Arrest and prosecute Hishammuddin for his provocative press conference statement defending the cowhead sacrilege

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday reminded Muslims to avoid condemning or insulting other religions and the followers in their actions, but instead follow true Islamic teachings by respecting other religions.

Najib should first direct this advice and reminder to Umno Ministers and leaders at all levels as they have proved to be the greatest threats to inter-religious goodwill, harmony and understanding particularly in the five months of Najib’s premiership.

To set a good example that the Najib administration does not condone or countenance Umno Ministers or leaders setting the bad example of offending other religions and their followers, the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein should be arrested and prosecuted for his provocative press conference defending the cowhead sacrilege on 28th August which marred the 52nd National Day celebrations three days later.

The Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) has directed independent news portal Malaysiakini to remove the video footages of Hishammuddin’s media conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege for being “provocative” which contain “offensive contents with the intent to annoy any person especially Indians” and liable to offences under Section 211/233 of the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998 with a penalty on conviction to a fine up to RM50,000 or a jail sentence.

The other video footage MCMC wanted Malaysiakini to remove was on the cow-head demonstration and sacrilege in Section 23 of Shah Alam.

If a video footage carrying Hishammuddin’s media conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege is liable to a criminal offence for being provocative and offensive to other religions, isn’t Hishammuddin even more guilty of such an offence and before any action is contemplated against Malaysiakini, action should have been taken against Hishamuddin first?

Would Hishammuddin be arrested and prosecuted for his utter insensitivity in defending and justifying the cow-head demonstration and sacrilege before any other action is contemplated against the media for reporting Hishammuddin’s press conference?

The Attorney-General Tan Sri Gani Patail has ordered the police to investigate further into the cow-head sacrilege. Will the police extend such an investigation to include Hishammuddin’s offensive and insensitive press conference?

Although Hishammuddin later backtracked from his press conference stance defending the Shah Alam protestors, his subsequent statement that the police should proceed with investigations and to bring to court those who brought the severed cow-head in the protest, Hishammuddin’s change of stance is only relevant as a plea for mitigation and cannot be a defence to the offence for which MCMC is acting against Malaysiakini.

If Hishammuddin has committed an offence, would the Attorney-General decide whether the Home Minister should be prosecuted and would the police arrest the Home Minister, especially as the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan has just got another renewal as IGP for another year on Hishammuddin’s recommendation despite strong and the most legitimate grounds of opposition?

Malaysians and the world are shaking their heads in disbelief at the depth that institutional good governance has sunk to with the country reaching the lowest level of public confidence in the independence, professionalism and integrity of the key national institutions in the country.

The MCMC warning to Malaysiakini to remove the two provocative videos, one on the offensive and insensitive cow-head protest and sacrilege and the other on Hishamuddin’s press conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege, remind Malaysians of the previous outrage when Sin Chew reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was detained under the Internal Security Act in September 2008 for reporting the offensive and provocative speech of Umno Bukit Bendera division chairman Ahmad Ismail on the Chinese in Malaysia as “penumpang” while Ahmad Ismail got away completely scot-free for his offensive and provocative remarks!

Is Malaysia changing for the better or getting worse?

1. #1 by mendela on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 11:40 am

Beer loving airhead-Hisham not only needs to be arrested and jailed, he needs to be caned too@

2. #2 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 11:46 am

“The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday reminded Muslims to avoid condemning or insulting other religions and the followers in their actions, but instead follow true Islamic teachings by respecting other religions.”

Najib is good at saying the right things.

3. #4 by kevinc66 on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 12:13 pm

hey, umno goons can do anything they want, isn’t if? You think the 50odds people who demostrated will be prosecute, you are wrong, bro. Nothing is going to happens.

Just look what happens at candlelight vigil, police on alert and ready to arrest even small children and families.

4. #5 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 12:49 pm

“The Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) has directed independent news portal Malaysiakini to remove the video footages of Hishammuddin’s media conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege for being “provocative” which contain “offensive contents with the intent to annoy any person especially Indians” and liable to offences under Section 211/233 of the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998 with a penalty on conviction to a fine up to RM50,000 or a jail sentence.”

Hahaha, another case similar to Tan Hoon Cheng. Another kentut busuk UMNO yang memengsankan, LOL.

5. #6 by Joshua on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 1:06 pm

Most of the past cabinet and the present one should be in jail or house arrest for the profligacy of RM30 trillions as per my 30 Police Reports.

so this is comparative nothing…

pw: package employed

6. #7 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 1:22 pm

testing

7. #8 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 1:42 pm

Is the principle of precedent still used in this country?

8. #9 by gofortruth on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 2:47 pm

Hisham is such a shame to the country!

Uncle Lim
    Who & why stir up such ‘big’ dust ? Now the whole thing is jammed at IGP’s feet who has just declared more time is needed for investigation. Or is it a preplanned divertion tactic so that UMNO can sheepishly go after “possible” frogs from Selangor’s PR????

9. #10 by pwcheng on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 3:12 pm

UMNO is hanging on for dear life. They seems lost in what they are saying and doing. They just wanted the Malay votes so badly that the country can go to the dogs.
    As a responsible citizen we cannot allow such irresponsible government to run the country anymore. Hope all non Malays and right thinking Malays will stand up against such evil forces. First the keris and now the cow-head, next cow shit must fly on his face.

10. #11 by Loh on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 3:26 pm

///The Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) has directed independent news portal Malaysiakini to remove the video footages of Hishammuddin’s media conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege for being “provocative” which contain “offensive contents with the intent to annoy any person especially Indians” and liable to offences under Section 211/233 of the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998 with a penalty on conviction to a fine up to RM50,000 or a jail sentence.///—Kit

The video footages of Hishammuddin’s media conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege for being “provocative” serves only as an evidence of what had been said by Hishammuddin. If that footage contains “offensive contents with the intent to annoy any person especially Indians” and liable to offences under Section 211/233 of the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998 with a penalty on conviction to a fine up to RM50,000 or a jail sentence, then the persons whose actions were recorded should be charged accordingly. MCMC directive would be meaningful if Hishammuddin had already been charged for the offence, and that it disallow a repetitive show of the offensive video footage. Since Hishammuddin had not been charged, then showing a non-offensive video footage cannot be offensive.

Now that MCMC had decided that Hishammuddin had committed the offence, the Police and the AG chamber would be committing malfeasance if they did not take action. It is bad enough if they pretended that Hishammuddin did not do anything wrong. It is worse when they were sure that Hishammuddin had committed an offence, and yet they choose to demonstrate that the practices double standards.

If IGP considers that Hishammuddin who recommend his extension cannot be prosecuted, then he is not fit to be IGP, since whoever committed an offence has to be answerable, and that includes the royalties on their personal capacity.

Najib is unlucky to have such a cousin who is waiting to take over. He should remove the keris-man sooner than he became a larger liability.

11. #12 by pwcheng on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 3:53 pm

The rhetoric of “nobody is above the law” is chagrin to Malaysians. Obviously that never happens here, to the bolehland of Malaysia.

12. #13 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 3:54 pm

the guilty one is not the clip but who were in the clip.

when there is a murder, do we hang the killer or we hang the knife? this is a question Kerisy found too hard to answer perhaps.

why need to hide the clip.

berani kerana benar, takut keran salah. baling batu sembunyi tangan izzit?

do some more nonsense and let’ see what happen.

sometimes i wonder for all the fair, intelligent, compassionate and wonderful speeches bandied by Badawi then Najib…and look at the Keris, the cow, the body snatching, the ISA arrest, the candles, the power grabs and other aiyas and alamaks….

some people are living in parallel universe as we speak.

it is also insulting to muslim to suggest they bristle at the sight of other place or worship other than their own

13. #14 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 3:55 pm

Evidence is illegal now?

14. #15 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 4:29 pm

LKS,

Arrest and prosecute Hishamuddin? And who is going to do that? Have you forgotten Hishamuddin just only extended the IGP’s contract?

15. #16 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 4:52 pm

Bagan Pinang has 20% Hindu voters. The videos should help them decide who to vote for in the coming by-election.

16. #17 by somaris on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 5:15 pm

WHAT A SHAME TO ALL MALAYSIAN.
    WHERE IS MIC ? LOOK AT UR UMNO BN PEOPLE. WE ARE IN 2009 . STILL WE HAVE THIS TYPE OF PEOPLE SO BACKWARD.PKR BE VERY CAREFUL. UMNO MONKEY ARE TRYING TO TAKE SELANGOR LIKE PERAK.IM NOT A POLITICK PERSON AND I CAN SAY THAT. SO GO ALL OUT TO THE PEOPLE TELL THEM SHOW THEM THE VIDEO. ALL MALAYSIAN PEOPLE VOTE FOR PKR.DAP.PAS.WE NEED TO CHANGE. GOD BLESS ALL OF US.

17. #18 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 5:26 pm

Taxidriver :LKS,
    Arrest and prosecute Hishamuddin? And who is going to do that? Have you forgotten Hishamuddin just only extended the IGP’s contract?

Lots of truth in this! Are we living in a lawless and “institution-less” country now? Seriously, if you drink a can of beer that you are not supposed to, you may get a few lashes. If you steal a bottle of milk to feed your baby you may be sent to jail. Other than that, it is ok to do anything – stealing billions, inciting and indulging in sedition, squandering public funds, destabilizing and robbing duly elected state governments, practicing blatant biasness and discrimination, exercising utter arbitrariness in every facet of our public and civil administration. All these are lesser evils, but don’t you ever get caught drinking a can of beer that you are not supposed to. Do we get it now? Do we know by now we have got our priorities all messed up? All ultras must read this novel – A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. If they don’t understand English, ask our resident English master Jaswant ball and his ardent disciple monster ball to translate it for them. The ball people are good in English.

18. #19 by peter sng on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 5:41 pm

No one is ABOVE the Law including the Home Minister.
    MCMC is sinister in asking Msiakini to remove the 2 offending videos. Don’t worry just remove it but it still can be ACCESS via Youtube;so how?

19. #20 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 6:54 pm

The MCMC is just like the MACC, only following the agenda of the BN – it surely signals the descent of Malaysia into the “failed nation” status like Zimbabwe.
    The only way to arrest the decline is to change the government just like the Japanese have done.
    ALLAH help us all.

20. #21 by Better Malaysia on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 7:01 pm

Hshamudiin deserved to be lock up for his statement. But we all know too well it will never happened until we have a change of Government.

But it is good that Uncle KIt jeep on reminding and defending the right of every citizen

21. #22 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 8:33 pm

What is the issue with postal voters? Do public sector workers have their registrations automatically transferred to where they’re stationed? Or do they have nominal ‘home towns’ like everyone else?

22. #23 by Loh on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 8:54 pm

Sorry, off-topic
    From chedet.co.cc
    DASAR EKONOMI BARU
    By
    Dr. Mahathir Mohamad
    on September 5, 2009 2:30 PM | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

According to TDM millions of Malays have benefited from NEP, and NEP must had achieved its objective in the following two areas:

(1) to alleviate poverty irrespective of races

In Mahathir’s own words; Quote 5. Semasa DEB dilancar kemiskinan dalam Negara adalah lebih daripada 40 peratus. Hari ini kemiskinan telah turun pada lima peratus. Matlamat pertama jelas telah tercapai. Majority daripada yang miskin adalah Melayu dan Bumiputera lain. Unquote

So, the poverty rate in 1970 at 40% has come down to 5 %. The objective has been achieved.

(2) Menghapuskan identifikasi kaum dengan fungsi ekonomi (to remove linkage between race and economic functions.

According to TDM, item 2 has also been achieved, as explained by him in his own words:
    6. Bagi matlamat kedua, kejayaan yang terbesar DEB ialah dalam bidang pelajaran. Ramai Bumiputera telah mendapat peluang dalam bidang-bidang profesional sehingga dalam bidang perubatan daripada hanya 8-10 peratus sahaja doktor perubatan yang terdiri daripada Melayu dan Bumiputera, sekarang bahagian mereka berjumlah 40 peratus. Ramai yang menjadi pakar.

7. Demikian juga dalam profesyen lain, pensyarah dan profesor dalam universiti.

8. Jumlah mereka beratus ribu. Apakah mereka yang mendapat pelajaran sehingga ke universiti semuanya daripada keluarga yang kaya yang ada hubungan dengan pemimpin Kerajaan? Apakah mereka mampu mendapat pelajaran ini tanpa DEB? Apakah bagi mereka ini DEB tidak berguna?

Unquote

Since both the objectives have already been achieved under NEP, and NEP was supposed to be for 20 years until 1990, why did TDM not end NEP then?

Malays themselves are calling for an end to NEP for good reasons such as NEP goes against the teaching of Islam which considers men are created equal, and discrimination is not allowed by the religion. That discrimination might be tolerated for a period of twenty years to achieve certain objectives, and the leaders then might have sought pardon from Allah for deviating from its teaching. Now that the objectives have been achieved, practices against the teaching of Islam should cease. The Malays considered that it does more harm to the community, for them to lead a sheltered life under NEP . They will have to be confined to the shores of Malaysia rather than to be prepared for real challenge anywhere in the world. The Malays also realise that the cronies of the powers-that-be were milking the lion shares of the national resources through NEP, and the ill effects of NEP resulting in en mass migration of former Malaysians are making the country less competitive. Malays are made to feel that they are obliged to the powers in UMNO and that they are considered that their position in life are the results of UMNO NEP policies rather than the efforts they put in. Those who care about righteousness and who feel obligated to honour the promises made by Malay leaders including Tun Razak which said that NEP was for 20years from 1970 to 1990 wants NEP ended so that Malaysia will once again live up to the expectation of early UMNO leaders like Tunku, Tun Ismail and Tun Razak, with a hiatus of 20 years from until 1990.

Mahathir remarks Quote: 21. Apakah kerana penyelewengan yang sedikit ini kita harus tolak DEB? Kata Mat Salleh, “Do you throw out the baby with the water in the wash basin?” Unquote; shows that he would have NEP continued forever. He said as PM that there were still Malay drivers working for Chinese employers and hence NEP had not achieved its objective. Now he blatantly wants NEP to continue and he refute the call by others to have NEP ended by either blaming them for being ungrateful, or for being stupid.

The Malays who see through Mahathir’s claim about NEP are wise to think about issues and the reasons why they are born to this world. They are determined to contribute to the society, and to catch up with social development in the world which accepts that people anywhere in the world are given unrestricted opportunities to achieve their capability to seek happiness.

Only sadist Mahathir wants to see non-Malays suffer, and he tries to be Malay champion though he only marginally qualifies under the grace of article 160. For whatever weakness AAB exhibited as PM, he was at least sincere in trying to be a PM for all Malaysians until Mahathir faulted him for not doing enough for Malays. Yet today he could list all those benefits Malays have enjoyed beyond the period sanctioned officially by Tun Razak. Longevity is normally good, until it favours people who are set to create trouble for the country.

23. #24 by boh-liao on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 9:35 pm

Did MCMC order Utusan Malaysia to retract race toxic articles that are seditious?

24. #25 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 9:39 pm

Loh, I think this is not the first time you are doing this. Why must you constantly quoting him and then provide your comments here. If you want to comment, please do so in his blog. If what you commented on is not published in his blog, it only goes shows the tribal mentality in him. Please, we are no longer interested in him. What is the difference, they all work in tandem although it would appear they have open disagreement. The essence is Malay-Islamic centric Malaysia. Any other stuff is just an add-on.

25. #26 by Jaswant on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 9:58 pm

One thing we do know is that had it not been for the NEP there wouldn’t be Kamput b. Abdullah. He wouldn’t have had a chance to attend an ‘Ivy League’ university in the U.S. He wouldn’t have served the UMNO government for more than twenty years and got his ‘bintang’ from the Agong i.e. bintang for long service.

What would this blog be without him? What would LKS do without him?

26. #27 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 10:02 pm

thanks jawant ball, did you read post # 17 above. You should, that will make your day.

27. #28 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 10:12 pm

Now some of those holding hold a candlelight vigil protesting last week’s cow-head demonstration by Section 23 residents in Shah Alam have been arrested. But for the cow head demonstrators who started the whole chain of events, they are still under “investigation”.

Those cow head demonstrators were not arrested that day because the police officer on the ground was too junior and the situation was too volatile. But the candlelight vigil is a different matter. The police has a very experienced officer on the ground and the situation was “calm” and that is why some of those got arrested. Oxymoron nation, oxymoron people.

28. #29 by Jaswant on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 10:14 pm

It is OK to use expletives now that you’ve broken your fast.

29. #30 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 10:22 pm

Jaswant :It is OK to use expletives now that you’ve broken your fast.

Tomorrow is sunday, i suggest you press pants now to get ready to go church tomorrow. Frankly, i can’t stand another write up, “hey, i am in the hurry, pressing my pants now to go church”.

30. #31 by fed-up on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 12:15 am

Man, I didn’t know that candle light and black t shirt are more provoking than a cow’s head. This goes to show that they are supporting and encouraging this sort of stupidity. Real cows!

31. #32 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 12:37 am

fed-up says: Real cows!
    Neither you nor the surprisingly wealthy dentist can suggest a cow is stupid: ‘sensitive issue’, remember?

Perhaps you can cast aspersions on their intelligence by comparing them to sheep, and hope that there are very few Welsh- or New Zealander- Malaysians. Or maybe it’s not offensive to the Welsh or to New Zealanders to say that a sheep is stupid, but only if you say it is unattractive, or if you say the ones with black legs don’t really look like they’re wearing stockings. In fact, it’s probably best to ask advice from someone else – I’m not very good with ‘sensitive issues’.

So the cow head is the major issue here, is it? Someone should be charged with something for insulting cows, but not because he threatened bloodshed? Malaysia is full of surprises!

What is PR’s standpoint on prosecuting ‘sacrilege’ anyway? Does Malaysia have some law other than the ISA under which sacrilege can be prosecuted, or are you going to need the ISA for stuff like this?

32. #33 by Jaswant on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 1:16 am

How come they don’t object to Malays saying to one of their own, “Kamput, you got otak lembu”?

33. #34 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 2:53 am

Jaswant :How come they don’t object to Malays saying to one of their own, “Kamput, you got otak lembu”?

Lembu is an intelligent animal, certainly more intelligent and less hypocritical than Jaswant ball @ undergrad2

34. #35 by ekompute on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 6:37 am

“Arrest and prosecute Hishammuddin for his provocative press conference statement defending the cowhead sacrilege.”

Now do I hear Hishammuddin saying: “Did you say arrest me? Don’t make my toe laugh, okay. We are above the law. We created the laws for you to follow, NOT for us to comply. If you want to arrest me, wait until after the next general election… that is provided you win, kekekeke.”

35. #36 by yhsiew on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 6:39 am

as they have proved to be the greatest threats to inter-religious goodwill, harmony and understanding particularly in the five months of Najib’s premiership…..(Kit)
    =============================================

Hishammuddin dissented from Najib’s view is a sign that Najib’s team is facing an internal struggle for power.

36. #37 by js on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 6:47 am

Awaiting for GE13 to come and teach them a lesson. We really cannot “tahan” liao the way they manage this country.

37. #38 by yhsiew on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 6:54 am

The MCMC warning to Malaysiakini to remove the two provocative videos, one on the offensive and insensitive cow-head protest and sacrilege and the other on Hishamuddin’s press conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege….(Kit)
    =============================================

Malaysiakini has done nothing wrong, they are just doing the job of a faithful reporter, why must they remove the videos?

Does it mean that in a democracy any “ugly” news associated with the regime in power must not be allowed to publish?

MCMC should stop siding with the government or else people will lose confidence in them.

38. #39 by ekompute on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 6:56 am

“The Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) has directed independent news portal Malaysiakini to remove the video footages of Hishammuddin’s media conference defending and justifying the cow-head sacrilege for being “provocative” which contain “offensive contents with the intent to annoy any person especially Indians” and liable to offences under Section 211/233 of the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998 with a penalty on conviction to a fine up to RM50,000 or a jail sentence.”

In essence, what MCMC is saying is that the Home Minister has made “provocative” statements that contain “offensive contents with the intent to annoy any person especially Indians”.

Is this a case of pointing at the chicken and scolding the duck? If Hishammuddin has any sense of justice at all, he should know what to do next. Arrest the head of MCAC and put him under ISA, LOL.

39. #40 by ekompute on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 6:56 am

Sorry, MCMC, not MCAC

40. #41 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 7:32 am

MCMC and MACC are birds of the same feather with BN’s plumage.

MCMC = Mad Cowards Milking Chaos
    MACC = Murdering Actions Covertly Commissioned

41. #42 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 7:47 am

How can Najib order the arrest of his cousin?

How can IGP Musa arrest his boss, Kerismuddin, who just extended his contract?

How can AG prosecute Keris-guy and risk the sack from Najib?

No way. No hope. This is UMNO Malaysia!

42. #43 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 7:54 am

What is CAT (clear, apparent and transparent) is that:

1) “1Malaysia” – a hollow gong, a sounding slogan
    2)UMNO – a harbour for extremists and racists.
    3)AG-IGP-MACC – holy-cow! An unholy trinity.

43. #44 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 9:34 am

All can argue and reason till the cows come home of the irrationality of MCMC’s warning to Malaysiakini or Hishamuddin’s press defence of the cow-head sacrilege but the bottom line is rationality, principles of right and wrong or fairness or the principle that no one is above the law don’t count when it comes to the “sensitivities” of certain issues prioratised above reason, law and justice……

It is not just UMNO’s Hishamuddin defending or retracting his defence of cow-head sacrilege.

Look at our Opposition PR – YB Kit of DAP & NGOs or other public commentators of all races may rage, reason and question but at political level, no one of any standing in other coalition partners – PKR or PAS – made any significant public objection regarding the cow-head sacrilege.

Indeed according to media reports (including Malaysiakini’s) , PKR Selangor Menteri Besar PKR Abdul Khalid Ibrahim had decided to shelve the temple relocation plan in Shah Alam following fierce objections from Section 23 residents at a two-hour public dialogue on 5th September.

What is signalled is that one can call the 50 cow head protesters mobsters but the mobsters would at the end of the day
    win and eventually have and get their way AND are appeased as long as they campaign on these issues.

The past has shown this.

One recalls in the last occasion when Bar Council held Article 11 forum (allowed by police) in a hotel, mobsters demonstrated outside and stopped the forum. The police came in and advised organisers to stop their forum in the name of preserving the peace by appeasing the demands of the mobsters and demonstrators.

So will the future.

Future mobsters have found a full proof way/formula to perpetrate whatever outrageous actions and demands and yet get their demands heard if not met.

Mobsters will win and get appeased for so long as they carry out their demands under the masquerade of race and faith issues –

They don’t win because they are mobsters: they win because of these issues being vested sacrosanctity of holy cows above all other imperatives, whether reason or law!

True Sacrilege is where the real cow head was severed, stomped and spat upon but here it is a greater sacrilege to question or go against to the metaphorical holy cows…

Kit asks “Is Malaysia changing for the better or getting worse?”

When reason and law can take back seat, I think the answer is obvious.

44. #45 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 9:47 am

When in denigration of reason fairness and law not only the government of the day – but also the Opposition in waiting, notwithstanding the rhetorics – appease and give in, by deeds as opposed to words, to racial and religious bigotry, the road the country is taking is clear. It is to a lower not higher ground, no matter whether there is a change of government or not!

45. #46 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 10:58 am

Cane the admin!

Hope you manage to fix that soon.

46. #47 by Jaswant on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:08 am

Malaysians will have to decide whether they want to worship the cows or eat them.

In parts of India as we speak there are some who choose to kill those who eat the cow. At least they know what they want to do.

47. #48 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:09 am

Sorry, correction, the word “mobsters” in my posting #44 September 6th, 2009 09:34 above is wrong, and intended to be reference to the word “mob”.

48. #49 by Jaswant on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:15 am

49. #50 by Jaswant on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:18 am

50. #51 by good coolie on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:33 am

Malaysians, especially our Hindus, will be offended by the video, so its time to remove it. Having said this, an apology is due from the bull- headed demonstrators. And of course, from the Minister – for his silliness.

Relax, my dear friends. ‘Tis the season of much folly. Sacrilege is in the air! Remember the desecration of the sacred bread of Catholic Christians? But, luckily, the ones trying to incite racial riots are failing miserably.

51. #52 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:39 am

This whole things smells of UMNO plot to remake a May 13, 1969 to topple Khalid Ibrahim, PR in Selangor and hence the opposition.

Its all a ruse.. same idea behind Kampung Buah Pala.. Both PR and residents of in Shah Alam should look at what happened to Kampung Buah Pala and ask themselves if they want to end up victims like KBP…

52. #53 by Jaswant on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:47 am

It is hard for those with otak lembu to understand that it is all a set up.

53. #54 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 12:39 pm

And he accused me..and agent to upset LKS blog.
    A Gerakan blog owner accused me as PR agent to upset his blog.
    When they cannot defend themselves…this is the art they use.

54. #55 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 12:55 pm

The next buy election will be held soon
    There are now so many Umno-bodoh and BN-bodoh incidents
    to be compiled for the voters to judge n vote wisely
    The entire nation has been held captive by the BN captor
    R@ped n abused again n again by the corrupt captor
    Yet lots of voters kept voting for the BN
    Were they displaying the Stockholm Syndrome?
    It’s time to break this unhealthy syndrome
    Educate the voters the evil deeds of the racist n corrupt Umno

55. #56 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 1:41 pm

boh-liao says: Yet lots of voters kept voting for the BN
    Like it or not, the 3 PR component parties have baggage of their own that thwarts their own ‘reform movement’.

Given the dismal numbers who are prepared to turn out for ‘pro-racist, pro-authoritarian, pro-corrupt’ demonstrations, PR should be asking themselves why they’re still winning by small margins.

Where, in The Malaysian Insider news article:
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/36991-anwar-gung-ho-on-bagan-pinang
    …is the message in:

“I will separate from the DAP,” [Anwar] vowed to the large number of serban-wearing Muslim men seated in the audience, should the secular party dispute the position of Bahasa Melayu, the powers of the Malay rulers, the rights of Malays and their religion

…to Malaysians who wish to have a progressive Malaysia based on equality and rule of federal law, but who also don’t see an archetypal DAP supporter when they look in the mirror?

Why would a Malaysian waste time voting for a PR that’s just going to be BN again, when they can just keep BN? It’s well past time PR sorts out its presentation as ‘just like BN… only better!’ and offers a distinctive political ‘product’. I can’t help thinking consumers won’t easily switch their allegiance for new packaging on the same old thing.

56. #57 by ktteokt on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 2:08 pm

This won’t happen as UMNO is the legislator, executive and judiciary in MALAYSIA!

57. #58 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 5:52 pm

Re coment #6 of OrangRojak, Anwar speaks in different tonques to different audiences : to a majority non malay/muslim audience PR’s platform is social justice and equality for all Malaysians irrespective of creed religion and race but to a serban wearing audience that platform is subject to the caveat of the pre-eminent position of Bahasa Melayu, the powers of the Malay rulers, the rights of Malays and their religion so that he will even “separate” from “secular” DAP if it disputes that caveat.

//Why would a Malaysian waste time voting for a PR that’s just going to be BN again, when they can just keep BN?// – OrangRojak

Many a Malaysian view the BN as beyond hope, and PR well at least it could give hope, even if likely false hope. Otherwise it is no hope. And people will always embrace hope against the imperatives of reason or logic. That is why politics – the art of deceiving people – is such a thriving profession.

58. #59 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 8:35 pm

Thanks for the reply Jeffrey – I think perhaps I phrased the question wrong. Eyes-shut wishful thinking is undoubtedly the source of many PR votes, I keep wondering what can be done about those who persist in voting BN. The by-elections to date have been mostly ‘no change’ haven’t they? That doesn’t bode as well as it could for the next general election.

A win in Bagan Pinang for PR would be immense, but I suspect monsterball’s sensitivity to probable outcome is as good as anybody else’s, and the result will be similar to that of 18 months ago. With a third of the period between GEs gone, I’d be happier if there was a clearer sign that there is ongoing change in the attitude of voters.

59. #60 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 8:44 pm

“I think perhaps I phrased the question wrong”.

On the contrary I think you asked the most pertinent question.

60. #61 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 9:21 pm

//A win in Bagan Pinang for PR would be immense, but I suspect monsterball’s sensitivity to probable outcome is as good as anybody else’s, and the result will be similar to that of 18 months ago. With a third of the period between GEs gone, I’d be happier if there was a clearer sign that there is ongoing change in the attitude of voters.// orang rojak

I don’t know, this is like one moron trying to support another moron. Please, for goodness sake, don’t start planting doubts for no good reason. I am willing to wager with you that PR will increase the number of votes if not win the by election. Any taker?

Monsterball is no forecaster. He is a loose cannon ball shooting all day at the kopitiam.

61. #62 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 9:29 pm

A win in Bagan Pinang for PR would be immense, but I suspect monsterball’s sensitivity to probable outcome is as good as anybody else’s, and the result will be similar to that of 18 months ago.” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    I guess the poll result in Bagan Pinang this time will not be the same as that of 308 election held in March 2008. The reasons are simple:
    1) During March 2008, the price of Crude Palm Oil (CPO) reached the all-time peak at RM4,200 per metric tonne but CPO Price now fluctuates only around RM2,400 per metric tonne! Surely, the oil palm land owners in Bagan Pinang were much happier in March 2008 than now!
    2) There was never ever a happening of “Severed Cow Head Protest” being known by anybody in Malaysia before September 2009. The recent “Severed Cow Head Protest” will make many people who want to shun evil to avoid having association with the seemed-to-be-barbaric Umnoputras! In other words, they won’t vote for Umno candidate this round!
    3) The mysterious sudden death of Teoh Beng Hock will discourage any man of good conscience from doing anything which is deemed to have any association with Umnoputras. All men of good conscience will not vote for Umno candidate this round!
    4) Pakatan Rakyat Supporters should remember to bring along flash light while waiting for the completion of vote count at the election centre on the by-election day. This will surely help to prevent smuggling in of a mysterious ballot box by Umnoputras when a sudden power outage is to happen in Bagan Pinang during the nighttime!

62. #63 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 10:04 pm

If Kerismuddin has any sense, he would admit he erred in his statement with the Cow-head protestors & say that what he did and say was wrong and that now the right thing to do is to arrest the cow-heads aprotestors and charge them for sedition!

That would mean a small losss of face for Keris-guy but it would be a big step in his honour, honesty, and integrity.

Face it , keris – what u did was captured on tape. Soi lek admitted his tape and his sex scandal. He survived – almost!. Admit that you were ‘incoreect. Incorrect. Incorrect!” And let najib redeem you.

Still, I dont hope u become the dpm & hope yr cousin Najib’s pmship will be shortlived as well.

63. #64 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 11:30 pm

Expecting the keris cow chap 2 admit his mistake is like
    expecting the C4 guy 2 admit ordering AS 2 b blown 2 piece
    Bun bun tan lah

64. #65 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 7 September 2009 - 4:48 am

Jaswant….Just read and note how desperate he wants attentions.
    Must be very lonely man.

65. #66 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Monday, 7 September 2009 - 2:36 pm

Umno-BN is the root cause of disunity among different races of Malaysia.The only way to eliminate this scourge is to vote for PR in the next general election.

BN leaders are not only enjoying legal immunity , they can also decide who they want to investigate and charge in court.

Charge HMuddin in court, dream on!