PM should convene 50th Merdeka Anniversary Religious Leaders Summit on National Unity

All religions teach mankind the virtues of charity, goodwill, compassion, tolerance and equality towards a world of peace, harmony and compassion.

However, religions have also been the cause of human strife and misunderstanding evident from recent events in the country, whether the Lina Joy case or the controversy over the Mazu statue in Kudat, Sabah.

As a multi-religious nation, religion must play a more proactive role in nation-building to create an united, harmonious and progressive Malaysia. Let me make two suggestions as to how this could be done:

Firstly, by inculcating in every Malaysian citizen the quality of respecting all religions in the country and not just honouring their own religion — which must be regarded as a distinctive quality of Malaysian citizenship and consciousness; and

Secondly, all religions working together under one framework at all levels of the nation to contribute positively to nation-building by promoting inter-religious understanding, goodwill and harmony and demonstrating the power of inter-religious co-operation as a good and positive force to foster inter-racial and inter-religious solidarity and reduce racial and religious polarization.

For this reason, I call on the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to convene a 50th Merdeka Anniversary Religious Leaders Summit on National Unity to harness the power of religion in a positive manner in nation-building for the next half century.

I believe such an initiative will make the 50th Merdeka Anniversary very meaningful as it will be a most positive and constructive contribution to the nation-building process in the coming decades.

(Speech at the opening of the Great Vajrasattva Puja for World Peace, Harmony and Compassion of Persatuan Buddha Dharma Padmasambhava Malaysia at Cyrstal Crown Hotel, Klang on Friday, 8th June 2007 at 8 pm)

1. #1 by azk on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:40 am

dream on…

2. #2 by mendela on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:41 am

Forcing churches to build on 1st or 2nd floor of narrow shoplots, tearing down Indian temples and Chinese Datokons, forbidding or making life extremely difficult for other faiths to build new worship places, spending tens of Billions of our tax money on brand new and super grand Mosques all over Malaysia, with such UMO policy in hand, how will AAB convene a 50th Merdeka Anniversary Religious Leaders Summit on National Unity to harness the power of religion in a positive manner?

3. #3 by crosstalk on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 12:28 pm

It is reported in The China Press today about 200 Pas supporters held an anti Thai government protest over the military crackdown on the violent muslim led separatist movement before the Thai Embassy yesterday.One of the placards read ‘Get Out Of Southern Thailand’.I think the brutal ,heinous and barbaric separatist movement should be disbanded and disappear from Thailand and not the Thai military.These murderous religious people like those found in other parts of the world have cast shadow on our own peace loving religion here.

4. #4 by FuturePolitician on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 12:35 pm

“SHOULD” is a word used when you like the authorized person to enforce it or intiate it..somehow, Our current PM has lots of “SHOULD” to consider making it a non-priority matter to Ponder whilst he is doing his personal thing.

I believe recently there was a INTERFAITH conference and exhibition held by Soko Gakkai Malaysia. I believe many dont know about SGM..their faith and practices. At least SGM has lead the way of Interfaith discussion in Malaysia, in a small way.

It is a non-political event for those looking for peace to practise their own religion without emcumbrances and hold strongly to Freedom of Religion protected by the Constituition. Tolerance among faith and respect, we all strive for the same objective..at last we soon be death, we need to know we have contributed to the society and our faith whilst we are alive.

-Nam myoho renge kyo

5. #5 by LittleBird on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 2:24 pm

azk, u are absoultely right. With they way things going on come next GE, PAS is not going to get many non muslim votes. That is what the BN wants. Between PKR and BN, I think, the leader of BN with his new wife and her background probably appears to be more likeable among non muslims.

So end of the day it boils down to politics.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 7:42 pm

In countries like the United States, such initiatives would necessarily have to be ‘private’ because of the clear separation between church and state. In Malaysia politics and religion are intertwined and religion highly politicized.

With the Opposition finding itself at the table, it would only lead to greater politicization – and greater polarization along racial and religious lines.

Religion is much like the elephant in the room. We cannot ignore its presence but it is best left alone.

7. #7 by Tai Lo Chin on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 1:41 am

Uncle Kit’s call on PM to convene a 50th Merdeka Anniversary Religious Leaders Summit on National Unity to harness the power of religion in a positive manner in nation-building is consistent with what the PM himself said in his speech on the occasion of the conferment of the honorary degree of doctor of technology by Curtin University of Technology, Perth on 22 Feb 2006 : reference is made here to: http://domino.kln.gov.my/kln/statemen.nsf/bc37d953e082e277c8256b3d0042f8f3/050d5cf27fee62744825711d002f6906?OpenDocument

Excerpts of what the PM said: “we should never underestimate the power of religion as an imperative for people to act – with or without the guiding voice of reason. in a situation that was exacerbated by a notion of rights, unchecked by a sense of responsibility which would give it meaning, voices calling for dialogue and understanding must prevail. xenophobic diatribe should have no place in a civilised world, and certainly no part in the rhetoric of leaders and statesmen. it can only serve to incite and anger”.

But “speak” is not “deed” as what mendela posted on June 9th, 2007 at 11:41 am which is why azk aptly commented “dream on…”.

The PM calls for dialogue between muslims and non muslims on the international stage. On the domestic front, he placed a gag order on Article 11 forums to ‘stop discussing religious issues’ but when the Allied Coordinating Committee of Islamic NGOs (Accin), a coalition of 14 Islamic NGOs in the country, organized a seminar on ‘Challenges on the rights of Muslims’, what happened to the gag order?

How could the government use religion and dialogue of different religious heads to promote nation building when: –

§ political power and its perpetuation and not nation building is the main objective of the ruling coalition

§ the dominant ruling party has always used religion to garner votes from its constituency which is constituted of one race/religion and not all Malaysians; and

§ nation building is given only lip and token service (vision school and national service training) where divisive policies like NEP are perpetuated and expanded??????

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 5:16 am

“The PM calls for dialogue between muslims and non muslims on the international stage. On the domestic front, he placed a gag order on Article 11 forums to ‘stop discussing religious issues’ but when the Allied Coordinating Committee of Islamic NGOs (Accin), a coalition of 14 Islamic NGOs in the country, organized a seminar on ‘Challenges on the rights of Muslims’, what happened to the gag order?” Tai Lo Chin

This Prime Minister is somehow caught in a time capsule. He never thought that his speech would be reported at home.

And so his speech writer says to him not to worry too much, that he could go to different countries (after all, they are different countries) and make different statements, that foreign journalists would not know the difference and would not report, and local journalists (?). Well, we have nothing to worry about it either. It would be boring to have to write the same thing over and over again.

His political strategist tells him he could afford to make one set of statements for international consumption and another for domestic consumption. Politicians do that all the time, so says his political strategist who follows his trips abroad.

After all, he’s about to be conferred an honorary degree by the equivalent of an Ivy League university Down Under. On the other hand, who has heard of the Curtin University in that sleepy hollow known as Perth not far from the Swan River. An honorary doctorate degree is not something that is conferred every day on just about every foreign tourist who invests in an ethnic food restaurant or residential property in the town’s exclusive neighborhood.

He doesn’t reckon on the likes of To Lai Chin to see the difference and to hold him on to his words.

I must admit that reading the excerpt provided here by Lai Chin, I could swear it was made by a leader of a moderate Muslim country which has utilized the positive force that religion offers to build one ‘united happy’ nation (They are not killing each other, are they?). He did not, however, say how he ‘did’ it. That is a secret recipe handed down from mother to son!

Or could it be due to over indulgence in nasi kandar. They do put poppy seeds you know.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 5:19 am

sorry tai lo chin. i always get your name mixed up. maybe from too much of nasi kandar.

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 5:28 am

In the past the country’s Prime Minister and his deputy released the genie from the bottle which is what religion is. But in that case it was a Muslim genie and it united the Malays and Muslims.

A genie released from the bottle is never easy to put back – especially when it is a Muslim genie.

11. #11 by Tai Lo Chin on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 9:18 am

“This Prime Minister is somehow caught in a time capsule. He never thought that his speech would be reported at home” – Undergrad2.

Why wouldn’t or shouldn’t he have thought? We live in a wired and “integrated” world. In his words, “the process of globalization, and the advances in communications technology in particular, have brought peoples of the world so close to each other. But, this increasingly integrated world, at the same time, has also made people feel an even greater need to defend and champion their particular belief-systems, values and principles at all costs”.

They say charity begins at home. We should have inter-religious dialogue at home before we start preaching to Australia and the world about its beneficent effects on multi cultural, religious polyglot societies.

Though I give allowance to politicians’ ‘doublespeak’ the issue of inter-religious dialogue and harmony in our own country is too important to be excused on this basis.

The PM knows the dangers to the peace and harmony to our country. I quote him, “We are faced with the daunting prospect of having to deal with extremist movements of all shades and beliefs. Christian, jewish, muslim, hindu and buddhist extremist movements have come to the fore, putting aside dialogue and placing greater emphasis on difference. Their leaders sometimes preach the politics of fear and even hate towards others of different beliefs, values, origins, culture, language or colour”.

With knowledge that he has, he should not appease domestic extremist Islamic groups by giving signals that their ‘excesses’ are tolerated whilst other religious denominations are not. (By “excesses” I don’t mean violence; I mean an aggressive assertion of viewpoints, what his speech writer would describe as ‘xenophobic diatribe’, and the dominance of position relative to others).

Such appeasement in fear of losing votes, heedless that the parties appeased will be emboldened to expand extremist agenda, is likely to be interpreted as a dereliction of leadership responsibilities to ensure that the country will in the longer period be harmless from extremism and turmoil.

Mahathir and Anwar may have “released the genie from the bottle”.

So what does a real leader do now? He tries to put the genie back into the bottle or at least keep it in check. One should not dance with it or worse still ask favours from the genie.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 10:16 am

I cannot say I disagree with you on any of the issues.

13. #13 by k1980 on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 10:17 am

http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/printable.php?id=262887

Azalina and 10 of her delegation members reached the base camp at around noon on Friday in a Russian-made MI-17-IV helicopter and took off about 15 minutes later.
    “We hope to put her name in the Malaysian Book of Records as the first minister and the first female minister of Malaysia to set foot at the base camp,” he said….

In that case, can I post my pet hamster to the base camp and register its name “Mak Lah” in the Guiness Book of Records as the first Malaysian hamster and the first female hamster of Malaysia to set foot at the base camp of Mount Everest

14. #14 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 11:27 am

Dear Mr YB Lim,

Some one had place an image over the first paragraph of your article which cannot be read.

Is that done intentionally or by some one mischieviously?

[Thanks. No, no mischief here. The first para reads: “All religions teach mankind the virtues of charity, goodwill, compassion, tolerance and equality towards a world of peace, harmony and compassion.” – Kit]