewards.

I am pretty sure they (from Mahathir to Pak Lah) know about these very well and they even know more than what we do. But question is, why nothing could be done to curb the losses?

NEP is the key, from the past until today, no Umno leader dare to bet on their entire political career by abolishing the NEP and revoking malay special rights.

Our Malaysia competitive edges like better educated workforces, better financial and legal systems, better infrastructure etc, are no longer better. It is either being offered or better by other Asian countries which are hungrier than us.

The developed countries like Australia know this and continue to pursue brain-gain policies which partly resulted in their 5% economic growth. Malaysia has not even reached there in its economic development and we are struggling with the current growth rate.

For them to survive, they have to be global citizens. I am making sure they master global languages like English and Chinese. The world will compete for the brightest to maintain their edge.

If one’s parents continued here (Malaysia), it would have been such a waste of talent. Look around us, everyday you see such wastage in our human resources.

It is not a loss to Malaysia, as Malaysia simply does not have a culture and material to nurture genius brains, due to its “non-competition policies” so to take care of fools……….

Some person is lucky to have parents with a foresight who would be able to get him out from the black box on time. The right type of soil will produce right type of fruits. In Australia, he becomes a sweet orange, if he were to be in Malaysia, he would turn into a sour lime.

I agree that has nothing to do with the Bolehland.

If he were to be in Malaysia at this present age, our Malaysia leaders would simply tell him: “Oh! Sorry, actually English is very important, let us start all over again to teach English in mathematics and science subjects beginning from primary school.”

The current Malaysia education system still incapable of maximizing the full potential of the younger generation (even the older ones). A revamp is needed!

Go to the local premier university, see for yourself how the professors recruit research assistant, to help them prepare journal and PowerPoint. Then you will realise how the professors get the title. Afterward, you expect this kind of environment can nurture talent?

Yes……….another Malaysia Boleh!

Because Bolehland university got a quota to meet……….Because Bolehland lost all the talents with no regret……….Because Bolehland got double standards for everything……….

What a sad, sad loss to Malaysia and its economy.?!

8. #8 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 5:55 pm

There has been so much brain drain lately that there are Malaysians walking around brainless.

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:00 pm

Even countries like Singapore have a brain drain problem but they have been able to attract many Malaysians over.

Unless Malaysia treats all its citizens fairly and equitably, we will experience severe brain drain and I have encouraged my children to adapt to wherever their talents take them.

http://malaysiawatch.blogspot.com/2005/09/retaining-our-best-talents.html

There is an interesting forum in Promuda that mentions the PTPN scheme was so badly organised in the early years that they processed loans for everyone, including those who did not apply for it and the files were not properly maintained. It seems some people have been asked to repay loans they did not receive – No wonder it is difficult to trace. The Auditor-General should be asked to look at this major financial scandal.

If students did not take the loans, where did the monies go?

10. #10 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:00 pm

“Malaysians of all races, religions, and geographic locations need to believe beyond a shadow of doubt that they have a place under the Malaysian sun.” Nazri

Except that the sun shines brighter on certain Malaysians rather than others.

As for “beyond the shadow of a doubt” Nazri is so afraid of his own shadows that we suggest “balance of probabilities” will do just as well.

11. #11 by accountability on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:04 pm

nazri is a perfect example of the many incompetent officials we have in govt today as a result of the brain drain.

in addition to lack of intelligence, these politicians also lack a moral compass – going by the insensitive remarks and discriminatory decisions they make.

yes, these replies certainly give malaysians with the means even more encouragement to leave and let the “sensitive malays” (as unfairly described by nazri) run it to the ground

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:07 pm

I have always felt that trying to argue with Nazri not just now, but always, is as the saying goes, ‘like casting pearls before swine’. There is no intellectual engagement, just plain ‘fighting’ to win an argument for argument’s sake. If you have ever engaged with him or followed all his arguments on things big and small, you will know his brain has only one pod – not big but small!

I can see that BN is an absolutely no-hoper…. If BN wins MAchaP and the next GE, I can almost predict the waves of ants that will flock to sugary shores will intensify. Whatever Nazri & his ‘gang of political hoodlums say about ‘good riddance’ is irrelevant….we just simply have no time to play balls with him or his stupid games or to even engage in small talk with him…he is just beyond hope. We are talking about future generations here…not just ourselves. Speaking for myself, I would not suffer such imbeciles and fools; it’s beneath my dignity to waste my breath on them; why spit up in the air and suffer the downflight! Save my breath & energy for better things.

I would certainly encourage more to consider going abroad, those who are bright and capable…the world’s your stage and everyone of us must play to carve our own space under the sun and to bask in our achievements and excellence in all the fields that matter. Then Malaysia can take its time to suck up all the consequences:
    loss of brains….which they can make up by awarding more professorships; loss of employment….which the PM has asked the Bumis to go into retailing (which made me laugh!); loss of FDI….which the EPF can make up by deferring old-age redemptions; loss of qualified professionals….which the local univesities can make up by photocopying more degrees; loss of credibility, integrity and the corruption of the moral compass….which the religious leaders can make up by getting the people to go to mosques to listen to more political speeeches.

What more can I say? Vote BN out. And if that fails, it’s our turn to go.

13. #13 by lupus on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:12 pm

Will they live in their little world, I am afraid of Malaysia of the future. Look at our neighbors in the last economy crisis, it became violent. The general population is already divided along racial lines and telling them that one part of the population is richer than the other. Is that true ? Are we all not Malaysian ? Isn’t the enemy is within ourselves?

Yes, the population is not only leaving Malaysia because of a better life but also, most knows that one day, things will get out of hand. Just check out youtube and see how violent things can be when it comes to Govt. agency. We can see it everyday as more and more security guards, JPJ, etc, etc are now all carrying guns….sign of things to come…..

14. #14 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:14 pm

“What is shocking is the total silence of MCA Ministers to speak up in Cabinet and Parliament against unfair and discriminatory…..” LKS

Forget the MCA Ministers they are like eunuchs in the Chamber of the Empress, that the only way they could recover any resemblance of their manhood is to resort to the services of a plastic surgeon.

15. #15 by Zeebra on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:18 pm

I work in a manufacturing enviroment. When there is a problem, I assemble my engineer and ask, do we want to submit our “homework” or really solve the problem? To solve “problem” required BRAIN. To hand-in homework, need no brain, b’cos can just copy pass answer.

16. #16 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:18 pm

“..we just simply have no time to play balls with him…”

Don’t know about you playing balls, but yes it is true I’ll not play ball with the likes of Nazri.

17. #17 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:24 pm

Equal opportunity means the run dogs like mca and mic and gerakan will have equal sharing of the leftovers.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:29 pm

“I would certainly encourage more to consider going abroad, those who are bright and capable…the world’s your stage …” HORNBILL

Yes, but there is just one problem. Not all of us are “bright and capable”. Most of us are ordinary Joes and Janes trying to make ends meet, to put food on the table for our families etc. Only those who are willing and able could hope to consider emigrating. For the most of us, it is more a case of willing but not able.

19. #19 by democrate on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:30 pm

By saying that Nasir is a racist, THATS ALL ! HE IS NOT FIT TO REPRESENT the Malaysian . He did not even bother to analyse further on the reasons for the braindrains. Ask him to go fly kite lah!

20. #20 by lks on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:41 pm

I want to speculate that the “Brain Drain” is actually a secret scheme by UMNO to make the country economically more equal and racially more dominant for the Malay.

Think about it, most migrants are non-malay, esp. the Chinese. If these supposedly brighter and more educated Chinese were to contribute too much in the Malaysian economy, it also means that Malay would have less share, even though the pie maybe bigger if more were to stay in Malaysia.

So instead, UMNO must have some scheme to “manage” the process of brain drain, so that impact of the Chinese economically is restrained, and the Malay can then catch up faster economically and even more so politically in numeric quantity.

It does not really matter much how Malaysia is falling behind to Singapore, HK, S Korea, UMNO don’t really care. What is more important is to reduce the economcially gap and at the sametime widen the political gap between Malay and the Chinese. Afterall, isn’t UMNO champion for the Malay?

It’s a cold calculation and a long term project! Conspiracy theory?!

21. #21 by kowtim on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:42 pm

Malaysia is not progressing fast enough because we have not drain away all our troubles. Another 8 millions more to go and then we will have completed our trouble drain. Then it will be smooth sailing to Vision 2020 where our per capital income will be higher than Kiasu Land.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:44 pm

““To waive the 30% requirement in IDR is not doing the non-Malays any favour because the larger equity base will again make the 30% a moving target, and the government would again implement all those NEP programmes such as education quota, housing price differential, and racial polarization will continue. By all means get the 30% through cheat or steal, but discontinue all NEP programmes…” Loh

I don’t understand what you mean by “to waive the 30% requirement”. Is there a suggestion that the 30% be waived??

Reserving 30% of the equity of any business ventures in certain industries in the 70s makes sense as this is an attempt, however crude, at social engineering and restructuring of society so as to inject some political stability into an otherwise inherently unstable political system. The fact that something is not perfect does not mean that we shouldn’t try. I find nothing conceptually wrong with it – nor inequitable in view of the imbalances in both structure and its economic impact on our lives as Malaysians.

Its working is an entirely different story.

23. #23 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:04 pm

“What is shocking is the total silence of MCA Ministers to speak up in Cabinet and Parliament against unfair and discriminatory nation-building policies which had resulted in the brain drain, with the country facing a new wave of brain drain.”

I am not surprise at all as I have given up hope on MCA long ago. 50 years after merdeka and I still don’t truly belong to this country, all because my ancestors trust MCA to do the job, I bet they are fuming in their grave.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:16 pm

“It’s a cold calculation and a long term project! Conspiracy theory?!” lks

Like I said an earlier thread, UMNO leaders’ preoccupation since the 70s is with the equal distribution of the economic pie rather than its size. This goes contrary to the national economic pie analysis which is based on an expanding economic pie as opposed to one that is stagnant.

Why are UMNO leaders so fanatically committed to this objective i.e. re-distribution to the exclusion rather than in synchronization with an expanding economic pie ?? The answer is simple: it is only through such efforts at redistribution or distribution could their leaders expect to line their own pockets, to carve out financial empires for themselves, their family members and their cronies. What better way is there to get filthy rich in such quick fashion but through robbing Paul to pay Peter – except Peter is not the ordinary working Malays. They do this in the name of the so-called New Economic Policy.

The New Economic Policy or NEP has come to be the public face of a frantic rush by selfish and self-serving politicians in UMNO to plunder, rape and pillage the economy. The difference between the 70s and later years especially today is that those early years saw a walk which has since gone to a rush and now a scramble by leaders in UMNO and their supporters. They stumbled over each other in a shameless effort to rob, plunder and pillage the economy all in the name of the NEP. They recognize that in doing so some effort must be seen to be made by them at giving the intended beneficiaries a sense that they are in control. Well, they are not. Ordinary working class Malays and Malaysians have been short-changed.

Massive and open corruption is no longer denied but is increasingly recognized as the reward for public office.

25. #25 by fargowin on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:20 pm

To me, Ketuanan Melayu is the false notion of malay greatness or malay supremacy. Truth is – there is nothing to associate the malay race with greatness.

By any widely accepted standards, it will be obvious to see that the malay race does not qualify to be called one of the great races on this world. Truth is that the Chinese and Indians have a culture accomplished far greater and much more than these jokers have.

It should be Chinese and Indian supremacy in Malaysia. The only reason why malays have power in Malaysia is because they have the biggest population, and the racist rhetoric of the malay Umno politicians always sway the malay vote towards themselves.

Anyway, back to the untrue notion of Ketuanan Melayu. Let us see what malays have accomplished. Has any malay won the Nobel Prize – no. Has any malay been nominated for the Nobel Prize – most probably not.

By contrast, numerous Chinese and Indians have won the Nobel Prize and various other awards. The Chinese and Indian diaspora is widely recognized as two of the three most successful diasporas in history, the other being the Jewish diaspora. All over the world, Chinese and Indians have become successful artists, CEOs, doctors, filmmakers, scientists, writers, etc, etc.

Name one malay who is widely recognized around the world in his or her field. The only malay whose name might be recognized out of this country is Mahathir, and he is part Indian. Is malay culture recognized as a world renowned culture – no.

Malay culture, if cultures were ranked, would be close to the bottom. What is their culture compared to the great Chinese and Indian cultures that are centuries old and really rich! The Chinese and Indians have a 5000 years old history during which China and India have played a very important part in world history.

Nobody knew about malays until the Indian kings of south India first came here. That is why the oldest archeological remains in Malaysia, in Lembah Bujang, are Hindu temples.

The malay sultanate itself was started by a Hindu – Parameswara. And even at the height of its power, the Malacca sultanate was nothing more than a vassal of the Chinese emperor.

Have any malay architect designed anything worthwhile – no. Have any malay author won the Booker Prize or the Pulitzer Prize – no. Have any malay filmmaker won an Oscar – no. Have the malays achieved anything in sports – no.

Chinese and Indians have achieved all this. So there is no real Ketuanan Melayu. It is a fiction concocted by racist stupid politicians to keep the “kampung malays” happy thinking that they have had a glorious past.

They don’t. Their history isn’t worth mentioning. You would never find a mention of malays or Malaysia or Tanah Melayu in most books of world history while entire chapters are devoted to the history of China and India.

The discriminative constitution and law of Malaysia is just a recognition of this fact. The malay leaders and to every single malay knows that on a level playing field, the malays will never be able to compete with the Chinese and Indians.

As to the discussions, I can see some hatred in it but then none of it was untrue. I think most Malaysians have done a good job maintaining harmony and peace, but I can see how and why some may be pushed to hatred because of all the discrimination that goes on.

I mean come on, the discrimination towards non-malays is so wide-ranging that I am sure some people will feel robbed.

How do you think a Chinese or Indian student feels when he has worked his ass off to study for STPM and gets excellent result and then sees his malay friends who didn’t work as hard and get as good result fly off to the England, Japan, USA etc, under JPA scholarship!

How do you think a Chinese or Indian contractor feels when his superior contract bid loses out to an inferior bid by a malay company!

What is going on in Malaysia is wrong. We should work towards creating a pure meritocracy, because history has shown that only meritocracies prosper and survive. It seems now that the Chinese or Indians don’t even get fair representation in legal matters, as illustrated by the Moorthy case. Things need to be changed before bad things start to happen.

26. #26 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:22 pm

“It is sad that Hishammuddin’s deplorable wielding of the Malay keris, in the context of rising extremist and chauvinist demands, is not only defended by Nazri but also by MCA Ministers and MPs.”

I am curious, if all Chinese in Malaysia convert to Islam and follow the Malay tradition, would that make us equal citizen? What will we be known as then, Chinese Muslim Malaysian? And MCA will be known as MCMA, Malaysia Chinese Muslim Association? Sounds right too! But what the hacks, if we are equal citizen then MCMA is redundant, but what different does it make now?

27. #27 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:33 pm

“It is most shocking that MCA Ministers and MPs can accept such an outrageous justification for the arbitrary and unconstitutional erosion and violation of constitutional rights and principles of Malaysians.”

Dual-Shocking treatment from MCA ministers and MPs to cure Chinese deseases of becoming a true Malaysian. Time to go?

28. #28 by Loh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:50 pm

ASLI’s report has proven conclusively that the Malays have more than 30% of the equtiy capital in the corporate sector. The government promised but until now has not proven that ASLI was wrong, or has proven that the EPU’s figures are correct. PM Abdullah said that come 2010 that 30% would be achieved.

Even though the FIC rules of NEP is dedicated to make Bumiputras achieve the 30% objective, but until that 30% objective is officially accepted as having been achieved, the government would continue with other non-Malays bashing policies, such as in education, housing price, employment in public sector.

On 22nd March 2007, P.M Abdullah declared that six sectors would not have to have Bumiputra equity participation, in IDR. With fresh investment and as equity base increases and without Bumi’s equity (I am speaking on statistical ground only), come 2010 or 2020, Bumi’s might be just 0.0001 per cent short of 30% or 29.9999%. (Well, the government has been cooking equity figures all the time.) So, Non-Malay Malaysians who have no means to own corporate shares will still have to smart the pain of other NEP discriminatory policies.

The government should declare clearly that other than FIC rules of EPU which is temporary suspended, all NEP discriminatory policies not directly linked to FIC rules of the 30% are abolished. Otherwise by temporarily withholding the FIC rules in IDR, the government is extending NEP, since it has not officially admitted that the 30% target has been achieved.

Surely FIC rules would limit investments in IDR. It has caused serious problems everywhere in the country. UMNO have made NEP an emotional issue for the Malays, and it is UMNO’s duties to tell Malays not to be emotional, just like Najib was giving advice on emotion to Machap voters. The person who bells the tiger should risk being eaten to remove the bell.

29. #29 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:51 pm

“I just cannot imagine how Nazri could stand up in Parliament yesterday and boast about the government’s anti-corruption record in the past three years when it coincided with the worst corruption crisis in the nation’s history.”

I can, Nazri stand on crutches call the NEP, and it is corruption that took him all the way to parliament.

30. #30 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:59 pm

“It is most unfortunate that Nazri tried to make a joke of the “100 coffins” analogy, saying that he would reserve ten coffins for DAP – which attracted my riposte that DAP leaders are not afraid of dire consequences for standing up to fight corruption.”

No, this is not unfortunate. This is blackmail. This is outright death threat from the Atorney General to DAP politicians should they continue to fight corruptions in the country. Now we know who is controlling the country and what Islam Hadhari truly means. Uncle Kit, my greatest respect to you and DAP members for willing to risk lifes to stand up for fellow Malaysian. Thank you.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:06 pm

“It should be Chinese and Indian supremacy in Malaysia. The only reason why malays have power in Malaysia is because they have the biggest population, and the racist rhetoric of the malay Umno politicians always sway the malay vote towards themselves.” fargowin

You are worse than the likes of Nazri who at least do not preach ‘racial supremacy’ but who in the name of racial equality rightly or wrongly feel the continued need to continue with the national effort, however wrong or unjustified this may appear to be in view of rapidly changing circumstances, at leveling the playing field.

People like you may have emerged to counter the narrow Malay nationalism that seems to have a firm grip of the nation today, but it does not make it right nor is it the answer to substitute one form of racial bigotry for another.

It is rhetoric like this that confirms the argument by those who now hold the reins in UMNO to continue to mislead and manipulate their followers into thinking that they are fighting for their interest which is that the government may appear broken right now with massive corruption, but at least it is a Malay government. What is broken, they say, can be fixed but what is not there cannot.

It is people like you who allows self-serving politicians of any political affiliations into continuing with their narrow and selfish agenda which is to enrich themselves under the cover of a more equitable society for all irrespective of race and religion.

More racial bigotry can never be the answer to racial bigotry.

32. #32 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:20 pm

The worst part is even the Malays also dont know that their backside are being played by the Malays in BN…

33. #33 by democrate on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:22 pm

To protect the kris raisng drama incidence, Nazri said he will not afraid of the Kuan Tow waving at him. Please Nazli the racist, the Chinese are not so kurang ajar to that stage like waving the Kris madly and emotionally in front of the world. only uncivilsed crook will do that ok ?

34. #34 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:29 pm

And about the kris’s case during UMNO meeting…I wonder they knew after fighting so hard for MERDEKA and another 50years playing their “schemingly” politics, so that some smart alecs could afford a couples of Merc, big bungalows etc would willing to shed blood and destroy the country in just a few seconds? Sometimes I just can’t understand how some of these politicians could utter outsuch a irresponsible statement and it’s really insulted ME, just an ordinary citizens…MUAK! If they got nothing better to say, just keep their damn mouth shut JUST like the MCA’s!

35. #35 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:30 pm

Is Nazri Aziz taxi permit scandal been swept under the carpet already? If not, he has every reason to worry about rooting out corruption. I believe he is one of the 18 sharks during his tenure as the Entrepreneur Development Minister.

36. #36 by burn on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:36 pm

“Have MCA Ministers and MPs explained to Hishammuddin and Nazri that talk about wielding the “guan dao” is completely inappropriate, and why no MCA Minister or MP had ever wielded the “guan dao”.”

a big question mark? since when did the chinese raise any “guan dao” or weapons to show their supremacy? answer… NONE!
    not to forget our DPM famous vow… “to bathe the Keris with Chinese blood”… do mention this to machap people, our so call DPM!

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:43 pm

“ASLI’s report has proven conclusively that the Malays have more than 30% of the equtiy capital in the corporate sector..” Loh

This 30% corporate equity which is be bumiputra owned in the private sector has a laudable objective which is to ensure that economic growth in the private sector will not be at the expense of the national effort at re-distribution of the national economic pie and that it should move in step with it, and mirror this national effort.

In my meetings with foreign investors and in the international investment seminars I have participated in, I have yet to come across a disgruntled foreign investor who does not see the laudable effort of the government at trying to balance economic growth with political stability. The premium foreign investors place on long term political stability is a foregone conclusion as they are only trying to protect their investments.

When you talk about the 30% of the corporate equity being in the hands of the bumiputras it is important that we appreciate the difference between shares owned by MoF Incorporated and such institutions and trust organizations, and bumiputra individuals. And when you refer to ‘bumiputra individuals’ we need to differentiate ordinary individuals to those who are politically connected whose names appear and re-appear as shareholders in most of the joint venture companies that we see.

When foreign investors look around for a local partner for their business in Malaysia, who do they look to if not to those politically connected to UMNO – Malay politicians and their families and cronies. Such ‘local partners’ needless to say in many cases have their share of the equity or capital partially if not wholly ‘injected’ by the foreign investor. As businessmen they write this as being the cost of doing business in countries like Malaysia. You see the same happening in Thailand, Philippines and Indonesia.

There is nothing conceptually wrong with this policy. But like always it is in the working and implementation of the policy that issues, socio-economic and political in nature, arise to threaten its continued existence – which after all is part of the national effort at a more equitable distribution of the economic pie.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:47 pm

“UMNO have made NEP an emotional issue for the Malays, and it is UMNO’s duties to tell Malays not to be emotional…” Loh

Unfortunately this is like telling a fish to stop swimming.

39. #39 by tsn on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 9:26 pm

fargowin:If you are a Chinese, I suggest you read a very popular book – CHINESE UGLINESS by a Taiwanese author;Bau Yang. You can get an English translated version easily in most of the bookshops in Kuala Lumpur.

40. #40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 9:45 pm

More taxpayers’ money going out of the windows and into some heavy pockets: RM5 biilioon for drainage in Shah Alam???!!!RM50-200 million for park???!!! This dentist Toyo sure can count or not?? If idiotic voters have put monkeys on the seat, then idiotic voters will have to pay.

BERNAMA reports:
    “Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Khir Toyo said Wednesday the state government had applied for RM5 billion from the Economic Planning Unit (EPU) in the Prime Minister’s Department for the purpose.
    ….Damansara needs very much this kind of a facility but Damansara residents are always against anything. There is a problem. We cannot move; we might spend RM50 million to RM200 million to build the park, but we need to do something.”

41. #41 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:25 pm

Damn it is difficult to live in this country, many simple things are mess up. It seems like only a handful of people know how things suppose to work around here, but too bad they are all overseas. This outflow of talented Malaysians has created a never ending national disaster, many government projects failed because of these people, as they could have done much better job with their talent and knowledge. The govt has failed to capture the heart of these talented Malaysians, but yet the govt know how to pronouce the word “Human Capital”, so It make one ponder if the govt truly understood the meaning of the word. I think the word “Human Capital” does not mean Chinese or anything regarding race, “Human Capital” can be anybody from any country including Malaysia, “Human Capital” is what we need to develop this country, “Human Capital” is important to Malaysia. How I wish I can explain this “Human Capital” much simpler so that the govt can understand how stupid this Nazri is.

42. #42 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:34 pm

much to be said about your just and fair governance of transparencies my dear Pak Lah.over the years why are you people still denying the fact that most of us average malaysians are crying out foul with your so called fair distribution of wealth among malaysian folks?yeah right! its time for you to really wake up and meet with the ordinary folks around you and ask them what they have been getting under your governance.wake up and see the racial remarks your ministers have been playing around in this country.the NEP today is only to make the greedy ones more richer.its time you really wake up to your senses and be fair and equal to every single citizen in malaysia.without our forefathers be it indians,malays,chinese,sikhs or other races…you people are nowhere and nothing today.without us there is no malaysia as it is today.every little single contributions from small people like us make a progressive malaysia.pak lah…as we can see today…today’s government is a government of thieves.do something about it!

43. #43 by rojak on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:58 pm

Anwar say “away with NEP”

I say “I want the NEP”.

Not this current NEP

I want the Original NEP. That NEP that has been hijacked. The Original NEP that is for all deserving Malaysians regardless of race or creed.

Not this current NEP, which is feeding the greed of a select few, the elite, the well connected.

Even First World countries have them and definitely M’sia still need affirmative actions. To help the wretchedly poor that is still among us, thanks to the “you know who”.

It’s not NEP that drove us away but excessive discrimination and racism.

44. #44 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:58 pm

From http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/newsncom.php?itemid=3791

SK Kinarut student, Donni John Duin,11,committed suicide because his family was poor…Donni’s family of six siblings lived on a fixed assistance of RM70 from the Welfare Department and his mother suffers from thalassaemia and a heart condition.

RM70.00 a month for a family of seven–that is, RM10 a month or 33sen a day for each member to eat. Little wonder the poor boy committed suicide. 50 years of merdeka and the family is worse off than in Darfur. And someone else has the ability to purchase a RM30million yacht and a RM60million mansion in Perth

45. #45 by loud8 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 11:33 pm

I am a 46 years old Malaysian, who had travelled and spent years oversea working as a professional. I have gave up oppurtunities of PR and citizenship from various countries. Now I have a foreign spouse and 2 foreign kids. I am beginning to consider of getting PR or citizenship from a foreign land.
    I can’t afford to let my kids go through the same pain as I did. Supporting tens of thousands RM per year to my parent back in Malaysia, and yet being treated like a 2nd class. Not welcome and treated with constant threat of violent.

In the Philippine Aquino Intl Airport, there is a special lane to welcome those who bring back thousand of Peso to their country, and yet people like me are treated like Pariah..

I dream of nasi lemak, laksa and all the good old food in Malayisia. I even travelled back to K.L for all the election (when I was thousand of miles away), except for the last election.

Am I a proud Malaysian? Does the country that I love still wants me? I am near a turning point of my life. I have to think for my spouse and kids, not about my fond memory of my childhood.

46. #46 by Not spoon fed on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 11:38 pm

Nazri is from prime minister department. They are all the same gang. Your men are talking loud, you as the master of the house knows what is going on. If you were prime minister, you would certainly ask your men to do the talking about sensitive and prevalent issues.

Brain drain – what is so important to care about by them? It is because majority of those in overseas are non Malay.

Hishammuddin’s wielding of Malay keris – he is part of the gang and same boat. Just like MCA and MIC, there were like mice, kept quiet. MCA and Gerakan were barking loud at Mr Lee Kuan Yew about issue of marginalising Chinese. When son-in-law of prime minister said Penang state government was marginalising Penang state Malay, MCA and Gerakan were all queit like mice.

Rejection of the Inter-Faith Council proposal – no compromise. No means no by them because they are so afraid of their own men going stray. Certainly they want law to keep their men including jail them if they denouce as muslim.

Worst corruption crisis in nation’s 50-year history – old habit dies hard. This is the way, the truth and the life of them.

47. #47 by Not spoon fed on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 11:46 pm

What is so important about brain drain?

They could import a lot of Indonesia labour workers. Now they allow to import labour workers from other countries except China.

Previously Mahathir looked into look east policy. So, what is so big deal about brain drain? Look east policy could still work so why worry about West or South? Mahathir is so unfavourable about South (Singapore and Australia).

See M Project (Mahathir Project) to increase their people (from southern Philippines) in Sabah by giving them blue identity cards to vote:
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/6/25/nation/14650157&sec=nation
    They have a big phobia about Chinese flabour rom China.

48. #48 by aspire on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 11:49 pm

1. Brain drain
    Rejection of intelligence is one. The other is the salary. If compared to industralized nations, our salary is what is known there as a poor man’s salary. Imagine putting in all the work as expected and doing an extra mile and all they have to say to you is you cannot claim for anything. Or don’t tell me. There is an abuse of power. Don’t expect MCA to speak up. Why ? Cause who knows if their sons and daughters are somewhere out there. And we would not want to jeopardize their comfortable political careers, do we ? What equal right is there ? There is no equal right. The government should go to its’ grassroot level and really see for themselves if the so called equality is there. Don’t just leave immediately. Don’t shug off comments of inequality, conflicts and unfairness because they are real and they are around. Who likes to purposefully tell something that is not true especially negative reports ? Nobody. But they tell because they have seen it happenning over and over again for donkey years and nobody wants to do anything about it. It should start from the politician in charge. If the politician is not interested in so called small matters, then the small matters will just linger on for the next 50 years.
    2. A weapon
    Whether it is a keris or a samurai sword or a simple kitchen knife, all these are weapons. What are weapons for if they are not used to threaten or to injure ?
    3. Religious freedom
    The problem is when you put Islam as the official religion, you are giving people the chances to capitalize on it. I wonder if Bapa Malaysia knew then how his religion has evolved from his time until now. For this matter, did Tun Tan Siew Sin or Tun Sambanthan foresee the changes in Islam ? I doubt so. Did they foresee that one day Malaysia has the Light Rail Transit system and that somebody will be proposing to have one coach for the males and one coach for the females just because there are females who complained that they have been groped in a crowded coach. Let me look further ahead. A coach with compartments and one compartment being for the men and one compartment being for the women.
    4. Corruption
    Why was this problem not kept under control all this while ? Somehow wherever you go, you will easily find an office; not just any office but an office that place such an importance in money and it is the first office you see before you see other kinds of offices. And why should this office be separated ? I suppose it is because in case ACA comes knocking and you don’t have to feel ashamed if they do find some strange accounts.

49. #49 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 1:21 am

“They have a big phobia about Chinese flabour rom China.”

Who said so??? There are many Chinese nationals in KL masquerading as students when they are prostitutes.

50. #50 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 2:30 am

““Chinese and Indians have achieved all this. So there is no real Ketuanan Melayu. It is a fiction..” fargowin

That is precisely why they need to have a level playing to play on. The captain of the team one Abdullah Badawi has gone on record to say that he needs time to warm up. It would be less complicated if they don’t keep moving the goal posts. At least some goals would be scored – and objectives achieved. Right now it doesn’t look like any goal will be scored by either side because of this shifting of the goal posts.

‘Ketuanan Melayu’, in case you do not already know, is just a ploy by UMNO to make the rest of us play ball and in a game whose captain is taking his time to warm up!

51. #51 by trashed on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 3:15 am

Thus by Nazri’s comments, people like Danny Quah are the “ants” but what a big ant he is – Head of Economics at the London School of Economics and possibly in time to come, a Nobel Laureate.

If he were in Malaysia, how big an ant would he be ?

52. #52 by RealWorld on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 6:42 am

One thing I really dont understand here is if Malaysia is so so bad as many doom merchants are saying here, why the rakyat still vote for BN in every GE/by election?

53. #53 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 7:11 am

Because they are scared of the real world.

54. #54 by Libra2 on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 8:36 am

fargowin,
    Well said! What you have written are truth and nothing but the truth however unpleasant it may sound to some people like undergrad2.
    These are facts mingled with emotions. Truth hurts. So what?

55. #55 by lucia on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:21 am

quote = “He said my arguments were valid but there was no way the Barisan Nasional government could agree because it could not convince and persuade Malays who constitute the majority of the electorate to support such a constitutional amendment!”

how did he knows the rakyat malays doesn’t support IFC? it was they themselves – the menteri-menteri and certain parties/NGOs that does not support IFC. if you ask the ordinary public (malays), who knows many of them might support IFC!!

56. #56 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:22 am

fargowin Says:
    April 11th, 2007 at 7:20 pm

“The only malay whose name might be recognized out of this country is Mahathir, and he is part Indian. ”

Ha, there is a difference between fame and infamy, ok. This one is a rebel with half a cause, a half-baked cause and half a brain – the evil genius.

57. #57 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:33 am

Loh Says:
    April 11th, 2007 at 7:50 pm

“ASLI’s report has proven conclusively that the Malays have more than 30% of the equtiy capital in the corporate sector. The government promised but until now has not proven that ASLI was wrong, or has proven that the EPU’s figures are correct. PM Abdullah said that come 2010 that 30% would be achieved. ”

This debate about 30% corporate equity has made suckers of all Malaysians!

Corporate equity is not the measure of either ALL the wealth or the REAL wealth in the country. The debate is also a red herring if you want to know the real wealth and the real distribution. Just a samll case in point: how many ministries are there in the government? Waht’s their individual annual budgets? How many % of their total contracts go to Bumis and how many % to the other races? Any statistics? Chances are less than 10% of Non-Bumi contractors/suppliers are registered; that doesn’t even mean success in any tendering or quotation exercise.

Need I say more. Form your own conclusions. That’s why the unequivocal truth is that this government is inefficient, unfair and ineffective, racially discriminatory and DISGUSTING.

Need I say more. Even ASLI figures have not been proven wrong. The government can’t even agrree on the right figures. If my memory recall is perfect, PM, DPM EPU and Ministerial figures all differed in press statements or releases.

Need I say more. Is this Islam Hadhari – the height of integrity, sincerity, transparency????

No, I do not need to say any more.

58. #58 by lakshy on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:39 am

Heyyyy…Malaysia is GREAT!!!! We got brains to export. Thank God, the government has not banned export of brains. We can do well in Singapore, Australia, Brunei, NZ, UK, Canada, America HK, China, etc. So whats the worry. Malaysia is good training ground for exporting skills.

We have a good system where, with the right connections, one can get richer or enrich their cronies. So join the same team and all can prosper. Need to learn how to work with the system. Anywhere you go, you need to work with the system.

Great education system that teaches kids that mushrooms are plants, and reduces the passing mark so we can produce more A-Students. We also have a University system with dual entry system i.e. HSC and Matric so more people can qualify to enter. Then we have a UNI system that ensures that everyone graduates, so what a wonderful education system. We have loads of graduates waiting for jobs, so we now have a healthy environment for investors to come invest.

We have laws that say holding a weapon in public is a serious offence punishable with death, but we all know why the guy brandished the weapon, so even the police also dont take him seriously. (hmmmm…wonder whether he got a permit for it?)

We have a fantastic policy that enables foreigners to become citizens equal to Bumi status but not for citizens (non-malay, or even non-muslim pri-bumi) to have equal rights as these former foreigners. Anyway, truck loads of IC’s have been shoved into the public. Great Country! Hmmmm perhaps its the neighbouring country’s unstated polcy and method for colonizing us?

We have awarding of large contracts to specific companies….who have no experience. So that they as middlemen can get rich. this helps meet the affirmative action plan. But does not provide them middleman with any skills. So keep feeding fish and continue with the affirmative action.

We have 50 years of affirmative action that have not managed to enrich the malays, so these policies have to be further continued so that the politicains can continue to get rich in the pretext of protecting the rights of the masses.

No constitutional court allowed so we cannot challenge issues that go against the grain and actual intention of the constitution. But thats the great part, its all done to help the majority race. What abgreat country.

And we all vote for BN at the end of the day.

59. #59 by grace on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:42 am

The problem is that those real brainy ones have migrated overseas. Those top brains who choose to stay back will not want to join BN. Simply that they will be ordered left and right by those non-brainers in the like of Nazri, Pak Lah or Zam. Only those stupid ones like Ong Ka Tin will be able to tolerate them.

The talented ones like Lim Kit Siang, Karpal and gang simply will not kow tow to fools. That is the reason we cannot progress!!!

No surprise Vietnam and Thailand will overtake us

60. #60 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:43 am

devilmaster Says:
    April 11th, 2007 at 8:30 pm

“Is Nazri Aziz taxi permit scandal been swept under the carpet already? If not, he has every reason to worry about rooting out corruption. I believe he is one of the 18 sharks during his tenure as the Entrepreneur Development Minister.”

Standard PM’s reply can be photocopied from Government Book of Answers, ‘ONE ANSWER TO 101 QUESTIONS ON CORRUPTION”:

‘Not enough evidence to prosecute’.

61. #61 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:54 am

Nazri’s singularly infamous antic in parliament must have earned him a place in our history books and earned him a star on the ‘World Walk of Infamy’ with the likes of young Hitler and others of similar ilk; the incoherent, frenzied cries of ‘Racist, Racist, Racist…Racist, Racist, Racist’.

All racists are bloody fools and blood-suckers. Nazri is a racist. Therefore, Nazri is a bloody fool and a blood-sucker.

62. #62 by sotong on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 10:13 am

There is no strong, effective and good leadership for far too long…..decades.

63. #63 by devilmaster on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 10:18 am

‘Not enough evidence to prosecute’. –

oh yeah.. the universal answer to clear all corruption cases.. & only acceptable in Bolehland.

64. #64 by Maddresearch on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 10:37 am

“Unfortunately, Nazrin’s message that all Malaysians must have an equal place under the Malaysian sun has not been understood by Nazri, Barisan Nasional Cabinet Ministers and MPs particularly from the MCA”. Since the day I understand the word “politics” 45 years ago, the DAP is barlking at the wrong trees. The DAP fails to understand the Malaysian politics since its inception of this party where UMNO is the key player not MCA or other mosquito parties who claimed to be multi racial politic parties inclusive of DAP, the DAP should make UMNO understands what it is barking and not attacking other chinese parties, please have your guts and wisdom and stop attacking the wrong parties.

65. #65 by Sergei on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 11:09 am

I’ve decided long ago to sent my children overseas, leaving the public universities to the putras.

Let’s see if the govt can absorbed all the local public university graduates.

Let’s see if the local public university graduates can compete with the foreign trained in the private sector.

Let’s see if the local public university graduates can venture overseas for opportunities

Let’s see if S’pore accept Putra’s with MBBS (Malaya) or Non Putra’s

66. #66 by from this day onwards... on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 11:37 am

looking all the comments made, i would like to challenge all the above and everyone who takes this matter seriously which is all in a crital stage to VOTE for a change!!!! voice up and stand up! i heard of so much yet i still see BN wining a majority landslide! why is this happening? DAP should shake up and get their act together and show a united front that we can trust and put our hope in. LKS i admire your zeal for equality. sad to say i left malaysia and now residing in aust. i felt my country have disappoint and turn its back on me. i do miss her…. one day i shall return when it has change for the better

67. #67 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 11:44 am

I have a suggestion to make.

Let us have a “Light a Candle” campaign to enlighten the whole nation.
    Once a month, on a pre-designated date each one of us will light one candle outside our house to show our dissatisfaction at all the goings-on in government.

It is non-violent and does not involve any gathering. Just make sure your candle is in a safe position and not burn down anyone’s house!

If your neighbours ask you can tell them about the campaign.
    Let a million candles light up and I am sure the BN will see the light.

Instead of just writing and writing, we need to take some actions to get Malaysia off the narrow gauge to disaster.

68. #68 by sotong on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 12:08 pm

There is too much pride and arrogance in our leaders and politicians and very little leadership in responsibility, accountability and competency.

Get rid of them……….all of them for the best interest of the country and her ordinary people!

69. #69 by lakshy on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 1:33 pm

cannot light the candle. Then easy for BN to figure out who is potentially going to vote against them. Easier to do redelineation exercises, and move in postal votes to these areas.

…and candle makers get rich in the process, and palm oil prices increase further…ha…ha..

70. #70 by edmondyjh on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 1:48 pm

Nazri Sucks!!

71. #71 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 1:50 pm

Our great Abdullah says: “The government does not discriminate when recruiting for the civil service…in 2004, a total of 16,338 people were recruited into the civil service and this increased to 17,031 in 2005 and 18,544 last year.”
    ( and conveniently terlupa to give the racial breakdown to the above figures) Who do you think you are kidding, Mr pm?

http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2007/04/do-you-believe-this-pak-lah-statement.html

72. #72 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 2:28 pm

hey..do u knw its an offence to bring any weapons and holding it up in an assembly or a gathering?get that stupid and brainless buggerand charge him wif weapon possesion.now u knw whr and how the brain drain comes from.

73. #73 by pongsakling on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 2:35 pm

To voters in Machap, just vote for DAP, enough is enough!
    Tell umno, we don’t afraid of keris!

74. #74 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 2:52 pm

to the otak udang who held his kris and wave over proudly thinking hes a hero…if ur a sane,a mindful and a patriotic leader who has a sence of goodwill over each and every citizen of ur own country regardless of races…hv a second to think whr exactly the brainless leftover leaders are standing right now.dun blame the migration of malysian born geniuses.u hv nothing to gain as a leader in u keep having this kind of attitide.malaysians are all for malaysians…not for urself.

75. #75 by sotong on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 3:49 pm

BN leadership had lost its plot long ago.

The country and her ordinary people need a leader/s outside BN to properly and effectively tackle the problems destroying the country eg. corruption, crime and politics of race and religion.

With their benefits and previlleges, BN could not see or fully understand there are huge problems confronting the country.

A strong culture of denial will ultimately lead to the necessary suffering of ordinary people of all races…….and leaders/politicians could still sleep soundly.

76. #76 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 4:12 pm

“…cannot light the candle”

So what can you suggest for a non-violent demo to our sleeping leaders that time is really running out?

Most homes have old candles from birthday cakes etc. so no extra cost is involved and the palm oil price will increase by perhaps one or two sen.

As for BN’s delineation of voters, if enough candles are lit they could possibly form a government of national unity.

If the silent majority are too chicken to even show this sign of impatience and outrage, then we truly deserve the government we have.

No I am not involved in the candle business.

77. #77 by gianthunk on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:10 pm

This guy was implicated in the TAXI Scam. If ACA is anwserable to parliment, then at least we would know something. Otherwise he will be a puppet to the prime minister becos his balls have gone missing.

78. #78 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:55 pm

It is gratifying to note that there are still voices of reason and rationality in the country, coming from a senior royalty from the state of perak. God bless all.

79. #79 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 10:37 pm

Machap weighs heavily on my heart. Shakespeare would have lamented thus for Machap:

“The weight of this sad time we must obey,
    Speak what we feel, not what we ought to say.”

Democracy demands that we accept (‘obey’) the verdict of the people; yet nothing can detract our sorrow for the blindness that darkened the sight of Machap-ites, who for a loaf of bread did give away their inheritance and for a fish did give away the entire seas!

BN’s victory is hollow; for what glory is there in victory purchased with deceit and bribery. The loser laments not; the battle’s outcome was decided by a dice, not by virgin Machap’s hearts.

80. #80 by from this day onwards... on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 6:15 am

LKS is you are reading this, i think the idea above of lighting a candle to show a sign of disatisfaction is a fantastic idea which i think is very effective in getting the idea through. Get the press involve, the media then the foreigners will know and this will put all those to shame and pressure on PM. Its subtle yet carries much strength. Light for those in dark over the future. May the truth outshine the darkness that have engulf us for many years. Imagine a 70 year old man lighting a candle, a 3 year old, a 17 year old, 30 year old, families and all walks of life. We dont have a voice to speak up as the people representative has muted but let the light grow into a voice that shines in everyones heart. Malaysia Boleh

81. #81 by pamelaoda on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 7:40 am

Agreed with from this day onwards…cant afford to just spend time blogging must do something more…if anyone have a better idea then just candle please chip in ..even those who cant come back or be in M’sia to be present..can start of with a on the line oppostion support team…to help to menyebar to our friends, families hey it works something like MLM la..

Seriously, uncle lim please consider..see if your resources could fund computer/s in all kampungs so that you could tap into the heart of these people..ie MAchap has got 1700 people vote for DAP..so if these supporters are equipped with computers, it can encourage new viewers to input their views on the other hand new viewers to this blog could also read what other had wrote in…is a new beginning at least this blog will not just being surfed by the same old bloggers ma? What you need is not only more exposure to reach people personnally but also the confident from laymen…MALAYSIAN !
    Or anyone with better ideas? Make it works man! Help DAP help Opposition! HELP MALAYSIA!

82. #82 by DiaperHead on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 7:46 am

“To voters in Machap, just vote for DAP, enough is enough!
    Tell umno, we don’t afraid of keris!” Pongsakling

They did and DAP/PKR lost! Enough is not enough.

UMNO was told they can wave their keris. They say they intend to do just that!

83. #83 by Bigjoe on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 8:37 am

If you want to pin down a single idea of why all these problem exist, the answer is feudalism. The fact is Malaysia is an elected Sultanate. In power, decision making, in accountability and responsibility that also reflect economic power and direction, its all feudalistic with a veneer of modern democracy.

Lets no fool ourselves we are so multicultural modern independent state. We have in fact regressed to elected monarchism with limited ability regenerate ourselves relying on others for our brain-power and lucky with resources and legacy structures left by others as well as a faster changing world that we can copy benefit from others ideas.

The issue is we are running out of room to do what we have done. We still have significant capital that we can rely on but that is about it. After this generation, there won’t be enough to go around anymore and the real conflict will surface.

What Sdr. Lim is fighting for is no less than the soul and future of this country which the BN takes for granted. The low intelligence of the likes of Nazri, Johari Baharom, etc. are standards of mediocrity of the future..

84. #84 by RealWorld on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 9:28 am

To all doom merchants here,

Enough of whingeing. The people of Machap have made their decision. We need to respect that.

85. #85 by akarmalaysian on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 8:33 pm

better spend the the money for charitable cause than burning candles.its just like burning money.might consider buying some large candles and shove it into those corrupted leaders ass.

86. #86 by HJ Angus on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 10:17 pm

That’s inciting violence and not what is required.

Guess you have to make up your mind what you want to do. How much does one candle cost? RM0.50? So you want to donate that to charity and tell the donor it is for the cause of getting a better government?
    Then you want to buy a large candle that can cost RM3 for other uses.

Not much visual impact I think.
    The candle lighting is not to overthrow the government but a signal that we expect a better government, one that is more responsive to defending religious freedom and equal treatment for all Malaysians as enshrined in the Fed Constitution.

If you watched the movie, “Play it Forward” such an action when multiplied can have wide-reaching effects.

87. #87 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 14 April 2007 - 10:56 pm

No big deal at all about brain drain! What is so big deal about brain drain (to them). Those UMNOputra would not feel anything because they (like Mara) send many bumi students to study overseas. These bumi students would come back.

Malaysia is boleh, apa pun boleh. So, what is so big deal about brain drain?

Without those 1.2 million (brain drain) Malaysians in overseas, Malaysia still could built longest bridge (Penang bridge), tallest twin towers, Formula 1, North South Highway, KLIA, etc.

Now on the way to build second bridge in Penang without tender.

So, what is so big deal about brain drain who are mostly non bumi?

88. #88 by pamelaoda on Sunday, 15 April 2007 - 9:36 am

Malaysia could build anything, of course, you just pay foreigners to do the job..not our own technology, not own afford, and when you pay 10Mil for a job, 5 Mil goes back to the cronies bank A/C?!
    My husband laughs whenever he read on the news what is malaysia next’s project…longest, biggest ,wides?!?!. He is quite a “player” with mega projects for Malaysia ,used to deal with “these people” .Normally he do not reveal much what he had encountered but lamely said very corrupted and even wawasan 5050 also “dame” meant cant make it in Japanese..

89. #89 by pamelaoda on Sunday, 15 April 2007 - 9:36 am

I meant effort iso afford!!