Will Najib, Khir Toyo or Samy Vellu resign if Ijok becomes “second Lunas”?

Among the three — Umno Deputy President and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, Umno Selangor chief and Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohd Khir Toyo and the MIC President and Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu — will anyone of them resign if Ijok becomes a “second Lunas” on Saturday with Barisan Nasional (BN) losing the seat despite the worst electoral corruption and most undemocratic campaigning in the 50 year history of the nation?

Electoral corruption and money politics in Ijok and the recent Machap by-elections have been the most blatant and fragrant-ever in the nation’s electoral history — even worse than during the previous four Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein Onn and Tun Dr. Mahathir Moahamad.

This is most ironic and tragic as these two by-elections should be even cleaner if not the cleanest in the nation’s 50-year history as they are held under a Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who had pledged to wipe out corruption and money politics as the top priority of his administration.

The electoral corruption in Machap and Ijok are so blatant and flagrant, flooding the constituencies with tens of millions of ringgit development projects when they had been completely ignored in past decades, that many Malaysians regardless of race, religion or territory are now cynically saying that “A good BN MP/SA is a dead MP/SA”.

However, any BN MP/SA dying will not result in any by-election as the legal bar for by-elections during the two years before the next general election have come into force for all legislatures except for Kelantan (May 5), Kedah (May 20) and Parliament (May 17).

This is undoubtedly one of the reasons which have prompted former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir to make his extraordinary public call to the voters of Ijok to vote wisely on Saturday.

Although Mahathir did not outright call on the Ijok voters not to vote for the Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate, his message is very clear that the Ijok voters should vote against the BN candidate.

Mahathir told Malaysiakini that the Ijok by-election on Saturday is the right time for the voters to shatter the government’s propaganda that all is well.

He said that unless the voters “send a signal” to the government that, “Look, if you don’t behave yourself, you may not get my vote at the next election,” then the government will say, “You see? The people are voting for us. We are doing well”.
He added that if the Ijok voters got swayed by the by-election goodies in the form of new development in the state constituency, they will only have themselves to blame if a “rotten” government is voted in.

Mahathir said: “If you vote (BN) because you get a lot of money or because you get a lot of projects, you may get a rotten government which uses money in order to buy your vote.”

On all the three critera listed by Mahathir, (i) to shatter the government’s propaganda that all is well; (ii) to “send a signal” to the government that it would not get the votes of the voters in the next general election; and (iii) that goodies in the form of new development cannot be at the expense of a “rotten government”, the Ijok voters have only one option — to vote against the Barisan Nasional and ensure the election of the Parti Keadilan Rakyat candidate, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim as the Ijok Assemblyman on Saturday.

1. #1 by Loh on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 2:52 pm

So TDM wants BN to lose in Ijok. Since Ijok candidate is not from UMNO, so TDM is not against UMNO, but MIC. If follows that he is against BN component parties, including MCA. He should have said so at the Machap by-election.

From his statement against PM Abdullah, it was clear that he felt that Abdullah was half-past-six. So it was UMNO that supports a half-past-six president, and TDM should be against UMNO rather than against the good-for-nothing component parties. Is TDM thinking of claiming UMNO presidency again? For that he has to fight oxford graduate, can he?

2. #2 by Taiko on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 2:57 pm

Take it from me, they won’t resign. BN members seldom resigns on their own volition. There must be pressure from the higher-ups.

3. #3 by Rocky on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 3:11 pm

Pak Lah cakap tak serupa bikin…bersih, telus….podahlah!!!! Semua temberang. Resign…no way man. All close one eye…

Khir toyo are you going to demolish all the temples without permit in Ijok which you promised to do in Selangor after the Datuk Z saga.You said you will demolish all temples in Selangor that has no permit.OK???

4. #4 by Libra2 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 3:24 pm

I hope Mahathir will stop by at Ijok, shake hands with a few voters and tell them “JANGAN UNDI BN”.

But then didn’t Mahathir do the same thing during by elections when he was PM?
    The only difference is, it is more rampant and blatant now.

5. #5 by lakshy on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 3:24 pm

Why resign? How to make more money if you resign? You must be simple minded if you think they are there to serve your interests. They are there for their own interests to be protected. So win or lose in Ijok, no problem as long as they are still ministers etc. Then can still get kickbacks!

6. #6 by Horsekiller on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 3:36 pm

I dont think we should take This horse (TDM) so seriously. All he wants is to see Abdullah to lose the election. May be when we have the same enemy, does it matter to deal with a fox? Afterall, what BN did is what the horse has taught them well in the past. Why listen to him right now? YB Lim, that is the last person we shall believe in this earth.

7. #7 by sotong on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 3:36 pm

This is what happened with decades of dictatorship and gross mismanagement.

People are sicked and tired of speaking up for the good of the country and her ordinary people when arrogant and incompetent leaders/politicians refused to listen and abused the law.

The country and her ordinary people are starting to pay a heavy price for past mistakes…….hope there is a realisation of the seriousness of the situation and effective policies and procedures implemented to minimise its impact.

8. #8 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 4:11 pm

Remember Lunas??? what the no value mp said???
    If bn loss Lunas he will stay back and…………

Why do voters still believe in bn shits and promises. Let’s say the dpm or ktoyol or the liar Lunas promising no value mp say they will resign if Ijok goes to the opposition. DO YOU HONESTLY THINK THEY WILL ACT UPON WHAT THEY SAY.

Oh GOD please help this country.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

9. #9 by kslaw70 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 5:23 pm

Whether BN win or lose, all the corrupt kings of BN still benefit. Dont worry that they will pull back the fund allocation during promised during IJOK Buy-election but they will make sure that they fill up their own n their cronies’s pocket first n only leave the bones to IJOK. Menang atau kalah, rasuah tetap mau rasuah !!!

10. #10 by lakshy on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 5:49 pm

Lunas…..I dont think semi value ever showed his face back in lunas after all his promises. Same thing will happen in Ijok. Ijokians will see DPM, MB, OKT, SV, and clowns now. Get the most of it. Make hay while teh sun shines.

Once this election is over, come Sunday, everone will pack their bags and forget this Allah forsaken place. Am sure Toyo didn’t even know the place existed beforer this, after all it was under MIC and he is only now setting up a help centre. It will be forgotten soon after Bn wins the seat.

11. #11 by Dood on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 6:26 pm

Wah… somebody will take the blame if BN lost in Ijok.. maybe Khir dance on hot pan now. That why he really work like a bull last few days to make sure Ijok stay under BN. Las nite he stupidly said few phrase while appearing in Bersama Menteri at RTM 1.

Last news indicate even PakLah start campaigning there.. errmmm… Opposition really have big chance now… All the best..!

12. #12 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 8:10 pm

Good o samy has learned his lessons well, I do not recall him saying that he will shift to Ijok to service the residence this time around.

This will definately be a beauty if PKR wins Ijok, only goes to show AAB that Samy cannot keep his territory as in Lunas and soon Ijok, he is way pass his prime.

Perharps AAb should ask him to step down before he looses more of BN’s territory.

13. #13 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 8:15 pm

Good O’ Samy has learned his lesson well, as I do not recall him telling anyone that he will shift to IJOK should MIC wins, so as to enable a more vocal representative.

IF PKR wins this time, AAB should really consider dropping Samy as he is way past his prime and can no longer guards BN’s territories effectively, we have seen how MIC looses Lunas, and soon Ijok.

Well, AAB, what say you?

14. #14 by raven77 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 8:51 pm

How to resign….the plundering is incomplete….Malaysians are stuffed. We may have officially become a second Zimbabwe…

15. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 9:01 pm

Let’s pray Najib, Toyo and Samy Vellu will just be consigned to the bins of irrelevance and history after IJOK by-election.

Never seen greater hypocrites ooozing crruption from every pore, oiling their way through IJOK’s shores.

16. #16 by hasilox on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 9:09 pm

What resign? They are aspired to die in their seats. Just pray harder that it will be very soon so that some constituencies can gain.

17. #17 by japankiller on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 9:24 pm

since when DrM are start doing like DAP, Uncle Kit may be should invite him to join the party.

18. #19 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 10:18 pm

Think about this. Dr. M, DAP, Anwar, PAS all on the same side? Who says the opposition could not come together?

Let me say this, as dirty as the BN is playing, if it wins, its something to think hard about. Either they have some real grit or the BN is beyond repair – a monster waiting to destroy everything around before it self-destruct.

19. #20 by Boneka on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 10:19 pm

Let no one get carried away with Dr. M’s comments asking voters of Ijok to vote “using their faculty”. Why didn’t he come with a similar advice to Macahp voters. Has he an axe to grind with Samyvellu- the candidate being from MIC, for blowing the whistle on PMC approved projects that went ‘kaput’ like MRR2, school computer labs all over the country, Matrade complex etc. We all know who set up PMC, don’t we?

20. #21 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 11:01 pm

I am dissapointed by my fellow chinese voters’ decision to support the BN in Machap. What is it with them. To be excited about some stupid lampposts, tarred roads and other goodies. I don’t think so. Perhaps, they believed in UMNO’s threat of another May 13. People in Kelantan, Johor, East Msia have never experienced any racial tension save for the times when UMNO have occasionally injected such fears into their lives.
    To the people of Ijok, your biggest enemy is the BN and not the other races. Go visit Kelantan, you will see how harmoniously the people there live. Yes, you have the joker Nik guy cracking some jokes sometimes, but no one there takes him seriously.
    I have experienced May 13 and lost some friends. But I’m not going to be intimidated by these sons of a gun and their running dogs MCA. I won’t let my children and grandchildren to be intimidated by them. To the people of Ijok, you can stop all these by sending a message to them during this byelection. Forget about the stupid lampposts, tarred road or Mawi. He can’t even sing for God sake.

21. #22 by Jonny on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 11:20 pm

For our children’s sake, the majority need to be reduced. Corruption need to be reduced. Police integrity need be restored.

It all has to start somewhere. It has got to be Ijok.

22. #23 by sammyvellu on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 11:39 pm

If by-election so much kang tau for rakyat, can we then hire Indo assasins to whack ADUN’s which we all hate?

23. #24 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 3:23 am

May 13th?? How could there be another incident of that scale if PKR were to replace UMNO? The scenario would be far different if UMNO were to lose seats to another Malay party – instead of to DAP.

24. #25 by somaris on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 3:59 am

To,
    ALL MALAYSIAN.let s all of us makes the differrent for our future children.We need to reduces the majority.BN UMNo is to much.All races are not happy anymore not like our grandfather time .they live so happy amount all race for all malaysian.To all ijok people vote for PKR.let them know that we are not happy anymore.
    i pray for ijok to vote for PKR.Hidup malaysian.

25. #26 by pamelaoda on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 8:02 am

sammyvellu Says:

April 26th, 2007 at 11:39 pm
    If by-election so much kang tau for rakyat, can we then hire Indo assasins to whack ADUN’s which we all hate?

Cool down, if you do that, u r the same as those people, u r sammyvellu and not Semi Value!

26. #27 by letsbefair on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 9:40 am

Haiiii…….
    Tan Sri Khalid just commited a political suicide. It is reported in all media that he screamed towards the end of his ceramah speach that the people of Ijok should vote in the BN candidate!!
    I have two theories why he did that.
    First it may be because he did it unintentionally since he was from UMNO before and for that split second did not realise what he just commited.
    Second a more sinister one. He may had been persuaded by the other side. It may have been prearranged with something promised to him if he do it.
    It is said that MONEY is the root of all evil and all of us can be bought for a price.
    Just look at what happened more than ten years ago in Sabah. PBS won with a landslide but the elected asemblymen left the party one after another when offered huge sums of money.
    Even Lee Lam Thye is not immune to this but at least he still had the “backbone” not to join BN. He is where he is today because that could had been the deal for him to leave DAP!
    Those who could not be bought off unfortunately is a dying breed.
    LIm Kit Siang. You have my respect. I read somewhere they even offer you a minister post if you quit but you didn’t.
    Too bad BN will rule for an indefinite period because they have amassed humongous wealth and no one can defeat them. Period.
    After all if let say the impossible come true and the Barisan Altenative took over would not the same thing be repeated?

27. #28 by letsbefair on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 10:22 am

oooppps….
    Let me rephrase the last few sentences. BN tried to make a deal with Mr. Lim. Bring DAP into the BN fold and be rewarded with a ministerial post. Fortunately he declined otherwise there won’t be anymore “Santa Clauses” in by-elcetions. Thanks Mr. Lim Kit Siang!!

28. #29 by Taikotai on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 10:50 am

B N is a crappy party. I voted for MCA at the Seputeh election about 4 (or is that 5) years ago and then now it came back to haunt me by building those bloody fcuking flyovers in my housing area of Seri Petaling, linking that shit hole of a place Putrajaya to God-knows-where. It annoys me to the core of my soul that everytime I see those flyovers, stretching left, right, up and down. Not to mention the future noise and air pollution brought by those cars travelling on it….

Do not vote B N, they bite the hand that feeds them!

Btw, I will support DAP in the Seputeh area but please the Iron Lady in-charge there to do more lar…I mean, there are a lot of issues here that can be rectified…

29. #30 by Jimm on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 12:11 pm

“Never do unto others what you don’t want others to do unto you”.
    Guess our beloved TDM have seen with his own eyes and felt with his own heart the meaning of this phrase.
    There are always a price to pay for every action that we have rendered out. Every action, there will be a reaction.
    Not to be anti-climax over the Ijok by-election last development, I (somehow) got a feeling that BN will make sure that they win, at all cost. Looking at the authorities involved in manning the event and their comments about it, the are enough signs that they will be part of the system to ensure BN wins.
    The oldies in BN coalitions are being replaced one by one, the younger replacement need to find their ‘ATMs’ for keep their seat ‘protected’. Used to be, there are other resources to ‘take over’ and make their own ‘fortunes’. Now, most of these channels have be ‘owned’ by their own people. There are not enough to ‘salvaged’ from those ‘nobody want’ businesses. So, going deep into the dark side of the business world are the best option. That’s why we have too many cases of corruption lately. Who’s to blame ?
    Money is everything, they can ‘talk’.

30. #31 by ah lau on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 2:38 pm

We all talk pandai tapi undi lain -lain.

Semua sama-sama bila masa datang.

Biar jangan cakap macam rocket.

31. #32 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 28 April 2007 - 1:35 am

“We all talk pandai tapi undi lain -lain.

Biar jangan cakap macam rocket.” – Ah Lau

“We all talk pandai tapi undi lain -lain.

Biar jangan cakap macam some shitty bn apologist”

32. #33 by art-upon-mu on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 12:28 am

Are people for real here? Keep hallucinating that the nation is ripe for a change and a sea of people all ready to abandon the rotten BN government for a bright and just future. Predicting a win against the BN candidate before even the first vote is casted. What a joke and disappointment. Get real – see the decision of the voters of Ijok, an increased majority for the BN candidate.

Lunas, my foot. Who’s going to resign?