ACA DG Zulkipli’s three declarations of assets do not tally with two vettings stated by PM

Source: http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Sunday/National/20070304075749/insidepix1

The Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA)’s former Disciplinary Management Centre chief and currently ACA Negri Sembilan director, Halim Ibrahim did a most unusual thing for the ACA yesterday — publicly exonerating the ACA Director-General Datuk Seri Zulkipli Mat Noor by revealing details of Zulkipli’s various declaration of assets in public service. (New Sunday Times)

Zulkipli had made the declaration on three occasions since 1988.

The first declaration, approved in 1999, was when Zulkipli was Johor police chief.

The second declaration on Sept 14, 2003, was said to be approved by the then Chief Secretary to the Government on March 25, 2004.

The third declaration was sent to the Public Service Department on July 7 last year.

Halim said Zulikipli listed five properties — none in Pagoh, Johor, and no business interests –in his declaration of assets to the department.

I do not wish here to dwell on the details of Zulkipli’s three declarations of assets publicly disclosed by Halim.

While welcoming such publication, ACA should as a matter of policy and principle adopt an open and transparent culture and not be selective in releasing information to suit the needs of its masters, whether political or bureaucratic.

In July 2005, I had queried the ACA why it had failed to take action in the case of the former Sabah Chief Minister and Federal Minister for Land and Co-operatives, Datuk Seri Osu Sukam, in its investigations as to how he could have amassed such astronomical wealth as to gamble RM158.7 million, lose RM31.6 million and run up RM7.1 million debts in a London casino a year after political retirement, apart from bigger gambling debts in other casinos as well as in other countries like Australia.

I had pointed out that in Osu Sukam’s 15 years in various public offices from Deputy Works Minister in 1986 to Sabah Chief Minister 1999-2001, Osu would have at least made four declarations of his assets to the Prime Minister.

All these four declaration of assets to the Prime Minister should be the basis on which the ACA should launch a thorough investigation as to whether Osu had corruptly and illegally amassed such astronomical wealth as to enable him to gamble hundreds of millions of ringgit in various casinos in London and Australia a year after his political retirement.

Or are declarations of assets whether by political leaders in government or top government officers so unsatisfactory and defective that they are worthless tools in the battle to promote national integrity and combat corruption?

The three declarations by Zulkipli in 1999, 2003 and 2006 do not seem to tally with the statement by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that Zulkipli went through a vetting process twice and was both times cleared to take up the post of ACA director-general.

Abdullah said the first vetting was done in 2001 before he was to be appointed ACA director-general and the second time in 2005 before he was re-appointed to the post. It would appear these vetting processes have nothing to do with examination of Zulkipli’s declaration of assets or even the police report on complaints on sexual crimes and assault which had previously been lodged against Zulkipli, but which the police have no knowledge of its outcome until a few days ago.

These discrepancies should be explained without any delay so that public credibility with regarding to various governments pronouncement on this matter is not subject to further strain and stress.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 1:53 pm

Some years ago, I remember reading in the Bangkok Post, the financial statements and assets declarations of Thailand’s politicians. Similarly, in the Philippines, the high ranking officials, declare their assets for all to see.

Why can’t our poiticians here do the same?

2. #2 by grace on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 2:03 pm

Mr. Lim,
    I am very glad that you are one of the members who will grill that Zulkipli fella!
    Have no mercy on this type of fellows. I sincerely more politicians and ministers would be thorouly investigated into their ill-gotten wealth.

3. #3 by sapna on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 5:22 pm

Will there be another SEMUANYA OK?

4. #4 by WFH on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 7:12 pm

YB,
    WIth 10 out of the 12 members of the PSCI being senior BN Parliamentarians and occupying very senior govt positions, (the other 2 being YB and one from PAS), my mind asks, how many of them have truthfully and completely declared their and their connected persons’ assets? If any of them had held back anything at all (maybe as yet still undiscovered?) in their asset delarations, is it possible to expect the “grilling” of Zulkipli to uncover anything of substance? Besides, all declarations are NOT PUBLIC declarations, but made only to the PM. Possibly, being not whiter-than-white, some members of the PSCI may, intentionally or unintentionally, hold fire against Zulkipli. Then, what’ll happen? A Parliamentary integrity watchdog, itself with questionable integrity?
    Supposedly a bipatisan committee, I still do not expect that YB will be able to drive the direction of the session, against the BN tide due to the PSCI’s composition.

Have I misunderstood something here?

5. #5 by smeagroo on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 7:54 pm

aiya Badawi also said his family dont have to declare their assets bcos his family are not into politics or hold any ministerial post. SO much for transperancy la. By him saying that we already knew something is not right.

For this matter, it is not just on declaring your assets and it is sufficient. ONe must find out how he can amass such wealth to be able to afford such luxuries.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 9:45 pm

I think we don’t have to enquire along the lines whether there is any discrepancy between what the PM said about first and second vettings of ACA Director-General Datuk Seri Zulkipli Mat Noor in 2001 and 2005 and what ACA Negri Sembilan director, Halim Ibrahim revealed about his 3 declaration of assets.

The fact is no matter how usual or unusual a course, the ACA’s former Disciplinary Management Centre chief and currently ACA Negri Sembilan director, Halim Ibrahim cannot exonerate Zulkipli. What he said could be discounted. This is because the ACA or any officer of the ACVA cannot be viewed partial to exonerate its current head and director general. It is a situtation fraught with glaring conflict of interest.

On page 4 of The Star, March 3rd Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan said that a task force comprising senior police officers and deputy public prosecutors would be formed to investigate allegations relating to Zulkipli, whose first task is to check with all relevant government departments, agencies and the Securities Commission for records of businesses, licences, properties, assets or shares related to Zulkipli.

IGP said that “the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) will not be part of the special task force investigating allegations of corruption against ACA Director-General Datuk Seri Zulkipli Mat Noor”. He said the exclusion of ACA officers in the task force was to ensure that investigations would be independent and transparent : see this link Online – http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/3/3/nation/17037939&sec=nation

At this moment it matters not whether ACA is not selective in releasing information (pertaining to Zulkipli’s declarations) to suit the needs of its masters.

Whatever the ACA or its officer says of the allegations regarding Zulkipli is of no effect because of its conflict of interest position.

There is therefore no question of whatever ACA’s Halim Ibrahim opined or said being given any credibility for any need to rebut to arise.

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 9:47 pm

Sorry typo error in 2nd para : It should be – “This is because the ACA or any officer of the ACA cannot be viewed IMPARTIAL to exonerate its current head and director general”.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 10:31 pm

These declarations are just window dressing for public consumption.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 10:31 pm

Let’s investigate his income tax.

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 10:32 pm

Tax evasion is a crime.

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 March 2007 - 10:46 pm

It is a very dumb official who makes a declaration of assets which do not tally when authorities check against the departments, agencies like land office, Road Transport Department, The Companies Commission of Malaysia, Bursa Malaysia and the Securities Commission for records of landed properties, luxury cars, businesses, licences, properties, assets or shares.

Most bribes are paid offshore and do not leave an audit trail and records here. They may be paid to offshore companies registered in British Virginia or Grand Caymen Islands with maximum confidentiality and minimum disclosure. The shares of offshore companies are held by and transferable by bearers. From there monies may be re-routed via all kinds of channels – offshore banks, money changers, casinos etc – evading exchange control documentation to safe havens for investment in landed properties, securities around the world.

12. #12 by Godfather on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 12:12 am

Investigate his income tax ? Who’s going to do that ? How could he had evaded income tax if he was just a civil servant and, as his published list of assets show, there were no commercial assets to generate extra income ?

This is window dressing for the coming elections. Like everything else in Bodohland that involves politicians and senior civil servants, this investigation will go into a black hole.

13. #13 by crosstalk on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 12:59 am

It is high time we change the government now.Isn.t it sad to know that so many of our top bodoh ,greedy leaders are involved in corruption and crime?If nothing is done to get rid of these scoundrels,how can the country progress?How can the rakyat live in peace when gangsters can be released by these outwardly look religious but stink like shit leaders?

14. #14 by DarkHorse on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 8:16 am

“Investigate his income tax ? Who’s going to do that ? How could he had evaded income tax if he was just a civil servant and, as his published list of assets show, there were no commercial assets to generate extra income ?”

Remember that tax evasion is a crime. Tax avoidance is not.

15. #15 by DarkHorse on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 8:24 am

“The first declaration, approved in 1999, was when Zulkipli was Johor police chief. It showed that he owned a shophouse in Senawang, Negri Sembilan, then valued at RM300,000, and an apartment (Vista Angkasa) in Kg Kerinchi, Kuala Lumpur, valued at RM150,000.

Both properties were acquired through loans under his name (Public Finance and Citi Finance respectively).”

How much does the police chief anywhere earn?? His assets including those of his wife, mother and driver and gardener exceed $1 million. How does he service his bank loans?

16. #16 by DarkHorse on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 8:27 am

“Most bribes are paid offshore and do not leave an audit trail and records here.”

This is an example of tax avoidance as opposed to tax evasion. The latter is a crime.

17. #17 by skh on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 8:37 am

See the interview with mahathir on Al-Jazeera with hard-hitting questions which the country lacks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbzGyxRCTuY&mode=related&search=

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 8:54 am

“Most bribes are paid offshore and do not leave an audit trail and records here.” – “This is an example of tax avoidance as opposed to tax evasion”. Tell that the AG. That is money laundering.

19. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 9:01 am

THese ACA guys are not idiots to leave an audit trail of their crimes.

And Zul was an ex-CPO to boot. Guys like them will know how to eat the cakes, lick their lips and flush everything down with lemonade, so you won’t see nothing unless you open up thier bowels.

YB, ask for his personal and supplementary credit cards statements (of himself, his wife, his children) from 2000 till present; Bank statements (same people, same duration); income tax statements; linkages to receipts from corporations or other business entities.

The problem is when these guys make use of proxies and leave no trail for the sniffer dogs.

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 9:56 am

This is why the PM leadership ability is called into question. We all know this guy at the very least is part of the problem in tackling corruption. Now that there is a doubt, even without definite proof, its a good opportunity to get rid of him. But what does the PM do? He defend the process of selecting and approving him even though by all accounts it was not perfect in the first place.

The issue is as Sdr. Lim points out, is about, PM commitment against corruption. An opportunity to clean up the ACA and he hessitate. Like he hesitate in many things he should not be and foolishly into some others (e.g., declaring stock market targets when he know zilch about markets..).

This PM has literally, on his own, destroyed his credibility as a leader and only reason he is in power is the overwhelming power of the his office.

I truly symphatize with the difficulty of Badawi tasks, but at the very least, he should have suspended Zukipli – send a clear message that the standard of conduct has gone up and that in the end, he will not accept excuses other than exemplary conduct and behaviour.

The only reason he is not willing to do so is because he knows he is now no longer ‘Mr. Clean’ – thanks to his SIL and he can be taken down if he act too fast especially by the likes of Zukipli and Johari. Its quite evident that this is the case.

21. #21 by RealWorld on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 10:10 am

Dudes, why are we going about as if the guy is already condemned as guilty already? What happened to ‘innocent until proven guilty’?

22. #22 by RealWorld on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 10:13 am

“Let’s investigate his income tax.” – undergrad2

I got a question. Have you ever truly and diligently declare your income to the LHDN?

23. #23 by marmitecrab on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 11:35 am

It never ceases to amaze me how stupid some of these officials can sometimes be. You know you are a public servant and you are well connected and you organise gatherings at your homes during festive occasions.

So you invite people to your homes and they see you have luxury cars, plasma screen TV’s and gold-plated what-nots openly displayed and what…?!!, you hope no one will notice?

I especially like that when the news broke, he did not flatly deny the allegations and say it is baseless and false. Because that’s what a normal person would say if he wants to maintain his integrity and especially if it is not true.

Instead, he said let the law take it’s course. We all know how the “law” takes care of their own. He is not the only one but if we’re going to make a difference, then let’s start with this guy.

24. #24 by WFH on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 3:19 pm

marmitecrab said:
    //…Instead, he said let the law take it’s course. We all know how the “law” takes care of their own. He is not the only one but if we’re going to make a difference, then let’s start with this guy….//

Zulkipli saying in other words “Catch me if you can”..

All of the following:
    PM AB, SIL, DPM, The Fat Lady, SamyV, Hishammuddin, Nazri, Close-one-eye Jasin MP, Zakaria, Musa Aman, Taib Mahmud, Osu Sukam, Megat Junid, even some judges as alleged by Tun Fairuz, some Sarjan/constable/PC at the road block, at Traffic police HQ, the Rela “volunteer”, the snoop squad members (add to this list as you please…) – all are defying good common standards of clean, honest, unblemished character and the very meaning of INTEGRITY.

Will all the above please rise, raise your voices, and sing in harmony… All together now……
    “CATCH ME IF YOU CAN”…

Something’s gotta give, very soon, or else ******

How can the nation take any more of this insanity?

25. #25 by DarkHorse on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 9:22 pm

“This is an example of tax avoidance as opposed to tax evasion”.

Tell that to the AG. That is money laundering.

No. It is not money laundering.

Money parked off-shore if later used to purchase (cash) businesses back in Malaysia, mixing with the legal and the non-legal (hence the term “money laundering” proceeds would be money laundering.

What if proceeds of illegal activity back in Malaysia, do not find their way back to Malaysia?

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Monday, 5 March 2007 - 9:25 pm

Why do you think our politicians invest abroad in cash businesses like laundry businesses?