The 30 votes that changed Samy Vellu/MIC history?

26-vote margin still fresh in my mind, says Subra
The Star
Wednesday September 9, 2009

PETALING JAYA: Datuk S. Subramaniam has hit out at his nemesis MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu for claiming that the 30 “pocketed votes” in the 1977 party elections was an impossibility.

The former party deputy president also brushed off Samy Vellu’s claim that he and Datuk V. Govindaraj were “pathological liars”.

“Govindaraj told me he did it. He was Samy Vellu’s man and led his campaign then.

“I can’t recall off-hand the total number of votes cast in 1977 but I know that the difference was 26. That is still fresh in my mind.”

Govindaraj told an English daily recently that he took the 30 votes cast for Subramaniam during the party polls that saw Samy Vellu defeating Subramaniam for the deputy president’s post by a mere 26 votes.

He was quoted as saying that he did it at the spur of the moment without instigation.

Expressing regret over his actions, Govindaraj, who was Samy Vellu’s one-time ally, said he realised that the party’s leadership in the last 30 years would have been different had he not taken the 30 votes.

Samy Vellu eventually became party president after the death of Tan Sri V. Manickavasagam in 1979.

Asked to comment on Samy Vellu’s retort that there were no unaccounted-for votes in the election, Subra-maniam said only the delegates list for the election would prove the total number of votes cast.

“Maybe Samy Vellu would like to swear in a temple that he is right.”

On Govindaraj’s actions, Subramaniam said he forgave him a long time ago and that they had remained good friends.

“But when I found out about the incident, it was past the time for any challenge or complaint.

“I realise that with the 30 votes I could have won but we can’t do anything about it now.

“Time has passed. At least he (Govindaraj) had the courage to admit it publicly and apologise for it.”

1. #1 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 4:33 pm

Between Samy Valu and Datuk S Subramaniam, I would go for the former.

It is a disgrace to the Indians that Datuk S Subra had to depend on Dr Mathathir and bring him to campaign for him in the MIC election.

Fortunately most MIC members reject the Utusan and Umnoputra’s hand in their party.

MCA had rejected Najib to be the king maker in their party.

2. #2 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 6:31 pm

Samy insulted Mahathir….and made all sorts of allegations…that UMNO did not respond to MIC for help to Indians..with so many times on letters he wrote …when he was a Minister.s
    He even said…he did not know Mahathir hates him .
    How can two snakes know what the other snake is planning..what to do…what next move?
    He forgot to tell us …why have he not resign or pull MIC out. For one who complaint so many times for Indians…he should be hoping mad…but if you recall..he carried Mahathir b…ls.wrote love poems…and fed him like a child…on a Depavali day celebration…..all appeared in papers.
    Najib hit back and said…it is useless to be popular in MIC…when not popular with the people.
    MIC is a total disgrace to the Indian community.

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 6:35 pm

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/37552-bad-ending-to-rags-to-riches-tale-

Corrupt leaders better beware because they can be jailed for life

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 7:57 pm

Last week, the famous Jalan Berhala in Brickfields was broken into two parts and renamed after two former MIC Presidents. The residents there are unhappy. Why after MIC leaders? Couldn’t they find some other Indian leaders? And why Jalan Berhala which is well known worldwide?

If this trend continues, there will be a Jalan Samy Vellu soon, somewhere.

5. #5 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:22 pm

Now Samy hit back Najib…..more or less saying…to him…to be elected by the people…than talk as a Malaysian PM.
    Never in 53 history of the BN Allainace boat symbol have so many holes and design…out dated…witH so many jump off…joining PR.

6. #6 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:45 pm

Samy boy talks very big. If MACC pay him a visit, he will be like a mouse walking with tail between his legs. More than twenty years of contributions, my ass.

7. #7 by cseng on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 10:17 pm

20 years ago it was Samy, 20 years later will it still be Samy, nobody knows for sure. Some corrected my mistakes, it is not Samy belongs to MIC, is the other way round MIC belongs to him. But then, isn’t he ‘elected’ into presidency? Can’t talk too much on relationship of MIC and Samy, I don’t have IQ to understand it. The only thing I am sure are these; Samy will able to find a reason to celebrate for his winning, Samy will able to find a target and excuse for whatever problem or weakness said by others. More importantly Samy will able to find a reason MIC needed him more than ever. Anyway congratulation to Samy, pray for your long-life to see Karma runs its course.

8. #8 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 11:53 pm

I do not think MACC dare to touch Samy.
    More than 20 years as minister…..longer than Mahathir..as PM…he knows too much.
    He has said before….if he goes to jail..many UMNO ministers will follow him.
    Mahathir lame excuse was…Samy Vellu cannot be replaced. He is king of Indians….or MIC president.
    These two snakes really how to wiggle and wangle away from the truths…and that is crooks must stick together…no matter what.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:10 am

Now Samy Vellu has won, PR will have a better chance of winning bigger Indian votes in the 13th general election.

MCA and MIC are fading in importance as the days go by. Chua Soi Lek has just admitted that the Chinese community no longer bothers much about MCA – this was evident in the 7 by-elections that had taken place after Tsunami 308.

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:49 am

Mahathir’s gone. Pak Lah’s gone. Ling Liong Sik’s gone. Lim Keng Yaik’s gone.

Only Samy Vellu remains. After 30 years he’s still indispensible, in control. MIC is now “My Indian Committee”, for him to do as he wishes. Heard that there’s going to be a movie about him. And there will be pressure for him to return to the Cabinet.

11. #11 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:21 am

monsterball,

Your good friend, Kamput is now a registered inmate at Hospital Permai in Tampoi, Johor. You can go and visit him. Visiting hours are 10.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m. After that you visit him at your own risk.

12. #12 by k1980 on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:53 am

Like the graet dalai lama, sami lama will become mic president again when he is reincarnated upon his demise. Palanivel has be entrusted to search for the newborn baby, Sami II

13. #13 by taiking on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 9:11 am

Mic might as well go for an image correction – a correction branding. Not re-branding. So dont get me wrong here. I suggest mic start the correction branding with their party logo. Dunk it into klang river and use samyboy’s face as logo instead. He is soooo er permanent. Good to use as logo.

14. #14 by Taxidriver on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 9:13 am

Najib is urging Samy and his boys to start doing ‘repair works’ to bring back the Indian community into MIC. What shit is Najib talking about? He should be repairing his own UMNO Baru first!!

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 9:30 am

For MIC to stay relevant in Malaysian politics I can see only one way for it to go…… make Mahathir its president. Afterall, he still got quite a number of followers who love his spin stories. And please make it soon because I hear that these followers are getting smaller in number because he is not holding any position right now.

16. #16 by MGR1940 on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:46 pm

He has done it again with dirty work and his stupid yes men. He calls others gangsters when he himself is king of Indian gangster.
    If Sura is not thick skin like Samyvoolu, he should resign and join party like PR with his supporters and tech the stupid Samyvoolu a lesson.Are not shame of yourself Subra? Its not late.
    MIC is nothimg now. The umno are just using the stupid lot for their own gain. umno are only scared of MCA.

17. #17 by boh-liao on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 4:38 pm

What’s zat hanging between his legs?
    Not a tail ah?

18. #18 by k1980 on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 5:09 pm

Subra should emulate Chua SL and form “Parti Betul-Betul Cintai Malaysia” because the one formed by Chua is really “Parti Cintai Angela Yam Malaysia”

19. #19 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 5:57 pm

If you add all the votes taken by those who lost..they are much more than the victor..chosen by Samy.
    V.S.Chandran have given clear details..published in Malay Mail.
    Samy is scolding Mahathir…scolding Najib..scolding UMNO. Mahathir and Najib ..scolding Samy.
    That itself shows BN is so undivided.

20. #20 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:07 pm

monsterball,

Your good friend, Jaswant ball is now a registered inmate at Hospital Permai in Tampoi, Johor. You can go and visit him. Visiting hours are 10.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m. After that you visit him at your own risk.

What else have you got Jaswant ball, even your best friend is not responding to you. See I got support, you moron.

21. #21 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 7:53 am

Kamput,

What’s with the vitriol? You’re fasting remember? Oh I see! You just broke your fast. Ooops. Sorry.

22. #22 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 7:59 am

I thought we’re here to talk about the dwindling support for Samy Vellu.

23. #23 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 6:09 pm

Jaswant :I thought we’re here to talk about the dwindling support for Samy Vellu.

Just one ball

Yes, i guess almost everyone is doing that except a half baked “Pariot Act, ISA and inseparable” ball like you.