“Moonlighting” by civil servants – PM advocates “close one eye”?

CUEPACS President Omar Osman has reiterated the stand of the Congress of Unions of Employees in the Public and Civil Services before and after the recent RM8 billion public service pay revision that civil servants should immediately stop “moonlighting” and give up part-time jobs to focus 100 per cent on their jobs, as they will be taking home a much larger pay packet.

Utusan Malaysia in its report today “Hentikan segera kerja sambilan — CUEPACS”, Omar said CUEPACS takes a serious view of “moonlighting” by civil servants after the RM8 billion pay revision and fully agrees if departments concerned take disciplinary action against civil servants who continue to be obstinate.

Admitting that hitherto, the departments concerned had “closed an eye” to “moonlighting” by lower-paid civil servants as their pay were not adequate to meet their needs, Omar said firm action should be taken against those who still hold second jobs as the government had been fair in raising their incomes in the recent salary revision.

Omar said: “Melakukan kerja sambilan merupakan satu kesalahan di dalam sector awam dan perkara ini terdapat di dalam akujanji dan peraturan.

“Bagi CUEPACS sekiranya perkara ini dibiarkan tanpa ada usaha untuk mencegahnya ia sememangnya boleh menjejaskan productivity.”

The time has come for the government to give a clear position on the question of “moonlighting” by civil servants or the RM8 billion salary increase beginning on July 1 will become an expensive farce.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi seems to have contradicted both the CUEPACS President and the Chief Secretary, Tan Sri Mohamed Sidek Hassan both of whom have called for an end to “moonlighting” by civil servants after the RM8 billion salary revision.

Speaking at the monthly assembly of staff of the Prime Minister’s Department in Putrajaya on Monday, Abdullah seemed to have given official approval to “moonlighting” by civil servants in the lower-pay categories.

Do we have a situation where the Prime Minister approves of “moonlighting” by civil servants, though from the low-pay categories, while the Chief Secretary and CUEPACS President are opposed?

Is Abdullah an advocate of “close one eye” for “moonlighting” by civil servants — with Chief Secretary and CUEPACS President taking the contradictory position?

This is a most extraordinary scenario which cannot continue for another day for the sake of the credibility and integrity of the public service and the authority and legitimacy of the Prime Minister.

Such an extraordinary contradictory position held by the Prime Minister and the Chief Secretary, which turns the entire civil service into a joke, should be immediately straightened out.

1. #1 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 12:13 pm

It is best that this matter be dealt with carefully and with a heart. Some civil sevrants might really need more income to supplement the fmaily’s needs. PRovided that their official work is not affected, they shld be allowed to work after office hours. Pls judge a person by his work and not bcos he holds another job. Some ppl may only hold one job but still slack in the office. These are the people you shld go after. Some higher ranked staff in govt office goes for their daily golf sessinos during office hours. GO check the Consumer Tribunal office in Shah Alam. His staff all talking behind his back. Asking his staff to punch in and out for him. So who is the better servant in your opinion?

2. #2 by Jimm on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 12:23 pm

It’s been like a culture in all PSD nationwide. That’s why things take a longer time to be done.

3. #3 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 12:38 pm

Pak Lah getting married this Saturday? Shiok! Another honeymoon year.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 12:49 pm

Omar said: “Melakukan kerja sambilan merupakan satu kesalahan di dalam sector awam dan perkara ini terdapat di dalam akujanji dan peraturan.”

“Bagi CUEPACS sekiranya perkara ini dibiarkan tanpa ada usaha untuk mencegahnya ia sememangnya boleh menjejaskan productivity”

This is propaganda bullshits to show that civil servant deserves the pay increase, it also tried to potray that civil servants are not the lazy ones as many people thought or experienced, that they took extra jobs to make ends meet. Hence, the lousy services you get in return.

5. #5 by good coolie on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 1:10 pm

It’s about enforcement of rules. And then, when you enforce,
    enforce without bias. Also, ensure that the share of work
    allotted to civil servants is completed by them before they are allowed to work in other occupations.

6. #6 by lakshy on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 1:12 pm

Its been announced just to win more votes in the elections. Who cares about productivity and efficiency in public sector?

Investors go elsewhere…..who cares? Not the public service and not the ministers

7. #7 by lakshy on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 2:23 pm

Probably got caught for khalwat…so no choice….

8. #8 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 2:27 pm

smeagroo Says:
    June 6th, 2007 at 12:13 pm.
    What you said reminds me of what our ex pm TDM said, “a little bit of corruption is OK” and which was echoed by the the chief secretary Samsuddin, but at that time our Pak Lah countered that in a very brilliant reply by saying that we cannot accept even a little bit of it because soon that little bit will grow and it will be endless. That was the most brilliant remarks I had ever heard from him and soon after that all became controversial including the current sanction of a little bit of moonlighting is ok!

To me such loose policies as had been advocated by our government all these years whereby no proper system of “hire, fire and rewards” has led us to this deplorable state of the civil service and it is high time that a proper and strict guidelines be drawn and followed strictly with no acceptance of any level of deviating from the guidelines. What we are having now are the mentality of a third world countries and you will never find this in a developed country or any country that aspire to be developed.

If anybody can remember how Singapore became developed, they will know what I am telling.

9. #9 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 2:30 pm

If there were to be any new public service delivery system promise by Abdullah you will find all your outstanding unpaid taxes or some kind of new taxes created and “delivered” to you in the next couple of weeks. We already have very difficult times supporting the civil services, and now we will be strangling and suffocating with this increase burden, and yet we still se dark clouds over the business climate. The civil servants has been taken care of, what about us?

10. #10 by Loh on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 2:34 pm

It is sad that government servants need to take on additional jobs to make ends meet. It is better that they are involved in honest work than to be involved in corruption.

The low salary level is a result of a bloated government service because the government over the past 50 years has been harping on uplifting the standard of living of Malays which included the type of jobs in which they should be engaged. Through the customary short-cut approach, the government has created a large quantity of ‘educated’ Malays whose ‘competence’ are best appreciated in government service. Consequently civil service has the first objective of jobs creation, and the staff are performing ‘government service’ to keep themselves occupied. Simple arithmatic says that more men less share. And the increase in pay announced by the government is meant to purchase votes, and surely when the quantum of increase is too high at any time, the next round of votes buying will be that much more expensive.

11. #11 by unsatisfied on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 2:48 pm

Pak Lah is too busy in love and married, err marry this saturday. So who said bloggers are liars after all, Malaysia Today already report it months ago. Rumours konon, ceh penipu Pak Lah. No wonder always go overseas.

12. #12 by Godfather on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 2:52 pm

If he didn’t go overseas, he probably would have been caught for khalwat – not deliberately of course, but through the usual bungling nature of the Jabatan Agama Islam enforcers.

13. #13 by gunlock on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 5:04 pm

our government works like this…
    high post do rasuah and thats why can afford to play golf
    low post do part time to make ends meet.

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 5:10 pm

I think it is good for Pak Lah to remarry.

Hopefully his new wife will help him carry out his duties more effectively.
    I wish both of them a happy marriage.

Being the PM of Malaysia is a tough job to keep the majority satisfied and I suggest if he cannot undertake the reforms he promised he should retire earlier and enjoy life while he can.

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 5:55 pm

Jean used to be married to Osman Mahmud, Kak Endon’s brother, so this makes Jean her sister-in-law.

16. #16 by WFH on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 7:31 pm

Congratulations to PM AAB and Jeanne Danker Abdullah.
    May you both have the maximum JOY from your new-found happiness and togetherness.

I read that Jeanne Danker Abdullah was in charge of and managing the households at the DPM’s residence, and currently Sri Perdana, the official residence of the PM.

Now I see why the MCA Wanita is so against proposals, and fearful, for “China Dolls” to be allowed to work as domestics in Malaysia, lest their menfolk take a new interest in household chores and affairs. Can anybody now blame the Wanita for their paranoia?

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 9:12 pm

Nope. Be suspicious of women who share the same father i.e. Abdullah. [deleted]

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 9:13 pm

Or did it take a romantic turn just after?

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 9:29 pm

They must address this issue which involves Article 11 of our Federal Constitution.

A spouse from another faith who converts to Islam just prior to her marriage to a Muslim, does this not belittle the religion of Islam? Is the act not prima facie evidence of dishonesty on her part. Shouldn’t the intending spouse be required to undergo a course and show she’s a practicing Muslim for a year before she takes her marriage vows?

A Muslim can marry a Jew without the latter converting to Islam e.g. Tun Suffian’s wife Bunny retained her faith though she was later buried in a Muslim cemetery. A victim of body snatchers.

Can’t a Christian marry a Muslim without changing her faith”

They are after all people of the Book i.e. Old Testament (Bible) the Torah (first five chapters of the Bible and Qur’an (Old Testament of the Bible).

20. #20 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 10:40 pm

Nothing is impossible for Abdullah Badawi except being a man of his words and stand up for his own convictions, for such a weak man to be in love is for us to be in vain. No doubt being in love is a good thing, for that I wish Abdullah and Jean happily ever after.

21. #21 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 6 June 2007 - 11:01 pm

so aab is getting married even after he clearly denied tt he isnt. [deleted]

22. #22 by raven77 on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 12:14 am

The man is getting married when the country is falling apart…….can this be for real…..has the country’s leadership now so oblivious to the nation’s dwindling fortunes……Ghandhi would have started a fast………but then again Badawi is no Ghandhi

23. #23 by lakshy on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 5:09 am

If all muslims were to offer their work as worship, and then do their work properly, there would be increased productivity.

And if they offer their work as worship, there will be no need to take many breaks a day to attend to prayers. Thsi alone would result in better productivity.

By teh way, the Quran does ask to offer work as worship!

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 6:31 am

“And if they offer their work as worship, there will be no need to take many breaks a day to attend to prayers. Thsi alone would result in better productivity.”

The Prophet actually reduced the number of prayers to five and the number of wives to four. Those days they were praying all the time and their wives numbered more than four.

In the Old Testament (Bible) prophets had more than a hundred wives and lived to be 170 years old. Times have changed since.

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 6:33 am

26. #26 by lakshy on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 6:59 am

…and so should the religion change as well….or revert to crusade times….

27. #27 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 7:25 am

oh, pray whole day? so dont need to work uh… no wonder so many muslim countries are so undeveloped. pray for food to fall from sky and rain wine?

28. #28 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 8:23 am

The Mormons practice polygamy. The Chinese may have one wife – but a string of mistresses. Which is worse??

29. #29 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 8:23 am

The Mormons are Christians and believe in Jesus Christ.

30. #30 by FuturePolitician on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 10:00 am

TDM is realistic person..corruption is a lub for progress..all businessmen/women knows this. AAB isnt one of them. Moonlighting/additional job after working hours, working on non-related work to the main job, is generally allowed in all private sector.,

It is because our government do not implement the basic need of a human, family and society. those whom have studied behaviour science or similar subject on Maslow pyramid, looking at the foundation, you would know, “food, clothing, shelter” is the basic need. You can determine what else is categorized in this area, in modern era…such as healthcare too now is a basic neccesity.

Compare the basic need expenses, you can see it is a significant cost to your income.

With Maslow Hierachy of Needs, we should realize what is more important to the people..and how to lower the cost of living. INCREASING SALARY PAYOUT will only cause rapid increase in inflation. The government has a DUTY to reduce the cost of basic neccesity., BY having more $$, you can afford some luxury, thus increase the living standard..

I need to spend more time minding my own business, if Mr.Lim keep using his BLOG/PUBLIC DIARY as a POLITICAL NEWSPAPER STAND.

Dont think I realize, that Mr.Lim is using the WRONG Web Module for his update of political news… I just dont want to implicate that his team is not well-verse of the internet, or just not bothered to ask help from Webmasters.

31. #31 by RealWorld on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 11:06 am

“oh, pray whole day? so dont need to work uh… no wonder so many muslim countries are so undeveloped. pray for food to fall from sky and rain wine?” – ahkok1982

You are such a pillock. I suggest you go out and travel and see the world a bit.

32. #32 by pongsakling on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 11:56 am

Why balme religion in this topic?
    What Christianity and Islam have to do with civil servant moonlighting? All your otak already bocor like Bung kera and Syed kera!

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 June 2007 - 10:55 pm

Yes. What has the civil service got to do with Pak Lah getting married on Saturday??

34. #34 by orchidlah on Friday, 8 June 2007 - 6:35 pm

Name all the side businesses. Direct sales. Stock trading. Locum. “”” Service charge “””. Family / friends business. Anything. Everything. Everybody knows about it. Your civil servants have to include all the powerful. By the way, study the way the pay is hiked and you know it is unfair.

WHY DO ONLY RICH PEOPLE HAVE ALL THE FUN ?

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Friday, 8 June 2007 - 7:35 pm

Because money is the root of all Evil??