Mainstream media ban on Najib’s “717 Declaration” – to save MCA for jettisoning Merdeka social contract?

On July 17, 2007, Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak declared that Malaysia is an Islamic state driven by the fundamentals of Islam and not a secular state. He even went out of his way to emphasise that Malaysia had “never been a secular state”.

Next day, Wednesday, July 18, 2007, just before the Cabinet meeting, MCA President and Housing and Local Government Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting spoke to Najib about the latter’s “717 Declaration”.

What really transpired nobody would know, but the result is there for all to see — the ban on all mainstream media on comments on Najib’s “717 Declaration” that Malaysia is an Islamic State and had never been a secular state.

Did the idea of the ban and blackout of all mainstream media on comments on Najib’s “717 Declaration” emanate from the MCA or did it come from Najib?

Is the ban on all mainstream media from reporting comments on Najib’s “717 Declaration” that Malaysia is an Islamic State designed to salvage MCA from the political fall-outs in being a party to the jettisoning of the Merdeka “social contract”?

This is not only a cowardly and undemocratic act, the gravest blow to press freedom in the 45 months of Abdullah premiership, but a great disservice to the integrity of the Merdeka social contract agreed by the forefathers of the major communities as the cardinal basis of nation building — a secular Malaysia with Islam as the official religion.

The solution is not to ban the press and deny Malaysians the right to speak up to defend the Merdeka social contract which had also been the life-work of the three first Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak and Tun Hussein, but for Najib to retract his “717 Declaration” and the Cabinet to reaffirm the Merdeka social contract that Malaysia had never been conceived as an Islamic state but as a secular state with Islam as the official religion.

The question all Malaysians are entitled to a clear and unequivocal answer is whether the upcoming 50th Merdeka Anniversary celebrations is for Malaysians to commemorate 50 years of a secular Malaysia or to mark its official end and the beginning of an Islamic state?

1. #1 by Toyol on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 11:53 am

Bankrupt of ideas, now begins the era of suppression. Blackout on media, anyone caught talking about the issue will be charged under ISA, except of course the DPM himself.

Now the US will know that we are weak (both socially and economically) and will accuse us of harbouring terrorists and start a campaign here like in Iraq/Afghanistan. The end is near…

2. #2 by dawsheng on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:00 pm

929, 717. What’s next? 505??

3. #3 by sotong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:18 pm

BN under UMNO leadership had failed the country and her ordinary people for far too long.

It continuation to lead the country without new, fresh and workable ideas and solutions will not solve the enormous problems confronting the country.

4. #4 by somethingStirring on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:19 pm

no hear, no see, no talk?

5. #5 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:27 pm

A vote for MCA is a DEFINATE vote for an Islamic state!

A vote for MIC is a DEFINATE vote for an Islamic state!

A vote for BN is a DEFINATE vote for an Islamic state!

Tell your neighbours, tell your friend, MCA kept quiet, MCA did wayang wayang.

6. #6 by Jong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:32 pm

Toyol said it right. There’s no democracy anymore in this country anymore. There two top dogs can utter anything they want but not the rakyat(people) who put them there. They can tell the people to shut up or be arrested under Internal Security Act(ISA).

I think it’s timely Dr M start cut a recording “My way …..the end is near” . I am sure his cd should be selling like hot cakes, everyone will buy it.

What say you Dr M?

7. #7 by Jong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:34 pm

sorry for typo mistakes:

“There’s no democracy anymore in this country. The two top dogs can utter anything….”

8. #8 by democratic junkie on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:36 pm

wether or not Najib retracts his statement is of a secondary matter….

in essence, there are traces of islamic influence in governing our nation. Remember the issue about distribution of condoms and needles for drug addicts?

MCA has undoubtedly sold out the chinese for the benefit of their leaders.

9. #9 by MY VIEW on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:40 pm

“He even went out of his way to emphasise that Malaysia had “never been a secular state”.”
    ——————————————————-
    This is what we say “TALK COCK”

10. #10 by sotong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 12:56 pm

It’s difficult to see significant improvement in good governance of the country in the short to mid term…….decades of problems had been compounded by bad leadership and nobody did anything about it or take full responsibility.

11. #11 by lakshy on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 1:03 pm

So lets all do our part to vote in opposition parties at state and parliamentary level in the next GE. Make sure to tell your wife, girl friends, parents children etc. Women forma large block that generally votes for BN. Many do not keep tabs of the gross indecency occurring and will blindly vote for BN.

Also tell the kampung folk as much as possible.

12. #12 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 1:29 pm

Sooner or later, we will be a Failed State governed by religious extremists. Then we will have to wait for the US to “liberate” us (or rather destroy us).

Why they don’t talk about becoming a developed nation in the year 2020 anymore? (Although a nation that practice racial discrimination would never have a chance to achieve that status, but there is no harm talking, we already used to it).

Why Najib don’t talk about “glocal” anymore?

All those racial based and religious based policies make me sick.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 1:43 pm

The Star, Wednesday, 11 July 2007:
    According to Deputy Home Affairs Minister Datuk Tan Chai Ho, some 106,000 Malaysians had given up their citizenship between 1996 and April this year.
    Of the figure, 70% or 79,100 were Malays, 25,107 Chinese, 1,347 Indians and 350 of other races.

The Star, Friday, 20July 2007 (today):
    Only 1,720 Malays have surrendered their citizenship to migrate to other countries between 1996 and April this year, Home Affairs Minister Datuk Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad said.
    He said the total number of Malaysians who had left the country since Independence was 106,003, of which 10,411 were Malays, 86,078 Chinese, 8,667 Indians and other races 847.
    “I want to clarify the figures given by my deputy (Datuk Tan Chai Ho) who said recently that more than 79,000 Malays have surrendered their citizenship to live abroad,” he said.
    Mohd Radzi said that between 1996 and April this year, 28,527 Malaysians had surrendered their citizenship.

WHO CARES about what MCA idiots said? They could not even get simple figures factually correct and gave the nation false facts! What a shame. Buta gaji.

14. #14 by pwcheng on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 1:46 pm

Did the idea of the ban and blackout of all mainstream media on comments on Najib’s “717 Declaration” emanate from the MCA or did it come from Najib?

The answer is simple. MCA must have an exit clause somewhere to save all the embarrassment, but they can only do this to deceive some but most Chinese knows them too well. For UMNO they have already done their job and now can afford to tell indirectly that all the nons whether you like it or not you have to swallow it. So with this blow (of banning the media) they thought they had killed all the flies. UMNO is doing this too often ( the recent Kris issue is another heart rendering issue for the Chinese) and getting away unscathed, but MCA I do not think you are so lucky as them. By running back to the mouse hole every time there are cries from the Chinese will only give you the shine of a puppet. We can understand your difficulties but you must come out with something intelligent to counteract this instead of keeping yourself dumb.

15. #15 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 1:47 pm

Uncle kit,

Najib started this argument. And when he realised that he is short of facts and constitution laws to back him, he ban all mainstream media on talking about islamic state. Are we not allow to know the truth of our own origin? What is so sensitive that they decided to ban all news on this.

I’ve also one question. Is secular state and islamic state mutually exclusive? I was amazed when Universiti Teknologi Mara lecturer Prof Dr Shad Saleem Faruq said : “Malaysia is never secular but at the same time, it is not an Islamic state. We are neither here nor there.

How could this be possible? Secularity (adjective form secular) means the state of being separate from religion.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secular
    Shouldn’t this be inteprated as if we are not an islamic state, we are automatically considered as a secular state?

Anyone can help clear my doubts?

Thanks….

[Chong Zhemin has raised a good question from Shad Faruqi’s comment. I will deal with it tomorrow. But meanwhile, any takers to give your response? – Kit]

16. #16 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 2:13 pm

Pak Lah, Najib, their Ministers and MPs, their party members and their administration in general, have given the Opposition alot of ammo for the next General Elections over the past 45 months.

The question is whether the Opposition can take advantage of these embarrasing issues to make SIGNIFICANT inroads and win big at the next GE.

From previous election statistics and when things were much freer in the past, the Alliance and BN’s poorest showing had them still winning at least 2/3 of the seats in Parliament despite at that time securing about 50% of the popular vote.

Things have changed in the meantime with alot of rural seats to ensure yet another comfortable victory for the BN even if their popular vote share dips. The people throughout the country don’t appear to be angry enough to make a major change and the Opposition have not been successful in helping them change their preferences.

And Anwar has not made any impact at all and his party is falling apart. PAS is well, struggling to hang on, not like before. And the East Malaysians are “happy, happy”, content with their lot so long as West Malaysians don’t interfere or bring their problems there.

How many seats then can DAP win you think? Has there been a significant shift in their membership and in sentiment throughout the country to enable them to win big? Another 10 seats won’t make any difference overall. A significant win would be if they and their partners can win a state but it looks tough without mass appeal. The party remains factionalised.

Najib, OKT, SV, the bocor MPs, one-eyed Jack MP etc etc will still romp home. Many MPs and Minsters are so confident and cocky that that they will still be around that they can even challenge their detractors to vie against them at the next elections.

Malaysians have short memories and by Sunday, everything would have blown over and become non-issues. Everything and almost everyone’s been silenced. Forums for discussions have been substantially curtailed. Najib’s comments will therefore remain unchallenged and still stand, warts and all. Just like Mahathir’s. And the Malays will essentially be comfortable with Najib’s comments.

And the feeble people will still vote……

17. #17 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 2:14 pm

to boh-liao.. 106,003 left country since independence? that number is waaaaaaaay too small to believe. That will make the number to be only about 2,000 per year. Taking into account of how many students who got pissed off by e education system and left to study in other countries or those who r pissed off at how e corruption system works in this god forsaken country… seriously, 2,000 is juz too small a number to believe. just the number of students going abroad will be more than this.
    I am guessing that those two numbers given differs so much because one calculates those who went abroad but did not change thier citizenship and those who changed. whichever way, i still dont believe in their statistical calculations after having seen how good they can calculate how much a dilapitated building inspection can cost or how much a 2nd penang bridge can cost and of course the 30% bumi share which has still yet to be shown to us by DPM so many months ago. anyone still remember that particular promise? i guess not many do… truely malaysian style… make noise, cool down forget, repeat.

18. #18 by k1980 on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 2:25 pm

When ministers start to play with religion to win votes, it means only one thing; that the general elections is drawing near. For those Malaysians who relish living in an Islamic state with the NEP and racial inequality as its basic ideology, go ahead and vote for the MCA, MIC, Gerakan, ect. Just don’t go crying to the DAP when your temples, churches and even cemeteries are torn down as your reward for voting in the BN. And don’t dream of migrating to the West because they won’t accept you unless you have several millions in your bank accounts.

19. #19 by Joetan on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 2:41 pm

The right of the non bumis in this bolehland is eroding fast.This is because their representatives in the government comprises of those who protect their self interest instead of the interest of their communities. Instead of seeing protesting by MCA;MIC or other component parties in BN who represent the non malays, we see them cohort with UMNO to use a simpler way out that is curbing the freedom of press. In the parliment the other day , we even see a MCA leader quoted the wrong figures on the break down of races who migrated to other countries from indepence until today. I was so surprised to see the figure reported in the newspaper. The MCA leader who is a also a deputy minister quoted that there were more malays migrated to other countries than chinese and indians. I couldnt believe my eyes to see the figures bcos there is no reason for the malays to so when they enjoyed the special priviledge in this country .As far as I know it is the non bumis who were discriminated and they were more inclined to migrate. In today’s newspaper I was right bcos the figures was corrected by the minister and it show the opposite which in actual fact reflect the reality. I do not know whether the act by this MCA leader is done on purpose so as to cover up the reality.

20. #20 by dawsheng on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 2:45 pm

Let’s do the twist! BN said.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 3:07 pm

“….//….And don’t dream of migrating to the West because they won’t accept you unless you have several millions in your bank accounts…//…” – k1980 said.

But if I could make “several millions” in my bank’s account(s) in a state (whether you consider it corrupt or Islamic), why would I want to emigrate?

I am looking forward to sell religious paraphernalia and items of personal adornment (veil) especially to Middle East tourists in this Visit Malaysia Year, apply for franchise for Halal certification from IFANCA (Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America) starting the first halal-certified bakery for sale of confectionaries here..

22. #22 by sotong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 3:09 pm

Islamic state or whatever one would like to call it is not the biggest concern……..but what is taught to the followers that worsen religious intolerance in a multi religious country is alarming.

23. #23 by KL Dude on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 3:37 pm

lakshy Said:

…..So lets all do our part to vote in opposition parties at state and parliamentary level in the next GE. Make sure to tell your wife, girl friends, parents children etc…..
    Also tell the kampung folk as much as possible.

lakshy, i think the choice of whether to vote for the opposition like PAS or whether to vote for BN… for me it’s like I’m between the devil and the deep blue sea… he he. Anyway, the opposition under PAS is worse than BN i think in respect of this matter.

PAS is all out to make Malaysia into a full extremist Islamic country with full implementation of Islamic laws if they come into power but at least BN how teruk also they are managing the country now we are sure the implementation of full Islamic laws nationwide will not happen.

I’m not a supporter of BN nor PAS but what to do I don’t have any other choice in the location where I vote accept for this 2. So I got no choice actually but have to however vote for the ‘best among the worse’ choice offered… he he… Unless I register elsewhere la. I think many are facing with the the same situation as well.

24. #24 by tsn on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 3:47 pm

929, 717,505, these are sure win 3D numbers, please punt at 3D outlets, $10 each at least.

25. #25 by smeagroo on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 3:56 pm

Just viewed a youtube music video on our country ~ Negaraku. Nicely sums up the state we are in.

26. #26 by tzarina on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:05 pm

To KL Dude,

What matters is not who wins. What matters is whether there are enough voices in the Parliment that can stand up for the right of the common people against these BN tyrants! When there is a big number of opposition in the Parliment, BN MPs cannot simply implement any stupid policies that only serves the UMNOPutras. What is the point of a Parliment when there are only a handful of dissenting voices, like there is now? This is why all those who wants the UMNOPutras checked need to vote for DAP.

I don’t trust PAS, because they only serve narrow minded Muslim interests and policies. And I don’t trust Keadilan, coz it is led by ex-UMNOPutras.

27. #27 by oedipus on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:20 pm

hey the dude who did the negaraku-ku, is in deep trouble, coz i heard he may be arrested for that clip he did.

28. #28 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:26 pm

Oedipus,

Is it really that he will be arrested? Where did you hear this? the clip has been taken down from youtube but i managed to download it before it was taken down. I dont see anything wrong with that clip. in fact it’s a true reflection of what’s happening in our country.

29. #29 by Utopia on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:27 pm

tzarina, it doesn’t matter you trust pas or keadilan or not., The fact is that they;ll never win the election so why fear? All we have to do is garner enough strength for the opposition. What is the difference between PAS and UMNO when Najib himself said that Malaysioa has never been a secular state!!! At least for now keadialan is a multi-racial party not like racist UMNO. If there is no choice, I’ll rather live with a corrupt government than a racist government!!!

Still remember Nazri shouting “RACIST, you RACIST! RACIST!” in the parliment, he must have been talking to a mirror. UMNO not a racist and a religious zealots? I’ll cut my head off!!!

30. #30 by Utopia on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:32 pm

Noleh, I still see the clip.. http://youtube.com/watch?v=aRh5u7c06go

If he get caught, I’ll swear every CHINESE in MALAYSIA should campaign for him! Except MCA, SUPP, etc traitors la!

31. #31 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:41 pm

Utopia,

Sorry for the wrong info. Cos I thought it was taken down when i couldn’t search for it on youtube just now. Anyway it’s a good clip. His previous clips – “Muar chinese” rocks too…

32. #32 by smeagroo on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:48 pm

I dont see anything wrong with the music clip.

He did sing the Negaraku in BM in its entirety. He just mixed it with chinese language to preach his message. He still believe that this is country, Negaraku. He is just pissed off with how things are moving along just like many of us.

33. #33 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:50 pm

Hey guys,

http://namewee.blogspot.com/

Check this out. The author’s blog. The clip was uploaded on the 15th July. Within two days it reached more than 10,000 hits. But it was removed by someone. The author re-uploaded it on the 17th.

And yes, newspaper reports suggest that he might be jailed for this clip. From his blog, he looks like he is brave enough to face it.
    read his post “ready for jail”

34. #34 by burn on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 4:55 pm

ngapo sekarang komponen komponen BN nak buat bising.
    perkara ni memang dah lama menjadi secara perlahan dan senyap, yang tak sedor si wakil wakil dan penyokong penyokong yang peka.
    mereka sendiri dapat melihat dengan mata diri sendiri, apa yang terjadi semenjak beberapa tahun dahulu. sedikit demi sedikit, kaum kaum lain telah diketepikan. nama saja anak MALAYSIAN!

35. #35 by lakshy on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 5:01 pm

KL dude, Given a choice between BN and PAS candidate I would vote for the PAS candidate. We need a change and the best way is to reject BN. We ourselves need to create a credible alternative government. The way to do so is to vote them into power in states and into parliament.

In states, you give them the necessary experience to also govern the nation.

In parliament you want enough opposition votes to prevent steam rolling of any new laws without concern for the good of the rakyat. We need a check and balance system.

36. #36 by gerald on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 5:05 pm

Now they ban the discussion on Islamic nation. What’s next ? Probably they would ban the mainstream media from publishing news / reports from the opposition because the opposition would not have anything good to say about the government. What the opposition say cannot trust one, all very sensitive things, will affect national security lah. Or better set up a censorship board to censor the mainstream media. Only news that are allowed by the censorship board can be published.

37. #37 by Jong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 6:04 pm

When you are not happy with the government of the day, you can express your displeasure in many ways but to use the National Anthem to rap and rock is insane. He has shown total disrespect to the country.

Such acts must not be tolerated!

38. #38 by inoato on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 6:40 pm

How sad; this UMNO led regime is leading Malaysia towards paths taken by leaders of Pakistan and Afghanistan – becoming a pariah state in time.

39. #39 by oedipus on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 6:56 pm

i just read in the chinese papers that MAYBE action will be taken against him. some ppl feel offended by it… not surprising though.

40. #40 by smeagroo on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 7:45 pm

but i beg to differ. he was merely using the flag and song as a backdrop to show a contrast of how he loves his beloved country but only to be ruined by scums of the highest order.

41. #41 by Utopia on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 7:52 pm

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

C’mon people are really getting out of their mind these days. Singing a rock version of NegaraKu create more fuss than NAJIS DECLARING MALAYSIA IS A ISLAMIC COUNTRY? WHY NO PEOPLE SUGGESTING PUTTING NAJIB UNDER ISA?

He can make fun of NegaraKu, but yet I bet he love his country more than anyone in B NASIONAL does!

If you do a search of his videos, you’ll see he actually made a documentary about his hometown Muar and says how special is Muar and how much he likes it.

Singing NegaraKu doesn’t make you patriotic. Look at our ministers, they say Allah this Allah that. Negara this negara that. They can sing negaraku every morning. Go everywhere polis escort. Yet… what they’ve done to the COUNTRY? Yet they are so corrupted! And none has been caught to answer for their crimes!!!

Now Namewee feels very discontented with what have happened in his beloved country, thus voicing his opinions thru the use of NegaraKu, that makes him a criminal? [B]1 Million MCA, SUPP etc. members don’t even have a guts of one Namewee!!![/B]

Some people Malaysia still have a mind of a 2 year baby or a 200 years old out of date brain. If I joke about my parents doesn’t mean I don’t love them! If I make fun of my friends doesn’t mean I betrayed them!

I LOVE MY COUNTRY BUT MY COUNTRY DOESNT LOVE ME!

So change that in the coming GE… And LONG LIVE NAMEWEE!

42. #42 by Jong on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 9:18 pm

We have all been brought up to respect the national flag and to stand at attention when the National Anthem is played. This has been ingrained in most of us from kindergarten years. I am sure you too smeagroo?

43. #43 by smeagroo on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 10:26 pm

i do respect my country. I do stand whenevr Negaraku is played in official functions, stadiums during a game, etc. But i dont fly the flag during Merdeka and that doesnt mean I dont love my country. Respect and love for acountry is know thru these mere silly actions of waving a flag during a parade. It is not thru acting-singing every morning. Have u seen motorists with Jalur Gemilang proudly displayed on their cars flouting every traffic rules? Rubbish been thrown out form their cars? Have u seen big VVIP cars streaming and flouting every traffic law? Is that love to you?

SO JOng,

Do u stand at home when u hear the National Anthem being played on TV?

44. #44 by Jamesy on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 10:41 pm

Do you know why Najib ban discussion of his declaration of Malaysia as an Islamic State on the mainstream media? Because he is telling all his slavery component parties of BN like MCA, MIC, Gerakan, SUPP & PBS to just sit down, stand up and shut up and who are they to question his stand on Islamic State. Likewise, he is also telling all the non-muslims citizens to accept his declaration without any questions and no discussion on this issue on the mainstream media whether they like it or not.

Happy 50th Merdeka Islamic State…

45. #45 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 10:45 pm

to Jong, do you respect a country which is run by gangsters n mobs? I would rather destroy it n rebuild it to b a better one rather than let it continue to rot w/o any hope of improvement.
    respect should b earned n not given blindly. At any day i would rather respect namwee who dares to stand out to voice out his discontent w music rather than those who bitch n complain but dare not do anything for fear of prosecution. tt is y our country is spiraling downwards cuz not enough ppl stand out to speak their mind. mostly it is complain today forget tomorrow n then complain again e next day.

46. #46 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 11:09 pm

929, 717? You like numbers?

Do you know today is 20.07.2007? How about that?

47. #47 by OverseaMalaysian on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 11:09 pm

The country is ruled by a bunch of brainless people. Well, Najib spoke his mind, he is dangerous. And the sleeping PM is planning his retirement, no time for all these.

48. #48 by devilmaster on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 11:15 pm

I will even go to the extent of preferring Bolehland to be re-colonised again & from there, start from scratch once more.

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Friday, 20 July 2007 - 11:51 pm

Chong Jemin’s posed question – “if we are not an Islamic state, aren’t we automatically considered as a secular state (and I suppose vice versa)? Anyone can help clear my doubts?”

The contention that a country is either secular state or an Islamic state is, in Logic, a fallacy described under various names including the fallacy of “false dilemma” or “false choice” or “false dichotomy” or falsified dilemma or fallacy of the excluded middle.

It is a fallacy involving a situation in which two alternative statements are held to be the only possible options (like for eg if something is not black it has to be white when in fact it could also be grey), when in reality there exist one or more other options which have not been considered or for that matter have not been named or identified (unlike colour “grey”).

A secular nation, government or constitution is one that although protects the individual’s right to religion or religious belief of choice, is however neutral, impartial, and not weighted, partial or promotive of any one particular religion over the rest of other religions. Hence taxes & public monies cannot be utilised to promote beliefs, worship or ritual of any one particular religion over the rest whether in schools, civil service or other institutions…

The secular state is “neutral” like a referee and necessarily the practice of any particular religion or all types of different religions necessarily becomes a private matter about which the State or the government will not interfere on grounds that these matters don’t belong to public realm except where the country’s laws are broken.

Also the laws themselves are deemed a product made by collective wisdom of the majority citizentry through elected representatives in Parliament.

Here in a secular state there is a clear distinction between morality and criminal law : what is immoral is not necessarily criminal, the line being drawn on whether there is real tangible harm inflicted on others before the conduct turns from immoral to criminal… When one respects and observes such laws it is because they represent in a democracy the sovereignty of the people by which expression refers to the collective majority will of the people expressed through the ballot and their elected representatives.

Based on these parameters of what a secular state, constitution or government is, Malaysia or Malaysian government (to the extent that it promotes the primacy of Islam) or our Federal Constitution (to the extent it makes Islam an official religion and under its 9th Schedule allows a pletora of laws governing Muslims to be separately made and upheld) is obviously NOT secular!

If we are nort secular, are we then an Islamic state?

That very much depends depends on how you define an Islamic state.

If one defines it to be a country whose majority peoples are Muslims and Islam has influence in a big way and which government promotes strongly Islam, yes Malaysia is 100% an Islamic state…

But if you define it as Osama bin Ladin would or as most other people use the term when describing a state based solely on “political islam” – an Islamic theocracy (more akin to PAS’s brand) – then Malaysia is certainly not an “Islamic state” in the sense that we are not a Islamic theocracy like Taliban’s Afghanistan and even near to Iran or Saudi Arabia.

For in such theocarcies, there is in their purest form no written constitution based on Common Law, no distinction between Executive, Legislative and Judiciary ….

The Islamic clergy and Mullahs and Scholars as a class generally rule or wield power directly in a republic like Taliban Afghanistan and indirectly if a monarchy like Saudi Arabia (because only they know what the law is since all laws are not made by men but derived and handed down by God and laws are based on sovereignty of God and not men’s.

Here there is no distinction between morality and law, private and public realm – all laws and morality are blended into one encopassing one’s whole life and conduct.

Dhimis (non-muslims) may be protected from persecution but that does not mean they have constitutional rights based on secular principles like many of us do here (under articles 5 & 8 of Federal Constitution).

In a theocracy, Sharia, of which Hudud is a branch, is strictly enforced which implies death to apostates, those committing adultery (by stoning or decapitation) or amputation of arm/hands for theft and of course Khalwat for close proximity.

No country is 100% pure secular nation as none is 100% theocracy but in the continuum some are close enough to either extreme to qualify as a secular state or an Islamic state in the sense of an Islamic theocracy.

Malaysia is neither of these two broad categories – secular or Islamic state.

We are a rojak because of the multi cultural, multi religious and racial composition of our peoples and the colonial legacy of a secular constitution albeit adulterated by strong elements of Islamic features.

But because Malay muslims population have increased and becoming more religious since the resurgence of Islam in the wake of Ayotollah revolution in Iran (with all the insistence of going back to fundamentals and the original Islamic state of medieval times based on the more rigid precepts of the “Wahhabi” teachings), we are increasingly gaining more and more features of an Islamic state (in the sense of a theocracy) but in spite of this growing importance of Islam notwithstanding, all things considered on balance, we are still by any stretch far away from being a wholly Islamic state in the sense of an Islamic theocracy in the strict sense of the meaning of the word.

This is not a perfect answer but I hope to give a sense to what Universiti Teknologi Mara lecturer Prof Dr Shad Saleem Faruq meant when he said : “Malaysia is never secular but at the same time, it is not an Islamic state. We are neither here nor there”.

50. #50 by Dek Mat on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 3:35 am

Mungkin para pemimpin Barisan Nasional telah terlalu lama menerajui kerajaan sehingga lupa perbezaan di antara falsafah Negara Malaysia dengan falsafah pentadbiran Malaysia.

Sesungguhnya Barisan Nasional adalah hanya satu gabungan parti-parti politik.

Barisan Nasional bukan Malaysia!

Vote BN out and vote for SiPM instead!

51. #51 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 3:59 am

This young man is talented and got guts! Well, good luck!

52. #52 by khoyamliang on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 5:07 am

I was amazed when Universiti Teknologi Mara lecturer Prof Dr Shad Saleem Faruq said : “Malaysia is never secular but at the same time, it is not an Islamic state. We are neither here nor there.
    [Chong Zhemin has raised a good question from Shad Faruqi’s comment. I will deal with it tomorrow. But meanwhile, any takers to give your response? – Kit]

My pertinent and objective assessment is: Malaysia is a multi-racial secular nation with Islamic characteristics !

53. #53 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 8:09 am

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601080&sid=am0uXeUgf8tE&refer=asia
    Ethnic Malays have blown the opportunities given to them under the country’s 36-year-old affirmative action policy and still need preferential treatment? Who do you think you are kidding, ex-pm?

54. #54 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 8:10 am

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601080&sid=am0uXeUgf8tE&refer=asia
    Ethnic Malays have blown the opportunities given to them under the country’s 36-year-old affirmative action policy and still need preferential treatment? So we need another 36 centuries of NEP for them to catch up!

55. #55 by negarawan on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 8:17 am

Looks like a cool video but I need a translation to English or Bahasa http://youtube.com/watch?v=aRh5u7c06go I can roughly tell what’s it about from the visuals.

MCA and MIC are political eunuchs of UMNO. A vote for MCA or MIC is a vote for UMNO Islamic country, rampant corruption, racial and religious discrimination, half-past-six policies, mediocrity in government, faltering education standard, rise in cost of living, rise in crime, pollution, environmental damage, and human rights violation. Vote BN out!

56. #56 by mendela on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 8:46 am

boh-liau,

What is Tan Chai Ho? What kind of qualifications this running dog has? What has he done for Malaysians?

Most of d MCA so called leaders are there meant to get rich only.

57. #57 by zioburosky13 on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 9:29 am

If, what Najib said is true, then why the ban of debate of Islamic topic? Ironically isn’t it…? [/sarcasm]

58. #58 by Cinapek on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 10:30 am

It is pathetic. Najib is desperately trying to save his political skin. He is prepared to defile the memories of the founding fathers including his own father just to further his own ends.

Well shifting political goal post is not the sole monopoly of Najib. Most of the UMNO leaders practise this same shameful act when it suits them. This same lack of integrity is disgracefully carried forward to the way they manage this country and that is why we see the massive corruptions, the efficiencies and the constant bunglings at all levels of the administration from the lowest to the top. It is a way of life.

Abetting them are the eunuchs of MCA, MIC, Gerakan and the other BN component parties. These eunuchs are closing their eyes to all these shameful UMNO machinations as long as their(eunuch’s) interest are taken care of. These eunuchs have sold their souls and the future of their descendants to the devil.

The MCA top leaders do not even have the balls to reply to Najib and instead used a lower level leader to respond so that they will have an escape channel in case UMNO retaliates. MIC and Gerakan is worse. They kept quiet.

A DPM, no less, is prepared to renegade on the social contract for his self interest. This speaks volumes for his integrity(or the lack of it) despite overwhelming evidence indicating otherwise. Can such a man be trusted to manage this country in future? He has sold out his father’s memory. What is there to stop him selling out this country then?

59. #59 by k1980 on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 11:11 am

http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1645461,00.html
    When I asked he said he’d read the Quran. I asked it him if he understood it. He shook his head. It was then it became apparent his education went no farther than the madrassa—he was taught to recite the Quran in Arabic but did not understand a word. Other than what he was told….he was taught that suicide bombers go directly to heaven, where they’re met by virgins and lush gardens…

60. #60 by madmix on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 11:22 am

Hishammudin says kafirs also have rights in an islamic state. What he didn’t say is they have LESS rights being dhimmis. They must practice their religions with the approval of the muslim state and this approval can change according to the mood of the ummah.
    This is the new NEP. Now non malays who have reduced rights under NEP will have even less rights under a muslim state.
    You build temples, churches, must ask permission not just from planning authorities but Islamic authorities. One day you restaurants will have to be certified, then you will have to close shop during prayer times like saudi. What people will do in future, we cannot predict.

61. #61 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 11:38 am

“…//…Other than what he was told….he was taught that suicide bombers go directly to heaven, where they’re met by virgins and lush gardens //…”…- k1980

I wish I had a talk with that suicide bomber on the possible errors of what he had been taught before he went about bombing innocent lives.

What is the point of denying the pleasures of the flesh in this life on grounds that it is sin and yet as a suicide bomber bent on martyrdom covet for virgins in lush gardens in the hereafter?

(Seems like virgins are more highly prized than non virgins as an incentive for martyrs).

Surely what is sin (fornification with virgins) in this life should be also sin in the hereafter just like murder is sin in this life ought equally be sin in the afterlife especially, if I may add, in Heaven, though not so sure about the other side, Hell.

How can one be sure of what happens in the Hereafter ? Even if there are virgins, they may be lesbians and even if it were not the case, one may not have any sex drive to be bothered about virgins in that ethereal state!

62. #62 by dawsheng on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 2:05 pm

There are enough virgins to serve the whole mankind.

63. #63 by whateverla on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 2:47 pm

What we learned in sejarah and Moral…
    all are bullshit???

64. #64 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 3:15 pm

Virgins? Once and its no more!!

Is there a factory somewhere? Is that why we have a population explosion everywhere?

If the suicide bomber is a women, will she have alot of virgin men studs waiting for her in heaven?

What if the bomber is gay?

What does the good book say?

65. #65 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 21 July 2007 - 9:36 pm

66. #66 by pwcheng on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 12:32 am

# Jong Says:
    July 20th, 2007 at 18: 04.20

“When you are not happy with the government of the day, you can express your displeasure in many ways but to use the National Anthem to rap and rock is insane. He has shown total disrespect to the country. Such acts must not be tolerated”!

Some people are difficult to control their emotion. But to be honest the situation is really becoming intolerable, more so if you have first hand experiences of all the injustices and the difficulties or sufferings dealing with the government. The chain of events that are happening can make a sane person insane.

67. #67 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 10:12 am

I have said it before and I will say it again. Najib is an intellectual pretender, in reality a boob. He gives further proove that he does not have the fiber necessary for the highest office and in fact not for his current one either. He is there by virtual weakness of the current PM, an accident of mediocrity.

While the constitution have element regarding religion and Islam, so does every country in the world including the US. This does not mean that the principle of separation of religion and state is not ultimately the highest principle and Najib makes light of this. Its really scary how little he understand the importance of this when Tunku and even his father understood it. The prodigal son really is so far more dissapointing.

He is really dumb and maybe we should constitutionally ban this from the DPM post..

68. #68 by John F. Kennedy on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 1:28 pm

For far too long now, there has bee an explosion of top-level management jobs but not enough capable Malays to fill them.

What you see now is just the beginning.

With the drop in standards of our local university graduates, do brace yourselves to expect more.

What Najib said is dumb, but it is not that dumb to the religious nationalists. And they are growing in power.

I say that the MCA has lost the plot. MCA leaders have lost the ability, if ever they had any, to interact and counteract with Umno for the good of this country.

69. #69 by shaolin on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 9:36 am

Watch out of Islamic Terrorism in Malaysia!
    Why they acclaim Islamic state is definitely with Ulterior Motives!!

To harbour Talipans and Afghanistaneses into the Country,
    To fight US and All other countries who are against them!!

We must unite All the WORLD globally,
    To bury ALL the Islamic Terrorists ALIVE!!

70. #70 by simon041155 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 3:10 am

Actually Najis has no stand. He follows the wind. Wind blow east, he talk east, wind blow west, he talk west.