It grieves my entire being but does it bother Pak Lah and Cabinet?

I have received an email which grieves my entire being but does it bother Pak Lah, our Prime Minister and the Cabinet? If they do not understand the cry deep from the heart and soul of “J”, who sent the email, then the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations this year are completely meaningless, waste of time and money.

Read this heart-rending email:

Dear Mr. Lim,

I have utmost respect and admiration for your tenacity in remaining in Malaysia to champion the cause of justice and equality and fight for a Bangsa Malaysia. My heart broke when I read about your article regarding the honest cyber cafe operator especially when he wondered if he “had chosen the wrong country” to start and operate his business.

I see my situation summed up in that phrase. You have said before that the best and brightest are leaving this country. Well, I am making every preparation to leave. I have consistently scored straight As in every public exam and placed among the top 3 of my form. In university, I studied medicine and am among the top scorers. I have just graduated and scored near perfect results in a medical licensing examination that will enable me to work abroad and further my studies.

I was born a Malaysian yet I cannot see myself as a Malaysian. As a chinese, I feel that I am being discriminated against. I feel that the government is trying its hardest to sideline me just because of my race. I look around and see this discrimination manifested in various forms. From the issue regarding religious conversion to the allocation of places in local universities, the stench of discrimination is sickening.

It was horrifying to note in my batch of medical students, there were a substantial number of malay students who actually did not apply for medicine but were sent to study it. It is disgusting to think that many STPM straight A scorers are deprived of a chance to study medicine while the government gives the places to people who are not even sure that they want to study medicine.

I have seen how racial politics sully the environment in the university and how unqualified people are in high posts at the expense of far more intelligent and qualified individuals just
because they are malay. I have heard the terrible statements made by delegates at the recent UMNO General Assembly about revoking my citizenship rights should I question their special rights. I have seen the videos on YouTube where UMNO MPs have the audacity to ask us to “keluar” of the country if we don’t like what they are doing to it. And I see the pathetic attempt by the PM to “discipline” these racists. I hate the fact that Gerakan and MCA have done NOTHING to fight for my rights instead of
just kow-towing to UMNO for their own gains.

Patriotism isn’t about singing the national anthem or raising the flag. It isn’t about accepting at face value everything the government says. It isn’t about attending merdeka celebrations. It is about feeling accepted as part of your nation. It is about knowing that your nation accepts you as a son or daughter. It is about realizing that being a part of a nation entails certain responsibilities. That is my definition of patriotism. And right now, as a Malaysian, I am feeling anything BUT patriotic. 50 years of independence? So what? What has it done for me? Whoopee.

I have a chance to change my life. I will change my destiny. I could not choose the country where I was born but I can very well choose the country that I will swear my allegiance to. I want a country that will recognize me as a citizen and grant me rights equal to that of all other citizens. I want a country that has the wisdom to recognize my potential and talents and reward me accordingly. I want a country where the government fears its people and conducts itself in a manner worthy of respect and honor.

This is not my nation. I am leaving. Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people. How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us? How many did more than just shake their heads and move on with their petty little lives? None that I know of. Yet you continue to defend their rights. You are an amazing man, Mr. Lim and I truly admire you for that. Unfortunately, I have a bright future ahead and I will not waste it in this country. It is not my nation.

Thank you for fighting the good fight.

1. #1 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 4:40 pm

J, wishing you all the best. You have made the right decision, look ahead and never look back, you will never be sorry.
    You can help others in the same predicament by coming to Kit’s blog to post (when you are stable and settle down in your new home) how to go about leaving this bodohland.

My heart is weeping for those of us who have no other choice or incapable of leaving this bodohland.

No matter what had been written bad about Kit and DAP, my choice is still DAP in every elections.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

2. #2 by MISHUGINA on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 5:24 pm

[i]”Hujan emas di negeri lain, hujan batu di negara sendiri”.[/i]

[b]”Unfortunately, I have a bright future ahead and I will not waste it in this country. It is not my nation.”[/b]

Ask not what the country can do for you but what you can do for your country, said late U.S President John F. Kennedy.

You seem to send the message to Datuk Lim that you’re either not bothered or too chickened to fight the fight. But hey, it’s your life, not mine.

I’m no fan of the ruling coalition, but to be realistic it’s not all bed of roses no matter where you choose to live. You will still face discrimination, prejudice and oppression due to your skin colour alone.

a-malaysian, the answer would be obviously the rich and wealthy ones are capable of migrating outside “bodohland”. What about poor, penniless folks like me? Maybe Mr J could enlighten me as well.

3. #3 by mendela on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 5:36 pm

I have mentioned many times before that current Malaysia is worst than the South Africa some 20 years ago when apartheid was at its peak!

Malaysia needs a Mandela to lead and to fight as soon as possible!Time is running out!
    Malaysia needs real leaders to fight all these injustices.
    How can we all citizens tolerate such abuses for so long?

People like Kit and Karpal are good candidates to be our Mandela!

4. #4 by 4th_wife on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 5:53 pm

” I could not choose the country where I was born but I can very well choose the country that I will swear my allegiance to. I want a country that will recognize me as a citizen and grant me rights equal to that of all other citizens. I want a country that has the wisdom to recognize my potential and talents and reward me accordingly. I want a country where the government fears its people and conducts itself in a manner worthy of respect and honor.”

Young man, you said it right…..Sg welcome you. Alternatively you can choose Aust or UK or NZ and so many countries, even AAB’s brother choose Perth.

5. #5 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 6:11 pm

MISHUGINA you commented:

Ask not what the country can do for you but what you can do for your country, said late U.S President John F. Kennedy.

Your quote are very true and I am very sure the millions who left are capable, willing and can do a lot to help this country but the racist umno and gang do not want it. The reasons you are very well aware off…..

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

6. #6 by Sintiansai on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 6:11 pm

——-Story from a student visiting Ijok——-

http://thecicak.com/?p=226

—————————————————–

7. #7 by sybreon on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 6:24 pm

J: “I want a country that will recognize me as a citizen and grant me rights equal to that of all other citizens.”
    Good luck in finding such a country. I’d be interested to know if you ultimately find one. I personally don’t think that there’s any around. Many countries are very xenophobic in their policies.

J: “I have seen the videos on YouTube where UMNO MPs have the audacity to ask us to ‘keluar’ of the country if we don’t like what they are doing to it.”
    A lot of m’sian chinese don’t realise this, but many of the UMNO politicians are actually 1st generation migrants. They don’t really have much ‘claim’ to the country.

4th_wife: “Sg welcome you.”
    My Sg friends tell me that their people are ‘voting with their feet’. Their people who are capable of it, are doing the same as we are, leaving their country for a ‘better’ place.

Mendela: “People like Kit and Karpal are good candidates to be our Mandela!”
    Kit+Karpal are stuck in the same mentality as the people from the ruling party. All that they care about is race. DAP is just playing the same game as BN. When is this idiocy going to stop?

Personally, I think that Malaysia is a wonderful country in every way except the politics. We have a nice environment, good food and friendly people. However, the politics just make it unbearable sometimes.

So, I think that we should all fight for a better future. It certainly isn’t something that should depend on the opposition. Everyone needs to contribute and show their support for a the cause. However, we need a champion and a clear cause. At the moment, I don’t see either of these things around.

8. #8 by k1980 on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 6:37 pm

…the MCA has been spreading word around that if the Chinese voted the Opposition there would be riots and a repeat of the bloody May 13 (1969).

See http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/04/28/ijok-look-out-for-these-busses-carrying-phantom-voters/#more-511

…received the sms informing the latter that voters would be offered money up to RM200 for voting the “dacing”.During the phone conversation, Tuan Haji told “Jack” that BN had a way of knowing who voted and did not vote for them. However, the voter can only receive the cash after they have cast their votes.

See http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/04/28/ijok-bn-offers-money-for-votes-according-to-audiofile/

…In Penang, UMNO is playing the race card so as to pressurized the BN government to rotate the chief minister post. UMNO Penang had been eyeing the CM post for decades without success. They had tried to drive a wedge between MCA and Gerakan and had even sub-divided their Malay-dominated seats into smaller fragment so as to built up their control of state representation. The Chinese majority seats have more than 10,000 voters but UMNO controlled state seats have only a few thousand voters.

See http://www.maverickysm.blogspot.com/

9. #9 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 6:59 pm

“50 years of independence? So what? What has it done for me? Whoopee.”

Jumping with joy because the country of his birth has not done anything for him??

10. #10 by Kingkong on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 7:30 pm

“J” congratulations to you that you have found a way out from the Bodohland.

Having a degree is just a beginning and you still have a long way to go to develop your potential to the fullest, and that you need a transparent, free competitive, merit based environment to fulfill your dream. On top of that, you need many capable mentors to guide you to the destiny, and in Bodohland there aren’t many.

There are psychological barriers one has to get over in living overseas.

“ but to be realistic it’s not all bed of roses no matter where you choose to live”—MISHUGINA. True, you may think yourself the best, but somehow there is a better one! One has to go through a keen competition in securing a job, a position or a promotion. One has to be really qualified and good.

“You will still face discrimination, prejudice and oppression due to your skin color alone”—MISHUGIN. Before you quickly jump to the conclusion of skin color, please review yourself; others could be better than you in certain criteria. Especially if he/she is from a different ethnic, you may think you lose because of your skin color.

11. #11 by Loh on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 7:35 pm

Well, I hate to repeat it. When the government chose to whitewash the sinners of May 13, and pretended that they needed NEP to hide their ketuanan Melayu intention, Malaysia went on the road of destruction with no return possible. What is ironical is the fact that Malay under article 160(2) is a synthetic being, and the people who stand to gain under that provision can still pretend to be very emotional about its ketuanan!

12. #12 by cherasusie on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 7:37 pm

i am sure ‘some’ people love to use the above phrase to demean anyone wanting to leave the country.

to me, we can only use the above ‘holy’ verse if we are talking about equals…so are we equals?

lame excuses are being used repeatedly in the name of cherishing ‘peace’. prompting concerned citizen to look at certain group of our society like a bunch of extortionists…that, without getting what they suppose to get, there maybe riot and no peace in our country., i am sure any righteous minded people would feel nauseous over this.

so what can we do? dap can’t do much, balless mca, mic, gerakan, ppp, etc etc pretend to be sleeping… someday somebody would say, you deserve this because you did not say anything, to object!

i don’t discourage ‘j’ to leave…j is definitely not disloyal. let’s hope he will come back when the atmosphere is right. i always see people who obstruct fellow malaysians as traitors…but traitors rule!

of course ‘the powerful’ won’t care, even the whole country goes to the dogs as long as orang sendiri remain incharge.

they blame this blame that for their own failures but they are happy to repeat over and over again because no one can say a word to stop their squandering habits and their merciless maraudings…it is their inherent rights.

the artificial dislike against other races especially the chinese was inculcated and propagated thus corrupting and confusing the minds of malaysians…….

don’t slap, kick and screw as you please and then cry foul when people retaliate!

13. #13 by tsn on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 8:34 pm

True enough eventhough the whole bed is full of roses, but the roses are full of thorns. Hope in future Uncle Lim does not post any letter/article of this nature in this blog, because to Malay, the cabuting Non-Malays are “orang yang tak kenang budi, just want everything by themselves, selfish lot”
    Bolehland is doing great, our share market is all time high, exchange rate is stronger day by day, what a fuss here?

14. #14 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 8:45 pm

tsn, WHO ARE YOU to tell Kit what he can or cannot post.

You are still a little child and very unlearned or you must be another one of the spy trying to create havoc.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition

15. #15 by RealWorld on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 8:52 pm

Migrating to another western country?? Actually, the mat sallehs are the worst racists and bigots out there ever.

16. #16 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:01 pm

RealWorld, another spy, have you been there? I have and I can assured you it is 100% better than this bodohland.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition

17. #17 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:01 pm

A Man has to do what a Man has to do.

Young man, you were not the first. The numbers who have rumbled onto distant shores have exceeded 1 million, according to some earlier blog posting by LKS.

Whilst many who had seen the light had striven hard to make headway and forged towards a new destiny, millions still remain behind because they simply either do not have the wherewithal to do it or do not have the necessary educational accomplishments to make it.

For those who make it, bon voyage and godspeed.
    For those who remain behind, the fight’s not over yet. You have every right to strive for your happiness and that of your family; you have rights enshrined under the constitution and it is for you to vote in the right governmenet to administer the trust of the people.

Though PKR lost IJOK by a mere 1,000+ votes, there is no shame in the loss considering the massive disadvantages it faced and the mammoth program of abuse and bribery BN launched to secure such a narrow win.

I still say this is another one up for PKR and Anwar Ibrahim with the support of DAP and PAS. However, I would wish the Malay supporters of PKR would be less vociferous and less physical but to focus the campaigning on substantive issues and programs rather than being drawn by the noise and empty chicketty-bang-bang of ‘Bribery Nasional’ party.

18. #18 by japankiller on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:04 pm

MISHUGINA you commented:

Dear all, lets face it, Malaysia is not US and our government are never talk this type of word to its people. If i would consider the quote from John F. then i’d for sure request a cheaper car, cheaper houses, every citizen being treated equally, and not stupid NEP or priority.

And for tsn, from your words and your initial i couldnt judge that whether you r malay or indian or chinese, but one thing for sure you have a stupid and dumbfull thinking in your head as majority of the malay do, you want a non-malay berkenang budi?then lets cease the 30%, or 10% or 5%.

When ever people ask me about where i am origin, i will tell them a big jokes “I am from a country where malay always ask for 30%”

19. #19 by japankiller on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:18 pm

RealWorld you commented:

Migrating to another western country?? Actually, the mat sallehs are the worst racists and bigots out there ever.

Yupp..there are racist anywhere in the world, just like we always thought a chinese girl from China are prostitue. Mind you..a lot of chinese from china in western country are even doing better than any chinese from Asian.

Mat Salleh racist?definitely you have not yet broaden your eye sight, if you say that word, i would recognise what you people you have came across is another Pariah westerner, may be you met them in club or pokies or other hanky panky place. Youh do never approach a good mat salleh yet. If you are well menace and well educate, sure they will repect and salute you. Racist by westerner is just your own moral perception because you yourself try to judge a person from their wealth and their colour, so this is the reason you thought that westerner are racist.

racist are everywhere but not as obvious as in Malaysia, 30% they want and now they say shold be 70%. So are they thought that chinese are their Kuli?Simply demanding from goverment are meaning to Kenang Budi?Mat Rempit are good to economy?Civil Servant having teh tarik one hour before officr hour finish does contribute to country?simply wana live in the prime area without stirking hard for the study and work are good?without doing anything but asking for 30% is appropriate?I would say this people are actually the EXPENSES to Malaysia govenrment, instead most of the non-malay should have been pay respect to, cause we are the asset to the country.

20. #20 by quicksilverlining on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:20 pm

ask not what my country can do for me? that’s just plain ridiculous. if my country can’t do anything for me, there is no reason why i should bother sticking around doing anything for it.

i would say i am in no way unsupportive of uncle kit’s efforts. i absolutely believe in finishing what you start, too, and unfortunately, i have a relatively long bit of life to go through before i decide to start changing what i do not see changeable within my forseeable lifespan. nor do i have the experience nor patience to. i will pick up the baton once i’ve decided that i can do something that will effect a change.

21. #21 by lupus on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:21 pm

Going back to the main topic here…The email is regarding HIS RIGHTS as a citizen – person who is born in that country. He is just asking why is he not treated as an equal ? What so special about these rights and why as it required after so many years?

BN will always be in power unless the votes of the overseas Malaysian can vote.

22. #22 by Kingkong on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:26 pm

Folks, please cool down!

If you hide your head underneath the sand, it doesn’t mean the earth is not rotating. If Kit does not post this article in his blog, it does not mean others could not get the message. If stock market crashes, and ringgits fall again, what is next?

As I said before, migration is a personal choice. If Mat Sallehs are worst racists, how come hundreds of thousands, if not millions, black, yellow, brown, muslims and non muslims including PM’s brother are flocking into Western country. Funny, isn’t it?

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:39 pm

“Actually, the mat sallehs are the worst racists and bigots out there ever.”

This is fair comment. I should know. I live among them. The United States is one country where if you choose to be a racist it is your choice – except that discrimination at the workplace is illegal. But wait just a sec! This does not mean that it does not exist. It exists and works in more subtle ways. In Malaysia it is out there in the open, and it is institutionalized and legalized.

24. #24 by burn on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:39 pm

as long as you are a non-bumi… you boleh keluar daripada malaysia! inilah yang diharap harapkan oleh gomen kepimpinan BN UMNO. masa’alahnya, ramai yang masih buta!

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:44 pm

Blacks, Mexicans and Latinos face serious discrimination This is not to mention Asians who make up a mere 4% of the total population of the United States. Asians are in turn looked down and in some cases with contempt by the Hispanic population.

26. #26 by RealWorld on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 9:56 pm

“If Mat Sallehs are worst racists, how come hundreds of thousands, if not millions, black, yellow, brown, muslims and non muslims including PM’s brother are flocking into Western country. Funny, isn’t it?” – Kingkong

Based on your above statement, let me reverse it back to you. If what you say about Msia is so horrible, how come you are still here instead of heading back to the country where your grandparents came from??

27. #27 by tsn on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 10:07 pm

Japankiller: Of course! I am a Chinese and I am one of cabuting Chinese as well. I really don’t see the point we keep on yelling out our importance/usefulness/value to the country, without us the country will stink and sink.To the majority of Malays, theirs’ perception on Chinese is simplistic; Chinese is rich, successful, they are only one in the world allow to have Chinese schools in non Chinese country and these schools make national schools inferior. Bising lagi, tak faham! To them whoever wants to go, golah, apa nak buat, asalkan bahagia.

28. #28 by Kingkong on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 10:21 pm

No, I didn’t say Msia is so horrible, did I?I did say the young people had better/more equal opportunity to develop their potential elsewhere other than Malaysia.

It is my right to stay here. Isn’t it? and it is my choice and I still pay my taxes duely.

29. #29 by tsn on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 10:23 pm

The fact is we cannot find a real good man in this world. If you insist of looking for real good good man, one is 6 feet underground, the other one haven’t born yet.

What we have in this world is full load of bad man, only this man is not as bad as the other men, meaning everyone of us is racist, discriminative towards others, do not need to particularly pinpoint at Mak Salleh.

30. #30 by azk on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 10:26 pm

Or you can choose to stay and help destroy them. It’s time to bring down the government and rewrite the constitution.

31. #31 by sybreon on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 10:43 pm

hmm.. my previous post didn’t seem to get pass the censors.. anyway..

azk:”It’s time to bring down the government and rewrite the constitution.”

Although I’m not a lawyer, I don’t think that our constitution is broken. It’s just the people who’re supposed to be defending it aren’t doing their job. They’ve twisted it around so much that it no longer has any meaning.

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 10:47 pm

What is takes for many bad men to prevail is for good men to do nothing and even get fewer by running away from the problems. If Malaysia is one’s place of birth and home, what does one do with problems like institutionalized racism in one’s home and country? Sure one can shift out to someone else’s home, which one thinks better and treated more justly, or one can stay in one’s home and try the settle the problems within one’s home between the occupants, a majority section of whom are bullying. The first option has but only one main consideration – self interest especially for one’s or one’s children future. The second option is based on trying, no matter how discouraging, to do what one can to resolve the problems within one’s home, to negotiate and fight for one’s rights between family members inter se. It is more than self-interest. It is about one’s rights, so entitled in one’s home but unjustly deprived, and to persevere fighting for them, to right a wrong, and never surrender than the taking of the perceived easier way of going elsewhere where rights, according to rules there, are given more freely and mandated by law.

33. #33 by RealWorld on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:03 pm

We can say that Msia is bad and all. The people of Ijok and Machap have spoken. Their choice is BN.

34. #34 by art-upon-mu on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:17 pm

Ah, complain, complain, complain. If BN is sooooooo bad, corrupted, and ill treats non-Malays, why is it that an Indian Malaysian candidate just won a by-election with an increased majority? Voted in by Chinese, Indians, and Malays in Ijok.

What’s the take home message there? More people love BN and tolerate all the bad things that people complained in this blog – corruption, palatial mansion, AP, close-one-eye, bloody kris, etc.

This is the government that we all deserve, as stated by TDM.

35. #35 by vwka on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:21 pm

I am trying my luck now in Melbourne, Australia. I am currently applying my PR. Like other international students here, it is not easy to get a good job. We, the Chinese are like 2nd class citizen everywhere. However, if I were to get citizenship in Australia, I would have access to equal rights here, something that I will never have back in my own birthplace.

No matter in Malaysia or Australia, both place won’t be easy. The rational decision is to choose the lesser of both evils. I would definitely try my luck in Aussieland first.

However, I still look forward to go back to Malaysia. It is a place where I still have my family and friends. It is where I grew up. It is where I have most of my memories till now. However, I hope by then, Malaysia will change for better. I still love Malaysia.

36. #36 by pamelaoda on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:22 pm

Conclusion is the malay don like you immigrants – Chinese to remain in ketuanan Melayu. Indians are ok cos they perceived Indians as YES man, no threat to them! They don want to admit chinese do play a major role in economy right from the beginning (that y they r jealous of spore being better and ahead of us). LKY actually cried when Abd Rahman announced the split in radio, Malayisa left spore alone to fend for themselves. All the truths are really like a needle pricking into their ears and the more we talk about it, the more the malays will hate us! They rather Malaysia collapsed then having a united malaysia. Sighs!
    Uncle Lim, do you actually know if there are more oppostion’s supporters now as compared to before? Why BN still win? What’s wrong?

37. #37 by MISHUGINA on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:26 pm

Jeffrey put words where I could not find em’. Great post.

38. #38 by Oldman on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:29 pm

This guy has the right to leave. One less Chinese to worry about. But for everyone that is able to leave, there are still thousands unable to do so. This guy’s parents would be sad that their son has to leave but come election time, just like the parents of the thousands who could not leave, vast majority of them still vote BN. I am a Chinese and I have to admit that Chinese people are self-serving. When bullied, we just shake our heads at the injustice, and then just carry on with our lives like nothing has happened. I have to salute Uncle Lim for his tenacity and his fighting spirit even after being in detention. Unfortunately the Chinese just stood by and watch and again shake their heads, and move on. I would have given up long time ago.

39. #39 by MISHUGINA on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:30 pm

“We can say that Msia is bad and all. The people of Ijok and Machap have spoken. Their choice is BN.”

Hey, it isn’t all doom and gloom. BN could manage to snare 5,884 votes out of 12,272 registered voters. Not really that impressive win for BN I say.

40. #40 by RealWorld on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:37 pm

“I am a Chinese and I have to admit that Chinese people are self-serving.” – Oldman

Fully agree with you that the Chinese are self serving. No matter how unhappy they are with BN, all BN needs to do is throw some money here and there and the Chinese will throw their weight behind BN.

41. #41 by raven77 on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:40 pm

Nope, PKR did OK. But for the wanton bullies from BN and of the the Indians….please don’t waste the average Malaysian’s and especially LKS time with your cry baby Rayappan, Subashini and Hindu temple stories. No Malaysian will now give two hoots…you deserve the MIC, Samy Velu and the BN..The education ministry should now immediately endorse this win by excluding all Indians from universities……you have PKR’s support and I am certain all Malaysians. As in Sarawak, my respect will go to the Chinese of Ijok who swung their votes to the opposition…..there are Chinese with principles. They are not all the Machap kind..

42. #42 by smeagroo on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 11:43 pm

Simply put …. those bastards (sorry for using this word…but then again I am not sorry) dont want us to do great thigns for the country. After they are thru with the chiense they will turn their backs on their own people. They are bringining in more INdons to kick and silence the chinese. When they have kow-tim the chinese who do you thing will be the next target?

So wake up EVERYONE! Yes everyone. Every Msian. If you still think that the BN and its components are fighting for all your rights then please dream on. After 50 years what have each of you gained? A few hundred ringgit every 5 years b4 election? A payrise every 5 years come GE? All I can see and feel is the rising cost of living every 1 year just after GE and the many promises made vanished into thin air.

So will I be celebraitng 50th Anniversary of MErdeka? HAHAHAHA!

43. #43 by dawsheng on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 12:16 am

One of the many reasons I can think of why the opposition lost again is the J type has decided to leave this country in despair. I supports the opposition, but I don’t blame the chinese who voted for BN and then belittle and calling them names, If I do so I know I won’t get their votes for sure the next election.

44. #44 by dawsheng on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 12:32 am

“Thank you for fighting the good fight.” J

How do you know its a good fight when you are not around anymore? J gave up fighting for his rights.

45. #45 by smeagroo on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 12:59 am

dawsheng

how does one fight for their rights when the playing field isnt equal? How do you fight a corrupted govt that has control on everything? I am thinking along the lines like the mexicans and filipinos. I am even thinking of how the Thais and INdons did it. Mass protest but who will watch our backs? Just look at small town Ijok. Who ensured security for the oppositions? They risk their lives there. If any of them were killed, how do you epxect the rest to react?

Just rest assured that they will splash millions in the coming 50th Merdeka Anni to show the world how MUHIBBAH we all are. But many ppl like us will have a different prespective of what MErdeka is. It holds no real meaning anymore.

46. #46 by kafkalee on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:22 am

tsn,
    i do not understand what you mean by “orang yang tak kenang budi”. please elaborate why non-Malay should be “berkenang budi”, to who, and for what? do we not have a right to stay over here????

47. #47 by Kingkong on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:27 am

I think we are overreacting. This young man J has got an opportunity to go away to work in overseas because there is a lack of equal opportunity at home. That is his choice and we have to respect an individual decision and give him a blessing.

He is a medical doctor and his pay in overseas like UK would be lucrative enough for him to call for an early retirement if he wants to and perhaps he could get into a world renown institution for his specialization subsequently. He is not going to a war of no return.

If he could get further training and qualification and becomes some kind of a specialist that the country would need him badly in the future and could afford to pay him, I am sure he would be willing to come back to serve the country. Or finally he could return and join the silver hair program and spend his accumulated wealth in our country provided that we still have some kind of attraction to him.

Think about it, there is nothing much to argue about. Just don’t stress ourselves unnecessarily.

J, I sincerely wish you good luck and do well!

48. #48 by japankiller on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:29 am

Instead of targeting on chinese vote, i think DAP has to change their perpective and pull the vote from Indian or Malay.

Those chinese who are here older age than me, those who witnessed the merdeka, 13 May and those keris thing. I think you guys should have an idea why chinese still give their votes to BN even if that vote are not really from their heart. They are not vote for money, but they vote for peace, future, and economy stability. Because chinese population has gone deteriorate, for example there only 100 chinese, when 100 vote goes to BN then MCA or Gerakan might have some power to shout out in parlimen, imagine what if 30 goes to DAP 30 goes to PKR, 20 goes to MCA, 20 left for Gerakan. Yes BN still win the chinese vote but come again when there is an issue, do you think MCA or Gerakan would be able to fight for chinese?

I was impressed with what Ong Tee Keat, he has fighted back last year when UMNO youth Ampang Jaya attacked on him to say that he was actualy depend on Malay vote to win his seat, and he was counter attack to UMNO statement, yes he needs Malays vote to secure his seat durign election but he ask UMNO dont forget that they also need chinese vote to win in the election.

So DAP why target only on chinese?leave some seat to a Malay then you might win in the next GE. SInce we couldnt eliminate Malay in this country(they always claim they are bumiputra, in fact i dont think they really are) why not we change thier wrong perception on chinese.

49. #49 by japankiller on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:37 am

Just to sure NEITHER i am a supporter of BN, nor i will vote for DAP. This is another reason i guess i choose to leave this country

50. #50 by japankiller on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:39 am

King Kong, i elieve what you have said is right to J, but come again you better come back home with nothing or else the Malay will again claim that chinese are too rich and they will ask for 70%.

51. #51 by Wang on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:46 am

I admire those of you who are willing to stay to fight. Uncle Lim has fought his whole life and what has been achieved? J is young and bright. By leaving, not only will he serve his self-interest and the interest of his family, he will also put his productive capacity to its greatest use and serve ALL mankind. The world will be a much better place for him to use his skills in the most efficient and effective way. The loss of J leaving and not “fighting” with those being hurt by the unjust in Malaysia is far less than the gain to J, his family (including his future generations), and to other that will gain from J using his skills in the most effective ways. Staying in Malaysia is a great loss to the world as a whole.

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 6:07 am

“If what you say about Msia is so horrible, how come you are still here instead of heading back to the country where your grandparents came from??”

Because we choose to exercise our constitutional right to remain! This is the country of our birth. And like you we are citizens and as citizens we go to the polls every five years to choose the type of government we want for ourselves. And if the government that gets elected to power is not the government we voted for then so be it. That is democracy at work.

We put our representatives into Parliament to represent us and though they may be in the minority, they still represent us and they give us our voice.

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 6:18 am

“I admire those of you who are willing to stay to fight. Uncle Lim has fought his whole life and what has been achieved? J is young and bright. By leaving, not only will he serve his self-interest and the interest of his family, he will also…”

It is not like it so easy as it is made out to be. Just save some money pack your bags, buy a plane ticket and make your way to the airport and leave!

The majority of us has not seen the inside of an airport, let alone travel in a Fokker or a B737 anywhere. You don’t just enter a foreign country without a visa – and what visa will that be?? A tourist visa which entitles you to stay for 6 months max or a two-week stay without a visa? Are you planning to overstay your visa and work illegally? For how long? Then where do you go next? To the detention center for illegal aliens and wait to be deported back to where you come from? It is not like it is a choice we would want for ourselves and our family!

54. #54 by Billy on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 7:56 am

This is for “J” and I hope what I have to say will coax you to stay on to fight a cause that belongs to you.
    Back in the late 70s, after my first boy was born, I was finding it very difficult to make ends meet. Back then the discriminatory polices of the BN were already in full swing. One night two friends of ours paid us a courtesy call and asked whether we would be interested in migrating with them to New Zealand. The thought was very tempting as it would mean a good future for my kids, at least in terms of education, but after much consultations, we decided against the idea. To do so, I told myself, is to call it quits and deserting my folks here was my last option. So we decided to stay on and fight.
    The first thing, that in order our kids to have a better future, was to re-strategise ourselves. I stopped being bitter about the NEP as it has counter-productive to even think about it. The goal is our kids must have good education here and the only way to do it is to have ample $$$$. So first thing first. I went back to do my studies as I only have my Senior Cambridge to lean on. After completing one course, I enrolled for another and another, 3 all together. After having graduated, I applied for part-time lectureship with some colleges and in the meantime, I played music during the weekends to earn my keeps. All together I was doing three jobs, including my full time job. The total income of my wife and I at the beginning did not even exceed RM3k but by now, the income was substantial enough to send my two boys to two local private colleges, and today, they are gainfully employed while 85,000 graduates still remain unemployed. All the hard work paid off.
    So what I am trying to say is this, forget about the BN and its discriminatory policies. We just simply have to ignore them and carry on with our lives, and after all this is our home. Why should we run away from it? Just because we have some bad neighbours? In life, we are agents of change. So I suggest that you stay and be that agent of change. By deserting your country, don’t you think you are even making it even more easier for the BN to stay longer in power to carry on with their abuses because the people of principles like yourself would be getting lesser and lesser to vote them out.
    I remember what Prime Minister Nehru once said, “Wouldn’t life be dull and colourless if not for the obstacles we have to overcome”.

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:52 am

“To do so, I told myself, is to call it quits and deserting my folks here was my last option. So we decided to stay on and fight.”

There is a time to fight and there is a time to quit fighting – and move on with your life. Only you can decide. Billy is a patriot and there are not many like him. The rest of us are just trapped.

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 9:06 am

In respect to Wang’s preceding posting, migration by young bright well educated non malays may, in part be attributable to the “pull” factor of maximizing the chances, in this Age of Globalisation and porous borders, of putting their productive capacity to greater use, but having acknowledged this, it must not be forgotten that the main motivation is probably the “push” factor of extricating from the quagmire of marginalisation suffered in home country, that year after year shows no prospect of being ameliorated much less corrected when the system is stacked against it, and where parachuting into another more developed country – where the playing field is believed leveler, infrastructure and facilities, and most important mentality of the larger society more developed – seems the more convenient way out!

This, I submit, is a selfish and self-interested decision. It is something that we do with a touch of apology than glee (which I believe is the case of J), much less encourage others to emulate in relation to what ought to be done.

But having said this, no one can or ought pass adverse judgment on such a decision premised on the natural human tendency of preservation of and benefit to self, future and children. Let us not be hypocrite and pretend the majority all of us are martyrs for wider cause than immediate self!

But, no matter, it is a sad and heart-rending situation for those who have to stay behind, whether due to lack of means to do otherwise or other reasons.

They may stay behind for reasons other than just self-interest. Some may stay due to comparative advantage, they have stayed in white countries, may be during studies, and find that even if white laws are against racial discrimination, the glass ceiling of it still exists, with the subtle difference that there you are discriminated as a lesser race of being non white whilst here you are by being a perceived more competent race with economic prowess and other undesirable cultural attributes, and between the two, the latter allows a leeway to still make a success in work or business with collaboration between the competing occupants of the same house.

But many may stay behind for reasons beyond self interest, extending to DUTY: duty to be around with family members and duty to be with aged parents in the evening of their lives who have dedicated their whole lives in toil and sweat for singular purpose of giving you the best in education and everything else and who for your best interest will even encourage you to migrate even if it goes against their own emotional inclination and solace of having the children around when days pass faster and each day is a gift from God.

And there are others like YB Kit who stay because, staying isn’t that bad – its how one makes his way around here – but staying to fight for one’s just right is a birth entitlement, where leaving, without the fight, is out of character, and where no matter how bad the affairs of men in the country deteriorate by reason of misgovernment and abuse of power of the goons in power and could stay in power by manipulation and deceit, does not change the bond with the country of birth or the beauty of and love for one’s home that one knows no other!

Now for those who stay to fight, it is particularly hard rending when they ask who they are fighting for, and whether it is worth while to fight for a so called marginalized group whose members, especially the brightest and most mobile, take the path of least resistance of exit, leaving less and less behind to contend against the forces of oppression.

Malaysia today is the last surviving Apartheid, the one in South Africa, dismantled not too long ago. Would that have been possible in South Africa, if Nelson Mandela had emigrated when he was young to escape incarceration or the masses of black youth who rally behind him?

57. #57 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 9:57 am

It is most interesting that the public debate of whether to leave or stay and fight for our rights have actually moved to where those who leave are no longer criticised by non-bumiputras (Bumiputras have no decency to say anything in this matter).

It means that we are actually moving on. The choice is clear for non-bumis – leave if you can, work to help those you love to leave next, then its stay and fight.

We all know that the NEP will end but that will not end discrimination itself. It will takes just as long to correct institutional discrimination as the NEP policy will have been implemented after it ends. When the NEP ends, then the real fighting and pain between the races will surface. What will be debated is the Malay morality itself and what kind of people they are. At the end of the verdict, the Malay race will not be looked down upon as they have feared in the past but they have lost their right of respect among the best at least for a long long time even after the NEP is removed. How they correct the NEP policy after it end will determine whether they will be respected. But its likely that the immorality of what have been doned to what will be millions of non-bumis overseas will always marred their history forever..

58. #58 by terencesgk on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 10:06 am

J, you’re SPOT ON!!!!

59. #59 by aquila on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 10:13 am

Well, I would argue that Malaysia has done many things for J. He did have a medical education, did he not? Without a place in university, I doubt he would have been able to graduate as a top student and have the options that he has now. Life is unfair, but he has been luckier than other non-Malay peers who did not have the opportunities that he has had. I hope he comes back someday to change the situation for millions of other Malaysians who have not been as lucky as he has been.

60. #60 by Oldman on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 10:27 am

‘..forget about the BN and its discriminatory policies. We just simply have to ignore them and carry on with our lives..” Billy

I am not sure what you are advocating there. I hope it is not what I already said above..that Chinese ‘When bullied, we just shake our heads at the injustice, and then just carry on with our lives like nothing has happened’ and then continue to vote BN.

“..We all know that the NEP will end..” Bigjoe

For the sake of the Chinese, I hope you are right. But that sounds to me more like an MCA talk…always telling the Chinese to be patient, that NEP will end one day, and that has been decades ago. In my opinion, unless the Chinesse vote out the MCA people and get real representation for the Chinese, the NEP will continue and even gets worse as we get nearer to the time the oil runs out. As I see it, from the reports of corruptions in the newspapers all around us, it seems that anybody who is able to, is just busy plundering the nation while the going is still good.

61. #61 by terencesgk on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 10:32 am

J is spot on. I think the whole thing that’s going on is rotten beyond imagination. I’m not questioning the content of the mederka contract (it’s a contract that allow our forefathers to gain the independence) but I surely think that Malaysia is really making an idiot of itself for discriminating against certain section of the population (yes, those born on Malaysian soil), just because the ancestors of these group of people arrived on the Malaysian soil at a later time than theirs. Hahaha. I am puzzled why should I called myself a “foreigner”, and being treated as one, in my own country while they give better treatment to a tourist. The only time they treated me as a Malaysian is when they approach me to say “Vote for BN”.

I see some commenter here saying that we’ve a wonderful country, saying that we can’t get equal treatment elsewhere too etc. etc. Racism in M’sia is one of the worse in the world, in my opinion. It’s legalized and institutionalized. It’s worst than apartheid in South Africa coz it’s done in a very systematical yet devastating way.

I would see myself leaving the country in the next few years too. I’m still searching for a suitable country which at the moment is the US. It’s tough to migrate there now for a M’sian, I guess, for what our so-called representatives do during Rice visit to KL (and other factors such as M’sia is an Islamic country). I hope those who have migrated would care to share on how to go about doing it. My only regret is that I attended a M’sian university, which is of very little value in the eyes of foreign institutions which would make it very difficult to obtain a job elsewhere. Maybe we can start a forum on how to migrate for those who is interested.

62. #62 by dragon88 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 11:01 am

Good luck…You will never regret it. My family moved under 17 years ago and had made the right choice. I was even from Singapore and had a profession. We are never discriminated upon even though we are only PRs. My children excel in their schools and wer given scholarships in a private school and also at universities.
    The Chinese in Malaysia has to wake up and fight if they want to live there forever. They are badly organised and cannot work as a team. Most of them are selfish and only look after themself. They only look for immediate benefits rather than long termed. That is why they supported BN in Ijok and others…The Bumis are taking everything. It si already too late…They must stand up and be counted..

63. #63 by Jan on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 11:31 am

Do you ever feel that you are slowly being edged out as a citizen of this country? After years of discrimination to the non malays some Malay leaders are now telling them to get of the country if they don’t like it here. They even wave the keris at them to tell them they mean business. Now they are suggesting to not only wave the keris but use it as well.
    All these acts tell the non malays one thing, you are not welcome here anymore. and they have no regrets whatsoever if more Mr Js leave the country as a million had done so previously.
    Did it not occur to you that the non malays are too good for their own good? After the implementation of the NEP which was supposed to let the malays catch up failed because the discriminated chinese and indians became even better in whatever they are doing. Malay leaders began to recognise their people can never ever catch up so began to passively encourage the non malays to leave and at the same time implement more discriminative policies. TDM at one time even admitted that he was amazed how tenacious the chinese were in spite of all the obstacles thrown at them and asked the malays to learn from them.
    If more brilliant and well heeled chinese and indians leave the country the future for the remaining non malays will be even more bleak. You can expect the country to slide backwards as in the case of Zimbabwe where many productive white citizena were forced out of the country. The import of low quality Indons by the hundreds of thousands will make the situation much worse and accelerate the country downwards. Truly a banana monarchy in the making!

64. #64 by dawsheng on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 12:24 pm

smeagroo asked “how does one fight for their rights when the playing field isnt equal?

That’s why one fought in the first place to have the equal playing field. Ask the Malay this question they won’t be able to anwer you, they have the advantages but look at what they achieved. What does that tell you?

We shouldn’t be fighting for this rights in the first place, being equal is enshrined in the constitution. What went wrong? If chinese keep leaving Malaysia for such reason this is a losing game. DAP is a multi-racial party but MCA is the one who suppose to look after the chinese, probably the have a better answer.

Dr J is like J the cybercafe operator, just don’t write to Uncle Kit feeling how sorry you are, tell us also why you didn’t write to MCA or Gerakan or perhaps you did and they just pretend to be sympathetic. Tell us all that! Writing to Uncle Kit won’t solves their problems unless they realize MCA or Gerakan has abandoned them and do the right thing by joining DAP to fight for a Malaysian Malaysia, not chinese malaysia or whatever.

65. #65 by cherasusie on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 12:48 pm

ladies & gentlemen,

for those who feel happy to see non-malays to leave the country for ethnic reason….let me tell you, you are all traitors!

Our government was legally and popularly elected but unfortunately a certain group of scheming racist zealots took charge and started ruling the country along racial line to fufill their narrow aspirations.

disguised under the umbrella of harmony and peace, they formulated laws that favor certain group or groups of malaysian, bulldozing them through without due regard to the feelings of fellow citizens, of their actions.

in the eyes of civilised world, they contravene the united nation charter on human rights and practice racial discrimination. they are corruptible and incapable of reasoning.

every malaysian owes it to malaysia, without malaysia, we have no place to go!

no malaysian have the right to say they are more malaysian than others……. if they do, they need to urge the government to make a very clear annoucement to the world that the non-malay malaysian are second class citizen in malaysia, then i have nothing to say but start to learn to lead the life of a 2nd class citizen.

luckily they are still god feraing people within the administration who had resisted this disastrous thought.

so unless and until there is such an annoucement, for those who think the country belongs to you……..i say fcuk off and shut up!

66. #66 by Disgruntled on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:05 pm

I think when you tell the Chinese to fight, they start shaking in their shoes.
    Problem is either they don’t realise they have the weapons in the form of ballot boxes in every election, or they just ‘boh chup, boh chup” (don’t care).

67. #67 by waj on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:41 pm

Folks,

It’s not only the discrimination that caused people to migrate.
    It’s the crime as well.

Do you think your kids gonna inherit a safer place to stay in ?

68. #68 by Loh on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 1:45 pm

Those who would not vote for BN are not voting when they choose to leave Bolehland. So we have one to two million who left this land would not be counted at election time. Anyway BN might still win with them around, if they end up to be passive voters. But if they choose to dedicate themselves to serving the place we have a right to remain, bolehland might change for the better.

It is certainly the choice of an individual based on his needs whether one should migrate or not. But, when one has the brain and is able to lead a not too uncomfortable life in Malaysia, maybe he should consider to help change the country so that the not so capable persons and their children might benefit. The one-to-two millions who left obviously have deprived the country of the opportunity to move up the GDP ladder. That might be a lesson the powers-that-be should learn. But then we have among the so-called leaders who considered race the most emotional issue, and they were prepared to allow the nation suffer the loss of prosperity so long as their ‘race’ are better off compared to other races. But the champions of the Malay race are aware that except for the religion, there were great diversity in the blood running in their veins that would allow anthropologists to classify them to belong to a race. But, they could feign love and allegiance for the race until there was a conflict of interest, as shown by a brotherly inflicted black eyes. So, not all Malay votes are necessarily presold to UMNO. Persons who are able to pack and leave may want to consider making personal sacrifices to stay and fight for a change in the political landscape so that Malaysians can really enjoy the land to its fullest potential.

69. #69 by Disgruntled on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:01 pm

“Our government was legally and popularly elected….in the eyes of civilised world, they contravene the united nation charter on human rights… ” cherasusie

The fact that the govt is legally elected is the key point in all these arguments about racial discrimination. The United Nations and foreign govt cannot ask for sanctions against this practice in Malaysia because we non bumis participated in voting for this govt. For all I know, if you go to Human Rights Watch site, they are more concerned about detainees and migrant workers than blatant institutionalised racial discrimination in Malaysia.
    The Chinese has to wake up and do our parts at the ballot boxes to help Uncle Kit and his people be more effective.

70. #70 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:10 pm

“i would recognise what you people you have came across is another Pariah westerner, may be you met them in club or pokies or other hanky panky place.” – japankiller

Dont kid yourself. All you need to do is look at history how the white men treat the blacks. In America, the native indians had their lands robbed and taken by white men. I dont see likes of you screaming injustice. In Australia, can you not see what happened to the aborigines? Go to LA and you see what kind of working environment the latinos are subjected too. Oh yes … do check whether they are paid minimum wage.

George Bush is killing hundred of thousands of innocent Iraqis, do i see likes of you screaming that what the US is doing in Iraq is not right?

Why the double standards, dude??

71. #71 by Billy on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:10 pm

To Oldman: Thank you for quoting me, “..forget about the BN and its discriminatory policies. We just simply have to ignore them and carry on with our lives..”
    My point of contention is this. My statement did not imply that “When bullied, we just shake our heads at the injustice, and then just carry on with our lives like nothing has happened’ and then continue to vote BN.” The discriminatory policies are here and they are here to stay for a long, long time. But instead of moaning and trying to get out of the country, we need to first see how we need to fit in this discriminative scenario. We must strengthen our fortitude by first ensuring our family’s welfare is well looked after. With that peace of mind, we move onto the next step, and that is to become the agent of change. Join a political party or NGO or participate in protests against the unlawful acts of the government. Today, I am active blogging for opposition support and at the same time, I am at peace with myself knowing with pride that my kids are doing OK achieving successes on their own merits and giving others a run for their money. FYI, I am not an MCA supporter but was once a member of the DAP party actively canvassing for Farn Seong Than (Sg Besi) in the 70s who eventually won the seat.

72. #72 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:14 pm

“And like you we are citizens and as citizens we go to the polls every five years to choose the type of government we want for ourselves.” – undergrad2

You are given the right to vote and participate in the democratic process. So, if one is still unhappy etc, the choice is always available to pack up and leave.

This is a free world , dude.

73. #73 by Kingkong on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:27 pm

“ for those who feel happy to see non-malays to leave the country for ethnic reason….let me tell you, you are all traitors!” –cherasusie Says

Come on! Who has given you the right or the power to tell other people are traitors?

These people are leaving the country by choice, by their own decision, whatever reason they may base on. That is a basic human right. He does what he thinks fit for his own life. Is this guilt? Can’t he have a right to pursue his dream? No one has forced someone to migrate. Everyone deserves a right to seek a better living in this WORLD.

Even Pak Lah’s brother is happily opening a Nasi Kandang Restaurant in Perth. That is his choice.

We have to respect an individual decision!

74. #74 by dragon88 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:42 pm

I suggest to all readers of this blog to please boycott this Nasi Kandang Restaurant in Perth that belongs Pak Lah’s brother. Their food is political poison… even they are the best. This is teh best we could do to a corrupt PM amd his family…

75. #75 by dragon88 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:43 pm

I meant those who live or visit Perth

76. #76 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 2:47 pm

“I suggest to all readers of this blog to please boycott this Nasi Kandang Restaurant in Perth that belongs Pak Lah’s brother.” dragon88

Are you out of your mind!!??

Why dont you boycott being a Msian as well?

77. #77 by teetwoh on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 3:11 pm

A “Malaysian Malaysia”, as in a Malaysia where the malay holds absolutely no privillges of any sort, and everyone is truly equal in Malaysia, has been a dream for a long time now, and will remain a dream as long as no one is willing to face up to the music. No pain no gain. Unless someone is willing to sacrifice the sacred cows of the allegedly constitutionally protected cow of malay privilleges, Malaysia would continue to face the same old music. It was a problem 40 years ago, and remains a problem today. Is anyone really, truly interested in change? I dont think so. That is why I left the country and would remain outside.

78. #78 by dawsheng on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 3:30 pm

“Is anyone really, truly interested in change? I dont think so. That is why I left the country and would remain outside.” teetwoh

Granted if you are speaking for yourself. I wouldn’t be here if my opinion is the same as yours.

79. #79 by mandela on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 3:50 pm

undergrad2 said // In Malaysia, discrimination is institutionalized and legalized.//

Yes, no other countries in this world practices discrimination against its fellow citizens as severe as Malaysia!

Yes, this is 21st century!
    Selangor is a “developed state” too!
    The country is celebrating 50th aniversary.

80. #80 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 4:04 pm

Your heart grieves at a heart-rending email from J and you ask, “Does it bother Pak Lah, our Prime Minister and the Cabinet?”

I ask why should Pak Lah, our Prime Minister and the Cabinet grieve? Had J stayed would he not vote against them?

The pertinent question is whether you would grieve when those whom you fight for and on behalf, give up the fight themselves.

The question they, the ones for whose birth rights you fight for, must ask is whether if Malaysia were the last bastion of Apartheid after its dismantling in South Africa, would the dismantling of Apartheid in South Africa be possible at all if Nelson Mandela has ceased the fight (and earlier on migrated?), and those for whose rights he fought, the disenfranchised black youths especially the best, brightest, and educated amongst them, have also emigrated to Australia, New Zealand, USA or Canada telling the likes of Mandela, they appreciate the sacrifice but that’s not practical, and don’t waste his time?

81. #81 by japankiller on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 4:15 pm

And Bush bombing Iraq is not because he is discriminate to Iraqis or he has some prejudis to Muslim community. Jsut look back at the history then you should know more.

82. #82 by japankiller on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 4:17 pm

Those chinese who wish to stay on in Malaysia, make sure either you are really rich like Lim Goh Thong or else you are extremely poor than the Malay.

They need Lim Goh Thong, cause he is the blue chip business tychoon, they need the poor chinese cause that will make them feel better.

83. #83 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 4:49 pm

“And Bush bombing Iraq is not because he is discriminate to Iraqis or he has some prejudis to Muslim community.” – japankiller

japankiller,

I take it either you have never venture out of your neighbourhood or you have an extremely thick goggles.

Just for my curiosity sake, why is Bush bombing iraq then?? I really really would like to hear your explaination.

And since you want to refer to history, I am all for it.

Shall we look at America and how the blacks were treated then and even till today? You been to NYC? Go see who are the hardcore poor in the ghettos or Queens.

84. #84 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 4:52 pm

“Those chinese who wish to stay on in Malaysia, make sure either you are really rich like Lim Goh Thong or else you are extremely poor than the Malay.” – japankiller

If the above is pre-dominantly the thoughts / maturity of a typical Opposition supporter/ party member , then I have this to say ……………………….. NO WONDER YOU SODS GOT THUMPED!

85. #85 by teetwoh on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 5:09 pm

“Is anyone really, truly interested in change? I dont think so. That is why I left the country and would remain outside.” teetwoh

Granted if you are speaking for yourself. I wouldn’t be here if my opinion is the same as yours.

What’s the cause for your optimism, Dawsheng?

86. #86 by dawsheng on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 5:26 pm

Do I have a coice? I do. One thing I don’t is to be given birth in Malaysia. Looking at the bright side of things get me going, that’s my cause for optimism.

87. #87 by dragon88 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 5:39 pm

RealWorld likes to pick on others. But he didn’t even understand what others were writing. Please contribute with your own thoughts instead of picking like a woodpacker…

88. #88 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 5:53 pm

Dragon88, You are assuming that a woodpecker wants to contribute. By nature, it does not. It does not look at the whole tree of the argument or an opinion, whether it could stand as an oak or creep like a clinging vine…A wood pecker selectively looks for interstices between or holes in the bark from which it could peck at insects, carpenter ants and woodboring beetle larvae.

89. #89 by cherasusie on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 6:04 pm

mr.real world,

you said
    1. how the white men treat the blacks. In America, the native indians had their lands robbed and taken by white men.
    2. In Australia, can you not see what happened to the aborigines?

a. so does it justifies you do the same to your fellow malaysian?
    your answer probably yes…and i tell you fcuk off, check your own keturunan first…when they finished off with non malays the will be after your backside, they probably ask you to wear diapers around your body, dude! and keep beard whether you want it or not…fool!

b. are they still doing it? do they still allow it?
    i don’t care your answer but let me tell you, wherever you go, you will find racists… but, atleast these country’s laws are very clear i.e NO DISCRIMINATION !

this is the prerequisite of a developed world, .NO DISCRIMINATION…malaysia, you are not too far from 2020.

about land taken by the whites, history lah kawan… malaysia was colonised 500 years so what to do? japanese killed and raped millions of asians, you don’t revenge but you still look east? Dr. M, Mr. Real World, huh?

narrow minded malaysian like you are turning the clock backward so as to suit your egoistic orgasm… talking about black slavery and apatheid….hello kawan, orang sudah moved forward lah, no more…lah!

it is undeniable that people of the same wave length with you are controlling the nation…..resulting in malaysia….. slowly but surely drifting further and further away from countries which we should be atleast on par if not better, like singapore, korea, hongkong, and taiwan.

if you got 10A’s and can’t get into an Australian university, this is not racism but protectionism

but if you got 10A’s and can’t get into a Malaysian university, this is down right racism! discrimination! racial prejudice., of the highest order….plain waste of talent, unpatriotic and great malaysian shame!

there are so many examples but i am not here to hurt but hope to knock some senses to some irrational people who seem incapable of simple reasoning.

cheers!

say sorry to people you have done injustice…unite and move forward.

90. #90 by dorjee on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 6:44 pm

I had gave up and moved on….

I’m living in Ireland and mat sallehs here, treat me as a human and not the color of my skin or my chinese looking appearance or even what’s my religion! and I really wish the apartheid government back home treat me as good! Damn!

91. #91 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 6:50 pm

“You are given the right to vote and participate in the democratic process. So, if one is still unhappy etc, the choice is always available to pack up and leave” RealWorld

Thank you for reminding us. Surprise! Surprise! I’m already out of there.

But I will continue to fight to bring ‘change’ to where ‘change’ is needed, to seek justice where none exists, to seek ‘equality’ where equality is all but non-existent.

92. #92 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 7:42 pm

“I would see myself leaving the country in the next few years too. I’m still searching for a suitable country which at the moment is the US. It’s tough to migrate there now for a M’sian, I guess, for what our so-called representatives do during Rice visit to KL (and other factors such as M’sia is an Islamic country). I hope those who have migrated would care to share on how to go about doing it. My only regret is that I attended a M’sian university, which is of very little value in the eyes of foreign institutions which would make it very difficult to obtain a job elsewhere. Maybe we can start a forum on how to migrate for those who is interested.” Terencesgk

Great idea!

I’ll roll the ball right now.

First, you gotta get used to the fact that you’re just trading one turf for another. There is racism here too although it is illegal. Racism is not institutionalized in the “Land of the Free and Home of the Brave” but it sure does exist at the workplace and is practiced with great subtlety, fine-tuned to an art form – and the effect could be just as devastating.

Secondly, this is American post 9/11. Expect to have it rough and tough.

Thirdly, if you’re planning to come over here with a student visa, expect a closer scrutiny as to your real intention. Upon arrival you will not be getting a Social Security Number that would allow you to open bank accounts or work during your summer breaks. You’ll be getting some other number. For those who are unfamiliar with the importance of having Social Security Number (SSN) it is like our IC.

Without it you cannot have a phone, have gas and electricity connected to your residence – and not just take on a job legally during summer.

The institutions you study with are required by law to report your progress, where you are and when you are requesting for a transfer to another institution.

Fourthly, if you’re planning to come over here with a tourist visa with no intention to leave at some foreseeable future and assuming your plane touches down at the Newark Liberty International, be resigned to the fact that you’ll face a life of exploitation by members of your own community – who will pay you cash for menial jobs that you do, and at below the legal minimum wage. Be prepared to wait at tables, or be a busboy (nothing to do with buying a ticket for your ride to work) for long hours for a very long time. The resilience that you acquire in Malaysia studying and working there will not be enough to see you through. For the lucky ones, thank your lucky stars if you get to spend the next decade of your life flipping burgers.

What happens when you’re sick?? You just have to thank God for whatever is left of your health. You cannot afford the medication and certainly not the doctor who needs to write out the prescription – and without the doctor’s prescription the drugs you need to nurse yourself back to health will still be available if you could afford to throw away a week’s wages!

I am sorry to have to paint such a dismal picture of life in New York as an illegal immigrant – because that’s what you are when you come over here.

There are of course other ways of coming to the United States as a legal immigrant if you can afford the time (ten years if you’re lucky) and the money (if you have a million stashed somewhere will be a good sum to begin with). If you are a rocket scientist and feel that you are blessed with the ability to contribute to NASA’s efforts to put man on Mars, you already have the ease of migration that you may not even be aware of – because the United States will grant any of your best three wishes.

So there you go! That would be a good start.

93. #93 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 7:45 pm

Dear Jeffrey,

Talking about woodpecker and all….. I remember i asked you a question sometime back about a blogger’s action of not reporting to the police. You said if you were in his shoes, you “WOULD CONSIDER” lodging the report. But you were disappointed for that blogger for not making the report himself.

Now, why the double standards?? It is easier to be in the background and dish out empty rhetorics in your pyjamas , is it?

Hmmm … looking more like a turtle, dude. A turtle’s head is always in it’s shell at the slightest notion of danger.

My cantonese friends have a saying ” sok tow uu kwai”

94. #94 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 7:50 pm

“But I will continue to fight to bring ‘change’ to where ‘change’ is needed, to seek justice where none exists, to seek ‘equality’ where equality is all but non-existent.” – undergrad2

Ooooo very patriotic la.

Dude, if you wanna do that. Come back and be counted. Stand upfront like Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal and fight for the people and justice etc etc etc. Dont do it in relative comfort of a few thousand km away

95. #95 by RealWorld on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 7:54 pm

cherasusie,

Show me where is it written in our constitution that it is ok to discriminate??

From the way, you wrote we are like a 3rd world country like Bhutan or Somalia. Tell me, are you living in the gutter now? Have no job. Starving? Have no education and deprived of basic amenities???

96. #96 by cherasusie on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:00 pm

sorry…you are not real,

you are incapabable of reasoning…. i am not wasting my time on a tanjung rambutan escapee

soory bro, no more….cheers!

97. #97 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:03 pm

“Dude, if you wanna do that. Come back and be counted. Stand upfront like Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal and fight for the people and justice etc etc etc. Dont do it in relative comfort of a few thousand km away” RealWorld

There are times when I agree with your views – and there are times when I do not. This is more of the latter.

You’re asking me to come back but I thought you wanted me to leave?? You cannot have it both ways, dude. Or you’ll end up facing a sodomy trial!

98. #98 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:15 pm

Dear RealWord

I was frustrated first but now amused that you are still harping after – what I think 4 months? – about the discussion on what a person should do, whether to lodge a police report when bullied by police. I believe I have explained extensively the position then. You have a long memory but short understanding and I cannot possibly improve your understanding by further elucidation here nor will I try. Cheers.

99. #99 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:35 pm

To Mr RealWorld anyone who wants to be counted should step up the plate and run as a candidate for election (if necessary come back from overseas) or else shut up and stop complaining and whinning in this blog about the country’s policies. For do to so is to engage in arm chair political discourse of no effective relevance. Indirectly the message is : don’t waste one’s time and others by commenting on this blog. Why don’t you ask Kit why he puts up this blog and invite comments when it would be more useful from your point of view to invite them to meet up and see if they could be enlisted as DAP’s potential candidates? Please pardon me if I tend to be over-imaginative, but your basic stance is to discourage discourse or comments in blogs with the underlying thread of argument that commenting is useless unless there is tangible action to do something. As I earlier pointed out blog has blog’s purpose and running as a candidate has got its own use and purpose but one can’t say that if you are not prepared to do the latter than stop be an arm chair critic in the former. May I ask what is your agenda in manipulating arguments in this way? I mean what is your real hidden agenda in trying to undermine blogs in that subtle way? I don’t think it is to make people wiser and understand things better. Nothing you have said in this post present and past has furthered such a purpose. So what is your real agenda? You can plump it out : there’s nothing to be ashamed.

100. #100 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:43 pm

“I hope those who have migrated would care to share on how to go about doing it. My only regret is that I attended a M’sian university, which is of very little value in the eyes of foreign institutions which would make it very difficult to obtain a job elsewhere. Maybe we can start a forum on how to migrate for those who is interested.” Terencesgk

Great idea! Let’s roll.

First, when you leave Malaysia you’d do well not to carry with any political baggage along with you. Excess baggage will cost you.

Be aware that you could be trading one turf for another – meaning there is racism here too in the United States, both in the marketplace as well as the workplace. Unlike in Malaysia where racial discrimination is out in the open and is institutionalized, over here it is more subtle and therefore harder to prove. Remember Americans are proud to refer their country as “Land of the Free and Home of the Brave” and consistent with that tradition they feel free to discriminate, be a racist, a bigot etc but you are accountable and there are consequences you’ll have to face.

Secondly, if you intend to disguise yourself as someone who likes to attend classes, read and write essays about U.S. history, entry to the United States today is not that easy today. They will look at who you leave behind, if you have closed all your bank accounts or if you are bringing you more than just your personal effects. Or if you have the habit of choosing the U.S. as a country you’d like to spend your vacation in the last five years.

Thirdly, if you intend to arrive underneath the wings of a Boeing 747, I think you should first write out your last will and testament and testify in the presence of your prostitute of a lawyer whose work and whose morals do not oblige him to giving proper advice to his clients – certainly not when there are big bucks to be made.

Fourthly, if you intend to arrive in the United States in shipping containers be sure to pay enough to your agent to see that there are enough holes for you to breath in your long journey here – otherwise you will arrive here DOA. DOA in this case does not mean “Someone will do your ass” but it is close.

If you think you can outwit ICE (short for gun-totting thugs on U.S. government payroll), then you have come to the right place to learn the importance of habeas corpus as a relief for a detainee in a special center for illegal aliens at Elizabeth, Newark. Here you will be housed and fed at U.S. government expense. They even give you a free ride home on the best equipped Boeing 747 escorted by their latest fighter jets – nothing like the ageing and overpriced Sukhoi which Malaysia bought from Russia.

Now do you still want to come??

101. #101 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:57 pm

Well, RealWorld you can step up to my plate anytime. I can do with a dishwasher or two in my restaurant.

102. #102 by marcuschwen on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 9:38 pm

1 million. The number of Malaysian abroad.
    Do any of you know what your VOTE can do? It takes a mere 0.1% of you to swing the direction of Ijok.

J, the country had provide you with education. The least you can do is try and succeed here before giving up.

You said,
    “Patriotism isn’t about singing the national anthem or raising the flag. It isn’t about accepting at face value everything the government says. It isn’t about attending merdeka celebrations. It is about feeling accepted as part of your nation. It is about knowing that your nation accepts you as a son or daughter. It is about realizing that being a part of a nation entails certain responsibilities. That is my definition of patriotism. ”

You are right, it is not about accepting everything the government said. Then, do you know that you have the RIGHT TO VOTE for government? To score such high marks in the exam, I’m sure you are well aware of that, or do you?

103. #103 by yapthomas on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 10:17 pm

Why leave the country?
    I don’t see a need to leave the country.

Simple logic, people who cares but dare not speak leaves the country.
    Who are the people left? people who cares but dare to speak. Just a hand-full. I feel that it is plain stupidity to leave the country. Leaving the country means you are leaving no hope for those who are in the same league as yourself. Sorry to quote “stupidity” but i do think that although there are opportunities better outside, but do you want to see Malaysia crumble?

Why not hang around, fight for the cause of the people whom are in the same league as yourself? Leave means lose, and lose means there is no more Malaysia as how we want it.

Why YB Lim keep on struggling? Why DAP keeps on fighting.
    Because of people like me and you whom they are caring but just lack the support. I always tell my friends. Leave the country for a better prospect, but do come back when you are needed. (e.g: elections, disaster and more)

Your votes in the next GE counts alot!

104. #104 by smeagroo on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 1:16 am

the problem is everyone of us can vote but who is keeping an eye on SPR for all the unfair tactics? WHo the heck are keeping tabs on the counting of votes and the proper delivery system? If they can be so unfair u expect them to count fairly?

105. #105 by grace on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 7:25 am

“How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us?”

Yes, Mr Lim, you and company have made the utmost sacrifice so that we can have a fair Malaysia!

But regretably that most of the people are not grateful.
    I am particularly sore with the voters in Penang where DAP could at least be returned to a few ADUN or parliamentary seats. But it was not to be. They are particularly selfish,mostly Chinese(sad to say). Just for a small amount of gain, they will vote for BN.

Yes, Mr. Lim and co., I salute you for for tireless fight for justice at the expense of your freedom and security. Without you and the likes of Karpal or Dr. Tan, we would be trampled by those corrupt officials. A good exmple is Karpal Singh trying to get back the Indian converts back.All of you could could have chosen a good life by joining BN and made ministers by kowtowing or running dogs to UMNO. But to you and all, Principles abd justice are paramount to you and no amount of wealth could change that.

I hope the people in Penang can be grateful to DAP by voying for DAP.

106. #106 by grace on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 8:27 am

yapthomas said this,”Simple logic, people who cares but dare not speak leaves the country.”

Hey, what is the use to speaking to babbons, donkeys and buffalos? Would they listen to you? That is the very reason why I admire LKS and co for being so patient to try to talk sense to those imbeciles.
    When it is obvious that the color is black, those in power in insist that it is white. On top of that poodles, MCA Gerakan and MIC would concur with them!

Now tell me how not to get fed up!

Call me a coward! I still say that those who have a chance to migrate, by all means, GO, Go, GO!

107. #107 by ah lau on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 10:32 am

Migrating to other countries is not a good answer.

Remaining in neither the solution.

Pray hard that one day I am born as a King or as high official …..

For the time being, I need to do something and it looks like praying to my deities is the better choice ????????

There is no need to appraise, analyse or …… at the present
    Mlayasian time !!!!!!!!

What say you ?

108. #108 by poo on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 10:52 am

For all non-malays (especially chinese), pls take a look at the past few election results, it is saddening to see you still vote for this no use government under bodowi and his cronies. If all register non-malays voters (and going to register non-malays also) vote the opposition, i’m sure the very next day you will see all this discriminating policies will be immidiately tone down or maybe be gone. We got nobody to blame but for ourselves!

Yes, those people that can immigrate pls get out of this rotten country asap before they built (using our tax $$$) in every corner of the country.

109. #109 by dawsheng on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 11:19 am

The victims of BN govt is not only the chinese but everyone irregardless of race. Remember also MCA and Gerakan represents most of the chinese in Malaysia. So if malaysians, particularly the chinese still facing discriminations from the ruling party, faults must be directed at them. Not the malay or the indian specifically, its the govt of BN made up of malay, chinese and indian.

Remember also the problems starts with the practices of corruption, trade protectism and racial/ religous discrimination. Who allowed all this? If not UMNO, then it must be MCA or Gerakan. If its not the latter, then former is but a bully because they are the majority. Ong Ka Ting said it loud that MCA’s roles in Malaysia politic is to create a heathlty poltical environment, but till today I cannot understand what he meant, does it help Js to have healthy political environment? Obviously not!

So there you have it. MCA and Gerakan is not there for the chinese, or the help the chinese or malaysian in general. They are
    there just to keep the status quo, which by any means are meaningless to Malaysian, given the real problems that are facing us are more of globalization than internal politics.

But why people still vote BN and not the opposition?

110. #110 by RealWorld on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 11:52 am

“You’re asking me to come back but I thought you wanted me to leave?? You cannot have it both ways, dude. Or you’ll end up facing a sodomy trial!” – undergrad2

When have I said I wanted you to leave?? What have you been smoking or sniffing over there , eh??

Sodomy??? Sorry am not rim jobs and homosexual pleasures as you.

111. #111 by durianguy on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 12:02 pm

Quote J, “It was horrifying to note in my batch of medical students, there were a substantial number of malay students who actually did not apply for medicine but were sent to study it. It is disgusting to think that many STPM straight A scorers are deprived of a chance to study medicine while the government gives the places to people who are not even sure that they want to study medicine.”

mmm… not sure if i want to be treated by a Bumi doctor!!!

112. #112 by cherasusie on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 12:39 pm

MICky & MCApek representing the indian and chinese respectively should put forward this question to Ammo…

are the sarawakian, sabahans, indians and chinese MALAYSIAN or not?

if yes, pls dismantle all racist ideologies so all can be one heart in working towards a GREATER MALAYSIA.

we can’t work with racists, hypocrites, religious fanatics, selfish & corrupt political schemers.

given free hand, thugs will prevail, irrespective of race!

113. #113 by RealWorld on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 2:14 pm

“But regretably that most of the people are not grateful.
    I am particularly sore with the voters in Penang where DAP could at least be returned to a few ADUN or parliamentary seats. But it was not to be. They are particularly selfish,mostly Chinese(sad to say). Just for a small amount of gain, they will vote for BN.” – Grace

Spot on! The chinese voters in Msia should take a cue from the Kelantanese. Over there, they never budge no matter what. They will stick to Tok Guru through thick and thin.

In DAP ceramahs or during an election campaign, you will see thousands of chinese going up and shaking Kit and Guan Eng’s hand but come voting day, they will go the other way. Di hati mereka sokong tapi tangan tanda itu dacing. :)

An in this blog, you will see the likes of Jeffrey with his empty rhetorics but you will never see the likes of him on the ground.

114. #114 by good coolie on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 2:23 pm

Ijok is won for the Barisan and we have all the
    Good Coolies to thank for that.
    Even if you have outrageous cases like
    Revathy’s case and the corpse-snatching cases,
    You still have the coolies supporting the Barisan.
    We are loyal coolies.
    “You arrr my motherrrr
    Yand my fatherrrr.
    If you can’t kick me
    Or beat me,
    Who else can?”

Chinese have their companies
    Malays have their companies.
    We are discriminated against equally in both!

We don’t moan about leaving Malaysia.
    We are good coolies.

115. #115 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 7:58 pm

RealWorld should get real with the issues.

To the extent you seek to paint the Chinese with a very broad brush stroke, you can do the same with the Malays.

The Malays are clearly divided today than they were at any time of the country’s history. They continue to give their votes to the corrupt regime of Abduallah Badawi and Najib. Let’s hear what you have to say about that.

116. #116 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:24 am

“To the extent you seek to paint the Chinese with a very broad brush stroke, you can do the same with the Malays” (Undergrad2 to Realworld).

You cannot reason with a person whose business here is not to reason and discuss for the end of common understanding but whose agenda here is sinister, to harass, vex posters, sow the seeds of confusion and disrupt the operation of the blog.

The proof of this is here: –

1. RealWorld said in Blog thread Ops Lallang and Chinese Primary School Crisis in his posting on April 28th, 2007 at 2:27 pm
    “Just got back from Ijok today. From the look of things, I would say BN and PKR chances are just about equal. The 51% malay population seem to be supporting PKR, but the Chinese in Ijok will vote for BN. Indians there are split down the middle. So, it is going to be close. VERY DISAPPOINTING TO SEE THE CHINESE SELLING OUT AGAIN”.
    Why does this posting convey? That there would be a split – that it is disappointing Chinese in Ijok would vote for BN, that “Chinese are selling out again”, meaning vote for BN (in such a close fight), the word “disappointing” conveying the impression that the poster is either not in favour of a BN’s win or has utter disdain against Chinese voters supporting the BN. This is made clear in this posting April 28th, 2007 at 10:01 pm in which he said “The GE in 1999 comes to mind. If you can recall then it was the chinese votes that swung it for BN when the malays voted for the Opposition due to the Anwar factor. One can hope till the cows comes home but the makeup of the Chinese here are a bunch of sell outs”.

2. Then in a subsequent thread (Open Letter to Tawau MP) RealWorld in posting of April 30th, 2007 at 11:32 am explained how “ I support my party by being personally being there in Ijok. Helping out the candidate from making sure food and water be delivered to all the party workers to going to the ground explaining policies to the locals. I do not call the country Bodohland.”

Now which is his party?

3. In response to Dawsheng’s posting ““May I suggest Uncle Kit put realworld as DAP candidate to contest in Tawau”, RealWorld then clarified in his posting April 30th, 2007 at 11:42 am (I quote) “Hahahahah … lawak la you ni!!! DAP???? Sorry , my party is UMNO. I support BN”.

My Question : What kind of a person who supports the BN’s Cause, who boasted he went to the field and grass roots to work for the BN’s cause in Ijok would complain, without a feel of internal inconsistency, that the Chinese are a bunch of sell out to vote for the BN?

I pressed him to explain in what context he meant it.

This is his disingenuous reply in posting April 30th, 2007 at 12:30 pm in same thread :
    “Well, if you are in active grass root politics you will understand. Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal and all have done a lot for the people. They have always put the interests of the people ahead of theirs. Kit could have walked away any day and be a Tan Sri (like someone) if he wanted too. I admire their principles and dedication. However, despite what they have done for the chinese especially, I feel in a way saddened to see them shaking their hands and cheering them on during election campaigns but only to vote the other way come polling day”.
    Comment here : If “Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal and all have done a lot for the people” and “have always put the interests of the people ahead of theirs”, why does it suggest of the thinking and political ideology of a person who is dedicated to the Cause of the opposite side (the BN)?

There are two possibilities here:

First, the man is a hypocrite when he said he respected the principles of Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal in putting the interests of the people ahead of theirs – and yet work for the opposite cause of BN.

Second, if we give the benefit of the doubt to the man that he is not a hypocrite, then the conclusion is that he genuinely respects the principles of Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal in putting the interests of the people ahead of theirs, except that the word “people” here are not “his people” and that he supported the opposite side BN because it represented his people!

This has got to be inevitable conclusion that the man does look at “people” or Malaysians in terms of their interest as one group but two groups notwithstanding RealWorld said in his posting of April 30th, 2007 at 12:00 pm “Jeffrey, Whether I support UMNO and you DAP doesnt mean we are external enemies, right? We are still Msians, though I will never call my country, Bodohland. And this blog is open to all , right???We are here to discuss and discuss , we will…”

Again I have no beef with that : we can discuss, he can expound BN’s ideology of Ketuanan and NEP here, it is fine, and if he does it cogently enough who knows many of us here may also come to agree and vote for the BN.

But he does not do that. He snipes, insults, irritates, discredits and tries to tell posters to shut up and not comment about policies here unless backed with action (work amongst grassroot like him) – unless one is deprived “basic education, amenities and are living in a 5′ x 8′ cardboard under a bridge? – unless one returns from thousands of miles away and not seek relative safety outside – should not use words like ‘Bodohland’ (which may reflect on him).

In doing so, it looks as if he is carrying on the grassroot work in Ijok for BN right inside thuis Blog after that by-election. This is the part that is not right : he is a guest here of a blog owned by Opposition leader. He is at liberty to express political views including opposite and contrary political views but it is altogether a different plate if he carries out political work here as well that includes sabotage of the blog. Just so that you understand where I am coming from, this is my main beef.

117. #117 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:58 am

“But regretably that most of the people are not grateful.
    I am particularly sore with the voters in Penang where DAP could at least be returned to a few ADUN or parliamentary seats. But it was not to be. They are particularly selfish,mostly Chinese(sad to say). Just for a small amount of gain, they will vote for BN.” – Grace

Wait until they get a melayu CM then they will wake up!

118. #118 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 8:14 am

Correction : This has got to be inevitable conclusion that the man does look at “people” or Malaysians in terms of their interest as NOT one group but two groups

119. #119 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:16 am

With his long winded writings and all. This Jeffrey guy should be a candidate for the Opposition in the next election. Hope he can speak good mandarin and bahasa malaysia as well. :)

Yo Jeffrey, rather than debating here why dont we sit down over coffee and have a face to face discussion??

120. #120 by lchk on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 12:37 pm

“He snipes, insults, irritates, discredits and tries to tell posters to shut up”

Very true.

I am sure the contributors to this blog knows very well who is being a cyber-troll here.

121. #121 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 5:24 pm

“I am sure the contributors to this blog knows very well who is being a cyber-troll here.” – lchk

Ahhhh … Jeffrey’s lap dog speaks!!
    Good doggy boy.

122. #122 by lchk on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:06 pm

Jesus Christ once said of false prophets:

“Ye shall know them by their fruits”

Seems like it’s applicable to UMNO saboteurs who cannot string a coherent argument together in opposition blogs too.

123. #123 by ehwa78 on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 3:34 pm

“Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country”, John F Kennedy. Period.

124. #124 by teraniaya on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:54 pm

Malaysia, oh Malaysia. After 50 years…still thinking what to be proud of her. After 50 years, they still shout ‘democracy!!’ but ISA still prevails, after 50 years, there are dual court systems, after 50 years, there are growing number of mobsters to kill apostates and burn churches, temples,. after 50 years, education system keep changing year after year, more missionary schools are eroded of their characteristics…crosses taken down, school anthem changed…etc. after 50 years, more students & graduates who are not fluent in English ( after BM is stressed ), after 50 years, more non Malay Muslims become UMNO members. The list goes on of what Malaysia produces after 5o years of independence. See and think deeply, what caused or determined all these. My answer is religion. It determines and act as the fundamental reason for what all the decisions and policies undertaken by the govt. Don’t believe me, do your research. Well Mr. LIM, I pray to Jesus that He’ll shower you with his WISDOM, STRENGTH & UNDERSTANDING and that HE’ll open the hearts of the ministers.

125. #125 by terencesgk on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 12:38 am

undergrad2, thanks for “start rolling”. From your reply, I’m sure you’re in the US. I don’t know what’s your immigration status but what I am talking about is migrating to the US the legal way. Please take note that I am against going anywhere illegally, though I have about many people doing it.

Racism and discrimination is everywhere, and I agree with you on this. You also said that over there in the US, you’re accountable for your racist action and this really make a difference. I don’t think you need to be accountable to be one over here especially if you’re from the majority. I have many American friends, and so far none of them are racist.

Your information is not of much help here. Thanks anyway.

126. #126 by Simon Templer on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:18 pm

Well said young man. From all the replies, I’m sure everyone has their own opinion in terms of your thoughts about Malaysia and “bodohland”. On the contrary, what about the Chinese who are reaping wealth in Malaysia, the YTL group, Sunway to name a few. What are their thoughts? Are they doing well because of their strong network with the ruling coalition?

I used to share the same sentiment on what a deprived lot we are as Chinese but I have come to realise that the Chinese will always SURVIVE no matter what, an example is YOU who stutied hard and ensure you get your ticket out. The question now is what about those who are not so lucky to buy/find their ticket out? This is where it gets interesting. What can DAP do? What can those who can’t afford do? Nothing? I don’t think so. Ask the “Char Koay Teow” seller or the taxi driver. Quite a number of them are working really hard to send their kids overseas for education. There are already plans (albeit subconciously) to “migrate when necessary”.
    What can be done is to prepare our future generation of such possible obstacles in LIFE! Let the rling party do whatever they want! Further what goes around comes around, lets see what Malaysia will turn out to be in the next 5-10 years. We will most likely be left with plenty of idiots in this country. Then, we can say “serves you right!”. The Saint.

127. #127 by wakeupMsia on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 3:12 pm

RealWorld likes to comment non-sense. You are under estimated people’s view and mind. Pls don’t take American history and compare it to Malaysia tiday. They being treated equally now no matter they are Black, Red Indian or Asian as long as they are citizen of U.S. They don’t have special privileges given to the white citizen likes what we practiced here in Malaysia. When you talked about aborigines in Australia and Latinos in LA, have you check their background and status before comment on this? Majority of them are holding illegal status that’s why they have no choice to choose for a better job. If you are a professional, educated and qualified degree holder and with valid status, I am sure you have no problem finding a job there.
    George Bush is killing hundred of thousands of innocent Iraqis, do i see likes of you screaming that what the US is doing in Iraq is not right? By RealWorld, When I read this, you are totally out of the topic, peace off!!
    Shall we look at America and how the blacks were treated then and even till today? You been to NYC? Go see who are the hardcore poor in the ghettos or Queens. By RealWorld, oh please RealWorld, don’t judge people at first place by what you see, The black and I rather call them Native American, they are doing great too like the whites. The Blacks that you mentioned are just those useless crap without fighting for their life. They do have some Whites living in poor condition too. Yes I’ve been to NYC even stayed there for a year plus.
    At last, I salute Mr. Lim for all the hardwork he has fighted for us. Jst know about this website and registered at SPR, will support him for the coming election.

128. #128 by nehelee on Friday, 8 June 2007 - 6:18 am

It grieves my entire being but does it bother Pak Lah and Cabinet?

This is my response to Mr. J. He sounded like a self centred and selfish individual. Just because he scored straight A’s, he thinks he is entitled to the best that the country can offer. Patriotism means being loyal to the nation with all its faults. It means staying back to correct whatever that is wrong and contribute what you can to make Malaysia a better place. If all Mr. J cares about is what he can reap the maximum from the country, then it is better that he joins the throngs whose only concern is looking for the greener pasture. It grieves my entire being that such a brilliant mind like Mr. J can only think for himself rather for the nation. Mr. Lim Kit Siang does not scored straight A’s, he invested his entire life to fight against injustice. That is patriotism.