The Machiavellis in Malaysian politics

Azly Rahman

Against my will, my fate,
A throne unsettled, and an infant state,
Bid me defend my realms with all my pow’rs,
And guard with these severities my shores .

– from Machiavelli’s The Prince, Chapter XVII

Another quote:

‘But it is necessary to know well how to disguise this characteristic, and to be a great pretender and dissembler; and men are so simple, and so subject to present necessities, that he who seeks to deceive will always find someone who will allow himself to be deceived. One recent example I cannot pass over in silence. Alexander VI did nothing else but deceive men, nor ever thought of doing otherwise, and he always found victims; for there never was a man who had greater power in asserting, or who with greater oaths would affirm a thing, yet would observe it less; nevertheless his deceits always succeeded according to his wishes, because he well understood this side of mankind.

‘Therefore it is unnecessary for a prince to have all the good qualities I have enumerated, but it is very necessary to appear to have them. And I shall dare to say this also, that to have them and always to observe them is injurious, and that to appear to have them is useful; to appear merciful, faithful, humane, religious, upright, and to be so, but with a mind so framed that should you require not to be so, you may be able and know how to change to the opposite. – from, Machiavelli’s The Prince, Chapter XVIII

One of the best strategies to keep a political party in power is to keep the voters ‘educated’ only to a certain level of intelligence, and to give them enough goodies for them to want more at every cycle of election. Give them money, ‘kain pelika’t, ‘kain batik’, rice, cigarettes, Kentucky Fried Chicken, McDonalds, RM200 and instant ‘development packages’ — new roads, new playgrounds, new schools, new promises, etc, so that they will be happier voters. Let them corrode their own moral character and let the children of these voters learn that this are what democracy, politics, and elections is all about.

This is the structure of dependency. This is the systematic programme of the maintenance of the ‘welfare’ mentality — the ideology of the ‘hand that feed’. This, too, is the current paradigm and ideology of technology transfer from global corporations wishing to develop the Iskandar Development Region or the Multimedia Super Corridor. The advanced, industrialised countries will give aid and some help with technology to the industrialising countries so that the former will continue to control and manipulate while the latter will be continue to be controlled and be manipulated.

The structure of dependency constitutes ‘structural violence’. The paternal relationship forged structures the relationship between the giver and the receiver, the oppressor and the oppressed. This curriculum of totalitarianism is hidden.

Until voters are intelligent enough to understand this structure of dependency and are wise and ethical enough to reject the goodies from the ‘hands that giveth’, we will still see corrupt politicians installed to further transform the lives of others through development projects created so that it is not that the people that will benefit, but the few people that will make sure that they themselves will reap the benefits.

Far too much we hear the word ‘progress and development’ these days. We hear of our economy doing well. We hear of the ‘jihad’ against corruption and poverty being intensified. We hear slogans, rhetoric and ‘managed perception’. We do not know what is real and what is invention anymore. We see an intensifying effort to divide, subdivide, fragment, and dissipate progressive parties that are trying to bring about immediate and radical change.

Machiavelli, our guru?

Where do the powerful ones in our society learn how to control the mind and the body of the people governed? Perhaps through arrogant knowledge that advises rulers to be brutal, pretentious, hypocritical, and shrewd — as long as power is acquired, consolidated, maintained, and held on as long as possible. One can then rule for five, 10, 15, or even 22 or 35 years. One can even declare oneself dictator or emperor or ‘maharajah’.

One piece of arrogant knowledge that one must study, to understand how Malaysia as well as global politics work is The Prince by Nicollo Machiavelli, an essential treatise on the nature and manifestation of power.

We take too much from the teachings of Machiavelli. We use force to hold on to power. We let our leader use whatever means necessary for them to cling on to power.

In Machiavelli we can see the ideology of Islam Hadhari, slogans of ‘cemerlang, gemilang terbilang’, the Internal Security Act, The University and University Colleges Act, the fascistic ‘Surat Akujanji’ for civil servants, the Biro Tata Negara, the National Service programme, Media Prima, the Election Commission, the constant play and ‘sandiwara’ of race-based politics — all these and more in the overall Machiavellian scheme of realpolitik borrowed from the colonial masters. The ideological state apparatuses, German critical theorist Louis Althusser’s term, is employed to structure the pattern of dependency.

In fact, Malaysian politics these days, might be even worse than during colonial times — the oppressors have become invisible and have evolved into a system of thought control.

In the current ideology, neo-liberalism mystified in the term Islam Hadhari, constitutes a life support system to legitimise foreign domination, unequal distribution of wealth, perfection of subsidy and rent-seeking ideology, cultivation of mediocrity and blind loyalty even amongst the most highly-educated in our public universities.

Accounts of vote-buying illustrates a total mockery of democracy. Those giving money and make promises aplenty are charting their own destruction.

‘By all means necessary,’ said Malcolm X — is the ideology of Machiavelli.

In the world of Machiavelli we embrace, winning is everything. It is better to be feared than to be loved, as the author would say. In today’s world in which bloggers are now feared, it is better to be loved by projecting an image/perception of being loved, of being benevolent, pious, caring, and selfless so that power will be gently but surely acquired. It is also necessary to maintain such a perception so that one can still be remembered as a benevolent ruler even though one has plundered billions of ringgit; it is necessary so that one will not be prosecuted for such plundering.

What then must we do

We must educate ourselves to be well-informed voters and to help each other understand how power works through institutions and ideology that permeate the psyche and the physical landscape of society.

We need to engage in the establishment of a republic of virtue — one runs on the philosophy of virtue – and terror. Let our children learn that it is terrifying to be corrupt; such as to build palaces while the homes of the poor demolished. Let us teach them to vote with their conscience.

The current regime cannot solve the problems it creates. It must dismantle itself, die a natural death, destroy the symbols of power it has abused, and let a peaceful renewal take its natural course. The will to be corrupt will only intensify if we do not perform a frontal lobotomy of its source. The source is the locus of control — the center of power.

Beware, the multiplying and morphing Machiavellis amongst us. Let us design a programme of counter-hegemony so that we can play and wrestle with authority.

1. #1 by Libra2 on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 9:44 am

“One of the best strategies to keep a political party in power is to keep the voters ‘educated’ only to a certain level of intelligence, and to give them enough goodies..”
    How true. This is how BN has managed to cling on to power. I believe this stategy works well among the ‘lower’ class – those with little or no formal education.
    What surprises me is those with university degrees – intelligent men and women who condone and support a government that is totally devoid of morality!
    These people will read this article, agree totally with it and yet vote for BN. Our society has lost its moral fibre.

2. #2 by grace on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 10:28 am

I simply hope that voters in Ijok do not repeat what Machap had done.

For a paltry sum of aid they are willing to vote BN.Just go on to read what mkini has to say today! Machap voters thank DAP for standing in Machap. Otherwise they would not get so much aid from BN. To me they could have returned their gratitude to DAP by voting in the DAP candidate.
    Till today we never learn. Just for a few new lamp posts, newly paved roads and new recreational park, they simply are convinced that BN will help them always.

Come on, look at the bigger issue that is confronting us: corruptions-plenty to talk about ; our religious right – body snatching and child snatching: and much more.

Let the voters in IJOK show the way. I am no keadilan supporter but I will definitely cast my vote for them!!!

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 11:26 am

The dynamics of Ijok is not the same as in Machap. PKR was absolutely right in choosing Khaled Ibrahim to run for a number of reason.

1) There is an unwritten rule among Malay voter that even if voters choose an alternate Malay party that the voters are not to be denied development too much or the backlash would be even higher.

2) PKR does not run on a religious platform that would turn away non-bumi voters unlike PAS.

3) Khaled Ibrahim can be considered an example for the community that must be respected and hence an opportunity to highlight grievances that is not possible within the BN machineries.

The combination of factors should ensure that PKR will do better. BN certaintly can counter it with their same old tactics of promises and money but the cost would be much much higher than in Machap especially given their young non-bumi candidate. BN resources is not unlimited and hence its unlikely they will actually spend enough to even get the same result as in 2004.

Hence I expect Khaled Ibrahim to do better than PKR did in 2004 with a small chance of victory. Already words in the street is that this is a 50-50 fight..

4. #4 by orchidlah on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 1:06 pm

What is the impression of the public towards:
    DAP
    PAS
    Keadilan
    Barisan Nasional
    and others ?

What influences the impression of the public towards you ?

5. #5 by tsn on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 2:43 pm

Hopefully this article is to be translated in Bahasa Malaysia & best at all appears in Malay dailies such Berita Harian/ Utusan Malaysia, of course we know it is most unlikely to be published in mainstream media.

To a reader of a Chinese daily, the content of this article is nothing new or special at all. Articles with similar content have been appeared in Sin Chew Daily countless times. Hope remains hope nothing has transformed into any meaningful action. As today undeniable political reality,whatever social/political reformation, it got to be originated from Malay mass. Any reforms which are initiated by Non-Malays, it is lucky if it ends as premature death, sometimes it causes inter-racial tension. Malay society is very sensitive and always consider whatever reformation, changes as offensive or intend to encroach theirs supremacy.

6. #6 by scooter on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 3:21 pm

If the opposition wins and BN still fufill all the promisses.Someone pls comment.

7. #7 by RealWorld on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 3:29 pm

“I simply hope that voters in Ijok do not repeat what Machap had done.” – grace

I think Ijok will see a better Opposition performance because the voters there are not mainly chinese unlike Machap. The chinese in Machap sold out for some street lightings, a recreational park etc and voted BN.

Chinese will generally sell their soul for some ‘benefit’.

8. #8 by Tai Lo Chin on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 4:41 pm

“Chinese will generally sell their soul for some ‘benefit’ ” – RealWorld.

You don’t think other races including Malays or Indians will also generally sell their soul for some ‘benefit’ in the sense you mean it?

9. #9 by DiaperHead on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 6:59 pm

“The current regime cannot solve the problems it creates. It must dismantle itself, die a natural death, destroy the symbols of power it has abused, and let a peaceful renewal take its natural course. The will to be corrupt will only intensify if we do not perform a frontal lobotomy of its source. The source is the locus of control – the center of power.”

This is pure crap. We do not need an armchair critic.

10. #11 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 7:45 pm

WHO WINS THE IJOK BY-ELECTION

The answer is in the demographics of the constituency.

It has a Malay majority of some 51%. The rest is about evenly divided among the remaining races. Based on this alone, and if communal politics is any indication, BN is likely to win the election. The DAP if demographics are any indication cannot hope to win – certainly not without the support of PKR. But this is not enough to determine the winner of these elections.

Given the variables, it is the structure of the population that decides i.e. age groups, type of employment, average family income and whether both husbands and wives are working to help support the family, the size of the average family unit etc.

If the majority of the Malay voters are from the working class comprising agricultural and plantation workers, salaried employees, government servants, policemen and military families and others like these, then BN would win hands down.

If the majority are from the Malay middle class earning middle class incomes, with husbands only working and wives are home makers and working part time to supplement the family income, types of employment i.e. professionals, businessmen. The standard of education of the Malay voters i.e. did they finish SPM?

Profiling the population of Ijok this way would help us predict the winner. No amount of bullying and intimidation by BN supporters would make a difference.

We need also to understand the Malay psyche. The Hang Tuah in them is likely to sway the votes – rather than Hang Jebat.

Given Ijok is a rural constituency, my prediction given the variables above, BN is set to win.

11. #12 by japankiller on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 7:51 pm

If i were people from Machap, frankly speaking my vote definitely will go to BN. However to let BN win doesnt seens an bad idea.
    Why?because everyone knows our next GE are near, so those who won from Machap election will not seat for long, let see what BN can really do between this period of time to outperform or deliver their promise to the people of Machap.

I think next GE is going near on next year so people will observe from their eye that who is capable and who did not. DAP, make this chance to tackle their witnessess to people of Machap in the next election, time is short between now and the next GE, so people will not forget what have been promise from BN.

12. #13 by Richard Teo on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 8:36 pm

I dont think the rural voters know what issues are involved. As long as B.N throw some money during election,build some roads, the people generally think the B.N doing a good job.The problem is that the mainstream media does not expose all the real happenings in the country.Further, the A.G, the judiciary, the Police all act on the behest of the executive. Under such a set up there is no way our country can see any change for the next 100 years.

13. #14 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 8:38 pm

Rombongan Tan Sri Khalid diserang oleh Pemuda Umno di Ijok, seorang jurugambar dicedera

See http://www.keadilanrakyat.org/spm/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1074&Itemid=32

14. #15 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 8:48 pm

The 2.40pm incident was said to occured near a restaurant at Batu 8 Ijok, where a Pemuda BN operation centre was situated close by. PKR acting Youth chief Shamsul Iskandar said one of the freelance photographers was injured during the incident while Khalid was unscathed. He said the party had police report had been lodged on the incident.

http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/04/21/bn-group-roughs-up-khalid-blogger/#comment-9279

15. #16 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 8:59 pm

Wake up, mr pm, the first southeast asian in space was a vietnamese more than 20 years ago. So there is nothing to brag about Oct 6 2007
    http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=257911

16. #17 by kurakura on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 10:04 pm

That is why our schools and universities are kept at low standards.
    And the very top students mostly non bumiputeras are denied overseas scholarships so they will not gain exposure and the top bumiputera students are roped in by UMNO to continue the vicious cycle.

17. #18 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 11:39 pm

“The current regime cannot solve the problems it creates. It must dismantle itself, die a natural death, destroy the symbols of power it has abused, and let a peaceful renewal take its natural course. The will to be corrupt will only intensify if we do not perform a frontal lobotomy of its source. The source is the locus of control – the center of power.”

What type of problems the current regime has created? Is this problem so severe we have to put a stop to it right now? But do we have the power in this democracy?

Clearly the rakyat are still divided on national issues of lie versus truth. But we cannot say they sold out for benefits when election is held, I suppose that is what govt do, give benefits to the people, but for a change. Vote me, here, your benefits. So you will always remember who gave it to you the last round. If the opposition win the next election, how can we be sure they won’t practice that? I don’t see anything wrong with it as long as I got my benefits. I guess for now majority of our people remain satisfy with what they have now, the third world. No wonder smart people are all overseas…

18. #19 by bbtan on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 12:11 am

“Chinese will generally sell their soul for some benefits” – Real World.
    There was no increase in Chinese votes for BN in Machap. Remember, politik wang dont work well in Chinese politic.

19. #20 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 12:46 am

“For a paltry sum of aid they are willing to vote BN.Just go on to read what mkini has to say today! Machap voters thank DAP for standing in Machap. Otherwise they would not get so much aid from BN. To me they could have returned their gratitude to DAP by voting in the DAP candidate.” so says Grace

The issues were not over ideology but were bread and butter issues. Voters did the right thing i.e. using the DAP to air their grievances and vote for the ruling party based on its electoral promises to deliver.

This is one strategy that never fails. Political party?? Who cares. You cannot eat on political loyalty.

20. #21 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 12:47 am

loyalty instead of party

21. #22 by dawsheng on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 3:30 am

My disappoinment with BN govt is the progress and development of the country is being held ransom by NEP and the culture of corruptions that curse Malaysians for fifty years. We tolerate and accepted it, we have no choice so we set a precendent, our forefathers did and we did progress on the basis of NEP and corruptions, the country did well for a moment but where are we now?

I’ve lived in Singapore for fifteen years and I know how is progress like and I don’t see it where I lived now in Malaysia. I do wonder why? But I find it so nonsense that a person can be so stupid as to limit trades in order to protect his. The whole ideology of UMNO is irrelevant in the 21st century, UMNO will indeed die a natural death.

22. #23 by Tai Lo Chin on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 5:29 am

Ijok by-election is more important than Machap’s.

51.8 percent of Ijok voters are Malays. How will they vote? BN & NEP or race without NEP? BN/MIC’s K Parthiban will be backed by BN’s well oiled machinery. Arrayed opposite is Anwar’s PKR’s heavyweight Khalid Ibrahim, one time Guthrie’s CEO and brains behind the NEP who now is expected to speak against NEP and corruption. It pitches Anwar’s “new platform’ for Malays against UMNO’s. Anwar is expected to also raise controversial murder of Mongolian woman Altantuya Shariibuu. Umno deputy president and Deputy Premier Najib Abdul Razak’s would be forced to rebut.

Ijok by-election will show whether its 51.8 percent voters will heed issues of corruption and abuse of power and NEP, raised in this blog and other blogs, more importantly by a prominent and successful Malay (Khalid Ibrahim) before them. Or they together with other non malay voters would still prefer BN and their development pledges, money politics etc.

Ijok determines whether mindset of Malaysian voters can now be changed. Or we all have to wait for another 300 years.

23. #24 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 6:21 am

“My disappoinment with BN govt is the progress and development of the country is being held ransom by NEP and the culture of corruptions that curse Malaysians for fifty years.”

It is time whichever political party or coalition of parties that run the government re-assess many of the policies in place for the last five decades. Some of these policies retard rather than encourage economic growth and have lost some of their relevance. After it has been almost half a century. In economic terms that is a very long time.

She can learn from Singapore of course, but Singapore is in a different situation. Her economic growth lies in her value added and technology and capital intensive export industries. Her domestic market is too small to be relied upon to cater for the needs of industries which depend on economies of scale for their economic viability. Singapore is a city state, negative population growth sooner or later will set in to accommodate her need for land.

I feel economic union between Singapore and Malaysia in some form sooner or later is inevitable. When it happens it will be a marriage of sorts between two parties when divorce is not an option.

24. #25 by tsn on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 7:19 am

dawsheng: The sad story is before UMNO dies a natural death, we non will indeed die a unnatural death before them.

25. #26 by Winston on Sunday, 22 April 2007 - 9:13 am

The crux of the matter is for the opposition parties, especially the DAP to change the mentality of the less educated voters.
    Such activities should preferably be concentrated in the rural areas.

26. #27 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 23 April 2007 - 4:06 am

“Arrayed opposite is Anwar’s PKR’s heavyweight Khalid Ibrahim, one time Guthrie’s CEO and brains behind the NEP …”

NEP – hardly the brainchild of Khalid Ibrahim. He was running around half naked (could not afford clothes) when the architects of the NEP were busy at work.

27. #28 by karlmarx8 on Monday, 3 December 2007 - 6:15 pm

Malaysian government had interfered with Southern Thai and Mindanao. At one time the “fascist dictator” also called for a separate state for the southern state that their own tribe were claiming it for century. Did the Thai said anything?

Is that not interference? Or by invitation? Now, that CM of Sri Lanka only request to look into the complaint is being asked to lay off…….what’re they displaying is a mirror of themselves….STUPID ! STUPID ! STUPID ! You heard the remark before?

There is not a single Malaysians without complaint/feeling being discriminated over the years with the exception of the ruling class. So, something must be very very wrong indeed.

But, the ruling class still behave that the mass is still sleeping under the zinc roof and wanted only a clean longgang and new paved roads once every 4-5 years. So, you can see the roughshod they throw around with shout of threats, acting mean and vicious and “wild” language both in words and body. Somehow, I wonder how all these years they can get through the august house. Did they turned that into a denned retreat? We have all seen it all!