Axe finally coming down in Malaysian cyberspace – after Raja Petra, who’s next?

Is the axe finally coming down in the Malaysian cyberspace after the four-day arrest of Nathaniel Tan with the high-level Umno police report against Raja Petra Raja Kamaruddin, the webmaster of the popular political website, Malaysia Today?

In his article “A game of cat and mouse” on his website yesterday, Raja Petra had floated the theory put to him by “people in the intelligence community” that Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman and Inspector-General of Police Musa Hassan had met Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who is currently in Australia to “discuss Malaysia Today, plus get Pak Lah’s blessing and permission to close Malaysia Today down and arrest me” in view of the “damage Malaysia Today has inflicted on the image of Sabah, the Royal Malaysian Police, and Pak Lah personally”.

Are the instruments of repression of the past regime, which had never been dismantled, being re-activated against criticism, dissent and expose of abuses of power and corrupt practices in the run-up to the coming general election?

Criminal law should not be abused to arrest, intimidate and silence any one, including Raja Petra for his many exposes against top police and political leaders who should avail themselves of the right and remedy to institute civil proceedings of defamation to vindicate their reputation and clear their name if Raja Petra is guilty of making baseless allegations against them.

I call on the Prime Minister to stand firm against opening the floodgates to allow criminal laws to be abused for personal, political or partisan purposes.

Otherwise, the question uppermost in the minds of Malaysians will be “After Raja Petra, who’s next?”

This is Malaysiakini’s story on Umno’s police report against Raja Petra:

Umno lodges report against Malaysia Today
Jul 23, 07 2:46pm

Umno has filed a police report against political website Malaysia Today for allegedly publishing disparaging remarks against the King and Islam.

The report was filed at the Dang Wangi police station by Umno information chief Muhammad Muhammad Taib this afternoon. He was accompanied by some 30 people.

When contacted, Dang Wangi district police chief ACP Mohamad Zulkarnain Abdul Rahman confirmed that a report was lodged.

“We will investigate the matter,” he said.

Taib told reporters later that the report was regarding remarks published on the website on July 11 and several other articles.

He claimed that the postings and articles were disrespectful to the King and Islam. According to him, they had the potential to create unrest in the country and strike fear in the people.

“The reports contain criminal elements which could incite anyone and cause fear. Maybe these people (bloggers) had forgotten that Malaysia is a country with many sensitivities,” he said.

Taib said such postings and articles could have a negative influence on the younger generation and urged for the police to take swift action.

Conspiracy theory
In an article published on Malaysia Today, Raja Petra wrote on the possibility of efforts being mounted to close his website down and have him arrested.

In the article titled ‘A game of cat and mouse’, he claimed that the “intelligence community” informed him that Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman and Inspector-General of Police Musa Hassan had met Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in Australia recently to discuss this matter.

Malaysia Today had published numerous articles containing allegations of corruption and abuse of power against the chief minister and police chief, which had since been denied.

The website had also been highly critical of the prime minister and his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin, who is also Umno Youth deputy chief.

Meanwhile, Raja Petra, when contacted later, declined to comment on the report.

1. #1 by devilmaster on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 4:38 pm

I remembered few weeks ago, Azalina Othman was supposed to lead a group of cyber-troopers to combat the bloggers’ comments . Needless to say, these cyber-troopers were totally destroyed in the war of cyber. A lot of them got banned in Malaysia-Today.

UMNO have no other choice. They must take the bull by the horns now. As a DAP member, i would like to propose to DAP leadership to defend Raja Petra at all costs.

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 4:40 pm

If George Bush had dared to arrest any of the owners of the anti-Bush websites in the US, he would be impeached and sacked within 24 hours.

http://www.gwu.edu/~action/2004/interestg/wantibush0504.html

http://www.linkcrusader.com/anti-bush.htm

http://www.stumbleupon.com/tag/anti-bush/

3. #3 by RealWorld on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 4:44 pm

What a lovely day in KL today. Not too hot, just nice.

I just got back from Singapore after spending the weekend there shopping and enjoying the food. The nasi padang and curry laksa was really good. Anyway, Singapore is a nice place to have a short holiday, not too far just nice.

:)

4. #4 by optimuz on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 4:50 pm

its really painful to watch the bastions of truth systematically being persecuted so that the ‘real criminals’ can continue their reign of deceipt and plundering.

Its difficult to look ahead for anything positive. With all the manipulation and abuse of process, agencies and ministries, can we really look forward to a general election to effect a change??

My beloved Malaysia…..

5. #5 by smeagroo on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:06 pm

Uncle Kit,

You are being too nice to our PM. You call upon him to make a stand? ISnt he the one that gv the go ahead? God is he, Devil also he? HOw can?

6. #6 by Utopia on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:07 pm

Malaysia turning in to an authoritarian regime? Day by day, the political situation in Malaysia only deems worse. 50 years of rule under BN not enough?

They destroy our FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION, FREEDOM OF RELIGION and FREEDOM OF INFORMATION!

A GOVERNMENT THAT DOESN’T TAKE ANY CRITISISM, AND ARREST THOSE THO DARE TO CRITISES = TO a goverment that doesn’t serve the people but serve the leaders themselves!

It’s time for us to sally and ride out to defend our country from the ruthless leaders!

PS: I’m gonna join DAP when I go back to Malaysia next week. Man, I urge everyone who has a heart for the country to do the same. In war, there is no middle line, if we dont go againt BN now, you will just be part of the consequences!

7. #7 by Toyol on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:08 pm

(Maybe these people (bloggers) had forgotten that Malaysia is a country with many sensitivities,” he said.)

What about the DPM’s remarks? His remark was not just insensitive but went against the country’s constitution as well. Or is he not concern about the minority’s feelings. The government cannot clamp down on people’s reactions to insensitive remarks made by leaders. To do so means the end of democracy!

If the govt were so concerned as they are now about the repercussions about the remarks, why did they allow the DPM to say it and why after so long, no action has been taken against him? Why didn’t anyone do any damage control to mitigate the widespread shock and disbelieve emanating from such remarks? Malaysia ia at again the centre of attention for all the wrong reasons. The whole world is watching and I being a Malaysian is truly concerned and embarassed.

8. #8 by grace on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:12 pm

This is the beginning of the end of RPK’s blog which is very popular and informative. He really is a man of priciples and fought for what he believes.
    Just like Mr. Lim and colleagues, RPK would have enriched himself many times over if he choosed to join UMNO. Witty and smart, he would have outshone the likes of Pak Lah, Najib, Hishamuddin and Mohd Taib.

I pray that the government is not that frighten to shut down the blog. In fact a more civil way would be to take RPK to court for defamation if he had offende any party. But sad to say, most of the offende parties chicken out for fear of being further exposed.

9. #9 by revelation on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:26 pm

toyol said:
    If the govt were so concerned as they are now about the repercussions about the remarks, why did they allow the DPM to say it and why after so long, no action has been taken against him? Why didn’t anyone do any damage control to mitigate the widespread shock and disbelieve emanating from such remarks?
    ———————————————————–
    u are wrong my fren, these bandits are doing the ‘damage control’ now by trying to shut RPK voice and MT from gaining more influence, especially from those kampung folks where the majority of their votes will come from during coming GE. some people are getting nervous of what RPK been revealed lately.

anyway, MT website are not accessible since an hour ago. has it really been shut down?? RPK if u read this, pls let us know the alternative address…i and many of us MT readers will surely hope u have ‘disaster recovery’ planned ahead.

truth will prevailed….sooner or later. Thanks uncle Kit for providing your site!

10. #10 by optimuz on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:26 pm

thats because your sensitivities are not as sensitive as theirs.

11. #11 by grace on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:38 pm

Mr. Lim,
    Could you kindly keep us informed on the status of RPK?
    I feel all of people who care for justice and fair play are very concern over his well being.
    It is our hope that he would prevail over this trying time.
    Let him know that all rightful citizens of Malaysia are behind him!!!

12. #12 by pwcheng on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:41 pm

I agreed with smeagroo with what he said on July 23rd, 2007 at 17: 06.04 regarding to appeal to the PM every time there is a problem in the country. Don’t you think he is the cause of most of these problems and how much good can we expect to come from him. He is a sleeping half past six PM or pretend to be half past six to avoid scratching his head to look for solutions as we have descended to a abyss and dismal state instead of an Islamic State.
    I am quiet annoyed for your constant request ( sorry if I appear to be rude here) to the PM to address a malfunctioning government which he should be held responsible. If he is a responsible PM he should know what to do without any appeal from any quarters. I do not think we should be nice to anybody who do not want to do his/her work properly.

13. #13 by Taikor on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:41 pm

This is most atrocious!

I’ve been a keen follower of RPK’s weblog and I found most of his arguments, analysis and advises worth reading. His only problem is he’s too brutally honest toward the government!

It seems to me the UMOs wants us to cast them in good light and would refuse to take ‘constructive’ criticisms.

14. #14 by nkeng11 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:42 pm

RPK can duplicate and have 10 more similar websites in no time.

What is the use of the clampdown?

It is not a printing press. It is a blogging site which is digital in nature.

Duplication and mirroring 1000 similar sites with the expose and truth will make the raayt more concerned about the government.

The government should actually work with RPK to solve the country’s many problems.

15. #15 by dawsheng on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:43 pm

The showdown has began and election is definitely within months. Looks like the internet, the ultimate weapon for the oppositions to crush BN is under heavy attack, straight away they go for MT. But how effective it is going to be by arresting RPK and closed down MT? Will anti-govt bloggers retaliates and how? To all the bloggers, please in the coming days, everyone needs to be careful. Always inform your love ones about your whereabout and when you will be home. If you think you are on the wanted list, leaves the country and continue your work from overseas. Democracy is dead in Malaysia.

16. #16 by pwcheng on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 5:53 pm

Grace I agree with what you say. This goes a long way to show many good and intelligent Malays will never want to join UMNO even though they know there is a ripe and juicy fruit hanging there for them. These are Malays with PRINCIPLES and not like many of those half past six Malays, the One eye Jack, the railway keeper, the bocor man, etc who join UMNO so that they can plunder the country.

17. #17 by billykbk on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 6:04 pm

smeagroo, u r here too. Couldn’t access MT site. The morons as anticipated by RPK this morning did the dishonorable to shut down MT. Hope RPK is alright.

Hypocrites!! The stupid Info. Minister had the gall to lodge report with 30 over lackeys in tow. What a disgrace, Mr. No Brains Minister( remember the attempt to take up cash out of Australia).

The bloggers in MT r scattered all over now. Hoping to have some updates here.

18. #18 by Alvin on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 6:20 pm

RPK,
    i am with you
    am sure there are loads of people with you. . .

19. #19 by Bobster on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 6:40 pm

I will like to see DAP, PKR, PAS, all bloggers and true Malaysians irrespective of race who love this country and hated corruption, discrimination and injustice to Stand Up to RPK and fight the oppressive force till the end!

Enough Is Enough! We are watching every step that the POLICE going to take, not because of Fear but preparing ammunition and waiting to VOTE BN out in the next Election! Cant wait for the day when BN gets black eye from the people!

The way it goes people are loosing more confidence with the Police Force due to power abuse/intimidation practise and increase in crime rate! IGP slowly and unknowingly exposing his tail. Let’s get an axe and chop it off!

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 6:48 pm

hahahahaha, what a joke………..

Complain Tian Chua, make him famous.

Catch Nat, imortalize him.

Catch RPK, you will make him a matyr yet.

will the government please wake up to the new century?

21. #21 by smeagroo on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 6:49 pm

If the netx GE BN is still in power, be very afraid. As they will pose more danger to us all. We cant be waiting for another 4-5 years for thigns to change . The time is NOW!

22. #22 by boh-liao on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 7:00 pm

Of course, silly, as sure as the the sun is rising from the east, UMNO and BN will continue to rule with a majority after the next GE. Don’t people have an illusion that things will change. The whole GE process has been geared to guarantee UMNO and BN victory in any GE, now or 50 years from now.

23. #23 by Jefus on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 7:29 pm

UMNO has just did an enormous favor to RPK – Malaysia Today will be elevated to a much higher status and UMNO will look the fool that it is.

Now the acts of UMNO will be under internatinal spotlight. There is no need to bad mouth it, they are doing a good job at it.

Press freedom, human rights, intimidation of private citizens, ….. come one UMNO, do your worst! Don’t give a hoot what the international community say or think, do as you please,….. and then wonder why no one is coming to invest. Or no one is taking you seriously. Duh,……… Homer Simpson must be a life long member!

24. #24 by taikohtai on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 7:31 pm

The Malaysian gomen has become so desperate that the truth is flying in their face that they have now resorted to shooting messengers!

Obviously the news from the offsides must have hit the nerves of the once mighty and powerful but the stealth of the internet has pervaded into every home now connected to the internet.

Of course they will try to delay the inevitable but with each dishonorable act by the ruling party, they shall eventually have to face their own music.
    Sembayang dulu sebelum anda disembayangkan.

25. #25 by Jonny on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 7:50 pm

One website down. Tomorrow, a thousand over will rise to the challenge.

26. #26 by maya on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 8:42 pm

Uncle Lim,
    On sunday, here, they ran a programme called ‘asia focus’ i think and Raja Petra was featured on it, talking about the crackdown on bloggers. He also made a point about how they go on labelling his articles as ‘lies, bohong and propaganda’ and yet nobody gives any concrete proof against them. It was quite a wonderful feeling later on when i realised that there are chances for the PM to have watched this programme as he was also here, and hopefully that made him realise that the rest of the world doesnt care about his media censoreship. I think i speak for many bloggers here when i say Petra has proven to be someone who walks the talk, who has the conviction and the guts to call a spade a spade ( and a moron a moron), so please do all that you can to rally support for him. Closing MT down will be the final straw that broke the camel’s back, the powers that be should surely sense that?? oops sense and powers that be dont go hand in hand i suppose. Anyways, God bless all of you courageous people out there and to Petra, God is walking with you my friend. Bless you.

27. #27 by izrafeil on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 8:45 pm

eh nanti kan aku punya hardware kena konfiskate camner ek?

28. #28 by silhouette on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 9:30 pm

Mr Lim Kit Siang,
    I appeal to you to discard any differences among the opposition parties and work as one to teach this high handed BN led by UMNO a lesson in the coming GE. The best way to teach them is to win more parliamentary seats. The state seats is of no consequence unless you can win the rich states like Selangor or Penang. If the opposition is strong in parliament, BN can be castrated and made more timid than they are now.
    I have reached the end of my tolerance with the present administration. Its time to change the government but how to do it if the opposition is so fragmented?

29. #29 by engineer75 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 9:34 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,
    Was saddened to read this news. Somehow, I knew something was amiss, when I tried going into malaysia-today this afternoon and couldnt go in. Please, this has to stop. The G cannot simply take away freedom of media. I’m praying that RPK will come out of this unharmed and continue running his excellent blog, or more appropriately, “exposure”!

30. #30 by silhouette on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 10:01 pm

Malaysia Today is out again. Where is the freedom of speech and expression? Its opression at its worst.

31. #31 by raven77 on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 10:44 pm

The time to draw the line……….is now……..Malaysians must unite in overcoming the rape of the nation…….and in times like this sacrifices will have to be made……..so all who had to have their say in stopping this country from going down the tubes…..will need to stand firm…..you cannot flinch now……..

32. #32 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 11:11 pm

Hi, can anyone access Ronnie Liu’s blog?

http://www.colour-blind.org/

33. #33 by Kit on Monday, 23 July 2007 - 11:30 pm

Spoke to Raja Petra an hour ago. He confirmed that his portal Malaysia Today had never been down but is experiencing fantastic overload because of extraordinary access – thanks to the Umno intimidatory tactics today.

So far so good. But when will “they” come for RPK? Malaysians must speak up to demand that the powers-that-be leave RPK and the blogosphere alone to be free.

34. #34 by Rocky on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 12:11 am

There is lots of double standards.UMNO can insult king and say seditious things but nothing happens to them. Police don’t do anything.

Close MT and take RPK in, you will make everything he said to be the whole truth which actually is. You will make him so famous that he can run for any seat and beat BN hands down. And taking him down, will not bring an end to MT. RPK is no fool and he has plan A, B, C etc. Don’t underestimate him.

35. #35 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 12:45 am

Just to confirm, is that commentator named “Kit” is uncle Lim Kit Siang himself?

36. #36 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 12:53 am

Yes, I believe the Kit is YB himself.

to billykbk,
    DO i know u ?

37. #37 by sotong on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 7:40 am

There are very few true and great Malays…..he is one of them!

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 7:53 am

There is no evidence that the PM personally wishes to put Raja Petra Kamaruddin in jail for all the unpleasant things RPK wrote about him and his family.

It is ironical that people on one hand can say that the PM is ‘sleeping’ and neglecting his various ministerial portfolios and yet say in next breath that he is on top of things to initiate and orchestrate a crackdown on RPK and bloggers.

The fact is that clamping down on RPK does not serve Pak Lah’s political image and cause. Such a clamp down contradicts the PM’s platform for a more open culture of democratic debate and also war against corruption which RPK appears aligned to same side when he attacked all and sundry on corruption. [It will be recollected that the stated goal of Malaysia Today was to test “how far Malaysia under its new Prime Minister would respect and tolerate free speech – no matter how unreasonable or stupid the postings were : in short, how much Pak Lah meant what he said…After all, RPK never claimed whatever he posted was always true. He admitted a lot were hearsay leaked from the corridors of power.

By not cracking down on RPK, Pak Lah would score points and portray a magnanimous image since it is a fact that the PM and family have been a target too of RPK’s writings. And one can’t accuse RPK of partisanship because he has made postings adverse to the PM as well as Opposition leaders – both government/ruling clique as well as the alternative opposition – which only serves to bolster RPK’s credibility that his political leanings are entirely pro Malaysia and not pro any political side.

There are many within the administration, as outside, who have an axe to grind against RPK…. Indeed he has many enemies within the administration and without and these are the ones who press and pressure the PM (as Minister of Home Affairs) to put RPK out of action. For he scares the hell out of them. Often he exposes their foibles greed and corrupt behaviour ; and other occasions he defames and slanders them. This is because RPK’s writings are always a mix of bits of facts here and fiction if not pure speculation/fiction elsewhere. This poses a big challenge to his detractors. If they sue RPK for the fictitious parts on grounds of defamation, he will defend and raise justification in public hearing of the “facts” part that the detractors cannot afford exposed. So these detractors thought it better to pressure the PM and use him as hatchet man to kill off Malaysia Today and put RPK’s behind bars. Any political fall out and adverse effect on the administration will then fall squarely on PM’s shoulders rather than RPK’s enemies’. Maybe this is another way the political rivals would want to undermine the PM by pushing him to “whack” RPK and bear the adverse repercussions of such a crackdown.

For the situation is one where RPK knows what he is doing, but the government knows not.

This man, RPK, had been incarcerated before for his writings in Free Malaysia. He is no stranger to police or official intimidation.

After a stint in prison, far from being cowered, he rebounded to write even bolder and more reckless of consequences under Malaysia Today.

He couldn’t write what he did with reckless abandon without being prepared – and perhaps even secretly covet – to be arrested. he has several back up plans. He himself admitted so, to quote him, “I’ve learnt from my past arrests and (Internal Security Act) detention. Now I make sure that I have a well-placed team so that the website operation will continue unhindered in the event I get arrested.”

The man’s writings are a concoction of mixed truth and falsehood and popular not because they are particularly credible but because they make entertaining reading. To take action against RPK is to suddenly change and reinforce the perception that what he wrote was all true and credible hence deserving of silencing in protection of vested corrupt interests.

Such an action would elevate him a kind of Nelson Mandela/Aung San Suu Kyi of Malaysian Cyberspace, a patriot willing to pay the price of personal freedom for the Cause of Freedom of Speech in the land.

It would not stop his irreverent postings hosted in 10 or more servers overseas except with this difference – it will garner 3 million instead of 1 million hits and this time around not only from Malaysian readers but internationally, which will make those targetted by his writings to become infamous internationally as well!

Now they are NOT detaining RPK under the Internal Security Act.

They are likely to arrest and charge him under Section 121 (B) and Section 123 of the Penal Code, Section 4 of the Sedition Act 1948 and Section 263 and Section 266 of the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998.

To arrest and charge does not mean RPK is automatically guilty and sent off the the slammers. There is still a due process of law of allowing him to defend himself in court. If Baginda charged for abetment of murder was entitled to bail, much more would the instance of RPK.

Now it is well known that court process is slow – first round 6 months to a year, then even if found gulity he would appeal, then another year or more. For the next two years, RPK will have a field day attacking all and sundry (because the situation cannot possibly get worse for him). It will be his finest hour!

And even if he were put behind bars in the end, this will not put an end to Blogosphere. It will only drive webmasters and blog hosters underground by use of more tiers of overseas hosting servers or proxy servers making the tracing IP address by our ISPs (TM Net & Jaring) very difficult, costly and time consuming, even were it possible.

The fact is that many within the ruling power group do not grasp the implications of the Internet. One can’t harness its power and yet seek to restrain it.

The immediate fall out of arresting RPK (which they will surely do unless they get smart fast) is to instigate an immediate protest from civil societies and NGOs, Opposition parties, attract international attention and directs focus on the immediate question – Has Malaysia reneged on the Bills of Guarantee signed for the MSC with the international community?

The continued promotion of MSC and ICT in Malaysia is absolutely necessary as part of the larger effort to equip all government departments to make the administration ostensibly a “e-government” – which in turn is necessary for those with political power and access to patronage to make money from e-contracts (of which there are no benchmarks on pricing unlike infrastructure projects that may be computed as to costs).

I return to my original contention: RPK knows what he is doing and is prepared. I am not too sure the government knows what it is doing and is prepared for such a gambit in an election year.

It may well happen that RPK will teach them a lesson they will not forget. To the question“After Raja Petra, who’s next?” Possibly no one for a long time to come!

I am not so much worried for RPK – as I have said this harassment may well be his finest hour – and he comes prepared – I am more worried that the PM knows not what he is doing if he listens to ill advised counsels to arrest RPK with all the adverse consequences to the well being of our country. UMNO may think it has put RPK out for good but it is actually playing into RPK’s hands and actions taken may well boomerang.

All things considered, I would support YB Kit’s call on the Prime Minister to stand firm against opening of the “flood gates”.

39. #39 by sotong on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 7:58 am

Thanks to the previous administration of 22 years of governance…….we are in this mess!

40. #40 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 8:03 am

RPK vs MamatMamat
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/holds.php?itemid=6714
    This ex-Menteri Besar with two Muhamads in his name then appealed to the then Minister of Education, Anwar Ibrahim, for exemption from paying back the government the RM80,000 that he owed and Anwar, being the smart politician that he was (or maybe still is, I am not sure of that), waived the rule so that this ex-Menteri Besar with two Muhamads in his name need not pay back the nation the RM80,000 that he owed and which could have gone to other less-fortunate Malays who needed government assistance to further their studies.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 8:15 am

“…people on one hand can say that the PM is ‘sleeping’ …and yet say in next breath that he is on top…” Jeffrey

This is a newly discovered mental illness and it has recently been given a name i.e. ‘sexomnia’. This sexomnia that our Prime Minister is suffering is dead serious because he has no recollection of being on top.

42. #42 by Godamn Singh on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 8:20 am

Pak Lah flew to Oz to escape being arrested?? But I thought since his marriage to Jeanne Danker, he has been under house arrest?

43. #43 by Counterpoint on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 8:20 am

Notice the timing?

The great ostrich is out of town and he can claim not to know of anything about all this when he comes back. What a blardy weak leader we have , one that doesn’t want to be seen as the one to have initiated all this.

44. #44 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 8:58 am

It seems all the “king’s horses and all the king’s men” are playing into RPK’s hands.
    It is quite evident from all his expose that he is telling them ” Come and get me”!
    Any attempt to arrest RPK would be synonymous to holding up the rain.
    The International media will focus on RPK and Malaysia Today. There will be interviews in Aljazeera, CNN, BBC etc – (who cares about RTM).
    To wish away blogs like Malaysia Today, is similar to wish away the moon. Bark as much as you want, the moon will keep on shining.
    So let’s wait for the “Perth Decision”.

45. #45 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 9:07 am

“There are very few true and great Malays…..he is one of them!” – sotong

If your statement is not racist then I must say the people here are indeed biased and blind.

46. #46 by sotong on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 10:04 am

How many true and great Malays are there in the world?

There are also a few true and great Chinese, Indian, Europeans and etc. in the world.

47. #47 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 10:35 am

I love it when I read the papers in the morning, and all I see are headlines like “PM welcomes this or that” or “PM salutes so and so”. Then you read the articles and they always say “In a speech read by so and so, the Prime Minister….” or “Speaking on behalf of the PM…..”

Heck, any one of us can become PM.

48. #48 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 10:49 am

I don’t see any cause to worry about the “crackdown” on the alternative media. UMNO is far too worried about the truth coming out in a court of law, for they do not know how to deal with the truth after wallowing in lies for so long.

They don’t even have the b@lls to publish rebuttals from RPK in the mainstream media.

49. #49 by Rocky on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:05 am

Jeffrey,

you are right, RPK knows what he doing and up against. the govt doesn’t. and RPK is not going to take this lying down and he has fired his first salvo against Tyson. He may not have all his facts right but he has enough to make those in power shiver and pissed at him. They can sue him but that is too dangerous cos more will be revealed. This report has made him more popular and given him lots of credibility. We need people like RPK in order to keep some of these buggers straight to a certain extend.

Yes our PM sleeps but at occasion they do wake him up and give him an executive summary and get his blessing. The guy is not on top of everything but a few things, well he is informed which he may forget later. Otherwise he is in his slumber land

50. #50 by Toyol on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:15 am

I am glad that most of the bloggers here are not anti-Malay or racist in their thoughts. Rather it is to fight the injustices in our social system as well as the prejudices and level of hypocrisy that exists in our political system.

Yes, I too know of many great Malay people who has the maturity to distinguish right from wrong and who can stand up and be counted upon when their principles are being question. I knew RPK even before he set up MT and he is a great person, as a friend even better.

BN is now divided and confused, no less by what the PM is not doing and seditious speeches by its members. If the Opposition is to take the upper hand, now is the time. Lets get real here…at best we can deny BN 2/3rds. Our social structure will never allow the Opposition to win.

51. #51 by ProMalaysiaNotBN on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:18 am

“The reports contain criminal elements which could incite anyone and cause fear. Maybe these people (bloggers) had forgotten that Malaysia is a country with many sensitivities,” Muhd Muhd Taib said on his action against Raja Petra.

Try this version: “The [DPM’s and Hishamuddin’s utterrances and statements] contain criminal elements which could [and had] incite anyone and cause [had caused] fear [trepidation, outrage and unease]. Maybe these people ([DPM, Hishammuddin and all those fanatics]) had forgotten that Malaysia is a country with many [other Malaysians with true blooded patriotism] sensitivities,”. New version ends.

The difference is again that of selective persecution. Like they say, “Rule no. 1: The Boss [UMNO and its lackeys] is always right; and, Rule no. 2: If the Boss is wrong, read and remember Rule no. 1.”

Ever since TDM’s tenure, when anybody criticises the Government, he / she is treacherous, seditious, and deserving of retention under the ISA. Nobody IN GOVERNMENT (BN dominated) can be labelled as such no matter how sacrilegious he / she can be in his / her actions or speech- TDM included. If at all, the greatest traitors of Malaysia are the politicians who have economically and systematically plundered the country’s wealth and resources by their corruption. Not only that, they would then awarded themselves titles of TUN to prevent their being investigated upon their retirement from office. After all, a TUN “The Untouchable Nobleman” – Untouchable as he’s free from prosecution and Nobleman as he’s done great for King and Country. What paradox. The TUNs have become just as much mockery as the DATUKS and DATINS which no longer carry the mark of respect and honour they once were conferred on dignitaries deserving of such accolades. Now the recent and upcoming TUNs are a shield against investigations from past misdeeds. One CM in particular is awaiting his TUNship before he dares to retire for fear of being investigated for widespread corruption.

Again, MalaysiaBolehism rears its ugly head. Or is it a multi-headed Hydra? It’s beginning to look like that since, it (big time corruption and mis-governance) can never be killed despite DAP, NGOs, Amnesty International and all those other do-gooders: they all make a lot of noise but all of them wear dentures only.

52. #52 by mendela on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:41 am

Let’s draft RPK to run as independent in the coming GE!

Yes, he will beat any UMO leaders without much efforts!

It will be fantastic to have him exposing all UMO’s wrong doings in the Parliament!

RPK is a great man!

53. #53 by mendela on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:44 am

Pls forward the below to all your friends and relatives. A real great read!

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/holds.php?itemid=6714

54. #54 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 3:12 pm

I have read “See you in hell Muhamad son of Muhamad” on Malaysia-today.net.

All I can say is I can recognise a devil when I see one. So it’s got to be ‘See you in hell Muhamad son of Muhamad”. Amen.

55. #55 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 3:14 pm

“How many true and great Malays are there in the world?
    There are also a few true and great Chinese, Indian, Europeans and etc. in the world” – sotong

Dear sotong,

I can see you are trying to twist your statement now but dude, you cant hide from your racist remarks. I still hold you to your earlier statement ‘There are very few true and great Malays…..he is one of them’ … and as expected no one in this blog dare to take you to task for your racist remarks. So much for Malaysian Malaysia, democracy, equal rights etc etc etc.

56. #56 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 3:15 pm

“Heck, any one of us can become PM.” – Godfather

Why dont you put your money where your mouth is and go for it then!!

57. #57 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 3:25 pm

Malaysia is famously infamous, Sydney Morning Herald: http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2007/07/24/1185043094060.html

“Malaysia denies crackdown on bloggers”
    July 24, 2007 – 2:50PM

“Malaysia’s deputy prime minister denied the government is clamping down on bloggers after a prominent ruling party politician lodged a police report against a website, reports said Tuesday.”

58. #58 by sotong on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 3:44 pm

There are many true Malays, Indians, Europeans or Chinese.

But there are very few people who are both ” true and great “.

Does it matter if one is racist in an environment that promotes and encourages racism?

59. #59 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 5:39 pm

It does when one is preaching for equal rights/opportunities/democracy etc.
    Walking the talk… you know
    ….. but anyway blame the system and government as they are the convenient scapegoat

60. #60 by Bobster on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 6:11 pm

Blame the system and government as they are the convenient scapegoat – RealWorld

Are you so blind that cant even see the light. Please take out your sunglasses and open your eyes. Screwed up gomen system happen daily under the sun since 50 yrs ago. Unfortunately things getting worst nowadays. Country blessed with all kind of the natural resources, we should be on par and even better than Singapore aft 50 yrs independent. Unfortunately lately our cabinet ministers/UNMO started using 3rd world countries like Vietnam/Indonesia/Cambodia as yardstick against our country. Do you know our gomen now going reverse gear my friend.

Vision 2020 kena postpone to Vision 2057 under AAB slumbership.

61. #61 by a true aussie now on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 8:55 pm

Use people’s power to topper the facist regime. anyone??
    So much whingings going on in cyberspace, but this facist regime is still being voted into power again comes next election.
    You guys just don’t have the gust to throw them out of the office! :-(

62. #62 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 9:50 pm

Dear Bobster,

I can see you conveniently ignored sotong’s racist remarks. And you are talking about sunglasses and etc! Dude, I think in your case it is not the sunglasses, you are just plain biased, period.

Dont talk about equality or democracy when you, yourself dont even have the moral principle to address sotong’s racist remarks.

How to have vision 2020 when there are blind racist like you and sotong around?

63. #64 by sotong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 7:27 am

The system and the government are not convenient scapegoat.

It’s all about leadership with responsibility, accountability and competency. This is grossly lacking in our country.

The buck stops with the leader/government.

64. #65 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 10:28 am

Dear sotong,

You can divert all the shortcomings to the system and government but your racist remarks showed your true self.

What leadership, accountability and competency you are rambling on about here!!? Will the country be better off with racists like you running it with backminded racist policies and thinking???

65. #66 by sotong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 11:08 am

Dear RealWorld,

For a person to call another a racist, that person must be a racist too.

So the country will not be better of with racists like you and me – if we are racists.

66. #67 by Bobster on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 4:22 pm

RealWorld,

You are wrong! Please read thru the line carefully. Where did I support sotong racist remark?!

Every sane individual irrespective of race in this country know the TRUTH ie the system and government in this country need MAJOR SHAKE UP. Just go thru list of unsolved issues highlighted in the Parliament and letters written to the authorities and AAB in particular with No Reply/I Dont Know! There are more than a million civil servants in this country. Just need to assign a group to follow up on the each issue raised, you can easily solve at least half the complaints and consider a good achievement for the gomen. What did AAB do? Balls in his court and he is sleeping on it and let the opponents score the GOALS?! Exactly like Malaysia soccer team. How to compete with international players? No respect for this kind of leaders, many in the BN unfortunately!

67. #68 by goldenhub on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 12:45 am

Dear RealWorld, I didn’t think sotong’s remark was racist at all. That is why I didn’t even bothered about it. But looks like it has got you all hot and bothered. Well, taking from your lead I decided to research a few things from the internet and what sotong said could be substituted with any of these:

“Hannity speaks of “great Americans.” OK. There are really very few “great” Americans — maybe a handful like George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Teddy Roosevelt, Dwight Eisenhower, Abraham Lincoln, Ronald Reagan and F.D.R” from http://www.columbiamissourian.com/stories/2007/06/28/americans-arent-just-republicans/

” Below you will find just a few great Africans who represent a long line of intelligent, resourceful, courageous and beautiful people–”
    from http://www.ebonyminds.com/heroes.htm

“There has been few great Chinese leaders for a very long time” from http://www.chinahistoryforum.com/index.php?s=27add146d781f49a498e8405201febf9&showtopic=956&st=15&p=4720656&#entry4720656

Now by your undoubtedly high and esteemed standards, all these people who said things similar to sotong are racists? Yeah right. Wake up to the real world RealWorld, pun intended. Only a racist would have seen those statements including sotong’s as racist. Don’t worry, it’s no shame admitting being a racist. Consider it your first step towards enlightenment or whatever that suits your world.

Now can we stop this petty discussion and get back to the real topic?

68. #69 by sotong on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 7:59 am

Bobster,

You will be considered a racist, for political purposes, to be charged under the discriminative and baised laws, if you say something truthful and reasonable the politicians do not like to hear.

No reasonable person with basic common sense would conclude my remark is racist. If I am a racist, blind and baised non Malay, why should I acknowlege RPK, a Malay, as a ” true and great ” man.

There are very few” true and great ” Chinese……..Mr. Lim is one of them.

69. #70 by sotong on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 9:49 am

There are a few true and great Burmese……..Aung San Suu Ky is one of them.

70. #71 by sotong on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 9:54 am

There are a few true and great Indians………India’s ex-PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee is one of them.

71. #72 by AhPek on Sunday, 29 July 2007 - 2:19 pm

True Aussie,
    You are right by saying that there are too much whinnings over cyberspace and only partially right that the voters have not got the guts to vote uot the present governing party,BN.The concept of parlimentary democracy really is a borrowed one from the British colonial master.It is not part of the value system in an Asian or more precise Malaysian environment.Debate whereby competing ideas fight for ascendency is never its tradition.
    On top of this the government of the day has over the 50 years of continuous rule not only devised various instruments to gag the public especially during the 22years of Mahathir administration but also did a lot of gerrymandering to ensure the unbroken rule of UMNO in this racially divided nation for you see the political parties here are mostly formed along racial lines. Of course the governing BN party will retort that BN is a coalition of the main racial parties but then the truth of the matter is that they are not a coalition of equal partnership.There is only one over-powering domineering party in BN,UMNO.The third method to ensure continuity is to dispense goodies during election time.
    Without an independent judiciary,without a free press,financial power or access to financial sources and with a very small enlightened populace (who are probably also netizens), the chances of the opposition parties are indeed slim.Besides the opposition parties are also not able to form a united opposition!!!
    So you see, true aussie, the situation in Bodohland is very much unlike that of Aussieland.You have to thank your star that in Australia there is always this government-in-waiting ready to take over should the current powers that be make a slip.Not so in this Bodohland.The only guarantee to good governance and protection of citizen rights is the government in waiting.The original form of parlimentary democracy has now descended into something one can call dictatorship.