by Richard Teo
For the first time in more than fifty years, when the next General Election comes, I am going to abandon the edict that it is better to vote for the devil that I know rather than the devil that I don’t Know.
This time round there will be no hesitation. I will be like the proverbial saying throw caution to the wind. There will be no turning back. There will be no second thoughts.
For the last fifty years I have faithfully chosen the safe path. I voted for the race-based party that belonged to the Barisan National.
I even encouraged and persuaded my relatives to vote along the same racial line to ensure a strong stable govt that will protect the interests of all races. But events of late has proven me wrong.
This govt that I and many others who placed their faith in is a corrupt, short-sighted, manipulative, racist and incompetent one. After fifty years they have not shown their abiltiy to govern with wisdom.
Instead they squandered our nation’s coffers, encouraged and perpetuated a corrupt civil service and continue to formulate economic and fiscal policies that will take our country down the road to destruction.
Enough is enough.
Our country could’nt be worse off than what it is now.The time has come to vote for a change.
After fifty years the present govt is complacent. We need to inject fresh blood with new vision to bring us further into this millennium or suffer and be left behind in this globalised world.
The choice to determine our direction and future is in our hands. Let us choose wisely and vote for any one/party that stand against B.N.
Even if we cannot win let us deny them the two-third majority that they enjoy for the last fifty years.

#1 by Alvin on Monday, 25 June 2007 - 9:27 pm
Let’s be honest
Anyone here believes there is hope that BN can be toppled in the coming GE?
Don’t Dream . . .
Just be realistic with yourself
Do the sums
Analyse the fragmented opposition
You know what I meant.
Did any of them; PAS, DAP, PKR or anyone in their party including their respective chiefs give you any indication or hope that they can ever take over BN?
So whatever gave you that hope . . .
That we can change and vote out BN.
Everyone here knows about all the shortcomings of the ruling party
Everyone who visits this blog agrees we need a change
Almost everybody here complains about BN
I am also perfectly aware that ‘Enough is enough’
Do we have an alternative to BN
Whether as a party or a coalition as an alternative to replace BN.
Just spent a few minutes and think . . .
Then you will agree with me there is no hope to kick out BN this time around.
So don’t be foolish and kid yourself.
Prove me wrong anyone
#2 by democratic junkie on Monday, 25 June 2007 - 10:05 pm
political change in malaysia is a long and hard process…..
and change itself can come from the party in power. i see political parties as mere means to an end….
give the opposition your vote and maybe if BN is denied 2/3 majority…then they might change their ways. Maybe, just maybe they will get their policies right a string of consistent defeats…..lets shake their boat and see what happens…..opposition parties in this case, weak or not, act as a check and reminder to BN…..they are as important as BN….
#3 by democratic junkie on Monday, 25 June 2007 - 10:10 pm
sometimes we dont have to change ships to get to our destination…..With DAP in power or not, i think lim kit siang would be proud if Malaysia got to where he envisioned her to be….his purpose would have been fulfilled nonetheless….
#4 by NewYorky on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 3:00 am
yes..BN power. they pump in money before general election and by-election. doing all those sampah…drainage..food stall…
Next time DAP vs BN one on one !! so easily can avoid split vote and spoil vote.
Yes, top 40 richest people in Malaysia all consists of chinese majority. We chinese is hard work and honest. Malay just control the licence.
Vote for BN? still not enaugh of Chua soi lek qualifying exam for doctors?? The exam fees going into thier pockets…and malay all pass..
BN-right now under pak lah rulling power…everythings is done during mahathir regime. Now pak lah just re-polishing. And actually is doing nothing is his office.
DAP or PKR plz stand up…fight till the end if wanna take control in parliment seat.
Good luck to all !! BolehLand mah….
Teh tarik dulu and nasi lemak. OK.!
#5 by Berkowitz on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 2:22 pm
Godfather, LabRat,
I understand where you are coming from. Yes, both of you are right. However, such issues are not decided by the average citizen like you and I (well, you could be a politician for all I know).
What I’m saying is that I’d like to look on the bright side. I’d like to stay firm on one decision, then encourage the others by virtue of facts and reasoning.
In terms of striking a compromise/forming a strong coalition, we look to great men like Uncle Kit as our voice. We lend our support, i.e. the VOTES (obviously).
If BN wins again, then so be it. I know that I’ve exercised my right as a citizen – the right to vote – and I will continue to oppose them as long as they are still in power.
The day that BN is toppled is the day that I’ll be proud to be part of this country again. To be honest, I don’t know if I’ll live to see that day (I’m in my 20s, mind you) but I sure as hell know I’ll be tearing uncontrollably and be kissing Tanah Tumpah Airku if it happens.
#6 by Phat-kor on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 3:43 pm
People, people, it makes a difference if we set thoughts to be positive right from now. If we ever keep doubting, nothing will ever happen. So, whether it will be a dream come true or not, let’s set our mind towards making it happen and we will live to see it happen.
#7 by borrring on Tuesday, 11 September 2007 - 10:03 pm
“People, people, it makes a difference if we set thoughts to be positive right from now. If we ever keep doubting, nothing will ever happen. So, whether it will be a dream come true or not, let’s set our mind towards making it happen and we will live to see it happen.”….
That’s true…I was blinded by BN b4….but a friend pointed out to me on how much BN has “helped” in spending taxpayers money on useless developments & expenses….in the name of “kebaikan rakyat”….but how many voters r willing to change despite seeing & listening through mass medias on the corruption on the gov’s part…i believe most ppl r still in denial….cos if d gov is not affecting their livelihood, no change will happen…there’s this “dia tak kacau aku,aku tak kacau dia” attitude…there’s also a cloud of doubts whether other parties are capable of bringing change to Msia…and if the malay priviledges will be protected with the new government…there’s so much that other parties will need to prove in order to make this change