Blogs on Malaysian diaspora raised in Parliament

The second comment, by firstMalaysian:

My son left the country to pursue his Bachelors degree in BioMedical Engineering and is currently doing his PhD in a foreign land, without any scholarship or any recognition from his own homeland. He was given every assistance and opportunity from a foreign university to pursue his PhD and he is in the midst of a breakthrough in his research. Certainly, a Malaysian born scientist in the making and his students and professors in the foreign land called him a Malaysian and he is proud to be one but whenever he steps down at KLIA, he felt the difference, he is a second class Malaysian. There is an identity crisis back home.

In the foreign land, he has helped many Malaysians irrespective of ethnic background to excel and he loved to see Malaysians excel, whether Chinese, Indians or Malays. He was Malaysian first in a foreign land but in Malaysia, it is ethnic origin first.

This brain drain will continue

Another comment, Cool Man:

Reports of ethnic-minority students with near-perfect STPM results not getting a place at the local university have become the norm, and yet objections are often ignored – the government claims that it is a fair game for all.

Personally, I had no choice but to go overseas to study, and my parents had to spend their entire pension savings on financing my undergraduate degree in Australia. After graduation, most of my Malaysian classmates chose to either stay in Australia or work in Singapore, where equal opportunities and fair competitions give them better job prospects.

Before coming to the London I did my masters degree in Singapore, where I met many Chinese Malaysians in this situation. Most of us would like to return to Malaysia, but we know that research prospects for minorities are limited. No matter how talented we are, it seems we still have to travel outside our country to seek opportunities.

PWCheng wrote:

Well you and me knows all this and so is UMNO. From my experience with them and to those who has share the same experiences, they do not care two hoots about the non-Bumis migrating. In their mind as you and me know their myopic or shortsighted thinking is less non-Bumi the better and no non Bumi is the best, so that they can have everything for themselves. That is why they will keep on their discrimination policy which is getting worse as time goes by.

Their talk of national unity and some of the plans towards this are just a cover for them to tell the outside world that we are a model of a peaceful and progressive multi racial country. Unfortunately like America where at one time the blacks were discriminated legally there will be no unity as long as the non Bumis are discriminated legally.

For all these discrimination they had done, they had created a crater and they are trying to hoodwink the world by coming up with some silly plans or ideas which makes it looks like taking some tooth picks to close the crater.

Another posting, by Godfather:

My son was a straight A student, but when he applied for a scholarship, they didn’t even bother to reply. A foreign government gave him a scholarship and he went. Now I tell him not to come home because the unlevel playing field doesn’t look like it ever will be levelled.

Another posting, by Careena6 :

remember martin luther king ‘s speech? ” i had a dream”? Well we all have dreams and hopes for the future.. but unfortunately the chances of our growth in this nation is very much questionable and vague.. my sis who is a biotech graduate was previously excited because of the 8th malaysian plan.. biovalley by TDM.. whatever happen to that?? ” apa jadi..?? Even if you guys google on that issue it brings u back to the date of 2003?? Ini manar boleh??? I was watching CNN and they were broadcasting the issue on India’s next generation, Vikram akula the founder and ceo of sks microfinance was one of the main speakers .. India being the next big thing .. what about Malaysia??

Which is why youngsters nowadays wanna leave this country ASAP.. there is a proverb “Dont keep a dog and bark your self” we have so many intelligent, creative and innovative Malaysians, and yet some creatures insist on doing things their way.. don blame the rakyat for brain drain then.. Graduates.. they want to be recognised in some way.. they wanna succeed.. they want a job that reflects their education… and all the hardwork and sacrifices that they put into in getting the scroll.. should be appreciated .. FACT: the minorities are being discriminated.. we are still known as non-bumi,or pendatang..?? Precisely this is why the bird leaves the nest and migrates.. i’ve had friends who have personally told me that the only way they would ever bother to come back to MAlaysia is for weddings and funerals… as cynical as this might sound i don’t blame them.. i share their sentiments.. and that’s the FACT..

Richard Teo had this to say:

I dont see any hope for the B.N changing its policies in the near future.As long as MCA, MIC and Gerakan keep on propping this corrupt govt status quo will remain.And most likely B.N will just lose only a few seats. The rural malays although similarly marginalise will continue to support B.N because the latter will continue to play the race and religious card to win votes.Yes the future for all Malaysians are very dim, not only for the chinese and indians but also for the malays.At the moment the N.E.P only help the elite UMNO cronies and they are the sole beneficiaries of the NEP policy.

[Speech (3) on Royal Address debate in Parliament 21.3.07]

1. #1 by kowtim on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 7:22 pm

Aiyah, you fellas can all get lost and they are not going to give a damn about it. After all, why should they worry when all the trouble drain out of the country, not brain drain. This is what the late Tun Razak told Harry Lee when Kiasu was part of BolehLand.

2. #2 by johnleemk on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 7:33 pm

Uncle Kit, I think the main reason for the diaspora is simple – NOT ENOUGH OPPORTUNITIES. Our government is stifling the ability to innovate, be creative, and simply think differently, and that’s what I think is driving the move to migrate:

http://www.infernalramblings.com/articles/Malaysian_Society/177/

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:25 pm

Johnleemk, well said:

“I haven’t decided whether I want to migrate yet. But at the present, for both the structural reasons outlined and the lack of individual opportunities, I would have to say I’m very much leaning towards migration. It’s indeed sad, because I do love this country — I don’t love it for what it is, but I love it for what it could be and for all (albeit the quite little) it’s given me.”

Your thought reflect the thoughts of those patriotic Malaysians presently forced to live abroad by sheer force of circumstances. I still feel Malaysia is a good place to live in.

4. #4 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 1:37 am

“Now I tell him not to come home because the unlevel playing field doesn’t look like it ever will be leveled.” Godfather

Strange.

The premise for a policy like the NEP is that the playing field is not level and needs to be leveled to ensure fairness.

5. #5 by Jonny on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 4:40 pm

Though I’m in my 20s, I don’t feel it easy to uproot myself to somewhere abroad. Some where offering more quality of life. Less crazy and kurang ajar motorists. Where we feel safe walking on the street. No NEP.

Yet, migration has been in my mind for the past 2 years. When those of us migrate, we not only migrate with our talents, skills, also our wealth resources and network. Hence, what is left in Malaysia?

Coming back for weddings and funerals like commented by someone?

6. #6 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 8:51 pm

“Though I’m in my 20s, I don’t feel it easy to uproot myself to somewhere abroad. Some where offering more quality of life. Less crazy and kurang ajar motorists. Where we feel safe walking on the street. No NEP.”

If you’re in your 20s that would be the best time to consider re-locating yourself. The older you get the more difficult it would be to adapt and adjust to life in a foreign country.

As for the crazy motorists, you find them everywhere you go. As for feeling safe walking the streets at night, it is still relatively safe in Malaysia. NEP? There is racial discrimination wherever you go. A subtle form of racial discrimination practiced without official government sanction can sometimes be more difficult to detect and prevent.