Date: 25 July 2007 (Wed)
Time: 7.30pm
Venue:KL & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall

Speakers:

Ambiga Sreenevasan, Bar Council President;

Malik Imtiaz Sarwar, HAKAM President;

Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, PKR Secretary-General;

Lim Guan Eng, DAP Secretary-General;

Lim Kit Siang, Parliamentary Opposition Leader.

Enquiries, call 03-79578022 (Lau Weng San)

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 5:31 pm

After the warning to the media by a small time, low level government functionary, I just wonder whether you have already got a permit to hold this gathering? If so, I would like to come back and attend.

And make doubly sure there will be no spoilsports a la APCET II.

2. #2 by pwcheng on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 7:24 pm

They are obviously exploiting Islam to the maximum for political mileage. This guy is trying to depict TDM’s stunt because it has proven successful and election is near. I do not see any Islamic virtues in them for all the sins they have committed; Corruption, Cheating, Discrimination, Abetment to gambling and a host of UnIslamic activities. “Hypocrites” is the best word to describe them.

3. #3 by Jamesy on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 7:43 pm

“Saya juga sanggup berdebat dengan sesiapa juga yang terus-terusan mengatakan Malaysia adalah sebuah negara sekular. Bagi saya, Malaysia negara Islam,” katanya.

I think someone in DAP should be accepting a challenge by KJ.

4. #4 by smeagroo on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 7:49 pm

Hey Umnaaaah!!! Apart from this “Islamic State” any other surprises before GE? HOw abt can marry 10?

5. #5 by wtf2 on Sunday, 22 July 2007 - 7:52 pm

During this 50th National Day – concerned citizens should observe a moment of silence as a respect for the demise of democracy, equality amongst Citizens of Malaysia and the ideals that were borne during Tunku’s days.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 4:29 am

Islamic state, Malay state etc. The only state that matters is the economic state. So stop splitting hairs or you’ll be like Samy Bulu with his toupee!

7. #7 by Chong Zhemin on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 10:03 am

Uncle Kit,

To be honest, I am slightly disappointed looking at the panel speakers invited. Need not say, it will definitely be a 5-0 “verdict” that Malaysia is a secular state. DAP should have invited speakers with opposing views, perhaps someone from ABIM or some public university lecturers especially Prof Dr Abdul Aziz Bari or Prof Dr Shad Saleem Faruqi and also maybe someone from BN!

8. #8 by k1980 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 10:39 am

http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/

“Former Prime Minister Tun Hussein Onn has supported Tunku Abdul Rahman’s view that Malaysia should NOT be turned into an Islamic state… ‘The nation can still be functional as a SECULAR state with Islam as the offical religion,’ he said.”

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 2:35 pm

Does Najib want this in Bolehland?
    http://time-blog.com/middle_east/2007/07/saudi_arabias_men_of_virtue.html
    …abducting women who are deemed to be showing too much skin from beneath their full-length black abaya gowns in public. Such women will then disappear for hours or even days to a commission office for interrogation. If you are unlucky enough to be the male driver of a woman accused of exhibiting loose morals–women, you’ll remember, are forbidden from driving in Saudi Arabia– you may get beat up in the course of the woman’s arrest.

10. #10 by Utopia on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 7:48 pm

Yah, invite Khairy to the forum… Accept his challenge for a debate. I scared he’ll just run away and hide in a coconut shell!

11. #11 by Jong on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 9:29 pm

What about inviting the Mufti of Perak? We can knead him there.

12. #12 by k1980 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 10:55 am

Me wanna be a martyr and go to heaven too
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/07/23/news/islam.php
    “In heaven you get everything without hardship,” said Sarfraz, daughter of a bus driver. “In heaven, if a martyr feels hungry, food appears, the best quality food, and you won’t even know where it came from.”….Practicing purdah, they said, would hasten their ascent to heaven. “This life is temporary”

13. #13 by zioburosky13 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 4:47 pm

It has been shown in the history, religion can be used as a tool to achieve personal gain.
    So far, the current weapon of choice is Islam.

14. #14 by izrafeil on Saturday, 28 July 2007 - 9:51 am

WE ARE TRULY More advanced than Pakistan and Afghanistan in MORAL POLICING….. WE ARE heading towards TALIBANISATION in Warp Speed………….

Nation
    Saturday July 28, 2007

Love-making teens flee in the nude

A GROUP of teenage couples fled naked when caught making love in their cars by several state religious department officers, Harian Metro reported.

It was reported that the teenagers sped away without putting on their clothes when the officials knocked on their cars.

“Most of them did not realise we were approaching until we knocked on their cars,” said a source from the Selangor Religious Department.

“Some of them were brave enough to even ram the officers’ car and use foul language during the escape,” he added.

He said it was believed they drove a few kilometres before stopping to put on their clothes.

However, some of the couples were caught by the officers, he said.

“Their act is a serious offence,” he added.

Those caught were taken to the religious department for action and counselling.

15. #15 by AhPek on Monday, 30 July 2007 - 8:48 am

Inandty says ” Urging all Chinese voters not to support any Malay candidate in the next General Election, only support Chinese candidates (no matter it is MCA,DAPorPKR).
    Inandty,do you know what you are talking about in the first place? A vote for MCA, a vote for MIC,a vote for Gerakan, a vote for PPP or for that matter a vote for any component party of BN is a vote for NEP, a vote for islamic state, a vote for ketuanan Melayu a vote for BN and for BN boss,UMNO.I am completely disappointed that up to this stage of Malaysian history you still have the mindset that voting for MCA means voting for Chinese rights as Malaysian citizen.It beats me that you do not have any understanding of what is going on in this country. Get it straight now–Mca candidates for election first and foremost are there for their self interest.All of them are there to pick up the crumbs thrown from the UMNO table.
    There are plenty of non Malays like you in this country who are blissfully unaware of what is their best interest. No wonder when the DAP declared that they are going to join forces with PAS in the last 2 elections the result is that both Lim Kit Siang and Karpal Singth got booted out by the Penang Chinese.They were beaten so badly thatit has stuck in their heads never to join forces with PAS again which to me is a great mistake.My understanding of the political siyuation in this country is that to face BN the opposition must fight them as one united opposition front.But the Chinese community for some reason fear PAS more than they fear UMNO.Between the 2 evils, let’s face it PAS is the lesser one.UMNO has immence power( remember the saying ‘power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely),immence influence and finance.PAS has none of these and so they are less dangerous.

16. #16 by akarmalaysian on Friday, 24 August 2007 - 1:43 am

its just simple as saying…”if you dont like Malaysia as a secular state…YOU GET OUT!”

17. #17 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 10:32 am

It’s LP & PL. When they need non-Malay votes, Malaysia is secular! When they need Malay votes, then Malaysia is Islamic! They get the best of both worlds.

If Malaysia is Islamic, then throw out all the non-halal cabinet ministers and MPs from BN. They have not been circumcised, they are not halal, they still eat PORK!!!!!!