Suggest Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat form a joint Summit secretariat comprising three representatives to decide on date, place and agenda of BN-PR Summit

The Barisan Nasional secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor told The Malaysian Insider that the proposal by Pakatan Rakyat leaders for a Barisan Nasional-Pakatan Rakyat Leaders’ Summit will be discussed by the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council meeting tomorrow.

I welcome the prompt response of the Barisan Nasional in convening its Supreme Council tomorrow and hope that the BN Supreme Council will give a positive response to the PR proposal for a summit of the leaders of both coalitions to assure Malaysians that there could not be another May 13 riots, although there are irresponsible and reckless elements seeking to incite racial and religious hatred, conflict and tension to create the conditions for another May 13 in the country.

The proposal by the Pakatan Rakyat leaders from PKR, PAS and DAP stem from their love and patriotism to Malaysia and I hope that the Barisan Nasional leaders could be similarly motivated by their love and patriotism to Malaysia to give a positive response to hold the first BN-PR Leaders’ Summit in the nation’s history.

If the BN Supreme Council gives a positive response tomorrow, I suggest that BN and PR form a joint Summit secretariat comprising three representatives each to decide on the Summit’s date, place and agenda.

I am sure that all Malaysians look forward to the successful holding of the first BN-PR Leaders’ Summit.

PR leaders have proposed the agenda to assure Malaysians that there could not be another May 13. The Summit could also deal with the quintuplet of the national crisis in the country, national unity and nation building, economic, educational, security and the worsening corruption in the country.

(Media Conference Statement in Yong Peng after a Chinese New Year visit on Thursday, 23rd January 2014 at 5 pm)

1. #1 by Noble House on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 5:21 am

How much goodwill can be expected with UMNO’s doublespeak over the Allah and bibles issues? The PM himself did not even have the moral courage to speak out for what he has initiated with the 10-point solution. For KJ to speak out with a forked tongue is to avoid the real issue at best and allow the situation to manifest at worst. For an Oxford graduate, this cannot be true!

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 9:03 am

Yes. Umno may accept the proposal but it will come with ridiculous conditions.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 10:32 am

I will bet that UMNO/BN will set pre-conditions too difficult to make it happen or they will have one of their so-called NGOs fail it for them..

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 11:35 am

The greatest enemy of the state is the state itself. We are like floating in space awaiting for a knock to push us in a random directional drift.

They are high like Lucy in the sky with diamonds.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 12:13 pm

It does not bode well already.

Everyone involved in policies knows that the govt have never been able to control subsidies allocation such as to fisherman, transport, farmers which only creates headaches for enforcement agencies already failing at crime. Yet they are using the same idea for the entire country,

Clearly the determination to continue to raise money through price hikes/subsidies removal is unstoppble believing its what it will take to blatantly buy the next GE. It shows clearly reckless determination to keep the course even if its careening down abyss

• #6 by Bigjoe on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 9:51 pm

Well, its confirmed. Najib just announcing that in the time of National Crises, he is going to look after himself first and do nothing..

Its pretty much written on Najib’s face, he is fighting for the survival of his political career and worst, basically giving up on his sitting duck situation.The Lamest PM in Malaysian history. Badawi no longer has to worry about Mahathir calling him a failure, Najib just made him look much much better.

6. #7 by boh-liao on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 12:49 pm

FORGET abt any joint summit with Perkosa-UmnoB
    PR will eventually kena baik baik fr Perkosa-UmnoB (d former will b r@ped or s0domised by d latter)

Better 2 follow Kadazan Dusun Murut n adopt their WAR CRY “MAMANGKIS” as d clarion call 2 rally warrior troops 4 battle

ENUF! CUKUP! TAK NAK!

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/more-christians-converted-in-sabah-than-reported-say-pastors

7. #8 by bangkoklane on Friday, 24 January 2014 - 3:17 pm

This is from the star.com.my today:
    http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014/01/24/Health-Ministry-to-increase-minimum-entry-requirements-for-medicine/

Published: Friday January 24, 2014 MYT 11:15:00 AM
    Updated: Friday January 24, 2014 MYT 1:25:15 PM
    Health Ministry mulls minimum SPM entry requirement increase for medicine.

KAJANG: The Health Ministry may increase the minimum Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) entry requirement for medicine.

Its minister Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam said the move is to address the increase of medical graduates.

Currently, the minimum requirement was four credits, he said.

According to Dr Subramaniam, the proposal was still being discussed with the Education Ministry and local universities.

“If possible we want to implement it as soon as possible,” he added.
    “We don’t have enough facilities to train these doctors especially those who graduated from overseas,” Dr Subramaniam said, after a dengue hotspot site visit in Hulu Langat district.

What is this about? I thought only top STPM students to study medicine. Four SPM credits? Wow!!!

8. #9 by Di Shi Jiu on Saturday, 25 January 2014 - 2:42 pm

Mr Lim,

It is indeed very encouraging news that Pakatan Rakyat has made some headway with your groundbreaking proposal for bilateral co-operation on fighting those who seek to resurrect the ghosts of May 13, 1969.

As it will be a bilateral approach, I wish both coalitions success in resolving this scourge which has plagued Malaysia for many years.

It goes without saying that with the hoped-for success in dealing with the May 13 issue, perhaps there can be more bilateral co-operation to address other problems like religious intolerance, corruption, abuse of power, cronyism, etc etc.

Malaysia may yet return to where politics is about how to govern a country for all Malaysians, instead of just mere bickering on the colour of my skin or which god I don’t follow or any of the many ridiculous and trivial issues I have seen.

9. #10 by loo on Saturday, 25 January 2014 - 10:11 pm

What’s RPK beef with DAP? Why RPK hantam DAP so much? Why all you commentators keep quiet? Time to spill some beans lei

http://www.malaysia-today.net/turning-back-the-clock/