Welcome Jeff Ooi to DAP – let it be a catalyst for more bloggers to take political stand

Welcome Jeff Ooi to DAP

Welcome, Jeff Ooi, Malaysia’s pre-eminent blogger to DAP and Malaysian politics!

Jeff has created waves in the Malaysian blogosphere. We await a tsunami from him in the political arena.

Jeff’s statement of the reasons for joining the DAP is an eloquent expression of patriotism of a Malaysian, illustrating that patriotism is an integral part of all Malaysians and not the monopoly only of those who hold office or high positions. This makes the 50th Merdeka anniversary particularly significant.

Recently, one political upstart said:

“It is the law of the jungle and we need to take action against one ‘monkey’.

“I think the other ‘monkeys’ will also get scared.

“They are not above the law.”

This upstart was referring to Malaysian blogs. Apart from his loyal following, he will not find much agreement from bloggers.

It is regrettable to see the use of such derogatory language and the debasement in the standard of public discourse.

Many however will agree if his description is applied to public and political life, especially with regard to corruption, crime and public accountability and transparency where the rule of law appears to have been replaced by the law of the jungle.

There will also be considerable agreement as to the identity of such “monkeys” in the law of the jungle of public life and politics.

But will any action be taken against one “monkey” so that the other “monkeys” will also get scared and the country can begin to see the restoration of integrity, efficiency and effectiveness in public and political life?

I do not want to use the “monkey” language but this will be one of the challenges of Jeff Ooi, together with others in the political arena, to fight back the creeping law of the jungle and to restore the rule of law in Malaysian political and public life.

It has been said that Jeff Ooi’s decision to join the Opposition is a loss to blogging.

It should not be so. It should be a gain to both politics and blogging in Malaysia, enriching both.

I will like to see more politicians taking up blogging and more bloggers entering politics.

After all, blogging particularly socio-political blogging is not an end by itself but a means to an end and a time must come when bloggers must decide whether they should “dirty their hands” and make the transition from advocacy of their political ideals in cyberspace to enter the political terrain to be able to directly translate their ideals into action.

There is the perception that politics is dirty. It it is not politics that is dirty.. Politics is an honourable calling demanding conviction, passion, selflessness and sacrifice. If politics is regarded as dirty, it is the politicians who make politics dirty. Let bloggers get directly involved in politics to cleanse and rid it of “dirty”, unscrupulous and unprincipled politicians!

This welcoming party for Jeff Ooi to is significant both for Malaysian blogging and Malaysian politics.

It coincides with the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations which should be a milestone to assess both our achievements and failures in five decades of nation-building so as to chart the nation’s course for the coming decades. It also takes place in the midst of a “war on blogs” declared by the powers-that-be, demonstrating that the those in power have not come to terms with the influence and implications of the new media.

We are at the end of the fourth year of the Abdullah premiership which had received the unprecedented mandate of 91% of parliamentary seats in the 2004 general election. There is now a full-blown crisis of confidence over the lack of political will of the Prime Minister to honour his reform pledges and agenda to lead a clean, incorruptible, efficient, accountable, trustworthy and democratic administration which is highly competitive to face the challenges of globalisation with world-class institutions like world-class civil service, world-class police, world-class universities, world-class judiciary, world-class Parliament, etc staffed by towering Malaysians.

But we have yet to make a real start in this direction while in many instances, we have regressed and gone backwards.

We, including bloggers, have to pick up the pieces. I call on more bloggers to emulate Jeff Ooi to make the 50th Merdeka anniversary a catalyst for a political commitment to create an united, progressive, democratic and just Malaysia where all Malaysians are proud of the country and can walk tall in the world.

I look forward to see Jeff Ooi and other bloggers taking their places in the next Parliament and State Assemblies to create a better Malaysia for ourselves, our children and our children’s children.

(Speech at the “Jeff Ooi’s Welcoming Party” as member of DAP in Petaling Jaya on Tuesday, 31st July 2007 at 11 am)

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 4:07 pm

The excuse that if PAS and DAP become (strange) bedfellows then we could beget larger and more problems to come is simply fallacious. We have elections every 5 years. If PAS and DAP can “earn” the scorn of the rakyat like the way the BN thieves have “earned” their scorn in the various blogs, then by all means vote somebody else in at the next elections.

Are we so immature that we think that problems caused by the ousting of BN could possibly last another 50 years ? Are we so immature to think that we will not walk the talk, and put up candidates of questionable pedigree ?

The first step for you guys is to accept that DAP can’t do it alone and if you can’t accept that, then you deserve to get more of the same for the next 50 years.

2. #2 by Godfather on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 4:14 pm

Jeffrey:

So the DAP becomes the eternal barking dog and the BN thieves still walk all the way to the bank.

We can’t beat our chests and say “without the DAP, it could have been worse”. The country is bleeding and some of us think that maybe we should let them accelerate the theft of public funds until there is nothing left to steal. That’s when UMNO – and by extension the other component parties – implode because the very essence of their existence (which is to steal) disappears.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 4:15 pm

“…//…The excuse that if PAS and DAP become (strange) bedfellows then we could beget larger and more problems to come is simply fallacious. If PAS and DAP can “earn” the scorn of the rakyat like the way the BN thieves have “earned” their scorn in the various blogs, then by all means vote somebody else in at the next elections….//…”

If it were that easy how is it the incumbent BN has not been voted out by the same process described in this last 50 years? Why are the BN guys like this – talking about women’s menstrual cycle in parliament etc – if it is not because it is an issue of them putting up candidates of questionable pedigree, which if I get the drfift correct, it is no big deal as long as they are prepared to fight the other side hated???

4. #4 by dawsheng on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 5:06 pm

“If that were so, we (who are beneficiaries of other’s fight) are also following the “ethic of the wild beast” – selfish.” Jeffrey

Exactly, therefore those who stepped up like the case of Jeff Ooi and those before him in DAP has to ask themselves again and again, is it worth it? You volunteered to be sacrifice, not you asking for the reward as the reward are for selfish Malaysians whom might not even vote for you, where is justice and fairness in the first place? Like I said, if you are looking for justice and fairness for yourself and find yourself in DAP. I am sorry, wrong place, and please leave.

“Who would fight for your rights if when the situation turns from push to shove you don’t stand up for theirs and it is only one way street?” Jeffrey

Mr Lim Kit Siang fight for justice and fairness for all Malaysians. Ask Uncle Kit. Has justice and fairness ever being accorded to him all these years in politic? Again I quote Uncle Kit: “politics is an honourable calling demanding conviction, passion, selflessness and sacrifice”, he didn’t mention justice and fairness did he? As for the quote from Eugene V. Debs, it is the reflection of all of it.

5. #5 by dawsheng on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 5:22 pm

Sorry! It should be //he didn’t mention justice and fairness for a DAP politician did he?//

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 5:54 pm

Dear Dawsheng,

I hope you’re not suggesting that if today they were to put Uncle Kit into jail for no good reason, we Malaysians are not going to object with voices stentorian and go to the streets to stand up for him and protest his incarceration.

“…//… Mr Lim Kit Siang fight for justice and fairness for all Malaysians. Ask Uncle Kit. Has justice and fairness ever being accorded to him all these years in politic?…//…”

This is something only YB can answer.

But I think at least for now he is really Ok. Who for no good reason want to or dare to trifle with him? Woe betides such a person. Kit is by now an icon lah with a special place in the hearts of many and respect of even some of the more matured of his political adversaries in BN. Don’t believe you ask him. Even his old ‘adversary’ TDM had time to see whilst in hospital where the PM failed. He is also emplaced in various parliamentary select committees and invited in some government sponsored programs or trips befitting of his role as Opposition Head.

For those who don’t make self enrichment the main goal in life and who view a purposeful life to be measured against achievements and accomplishments in one’s calling – in his case politics – what more can one ask if one has the gratitude, respect and affection of all around whom he has touched their lives, fought their cause with great sacrifice in earlier years? It is a satisfaction that those who have not walked the path cannot possibly emphatise fully. That’s also a kind of reward. We all wish YB good health and happiness and I think – I also like to think – it is not all “blood sweat and tears” (to borrow Churchill’s expression), as bad as the way you have interpreted Eugene V. Debs. That’s just my opinion only.

Cheers. :)

7. #7 by Godfather on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 5:59 pm

No, I am not saying that we should put up candidates of questionable pedigree, at least not as questionable as monkeys like MP Jerai, MP Kinabatangan and MP Jasin. What I am saying is that even though there are misgivings against Jeff Ooi (and that relates more to his slightly abrasive personality and the iron-fisted management of his blog) we should be prepared to overcome such minor misgivings.

As to why BN has remained in power all these 50 years, the answer is simple – the majority don’t believe that the Opposition is credible. The majority think that we should have an opposition voice – hence the barking dogs – but nothing more. They won’t take the risk of overturning BN and we must appreciate why. Is there a viable alternative front ? Is each opposition party looking out for its narrow self-interests ? Is there a shadow cabinet that can put the existing cabinet to shame ?

8. #8 by Godfather on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 6:02 pm

And the burning questions: Can the DAP do it (i.e. overturn the BN majority) on its own ? If not, what needs to be done ? Or has everyone given up and is prepared for the role of a barking dog ?

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 7:35 pm

Yes, Godfather, we refer to that as the politics of pragmatism. The question is to find and define its boundaries, and to cross which we would be crossing from the politics of pragmatism to the politics of the unknown.

DAP and PAS would make strange bedfellows. Yes! If that is allowed to go forward into a civil marriage of parties with the same sexual orientation, while it may not produce children, the attempt itself may attract the wrath of God for PAS.

10. #10 by dawsheng on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 7:39 pm

Ok! My bad!

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 8:51 pm

Godfather,

First of all, I think – as a mater of fact – detractors here are not looking at a “slightly abrasive personality and the iron-fisted management of a blog…” but I don’t think this is an issue it is right or fair for us to discuss or argue in an open blog here….

The other point about “the majority don’t believe that the Opposition is credible” is another debatable point. It is not that DAP is not credible but considerations of race and religion weigh decisively for the majority.

I understand the frustration of having what to you is a ‘den of thieves’ ensconced in a position to continue the pillage.

Again what is the DAP prepared to trade and compromise to have a chance to evict the incumbent?

There are too many factors that are unpredictable when it detaches from the anchor of principles and navigate according to politics of pragmatism and expedience….

To name a few:

1. many traditional supporters who don’t share your priorities might withdraw support for the DAP as happened in general election before the last one….
    2. And even if the DAP joins a PAS led Barisan Alternative, there is no certainty that the BA will win (since the other side does not play fair) but in the process the DAP may lose its credibility to collaborate with PAS whose raison de etre is to set up an Islamic theocracy that makes whatever DAP advocates on a secular state hollow!
    3. and even BA should win, again, the other side that does not play fair may not abide by rules to hand over the government since too much vested and financial interests are at stake;
    4. also for the DAP to prioritize expedience and pragmatism over principles, there is no certainty that the 2nd echelon leaders together with the rest of the other opposition will not do what the BN is doing now if one believes that corruption is very much part of prevailing culture…..I don’t know if Undergrad2 is joking or serious but I do think that once we discard principles for pragmatic compass we “would be crossing from the politics of pragmatism to the politics of the unknown” which may be worse, – but that’s just by own value judgment;
    5. I see strange bedfellows (a lesbian with a heterosexual or even another male homosexual getting into bed together) for common convenience and cause to defeat an enemy as just not right (just like Dap believing in secular state with Pas believing in a theocratic one). Remember, the Allies/Stalin Soviet immediately launched into a geopolitical contestation of territories and a Cold War dividing Europe to East and West the moment Hitler was defeated?

As to whether the situation is hopeless and requires, as you said, an ‘implosion’ when oil runs out or other cataclysmic events galvanising a sea-change of opposition against the ruling coalition, I think much of these discussions will necessarily be “speculative”, better left to another forum than the present one thread in diminution of the Kit’s bandwidth here.

Thanks very much for the exchange of views.

12. #12 by myke on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 11:15 pm

NDANGERED HORNBILL,

Your comment is highly contradictory,

“Firstly, I surmise Jeff’s entry into DAP politics is unconditional.” NDANGERED HORNBILL.

Unless u are him, how exactly are you to be sure of this other than to say “u guess”.

“Have you met him and seen how nice and balanced a person he is? It’s different close-up oftentimes.” NDANGERED HORNBILL.

Thirdly, whether or not Jeff would be a winnable candidate in the GE cannot be decided by ‘Myke’ or ‘Real World’, whoever you are and whatever yr credibility (which is, of course, unknown, like all other posters here; so you can quite easily be scandalous yourself, judging from yr proclivities). NDANGERED HORNBILL.

One moment you indicated that one needs to know a person in person before one can judge and the next moment you adjudge “Myke and “Real world” can easily be quite scandolous.

Your judgement base on just one comment is adequote in this case?
    Is this hippocratic in nature?

I’m not here to play god telling uncle Kit who’s bad or good.
    I’m here to say my experience with this man.

In the mean time, my opinion states if one wants to be a public figure he should have tot of his/her misdeeds being exposed, and if so own-up to what he/she has done.

Isn’t this a mature politician you are looking for but not able to find in the BN..?

Don’t fall into the very people you fight.

13. #13 by myke on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 1:24 am

NDANGERED HORNBILL,

“Firstly, I surmise Jeff’s entry into DAP politics is unconditional.” NDANGERED HORNBILL.

Unless u are him, how exactly are you to be sure of this other than to say “u guess”.

—————————————-
    My apologies, I misinterpreted surmise as “summarise”.

14. #14 by RealWorld on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 9:26 am

Godfather,

You are really into making assumptions, arent you. Well, if it turns you on, I can only say good for you and keep going at it. I am sure an idiot wont mind looking more like a gimp as well.

Cyber trooper??? hahaha You must be watching too many cartoons. Try Sesame Street, it is more educational.

15. #15 by RealWorld on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 9:28 am

democrate,

Me serving my own race only??? You have any proof of that??

You know, it is unbelieveable how blind you can be.

16. #16 by RealWorld on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 9:30 am

shiver,

Enough la of your sabre rattling and chest thumping because I think you are overdoing it. I suggest you keep your emotional outburst in check.

17. #17 by Godfather on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 12:53 pm

Eh, the UMNO supporter is back ! After receiving further instructions from his masters to continue the provocation…..

18. #18 by Godfather on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 1:01 pm

Actually I kind of like RealWorld because he replies to just about everyone (in the standard UMNO parrotting of “We are the champions”), and he doesn’t do the “Oooh, oooh, gimme my banana” chants the other UMNO monkeys do.

19. #19 by democrate on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 8:02 pm

Realworld
    u r buta not me ok? you answer my question first to proof that you are not . Shiver is right and Godfather is very analytical.
    Please ask your BN men to hv a blog too so that we will hv a chance to F888 them !

20. #20 by shiver on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 10:40 pm

real world,

you are the idiot in the highest degree. yes i will thump my chest when i see a fool like u as i really feel like kicking you to mars. unfortunately you talk as if you know so much and act like you know what is going to happen.

people like you are a disgrace to every malaysian in malaysia and around the world, yes, we know your vote will go to dacing and yes, when dacing is down suddenly a magical box from our soldiers and police serving in dont know which kampong will then come in and all the votes go to your dacing.

real world, again as i say, you are a freaking disgrace to be called a malaysian. there is no point talking and exchanging facts or meeting of minds.

go fly a kite real world. thats what you age group and people of your mentality do, dont they?