8-hr questioning of RPK – Police nothing better to do?

Totally incredible! Webmaster of popular news portal Malaysia Today, Raja Petra Kamaruddin questioned for eight hours by the police yesterday but not a single question about the articles that he had written and all about the comments posted on the blogs!

The question everybody is asking is: Hasn’t the Police more important things to do than to harass Raja Petra and bloggers like reducing crime and eradicating the fear of crime — or investigate Raja Petra’s detailed allegations in his many articles about power abuses and high-level corruption by political leaders and public officials?

Is the Police an independent and professional service to uphold law and order to catch criminals without fear of favour including the high-and-mighty in politics and government or is it just an instrument of the powers-that-be to carry out its dirty work to victimize and harass critics and dissent?

At a time when public confidence have been greatly shaken by the failure of the police to control crime or to eradicate the fear of crime which have spiraled out of control in the country, the spectacle of the police wasting scarce resources to harass Raja Petra and bloggers while staying scrupulously clear of showing any interest in Raja Petra’s many serious allegations of corruption in high public places is not calculated to enhance the police’s public standing or image.

Can the Prime Minister, the Cabinet, the Police, the Anti-Corruption Agency and the Attorney-General explain why no investigation whatsoever had been launched into the myriad of corruption allegations on the Malaysia Today news portal, which would have justified the opening of scores or even hundreds of corruption files?

1. #1 by dawsheng on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 1:41 pm

It is obvious isn’t it.

2. #2 by Toyol on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 1:46 pm

What about the witness statement that she saw ‘Najib Razak’ with the murdered Mongolian girl and Baginda and yet ‘Najib Razak’ denied that he knew Altantuya. Why no investigation? Why no one wants to pursue?

Secondly, what about the DPM’s insensitive remarks on the Islamic State issue. Everyone knows it was against the Constitution, yet no action taken. Yet the bloggers are blamed for insensitive and racial slurs and what have you! It is really discrimination at its worst. If the police and the ACA are not independent, then how do they expect to uphold the law. Have they forgotten the vows they have taken before joining the respective depts or these just slogans like eveything else.

3. #3 by Toyol on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 1:54 pm

If they police were diligent they would have investigated the witness statement that she saw a ‘Najib Razak’ having drinks with the murdered girl and Baginda. If the Internal Ministry were diligent, they would have invoked the ISA against the DPM for malicious and insensitive statements contrary to the Constitution. If the ACA were diligent, they would investigate the reports in the blogs about corruption…and so on.

The list is endless! But as usual, nothing happens unless they are told to act…What does this say about our law enforcement agencies? You tell me…

4. #4 by dawsheng on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 1:55 pm

Abdullah’s made the biggest mistake since becoming a PM was when he cancelled the scenic bridge.

5. #5 by Woody on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 1:57 pm

This is the only way to justify their salary in July… At least seems to do work.

6. #6 by WC on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 2:02 pm

The next time the government give excuse of inadequate resource to fight crime in the police force, Uncle Lim please throw to them this example of how the resource is being wasted!!

7. #7 by wizzerd on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 2:42 pm

Where is the Pak Lah??? The whole country is in turmoil now.

8. #8 by Jefus on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:08 pm

Where is the PM? Is there no phone, internet and has he forgotten he is running a country? 24/7?

No comments?

9. #9 by Godfather on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:18 pm

Many in the police force are sympathetic with RPK, and there is even some reverence for his royal background. I think they were putting out the sandiwara of grilling him and giving the UMNO thieves the illusion that RPK is under some serious pressure.

10. #10 by Godfather on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:19 pm

With the Sleeping Beauty in Australia, it is always good that his cronies can report to him about RPK being grilled by the police for 8 hours !

11. #11 by Sergei on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:19 pm

After the Agong and the other Sultans’ and my parents, RPK is the person I must respect.

12. #12 by Taikor on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:25 pm

It sickens me to see SERIOUS allegations are not answered to the public!

They say the ex-Mentri Besar with two Muhamads in his name was “CLEARED” of graft. But we were not told on WHAT GROUNDS WAS HE CLEARED?!! They did not tell us the JUSTIFICATIONS to clear him of wrongdoings!

I will not be convinced until I see their points in DETAILS. And I will continue to criticise the lack of ACCOUNTABILITY by the authorities of such a BIG and SERIOUS issue!

13. #13 by sotong on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:36 pm

With enormous problems facing the country, ordinary people are sick and tired of grossly irresponsible and unscrupulous politicians and their bullshits!

14. #14 by Taikor on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:38 pm

I respect RPK too!

Through him I’ve learned more about Islam.
    Through him I’ve learned more about the royal families.
    Through him I’ve seen a lot more about the Malays thinking and understood their positions.
    Through him I’ve learned more of our history.
    And most importantly, I’ve also learned a whole lot of corruption in the country!

This is THE KING – RAJA that we Malaysians can respect!

15. #15 by Cinapek on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:40 pm

It is a lot better to spend 8 hours in an airconditioned interrogation room with breaks for free coffee and kuih-kuih than to risk your life chasing Mat Rempits or confronting armed snatch thieves.

If there is no interrogation , then use your new patrol cars to harass the bas kilangs in the pre dawn which was what I saw latey in JB , Malaysia’s crime capital.

16. #16 by tidaknama on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:42 pm

If it were just an ordinary blogger, not of royal persuasion, he would surely have been thrown in jail like Nat.

17. #17 by raverus on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 3:57 pm

He is out without charges.

I hope whoever that file report against him, must at least able to read english OR refer to the bahasa version of his blog.

What a joke.

18. #18 by mendela on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 4:28 pm

Why did the OZ Government let go the ex-CM with two Ms in his name?

All people know the 17 Kg of currency were money from corrupt practices!

Why the fearless OZ Government did not dare to punish such hyenas? That bastard speaks and reads no Inglishes???

19. #19 by Libra2 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 4:29 pm

I would say this is clear intimidation. Nothing else. Technically, the crime, if at all it is, was committed outside the country as the blog is in the States. It’s the same as reading a foreign newspaper with a defamatory article on local leaders. So where is the crime? If there is, then Mike Tyson should go to US to lodge a report. (But remind him not to carry RM 1 million into US.)
    The speed with which the police acted indicates it is noting short of
    an UMNO pet poddle- always at its beck and call.

20. #20 by smeagroo on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 4:30 pm

and the police dont even know how to access Malaysia-today. Hahaha. HOw advance! Havent they heard of google? Maybe just easier for them to type xxx.

But here we see the efficient svc form the police. Barely 2 days report hv been lodged, they swung into action. Otherwise, for other reports it will sit in there for ages. HOw many reports hv been filed by DAP and till today has no outcome or even a file opened?

21. #21 by Godfather on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 4:40 pm

Judging from RPK’s account of his 8 hours, it would appear that the heading should be re-titled “8 hour questioning of the PDRM by RPK”.

RPK also left several embarrassing questions to be answered by UMNO. Of course these questions will never see the light of day in the mainstream press.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 4:51 pm

It is not the oppositions vs UMNO, it is the royalty vs UMNO. Who will win?

23. #23 by Bobster on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 5:15 pm

Abdullah’s made the biggest mistake since becoming a PM was when he cancelled the scenic bridge.- dawsheng

I’m having the same thought. PM on one hand having ‘vision’ for Iskandar township but on the other hand cutting the link across both countries. Though crocked bridge signify the crocked relationship btw the two countries and to most people it is a joke/silly/desperate project, practical point of view the existing Causeway is over the limit with over a million commuters travel daily between both countries. Try to commute during early morning rush hour or Sunday evening you will understand what I mean. Takes 1 half to 2 hrs to travel across. It is unfortunate that our ministers never get to the ground to understand the plight of the people, only travel in convoy with escorts and all have to give way to them. It will certainly benefit the country more by encouraging our rich neighbor to cross over more often during the weekend. That’s why Spore gomen using it as another bargaining tool for the water supply. If anyone follow up the stories in Singapore’s Straits Times about the negotiation process during TDM era, you will notice that our Foreign Minister basically indecisive, highly confuse, bulldozing his way and stop there not sure what he should he next. No proper planning, no goals, in short not upto mark/highly incompetent so should step down/fired.

Poor AAB got the wrong advice causing major screw up in the administration.

What for having Iskandar township without a proper bridge? AAB again shooting his own feet. Singapore gomen LOL, saying some good words just to entertain the clowns, what for develop your country while they have theirs to take care off? Silly isn’t it?!

Sorry folks off topic.

24. #24 by Bobster on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 5:23 pm

The way it goes we members of public and the opposition parties should stand up together with the royalties to fight against the corrupted BN/UMNO – let kick them out of the administration and lets the royalties replace them.

We have better hope with highly respectable leaders like RPK, Sultan Selangor, Sultan and Raja Muda Perak etc. ABB, Najib, Hissapmudin, Najis, Khairy, UMNO = NO HOPE

25. #25 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 5:36 pm

Even a hawker in the street can be a better PM that our always-sleeping-cum-honeymooing Pak Lah. What a shame to have such irresponsible and lazy PM. I wish Raja Petra Kamaruddin is our PM, then all UMNO putras and their cronies will be expelled out of the country!

26. #26 by Bobster on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 5:54 pm

I’ll like to see respectable royalties like RPK, Sultan Selangor, Sultan and Raja Muda of Perak etc to take over the administration and clean up the corrupted gomen. Ya, sack the ex-railway guard, ex-teacher, ex-army officer, ex-policeman, ex-draftman and employ professionals as ministers.

27. #27 by Bobster on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 6:04 pm

Notice the nearly completed White Elephant sitting besides the Causeway when you are in JB? Do play a visit fellow Malaysians. Major screw up in the administration and no head been rolled. How many hundreds of million of taxpayers’ money gone down the drain already?????

AAB – Who cares? I don’t know!

Shocking unbelievable! Believe it!

28. #28 by boh-liao on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 6:17 pm

Our mata-mata are not truly public servants. They are servants of Umnoputras and always at their command. Good deal for Umnoputras – mata-mata paid for from the taxes collected from working people of all ethnic groups, but mata-mata obey their commands quickly and tend to their command immediately.

That’s why our PM is enjoying his honeymoon overseas, again and again, re-enjoying skills that he missed for a number of years. Can’t blame him. How many PMs in this world remarry during office?

29. #29 by smeagroo on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 6:24 pm

If PM no comes back esok then we know there is something brewing. I m not saying someone got pregnant la and hv to be away for 9mths.

30. #30 by mendela on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 6:42 pm

Holding 3 big posts and having long term vacation in Perth?

Rumor said the dumb-bell PM might only return in early August!

What the hell is he doing in Perth?
    Plastic surgery?
    Drug-abuse rehabitation?

31. #31 by mendela on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 6:45 pm

Let’s draft RPK to become a candidate for the upcoming GE!

Like Kit, RPK will shame all the ministers until they dare not to attend parliament session!

Tell me how many days did the air-head PM attend Parliament so far?

32. #32 by dawsheng on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 7:17 pm

“Earlier, Abdullah had announced the extension of the IGP’s tenure on contract basis beyond 13 September 2007 when he is supposed to retire. Abdullah received a major blow yesterday during the Rulers’ Conference when the Rulers rejected the extension of the IGP’s tenure on grounds that they have not been prior-informed about it. That was the Rulers’ very strong message to Abdullah that they are not happy with the way he is running this country.” RPK

Uncle Kit, do you have more information about this?

33. #33 by greatstuff on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 7:24 pm

Rajah Petra for P.M.? That would be so cool, help propel Malaysia into the mainstream of progressive modern intellectual thinking, and help fade away the dinosaurs who rule the government- long live this dream to save Malaysia!
    “RPK for PM, RPK for PM”!

34. #34 by grace on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 7:41 pm

Mohd Mohd taib made a fool of himself. went to make report without even how to access MT!!!

Ha!Ha!Ha!

35. #35 by tidaknama on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 8:04 pm

Another politician blabbing his mouth :

Irresponsible bloggers forcing us to act, says govt

By JANE RITIKOS

KUALA LUMPUR: The government’s policy from the start has been not to intervene in the people’s use of the Internet, including bloggers who are free to use cyberspace to do “proper things”, said Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

However, the Umno vice-president said the action of irresponsible bloggers who went overboard in their Internet postings had forced the Government to step in.

“If they go overboard and insult, slander and break the laws, they will not get off scot-free. No one is above the law.

“Whether in the alam maya (cyber world) or the alam nyata (physical world), people cannot simply write whatever they want especially if it is touches on religion, culture, the rulers’ position or the Constitution. These will be monitored,” he said.

The Opposition parties were also free to set up their own websites and blogs, but the same rule applied to them, he added.

“We are a democratic country but it does not mean anyone can do whatever they want, including break the laws.

“For postings that insult (religion and the King), there are laws that can be used against the culprits,” said Muhyiddin, who is also Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry Minister, after launching the four-day Malaysia International Machinery Fair 2007 at the Putra World Trade Centre on Thursday.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/7/26/nation/20070726175023&sec=nation

36. #36 by dragon88 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 8:17 pm

Do you know where AAB is ? He is in Perth looking after his brother’s nasi kendah restaurant. Or maybe, he is starting his own nas lemak business. We hope Agong would sack him…..

37. #37 by Libra2 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 8:49 pm

MENDALA said “RPK will shame all the ministers until they dare not to attend parliament session!”

Since when did our ministers know the meaning of shame. These scumbags have thick hides.

38. #38 by LittleBird on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 9:50 pm

“8-hr questioning of RPK – Police nothing better to do?”

Plezzzlah..of course they got better things to do but can they? Will our political masters allow that? We are not living in ideal world. Have a clean political masters and the rest would fall in place..

39. #39 by k1980 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 10:10 pm

The Malaysian government has warned it could use tough anti- terrorism laws against bloggers…. What the Hell?!
    Now, bloggers = Terrorists!
    Raja Petra = Osama?!
    Malaysia -Today = Al Qaeda!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/6915002.stm

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 11:44 pm

I’m afraid I’d have to disagree here Kit!

Raja Petra has allowed postings on his website, more for failing to moderate as much as you do here on your own blog, rather than a willful act of defiance of the country’s laws on sedition.

No doubt RPK is a treasure trove of information. He apparently has developed a network of informants who keep him informed and we have all benefited from it to some degree. Some of his sources are not credible.

Irresponsible readers make their postings without any thought to RPK’s responsibilities as blogger in a multi racial and multi religious country like Malaysia. That has exposed him to charges under the Sedition Act.

Many of the postings made are made out of frustration and anger at the government, out of a feeling of helplessness and despair at not being able to do anything to impact government policies which they feel do not serve the public – but rather UMNOputras and their cronies, while ordinary Malays are left to watch them plunder and rape at will the national coffers. Malays, Chinese and Indians would be left to suffer in the event of massive financial mismanagement while they take flight to foreign shores to live out a life of luxury and moral decadence.

But RPK should know better than to allow himself to be made a tool by anarchists out to disturb the fragile racial harmony that now exists among the races.

Many readers visit his website to sample the juicy bits of gossip and for the comic relief that it provides after a hard day’s work.

41. #41 by devilmaster on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 11:48 pm

statement from Reporters without Borders

http://www.rsf.org/article.php3?id_article=23062

42. #42 by AhPek on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 12:48 am

Jeffrey’
    Your exposition of the case against RPK is not only most interesting but also most illuminating.The insight you gave exposes how bankrupt in ideas these bunch of nincompoops are (perhaps the only thing M2 knows is to walk about with 2 million dollars cash in suitcase in an Australian airport).
    You have been compellingly persuasive in arguing that RPK cannot be nailed but you have also provided a way out for these no-brainers in dealing with RPK.They might take you up on that for that is also what they do best.Bribe!!!After all did Paul Getty not said once that every man has a price and if they succeed Jeffrey, you’ll be in hot soup with bloggers for you have stopped their good source of information on these bunch monkeys consumed with power and greed.

43. #43 by csj_84 on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 1:05 am

tough anti-terrorist law against bloggers?!?!
    just plain ludicrous to make that notion, and to equate terrorists with bloggers (i think such a person who said that will definitely call out the army if his Guriltai Shul http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2001/09/20010920-8.html

DrM said it right, Malaysia is becoming a police state. Only the gov is correct and all else is wrong in a police state.

[+++SPECULATION+++]
    Beware Bloggers! Bolehnation will soon have its very own “Great Wall” like one owned by our Beijing friends, if “still got enuf money”.
    GREAT FIREWALL OF CHINAhttp://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=5199
    Better than Diamond / Nesh / whatever, try it urselves
    [+++SPECULATION+++]

44. #44 by Jonny on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 2:35 am

Raja Petra’s posting: http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/corridors.php?itemid=6773

– Please do share with family members, friends and colleagues who do not have access.

My wish for our 50th Merdeka.

A princely leader like Tunku Abdul Rahman to lead the rakyat in shouting,

“Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!”

No political propaganda.

A true merdeka spirit. Bring back the spirit of unity.

45. #45 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 3:33 am

8 hours questioning, many cups of coffee and biscuits come and gone, very fullfilling 8 hours……… productive 8 hours for YM RPK.

46. #46 by Billy on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 6:33 am

To you, Kit – Raja Petra Kamarudin, Nat Tan, Jeff Ooi, Rocky, Ronnie and many brave bloggers out there, allow me to quote the tribute accorded by the late Sir Winston Churchill onto his small band of Spitfire pilots – NEVER IN THE FIELD OF HUMAN CONFLICT, HAVE SO MUCH BEEN OWED BY SO MANY TO SO FEW.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 7:55 am

“….//…You have been compellingly persuasive in arguing that RPK cannot be nailed but you have also provided a way out for these no-brainers in dealing with RPK. They might take you up on that for that is also what they do best. Bribe!!!…//…..- AhPek posted July 27th, 2007 at 00: 48.37

Hold your horses, I cannot, in the first place, provide a way for these ‘no brainers’ in what they know best, a forte which they have already elevated to a state of art..……

And as for RPK, I seriously doubt that he could so easily be bribed!

I would certainly not say it for all cases but in many cases, susceptibility to financial temptation is greater for those who have suffered financial pressure, when young, and had a financially disadvantaged background. [Check out on the background of our politicians and see if there’s a co-relation).

In this connection, RPK was born to privilege. Being of royal lineage – the current Sultan of Selangor is his cousin – he mixed with the royalties and in his younger years (in his own words) “had gone Ferrari-driving and horse-riding together” with the King! I don’t think money has ever been a problem to him and had it been his first consideration, he could have obtained many contracts due to his royal connections and won’t be upsetting the political establishment as he is doing now.

What about temperament? Let me first do a ‘RPK’ on RPK, repeat little bits of information or disinformation from the grapevine of ‘reliable sources’ though I have no first hand knowledge whether the following is true information or pure urban legend.

It seems that about 42 years ago he left elite MCKK and enrolled in form 4 in one of the top elite but very regimented schools in the country in KL – the Victoria Institution –, defied the strict discipline with which this school was then well known for, coming to the school in a flashy red motorbike, got whacked all the time by the school’s first Asian headmaster for long hair (Beatles was in fashion then) and, by character, had always been defiant of authority!

Not particularly a distinguished scholar, he however learned ‘streetwise’ ways of having to ‘bribe’, pay extortion money, cajole and interface with thugs and gangsters in Brickfields to protect his then girlfriend living in that vicinity from their harassments.

Now you understand his response of “see you at the gates of hell” to a certain ex-Menteri Besar who has two Muhamads is his name and who lodged the police report against malaysia Today ….and his talk of Anak Bugis honour and courage that can never be extinguished!

You would also understand why in spite of police insistence to find out the identities of his posters, he refused to divulge or talk about their comments and, in his own words, banged the table with my fist and shouted, “Charge me! Charge me now!” : see his article “Comedy of Errors on the going-on(s) during police interrogations. Or the other thing he said when asked by police how he knew about 25 UMNO cyber troopers parachuted into Malaysia Today, he explained “because I have received information from inside Umno,” and when asked by police officer “You have people planted in Umno?” he said, “Of course I do, and I bribe them to feed me information. I just slam RM1,000 onto the table and ask them to tell me everything and they sing like a canary. It is not that hard to buy information. The four police officers in the room smiled and shook their heads in disbelief”.

So we’re talking about a guy here who comes from a privilege and wealthy enough royal background, has always been defiant of authority, and having had experience dealing with thugs, is unafraid of authorities and talk to and of politicians as if they were gangsters. Do you think all these fit the psychological profile of a person susceptible to be easily bribed? I don’t think so.

There are however two or three aspects raised by his recount of what happened during interrogation in his article “Comedy of Errors” which are interesting.

The first relates to what AhPek said about we being deprived a “good source of information on these bunch monkeys consumed with power and greed” if RPK were otherwise compromised by my suggestion of “bribes” to shut him up.

RPK may in Undergrad2’s words be “a treasure trove of information” but how good, reliable and true is his “advance” and “insider” information?

Whilst many of us are grateful that we have a person like RPK with balls of brass to take on the Corrupt but in making his allegations on the Net, is he also supporting his allegations with documents and proof as Ezam or Gerak does?

By his own admission, “ I just slam RM1,000 onto the table and ask them to tell me everything and they sing like a canary”.

Do you think people who sell information for money would sell “reliable” information? Granted some information are true or others false, how do we sift and separate wheat from chaff?

Second thing is if the providers of information are motivated by money than a Cause, it raises serious questions whether RPK could be unwittingly manipulated by competing factions and sectarian interests within UMNO vying for power where one section could leak (through these sources selling information) to RPK for publication concocted false information of a political rival to defame that rival.…..

Thirdly, this thing about the “25 UMNO Cyber troopers” is alarming -RPK testified in his statement under Section 112 of Criminal Procedure Code (by which, in his own words, one “goes to jail if you make a false statement”), that : “the Umno cyber-troopers are the ones behind this racial and religious bashing in Malaysia Today. Then they make a police report alleging that Malaysia Today insults Islam and stirs racial sentiments.”

If RPK believes and has evidence of this, he should turn the table around and lodge a report against these people who in the process of trying to fix him have orchestrated their cyber troopers to disparage Islam or the King withjin the meaning of the Sedition Act and the Pernal Code!

What is alarming is what is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander. As much as authorities cannot get their hands on the Internet Protocols of RPK’s commenters stored in overseas servers, so it would be equally impossible for RPK and the rest of us to get our hands on the IPs of cyber troopers which are stored in servers in US or UK, as our corrupt politicians get more IT savvy.

This means they can plant any number of cyber troopers in any Blog, including this one, make a deluge of comments against race, religion or King which, if these comments escape moderation and deletion, would provide the lawful excuse to close down any blog and yet no proof can be obtained, as defence against the charges, about these troopers being planted as agent provocateurs because their IPs are equally stored in overseas servers!!

Think about the implications.

48. #48 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 9:00 am

On the absentee Prime Minister AAB:

“If it’s too hot in the kitchen Cabinet, it’s time to resign”.

On the Executive-compliant Police:

“That’s a nice poodle. Now go lick the skeletons in the closet.”

On a dysfunctional Parliament:

“It’s just like an Animal Farm. There is Napoleon, Major and all who make up a sick, sick circus.”

On the Altantuya scandal:

“Najib – what do you think ‘BERSIH, CEKAP, AMANAH’ (Clean, Efficient, Trustworthy) mean if it’s not the OXFORD dictionary meaning?

On Keris-waving Hishammuddin:

“When MEN run out of words and their blood boil, when MEN lose their brains or have very little of them, they let the keris do the talking or waving”.

On AAB’s holding 3 portfolios in the Cabinet – PM, Minister of Internal Security, Minister of Finance:

“The best cover-up for incompetence and inefficiency is to hold more portfolios. It’s not a lie then to say ‘Hey, I’ve been busy!’

On the sonorous and raucous NAZRI:

“It’s his trademark: ‘Decibels above reason!’

On Bung Kinabatangan’s regular outbursts of idiocy in Parliament:

” Heck, it’s my last term. Who cares! At least Malaysians will remember me.”

All these glorious examples of MALAYSIAN BOLEH syllables.

49. #49 by k1980 on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 9:11 am

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/newsncom.php?itemid=6782
    …the ‘cyber-troopers’ sometimes ‘masquerade as Chinese and whack the Malays and Islam’. ‘Then other cyber-troopers would respond and whack the Chinese. The Umno cyber-troopers are the ones behind this racial and religious bashing in Malaysia Today,’

50. #50 by sotong on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 9:14 am

It’s all about maintaining power and wealth at all costs.

51. #51 by jerc on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 11:56 am

tough anti-terrorist law against bloggers?!?!
    just plain ludicrous to make that notion, and to equate terrorists with bloggers (i think such a person who said that will definitely call out the army if his Guriltai Shul http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2001/09/20010920-8.html

[+++SPECULATION+++]
    Beware Bloggers! Bolehnation will soon have its very own “Great Wall” like one owned by our Beijing friends, if “still got enuf money”.
    GREAT FIREWALL OF CHINAhttp://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=5199
    Better than Diamond / Nesh / whatever, try it urselves
    [+++SPECULATION+++]

DrM said it right, Malaysia is becoming a police state. Only the gov is correct and all else is wrong in a police state.

52. #52 by dawsheng on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 3:58 pm

“Think about the implications.” Jeffrey

Will BN pull the plug on internet? It is said that Malaysia Today’s readership has overtaken all mainstream media control by BN, this was why UMNO’s cyber-troopers were sent in to create the plot that MT has dangerous contents which endangered our country’s peace, so BN will have enough reasons to close MT down. UMNO has forgotten the internet is a different thing altogether, unlike print media which can be easily control. UMNO can detain RPK under ISA but this doesn’t mean that Malaysia-Today will stop operating. Furthermore detaining RPK under ISA will have more negative impact on UMNO considering the outcome of this episode. What is happening in Malaysia today is something all new together, UMNO took it as an attempt to overthrow the govt and retaliated by making a police report against RPK, and then hope to nail him using draconian laws. But UMNO has forgotten that it is the cyberspace and there are now an on-going cyberwar that they are fighting, and their enemies cme in many different forms. There’s only one question left in my mind, how effectives draconian laws such as ISA, OSA, multimedia acts are in the cyberspace, not forgetting we are fighting a cyberwar?

53. #53 by Godfather on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 7:38 pm

At least UMNO’s cybertroopers are doing something about it now. RPK’s blog has been down for several hours.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 10:05 pm

“Whilst many of us are grateful that we have a person like RPK with balls of brass …” Jeffrey

I am afraid I will have to disagree with you in your characterization of RPK as a man with “balls of brass” – I would like to believe that ours are not made of brass. Imagine walking with balls made of brass weighing you down each step of your way in search of justice and truth and equality for all mankind.

Thank you, but no thanks!

55. #55 by AhPek on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 10:27 pm

Jeffrey,
    I’m only having a dig at you.In fact i fully concur with you on the honour and integrity of this person called RPK.I’ve not the slightest doubt on the honour and integrity of him for how else can a person with such convictions be not honourable.This type of free spirit with integrity is such a rare find — in fact this type of species is fast becoming extinct and present day Malaysia need to have many RPKs to turn it around.Just take a look around you and you’ll see many in public office drunk with power and greed.The ordinary Joe in the street can do nothing about it even though his taxes help to pay their salaries.Worse, religious and racial fanatism is on the rise.
    A school-mate friend of mine who is also a prominent lawyer in town remarked recently that he used to often remind his son to return home to practise medicine but seeing recent events unfolding here, does a flip-flop by saying to him he wouldn’t mind if he chooses to stay put.And I’m sure sure there are many parents out there telling their children not to come back for there isn’t anything much for them here.If you’ll recall the recent speech by the Raja Muda of Perak stressing that all Malaysians must have a place under the Malaysian sun.Question –Does this have an impact on the thinking of the power that be.
    The rot has indeed set deeply–so deepthat it is fast approaching a stage whereby there’ll not be enough shovels to shovel off all those huge mountains of shit. Do you want Malaysia to come to this irreversible stage? If NO, then what can be done? Share information with as many friends as possible who don’t go on the internet and argue with compelling reasons why one should vote opposition —any opposition in their constituency and any opposition is better than a BN candidate.That’s my suggestion on what I can do to help make a difference. Now what’s yours?

56. #56 by taikohtai on Saturday, 28 July 2007 - 8:10 pm

Don’t think the mata-mata can be that dumb as to not know how to access MT. I think they were being ‘set-up’ by their own bosses: M2 knew that he couldn’t back his statements up so the best way out must be to have the case botched. Now what is the best way to do that but to let the cops of low rankings take the rap? Remember C4 case? Almost similar modus operandi here. The blame game starts and ends with the gomen and the rakyat is nothing but pawns!

57. #57 by stealth on Sunday, 29 July 2007 - 1:26 pm

Well, first of all, our supposed hardworking police have to show the people that they are actually “doing something”. After all, they just had the highest pay raise. Otherwise, they’d have to answer to accusations of “gaji buta” (not that the anyone of authority would actually question them). They have to make a fuss out of what the bloggers say. It’s under their job list; just like drinking coffee and giving out summons. We should be really really proud of our Malaysian police trademark. I mean like, where else in the world could we find such a police force?

58. #58 by hanuman on Monday, 30 July 2007 - 12:01 am

Jeffrey,

Your input on Malaysia Today, 29/07: “Anti-Chinese posting on PM’ s official website” (actually that page was open to the public to say condolence to Pak Lah when his wife passed away).
    It has been there since Mon 14 Nov 2005, 14:13 posted by DR NG SENG.
    Is that person(s) who operates or owned the website be responsible for DR NG SENG posting ?

Malaysia Today link :
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/index.php?itemid=6856

Link on PM official website (DR NG SENG posting)
    http://www.pmo.gov.my/doc/takziah.nsf/bymonth?OpenView&count=-1&RestrictToCategory=2005-11

Cheerz

59. #59 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 July 2007 - 1:01 pm

Dear Hanuman:

Re your posting July 30th, 2007 at 00: 01.02, I have never given any input or comment or contribution to Malaysia Today and know not what it is all about or who that Jeffrey was. :)

60. #60 by Jeffrey on Monday, 30 July 2007 - 1:56 pm

Sorry Hanuman,

I got your question wrong. What agent provocateur one Dr Ng Seng has done is to give a clear message to the PM & the government that one cannot hold Webmaster or Blog Owner responsible under “strict liability” for seditious or defamatory postings, one such even escaped the PM’s notice having been in Prime Minister’s Office website for more than 20 months since Nov. 14, 2005.