Ibrahim Ali a clear and present danger

May 21, 11

‘Ibrahim, you specifically used the term ‘perang salib’ in your speech, don’t deny it now. Anyway, we know that he and his mentor are immune to ISA.’

‘Don’t use ISA or sedition laws against Ibrahim Ali’

Atan-Toyol: Perkasa chief Ibrahim Ali said that “Islam is being ridicule”. Give me one example, Ibrahim. If Islam is being ridiculed at all, it is you who is doing the ridiculing by your uncalled for calling for a crusade against Christians, when they have not even provoked you.

Ibrahim, you are just doing this so as to appear like a champion and hero to the rural Malays, and ‘protector’ of Islam. Islam does not need protection, Allah will protect his religion, as He says of the Quran also. So, start growing up, and be like a mature Malaysian.

Cannon: Perkasa’s tirade against Christians has revealed at least three things:

1) Perkasa’s hostility against Christians and non-Malays is Umno-sponsored.

2) The supposedly ‘neutral’ public institutions (notably, Home Ministry, Attorney-General’s Chambers, PDRM) that are not taking any action, are controlled by Umno operatives.

3) PRDM (Royal Malaysian Police), in particular, is the uniformed henchmen of Umno. The police are shielding the Umno regime from the people.

Malaysians can exploit this information and turn it back to Umno’s disadvantage. Forward the YouTube clip of Ibrahim Ali’s speech to your relatives and friends. Where there’s no Internet link or computer, burn the speech on VCDs and mail them to your friends.

It’s crucial voters in the semi-rural and rural areas be reached, especially in Sabah and Sarawak. Expose the dirty strategy of a ‘kuasa-gila’ Umno that is out to create chaos in order to cling to power. Malaysians can fight Umno’s lawlessness with information.

Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim’s position is academic, but he scores brownie points by saying he does not agree to using the ISA against Perkasa chief Ibrahim Ali. The ISA is intended to incarcerate insurgents who advocate violence in seizing power, and subversive elements who are a threat to public order and national security.

Malaysians want to see equal application of the law, regardless of race. Punks like Ibrahim Ali who incite hatred playing up sensitive issues such as race and religion to cause chaos, is a clear and present danger. If the ISA is not used here, it will only embolden more such brutes to emerge.

This draconian law should be applied to curb such punks, who can be even nastier in undermining our social order, knowing they can escape with light punishment. If the BN government fails to detain Ibrahim Ali, it demonstrates to its citizens its powerlessness.

Anonymous_4031: It is naive to think that the home minister or prime minister would slap Utusan Malaysia for implementing directives issued to Utusan, as Anwar Ibrahim, who is former DPM, could attest.

Hence, the caution letter by the home minister is nothing to shout about. It is just for public consumption. Will such a fatherly reprimand come from the home minister if Sin Chew Daily, New Straits Times, Star, were to even hint about remarks made by Perkasa and those Umno-leaning bloggers? They would be struck down immediately even before any investigation takes place.

This double standard will not work over time; Malaysians will react at the ballot box. Look at the protests in the Middle East and North Africa. Ordinary people demonstrated. Two leaders – Tunisia and Egypt – had gone. More will follow in the coming months or years.

Rakyat Malaysia: All this is just a play. A very big play. The main problem with the country now is not religious or racial issues. It is made to look like it. The important issue now is sluggish economy and high inflation, which the BN government is trying its best to divert our attention away and it is doing it quite successfully.

Watch out for the high inflation tsunami in the next coming months (electricity rate hike, diesel price hike, RON95 price hike, construction cost hike, sugar price hike, food items price hike, etc). We could hit 60 percent inflation this year.

Why all politicians harping on race and religion? I’d rather see them talk about improving the welfare of all Malaysians.

Rayfire: Ibrahim Ali, you specifically used the term ‘perang salib’ in your speech, don’t deny it now. Anyway, we know that he and his mentor are immune to ISA. Utusan is merely publishing ‘authorised’ sedition, so action against them will not likely happen.

We, the people, need to find alternative way to punish them. The only secret weapon we have that doesn’t run into billions of ringgit is our votes. Collectively it will be worth trillions for our future generation.

Ben Hor: Of course, we do not condone using ISA or sedition laws against Ibrahim Ali since these laws are considered to be draconian. But since we have a draconian government, why should there a double standard?

Unless the government repeals these laws, I say everything is fair game. However, we all know Ibrahim Ali is untouchable. Ibrahim Ali using ‘jihad’ for shock value? Why stop there? You should also start brandishing a keris and say you want to “bathe it with the blood” of the Christians too. Heck, put it on Youtube too.

Mengxiang: DSAI (Anwar Ibrahim), like you I too am against using the ISA and Sedition Act on Ibrahim Ali as a matter of principle. However, how about committing him to a mental institution as he is clearly mad and not in control of his mental faculties?

The above is a selection of comments posted by Malaysiakini subscribers. Only paying subscribers can post comments. Over the past one year, Malaysiakinians have posted over 100,000 comments. Join the Malaysiakini community and help set the news agenda. Subscribe now.

1. #1 by mauriyaII on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 12:13 pm

Mengxiang, I support your idea of putting rabid skunks like Katak Ibrahim Ali and his mentor the evil mamak to be sent to a mental institution to rehabilitate and reeducate how to live as a Malaysian in a multi-religious society.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 1:40 pm

Ibrahim Ali is making all kinds of stunning speech to create fame and popularity for himself, in the hope that he would be re-elected in GE13.

3. #3 by monsterball on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 1:42 pm

Ibrahim Ali is answering the call by Najib to protect PutraJaya falling into traitors hands.
    Perkasa is also supported strongly by Mahathir.
    What traitors of our country is Najib talking about?

4. #4 by ktteokt on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 2:14 pm

Which religion in Malaysia gets to build places of worship worth few hundred millions fully sponsored by the government apart from Islam? Is ISLAM UNDER THREAT THEN????

5. #5 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 5:56 pm

I suggest to warn all European countries. North and America on this moron crusade against the christians. Let him run around his kampong for the rest of his life.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 21 May 2011 - 8:04 pm

What Anwar said (that ISA should not be applied to Ibrahim Ali) and what Nazri said (that Ibrahim Ali’s extremist statements being Malaysian norm prevailing amongst blogs/twitters for which official action could not be taken) intersect at the common point that Ibrahim Ali should be let off.

This common point is not tenable only if authorities’ actions are selective : let Ibrahim Ali/Perkasa off whilst punishing others who talk provocatively along lines opposite to Ibrahim positions.

If however freedom of speech is equally accorded to all including extremists and there’s no selective enforcement of the laws of sedition, then letting Ibrahim Ali go is not such a bad thing because others too can equally contradict him without suffering legal consequences. Indirectly it means the law of sedition will be relaxed as far as enforcement goes. The laws of sedition are anyway archaic! There are extremists on both side of political divide. The Question is whether one wants to shut them up or let everyone extremist and moderates speak their piece without legal consequences. The latter situation assumes society is pretty matured and such freedom of speech will not incite any segment to act contrary to public security. Are we at that stage that Nazri’s remarks presume ? One cannot say we re at that matured stage when apologizing for Ibrahim’s provocative statements and next moment say that we’re not when taking action against those who speak against Ibrahim’s agenda.