Cabinet on Wednesday should ask for Musa Hassan’s resignation as IGP in view of the 25-rank drop of Malaysia’s security indicator

The Cabinet on Wednesday should ask for Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s resignation as Inspector-General of Police in view of the 25-rank drop of Malaysia’s security indicator resulting in a three-point drop in Malaysia’s global competitiveness ranking in World Economic Forum (WEF) Global Competitiveness Report 2009-2010 released last week.

Malaysia has dropped three positions to 24th from 21st ranking last year in the latest WEF GCR announced just before the WEF’s annual meeting of the New Champions, dubbed “Summer Davos”, in Dalian China.

This was essentially the result of a much poorer assessment of its institutional framework – with every indicator in the area exhibiting a downward trend since 2007, causing Malaysia to tumble from 17th to 43rd position in this dimension in just two years.

Security in Malaysia is of particular concern with its ranking dropped 25 levels to 85th.

The WEF GCR sub-index on “Security” is made up of four indicators and Malaysia scored very poorly in everyone of them, viz:

Business cost of terrorism 97
Business cost of crime and violence 95
Organized crime 83
Reliability of police services 48

This is what the WEF GCR 2009-2010 stated:

“According to the business community, the potential of terrorism (97th) and crime (95th) both impose significant costs.”

A comparison with the WEF GCR 1999 highlights the worsening of the crime situation of the country in the past ten years, which was supposed to be rectified by the Royal Police Commission as the first initiative of the former Prime Minister, Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi five years ago – but the reverse has taken place, with the country in the throes of the worst crime-and-order situation in the country’s history.

There are only two indicators on the security sub-index in the WEF GCR 1999 report, one on “Effectiveness of Police Force” and the other on “Organized Crime”.

Malaysia was ranked No. 25 out of 59 countries in 1999 on “The effectiveness of police force” index to measure “what extent can police service be relied upon to enforce law and order in your country” with “1=cannot be relied upon at all; 7= can always be relied upon”.

Malaysia scored 5.14 and was ranked No. 31 out of 59 countries in the WEF GCR 1999. Ten years later, in the WEF GCR Report 2009-2010, Malaysia was downgraded to 4.7 and ranked No. 49 out of 133 countries.

Countries which ten years ago were regarded as less safe and secure as their police force were not as reliable, competent and professional have overtaken Malaysia in the estimation of foreign investors – including countries like South Korea, Vietnam and Taiwan.

The index on “Organised Crime” for Malaysia in the past decade is most shocking and outrageous.

This indicator poses the question whether “organized crime (mafia-oriented racketeering, extortion) impose costs on business in your country” with “1=significant costs; 7=no costs”.

Malaysia scored 5.76 and was ranked No. 22 out of 59 countries in 1999 but ten years later, the score went down to 5.0 and plummeted 61 places to be ranked No. 83 out of 133 countries.

Among the countries Malaysia has overtaken in the past ten years in having a more serious problem of “organized crime” in Asia are Hong Kong, South Korea, India, China, Thailand, Indonesia and Japan.

The WEF GCR report on the security situation in Malaysia is an indictment on the service record of Musa Hassan as he must singly bear the greatest blame for the worsening security situation in the country which has undermined Malaysia’s economic well-being and international competitiveness as he was the nation’s top cop in the past three years.

If Najib is serious about efficiency and productivity of public service delivery, we should be having a new IGP as there can be no worse KPI for Musa Hassan as IGP in the past three years than the WEF Global Competitiveness Report citing worsening security as a major reason for Malaysia’s three-point drop of Malaysia’s global competitiveness.

It is most shocking that Musa should have his tenure as IGP renewed for another year. Will the Cabinet now ask for Musa’s resignation as IGP in view of the blistering WEF GCR 2009-2010 on the dismal security situation in the country under Musa’s watch?

1. #1 by Taxidriver on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 11:16 am

“cabinet on wednesday should ask Musa Hassan’s resignation as IGP in view of the 25- rank drop of Malaysia’s security indicator”

Yes. No question about that. In other countries including the tiny island state just across the causeway, the chiefs would take responsibility and resign. Here in Bolehland it is very different. Even with all the pressures for him to exit gracefully he is not willing to go. Near to sixty years of age and a lot of money for him to enjoy his retirement, what could be the reason fof his reluctance?

Mr.LKS, please also ask Hissmuddin to give the cabinet an answer as to why he renewed Musa Hassan’s contract. Rakyat want to know. Thank you in advance.

2. #2 by Taxidriver on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 11:52 am

Ah Longs and their illegal activities ( legal under Musa? ) contribute substantially to the rising crime index. The next Police Chief taking over the top job should relentlessly go after them. Clean up PDRM of officers who drink with Ah Longs and who indirectly assist them to collect bad debts with their non-action when they bash up borrowers.

3. #3 by Cinapek on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:35 pm

Malaysia must be the only country in the world who rewards handsomely those of the ruling elite who screws up big time.

Lost billions of ringgits in forex and you get made a minister and accorded special status as a financial whizz to advise the Govt. Lose billions in doubtful banking acquisitions overseas with GLC banks and you get rewarded with ministerial appointments.

So it is not surprising that the IGP is also rewarded similarly when the crime index takes a dive.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:46 pm

Time and again, I fail to understand why the government is providing “free notice boards” to these Ah Longs! Road signs, traffic signs and public notices along roadsides, pillar boxes, telephone exchange boxes, TNB exchange boxes and lamp posts have become sites for these Ah Longs to stick their advertisements! And by the look of it, no action has been taken against them.

The road traffic signs in Taman Cheras which have been defaced by Ah Long stickers have just been replaced but immediately after the new ones are up, these guys are up to their old tricks again. These new traffic signs are once again covered with Ah Long stickers! Since all mobile phones are registered today, it would not be difficult to track down the culprits since their phone numbers are on the stickers. Just why is the police inactive or indifferent towards this incidence????

5. #5 by rabbit on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:03 pm

hmmmm ASKING this If Najib is serious about efficiency and productivity of public service delivery, we should be having a new IGP as there can be no worse KPI for Musa Hassan
    …. do you think he will look into this? hehehe dream lah. this IPG only for this slave, cos this ipg can help him control every thing. in other way.. this IPG keep sucking rackyar money! he is another toyo i guess, why MACC never open his file? this IPG sit how much he paid for? who vote for him? how much the voter earn? so silly!!! ONE MALAYSIA .. meaning no kaum! why the IPG cannot give to chinese or indian to hold this position?

6. #6 by newchief on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:51 pm

dtk LIM…i know you just want to show-off about musa’s case because in reality,you know najib won’t drop him. luckily, its not a contract for life !!!!

umno cares NOTHING about malaysian crimes but they do need musa to protect them hyenas like you for their survival.

so, LIM, GOOD TRY but umno will laugh directly at your face!!!

7. #7 by cseng on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 3:39 pm

Let KTK knows these, he is the KPI minister. What a KPI for police but the govement cares not.With this KPI the IGP contract get renewed, so what the KPI for?

The KPI alone does not work, you need accountability!. Najib shouted KPI but without accountability, at the end of days, I miss the KPI, so what? change the KPI, change to my set of KPIs.

Trust me, the IGP and the PDRM somehow can comeout their set of KPI to show they did improved.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 4:45 pm

No worry, still more better than Zim, much OK
    Musa’s main KPI is to look after Umno n BN’s interest
    N to get AI
    Got mattress with stains or not on pubic display soon

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 5:43 pm

Does the EC set polling day on weekends only for Barisan Nasional strongholds?

The EC set polling for the Bagan Pinang by-election on Sunday, October 11.

In the last Permatang Pasir by-election, a PR stronghold, polling was held on a Tuesday. So was the Permatang Pauh by-election earlier on.

10. #10 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 5:51 pm

“newchief” writer does not know why Lim Kit Siang and DAP are so popular?
    hi…..idiot…LKS is speaking on behalf of millions citizens…minus UMNO and MCA crooks. and worms.
    UMNO will laugh at LKS?
    Hi..Najib said in Tawau..”I am very happy that thousands of people from all walks of life have turned up to join me breaking fast”
    Free food with PM menu….only idiots do not want to eat.
    Now..that will get Malaysians laughing at UMNO…..CORRECT?
    Anyway….Lim Kit Siang is larger than life…larger than UMNO..and he is laughing at you too…
    newchief”

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:06 pm

” …Najib said in Tawau..”I am very happy that thousands of people from all walks of life have turned up to join me breaking fast”
    Free food with PM menu….only idiots do not want to eat….”

Half were illegal Filipino immigrants, the other half illegal Indonesian immigrants. But all have valid Malaysian documents.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:35 pm

Kit,

Reveal the WEF GCR report to Najib will not help since he is not going to change his mind.

Reveal and explain the WEF GCR report to the voters of Bagan Pinang will likely to help PR garner some votes from them.

13. #13 by ekompute on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:43 pm

Taxidriver :
    In other countries including the tiny island state just across the causeway, the chiefs would take responsibility and resign. Here in Bolehland it is very different. Even with all the pressures for him to exit gracefully he is not willing to go. Near to sixty years of age and a lot of money for him to enjoy his retirement, what could be the reason fof his reluctance?

Elementary, Mr. Watson. Edmund Burke said more than 300 years ago:

“Those who have been once intoxicated with power and have derived any kind of emolument from it, even though but for one year, never can willingly abandon it. They may be distressed in the midst of all their power, but they will never look to anything but power for their relief.”

Anyway, we have a lot of thick-skinned people in Malaysia. They don’t know what is accountability or they just don’t care.

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:52 pm

The Cabinet will look absolutely stupid if they ask IGP to go barely 2 weeks after giving him the green light to stay.

Either way, I have concluded the Cabinet is stupid. Now they have dug a whole so big the XXXL size cabinet can fit in snugly together – one big happy family. That’s what you call economies of scale.

15. #15 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:52 am

UMNO is not interested how many ranks we can drop, whether it is on crime rate, corruption or justice. What they are interested is “you scratch my back and I scratch yours”

16. #16 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:56 am

Oh I forgot about the election commission. They are all lap dogs of UMNo

17. #17 by GilaPolitic on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:58 am

Quoted today: Datuk Seri Najib Razak told foreign diplomats here tonight that he was committed to promoting Malaysia as a model Islamic country with multicultural tolerance.

Unquoted : Mr & Mrs Foreign diplomats are not damn stupid fools can be easily blinded and will never trust such words about fairness in 1Malaysia slogan when many recent negative news were biased and unfair to all Malaysians. For good example: No immediate action by few policemen when 50 bloody cow head protestors against the relocation of Hindu temple, Strong prompt actions by hundreds of policemen with tear gas and water canon when thousands of peaceful anti ISA supporters took the streets against dragonian ISA rules.

Najib said: In the Quran, God tells us that for us to be closer to God, we have to be fair.
    Looks who is talking SAINT ?

TOK GURU NIK AZIZ noble words :-
    Believe it or Not ?

InsyALLAH, wahai little Najib, sudahlah banyak cakap ini ! Dont talk rubbish about fairness to all Malaysians when BN unethical power grab in Perak was unfair to all Perakian voters and the wang ehsan Petronas due to all Kelantanese still held by BN goons for many years.

Malaysians are fed up with the “NFA” results for many unresolved crime reports were swept under the BN carpets and their many skeleton scandals are kept in their closets.
    Only GOD knows what happen to high crime cases left unresolved in Malaysia. Yes, Bravo !the old IGP got his easy jobs extended for 12 months for obeying BN orders on many unfairness actions against the rakyat and Oppositions but forgot about the criminals.

Many Indonesian protestors shouted:
    “MALAYSIA IS MALINGSIA ” – a pencuri and kurang ajar itu Malaysians.

Utusan Malaysia quoted: ” Jangan jadi bacul ” – Correct, correct, correct !
    Siapa itu bacul kini ? UMNO malu mahu jawab !

GOD said : “Sembahyang lah anda sebelum anda disembahkan” .

18. #18 by veddy.lum74 on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 7:35 am

najis n the cabinet can do whatever thy like now,their days are numbered;thy are trying to keep the chief lap dog of pdrm that can help them scotfree of any crimes,but Rakyat are not blind,furthermore,see what has happenned to the other powerfull chief lapdog of macc,he is adopting LIFO method,all the aduns from BN are untouchable for their wrongdoings last year,but thy can take quick n bias actions against PR’s aduns,we do not want these type of unfair,unjust n corrupt gomen!

19. #19 by taiking on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 8:57 am

Blame gravity not umno. Yeah and blame that idiot who sat beneath a certain apple tree. No No blame that #$*&^%!(*&) apple. Wot I am saying is everything has to come down. See me point? Look at beng hock. He came down well sort of went down. No No fell down. Oh WTF. He was down on the floor. He was down alright! And that is nature. So its ok for our index to come down. It has to happen dat way. Even smoke particles come down after a while.

…. Umno reasoning out an argument to counter the index drop.

20. #20 by eusoon on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 9:42 am

Pakatan should turn the Bagan Pinang by election as a referendum against the performance of the IGP since the postal votes form a significant portion of the total votes. Pakatan should take this opportunity to ensure that the postal votes are not tampered and start a campaign aim at police personnels to vote against the present IGP. There are significant grievances and frustration among the police personnels over the continued deterioration of the crime and the performance of the police especially the IGP.
    It is also time for Pakatan to pay more attention on how to prevent fraud in the postal votes. This can be done with coordination of NGOs and all political parties.

21. #21 by newchief on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 11:19 am

wow.my comment on LKS has triggered monsterballssgoh anger.

LKS is already famous for his aggressive talks ang i really appreaciate having people like him around to bashing the bn morons. if not for him, parliament will be so dull!!!

the only thing i want to point out is that umno WILL NEVER DO WHAT OPPOSITIONS SUGGESTED ESPECIALLY FROM LKS’ MOUTH so maybe monsterballssgoh should TAKE OVER HIS PLACE !!!

i know not of this monsterball nor he knows me and i’ve been labelled idiot??? well, i won’t call him names because i malas to entertain people like him who insults others intelligence thinking his is the best.

i just wonder wether his brains nerves link to his monsterball or not :) so who is laughing now????

i don’t think LKS laughs at me because he knows i’m right. its the umno who thinks that whatever they do is perfectly right and whatever LKS says is wrong. that’s what i mean by umno laughing at LKS but the rakyat like me is actually laughing at unmo !!!

now, you dig where my stand is for LKS , monsterballssgoh ???

22. #22 by taiking on Wednesday, 16 September 2009 - 8:18 am

Those fellas compiling the index must consider a new category on “Organised Corruption”.

Umno reacted so violently and passionately when lky described jb as a cowboy town. And where are those passionate (and violent) idiots? Why are they not countering the indonesians. Ask toyo to explain why his countrymen are behaving so badly.

23. #23 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Thursday, 17 September 2009 - 10:38 pm

anak raja lawan anak raja
    awal pagi pagi pulak tu patutnya time tidur tapi depa enjoy kat kelab malam terkemuka
    aduhai…khabarnya lepas tu anak raja yang sorang tu keluar kan pistol… ada pulak polis repot…tapi tak da tindakan… apa ke jadah nya oiii ketua polis negara… orang pegang lilin kau tangkap yang ni kau buat bodoh ke… kecut ? telo kat dahi ?