The people of Machap must vote for a change

The People of Machap Must vote for a change
by Richard Teo

The Machap by-election will be an important milestone for the chinese community.It will determine, after 50 years of BN rule whether the chinese community will opt for a change or remain and continue to be marginalised by the present govt.

The choice for the people of Machap is a simple one.After 50 years where do we go from here? The present govt seem to have lost its direction and no longer have the capabilty to lead this multi-culture, multi-race and multi-religious nation where its people of different origin can live in peace and harmony.

Instead of fostering goodwill among its people the govt has implemented divisive racial policies that have polarised the different races. Its affirmative race based policy has benefited only one community and discriminated the rest.

Even its race based affirmative policy has been hijacked to benefit only a few elite UMNO members. After 50 years the Malay rural heartland of kelantan, Trengganu, Pahang, Perlis,Kedah and Johore still remain impoverished.

Corruption has creeped into every level of our daily lives. Corrupt politicians and civil servants are so prevalent that the system is powerless to act on them. Our political masters are reluctant to bring the culprits to justice because they are just as tainted with corruption.

Our Judicairy are presided by spineless judges guided by religious emotion and personal conviction rather than the rule of law as defined in our sacred Constituition.

So where do we go from here? The question should not only be directed at the Chinese but to all the races in Machap. If after 50 years our path taken is still littered with potholes, then its high time we make a change. A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.To begin our journey, the people of Machap must take that first step to vote for the opposition. Failure is not an option because our very future may well depend on it.

1. #1 by lakshy on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 8:58 am

Why people of Machap? Why should they gamble with their future? What message will they manage to convey? When it comes to the general elections most people still vote for BN. So what benefit will there be to the people of Machap to vote for DAP? What can DAP realistically do to benefit the people of Machap?

Unless we can get more people to vote for an alternative goverrnment in the next general elections, we should let BN win all the seats in the by-elections.

2. #2 by Freddy on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:29 am

why don’t dap set up a task force to scrutinise the awarding of 10 marks by teachers to pmr and spm candidates who sat for the exams last year? you can round up their parents and demand that secondary schools in machap open up their books to reveal the marks given to each student and to see whether there are any elements of favouritism, discrimination or unfairness? why don’t dap try to ask the schools for the set of guidelines and procedures and see if you can get hold of such? this system may well sow seeds for corruption to take roots in schools if left unchecked!

3. #3 by WFH on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:34 am

As YB had said, it is “improbable, but not impossible” for the DAP to capture Machap. It is this unexplainable Malaysian thingy, to take the old route and not to rock the boat so as to continue with their “comfort zone” living, not daring to take that single little extra step to go headlong for change. I suppose Malaysians are prone to want to be led, instead of taking the lead. In that sense, the “improbale” will be the likely outcome. This Machap by-election, being an evenly mixed constituency closely reflective of the wider rakyat (urban and suburban, if not the rural), represents the best chance to show up the people’s report-card on the BN under PM AAB (aka UMNO only, realistically speaking). Having said that, if the “impossible” were to happen and DAP takes Machap, (OK, or loses only by a very small margin), the message will be out to voters throughout the country that there is a REAL chance of starting and making THAT change to nudge the BN out. The less-adventurous voters may even be emboldened to cast their votes away from BN in the direction of DAP, PKR, PAS or any combination where cooperation exists. Sarawak has proven that.

Then, the hard work of cleansing the country of all the putrid filth of the UMNO-led BN can begin in earnest.

Lots of hard work ahead, for sure. But it has to start with the single small, yet significant, crack in the door. If Machap is not it, it’ll be hard to find another by-election with Machap’s potential for a good DAP showing before the next GE, be it this or next year.

4. #4 by Libra2 on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:36 am

Well said Richard.
    There are thousands of us who think like you do but unfortunately the vast majority of Chinese and Indians are like frogs being warmed up in the water. They are unwilling to jump out because they feel comfortable as the water is being heated up. Ultimately they will be cooked in the boiling water.
    Transfer a frog from cold water into another container with warm water. It jumps out immediately. It cannot withstand the sudden chage.
    Things in Malaysia have been changing so subtely over the years that we don’t see them happening and we remain there, cosy and contented.
    Well, if that’s what they want, stay on and be prepared to be cooked.

5. #5 by lakshy on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:56 am

The reverse also applies. If DAP wins Machap, the rakyat may fear that the national sentiment is anti-BN, and that others would vote strongly for DAP/PKR/PAS in general elections. And to keep them in check, there must be votes for BN.

BN would get the message too, and would then work extra hard to “bribe” the rakyat to vote for BN.

So what happens is that BN stays in power.

6. #6 by PureMalaysian on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 11:26 am

The most important factor to consider is — how many people in Machap actually read LKS blog or malaysiakini? Many are still reading the usual newspapers, which are pro-BN. They are still in the dark, for what we know. Many will still vote for BN.

7. #7 by Johorean on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 11:41 am

Do not think any major changes will happen in Machap. Anyway I would like to wish DAP all the best in Machap and I am looking forward to the next GE.

8. #8 by democrate on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 11:46 am

In response to Chua Soi Lek pertaining the Kris Drama in the last Umno Meeting on todays Sin Chew:
    1]we can not deny that Kris is a symbol of the Malay.But why raise it so emotionally and questions on whose blood should be stained?
    2] Pig is also a symbol to the Chinese to bring luck can the Chinese carry a pig in the MCA meeting and act emotionally to slaughter it by a Kuan tow?
    3] Chua should not explain on Krismudin behalf cos The racist has already hurt the Chinese and he should apologise personally if he is a true bangsa Malaysia. Machap rakyat should reject them and go for DAP and say ‘NO’ to Krismudin.
    4] Soi Lek should approach Sin Chew to extract a photo showing Najib carrying a Kris In Kampung Bahru . We ask Soi Lek ……wHAT IS Najib Motive at that time in 1978? IS THAT A CULTURE OR
    UNCIVILISED CULTURE ?

9. #9 by k1980 on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 12:11 pm

To
    Our fellow Malaysian Voters of Machap
    Scroll down and look through all the 60 photos from top to bottom (and then scroll up from bottom to top for a second opinion) and then use your God-given brains when putting the ‘X’ on 10 April, 2007

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 12:16 pm

If you still live in such houses after 50 years of “INDEPENDENCE” from the British ‘COLONIALISTS’ as shown in the bottom 10 photos, how the @#^*%~ hell will you feel?

11. #11 by grandfathersclocks on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 1:27 pm

The body size of the nominated politicians speak much. There was also the airing of some interviews with the locals of Machap over the television. Not much is known about this town except people stop here for food and drink on their way to elsewhere.

12. #12 by a-malaysian on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 3:39 pm

To all voters of Machap, lead the way for change.
    We have no other way but to change if we want to live here as a true Malaysian.

Are you not scare when kris is wave by mad man and other mad men crying for blood.
    bn=RACIST…..RACIST…..RACIST
    mca the running dogs are now coming out to tell you cock and bull stories.

I will vote for mca if they can act upon these:

Demand a full apology from racist umno

Demand that new Chinese and Tamil schools be built in the 9MP and all future plans

Demand to stop the demolition of religious buildings and to allow more religious building to be built.

If mca can get these three, only three demands to be in black and white…..approve by parliament and have a court order stamped that there can be no retraction on it…than not only will I vote for you but will become member and canvase for you at all elections.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 7:13 pm

The trend all along has always been” vote for BN at state levels to ensure local economic development and economic growth, and vote for the Opposition at the federal level to ensure an effective opposition in Parliament to counter the BN’s two third control there.

This formula works well and is proven.

I do not see an exception in Machap. By-elections in this state constituency will be fought less on national issues and more on local issues. Promises have already made. The residents of Machap have nothing to lose by voting BN – and by putting an Opposition candidate in the SLA which is under the control of BN, where does that lead to??

But then this is by-elections. There is another trend albeit a general trend in all elections everywhere, which is to vote in an Opposition candidate to send a message to the federal government.

Which trend is likely to dominate the voting??

Since the GE is around the corner, BN would do well to make sure that voters are heard.

Result: BN wins.

14. #14 by lks on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:55 pm

Excuse me, what do you mean by “the people of Machap must take that first step to vote for the opposition”?

The first step was already taken by the people of Kuching 2 years ago when DAP almost wiped out the BN/SUPP in Kuching.

Machap would be step 2!

15. #15 by RealWorld on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 11:17 pm

If we want change , we must be brave and step up to the plate. But unfortunately, this is Malaysia. And we, Malaysians no matter how disgusted we are with the current regime will on polling day automatically forgive and forget and will vote BN.

Vote BN for stability and development.

16. #16 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 11:43 pm

17. #17 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 1:19 am

If MCA looses big time even though they win the election, expect thresats such as 13.05.1969 to be emphasize for the comming GE, anyway, hopefully DAP will make gains in Kampung.

18. #18 by pwcheng on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 1:57 am

lakshy, I think you are a selfish guy who thinks of short term self fulfillment. Think of the future of your children. You can be sure that if the present government will rule for one more generation, your children will suffer like what is happening in the Philippines now. 50 years ago the Philippines was better off than us economically and the people were enjoying a better life than us. Marcos, the corrupted evil and much emulated by UMNO has rought the country to what it is today, no jobs and girls waiting to be sent overseas as maids.

Politically what is happening in the Philippines previously is somewhat similar to what is happening here now. The people are just too docile or just like you, too selfish to bother much about the plundering so long as they think the screwy and corrupted government are offering them some benefits. Well when they realized it, it is already too late and they have to shed blood to overthrow the screwy evil government. But lets hope we can do it through the ballot here.

Do you want the same thing to happen to you and your children, esp your daughter to be sent overseas as maids. If you do good luck to you and if you don’t lets hope that Machap can be the turning point for a new government who will also be thrown out (obviously much easier) if they do not govern properly. The misconduct, misfeasance, corruption and misbehavior of the present set of government will write off whatever crumbs that they promised during election time. Do not think short term, long term benefits are better choice. UMNO has been ruling far too long and their absolute power has made them absolute corrupted demons.

To the voters of Machap. We want you to be our leaders in leading us to kick out the corrupted and racialist government.

19. #19 by RealWorld on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 9:47 am

pwcheng,

Are you on some pill or you are merely shooting your mouth off?

What has the Philippines got to do with Machap by-election? And what is this daughter being sent to work as a maid thingy??

Let me set you right boy, firstly unlike the Filipinos who stood up and overthrow Marcos, we Malaysians will never rise to the occassion. We will vote BN come polling day no matter what. And then will bitch about the abuses after on.

20. #20 by grace on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 1:49 pm

VOTE FOR DAP!!!

Do not be hoodwinked by Ong Ka Tin and wife eating in a small house. They are really hipocrites.
    Do not be taken in by those BN fellas promising you a market or tarred road. These are cheap stuffs.

Ask Ong Ka Tin to reopen Damansara School. Increase the number of Chinese schools.

Or ask Samy Vellu to help more Indians to get government contracts!

Nacahp folks, please have pride in yourself! It is time to send a mesage to the authority we are fedup with the samdiwaras!!!

Vote DAP!!!!

21. #21 by democrate on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 1:54 pm

Real world we may be lucky with only 26 millions in a small Malaysia.I think when come to 70 million people as what TDM wants.I would say what pwcheng said will be true. by that time .oil field in Malaysia will be exhausted and some other technology might have subsidise the palm oil usage.
    So what will be remain? A Chinese says,more monks than the porridge . how much of the wealth will be left for the present corrupted regime to wollup![ MASUK POCKET]. SO, forgive and 4get should not be accepted if its a crime! he has to pay for it .

22. #22 by hkh on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 2:31 pm

In order for the rakyat to benefit directly, someone must die in office like in Machap (no offence to Poh). Just look at the amount of projects, handouts & interests to the poor by the hypocrites barisan ministers. Without this by election, do you think they ever know of this place called Machap?

So, let’s all pray for more windfall. Ijok is next.
    Next, next = Sg Siput cuming?

23. #23 by Loh on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 2:54 pm

Chua Soi Lek asked the Chinese in Machap to be united, and vote in a block. Chua of course dared not say that the Chinese there should vote against MCA, even if he thinks that is the only way to tell the BN government that the Chinese do not agree with UMNO policies. For example:

1. NEP, 20 years becomes 20 year plus infinity
    2. BN racist policies against non-Malays
    3. MCA can’t even tell the PM what they honestly feel about matters affecting the Chinese; withdrawing the memorandum to the PM is a solid example.
    4. MCA cannot even withdraw from the government without being blamed for rocking the boat or causing racial tension in the country. So, MCA cannot even tell the people how they feel!

The Chinese in Machap must show BN that MCA can remain the slaves of UMNO, but the Chinese are not stupid to believe that UMNO would ever honour the so-called social contract. BN wants to win big in Machap so that it can tell the world that its policies against Chinese are welcomed by Chinese. The least the people there should so is to use the vote to show that they dislike UMNO-led government. Development in Machap will not stall because without project, there will be no excuse for putting government monies in private pockets. To vote for BN just for ‘some development in the local area’ is like selling the soul cheap.

Racial riots in Machap will never arise howerver the the result shows, since the government says that it is practicisng democracy, and the government has to keep this ‘appearance of democracy’, though democracy never exist in fact.

Machap voters might have good reason to vote for the former assemblyman, but it is not the case now. Forget about good feelings to the candidate at a personal level, and think about the interest of the Chinese community as a whole, and vote for the opposition. Let us stop BN saying the its policies are welcomed by Chinese and non-Malays.

24. #24 by Joshua on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 4:17 pm

13 April Friday

JK’s Digest No. 14 of April 2007 (73 of 2007) Machap’s BN candidate should be disqualified.

Lai Ming Chong is still retained as a political secretary to a Minister? (see below).

Did he resign his position as a political appointee in the Government? What did he write in his nomination form?

According to the Annual List of Federal Positions 2007, Lai’s position in the government is paid a monthly salary of RM7,187.40. An official car and a driver is also provided to Lai.

How to win any election if the rules are bias in favour of the BN’s candidate?

Joshua Kong (proponent of MIGS and WON)

http://mega-icc-group-sabah-migs.blogspot.com/ http://won-borneo.blogspot.com/

Latest Book: Biodiversity Challenge-Haze Health Hell ISBN983-2653-24-X
    Author of New Wealth Order, EPIC of Sabah, FIRE, Sabah Wealth – image of woods power,

EPIC of Sabah – 2nd Edition, Paper to Parliamentary Select Committee on Unity and National Service.

EPIC of Sabah – 3rd Ed., WATER, A tussle in biodiversity of two liquids – palm oil and water,

Sabah and Sarawak in Malaysia in 1963, A Paper to Parliamentary Select Committee on Integrity (2006). Books to come:- A critical review- claim on Sabah and A case of Independence for Sabah – pros and cons.

http://www.e-borneo.com/col/jkong/

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/65600 Apr 6, 07 5:26pm BN candidate accused of buying votes

Liou Chen Kuang, DAP’s candidate for the Machap state seat by-election, has accused his opponent of being involved in money politics in the run up to the polls on April 12.

Liou also lodged a formal complaint to the Election Commission (EC), stating that Lai had breached the election laws by offering bribe to the voters.

His accusations against Lai stemmed from a report in the Sin Chew Daily yesterday that Lai had promised allocations between RM6,000 and RM13,000 for five families for housing repairs.

MCA’s election machinery head Peng Fei Xun and Malacca Chief Minister’s special officers known only as Mahadevan and Shahril were also with Lai in that campaigning round.

“It is clear that Lai had misused government funds and state machinery for his party and his own gain. This is an act of bribing the voters,” said Liou in a statement today.

According to the Section 10(a) of the Election Offences Act 1954, it is an offence amounting to bribery to give, lend, offer or promise any money or valuable consideration to any elector or voter.

No authority

The punishment includes imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year and a fine not exceeding RM2000.

The offender will also be incapable of being elected at any election or if at that date he has been elected at any election, his seat shall be vacated from the date of such conviction.

Liou said Machap-born Lai had no authority to use government funds and machinery even if he is the political secretary to Human Resource Minister Dr Fong Chan Onn.

“Also, state officers that went with Lai on his rounds have no authority to promise such allocations,” Liou, a 33-year-old businessman, asserted.

He added that every candidate must compete fairly regardless of the parties that they represent in elections without abusing the government machinery and funds.

“I urge the EC to take legal action against Lai and those involved to ensure the fairness and cleanliness of the coming by-election,” he stated.

Quit your government post’

Meanwhile DAP Malacca chief Goh Leong San said 0Lai, 56, should resign from his political secretary post while contesting for the by-election.
    “To ensure a level playing field for the upcoming Machap by-election, Lai should relinquish his taxpayer-funded position as political secretary to the Human Resources Minister,” Goh’s statement read.

According to the Annual List of Federal Positions 2007, Lai’s position in the government is paid a monthly salary of RM7,187.40. An official car and a driver is also provided to Lai.

“It is a third more than the monthly allowance for a Malacca state assemblyman,” Goh pointed out.

“Lai should resign from his current position or at least seek leave without pay and openly vow not to use his official car, driver, taxpayer-funded patrol and other perks during the by-election,” Goh added.

25. #25 by accountability on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 6:42 pm

machap, wake up to your senses!!

just take a look at where the BN slobs are after the batu talam elections…

use your intelligence and conscience – take the first step and vote for a change!

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 7:14 pm

“To vote for BN just for ’some development in the local area’ is like selling the soul cheap.” Loh

This may suit you sitting somewhere behind a desk typing on to a computer, in an air conditioned room, surrounded by modern paraphernalia, living a middle class life unperturbed by concerns about whether there would be enough to have four square meals today, enough food on the table to feed the entire family or whether to have to go to bed hungry.

I think the battle for Machap will be fought and won (or lost) on bread and butter issues i.e. on local rather than national issues. . Ideology has little relevance when you have an empty stomach.

27. #27 by RealWorld on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 7:32 pm

democrate,

Sorry I am not interested in ‘what ifs’. Whether we will go bust when we have 70 million over population is yet to be seen. No one can tell the future.

What I am interested is the current situation. And the reality in Malaysia is that no matter how big or serious or open the power abuses, corruption, nepotism etc etc etc, we will forgive and forget come polling day.

In short and in reality, we Malaysians are a bunch of sell out. We will be easily be bought over with empty promises and sweet talk. The people of Machap will vote for BN, giving BN a landslide victory. The DAP candidate will end up with more than a bloodied nose. The poor soul will get a thorough beating at the polls and will lose his deposit.

Vote BN for stability and development.

28. #28 by Loh on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 8:07 pm

///I think the battle for Machap will be fought and won (or lost) on bread and butter issues i.e. on local rather than national issues. . Ideology has little relevance when you have an empty stomach.///

So, one has to forget about the causes of empty stomach just because the stomach has to be filled for the moment. No difference from taking poison to quench thirst, as the saying goes.

I do not see how the government should be allowed to bully the electorates to vote for them. To allow this is to encourage political corruption. It is no difference from submitting to political blackmail. The people should exercise their right so that responsible government could emerge. The Chinese have been thinking about bread abd butter, and for 50 years, they still have to be concerned about bread and butter. And there are caring persons who would cheer them on for their wisdom to vote for the government so as to hope that the almighty politicians will have mercy on them.

We deserve our government, and if our concern is only our immediate gains, then we cannot complain about long term loss. The Suqiu group thought that they had the promise of TDM, and see how have they been treated after the election. If UMNO-led government can be trusted, then people in Machap do not have to show their support to win favourable consideration ending up as empty promises. The problems are race-based!

We are allowed to make mistakes, but it is stupidity to repeat the same mistake.

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 9:18 pm

“So, one has to forget about the causes of empty stomach…”
    Loh

No. When I say is ideology have little or no relevance to people when they have to struggle to put food on the table, I mean exactly that. Issues like corruption or the NEP, a broken system of law enforcement and the IPCMC, kickbacks to UMNO in the purchase of military hardware, the 60 million dollar home of the Prime Minister, the use of racial slurs in Parliament etc pale in comparison with the bread and butter issues that residents of Machap have to deal with daily.

First time voters may not know but the old timers of this constituency know that politicians would appear in droves at times like this and make promises which they may or may not have the intention to keep – and just as quickly disappear. But between promises made by an Opposition candidate in the election and the promises made by a candidate from the ruling coalition, these people would put their bets on the latter for obvious reasons – the ability to deliver.

30. #30 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 11:08 pm

Nothing to benefit of “development” promised by MCA and UMNO. Projects would go to the hand of UMNOputra.

“Develoment causes flood, pollution and corruption.” DAP should shout this slogan out loud to remind all Malaysians.

We just need to live in a Taman/Garden to enjoy the basic development (tar road, electricity, water supply, shops, etc.). But, what is so good about our dirty pipe water?

The rest of the things from “development”. Just don’t hope, the benefits would go to UMNOputra.

31. #31 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 11:09 pm

MCA, MIC and UMNO often bark about “Development”.

“Develoment causes flood, pollution and corruption.” DAP should shout this slogan out loud to remind all Malaysians.

32. #32 by dawsheng on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 2:03 am

DAP should enter the fight in Machap in the interest of the folks in Machap. It is also an indication of voting pattern for the next GE, no doubt about it.

DAP should know, not only it is difficult to satisfy the folks in Machap after years of ill treatments by BN, they must also be careful and aware of any plan to sabotaj DAP in serving the Machap community.

In politic I suppose, leader sacrifice so to put the interest of his followers first, and DAP’s leaders should not disappoint Malaysians that are hoping for change, and take the country back into the right path.

33. #33 by democrate on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 10:24 am

Real World, u r too selffish or u may b quite well off by then, that you hv never consider the future of the coming generation ? remember, your wealth might turn into ashes! by the time of crisis, when the population is 70 million.

34. #34 by hkh on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 3:57 pm

People of Machap, Make a statement, Be different, Show the rest of the country that YOU can do it. Vote for change. Ijok will follow.

35. #35 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 4:13 pm

36. #36 by Loh on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 6:13 pm

People of Machap,
    There has been a speculation that Chinese voters in the area will vote for BN because “///But between promises made by an Opposition candidate in the election and the promises made by a candidate from the ruling coalition, these people would put their bets on the latter for obvious reasons – the ability to deliver.-Undergrad2///”

I hope that as voters you will not make the same mistakes like the Suqiu group who believed that TDM, the person who at that time could deliver almost anything in Bolehland, would deliver as he promised. But we know that Suqiu group not only did not get what they hoped for, they were branded ‘extremists”. So ability to deliver remain an ability, but the necessary condition is willingness to deliver.

What gives BN the ability to deliver? They are the votes that you have the right to cast. Having been cheated all these years why do you think that BN had suddenly changed its mind. If they have to do it, it would not be for the good of the people of Machap, rather it was using the people of Machap to satisfy BN’s larger objective, to fool the world to project that BN is a fair government.

Please do take a moment to think whether BN has been fair to all citizens irrespective of races? Maybe life is tolerable under BN, but would you want to have a change for the better, as you grandfathers had them back in the preNEP days? There are sympathizers of NEP who thought a revision of NEP were acceptable, even now, after the NEP had been implemented perversely for 36 years, 16 years longer than the original promise, and through discriminatory methods not envisaged by the non-UMNO component BN parties, when they had no choice but to pay the price of ‘blackmail’ by Tun Razak to have the parliament reconvened.

NEP has a non-racist objective. But people of Machap have experienced what a non-racist policy has ended up as delivered by the BN government. The perverted ways it implemented NEP was too long for even 20 years, as promised, and what more when it has been extended for 16 years now and continuing.

The Chinese everywhere want NEP to end, with the exception of a ‘wiseman’ who saw some middle ground(?). The Chinese elsewhere now wish the people of Machap would send a clear and firm signal to UMNO that ‘enough is enough’ by voting against BN. Unfortunately people in MCA have been made temporary Malays, and they cannot be seen to go against BN, at least not openly. It breaks their heart to tell you to vote MCA, with the exception of the MCA candidate who stands in Machap, and his family.

People of Machap has the unique opportunity, (God bless the soul of the late Goh Ah Thiam), to show BN what Chinese Malaysians feel about the government. Sun Yat Sun said the Chinese were like a plate of loose sand. For this election show BN that they can be turned into concrete, even for a while.

People of Machap: Vote for DAP, please.

37. #37 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 9:07 pm

“So ability to deliver remain an ability, but the necessary condition is willingness to deliver.”

Goddamn it!

Why are you splitting hairs here, man?? ‘Ability’ to deliver and ‘willingness’ to deliver. It is ‘willing and able’ – nothing less. If you are able and not willing (BN?) it will not be delivered. If you are willing and not able (DAP) it will also not be delivered.

Between ‘able’ and ‘not willing’ and ‘not able but willing’ I will choose the former.

38. #38 by Loh on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 9:11 pm

Why are you splitting hairs here, man??

It is not splitting hair, but seperating hairs. Choose what you like!

39. #39 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 9:18 pm

“NEP has a non-racist objective.” Loh

Nonsense! The NEP is a racist policy. Period. Racism since then has been institutionalized, openly declared and government supported.

Nobody has ever gone on record as saying that the NEP is not racist in nature and implementation or denying that the NEP is racist.

40. #40 by RealWorld on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 9:31 pm

democrate,

Dude, by the time we hit 70 million population, you and i will no longer be in this world.

Talking about being selfish, we are all selfish creatures. We look after ourselves and our interests first before anything else. It is true, just admit it.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 9:50 pm

I agree with the astute observation and analysis of our hairy friend, Goddamn SIngh.

Between putting my hopes in the man without legs to run a field and track event, I would put my hopes in the man who has legs but are not willing to use them.

The difference is obvious.

42. #42 by democrate on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 10:01 pm

Realworld ,a tail of the fox being leaking out . thank you.
    We condemed corruption and wait for the God to judge if the present corrupted racist Umno and gang do not. No forgive n 4get as long as crime is concerned you must pay for it if you commited crime ok/
    ?
    LETS END OUR COMMENTS….POOR BOY

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 10:03 pm

Viewing the video of Guan Eng dishing out statements to a reporter, and without the presence of political heavyweights as Anwar on the scene, I am not confident DAp will win this by-election.

It is obvious that Guan Eng knows that this state by-election will be fought on local issues because he calls the voters to vote on national issues!

Has there been a Chinese or Hindu temple demolished in Machap?? Has there been a closure of vernacular schools in Machap?? Do you see anybody willing to work and not getting any? Do you see poor Chinese being neglected? No hospitals? Has economic development by passed this area? Any tolls to be dismantled?

If your answer is not in the affirmative, then it is obvious that BN will retain its seat.

Calling for Chinese voters to vote for national issues like the end of Kuala Lumpur riddled corruption style of governing the country, to vote for the end of cases like an Indian mother being separated from her daughter, like the passing of reforms like the IPCMC, like an amendment to Art. 121)1A of the Federal Constitution. and an end to body snatching. These issues do not wash with the local voters who are struggling to put food on their tables.

44. #44 by Loh on Sunday, 8 April 2007 - 10:24 pm

///Between putting my hopes in the man without legs to run a field and track event, I would put my hopes in the man who has legs but are not willing to use them.

The difference is obvious.///–Undergrad2

The result is the same. If that is the only issue, I cannot fault the choice.

45. #45 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 1:44 am

Down with Machap!

46. #46 by DiaperHead on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 5:34 am

Her diaper head shaddap lah!

47. #47 by RealWorld on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 9:35 am

democrate,

What has God got to do with the present government? You are all over the place, can you just stay on the subject concerned? Man, no wonder the Opposition always gets a thrashing in elections with people like you around.

From what I gathered from your writings, are you saying that you are not selfish at all? Dude, you should be the one running for DAP at Machap then!

I am indeed amazed with the comical figures I find here in this blog! :)

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 9:45 am

“The result is the same. If that is the only issue, I cannot fault the choice.” Loh

Though the result is the same, it is so only so far as he does not want to use his legs. He can be persuaded to use his legs. Try asking a man without legs to run!

49. #49 by democrate on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 9:49 am

vote for DAP to eliminate the racist and BN corruptors if continue to arque one will say ta suka balik tongsan lah!
    4get about it lah ! real world. HA…………………VOTE FOR DAP AND VOTE FOR bangsa Malaysia to get rid of selfishness…..HA HA HA HA HA…….

50. #50 by Loh on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 10:16 am

///The NEP is a racist policy. Period. Racism since then has been institutionalized, openly declared and government supported.///–Godamn Singh

Well said! NEP has turned out to be so.

51. #51 by Loh on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 10:20 am

///Though the result is the same, it is so only so far as he does not want to use his legs. He can be persuaded to use his legs. Try asking a man without legs to run!///–Undergrad2

Good explanation!. The guy has refused to use his legs for 50 years, other form of persuation is needed.

52. #52 by RealWorld on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 11:04 am

democrate,

You mean by voting for DAP one can get rid of selfishness? How so?

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 8:14 pm

“Good explanation!. The guy has refused to use his legs for 50 years, other form of persuation is needed.” Loh

Good. I see you finally come round to my argument – which is ‘persuasion’ as you characterize it. Try persuading a man without legs to run!

54. #54 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 12:10 pm

Definition of malaysian:

Spineless glob of protoplasm that engorges on nasi lemak, roti chanai, nasi ayam & tek tarik.

55. #55 by dragon972 on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 10:01 pm

looking forward to your victory in the machap by election, time to show BN we have enough of them, since toll hikes, petrol price increase, everything has increased. all these while the humble rakyat suffer miserably. TIME FOR CHANGE, AND THE TIME IS NOW!!!!

56. #56 by Joshua on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 8:21 am

South & East
    Wednesday April 11, 2007

By-election fever at Machap

By LEE YUK PENG and NG SI HOOI
    Photos by BRIAN MOH

MALACCA: The usually quiet and peaceful pace of the Machap Baru new village and Machap Umboo new village has been broken by the sudden influx of visitors including Cabinet ministers, pressmen, government officials, politicians and party workers.

UMNO had gone through BARU and now UmBOOOO

would that be booo for UMNO???

57. #57 by Loh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 4:37 pm

///MALACCA: Voters must not use a by-election to voice their frustration by staying away or choosing the opposition, said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

“A by-election like this is not the time to show that we are upset over certain small matters.

“We must use our heads to think about our future and not be influenced by our feelings and emotions,” he said when launching the Felda Tun Ghafar Menggong Medan Selera yesterday///

Najib knows very well what the non-Malays are upset over government decisions. Let us just name one.
    Non-Malays are discriminated against in getting places in institutions for tertiary education. They are not given equal opportunity in obtaining financial support for education like what the bumiputras get. The cost of tertiary education for a child in private institutions in Malaysia or abroad could be as high as the entire life saving of a middle income family. Children from the poorer families have no chance at tertiary education if they are not accepted in local universities. These involves the hope of the families, and is no small matter to them. It is indeed a small matter for the government if it has the political will to implement fully meritocracy in education. But BN governmnet not only practise racism in education, but again pretends that it practices meritocracy. UMNO has the legs but refuse to use it, while MCA does not have the legs, and there is no use persuading it. The alternative form of persuasion is to show BN that non-Malays can become king makers, and so long as there are other Malay parties which would stand against UMNO, non-Malays can always allow them to try their hands. Let UMNO learn that they do not have monopoly to rule.

It is UMNO that is playing on the emotions of Malays when they suggest that Malays should be towering over non-Malays, gain 30% of the corporate share and what not. Wealth is a personal matter, and obviously what are owned by Najib will not be shared, unless he suddenly declare that he gives up his propertie sto charities, by other Malays. Why make it an emotional burden for ordinary Malays that people practices the same religion, and habitually following Malay culture should be rich. If Malays want to be rich, get them through proper means. It is playing on emotions on the Malays to get them agree to discriminate against non-Malays.

In the STAR today, Najib was reported to have urged voters to choose a party that could ensure peace and stability. So, choosing DAP would not have peace because BN is going to play foul. That is a threat. Coming from the DPM, that is a threat to national security, because he has the legs to walk the talk! But, he has more to lose to do a Dato Harun Idris again.

58. #58 by democrate on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 6:39 pm

Todays Chinese Press, from the Malacca Chief Minister, if the Chinese do not vote for MCA, Umno WILL TAKE THE SEAT FOR THE NEXT ELECTION.
    Hello .go to hell you racist why not saying we will take up all the seats in the country if Chinese do not go for MCA.
    Good, all the investors will run away if only Racist take everything.Do not threaten the voters ok?

59. #59 by dragon972 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 7:44 pm

so much talk by dpm, hah… ask him come to ipoh next general election, we will sure give him a good bashing. or better still, bring on ur toll minister, come n contest in ipoh. we will certainly give u back all the toll troubles u give the rakyat

60. #60 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 10:56 pm

“UMNO has the legs but refuse to use it, while MCA does not have the legs, and there is no use persuading it. ” Loh

I am told MCA Ministers have a third leg and they use it frequently. This frequent use of the third leg is reflected in the rising divorce rate.

61. #61 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 11 April 2007 - 11:31 pm

“If Malays want to be rich, get them through proper means. It is playing on emotions on the Malays to get them agree to discriminate against non-Malays.” Loh

This is a skewed analysis of the real situation.

Malays for the most part only look for a more equitable share of the national economic pie – rather than maximizing their wealth. This was the mood in the early years of the 70s. They are told by their leaders that this was their birthright, that UMNO acts to safeguard their interests which are protected by the Constitution of 1957. To the non-Malays they are told for the most part that they would need to share the national economic pie in a more equitable way, and that it would not involve any real sacrifice on their part like giving up their piece of the pie so others could have it.

This is only possible with a growing national economic pie – a growing GDP though rate of growth from year to year may fluctuate. This expanding national economic pie analysis could not withstand scrutiny, or the test of time in situations like we had in 1998/99 when not only growth rate plummeted but was negative and when the national economic pie actually shrank in size. There was less of everything rather than more of everything to share. Situations like that breeds resentment.

Discrimination is but an aspect of the New Economic Policy or NEP – a policy which is the direct response to the race riots of 1969 which brought the economy to a halt. You cannot have a policy aimed at the equitable distribution of the national economic pie without racial discrimination. In fact race is not only an important component of the NEP but its very basis.

The kind of rhetoric that accompanies the policy needs to be downplayed. Unfortunately, UMNO leaders depend on it to justify their very existence.

62. #62 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 2:35 am

I don’t know about you but I’m looking forward to eating my apple pie. Then I’ll go suck some blood.

63. #63 by Loh on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:18 am

///This is a skewed analysis of the real situation.///

That is the situation we witness in the country. Forget about the stated objectives and the ideal situation the so-called policy framework is expected a produce. What counts is the results.

I wonder why it seems easy for people to characterise an observation to be skewed or of some other adjectives!

64. #64 by Loh on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 5:17 pm

///Malays for the most part only look for a more equitable share of the national economic pie – rather than maximizing their wealth.///–Undergrad2

Individual Malays know whether they want to maximise their wealth or not, like Daim and his boys, and TDM’s cronies. The 1997 finance crisis was a form of judgement day for the cronies.

Malays as a group may be or may not be looking for a share of the national economic pie, but if UMNO is speaking Malays, then Malays want everything; APs are exclusively for them, banking license are mainly for them, motor vehicles trade are controlled by them. That is not equitable share. That is winner take all! Indeed the term equitable share has not been in UMNO NEP dictionary until the son-in-law of Abdullah suggested that Malays should have 60% of share capital after he could not refute ASLI’s computation.

The Malay individuals in the pre-1969 days cared only about how to live their own life, and the May 13 violence was not the result of economic disparity. UMNO and especially Razak had whitewash the incident, to entend Razak’s racist policy such as the FELDA scheme where only Malays benefited.

Now we hear non-Malays justifying the action. We also hear that foreigners do not complain about the 30% demand. It is one thing to enter into partnership of 30-70 split, and it is quite another to bet on the 30% when the cards are open.

65. #65 by Loh on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:17 pm

MCA retains the seat in Machap. The Chinese voters there are happy to have their thirst quenched by taking poison.

I just do not know how Chinese in this Bolehland would ever realise that if they do not give up their immediate selfish wishes, they will just disappear from Bolehland. If they stay, they will just be souless moving beasts!

66. #66 by Joshua on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 9:36 pm

JK’s Digest No. 25 of April 2007 (81 of 2007) Can we boo UMNO and UMNO youth?
    Would all those Police reports lodged on the corruption, threats and bribes and gambling in Machap
    byelection be brought before the Election Court by DAP?
    How much did BN especially UMNO incur to retain the seat with a smaller majority?
    How much did DAP – not losing the deposit but with a better showing- incur in the by-election?
    Machap Baru and Machap Umboo are the real winners as much business was done over the period.
    Joshua Kong (proponent of MIGS and WON)
    http://mega-icc-group-sabah-migs.blogspot.com/ http://won-borneo.blogspot.com/

67. #67 by undergrad2 on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 1:11 am

“I just do not know how Chinese in this Bolehland would ever realise …” Loh

Well, didn’t I tell you so?? I have proven you wrong.

It has nothing to do with anything but money politics, a better machinery at garnering support, an electorate that rightly or wrongly prefers a better standard of living for themselves and their kin, preferring economic development to political wishy washy ideologies.

Putting an Opposition state assemblyman in a State Legislative Assembly (SLA) controlled and dominateed by the ruling party in a by-election just does not click. However, we may see a different situation during general elections. We are likely to see a bifurcation in the voting like we always see in the past. Vote for BN at the state level and vote for the Opposition at the federal level. A compromise? No. A strategy that takes into consideration practical realities.

The Chinese are a very practical race. They are not interested in anything like an ideology – if there ever was one, not when bread and butter issues mean more. Machap is a classic example.

68. #68 by undergrad2 on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 1:44 am

“The Malay individuals in the pre-1969 days cared only about how to live their own life, and the May 13 violence was not the result of economic disparity.” Loh

This thesis is so wrong and not grounded in truth that all I need to do here is merely to state the mere fact that it is so, to dismantle your argument. History has always shown that social and political unrests are always based on “economic disparity” to use your term, if not the result of it.

Suffice it for me to say that the “economic disparity” you referred to, always manifests itself in social and political unrest. Social and political unrest don’t just happen.

The race riots of 1969 is one example, and to characterize the riots as being the outcome of a design by self-serving politicians to suspend Parliament, and take control of the country in the face of unprecedented losses at the polls, is not only to exaggerate what is false but to distort the truth and history.

69. #69 by Loh on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 10:03 am

///Social and political unrest don’t just happen.///–Undergrad2

Yes, they are organized!

70. #70 by Loh on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 11:36 am

UMNO would love to convert all Chinese into believing what undergrad2 believes, that May 13 is because of economic issues. UMNO proved it by quoting the equity share capital statistics claiming that it had only 1.43% of total equity share capital, and foreigners had 40% plus. UMNO has conveniently left out FELDA scheme which had by 1969 over a million acres of mature rubber land and palmoil land developed by the government for the benefit exclusively of Malays. That alone, at 1969 prices would have accounted for 20% of share capital. Today UMNO’s EPU has still excluded FELDA in the computation of the infamous 30% target.

In 1969, Malays accounted for at least 70% of the government servants. Yes, there were Chinese businessmen and Indians professionals in towns, but there were as many Chinese tenant farmers and tenant rubber tappers in the rural areas. The earning of most Chinese businessmen in the 1960s could not be better than the senior Malay civil servants. Besides the Alliance government at that time did not suppressed the Malays, or preventing them from entering into any business activities. The fact that different communities were comfortable with their own way of livings would cause social unrest is a myth.

71. #71 by undergrad2 on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 11:34 pm

Oh, Come off it!

The fact that there was evidence of exploitation or manipulation by vested interests does not make the race riots of 1960 part of a well planned design by Tun Razak and Tun Dr. Ismail and whoever else, to take over the government and the country from further falling into the hands of the Opposition. The riots showed sufficient spontaneity as to draw researchers since into studying its root cause – which is socio-economic. The fact that there may be other causes at work does not dilute the veracity of the evidence.

To say the riots were organized without more is to downplay the forces at work viz. the root cause of the riots. The forces at work are, I respectfully submit, political and socio-economic and not just political as your thesis suggests.

It may, for example, have the appearance even of a political coup staged by rightist elements within UMNO led by Tun Razak and Tun Dr. Ismail and Ghazalie Shafie (which probably included the likes of Dr. Mahathir who stood up earlier against the Tunku) to wrest control from the Tunku who was under the influence of certain MCA leaders. But that does not mean it was a political coup.

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Friday, 13 April 2007 - 11:42 pm

There was this dichotomy between political power and economic power. The former being in Malay hands and the latter in Chinese hands. This dichotomy is unnatural and is not conducive to long term political stability.

The race riots whilst admittedly manipulated by rightist elements within UMNO to some degree, were a clear manifestation of that artificial dichotomy of Malay political power and Chinese economic power.

73. #73 by Loh on Saturday, 14 April 2007 - 2:17 pm

In the face of cold statistics, people still think that by insisting that he is right, then he must be right. What more when one needs only to claim that many studies have been made to concluded one way or another.

Spontaneity of the incident is one observation, and organization is yet another. Again it is one opinion against another, and I do not call the alternative view “Oh, Come off it!”, rather I feel that UMNO must have agents out there to spread what they want people to believe!

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 14 April 2007 - 8:54 pm

..and I am one of them. Oh purleeeze!