Malay keris – Hishmmuddin does not know he was subtly criticised by CYCL 1st Sec Hu Chunhua

During the debate on the Environmental Quality Act Amendment Bill this morning, I had raised the episode during the recent visit to China by the Education Minister and UMNO Youth leader, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and his meeting with the First Secretary of the Communist Youth League of China (CYLC), Hu Chunhua, when the issue of Malay keris was raised.

As the BN MP for Ketereh, Datuk Md Alwi Che Ahmad had again raised the issue of the Malay keris, particularly about its cultural significance, I referred to the Sin Chew Daily report of 26th May 2007, on Hishammuddin’s hour-long meeting with Hu in Beijing.

During the discussion, Hishammuddin explained that the Malay keris symbolized leadership and unity, and Hu responded, saying what was important was not the Malay keris but the one who wielded it.

This account of the exchange between Hishammuddin and Hu was given by the MP for Puchong, Lau Yeng Peng, who as Gerakan Youth Education chief, was also present at the meeting in Beijing.

This report was taken by readers as a very subtle and pointed criticism of Hishammuddin by Hu, who had clearly been briefed of the raging and divisive controversy surrounding Hishammuddin’s unsheathing the Malay keris at two recent UMNO Youth general assemblies heedless of the rights and sensitivities of different communities in the country.

However, it is clear from the exchanges in Parliament this morning, Hishammuddin, Lau and the BN Youth leaders and MPs did not realize that Hishammuddin was being subtly criticized by the First Secretary of the Communist Youth League of China, but took it as a compliment.

I am told that Hishammuddin and the BN Youth leaders were very proud of Hu’s remark.

It is shocking that Hishammuddin and the BN Youth leaders and MPs do not realize that although Hu had used very diplomatic language, the Chinese Communist Youth leader was being quite critical of Hishammuddin’s wielding of the Malay keris.

1. #1 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 4:18 pm

I think when any person wanted to talk to bird brains, they shldnt beat ard the bush. They cant read between the lines.

2. #2 by marmitecrab on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 4:20 pm

The “close one eye” syndrome apparently extends to the youth leaders who seems to attend meetings with both eyes closed.

Can’t even call them myopic! Totally blind. But it seems more like a case of self-obsession than ignorance. Are these the kind of leaders we want representing us internationally?

Looks like they can use a lesson or two on diplomatic language before going anywhere in future. And the wielding of the keris should stop also. Every culture have their historic weapons but they certainly don’t have to show it off at every meeting/gathering.

3. #3 by lakshy on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 4:43 pm

[deleted] for brains for an Education Minister. For someone with his brains then Tier 3 is better than Tier 2 because 3 is bigger than 2 mah!

No wonder our education system is in a mess. We have unemployable graduates. We have very weak Engineers! our Medical Masters programes not recognised anywhere in the world.

And still they shout Malaysia Boleh?

4. #4 by anodize222 on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 5:05 pm

not able to understand political speech with foreign ministers…. others criticising in proper manner…. and still don’t understand the actual meaning…..
    the worst is himself is the education minister!
    did he learn the basic knowledge to listen and analyse speech before try to speak and respond?
    so poor knowledge and ability in discussion skills…..

wat else we can say to have this kind of education minister???
    we just can simply call him “bodoh, [deleted], apa pun tak tau, cakap besar pandai, buat tak tau, mau cakap lagi besar, cakap banyak lagi u punya kepala babi lagi besar”

5. #5 by Utopia on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 5:05 pm

Quote:
    Hu responded, saying what was important was not the Malay keris but the one who wielded it.

People with common sense interpret it as:
    No point flashing your keris, if you do not even know how to be a good leader.

Hisham and MCA Doggies:
    The wielder (Hisham) is more important than the keris which symbolizes whatever it symbolizes! ROFL!

Haih… It is just so typical of BN, turns criticism into compliments. And so typical of MCA doggies, they bark when UMNO wants them to. Sell out the Chinese people. Seriously if I know there’s anyone who votes for MCA, I’ll be the first one to strangle them!

6. #6 by Educator on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 5:22 pm

Did they use translators? If so, the “essence” would be lost!

7. #7 by Jong on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 5:44 pm

LOL !!!!! I am so amused!

China’s 1st Secretary of the Communist Youth League Hu Chunhua, sure has such tremendous sense of humor and quick wits that dazzled that nincompoop, Hishammuddin Tun Hussein Onn!

8. #8 by taikohtai on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 5:57 pm

The main issue is not that who is smarter but whether there is a better way to do things, solve problems and attend to future requirements.
    ‘Kris’muddin is no fool but unfortunately, his interests are not in accordance to national unity or progress. BN AND COMPONENTS IS A RACIST PARTY. ‘Kris’muddin is merely an excellent cog in preserving the status quo.
    Malaysia needs more progressive and far-sighted leaders but unfortunately, the katak dibawah tempurung is now so deeply ingrained that I fear it may take decades to reverse such mentality.
    My advice is for all to look beyond your ‘motherland’, for the whole world is your home.

9. #9 by yellowkingdom on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 6:04 pm

China’s 1st Secretary of the Communist Youth League Hu Chunhua applied the fine art of diplomacy, rebuking another and the other receiving it as a compliment. That my friends is the Chinese fine culture of great linguistics skills. Just like slapping one in the face without him realising it. This will teach those obtuse politicians some lesson in the fine art of politics, lies not in shouting and brandishing kerises.

10. #10 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 7:35 pm

How can a minister with pea brain understand diplomatic language?
    This guy has a big mouth and a small brain. What a pity.

11. #11 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 8:50 pm

Making a fool of themselves always, these so called politicains do not understand the political and diplomatic langgauges. Making themselves a laughing stocks in the diplomatic community and international diplomacy.

12. #12 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 8:53 pm

Is that the kind of quality of Ministers and diplomats Malaysia has to present to the world to mock and to despise?

13. #13 by CoolMike on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 9:44 pm

Anyone care to type out in chinese what the Hu was saying?
    I am not master in Chinese, however I could or someone else could offer some comment.

We simply comment here without looking into what Hu has said.

CoolMike

14. #14 by Loh on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 10:25 pm

///I am told that Hishammuddin and the BN Youth leaders were very proud of Hu’s remark.///

Only Hishamuddin and the BN youth leaders knew why they were proud of Hu’s remark. Maybe by know they have realised the intent of Hu’s statement.

Some years ago, MM Lee of Singapore said that Singapore might have to rejoin Malaysia, and the powers-that-be then thought that it was a commendaton of the ‘success of bolehland’ until months later when they realised that true meaning.

15. #15 by democrate on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 10:31 pm

‘During the discussion, Hishammuddin explained that the Malay keris symbolized leadership and unity, and Hu responded, saying what was important was not the Malay keris but the one who wielded it.’………… must be a bloody fool ! I m helping Mr Hu to continue his arts of comments.

16. #16 by Winston on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 10:32 pm

Uncle Lim, how about having our Chinese youths getting military training in China?
    Can it be arranged?

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 10:33 pm

Are you kidding?!

18. #18 by karlmarx8 on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 11:08 pm

Without looking into the Chinese text, we wonder why the two (consider top echelon)leaders raised an issue on the “wielding of the keris” which does not bring any significance…or there is one indeed.

If one thinks Hu does not understand the significance of such weapon, I think that one who explained the symbol of a weapon is insulting the intelligence of the other leader. He is not aware that China has more hand weapons than just one keris! Weapons are symbol of power and Chinese had used it for no less than 5000 years-for Hu to be briefed on such is just too childish of the other. Not intelligent diplomatically!

I just cannot see the keris is a subject of unity. I had no problem to accept the leadership of such-where the followers are holding bamboo! Subject to the representation of unity is towards a common group who opt for aggression, and a common enmity, there is no further explanation the unity can be symbolise by a keris. Any which way, I don’t think the Chinese is interested to listen to explanation, they just want to pass the message…

I wonder the Chinese is looking at those “tongbao” who accompanied him as !@#$% running dog. There is manchu running dog, japanese running dog, and now chihuahua (looks like cat…yes, your guess is as good as mine…pet, you called it!).

Sometimes, is rather difficult to understand the Chinese language especially after translation, and most of the times these foreign leaders took it without realising is being blasted by them!

Bush: You are so beautiful!
    Chinese First Lady: NaNi! NaNi!
    Bush asked translator, what’s the reply, Bush was told “where! where!”. bush’s!!!

19. #19 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 11:19 pm

I don’t think he is kidding.

20. #20 by Alvin on Wednesday, 20 June 2007 - 11:45 pm

When our ministers are home, they rebuke and take offence in anything that others (especially the opposition) say about them.

However, when they are abroad, (i want to give krismuddin the benefit of doubt that he understood perfectly well what Hu had actually meant) our YB Krismuddin can only make others believe that he is being complimented to safe himself of embrassment.
    WHY . . .
    It’s obvious he cannot show his displeasure or slam others in foreign land as he has no power and ability to do so, he can only do that back in his home turf called Boleh-Land. A Real home bully.

21. #21 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 12:43 am

Not only “the one who wielded it” but HOW he weilded it and the emotive rabble rousing statements he made at the same time.

If Hishamuddin and fellow BN leaders took the rebuke as a compliment, then they are merely showing their lack of understanding of diplomacy and the shallowness of their intellectual capabilities.

Typical Bolehland reaction. Everything is seen as a compliment. They don’t even know they are being chastised. How spoilt they are. Mr Hu must be wondering what sort of “leaders” we have and we should be worried, very worried.

22. #22 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 12:48 am

Its like somebody saying “F.ck You” but the receipient heard it as “FCUK YOU”.

23. #23 by lupus on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 5:31 am

What is the difference between Hishammuddin and the Chinese Govt ? One believe in the power is from the body of a dagger, the other a barrel of a gun. One thinks he is smart, the other knows that he is smart. However, both are rule with fear.

24. #24 by Cinapek on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 8:51 am

Probably at that instant, the subtlety was lost on him. And later, when it became obvious to him, what else can he do? Already kena slapped, so can only try to put on a brave front and try to spin it as a compliment. Maybe the older Chinese leaders feel they owe Malaysia some obligations for being the first Asean nation to open its doors to China with Tun Razak’s visit in 1972 and might not be openly critical of Malaysia and its racially biased policies. But the younger Chinese leaders will not have the same sentiments and will be greatly influenced by the current Malaysian racial and religious events, which have taken a turn for the worst.

Malaysian leaders might also do well to remember that when they meet the Chinese leaders, the Chinese leader will always speak in Chinese even if he or she is more than well versed in English. So when the Malaysian leader speaks in English, his Chinese counterpart already has heard and will be processing the answer in the period the interpreter is translating the English words. Hence the advantage. An effective tactic for one upmanship.

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 9:41 am

“Bush: You are so beautiful!
    Chinese First Lady: NaNi! NaNi!
    Bush asked translator, what’s the reply, Bush was told “where! where!”. bush’s!!!” Karlmarx8

As if that is not confusing enough, “nani” in Japanese means “what”.

26. #26 by Taikor on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 9:44 am

It should be “Nali”.

27. #27 by Godfather on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 11:33 am

Nixon was given riddles by Mao Tse Tung when he first visited China in the 60s. Margaret Thatcher was given riddles by Deng Xiao Peng when she visited Beijing in 1983.

Now Kerismuddin was given riddles by another Chinese leader in 2007. And Kerismuddin thinks that all he got were compliments….

28. #28 by Godfather on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 11:37 am

Sigh…why didn’t Hu just use more direct language like “He who wields the keris may stab himself” or “The Chinese sword is superior to the keris” or “Waving any weapon is the sign of a madman”….

29. #29 by Jan on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 11:56 am

This Kerismuddin is perceived to be a ultra/racist and Malaysian Chinese are definitely not one of his favorite people. I wonder why he went to China, land of the Chinese.

30. #30 by tc on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 12:27 pm

Senior minister can only meet with a First Secretary of the Communist Youth League of China.Yet,the IQ levels are so far apart.Would the former meet with the first secretary of the MCA youth division?I don’t think so.He will think he is too superior for him.HaHaHaHoHoHo….!

31. #31 by shaolin on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 12:29 pm

Kerismuddin with pea sized brain is outdated and still weilding
    keris!! Nowadays in this millennium, we talk about high tech
    weapons with Chinese and Indians’ ICBM!! No more swords and
    keris, the low class toys…of the BODOHland!!

32. #32 by lauwengsan on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 2:35 pm

This is the original text extracted from Sin Chew Daily dated 26th May 2007 page 4. “在会谈中,希山慕丁解释马来短剑是领导和团结的象征,而胡春华回应说,最重要的不是马来短剑,而是拿剑的人。”

33. #33 by Daniel Quah on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 4:53 pm

my 2 cents advicee to Hisha, since u raise your keris to threat Chinese in Malaysia.. Didn’t you feel the POWER of China when u were there? Try to raise your keris there and see what happen…hehe

34. #34 by pwcheng on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 5:45 pm

35. #35 by Irene on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 6:09 pm

China Hu Chunhua’s remark is very clear that what is so big deal about the Keris if the person weilding it is a fool. No fools will dare to admit they are fools except to create a remarks to comfort themselves that they a proud of the comment.

Chinese have their Sword. Have they ever show them anywhere????

36. #36 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 10:28 pm

In bodoland, you have Bodohman, bodohman has bodoh kakis and frenz, that’s exalted by Bodek ministers with bocor brain, their combined brain size smaller than my balls.

goes to show, bodohs of the same brain flocks together.

37. #37 by dawsheng on Thursday, 21 June 2007 - 11:13 pm

The real issue here is “Ketuanan Melayu”. As for Hishamudin, he just follow the tradition of UMNO, and as youth president he had to be Jantan for all the Malays to see. Nevermind if you cannot bear the consequences, but be Jantan first you must. “Ketuanan Melayu” is nothing but ego for the Malay, banyak sandiwara in it. How much do you think “Ketuanan Melayu” is worth in the face of the world?

And yes, for the 21st century, what Hishamudin did in past two UMNO GA is low class outdated political display but what to do, all the wannabes think they are real Jantan. There is nothing we can do to stop it, after Hishamudin, KJ had to show he is Jantan too. So when they are going to use the keris? After the general election in the next UMNO GA thrusting into the air and roar so that the kingdom of heaven will hear them, Hidup Melayu. That is how far they will go.

And you expect people with child behaviour to lead our country? You have to because all the Jantan in UMNO support it. But I am least worry about Hishamudin and his “Ketuanan Melayu” because I know the world is a fair place. We are born equal and that’s how it will be.

38. #38 by khoyamliang on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 5:58 am

The world has indeed changed! No only does Mr. Hu Chunhua(a possible future Chinese President or Premier, as predicted by Chinese and western press) have sufficient knowlegde of what is going now in Malaysia, the general public in China, Taiwan and Hong Kong do know the plight and struggle of minority races in Malaysia, thanks to the advent of the internet!

In Singapore, I do have many Indian friends from India, who have a very sound understanding of the political events happening in Malaysia. In other words, quite a lot of people are watching Malaysia.

In the very event that things turn ugly and violent, and the one-sided government does nothing to uphold law and order(like what happened several decades ago), then the international community has the very right to step in, it has nothing to do with re-colonization, just look to Yugoslavia/Bosnia, Darfur/Sudan, East Timur(Timor Leste), etc… It is called international justice!

Indeed, the world has changed……..for the better!!!!

39. #39 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 12:57 pm

Hu definitely shows wisdom. Hisap-mmudin is a loud mouthed idiot.

See, I see Hisap-mmudin as a bully. During the UMNO general assembly, he had his gang with him and dared to utter threats. While in China, being in the definite minority, he slinks away with his tail tucked between his legs.

This proves that he is a disgrace to the one and only true malay gentleman, Sir Dato Onn Jaafar, his grandfather.

40. #40 by pengsiong on Saturday, 3 November 2007 - 8:24 pm

He lifts keris with his right hand, and his left hand still holding NEP walking stick, shame!!