“It is easy to become a Malay”

DAP MP for Seputeh, Teresa Kok, who is currently in Sabah on a political visit together with Member of Parliament Fong Po Kuan (Batu Gajah), has drawn my attention to the following Daily Express report yesterday quoting the Malacca Chief Minister, Datuk Seri Haji Mohd Ali Rustam as saying “It is easy to become a Malay”:

Easy to become a Malay, says MB

Kota Kinabalu: Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Haji Mohd Ali Rustam said a person who is a Muslim, converses in Malay and follows the Malay traditions is considered a Malay.

“It is easy to become a Malay, ” he told a Press conference after Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman opened the Dunia Muslim Dunia Islam (DMDI) seminar, here, Saturday.

Elaborating on why Musa had said that more than 50 per cent of the State’s nearly three million population are Malays, Mohd Ali, who is also DMDI president, said:

“Even if that person is Chinese or Indian or Kadazan,if they are Muslim or have converted, converse in Malay and follow the Malay tradition, then they are Malays.”

“The Kadazans if they are a Muslim, we considered them as Malays, and if they have not embraced Islam, they are Bumiputeras. It is easy to become a Malay.”

Present were Sabah Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Yahya Hussin, Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Masidi Manjun and Sabah State Secretary Datuk KY Mustafa.

Also present were Indonesian Governor of Riau Province Rusli Zainal, Governor of Riau Archipelago Province Ismeth Abdullah, Governor of Bangka Belitung Province Syamsudin B and Malacca State Secretary Datuk Wira Ismail Salleh.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 1:54 pm

Wonderful, instant cafe practice: all non-Malays who are discriminated under the current pro-Malay policies and practices should voluntarily become instant Malays to reap the benefits of Malays.

2. #2 by azk on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 1:59 pm

THis dude is a disgrace to his own race..

3. #3 by mendela on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 2:07 pm

I saw his half page AAB wedding conglatulate advertisement on Sin Chiu 2 days ago with his big picture attached too.

Wonder who is paying for the advertisement costs?
    Guess it must be rakyat money!
    Is he tried to show the Chinese readers that he is buddy to AAB?

4. #4 by humanly on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 2:32 pm

I speak English, wear Western clothes, know the works of Shakespeare, Charles Dickens than Chinese classics. I don’t speak and write in Mandarin. Neither do I eat with chopsticks but with fork and spoon. Does that make me an Englishman?

Anyone say I am not Chinese, I will spit on his face.

5. #5 by Cinnamon on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 2:54 pm

These are the politicians who don’t know the difference between race, religion and mother tongue languages. I agree with AZK, these people are disgrace to their own race.

I mean no offence to Indian Muslims, but many of them play this game, although from their completion is clear that their are Indians, but in front of Malays they will not talk Tamil and they try to be more Malay than Malays themselves.
    Some of them are also strong man in UMNO.

Congratulations to these Indian Muslims, you are smart, and to my Malay friends, my sympathies, don’t you know the difference between race and religion?

6. #6 by Taikotai on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 3:20 pm

Ahamdulilah, adakah ini bermaksud saya boleh membeli sebuah rumah dengan bumiputera diskaun?

What would happen if someone say “It is equally easy to be a chinese, just go buy cha-siew-bao and eat it.”

7. #7 by FuturePolitician on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 3:25 pm

this is stupid.. i dont know how to …this is stupid..dont want to waste energy trying to comment on ..stupid remarks.

I dont understand..why do BN field stupid politicians..it is better to keep your silence if you dont understand the subject..

stupid..

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 3:38 pm

If Mohd Ali Rustam were to be believed, then the Malay race is only one in the world to which other races can enter and be assimilated just by fulfilling the 3 constitutional criteria of (1) converting to Islam, (2) conversing in Malay and (3) following the Malay tradition.

Whilst the whole world defines race based on anthropological terms, our’s is the only one based on legal and constitutional terms: isn’t this odd? Also, is it a soft and subterranean approach at assimilation of other races based on the reward of “special privileges”? Rustam’s suggestion is against the grain of Bangsa Malaysia and celebration of diversity.

There are three other problems:

First not many – even those who covet to partake in special privileges – are convinced about the truth of what Rustam says, at ground level. Ask The Malaysian Indian Muslim Congress (KIMMA). It passed a motion in September 2005 at its 30th annual general meeting seeking the government to give Malay status to Indian Muslims born in the country. The contents of the eight-point motion stated amongst others : “The Indian Muslims adopt the three elements but still cannot get the Malay status. If there is a problem in doing so, at least give the Bumiputera status as is being done to the Portuguese”.

Perhaps KIMMA should ask whether its Indian muslims members follow Malay tradition – but what is Malay tradition? Is dressing and image part of tradition? Should the convert wear baju melayu, songkok, tudung and not pelikat sarongs and business shirts as many Indian Muslims do, and if so how often? There is a problem here because many Malays also don western dress, jeans, shirts and trousers with neither songkok or tudung, and if they do that all the time, are they considered having failed one of the three constitutional criteria and if so what becomes of them if not considered a Malay? These are some of the problems associated with defining race based on constitutional terms. (The absurdity is reflected in what Humanly and Taikotai said above).

Second, it will be a double whammy cost for the opportunist to convert to avail himself to Malay privileges and then find the reality on the ground that he is not treated, as KIMMA testifies, as a Malay and could not after conversion exit Islam as the drift of recent court cases evince.

Third, it is also questionable whether “special privileges” are a lure to many people – especially capable people who are not opportunistic in outlook, could stand on their own and with a mindset free to receive the cross winds of the Globalised World – given the debilitating effects of subsidies and reverse discrimination incidental from the crutch of affirmative policies. It is ironical that just when even the previous and present premier have urged the Malays to dispense with the crutches, other races are told by Rustam to become a Malay for the reward of the crutches!

9. #9 by FuturePolitician on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 3:44 pm

The Kadazans if they are a Muslim, we considered them as Malays, and if they have not embraced Islam, they are Bumiputeras. It is easy to become a Malay
    ———–
    looks like there is a new status besides “bumiputera status” ..

Is it a “malay status” on the way?

Somehow i got an ill feeling after AAB takes over..its 1stMalay, 2ndMalaysian..

10. #10 by izrafeil on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 4:00 pm

would Jeanne become Malay and be accorded all the Bumiputera status?

11. #11 by anakbaram on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 4:22 pm

Why would anyone be willing to stoop so low as to deny their own racial origin in order to get the benifit as a citizen, which by right should be theirs in the first place. Why become a Malay?

Not only that, if a person can become a Malay so easily, what is the worth of becoming one? In other words anyone can become a Malay. Anyone; A Kadazan, an Iban, an Eskimo, a Red Indian a Maori, a Pariah, anyone !!! That is what I understand from that statement. So why bother becoming a Malay? It’s so cheap!

Anyone who is willing to bend over backward at this cost for financial gain, fame, power or any temporal objective is dispictable. He is not worthy to be a person leave alone to be a Minister; A Chief Minister at that. If this stupidity is done in other countries there would be riots on the street, resignation of the person concerned. What does he think he is doing? SHAME SHAME SHAME

12. #12 by Educator on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 5:10 pm

Why become a Malay when you are a bumiputra? Is there any difference in privileges between a Malay-bumiputra and other bumiputras?

13. #13 by pwcheng on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 5:46 pm

This is a journey of no return. When such things are being muttered so often, how can there be unity. All those that are done in the name of unity are superfluous and a total waste of the peoples’ money.
    To be realistic, the nons are facing an acute dilemma. They have the power now and they will do what they want and say what they want. There isn’t much that you can do!!! They have all the firepower and they had displayed it with the Mongolian girl. The nons are practically defenceless and at their mercy. I hope somebody can dispute this.

14. #14 by k1980 on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 5:55 pm

Well, this explains why non-muslim spouses are unable to obtain citizenship in this country despite being married to malaysians for up to 50 years…. on the other hand, muslim indonesians, filipinos, mamaks, khmers, rohingas and arabs get bumi status the moment they set foot in malaysian soil, despite the fact that they are aliens in the true sense of the word… malaysia memang boleh

15. #15 by RadicalScope on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 6:02 pm

He’s nuts. Being a member of a religion, speaking the language, and following the custom/tradition does not and cannot change a person’s racial identity. He must be delirious/feverish/brain dead at the time. Being a Muslim myself, such statement goes against the code of the religion itself. If by being a Muslim deprives people of their racial identity, then there is no such thing as a Malay race; we should be called Arabs.

And as anakbaram had pointed, such statement shows how worthless being a Malay is (FYI, I’m born a Malay). The Japanese would laugh at us if they heard about this. Trust me, if you go and stay in Japan for a few decades, married a Japanese, speak Japanese language, eat sushi 24/7, goes to a Shinto shrine, change your name to a Japanese name, etc, all you will ever be is a subject of ridicule.

His statement is a statement that will bring down any efforts of multi-racial integration. In fact, it is an insult not only to the Malays and other races, but also non-Malay Muslim converts.

16. #16 by cherasusie on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 6:17 pm

the council of sultans should summon him and give him a ear full………

next time some fools will tickle us by saying the name ali is reserved for chauffeur……..

adam should be sent to gas chamber……. very x’tian name lah……..

gila!

17. #17 by TalkisCheap on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 6:23 pm

Any Race can choose its own Religion.
    But Religion cannot choose its own Race…..

Talk is Cheap… Mr. Chief Minister, Datuk Seri Haji Mohd Ali Rustam.

18. #18 by cherasusie on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 6:30 pm

i have seen with my own eyes in sarawak 10 over years ago, there were malays with full muslim names but bracket (christian)

i wonder they still allow this?

god day.

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 7:03 pm

Did anyone mention that you ‘d need to be circumcised to be a Malay? Or is it implicit in the definition since a Malay is also a Muslim. What of the bumiputeras? Are we not creating a sub-class of bumiputeras i.e. the circumcised ones as against those who are not?

Are we about to expand Article 160(2) of the Federal Malaysian Constitution?

When are these mentally bankrupt politicians and walking stroke victims going to stop toying with our minds?

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 7:31 pm

“Cheap things are not good, good things are not cheap.” – Chinese Proverb.

and hence, the logic follows…….

If it is so easy to become a Malay, then Malay must not be good.

Is that what you’re saying mr minister?

21. #21 by LittleBird on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 7:31 pm

Malay is defined by the Federal Constitution, so it is actually easy for anyone to become one. In fact, I think many Malays may not be malays when they habitually speak English, dress and eat western.

But then it is an issue for Malays. I am sure one would not like to hear comments whether one is Chinese or Indian for whatever reasons.

Wise to keep away from certain topics to preserve the harmony we enjoy so far.

22. #22 by grace on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 8:41 pm

Be a muslim, speak Bahasa Malaysia and follow malays custom, you are by definition a Malay! How simple it is! But would they enjoy the goodies that Malays are?

23. #23 by RadicalScope on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 8:52 pm

you know, malay people can be a bit racist (haha, imagine that coming from a Malay). ever heard your malay friend calls someone “mat saleh celup” just because that chap likes to speak in english? what mr ali rustam didn’t realize is that if a non-malay did what he claimed to be the pre-requisites of being a malay, he will be made an object of ridicule by none other than malays! they will all go “melayu celup! melayu celup!” until one of them drop dead (just exaggerating).

somebody mentioned that “Malays” are defined by the constitution, right? can someone explain to me which part of the constitution covers that part? you can e-mail it to me ([email protected]).

24. #24 by kallawar on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 9:01 pm

Nowadays a Malay doesn’t mean that he/she is muslim. Alhamdulillah means Thank God (ALLAH). If a Chinese/Indian is a Muslim than Alhamdulillah will be meaningful to him/her. Why are non-Malays arguing about the benefits for Malays. Malaysia belongs to Malays and whoever knows how to respect them. I am an Indian converted to Muslim. Almost all Malays are Muslims unless they converted. Muslim teachings tell them to be grateful with what God (Allah) have given them. That is why you see most Malays have a decent lifestyle…enough to support them and family. They don’t care if the Chinese/Indians are making tons and tons of money by making use of them. They just want a simple life. In the old days Chinese are better traders than Malays. Today they have the economy…what more do they want?? Just find your goldmine and respect them (Malay). You got rich because the Malays let you do so… If the Malays can respect you sincerely until you con them or cheat them… why can’t you just respect their benefits…. . Don’t make them feel that you want to conquer because they know. These matters should be put to rest. Live in peace people. Follow the rules. Those who bring up this topic to argue are those who is not grateful… greedy for power.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 9:13 pm

Article 160(2) of our Federal Constitution defines various terms used in the Constitution including, amongst others, “Malay” which (to quote) “means a person who professes the religion of Islam, habitually speaks the Malay language, conforms to Malay custom and –

(a) was before Merdeka Day born in the Federation or in Singapore or born of parents one of whom was born in the Federation or in Singapore, or is on that day domiciled in the Federation or in Singapore; or

(b) is the issue of such a person;…”(unquote)

Please note that (a) and (b) merely cover additional requirement of the person to be also a Malaysian citizen or an issue (child) of a Malaysian citizen.

26. #26 by Donald on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 9:22 pm

ya allah ! ya tuhan kuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu !
    Kenapa dato’ ini bodoh sangaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat ?

But one thing we have to thank him for, is he is dead honest, except for a little part and that is not all
    “”” Malays “”” have all the privileges of a “”” Malay “”””. Whether it is pure “””” Melayu “””” or not pure
    “”” Melayu “””.

And now the “”” Malays “”” are repeating history without themselves knowing it. And we are being fooled by the mass media into thinking that we are all equals.

And this is why Indonesians, Filipinos, Thais, Burmese, Vietnamese, and many others are welcomed in, except the Chineses.

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 9:47 pm

Kallawar, what are you talking about that “Malaysia belongs to Malays and whoever knows how to respect them” or “that you got rich because the Malays let you do so…”??????? Do you also consider yourself a Malay by article 160(2) of the Federal Constitution that I cited above or a “melayu celup” as Radical Scope said???

28. #28 by humanly on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 10:44 pm

Kallawar, don’t be so subservient. If you believe in God/Allah, no one is created to be a slave to any lord or race.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 10:50 pm

I stand corrected, if wrong, but what I think Kallawar is really talking about is that there is and will be peace and opportunity for all to make a living provided the realities of Malay majority rule and Malay-Muslim political hegemony (by preservation and perpetuation of special privileges) and primacy or supremacy of the Official religion are accepted with humility and sincerity.

30. #30 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 10:52 pm

To Kallawar:
    There is nothing wrong with wanting a simple life. No one is stopping the Malay to do so. However, if they wanna lead a simple life by leeching on others’ hard work, then those who are being leeched on would hav something to say.
    If you agree with what your own “theory” then if you were to come to my house, I hav the right to smack you in the head because you are in my house and I permit you to take shelter under my roof.
    Whatmore, in this case, Malays, Indians, Chinese, Kadazans, Dayaks and other built this house together. Yet, the Malays who thinks that they are master of all come and slap everyone with their superiority complex.
    And FYI (For Your Ignorance), the Chinese did not get rich because Malays let us be. It is because the Malays were too lazy to work so the Chinese took them up. Still remember how so many Malays who were given FREE FELDA land to work on but many sold them off to the Chinese instead for quick profit? The Chinese worked hard to cultivate the land while the Malays got rich quick and spent them all even quicker. Then the Malays revert back to the poor life, condemned the Chinese for being richer and held out their hand for more handouts. I would call that begging.
    and you say that the Chinese cheat the Malays. Well, show us some proof of your sweeping statement. I do not deny that there are many unscrupulous Chinese out there but dare you say that there are no such unscrupulous Malays? Dare you say that this country which has been ruled by the NEP is squeeky clean?
    If you do not agree with what I say, then I welcome you to come to my house. I will be waiting for you with a big stick.

31. #31 by DiaperHead on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 11:13 pm

“Be a muslim, speak Bahasa Malaysia and follow malays custom, you are by definition a Malay!” Grace

Must you also be circumcised to be a Malay since a Malay is also a Muslim?? If you’re not a man, must you also be circumcised?

32. #32 by 4th_wife on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 11:37 pm

Is easy to be one for sure, all you need is a “y” and bring it to the word “Malas” and get it, right? No one will get it wrong.

33. #33 by Jonny on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:26 am

a malay muslim can never be a buddhist malay? Christian Malay? atheist malay?

How about malays which goes to dukuns, tok bomohs?

isn’t these against the quran teachings?

with general election coming, guess a lot of muslims by name in umno are queuing up at their favourite tok bomohs for sure-win advices.

sigh … often times, the kampung people are more muslim than the ones who dishes and executes the rules.

34. #34 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:29 am

“Malaysia belongs to Malays and whoever knows how to respect them.” kallawar

What do you mean by respect them? I respect some of my Malay friends because they stand on their own and I disrespect most Chinese because they think they are more intelligent than the Malay. I also look down on those boneless Malays who take everything for granted, the same I will treat him if he is a Chinese. Respect? Earned it than talk.

35. #35 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:33 am

Dang! Some malay ministers and whatever crap they dished out on malay local dramas will show u how Un-malay these fellas are. They neither dress nor speak Bahasa Malaysia properly. So whilst one can be a malay by virtue of speaking and dressing up, can it be said the same that a malay can become a non-malay just by not speaking and dressing up as one? It shld be both ways rite? Another dumb Hotel California rules? You can check in anytime u like but u can never leave?

36. #36 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:40 am

“Muslim teachings tell them to be grateful with what God (Allah) have given them. That is why you see most Malays have a decent lifestyle…” Kallawar

Mr Kallawar, what you meant is our religion didn’t teach us how to be grateful, other than the muslims most of we the infidels are either commiting sins all over by not having a decent lifestyle. I felt that you are in the same league like the Perak Mufti, Harussani Zakaria. More people like you will definitely destroy Malaysia.

37. #37 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:42 am

“They just want a simple life.” Kallawar

People of simple life don’t stop other people from believeing in other religions. That is most simple.

38. #38 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:45 am

“Just find your goldmine and respect them (Malay). You got rich because the Malays let you do so… If the Malays can respect you sincerely until you con them or cheat them… why can’t you just respect their benefits…. .” Kallawar

Unbelievable.

39. #39 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:56 am

“Don’t make them feel that you want to conquer because they know.” Kallawar

How to make them (malay) feels we are not going to conquer them when we are not and never had that intention at all, what is there to be conquer anyway? And you said they knew we want to conquer them. Seriously Mr Kallawar, you are not being realistic if not your reality must a disillussion caused by being an Indian and a muslim living in Malaysia all at the same time, it may be a recipe for disater as well, lucky you are not in the MIC. Talk less and listen more.

40. #40 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:59 am

“These matters should be put to rest. Live in peace people. Follow the rules. Those who bring up this topic to argue are those who is not grateful… greedy for power.” Kallawar

Simple hopeless.

41. #41 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 1:15 am

“I stand corrected, if wrong, but what I think Kallawar is really talking about is that there is and will be peace and opportunity for all to make a living provided the realities of Malay majority rule and Malay-Muslim political hegemony (by preservation and perpetuation of special privileges) and primacy or supremacy of the Official religion are accepted with humility and sincerity.” Jeffrey

Uncle Kit, with due respect you should seek to clarify the above statement by Jeffrey when Parliament reconvenes next Monday. I am worry about the humility and sincerity part. Judging by what Mr Kallawar said, I am afraid I don’t know how to react when I see a Malay on the street.

42. #42 by justiciary on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 1:35 am

Kallawar you are very ignorant and I think you are also spineless.Many people convert to Islam for selfish and personal gain and I assume you are one of them.You said that Chinese became rich because of the mercy given by the Malays.But you ignored the fact that the Chinese are more hardworking and resilient.They can survive anywhere.Not like some people who are so boneless that they cannot stand on their own feet and have to resort to religious conversion.Again please don’t make sweeping statement.Many Chinese are poor too.They have lived in this land for hundreds of years .(You can find them in Kelantan,Penang and Malacca).Yet they are not bumis.They are more qualified as bumis compared to the Indon ,Pakistan,Myamar and Filipino immigrants.Wake up Kallawar.People like you are disuniting the country and will wreck our future.

43. #43 by Godamn Singh on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 1:54 am

Don’t worry. Kallawar or bat is a passing troll.

44. #44 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:48 am

TDM said that Malays will become non-Malays when they leave Islam and Rustam Ali spoke of the converse that non-Malays would become Malays when they beome Muslims, and observe the other two requirements as stated in article 160(2). Rustum Ali is testing the reaction of UMNO chiefs. His political future would depend on what they think.

If Rustum Ali’s opinion is accepted by UMNO, and if UMNO accepts the newly-defined Malays as their members, then they would potentially be more Malays comes the next population census.If that definition is accepted, the basis for article 153 would cease because the reason for that Article was based on the situation of the Malays at the time the Federal Constitution was drawn up. The continued relevant and application of that article was because of the claim by UMNO that Malays,[the descendents of the original Malays existing at the time of Independence],
    have not caught up with non-Malays. The NewMalays were not envisaged under the said article 153, and should therefore not be entitled to that special provilege. Moreover since the sources of Malays have been expanded, it would be unfair to the non-Malays when NewMalays are accorded the special privilege.

45. #45 by RGRaj on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:07 am

masuk Islam = masuk Melayu

46. #46 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:58 am

still another case of quantity over quality. finding new ways to increase their numbers regardless if those becoming malays r scholars or gangsters.
    seems like making e malay race a cheap race can be tolerated by true malays. a sad thing to know.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:07 am

..//…. If Rustum Ali’s opinion is accepted by UMNO, and if UMNO accepts the newly-defined Malays as their members, then they would potentially be more Malays comes the next population census…..If that definition is accepted, the basis for article 153 would cease…//… – Loh

I wonder how would that be so!

In the first place, Rustum Ali’s definition does not newly define Malays since article 160(2) of the Federal Constitution already defines Malays upon such terms. “Potentially more Malays” from expanded sources does not imply that non Malays do not still exist in substantial numbers.

For so long as that is so, if it were a valid assumption that the political objective of Rustum Ali’s definition was to use the carrot and incentive of the special privileges under article 153 to entice others to convert and masuk Islam/Melayu and to stay and remain as such, in continuous expansion of the Ummah (Muslim Brotherhood) and by this process of assimilation, resolve the long term problems of race and the differences in culture and religion amongst different communities in this country, there is no basis for article 153 to cease……….

If there were to come a time in the distant future if (theoretically) all non Malays have become Malay via constitutional definition in article 160(2), then, as what RadicalScope speculated in his post of June 11th, 2007 at 8:52 pm above, a distinction might be drawn between “melayu asal” and “melayu celup” wherein the former would be entitled to expanded privileges and the latter, either none or the abridged version. In either cases article 153 would not cease but perhaps expanded by amendment with articles 153(A) for “Melayu Asal” and 153(B) for “Melayu Celup”.

48. #48 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:15 am

It’s so easy to steal, too.

49. #49 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 9:21 am

Rustam is getting RUSTyyyyy. Go and rot!

50. #50 by teckwyn on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 9:35 am

Jeffrey makes a false claim regarding Article 160(2) (a) and (b). He said “Please note that (a) and (b) merely cover additional requirement of the person to be also a Malaysian citizen or an issue (child) of a Malaysian citizen”. This is not true.

The additional clauses specify people who were born or resided in Malaya (the Peninsula) or Singapore prior to 31 August 1957 and their descendants. Therefore Sabahans cannot “become” Malays in the way Ali Rustam is claiming. Indeed, going by the constitutional definition, most of Sabah’s Muslim “Bumiputra” cannot be considered to be Malay. This is also true in Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Labuan.

It is also clear that recent immigrants from Indonesia, Philippines, etc. cannot “become” Malays either. Indeed, even ethnic Malays from Riau (i.e. the true anthropological Malays) cannot be considered to be “Malays” under our legal definition if they are recent arrivals in Malaysia.

Conversely, citizens of foreign countries who have never even visited Malaysia could be considered to be “Malays” if they have at least one ancestor born in Malaya or Singapore (even if that ancestor was ethnically Chinese, Indian, Anglo-Saxon or whatever). Of course, the other conditions (religion, language, traditions) would also have to be met.

51. #51 by Freddy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:08 am

hahaha …. since long ago, i had always emphasised that ‘ketuanan melayu’ is a misnomer and that ‘ketuanan islam’ is apt.

didn’t i say long ago that it is easy to become a malay?

so, what’s new and why got so worked up over this issue?

52. #52 by rayden on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:21 am

The Malays have a saying: lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama

Have they ever forgotten that it was the combine effort of our multi-racial that make today’s Malaysia?

Why does he have to say this?
    Is he trying to tell that it’s much more beneficial to convert to Malays?

Just because u Malay outnumber our non-Bumiputra, doesnt mean that we will convert just for the sake of this so-call beneficial.

Reminder: Malay doesnt own this land,Bumiputra does.

53. #53 by sotong on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:40 am

Decades of bad leadership had created a misguided sense of arrogance, pride and entitlement.

There is no strong encouragement to work hard to develop one’s characters and to contribute positively to the country economy to create real, rewarding and meaningful jobs for the people.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:40 am

Who can fault him? That’s what the Constitution says.

55. #55 by sotong on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:52 am

Rampant corruption, gross excesses and abuses, increase crime, gross financial incompetent, inefficient and ineffective administration and more………our country is run by politicians and bureaucrats.

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:58 am

teckwyn,

The intent of (a) and (b) of article 160(2) was to cover citizens. However article 160(2) was promulgated in the Federal Constitution in 1957 prior to Sabah and Sarawak joining Malaysia in 1963 and hence, in unamended form, has not covered Sarawakian and Sabahan Malaysian citizens, which it ought to, there being no rational reason (at least to me) why a Malaysian Chinese or Indian citizen in Peninsular fulfilling constitutional criteria of converting to Islam, conversing in Malay and following the Malay tradition could constitutionally be treated as a ‘Malay’ whilst Sabahan and Sarawakians bumiputras could not. Perhaps no one thought of amending article 160(2) when Sabah and Sarawak joined Malaysia because this did not appear a big issue (until Rustam’s recent declaration). Whatever the reason, you are right technically in constitutional terms that the wordings of (a) and (b) of Article 160(2) do not cover those before Merdeka Day (or Malaysia day) as the case may be, born in Sabah or Sarawak or born of parents one of whom was born in Sabah or Sarawak or is on that day domiciled in Sabah or Sarawak, as it should otherwise be the case. Thanks for the correction.

57. #57 by rhematek on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:13 pm

My defination of kallawar:- a long lost cousin of the fruit bat ( kelawar ) from another country. Same characteristic of the malaysian kelawar…blind…but the kallawar species is both blind and deaf. Kallawar we are awaiting your confirmation on this.

58. #58 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 12:33 pm

Let’s apply some negative logic, shall we? If the 3 criterias needed to be malay are:
    1. Be muslim, AND,
    2. Speak malay, AND,
    3. embrace/practise malay culture, THEN
    it stands to logic that the non-fulfilment of any one or all of them would mean you are not malay.

So, then why the hullaballo about Lina Joy? She is not malay because she professes to be christian, not muslim, and, does not practise the malay culture because she co-habitates with her boyfriend.

Hisap-muddin is not malay because he does not practise the malay culture. The malay culture doe not condone violence or threats to its neighbors.

Anwar is not malay because he cannot be considered muslim. Why, you may ask. Because he was convicted of homosexuality which is both abhorrent to islam & the malay culture.

Mahathir cannot be a malay. Because he bore false witness against Anwar, thus nullfying his muslim status.

See where I’m going? Ali Rustam has been proven with his statements to be illogical & a down right idiot.

59. #59 by mangodurian on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 1:50 pm

Let’s see, if all Chinese, Indians dan lain-lain (dll)
    1. convert to Islam
    2. appear to speak Malay
    3. ‘practices’ Malay traditions (what does this mean? Eat rendang every day?),

then Malaysia will be 100% Malay – and finally we will be a homogenous and presumable harmonious and fair society. No more BN, no more MCA, no more MIC, no more UMNO.

If that’s the case, what are you waiting for? Let’s do it!

… Oh of course, after that we will have different privileges for Melayu-Coklat, Melayu-Kuning, Melayu-Hitam … and Melayu-dll.

60. #60 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:09 pm

This is a Malay as defined in our constitution:-

“Malay” means a person who professes the religion of Islam, habitually speaks the Malay language, conforms to Malay custom and –
    (a) was before Merdeka Day born in the Federation or in
    Singapore or born of parents one of whom was born in the
    Federation or in Singapore, or is on that day domiciled in the
    Federation or in Singapore; or
    (b) is the issue of such a person;

61. #61 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:24 pm

Other in teresting parts of the constitution:-

Article number: 3
    • (1) Islam is the religion of the Federation; but other religions may be practised in peace and harmony in any part of the Federation.

Article number: 4
    • (1) This Constitution is the supreme law of the Federation and any law passed after Merdeka Day which is inconsistent with this Constitution shall, to the extent of the inconsistency, be void.

Article number: 8
    • (1) All persons are equal before the law and entitled to the equal protection of the law.
    • (2) Except as expressly authorized by this Constitution, there shall be no discrimination against citizens on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law relating to the acquisition, holding or disposition of property or the establishing or carrying on of any trade, business, profession, vocation or employment.
    • (3) There shall be no discrimination in favour of any person on the ground that he is a subject of the Ruler of the State.
    • (4) No public authority shall discriminate against any person on the ground that he is resident or carrying on business in any part of the Federation outside the jurisdiction of the authority.

Article number: 11
    (1) Every person has the right to profess and practice his religion and, subject to Clause (4), to propagate it.
    (2) No person shall be compelled to pay any tax the proceeds of which are specially allocated in whole or in part for the purposes of a religion other than his own.
    • (3) Every religious group has the right –
    o (a) to manage its own religious affairs;
    o (b) to establish and maintain institutions for religious or charitable
    purposes; and
    o (c) to acquire and own property and hold and administer it in accordance with law.
    • (4) State law and in respect of the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur and Labuan, federal law may control or restrict the propagation of any religious doctrine or belief among persons professing the religion of Islam.
    • (5) This Article does not authorize any act contrary to any general law relating to public order, public health or morality.

62. #62 by Toyol on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:25 pm

In Bolehland, the Malays are a joke in the Muslim world. My Arab friends like to poke fun and criticize the mentality of our dominant race and I can’t help but agree with them! The sad thing is that they comprise the government and so our country’s image is also tarnished.

63. #63 by Billy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:26 pm

You know, for all its worth that I may not enjoy the privileges like my Malay brethrens, I have always considered myself so so so lucky to be born a Chinese and not a Malay. I have been blessed with the “hard work” mentality, the art of survival, strong business acumen, the freedom of choice and freedom from being spied upon. I can eat what I want, when I want and always feel enjoy the presence of my many friends without making them feel uncomfortable of my religious dos and don’ts. What more can I ask? Would I want to be a Malay (with no offense to my Malay friends)? Thanks, but no thanks.

64. #64 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:32 pm

kallawar pointed an interesting point. FYI, this land we call Malaysia (pronounced as MALAY-SI-A = “malay go die”) belongs to the Orang Asli, Kadazan, Iban, Murut, Dusun, etc. why? because the arly malay settlers were indebted to them. parameswara, the leader of the malay settlers got help from the orang ulu, a tribe of Orang Asli, to establish the kingdom of melaka. those people were the ones who helped parameswara defend his kingdom. that was in the 14-15th century. fast forward to 2007, they were not allowed to have medical benefit unless they become muslim, and they don’t even have half the rights malays (who were indebted to their ancestors) have. compare that to the land rights that makes the red indian of the US were granted with.

65. #65 by hang tuah on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 3:11 pm

it is easy to become a “bastard”

– anyone who are corrupted
    – anyone who are hypocrite
    – anyone who rob from the rakyat of wealth and land
    – anyone who speak without brain
    – anyone who are racist
    – anyone who work to lined their own pocket
    – anyone who issued ic to illegal immigrant
    – anyone who misused their power for personal gain
    – anyone who talk like the clowns in parliament

but mind u, religion is not a criteria.

being a “bastard” seem to be easier.

shake head………

66. #66 by [dele5edscrtls on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 3:36 pm

Its “bat” people like Kellawar that makes the non malays sick to their stomach…[deleted]

67. #67 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 3:48 pm

If we consider the rationale for Article 153 as to provide level playing field for Malays,then the need for that Article was dependent on the situations Malays were in at the time the constitution was drawn up. It was to be for 15 years initially and subject to review. The review should be on the situation of the descendents of the Malays who had been in the country since 1957. The Malays then knew who Malays were, and Article 160(2) existed at that time served to describe the common denominations of Malays, and I believe it was not intended to arrange for entry of NewMalays.

If Article 153 is viewed as a compensation package for a known community who became a beneficiary to a contract, then the beneficiaries could include the descendents but certainly not persons who are similarly classified to the same “race”.

If Article 153 is to be amended to include a seperate category of “Malay Celup” as suggested, that suggestion says that “MalayCelup” should not automatically be entitled to the same benefits as Malay tulin would. Hence the basis for Article as it stands fails.

68. #68 by sotong on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:06 pm

Some politicians gave you the impression they are speaking on behalf of ordinary Malays….but they do not. Ordinary Malays are not like them.

There are many views to improve the country to benefit all. But the bumi, including the real Malays, culture and traditions and their way of life must be fully protected to maintain the country’s uniqueness for the benefit of generations to come.

69. #69 by Billy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:15 pm

Just to add on to Izrafeil posting. Jeanne Danker is not a Malay. She was born a Catholic to a Catholic family [of Portuguese descent]. Unless she has surrendered her baptismal and confirmation certificates to the Church, she is still technically a Catholic although she may claimed to be a Muslim by virtue of her marriage to two Muslim husbands. This is something she cannot ignore. Therefore, she continues to bear the genes (pardon the pun) of a Portuguese rather than a Malay. But what about our so-called first family. Are they Malays? Truly Malays, I mean. Let’s start with the PM. He has Chinese blood who got married to a woman [the late Endon] who had Japanese blood in her. So what does that make Nori and her brother? Then, Nori went on to marry a Bugis in the famous SIL. So what does that make their off-springs? Now the PM who has Chinese blood in him, married a lady with Portuguese blood, and if they have children, what is to be made of them? So can a not so pure Malay holds the position of a PM? Finally, will the real Malays stand up and be counted. The whole of UMNO is so rojak that one just doesn’t know when to begin.
    But one good thing came out of the above. The Eurasians who have always been getting the rotten end of the stick now have their own representative at the very top of the government. So to all the de Costas, de Silvas, de Souzas, Pintos, Santa Marias, de Witts, Fernandezs and of course, the Dankers, CONGRATULATIONS! You all finally made it!

70. #70 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:39 pm

“So to all the de Costas, de Silvas, de Souzas, Pintos, Santa Marias, de Witts, Fernandezs and of course, the Dankers, CONGRATULATIONS! You all finally made it!” Billy

HAHAHA… CONGRATULATIONS!

71. #71 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:41 pm

According to our constitution as copied above, PM is a Malay, by virtue of the fact that he is the offspring of a Malay. And so his children will also be Malay as they are offspring of a Malay. What the other half is doen not matter. No quetion of the degree of purity is called for in teh definition of being a Malay.

72. #72 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 6:02 pm

by virtue of the fact that he’s an offspring of a malay, right?

based on which side, may i ask? the mom’s or the dad’s? in my case, my grandad is an indian, married to a malay woman, and got a child, that is my dad. my dad married a malay woman, and got me. if it is based on the mom’s race, then my dad and me are malays. if it’s based on the father’s side, then both me and my dad are indians. if it’s purely on the basis of race; that is as long as you marry a malay your infant becomes a malay, i’d say that that’s a screwed up law.

73. #73 by slashed on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 6:39 pm

The ironic thing is that the malay culture itself is fast dissipating in the light of social globalisation. Look around you, can we genuine say that the malay youngsters act and dress like malays? Most malays probably do not know genuine Malay traditions. I am a chinese and I am willing to admit that I do not know alot about Chinese traditions. So in a strange twist, a malay is a person born to malay parents, but he does not need to act malay – but a ‘new’ malay has to be ‘more’ malay then he does. LOL

Basing the characterisation of a Race (as a legal definition) on such vague terms is surely difficult. Is there a definition for malay tradition in the constitution? If not, what use is that term for surely it leads to a arbitrary value judgment.

74. #74 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 6:55 pm

( Billy Says:June 12th, 2007 at 2:26 pm)
    ‘You know, for all its worth that I may not enjoy the privileges like my Malay brethrens, I have always considered myself so so so lucky to be born a Chinese and not a Malay. I have been blessed with the “hard work” mentality, the art of survival, strong business acumen, the freedom of choice and freedom from being spied upon. I can eat what I want, when I want and always feel enjoy the presence of my many friends without making them feel uncomfortable of my religious dos and don’ts. What more can I ask? Would I want to be a Malay (with no offense to my Malay friends)? Thanks, but no thanks.’

And some more….. freedom to find the truth….the choice of religion……not like the poor LINA JOY….

75. #75 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:07 pm

I don’t understand why people want to be Malays, Chinese or Indians.
    I just want to be a free individual who lives the way he wants, believes what he wants and not have others breathing down his neck telling him what to do and what not to do.

I just want to be left alone and not have anyone tell me the meaning of freedom, its responsibility and its constitutional limitations etc. No thank you, I can think for myself.

I certainly do not need charity.

76. #76 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:03 pm

///In either cases article 153 would not cease but perhaps expanded by amendment with articles 153(A) for “Melayu Asal” and 153(B) for “Melayu Celup”.///

Malayu Celup were non-Malays before they became Muslims. There were not considered pesons who needed support before they became Muslims, they could not be thought to have been weakened as to require support after becoming muslims. Hence the basis for Article 153 would fail if they were included for the benefits of that article. The ability to succeed in life is the responsibility of individuals personally. A community with its voting strength succeeded in demanding concession for the community. It would be unreasonable to demand similar concession for an extended commnity. Again voting strength would again ensure that Newmalays enjoy exactly the same special privileges which should have ended decades ago. I realise this is a discussion that would have no relevance to BN policies.

77. #77 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:29 pm

But would not the next wave of immigrants make ‘new’ Malays ‘old’ Malays? What’s the point in engaging in such useless rhetoric?

78. #78 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:46 pm

In his speech welcoming the return of the Malaysian expeditionary team to Mt. Everest at KLIA the Information Minister is reported to have referred to the Malays as pirates. Could he be promoting the movie: “Pirates of the Caribbean” ?

Or could he be suggesting that Article 160(2) of our Constitution be amended to include not just people who habitually speak the Malay language, follow Malay customs and profess the Muslim religion but also “people who plunder, rape and rob”?

79. #79 by ZipZap on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 9:50 pm

The last time TDM landed in Sabah he say all the natives of Sabah is of the the same Malay stock……got the que…… this really make me sick. Perhap TDM forget the Orang Sungai, Kadazan, Dusun, Paitan, Suluk etc have their own unique languages and customs. I don’t even want to touch on religion!

Now we have this stupid Malacca CM talking about the 3 ways to be call a “malay”, is down right insulting specially when he made the statement in Sabah.

I think the Sabah State Government should take back the thousand of acres of land in Tawau given to Yayasan Malacca for free and for what! Or do the Malacca State Government give Yayasan Sabah land in Malacca also? May be not quite free after all if you think of all the datukships and JPs dole out to the Sabah “Malay” UMNOputra.

No wonder!! the “Bocor” Kinabatangan YB profess that he is a “malay”. How can you trust a guy who foresake his own Orang Sungai race and language. He should do better to fight for his mother tongue to be thought in School in Kinabatangan area. Shame on him….. his children can’t event speak a word of his own mother tongue.

I am a Sababan and a Malaysian and a damn proud Chinese. In Sabah we don’t need the Malacca CM to teach us how to become a “malay” because they is no malay in Sabah but only the Natives of Sabah.

80. #80 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:41 pm

i agree with undergrad. why bother about race. i want to be “human”. and if you want to know the actual definition of “Malay” or “Melayu”, just ask any of your indonesian friend who speaks javanese. they will agree that “Melayu” means “run away”. if you want to know the details, feel free to email me: [email protected]. hate mails are welcomed, but will not be entertained.

81. #81 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 11:42 pm

“I am a Sababan and a Malaysian and a damn proud Chinese. ”

I am from Selangor. Funny how nobody refers to me as a Selangorian or a Selangorido or a Selangorite.

Is there any difference between saying that you’re “a Sabahan and a Malaysian and a damn proud Chinese” and you’re “a Malaysian from the state of Sabah of Chinese ethnicity”?

82. #82 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 1:29 am

“I certainly do not need charity.” Undergard2

Tired of living in a country where there are more people in needs of charity than good samaritans, but these are not ordinary beggars or the unfortunate ones that genuinely in needs of charity, these are robbers that will rob you in broad daylight.

83. #83 by shiunji on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 5:13 am

lol I still have no idea why it is so important to become ‘Malay’ instead of ‘Malaysian’. People never ask me ‘what race are you?’, just where are you from? and I will ever gladly say Malaysia! Why can’t we be more like the Mauritians?

84. #84 by RGRaj on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 7:45 am

What about the Malays before the advent of Islam into Malaysia?

Don’t tell me they were labelled is Indians because at that time they were Hindus!

85. #85 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 11:28 am

“Or could he be suggesting that Article 160(2) of our Constitution be amended to include not just people who habitually speak the Malay language, follow Malay customs and profess the Muslim religion but also “people who plunder, rape and rob”?” Undergrad2

You forgot one important criteria; “murder”.

86. #86 by maya on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 1:28 pm

Dear Sir,
    Just to add my 2 cents worth. i dont think this is the Chief Minister’s personal opinion. When i attended the 2 day compulsory biro tata negara course, this was told to us repeatedly, that a Malay is defined as someone who is a Muslim, who speaks Malay and who follows the Malay tradition and customs. Then, using the same argument, probably someone of an indian descent is half malay as the Bahasa Melayu has Sanskrit for its root and so much of the traditions are Hindu based. Not that i want to be anything other then who i was born as, but just a thought for some people with superiority complexes to think about…

87. #87 by kalei on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 5:15 pm

yea, its easy, cheap and easy. But the question is, who wants to be a malay anyway?

88. #88 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 6:18 pm

It is not easy to ‘masuk Melayu’ because you’ll need to undergo a painful operation. To many losing the foreskin is like losing a part of your anatomy and the ladies don’t like that!

89. #89 by ryan on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 9:35 pm

UMNO politician can be dumb…but i don’t know that they can be THAT dumb…phatetics.

90. #90 by dawsheng on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 1:11 am

Why can’t Mohd Ali Rustam just say it is easy to be Malaysian? Oh I forgot it is Dunia Muslim Dunia Islam Seminar, I can understand about being a Malay and a muslim but what does that have to do with other races becoming a Malay when they profess Islam as their religion? Are they then not Malaysian anymore? This country is fast falling apart with this kind of statement which it is clearly against the law of nature and the nature of law. What we have here is the evolution of Malay dillemma, this is Malay superiority complex, both problems cannot be solves as long as it is a case of denial. It is kinda freaky don’t you think?

91. #91 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 5:33 am

I hear that Paris Hilton now in jail, when she is released would like to come to Malaysia and be a Malay.

92. #92 by RadicalScope on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 8:28 am

here’s a mail that i received during my absence:

by bro. jamaluddin abu bakar,
    agree with you, buddy..and may I add a little thought.

There is no Malay race…Malay is like a club with certain conditions for entry.
    Accoding to unwritten (but rational) history, long ago there were no Malays in Tanah Melayu. There were only the Orang Asli..the Jakuns, the Senois..Semangs (?)…etc…etc.

Then came the traders and pirates from neighbouring Sumatra, Medan, Aceh and Sulawesi (bear in mind that there was also no Indonesia yet). These people comprise many races including the Bugis of whom the pirate Daeng Parani was among them. Daeng Parani is the ancestor of the current royalties of Johor. Earlier there was also GajahMada, the supreme leader of the Majapahit empire.
    So these people came to Tanah Melayu and settled there and their descendants unified and called themselves Malays. So Malay is actually some kind of organisation or association or club. Therefore it’s not wrong to say it’s easy to become a Malay…all you have to do is follow the membership rules, that is to be a Muslim and speak Bahasa Melayu. That’s it..you are in. But unfortunately their constitution does not provide for equality for Malay members who are Chinese, Indians and other races for their rights to be on par with the descendants of pirates.

It’s almost like the Kadazans of Sabah. Kadazan is a politically created race.
    ————————-

by the way, maya. for your information, many of the intellectual malays who attended biro tatanegara courses called it a “brain-washing session”. you want to know why? BECAUSE IT DOES NOT PROMOTE RACIAL INTEGRATION. IT SOWS RACIAL DISTRUST. IT TELLS MALAYS TO HATE OTHER RACES. and if you actually accept whatever they taught you there, forgive me, but you have something (or a lot of thing) wrong with your brain.

50 years of independence should mean that the country has matured enough to see BEYOND THE BOUNDARIES OF RACE AND RELIGION. somethjing like biro tatanegara is not needed anymore.

93. #93 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 4:49 pm

To many and to the world, the very mention of Malay conjures up the picture of people on crutches, protected species, waiting to be doled out free minimum 30% free equities in any successful corporations in the Malay land, special rights and privileges when coming to government contracts, licences, scholarships, education in University, jobs in GLC, jobs in civil service ….

Nothing to be proud to be Malay if that perception persists, but shamefulness!

94. #94 by bcda on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 11:28 pm

Sounds like it easy to become a gay, but cannot turn back as man anymore. Cos why? its already cut off cannot be sewn & use back.

95. #95 by pongsakling on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 11:40 am

Why we talk about been Malay, Chinese, indian or others is beacuse our BN goverment do not treat all equally. Just imagine, if our BN goverment treat all equally, what will be the different for been Malay, Chinese, Indian or Others.

96. #96 by pamelaoda on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 1:34 pm

With what you ppl written above, if I m a malay, i feel so sick and so hina and I hope I am an ostrich instead!

97. #97 by maya on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 3:55 pm

Dear Radicalscope,
    I thought it was obvious to people that when i referred to biro tata negara course, it was with contempt, and i can vouch about the seed of distrust that they planted in us during the course. I didnt meet any of the intellectual malays you were talking about there,as nobody stood up for us when we, the minority, were made to feel so unwanted. all i met were people who appeared to agree with the content of this really disruptive course, which i had commented on in another issue in this blog. At the end of the day, i felt really isolated and alone, by virtue of my race/religion. All the course did to me, was to help me make up my mind once and for all that never will my children go through this discrimination. And you are right, it was a divide and rule policy by the government. And thankfully, because there is nothing wrong with my brain, i have not come out of the course losing my self esteem and sense of worth. And i sincerely hope that these courses are abolished. infact i had written to uncle Lim to bring this up in the parliament. So, thank you very much, but nothing is wrong with my brain, at least now that i am out of there!

98. #98 by Loh on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 5:48 pm

///There is no Malay race…Malay is like a club with certain conditions for entry.
    Accoding to unwritten (but rational) history, long ago there were no Malays in Tanah Melayu. There were only the Orang Asli..the Jakuns, the Senois..Semangs (?)…etc…etc.///

It is surprising that club members could become very emotional to the extent that they saw fit to have Article 153 initially for 15 years, and now forever. Sometime ago, there was a conference to discuss whether the club would remain on this earth. Since it is not a race, where the population has to depend on birth, the continuation of the club depends on both birth and new entry, the club cannot die easily. The club members need not feel emotional about their possible disappearance as would the members of an engangered specis.

99. #99 by greenacre on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 12:26 am

Undergrad was surprised by the sabahan term. A decade ago in australian university there were among us many malaysians. This guy from sabah (chinese) each time we mention malaysian he will retort that he is Sabahan. I didn’t think of it then but I wonder now? why!

100. #100 by teckwyn on Sunday, 24 June 2007 - 2:25 pm

The DAP SG just issued a statement that: “Malaysians are divided into bumis and non-bumis with special rights for the former determined solely by skin colour and ignoring merit and needs.”

While it is true that merit and need are not the practical determinants, it is not true that “skin colour” plays a key role in the dichotomy. Skin colour is certainly not the sole determinant as stated. This is a grave fallacy that I hope DAP would cease to promulgate.