The biggest obstacle to Malay progress…

Letters
by Allan C

I am a Chinese Malaysian male with diverse groups of friends – Tamils, Malayalees, Sikhs, Jaffna Tamils, whites, Eurasians, and Babas and Nyonyas.

The problem is I have very few Malay friends.

Umno tells them I am a threat to them..

Umno tells them I am undeserving of equal rights.

They might even believe it, and since I don’t want to think any less of them, I prefer to keep my own counsel.

Generally I don’t talk much about anything important with Malays, and certainly not about politics.

I think meaningful friendships between Malays and non-Malays are becoming rare in Malaysian society.

There is not enough dialogue between Malays and non-Malays at the ground level. Umno speaks from both sides of its mouth – telling the Malays the non-Malays are a threat to them, and then turning round to tell the non-Malays that their rights will be protected.

At other times it may say the reverse, the key denominator being what it needs to say to win votes at the time, and the ethnic composition of the audience. After 51 years of Umno’s divide and rule, it is no wonder that race relations are a joke.

With Biro Tata Negara, Khir Toyo and Ahmad Ismail to lead the way, only a fool will think Umno wants good race relations. Umno leaders wants good race relations only when it will keep them in power. Power and money are the real motivations for Umno’s political leaders.

After the twisted judicial treatments and twisted sentences meted out to the likes of Lim Guan Eng, Anwar Ibrahim, Teresa Kok and Raja Petra Kamaruddin, I think we can safely rule out any semblance of a sense of right and wrong and common decency as a meaningful guide to Umno’s decisions.

There are a number of things I want to put across to my imaginary Malay audience in cyberspace – you – particularly if you believe every racist, inflammatory, bigoted, and demonised stereotype, opinion piece and fabricated news that Ahmad Ismail, Khir toyo, Utusan Melayu, and Biro Tata Negara tells you about me.

If I were a Malay leader, this is what I would say. The Malays totally dominate the aristocracy, cabinet, parliament, judiciary, police, military, and huge government bureaucracy. The Malays have the highest birth rates.

You have benefitted from the racial quotas in education, commerce, licenses, contracts, jobs and promotions – funded by non-Malays. Therefore if you are feeling aggrieved, if you are feeling angry, and if you are feeling insecure, you need to ask yourself why…

If Umno tells you that your culture, language, race and religion is threatened by non-Malays and non-Muslims, i would suggest you think critically before you act. Umno has destroyed any hope of English literacy amongst the Malay masses.

Without English literacy the professions are out of the question for you. High-paying jobs will be hard to find. You will be handicapped in your career and business. Umno tells you that the non- Malays have advanced economically at your expense.

Umno loves to say that the non Malays have used unfair means to advance by cheating you.

The truth is Umno leadership has advanced economically and socially at your expense by destroying your competitiveness but to cap it all, they have succeeded in making you blame the non-Malays for their mistakes.

Umno makes you think that the way for you to reach global competitiveness would be to oppress and hamstring the non-Malays with steep racial quotas for jobs, licenses, and university places.

The truth is that it is the competitiveness and grit of successful Malays and non-Malays who compete in the open market in open competition that acts to provide every Malaysian – you and I – with the best goods at the cheapest prices.

You could buy a good quality, long lasting, reliable Japanese car in any other country for what you pay for a crappy Proton in Malaysia . Meanwhile, the AP scam that gives select Malays a license to smuggle in thousands of cars without paying duty will never be awarded to anyone other than the most overly privileged, wealthy and connected Umno elite insider – and definitely not to you if you are an ordinary decent Malay.

With Umno’s wholesale corruption, and racist propaganda that scapegoats and demonises the non-Malays to play on your fears and anxieties, our beloved country will come to resemble the uneducated, unproductive, expensive, impoverished countries like Burma , Indonesia , Philippines and Zimbabwe .

Umno leaders will do anything to stay in power and wealth, and that includes to divide and rule with lies, judicial abuse, and more. In the beginning the NEP picked the low-hanging fruit so there was an easy prosperity for everyone but now the signs of terminal decay are everywhere.

Economic and political reality has come back to roost, and if you are still poor, you need to ask why filthy rich Umno leaders are telling you that the non-Malays continue to cheat you of your rights and prosperity. The truth is that the success of any Malaysian in the open market that is subject to open competition will benefit all Malaysians.

Businesses, academics and professionals who have succeeded because of their competitiveness, innovation, hard work and determination bring prosperity to all Malaysians. Non-Malays and Malays who compete in the open market, if they succeed, it is because they offer everyone – you and I – a better product at a lower price.

Businesses and businesspersons who have succeeded because of a government-sanctioned cartel or monopoly that denies others the chance to compete will make all Malaysians poorer – that is, except the lucky filthy rich Umno-BN leaders who gave themselves or family or cronies the cartel or monopoly – APs, Proton, UEM, Renong, Bank Bumi – in the first place.

If you are reading this letter, I can presume that just like me, you did not get the exclusive contract, license, cartel or monopoly either. The truth is you and I and everyone else have been made poorer by the system that Umno has created.

If the economy is heading for a downturn, and if the financial crisis affected your business, and you are wondering why people in other countries don’t work as hard as you, and still earn much more money, then you will begin to understand that they live in a superior system.

Their leaders do not rob and abuse their citizens as much as in Malaysia . If you drive a Proton and they drive a Japanese car for the same price, then you are never going to be as well off as them.

Advanced progressive modern countries have achievement- based values, equal rights, open competition, meritocracy, and legislate against racism.

Such countries will have wealthier and healthier citizens who are not any smarter than you, and who will not be working harder than you, but they will be better informed than you, their kids will receive a better education than yours, and they will be earning lots more money than either you or me.

Umno will tell you that advanced countries like Singapore have prospered at your expense. The truth is that Umno will never give you a superior system. It cannot reform because it has an addiction problem. Umno leaders are addicted to huge amounts of easy money – your money!

Umno will tell you that their addiction to your money is in your best interests. Umno will say they only take money from non-Malays. Umno will say it is your fault if you are addicted to Umno’s Ketuanan Melayu policies and bumiputera privileges..

The truth is that Umno is addicted to your tax money, and Umno will try to weaken your will to succeed on your own by getting you mentally addicted to their falsehoods. Unless Umno can make you feel addicted to your privileges, and make you feel unable to compete, and frightens you with the non-Malay bogeyman (or bogeywoman like Teresa Kok), and that he or she is a threat to your safety, finances, future, race, language, culture and religion, then Umno knows it will lose your vote in open competition to PKR and PAS.

The biggest obstacles to Malay progress are low standards and low expectations.

Umno tells you that you cannot compete with the non-Malays. Yet there are so many parameters to what is better or not that it is impossible to measure them all. It is illogical to think that someone else is better than you.

To believe that you cannot compete is a very low expectation that guarantees very low standards, and it is the last thing you would ever want to leave to your children. The solution requires guts and faith – in you. You must insist on open competition, meritocracy, equal rights, and an end to all forms of racism.

You are not inferior, you can compete, and you control your own destiny.

If you allow Umno to brainwash you, and your children, then low standards and low expectations become a self-fulfilling prophecy.

The NEP has inevitably deteriorated to become a scam whereby Umnoputras will get all the benefits and be laughing all the way to the bank and everyone else gets poorer funding their excesses – mansions, wives, fat bank accounts, licenses, contracts, monopolies, APs. You get nothing, and I get even less than nothing – blamed for being the pendatang.

PAS and PKR want to change the NEP so that it will help the poor of all races but since the Malays form the bulk of the poor, then the Malays will automatically benefit exceedingly, and no one will feel left out or despised.

We must create a superior system of government that will be efficient, productive, progressive, competitive, and meritocractic – one that can hope to outperform Singapore – if we are to hold our heads up high, in open competition, and without prejudice.

The Malays will still totally dominate the aristocracy, cabinet, parliament, police, judiciary, military and government but in a country that is progressive, meritocractic, educated, progressive, prosperous and respects equal rights, human rights and freedoms.

This would be real legacy worth leaving to your children.

Choose wisely . . . . .

1. #1 by Godfather on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 12:38 pm

Allan C is talking nonsense. We have towering Malays who have gone glocal. We have Malays who are established leaders in the corporate world. If you don’t believe me, read the following link in Rockybru’s recent posting of “Snake & Ladders in the GLC hierarchy”:

https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=28452020&postID=5289582475743377921

Now do you see the mention of any NON-MALAY in the article ? Nah, only towering Malays were mentioned.

Of course we can compete, and we are in control of our own destiny.

2. #2 by Godfather on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 12:42 pm

And don’t forget the 100 pct bumiputra firm of Samshul Anuar & Melurian who will have contracts from UMNO now that the firm of Zaid Ibrahim & Co have “turned” traitor to the UMNO cause.

Stop talking about Malays being handicapped. We pride ourselves on creating glocal Malays whenever the situation calls for it.

3. #3 by AhPek on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 12:54 pm

We also have a tumpangnaut who has gone into space.OOps sorry cosmonaut,
    slip of the tongue.

4. #4 by k1980 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 12:57 pm

5. #5 by simon041155 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:03 pm

I think like all religions, Islamic values are good. But has anyone ever heard UMNO leaders talk about Islamic values, much less practise them? I mean Islamic values, not Islamic rituals. What you hear is I want more, I want more, this is our rights! We Malays have to unite… who is your enemy? The only one whom I really see walks his talk is Kelantan Menteri Besar, Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat. Most of the rest, if not all, are busy accumulating wealth, LOL. Was it Jesus who said that it’s easier for a camel to enter the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God? Well, enjoy now and suffer later may be good advice then, for you never know….

6. #6 by mendela on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:11 pm

Allan C //Umno makes you think that the way for you to reach global competitiveness would be to oppress and hamstring the non-Malays with steep racial quotas for jobs, licenses, and university places. //

Very well said.

Another evil thing UMNO always does is to rewrite Malaysia history.
    Our school history books are full of twisted facts and data in order to poison the minds of all our young Malaysians.

7. #7 by hadi on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:21 pm

No deliberation, no more discussion and as far as I know UMNO and BN must be kicked out and the government must be changed and base on meritocracy. Just leave the constitution and ensure the rakyat is the power.

8. #8 by mendela on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:21 pm

More than 90% of tax money collected are from non-Malays if we do not consider tax money from the GLCs like Petronas.

So basically UMNO is robbing all the non-Malays in order to enrich themselves, the few thousands UMNOputras!

9. #9 by mendela on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:25 pm

Biro Tata Negara must be destroyed immediately before it does more damages to Malaysia!

Its evil leaderss must be sued and put to jail too.

10. #10 by Godfather on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:26 pm

If you read the comments on rockybru’s blog, you will understand the Ketuanan position – we were on the bus first, and don’t expect us to vacate our seats for you. If you ask us to vacate our seats on the bus, you will get a foot in your face.

They don’t understand that we don’t want them to vacate their seats. We only want them to accept the principle of meritocracy (i.e. who is most deserving) whenever a seat becomes vacant. Mamakthir taught them never to give up their seats, and even if they have to get off the bus, to make sure that the seat is given to one of their own kind. After 27 years of crutches, who is going to accept that a vacated seat could go to any person irrespective of race ?

11. #11 by bclee on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:29 pm

“The only one whom I really see walks his talk is Kelantan Menteri Besar, Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat. Most of the rest, if not all, are busy accumulating wealth”quote simon041155.

100% agreed with you.the only malay leader that all Malaysian admired and hormat by all races.

12. #12 by Godfather on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 1:34 pm

After 27 years, the other races have learnt to stand in the bus, and never to ask for a seat. It has made us stronger, and even more determined that our descendants don’t ever have to stand in a bus again.

In any case, we all know that the bus that they so violently claim is their right to use will break down soon, as they don’t really know how to maintain the vehicle. Then, as the bus breaks down, they all have to vacate their seats. Worse, some smart UMNOputra will ask Ah Beng to repair to bus, and then double the fares for that UMNOputra’s benefit.

Now, do you really want to be on that bus ?

13. #13 by Tonberry on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 2:24 pm

I can frankly tell everyone here – nobody can change this country except the Malays themselves. The ball is in their court. If they want to move forward, then they need to ditch Umno’s racist policies. If they want to become another Somalia or Sudan, then nothing we can do. We have done our best to to the fullest of our ability.

14. #14 by backStreetGluttons on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 2:40 pm

Great down to earth post any jo or jane can understand.

It so happens to be true so it might be incomprehensible to manyequinox

15. #15 by frankyapp on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 3:11 pm

Tonberry, we can change this country from bits and pieces with the help from the malays.The malays can never change this country unless they change themselves.

16. #16 by mohd ali ismail on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 3:19 pm

Most Malays who are not in the same boat as the Umnoputras suffer worst fate than the other race in the country.Some nonbumis ,not to mention names, who gained the Umnopura’s confidence, share the country’s spoils.Why do nonbumis fret over equalities.To me the nonbumis are riding high in this country owning big houses in elite areas and riding in big and expensive cars without interference.As far as i am concerned the nonbumis hold the economy of this country.Although Govt.contracts big or small are given to those previllaged Umnopuras, these contracts, eventually fall in the hands of nonbumis somehow. I would switch places with the nonbumis any time.

17. #17 by sms on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 3:37 pm

The Malays have achieved what NEP intended to do.

It is the time the Malays must stop using the NEP policy to suppress other races to performance.

In the purposed independent Constitution, the Malay privilege quotas condition should not be increased but with 3 conditions for quotas review:

1) Retain
    2) Decrease
    3) Discontinue them (quotas)

(The cabinet is bound to be reviewed of quotas by public opinions. The Yang di-Pertuan Agong will be required to safeguard the special position of Malay and also the legitimate interest of other communilities. The Yang di-Pertuan Agong should caused a review of the revised proposal from time to time.)

We have to go back to the history what all races ancestors have agreed to this land before independent, this is the only way to request for decrease/discontinue the quotas.

We must explain and show the Malays, what their honorable The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers vision for Malaysia as follow:

– “in an independent Malaya all nationals should be accorded equal rights, privileges and opportunities and there must not be discrimination on grounds of race and creed….”

“to eliminate Communalism as a force in the political and economic life of the country.”

The Tunku and Malay Rulers have given those above instruction as a guideline in constitution.

You tell the Malays do not lose in the Ocean Sea of Corruption, creep, racism, protectism, separation, discrimination on grounds of race created by UMNO for their greed of powers and money.

All those Ocean Sea elements are totally betrays their honorable The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers vision/guideline for Malaysia.

You do your best to tell the Malays about this vision/guideline, I sure some will respect Their Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers. The written guidelines/instructions allow Malays feel ease and not being feel as a traitor of their race, but doing the review of the quotas condition with honor.

Today, right now, yeah, right now and don’t dream anymore.

It is the times to construct The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers vision/guidelines and all races ancestors dream for this Land of Malaysia.

– “in an independent Malaya all nationals should be accorded equal rights, privileges and opportunities and there must not be discrimination on grounds of race and creed….”

It is the ONE message, ONE vision, ONE dream, ONE destination from the written instruction of our The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers as a guideline in the our Constitution.

Yes, this is the dream, their dream, our ancestors dream, ONE DREAM for all the children of Malaysia.

And it should be our destination dream for this land Malaysia.

Yeah, say it loud and clear in the name of The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers to every Malaysian, to crush the evil doing of UMNO, discrimination on grounds of race and creed brought among us for over 52 years.

And now it is the time, right now, we should pursuit the dream of our The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman, the Malay Rulers, and our ancestors dream.

SAY IT LOUD

IN THE NAME OF OUR BELOVED INDEPENDENT FATHER TUNKU ABDUL RAHMAN,
    IN THE NAME OF THE BELOVED MALAY RULERS,
    IN THE NAME OF OUR BELOVED, SINCER, CARING, HARDWORKING ANCESTORS.

Tell the Malays it is the time, they honor The Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers dream, to be a race with honor and great respect.

Without any blockage, all Malaysian can develop this Land of Malaysia into a great nation in full capacity.

Now, tt is the times.

18. #18 by monsterball on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 4:23 pm

Vote UMNO out…end of race discussions.

19. #19 by Tonberry on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 4:48 pm

Minister ‘quits’ over Mumbai attacks
    In Bolehland, the minister with the same rank will say “why should i quit? There’s no reason for me to quit..”

I really have t salute Indian Home Minister Mr Shivraj Patil for his courage although the attack was not his fault. But Mr Patil took full responsibility.

20. #20 by AhPek on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 5:07 pm

The difference is that the minister in Bolehland feels that his seat is his personal propertyand Patil thinks he has failed in his duty for not being able to foresee it coming thereby failing to prevent it from happenning.It is this thinking that makes him feel responsible and therefore the honourable thing to do is to quit!

21. #21 by cintanegara on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 5:17 pm

I feel like vomit after reading this letter, Not sure what the writer is up to .It is totally unfair, double standards and irresponsible for such letter to be published in this blog.

Don’t you think it ‘s too much and could insult others? Is this part of Malaysian Malaysia concept taught by your leaders?

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 5:23 pm

Allan C opines, “the biggest obstacles to Malay progress are low standards and low expectations”, and goes on to prescribe solution, that there must be “guts and faith” in oneself, embrace, if you will, “open competition, meritocracy, equal rights, and an end to all forms of racism”. “You are not inferior, you can compete, and you control your own destiny”.

This sounds to me like some classic self-help Psycho-Cybernetics prescription! “If you allow Umno to brainwash you, and your children, then low standards and low expectations become a self-fulfilling prophecy”, the implication being if one rids UMNO from power then the problem will end.

Alas I suspect the medicine for the malaise is not so simplistic.

Well TDM is alleged to have exacerbated the Problem with his book “Malay Dilemma” published in 1970 in which the many arguments and conclusions of his are also criticised to be half baked lacking documentary evidence in suport.

Flash forward 33 years later when TDM resigned, he gave his views on the subject to an interview by Khalid Mohd, Group Editor-in-Chief of Utusan Malaysia which is interesting to read here –
    http://www.hvk.org/articles/0603/218.html

However TDM’s views too – focusing on traditional attitudes – may not explain totally the other impacting factor, ie the moulding and alleged arabization of attidudes and culture since the aggressive Islamisation programs launched by TDM in conjunction with Anwar Ibrahim in response to the revival of Islamic fundamentalism (by which reference I mean returning to fundamentals of religion) that started in 1980s in the wake of Ayatollah Khomeini’s Iranian Revolution ousting the Shah of Iran, spreading to Iran and Afghanistan.

So any analysis of the Problem, if it were indeed one, would have to factor not just traditional easy going attitudes but the extent to which these traditional attitudes are now changed/varied and impacted by increasing religious conservatism.

Together these will supersede and survive Allen C’s simplistic Psycho-Cybernetics prescription or even political prescription (eg get rid of UMNO and presto, problem will disappear).

The inevitable implication drawn is that even if Pakatan Rakyat (“PR”) takes over the government at Federal Level, the problem remains – and needs to be managed (how is beyond scope here) – as one can see from the obvious problems rearing their head even in PR controlled states : eg elements in PKNS, supported by PAS Youth wing rejecting Mdm Low’s appointment as GM , the continuing Malay unity talks betwen PAS and UMNO even though former’s participation is against spirit of PR, and the many many other provocations of PAS (since March 8th), too innumerable to specify here, that prove an embarrassment to PR and threatens the union as a whole.

23. #23 by vincent on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 5:36 pm

Unfortunately, I’m afraid that the Uitm or equivalent Uni graduates cannot understand. Could somebody translate it to malay please.

24. #24 by chiakchua on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 5:55 pm

Allan C, well written! Congratulations. Hope more of our Malay countrymen have the chance to read this posting.

All races must unite together to build our country a model country in this world!

To begin with, vote BN out, get PR in!

25. #25 by Godfather on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 7:15 pm

cintanegara:

It’s the thought of UMNO losing the next GE and being rejected wholesale by the Malays which is causing you to want to vomit. Go ahead. Throw up now.

26. #26 by dogsfart on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 7:32 pm

Allan C,
    your thoughts are crystal clear,your words concise and the reality simply shattering. i do share your sympathy for all our Malay brothers and sisters, and pray they can see through all that clutter soon. for they have been compromised far too long by their self serving politicians and some more godly than God religious teachers.what makes it even sadder is majority of the civilians in this country cannot tell between a rock and a diamond; and more often than not choose to worship the rock instead. may they all be Blessed with good luck always

27. #27 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 7:35 pm

Well Written.

BTW, this is a message to our Malay brother who might not well verse in English. Do you think it serve any purpose?

The change of English to BM for medium of education is the start of the down fall of our education system. We need to really look into the rational of using BM as teaching after primary school

Shiok Guy
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/

28. #28 by delon85 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 7:58 pm

cintanegara:

What I think is, it is still better, even if it is not actually that good, than “All humans are equal, but some humans are more equal than others” that is being preached by your political masters.

By the way I’m quoting it out of Animal Farm.

29. #29 by katdog on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 8:44 pm

Allan C,
    I see a huge problem with what you are writing. And the root cause of the problem is:
    “The problem is I have very few Malay friends” – Allan C.

Please go out and make some Malay friends before you make such broad sweeping statements. Go and meet some common hardworking Malays out there.

While your statements may have some truth in it, the arrogant and presumptuous manner which you have said is sure to insult any Malay. Let me remind the non-Malay’s that in 1999, the Malays voted against BN but the non Malays voted overwhelmingly for BN thus helping to keep their corrupt rule in power. The non-Malays in their expensive houses and expensive cars have for 30 years helped the BN government oppress the common Malays via NEP.

30. #30 by simon041155 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 9:30 pm

sms says: “The Malays have achieved what NEP intended to do. It is time the Malays must stop using the NEP policy to suppress other races to performance.”

I agree and disagree. Malays as a whole has more than achieved the 30% set by the NEP. But many are still poor. Why? There is now a big disparity of wealth within the Malay community between UMNOputras and non-UMNoputras. If you have a situation where 5% of Malays own 95% of the 30% share, if it any surprise then that many Malays, especially those in the rural areas, are still poor?

Many UMNOputras have so much money that their wealth cannot see the light of day. Everyone knows that Daim Zainuddin, for example, is rich. Why is he never listed as among the richest man in Malaysia. Simply because all his money are not official
    !
    UMNO has cheated the Malays log, stock, and barrel, and they are still claiming to be fighting for the Malays! What we need now is a New Intra-Malay Redistribution Policy (NIRP) to ensure the redistribution of wealth among the Malays themselves… that is when the Malays in Malaysia do wake up!

31. #31 by PureMalaysian on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 9:36 pm

They dont progress becoz there are still narrow minded fanatic people around… just like here:
    http://graduanmelayumuda.blogspot.com/

32. #32 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 10:46 pm

Dear allan C,

Very well said although believing it is another matter. Yes. I can see that you do not have many Malay friends. Jugding from your remarks ( mostly negative about everything Malay or anthing cherished by Malay Muslim) , I can see why you can give such slanted view.

You do not know the Malay. The problem is compounded when someone refuses to take initiative on things he does not know. What a tragedy actually. You are surrounded by Malays but building a wall ( imaginary) that separates you from them.

Now I understand why there was an emperor in imperial China who built a Great Wall. Likewise, you also built a wall although there is a saying that “Ignorance is not a bliss”.

Please tell me the instances that UMNO said that non Malays do not have rights. Upon independence, non Malays were given citizenship en bloc, unparalled phenomenon by world standard.

If UMNO( meaning Malay) is so racist, would you have Ong Ka ting or Ong tee Kiat winning in Malay area? In many election in my hometown in Kedah, MCA candidates had been winning in Malay area. What does that show?

Out of humility , UMNo allows a peculiar phenomenon that is vernacular school. Just look across the strait, you can forget about separate school.

UMNO never poisons the Malays that non Malays are to be hated. Rather, it went on and on about using whatever political power it has on improving the Malay community. There is some degree of succeess. Without UMNO’s support, there is as good as none with regards to Malay professionals.

UMNO may give extra attention to the Malays. What is wrong about that. As you do not have Malay friends, you may not realize that safely 99% of Malays feel it is suicidal to depend on DAP for their interest.

UMNO does not go on and on poisoning the Malays on May 13 the way DAP for decades put the blame on UMNO on that tragedy. When I told my Chinese friends on what Chinese extremists did to Malay villagers, he was dumbfounded.

Many Malays still do not forget DAP’s role in May 13. However, good natured Malays always follow the saying “Let bygone be bygones. The Chinese would be very upset if we show them the proof on what DAP did on May 13”.

As for Godfather, there is a nasty saying on those who like to assume for the sake of assuming. I do not have to depend on UMNO for my “rezeki”. I have my own way of earning my income.

AS for discrimination, I suggest that Uncle Lim to invite MP foir Puchong, better known for his crude behavior, to visit Hotel Putra In in Batu 14. Proudly on advertisement is requirement ” for Chinese” only to fill the vacancy.

As for Allan C, please tell me the instance that UMNO said that Malays cant compete with non Malays. And perhaps you can hear from horses mouth themselves. Discrimination against non Chinese in private sector is an open secret.

33. #33 by simon041155 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 10:48 pm

A group of people decided to form a company. So they decided to get all Malays to be shareholders.

At the end of the year, the company made a good profit. The directors decided that since they work so hard, they deserve to get more. They decided to pay themselves high salaries and big bonuses. Every director wants more and by the time they agreed on the figure, there was nothing left for the shareholders. One said, if the shareholders get nothing, they will leave the company. “Okay then, say another, “let’s give them some crumbs so that they can continue to be part of the company.”

34. #34 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 11:00 pm

share my c@cklah,wat to share?
    we are practising capitalism,work,work,work,stupid!
    now even the communist country like china is far ahead of us!still want tongkat?still want ALI earn,BABA work?
    religion just a ‘praying tool’,not everything!
    who cares if afterdeath going to hell or heaven?(i was told nowadays ‘living’ at heaven is very boring,not much ppl there!whereas,hell is crowded with all sorts of ppl,including plenty of muslims!)

35. #35 by DingDongBell on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 11:04 pm

Great article , Allan. Thanks you your effort .You call a spade a spade. Just hope that the non Umnoputra Malay can see the light. Nobody like to be told that they are inferior and can’t compete from birth. They are too weak or in Umno’s term they are not ready to compete, but the are the supreme race ! Supreme loser !

36. #36 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 11:22 pm

yoga haram,babi haram,tulisan papantanda bahasa lain haram,judi haram,alkohol haram…tapi,
    rokok ok,rogol ok,rempit ok,rasuah boleh diterima,pinjam wang dari along boleh tapi cari jakim selesai,buka gerai mana-mana pun boleh,curi ,tipu pun ok,cukai boleh lari dgn sedikit sumbangan zakat cukup,miskin macammanapun anak 6,pinjam bank tak payah bayar!kan ptptm tu nor mohd kata,muflis punya peminjam masih boleh pinjam!!!???

37. #37 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 11:23 pm

Dear DingDongBall,

None of UMNO leaders ever told the Malays that they are inferior as compared to other races. Can you lend some credence to your claim? Not that I believe in your view anyway.

Please quote me an UMNO leader who proudly told the Malays that they are inferior.

38. #38 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 11:26 pm

DEar Veddy.lum74,

“Rogol ok”. Now what a nasty thing to say. Dont your parents ever teach you some mannerism.

39. #39 by de_Enigma on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 11:46 pm

Dear Cintanegara,

You repeatedly claim whatever in this blog is unfair, biased, double standard and whatever you may accuse. Please share with us your wisdom, how on earth you can come to this conclusions.

If you just want to rant about based on your guts without going into details and proper thinking, Puremalaysia just posted a very suitable blogspace for you:

http://graduanmelayumuda.blogspot.com/

40. #40 by oster on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:38 am

1. This letter is patronising. Taking on a condascending tone hasn’t helped the middle class urbanites buck the conservative trend elsewhere. What makes the writer think this will help?

2. This letter engages in the fallacious generalisation of Malays as a monolithic bloc, trying feebly to justify it with the actions of UMNO. Go read up on logical fallacies.

Come down from high hill, sir.

cheers

41. #41 by chengho on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 7:22 am

Allan c,

there are more than 16 million Malay in Malaysia and you know only a few of them? something wrong with you. even if you walk along the oxford street or orchard road you can find a malay and say hello to them.

42. #42 by ktteokt on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 7:34 am

The biggest obstacle to Malay progress is none other than the NEP itself. How can you expect them to “grow up” when the government treats them like “little kids” by providing them with everything they want? Any race group can only advance when it is subjected to challenge.

In comparison, the standards of the Malays have fallen since the implementation of the NEP. By providing them with special rights and all the perks, the non-Malays in Malaysia are still able to survive till today, in a discriminative environment. In other words, they have overcome the discrimination and still made it to the top despite being proclaimed Class #2 citizens. Relatively speaking, this simply means that the standards of the Malays have fallen further into the pits!!!!

43. #43 by Godfather on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 8:08 am

“I do not have to depend on UMNO for my “rezeki”. I have my own way of earning my income.” says the UMNOputra Samshul Anuar.

Oh yeah ? Wait for full meritocracy in education, employment, business licences, government contracts, and then you and your children can make that statement.
    Anyone who supports the den of thieves have only one reason to offer this support – and you are not Mother Teresa.

44. #44 by veddy.lum74 on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 8:55 am

cintainegara,

wat is your contribution to the nation?
    pls answer these questions:
    -wat is your personal production?
    -are you jealous of non-malays success despite being oppressed?
    -you know wat’s the meaning of ‘give n take’?(or you ppl just noe how to take,or rob without knowing how to give?)
    -you are staying in a democracy proclaimed country,and you ppl only know how to implement ethnic policies!right?
    -wat is ‘fairness’ to you?you mean every1 must be having same level of wealth?so,might as well go for communism?
    -if you are a non-malay,your children scored 10As,but were rejected by local Us,how do you feel?Or you just dun bother!
    -wat is your comment on the issue of UMNO’s MB corruptions?most of them could accumulate few hundred millions in couple of years,you mean,the money were ‘donated’,not stolen?
    -if you dun answer with sincerity,pls for heaven sake,dun post any comment no more!!!

45. #45 by Bigjoe on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 9:34 am

I can replace the entire essay with one sentence. The biggest obstacle… feudal mindset. But the issue really is how does feudal mindset get changed? If you look at history, its basically by failures of the feudal system NOT by new ideologies. It was essentially technological. Feudal systems cannot keep up with technology and eventually fails. Sure, the constant pushing of better ideology is there but without technological change that lead to feudal system failures, the ruling group remain.

What we see now, the change in Anwar political cause, the money politics, the scandals etc, they are all symptoms of feudal system failuires. But is technology changed enough? With oil, EPF and other BN-favoured assets in their side its hard to say.

So are the Malay ready for change? No. BUT are the Malay leadership ready for change? That is harder to answer. The return of Anwar indicate some readiness but the strength of PAS indicate not quite. The real issue is are the Malay reformist UP to the challenge? Not without help from non-Malays i.e., DAP and Hindraf as well as MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP as well as the Dayaks, Kadazans, Dusuns. So the issue, is the collective of diversity that is Malaysia UP to the challenge? Historical we were in 1957. In 1969 we failed. So the verdict is are the collective diverse leadership that of 1957 or will it be more 1969? I will say this, the younger leaders of DAP, PAS (so called Erdogan faction) IS and should be unleashed…

In other words, the answer does not lie in changing the Malay mindset, not yet anyway. It lies in technology and leadership.

46. #46 by oedipus on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 10:10 am

allan c should find himself more malay friends. but its quite true… that the non-malays dare not to share what they feel deep inside, for the fear of offending the malays. perhaps vice versa.

but one would assume that after all so many years of living together, we could share our fears and doubts without fear of backlash. sadly it isnt so.

dear cintanegara, whats your remedy my friend?

47. #47 by VampireBS on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 10:54 am

I have malay friends and I’m NOT chinese school students. so basically I’ve go to school with malay kids since little until Form 5 in sekolah kebangsaan. Even in school time those ideology of UMNO existed and we have to learn to live with it, day by day. Sometimes we grow discontent towards it, but we can’t do anything bout it.. teachers treating them far better than non-malays. So if anyone has this kind of emotion, that is where it started, school times.

48. #48 by cintanegara on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 11:36 am

veddy.lum74 ,

1. My professional career contributes to a massive growth to the country
    2. I pay tax to the country to alleviate the hardships of the poorer people in the country and also to provide for needed infrastructure
    3. I have numerous Non-Malays and professional expatriate working closely with me in the similar environment. Why would I have such jealousy whatsoever towards them?
    4. ‘Give n take’ concept will ONLY work if both parties willing to sacrifice. It is not just one sided. It wouldn’t work if one side demanding others to eradicate their privileges while they themselves not willing to do so.
    5. With regards to the corruption, we have appropriate channel to address that. I believe you’re aware that several ministers/MB were charged for corruption and misconduct. Remember, what happened to ex-Selangor MB in 1976?
    6. Why didn’t you appeal if your children scored 10As but got rejected by local U? I believe the Government will consider the entry to avoid the brain drain.
    7. ‘Fairness’ – Extremely difficult to achieve in multi racial country. It is undeniable that the majority should get special privileges to address the imbalance of economic equity.

49. #49 by mohd ali ismail on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 12:42 pm

All the fracuss about inbalance in our society boils down to education policy.If i were to govern the country i would choose to have just one language and one language alone as a medium in schools.Everyone in the country speaks the same language.In this country one do not speak the same language, thus ,get different interpretations each time the other speaks.That is the whole problem.Think about that!There is no point blaming each other at this point in time.We should get together and throw the bad apples that cause the problem.Our common enemy is known!What are we waiting for.

50. #50 by oedipus on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:04 pm

yah… the education system needs an urgent revamp…. esp that in the kebangsaan schools.

you know, mohd. ali ismail, the best way to end vernacular schools is to bring the kebangsaan schools’ standard above those of the vernacular type.

that way, all typical kiasu parents will automatically line their children in the kebangsaan school to enrol them! which parents do not wish the best education foe their children?

51. #51 by no on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:18 pm

cintanegara

The BN MP have not ask for your back side for power yet? Meh,

Why you so free to posted your stupid commend here?

‘Fairness’ – Extremely difficult to achieve in multi racial country. It is undeniable that the majority should get special privileges to address the imbalance of economic equity.
    What kind of stupid answer you sent here?

The NEP policy only benefit few bunch of corrupted people connect to UMNO. Where the rural Malay is in poor shape. Is this what you called fairness?

You should ask those professional expatriacte to tell you f..k off from their office else you are insulted them using their name to insulted human rights posted by you, all expatricate fully respect human rights.

You supported children 10As is not brain drain rejected by local but government took it as brain drain if they dont accept the Malays even his/her is only 5Cs.

We can see you are 99.9% racist.

Your special position on others for over 51 years is earned by cheating on others, refused others demand for review.

Your special position is supposed to help you instead now you are using it to oppress other races in Malaysia, it is totally abusing and unacceptable.

Like I said,

YOUR CURRENT SPECIAL POSITION OVER OTHERS FOR OVER 51 YEARS IS EARNBED BY CHEATING, REFUSED OTHERS DEMAND FOR REVIEW.

DO YOU GOT IT? CHEATING

52. #52 by Shamsudin on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:33 pm

The problems:-
    1. The best person do not get the best job.
    2. The best student do not get a place in the best U.
    3. The best company do not get the contract.
    4. The best person do not serve in the government.

Limited resources are not efficiently and optimally utilised = wastage.
    How long can the oil revenue last to sustain all these wastage???

God bless Malaysia.

53. #53 by Godfather on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 2:07 pm

Guys:

cintanegara is a product of the NEP. He is sitting pretty in the bus, and he is not about to give way to those who are more in need of the seat. He is also telling us that if he has to get off the bus, his seat is reserved for one of his own kind only. If you want a seat, go to another bus, don’t appeal to him to give up his seat.

Don’t be angry at those who have come up through the crutch system perpetuated by UMNO. Reason with a cool head. Just vote wisely.

54. #54 by AhPek on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 3:29 pm

‘It is undeniable that the majority should get special priveleges to address to address the imbalance of economic equity.’. cintanegara.

Really! ‘Undeniable’ it seems.That’s very insightful.I always thought that it is a ploy for a special group of priveleged Malays to clean the coffers of the nation.

55. #55 by OrangRojak on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 3:58 pm

“It is undeniable that the majority should get special privileges to address the imbalance of economic equity”
    NO. This is absolutely the biggest mistake ever made in the history of a nation. I have an opinion as to why this method was chosen – it is, after all, extremely simple to describe and to operate. You are the right colour, you get special. You aren’t the right colour, you don’t get special. Given a button to peck, even a pigeon could operate such a system.

But it completely misses the point. Economic imbalance is a fact of life. Some love it, some wish for more equal distribution. Basing the system of penalty / favour on colour is collective punishment for non-kopi-coloured, and indiscriminate favour for kopi-coloured. If you are non-kopi-coloured and wish and act for fairness – you are the most penalised of all. If you are kopi-coloured and wish and act selfishly, you are the most favoured of all. On both sides, the Malaysians of whatever colour who wish and act for fairness are the ones who get the worst deal – there is no incentive to act fairly.

A fairer, more difficult to operate system would be based on means alone. If one colour Malaysian is disproportionately poorer, they would be disproportionately favoured by a means-tested rule. If one colour Malaysian is disproportionately richer, then they will pay more tax. Tax the rich, help the poor: if there’s racial imbalance in earnings, there’ll be racial imbalance of payments. If (IF!) there’s an immutable correlation between race and earnings, there’ll be a corresponding immutable relationship between race and support. Such a scheme penalises the richest (which is what poor and reasonable people want) and supports the poor (which is what reasonable and poor people want).

If (IF!) there was the slightest possibility that an imbalance existed because of anti-social financial practices, the reasonable (but requires effort) response would be to enact strict business laws governing anti-social ways of doing business. You can’t sell this last option to anyone. Poor people don’t understand – it doesn’t say anything about sunburn, blistered hands and children handicapped through disease their parents can’t afford to treat. Rich people will hate it and instruct their pet journalists to say bad things about it, which poor people will believe, because they want to be like the rich person and have a Mercedes and dangly jewelled accessories for their handphones. But it really is the only way to fairly fight unfairly acquired imbalance.

If someone complained about anti-unfairness rules, you could laugh in their face, and I would stand next to you laughing too. Giving government handouts to kopi-coloured people who drive Mercedes isn’t funny – it’s idiotic. It’s time for the Malaysian poor to form a community around their most pressing common issue, and not the most superficial.

56. #56 by ryan123 on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 4:01 pm

cintaUMNO have no idea about equality and equity. As simple as that.

I do think that the article is kind of aggressive, but at least it offers an alternative perspective for MORONS like you to see. But you just reject it without further considerations, don’t you think that you are ignorant?

Your so-called GREAT contributions? Many are doing that as well, I see no weight in your works.

“Undeniable”, I dare to say that Malaysia is the only country doing so. Please list out another example?

You don’t have jealousy, but you have fear towards fair competition, as simple as that.

I was rejected by Local U for my first 5 choices of course, but was awarded scholarship in a foreign countries, while some people get admitted with numerous B’s, so? I don’t see any sincerity in the local education system in avoiding brain drain. Perhaps they treasure people like you.

Have you seen US whites mentioning to the African American that – “I brought you here, granted you citizenship. Hence, I shall have privileges which you shouldn’t have”? In other hand, I see affirmative actions given to those who really need it.

Don’t be defensive all the time. Spend a little bit of time to think from the perspectives of Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Dusuns, Ibans, etc etc

57. #57 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 4:24 pm

Sometimes we really yearned that British Colonists were fairer to all in the country, and would preferred the British was still the master rather than what we have now although independent, the race discrimination is much more worse.

Non malays were treated as third class.

Despite the fact that malays are given special privileges, special quotas & rights in all spheres of life here, like government contracts, scholarships, universities places, civil services jobs, top positions in GLC and civil service, judiciary, legal service, police and army top brass…. you name it they have it in this country, and yet in any businesses and ventures set up by non malays, they have to give malays 30% too.

When we build houses, we must reserve 30% for malays, whether they will buy or not, we have to give 5 to 10% discount to malays.

And these discounts will be at the expense of non malays. In some states like Kedah, 50% of houses built must be reserved at discounted prices for the malays, why? Non malays aren’t human beings too? We also need to live and eat and work, but whatever non malays struggled and succeeded, 30% must be handed out to malays, besides all the special privileges and treatment guaranteed by the constitution?

Isn’t such a situation worse that those colonial days for non malays? At least all were equal under the laws then.

58. #58 by AhPek on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 4:53 pm

‘I don’t see any sincerity in the local education system in avoiding brain drain.’.
    ryan 123.

Talking about brain drain it reminds me of a conversation many years ago between Tun Razak and Lee Kuan Yew.LKS in the course of the conversation remarked to Razak on the leaving of professionals ‘Are you not worried about the brain drain in your country.’.Razak shot back,’What! You mean trouble drain.’.
    This mentality coming from Razak has ever since set the tone in this country as to how non Malays are to be treated.He hasn’t got the slightest concern for the well-being of the nation!

59. #59 by OrangRojak on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 5:43 pm

“you have fear towards fair competition, as simple as that”
    And where would a Malaysian go to find fair competition? Malaysian business is almost universally viewed as dishonest. I tell companies overseas that I’m in Malaysia, they don’t want to do business with me. It’s all cash up front or they don’t want their fingers burnt twice in the same fire. This is the same thing my jogging partners tell me while we’re sweating our way around the local palm plantation, and so do their friends. When they introduce me to their friends, their friends ask me to represent them overseas (prawns, building blocks and electronics in the last month), because overseas companies don’t trust them. It’s no good me telling them I have the same problem, they tell me “No, you are white, one of them, they’ll trust you.”

The problem is that the local racist glasses through which Malaysians view everything are not used overseas. I mention the “M” word to a non-Malaysian, I might as well have said “Arrrr, shiver me timbers, me hearty, deal with me, or I’ll run you through with me cutlass!”. What colour I am is completely immaterial to a non-Malaysian. Where did this point of view come from? I assert without proof and with the warning that I’ll use my worst Anglo Saxon on you that there’s no international conspiracy to paint Malaysia as ‘dishonestly Asia’. Malaysians have earned their reputation with their own ‘hard work’.

Malaysia has a problem with unfairness, and it’s as communal as it is constitutional. Abolishing the NEP without addressing the root cause of Malaysia’s international reputation as the “Black Pearl of Asia” is a complete non-starter. The constitutional obstacle is an easy target because it’s out in the open. The hidden problem that holds Malaysia back is no less important and harder to deal with because it’s unofficial.

60. #60 by de_Enigma on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 9:23 pm

I really find the following comments by Cintanegara Amusing:

1. My professional career contributes to a massive growth to the country
    – A statement which is absolutely hard to quantify by all means. I don’t even know which field you are in.

2. I pay tax to the country to alleviate the hardships of the poorer people in the country and also to provide for needed infrastructure
    – You pay tax and we really appreciate that, I have heard from a Malay from his mouth saying ‘Orang bodoh baru bayar cukai, saya tak minta dari mereka sudah kira baik’. Putting this aside, you need not forget, high percentage of your tax paid goes to the UMMO cronies, Ali-baba procedures and wastage due to inefficiency of appointed ‘forever learning bumiputra companies and agencies’.

3. I have numerous Non-Malays and professional expatriate working closely with me in the similar environment. Why would I have such jealousy whatsoever towards them?
    – The jealousy topic you mentioned should be the other way round, I have the thought you were where you are to fulfill the quota of so-called ethnic diversification. If that’s the case, you just have to thank the wonderful system put in place by your beloved cronies.

4. ‘Give n take’ concept will ONLY work if both parties willing to sacrifice. It is not just one sided. It wouldn’t work if one side demanding others to eradicate their privileges while they themselves not willing to do so.
    – kindly name any Non-Malay Privileges? If it is possible to transfer our brains and our hardworking attitudes, it would already be listed under ‘Malay-Privileges’. Guess what, equity and quota are achievable and please look around before you tell me I’m wrong.

5. With regards to the corruption, we have appropriate channel to address that. I believe you’re aware that several ministers/MB were charged for corruption and misconduct. Remember, what happened to ex-Selangor MB in 1976?
    – Very well said, in Malaysia wrongdoers will be charged. However, politically connected people won’t be convicted. See what happened to Zakaria in my Hometown Klang with over 20 charges against him? He got away, allowed to keep his Mansion and started eying another piece of land next to it until finally god decide to take him out (Definitely not by your trusted ‘Appropriate Channels’)

6. Why didn’t you appeal if your children scored 10As but got rejected by local U? I believe the Government will consider the entry to avoid the brain drain.
    – Do you think those 10A scorers would be too lazy to appeal? Have you any idea how difficult it is to appeal? (Have you experienced it – no?) Imagine you have done your best, yet you still have to appeal for something you actually deserved?

7. ‘Fairness’ – Extremely difficult to achieve in multi racial country. It is undeniable that the majority should get special privileges to address the imbalance of economic equity.
    – The above just proven how shallow your thinking is in this whole issue. In a functional country, MINORITY are supposed to be given special privileges. Not the other way round like what you see here. Not to mention, your last sentence just suggested Communism.

Dear Cintanegara,
    I really acknowledge your courage to be here commenting against our views. However, posting your views with only information from mainstream media and government sweet lips alone will just make you a laughing stock here.

61. #61 by pkrisnin on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 11:19 pm

W very well written article by Allan and excellent commenting by de_Enigma.

When I hear DEB/NEP Ketuanan Melayu I think of
    Proton, Tenaga, Telekom/TM Net all monopoly business but still can lose money and need gov. support still. And now Angkasawan scandal.

Petronas, well as long as there’s oil its imposable to lose money unless the new CEO and UMNO decide to suck all the profits. Maybe that’s why they are planing a leadership change for Petronas.
    Che Khalib, the current Tenaga boss, is said to be eying a Petronas job. GOD help us

These are the true results of DEB/NEP

MAS only came up recently due to competition from Air Asia.
    An excellent example of what competition can produce.

62. #62 by oedipus on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:59 am

i actually am grateful for cintanegara for he has enabled us to have a meaningful discussion in a very civil manner, i do wish he drops by more often.

i have been to forum that often threatens, abuses and bullies posts that contradictory to what they wish to hear!

just ensure the discussion focuses on the topic, no personal attacks!

63. #63 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:34 pm

Some non Bumiputras have this mentality. The Bumiputras will have it all. Even non Bumiputras are putting down non Bumiputras. If there is unfair, dirty competition, the Bumiputras cannot get far. They look good. But inside them, there is nothing. They will never know what it truely means to be fair and to be truely clean. Even their religion will fail to awaken them to be true believers.