“Pokkiri” film of violence and sex screened to pupils in school

Yesterday, I received a complaint on my blog from Vimaleson Gunaratnam, a parent of a seven-year-old pupil at SK Taman Hi-Tech, Kulim that non-Malay students in the school were separated from Malay students last Wednesday and Thursday for the whole morning session until recess time and shown a Tamil movie, Pokkiri, which is full of violence and sex.

He sent a letter of protest to the school principal and I read out his letter in Parliament a few hours later during the committee stage debate of the 2006 Supplementary Estimates on the Education Ministry, and asked for a full investigation by the Education Ministry.

This is Vimaleson’s protest letter which I read out in Parliament yesterday:

20hb April, 2007
Tuan Gurubesar,
SK Taman Hi-Tech,
Taman Hi-Tech Kulim,
Kedah.

Tuan,

PER: TAYANGAN GAMBAR TAMIL SEMASA WAKTU SEKOLAH.

Seperti yang dimaklumkan di atas, saya sebagai waris, ingin mendapat penjelasan daripada pihak tuan, rational mengapa gambar Tamil ditayangkan semasa waktu persekolahan baru-baru ini. Kejadian tersebut berlaku berturut-turut 2 hari pada 18 dan 19hb April, 2007. Pada masa tersebut pelajar-pelajar bukan Melayu diasingkan ke sebuah bilik.

Gambar yang ditayangkan bertajuk Pokkiri. Ia dibintangi oleh Vijay. Tahukah pihak sekolah yang gambar yang dibintangi oleh Vijay mempunyai unsur-unsur ganas and seks yang keterlaluan. Saya sebagai bapa tidak anak-anak saya menonton gambar di rumah saya, tetapi pihak sekolah telah membawa anak perempuan saya berumur 7 tahun untuk menonton gambar ini berturut-turut dua hari. Saya hantar anak saya ke sekolah untuk belajar ilmu, bukan belajar nilai-nilai yang tidak diingini.

Saya hendak pihak sekolah memberi penjelasan:

1. Kenapa tiada pengajaran untuk pelajar-pelajar bukan Melayu pada 2 hari tersebut?

2. Mengapa gambar ditayangkan semasa waktu pengajaran?

3. Mengapa gambar yang berunsur ganas dan seks ditayangkan?

Terima kasih.

Vimaleson is particularly incensed that the movie Pokkiri, (translated the meaning is “Thug”) starred by Vijay and which is full of violence, is shown in school when he would not allow such a movie at home.

He asked: “What kind of values the school trying inoculate to the kids; violence, sensuality, etc?”

Print Friendly

1. #1 by OrangKulim on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 10:27 am

First scene of the movie.

A woman walks in the basement car park and sits in her car. Suddenly a body falls on the windscreen. The body rolls to the floor, a man walks to the body, places his foot on the head of the body and turns it (close up scene,, only the legs can be seen). The body has no life. The woman in the car looks shocked. The man pulls a pistol and goes near and shots her point blank.. the bullet penetrates the windscreen.

Ms Careena6,
    Did you watch the right movie?

1. Do you understand Tamil?

2. Do you agree that Tamil movie don’t show sexy scenes directly, but they heavily compensate that by sensual scenes? Do you agree that sensual scenes will have equal or more damaging effect on curious kids?

3. Is the movie suitable to be shown in schools?

Values, what is the right behaviour, depends the background and upbringing. Sometimes it can be subjective, but the majority decides what is the norm.

A reported called me yesterday, apparently she tried to talk to the HM, but he was busy. A lady teacher answered the reporter. The lady teacher told the reporter that she was the person who brought the VCD to school and there is absolutely nothing with the content.
    The reporter went speechless and I am shocked!!!!!!!!

This not a racial issue, because the most saddening part is that the teacher is an indian who understands Tamil!

The teacher refused to give her name.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 11:57 am

Oda-san,

Have you visited Shinjuku? Is your office located anywhere in Nihombashi, Tokyo’s central business district? Mine was.

But now I am behind my computer and the time is 11.55 pm. You can use your ‘GPS’ to locate my position.

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 1:00 pm

I didn’t realize how crowded Tokio could be until I bend down to tie my shoe laces whilst walking in the Tokyo train station and subways. I created a human traffic jam of unimaginable proportions and have yet to recover from the shock.

To escape from the waves of daily human migration, I would spend time after office in the many Pachinko parlors that littered the city of Tokio. When my fingers get a little tired of sending those shiny not-so-tiny lead balls around those pins, I seek refuge in the many small cinemas that dot the city and enjoy the latest in Japanese porn flicks i.e. until I learn later that others seek their refuge to rest their tired bodies and not go home because only losers would return home early. Their constant snoring meant that a quick exit would be necessary to preserve what is left of my sanity.

4. #4 by Careena6 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 3:51 pm

OrangKulim

1. I watched the right movie

2. I speak more than 5 languages including tamil

3. I disagree.

4. Please read my comment again.

By the way u described the first scene so accurately that you gave me a sick notion,you actually remember all those horrid scenes? That’s violent..

kulimkaredi ,

And i’m not a Vijay fan, dont judge me when you dont even know me.What makes you think that showing older version of tamil movie is right?? The whole thinggy of screening movies during school hours is wrong unless there is a purpose.

5. #5 by sotong on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 4:16 pm

Childrens at that age should not watch that movie at school. There must be strict guidelines at school to protect childrens.

At home, it is up to the parents to decide and guide their kids, if they allowed them to watch.

We should always discourage our childrens from watching violent movies…….as some will grow up thinking it is acceptable to behave in an aggressive manner or Ok to use intimidation and bullying to achieve one’s aims……like our politicians.

6. #6 by OrangKulim on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 6:36 pm

This blog has hypocrite.

The person can’t stand verbal description of the scene… but the same person saying the movie is alright to be watched by school kids, nothing grossly bad.

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 7:18 pm

Malaysia screening R-rated movies to seven year old kids in schools?? Now who says Malaysia is not an ‘advance’ country?

Countries like the U.S. require 17-year olds to prove their age when they enter the entrance to an R-rated movie at its theaters – let alone screen them to 10-year olds in schools.

8. #8 by pamelaoda on Thursday, 26 April 2007 - 8:59 pm

To undergrad2

eehh! nihon de hatara ide imasu ka? Yokohama ni sunde imasu yo..Raishu no getsu yobi wa, chuka kai ni ku daiyo..yum cha…dou desuka.? I m always full wizz appointments so no time for pachinko yet!
    Hey pachinko cheat one la..how much have u contributed? Read uncle lim’s blog better ne. Sori uncle..use your space a bit here

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 3:55 am

Yes. Yokohama!

I didn’t know how to tell the cabdriver where exactly I wanted to go. I told him “place with many flowers”. After several inquiries with a few other cabdrivers along the way, somehow he got it. It cost a bomb to take a cab to Yokohama from Central Tokio; the cab driver must have known that only a foolish gaijin in a hurry would do that. Needless to say he was very happy. He even waited for me. After that I supposed he didn’t have to work for the evening and must have gone home to be with his wife.

Oda-san, you cannot say you’ve been to Japan if you’ve not spent time playing pachinko. It is not to win but it is the cheapest form of entertainment in town available to salaried company men in grey and white. So you find a lot of these salaried men in grey pants and white shirts in their neckties playing pachinko and sleeping at the same time, after office hours. They are afraid to return to their homes early to face their wives because of the social stigma attach to it! The perception is you cannot be important to your employer if you reach home early! Neighbors would gossip – bad for the wives. Boy! How I wish I could work in Japan forever!

The Japanese, as you know, have developed the habit of sleeping and yet not sleeping to an art form. Well, either pachiko or karaoke; and karaoke or the bar is one place you don’t go unless you’re on an expense account.

Yes, it is important that gaijins understand the Japanese concept of ‘giri’ and abide by it.

Sorry guys to deviate from the topic – can’t resist the temptation.

10. #10 by Cinnamon on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 8:26 am

I have been reading this blog for sometime, but due to this topic can’t resist registering and giving my comments.

OrangKulim,
    You are responsible and brave. This issue will go down the history, and you will be remembered in a positive way.,, be assured.

I am sure there are many parents in the same school feel dissappointed with the school, but they confine their actions only up to corridor talk, because they are not strong enough or brave enough to do what is necessary. Bottomline, they are not responsible and cowards.

You gave school and district education authorities reasonable opportunities to resolve the issue, but they failed to value it.

You could have gone to BN component parties, but they are too busy cleaning the drains in Ijok now. The Lunas ADUN is an Indian, I bet he never bothered to contact you for more info.

Don’t worry, nothing will happen to your kid in school, because the authorities know very well you will not keep quiet, and also be assured there will be teachers fully support you silently.

Dear Careena/Jeffrey,
    Both of you are idiots.
    It is wrong not show movies in school during lesson. Let’s not make our school into cinemas.,, period.
    Please don’t cloud the issue.

The rest of bloggers,
    I called Mr Gunaratnam last nite (his hp no is in the blog). The school HM sent him a SMS yesterday, wants to meet him coming Sunday 8.00am. The PIBG (PTA) chairman also called him up, he watched the movie with his wife.. his view ‘Within 5 minutes from the start, the teacher must have a realized that it is not suitable for school viewing’.
    The father is doing whatever he can to resolve the issue. I believe good result will be achieved in the end and it will be benchmark issue for future reference.
    Let’s do our part. Most Sundays we get up late. But coming Sunday for those living nearby, let’s go to school and give him the moral support. Later let’s adjorn to the shop selling best white coffee in town (in front of the old Capital theatre). The school is opposite the Kulim Golf Resort.. you cannot miss it.

See you there.

11. #11 by OrangKulim on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 2:16 pm

Thanks Cinnamon.

Careena/Jefrey,
    Please don’t take too hard on the remark given by Cinnamon. There is compromise on the principle, VIOLENT/SENSUAL MOVIES CANNOT BE SHOWN IN SCHOOL DURING LESSONS. What movie is watched at home is totallly a different issue altogether.. What did the teacher expect the kids to learn from this movie?

When it comes to our children we do not compromise. When the teacher shows movie rated 18SG to the kids of just 6+, something is very wrong. The movie glorifies gangsterism, hooliganism.

The teacher also violated the copyright act,, the VCD suppose to be for personal/home viewing only! And also most probably it was a pirated copy.

12. #12 by concerned mother on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 5:54 pm

I agree with Cinnamon…..
    Jeffrey and Careena….i’m a mother of another std 1 student from the same school…. and the movie was shown during school hours…. no classes was conducted for non muslim student during normal school hrs…. this movie showing did not happen during MORAL classes.

I don’t care about the moral of the storie or any other hidden reasons.

If there are any special event for the muslim student, the non muslims are gathered in a class, why can’t the teachers provide them some colour pencils and ask them something to draw or work out a team building between the kids.
    Imagine this are all 6-7 years kids..what do you except the kids to know and learn about the hidden moral from this movies.

Even in GSC for all 18 SG movies kids are strickly not allowed.

There are so many educational CDs provided together with the students text books, this CDs could have been played but why a tamil movie…..!!!!????

I guess both of you do not have any kids yet therefore you don’t understand the feeling of parent who are strugelling to provide our kids with good and valuable education.

M’sian govenrmetn’s Education policy can be trown to the drain….. this is the 1st time ever i’ve learned that a 18SG movie are being shown in schools during school hours for std 1 students.

And orangkulim, you are not alone, there are concerned parents who are together with you……

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 April 2007 - 7:22 pm

Let us not blow this our of proportions!

No government be it run by the national coalition or by some other coalition would be so stupid as to allow the screening of such movies in school.

It is a bad cock-up by the headmaster and the teacher involved. Both should be disciplined. Why the headmaster?? Because that’s where the buck stops.

14. #14 by kurakura on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:01 am

15. #15 by OrangKulim on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 1:42 pm

YB,

I thank you for all the support given. Some of the parents and I met the school authorities on Sunday and here is there outcome.

As expected the PIBG YDP did not attend the meeting, although earlier he personally told me he will.

The HM agreed that the movie is not suitable to be shown in school. He trully regretted it happened.

The HM said the movie was brought by a Standard 5 student and played by the teachers. How weird?????????

HM questioned why he was not contacted before escalating.
    Reply given- the email was sent on this issue but no response for 4 days. Email sent on another issue but no response for more than 1 month. So it was perceive that the school not interested in replying. Reasonable opportunity given to school, but they did not use it.
    HM said that he didn’t know there was an email, but the PK Academic admitted reading and didn’t bother to tell the HM.

The PK Academic was harping on the matter that it was shown only on 1 day.
    But it doesn’t matter, even for 1 hour the movie must not be shown in school.
    The movie is rated as 18SG, therefore not meant for primary school kids.
    It is a violation of Copyright Act,, the movie is for home viewing only.

Agreement achieved in summary:
    The school must respond all forms of communication, including emails,, within 1 working day.
    The school will make a written reply on this issues.
    The school will not show movies in schools.
    A proper program need to be made if no classes is conducted on certain times. Watching movies or placing the students in library is not a solution.

Dear bloggers,
    I would like to thank you too.

16. #16 by Kulim2London on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:06 pm

Vimal, As I said to you on the phone from London congratulations
    for standing up and exposing this mentality among the teachers and the educations system.There is simply no excuse in a decent and fair world for exposing children to such violent films.The fact the system tries to justifies that it was shown for only 1 hour is not an educated ratioalisation at all, neither a simple matured commonsene- that comming from the H/M or teachers is very alarming and highly stupid of the lowest of the low kind.

I just hope that your child gets the best of education, and goes on to to be what you and family inspires in her to be, and she wants to be.May be she will sat a good example to these silly teachers on how to behave towards children with responsibility.

Whenever, I am in Kulim next I will ring you.Good luck and may God
    bless the little one with success.I have a daughter and a son, and I understand your pain and disappointment in such immatured teachers and their attitude; and I am glad they are not studying in Malaysia, but I feel sorry for those that have to study througfh such teachers!