“Criminals to fear police every second” – IPCMC critical test

After the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s Monday announcement that the term of service of Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan had been extended, Musa told Bernama: “My aim is to clean up Sarawak and Johor of criminal elements. Beginning today, I want criminals to fear the police, every second of their lives.”

Musa also said: “I am giving a stern warning to policemen who are involved in taking bribes and misuse their powers.

“I don’t want to see this particular group smearing the good name of the police”

Bernama reported that the IGP’s “strong words” were an indication that he would take the bull by its horns when dealing with the underworld, organised crime, illegal activities and corruption.
I wish Musa the best wishes in his new declared intentions on the extension of his service as IGP although he must realize and understand why they have been met with considerable skepticism and cynicism by the suffering public.

This is not the first time in the past 44 months that Musa, his predecessor former IGP Tan Sri Bakri Musa as well as the Prime Minister himself had declared war against crime and corruption which had all proved to be “just thunder but no rain”!

The most recent occasion when Abdullah declared an “all-out war” on crime was only three months ago when the Prime Minister and Internal Security Minister spoke at the special assembly at the Police Training Centre in Kuala Lumpur in early April where he announced that there would be “no compromise” in wiping out criminals — more than eight years after Abdullah was first appointed Home Minister with direct responsibility over the police and more than three years as Prime Minister. Like previous occasions, there was nothing to show for this declaration.
Will the latest declaration of “all-out war against crime” by the IGP go the way of previous such declarations — all talk and no walk?

In my public congratulations tof Musa on his appointment as IGP in September last year, I had posed the question uppermost for Malaysians — whether the new IGP could make any difference in the law-and-order situation in the country so that Malaysians can look forward to a safe and low-crime Malaysia.

To be free from crime and the fear of crime are the most fundamental of all human rights of Malaysians which will also affect Malaysia as an investment centre, tourist destination and international educational hub for foreign students as well as the billion-ringgit Iskandar Development Region project.

There can be no denial that overall the crime and law-and-order situation has deteriorated not only in the past 44 months but also during the 10-month tenure of Musa as IGP, to the extent that the Prime Minister had conceded that it is now “rampant crime” and not just “crime” that the police had to battle, when he said on Monday that the police “have been given the facilities to deal with rampant crime”.

In fact, a few of the Commissioners have privately confided in me that the Royal Police Commission had been a total waste of time and effort as the crime situation has got worse and its recommendations to create an efficient, incorruptible, human rights-sensitive world-class police service had not been given serious consideration — apart from a few proposals like the 18% to 42% increase in police pay and doubling of the cost of living allowance which the DAP had supported all along.

This is reflected by the skyrocketing crime index in the past three years, which had worsened from 156,315 cases in 2003 to 226,836 cases in 2006 — a sharp rise of 45.1% in the past three years when the police force had set the target of reducing the crime index by five per cent per year while the Royal Police Commission had proposed a minimum of 20% decrease in each category of crime within a period of 12 months.

Violent crime had increased by 85.8% from 22,790 cases in 2003 to 42,343 cases in 2006, with rape cases registering the highest increase of 65.5 per cent — reaching an average of 6.7 women raped daily in 2006 compared to an average of four women raped daily in 2003. In 2003, an average of 1.5 persons were murdered daily; but in 2006, this has increased to an average of 1.65 persons murdered daily.

It must be further borne in mind that the crime index is actually a serious under-estimate of the gravity of the crime situation, as there is a high incidence where victims of crime do not lodge police reports as they lack confidence that any good would come out of it apart from incurring a lot of hassle and inconvenience.

Under these circumstances, how is another declaration of an “all-out war” against crime by Musa going to be different from the long catalogue of previous ones?

Musa said on Monday that he had “a dream to see the force above all in the world” where police counterparts of other countries have “confidence and respect” in Malaysia’s police.

Musa can be assured of the full support of Parliament, the people and nation if he is serious about his commitment to have a dedicated and professional police force, which he had announced previously, as during the 200th anniversary celebrations of the Royal Malaysian police in March this year that the police was being “rebranded with a new vision and mission in line with the recommendations of the Royal Police Commission”.

The Royal Police Commission’s most important recommendation for the establishment of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) is the critical test of whether Musa’s declaration that “Beginning today, I want criminals to fear the police, every second of their lives” is to be taken seriously or another empty rhetoric.

If Musa comes out to officially endorse the IPCMC and to have it established as the first priority following the Prime Minister’s announcement of extension of his term as IGP, it will be a clear signal to criminals that the police is committed to an all-out war against them as they will have to face an incorruptible, efficient and professional police service with no weaknesses for criminals and crime syndicates to exploit.

Is Musa prepared to publicly endorse the IPCMC proposal and work with the Attorney-General’s Chambers and Parliament so that the necessary legislation can be enacted as the first item of parliamentary business in the next meeting beginning on August 20, 2007 so that the IPCMC can be established before the end of the year?

1. #1 by moong cha cha II on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 11:40 am

My comment: ” ”

void, nothingness, vacuum

2. #2 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 11:45 am

This is another Hot air to fool the people!
    How can a tainted IGP fight crime or improve his force.
    I don’t trust the police one wee bit. I trust my Doberman more than the entire police force when it comes to protecting my home.
    Where ever possible I will avoid the police, even with information on any criminal activities or even murder!
    BECAUSE I DON’T TRUST THE POLICE!

3. #3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 11:54 am

Law-abiding citizens fear the police more than the criminals do. They do racial profiling all the time – when they talk amongst themselves, it is always “Dia tu Cina” or “Dia tu India”. When my nephew lodged a report for a traffic accident, the cop taking his witness statement immediately said that my nephew was in the wrong – without making any investigation. Just because the person on the other side was a Melayu.

Just look at the Altantuya case – how many of us seriously believe that the Police will make a case against two of their own kind ?

4. #4 by Toyol on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 12:04 pm

We all know the hardship when making a police report. A while ago my expatriate boss had an accident with a Malay motorcyclist who was in the wrong when he overtook on a double line. The police whilst confirming his fault encouraged us NOT to pursue the matter with the motorcyclist and claim insurance instead. Who is going to pay for the lost NCD?

It is these small things that make the law abiding public wary of the police. Most of the time it is the police themselves who cause us to be distrustfull of them!

5. #5 by boilingmad on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 12:08 pm

Musa said on Monday that he had “a dream to see the force above all in the world” where police counterparts of other countries have “confidence and respect” in Malaysia’s police.
    Musa is still dreaming in his sleep. Quick, someone, slap him before he blows out more hot & foul air!!
    50 years of independence and we are still, according to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, still at the most basic level … need for security. We have gone a long, long way backwards. AND to think even animals have an effective way of protecting their own kind. I think we need to send our Ministers to the zoo to study animal behaviour because they simply do not & cannot understand the more complex behaviours of other humans (countries).

6. #6 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 12:08 pm

If you have a chicken stolen and you report it to the police, you will lose a 2 more chickens and maybe a cow too…
    that is how much trust people have in the police force.

7. #7 by Phat-kor on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 12:17 pm

wahh,,,,there is a silver lining in the clouds but hang on,,,,,,,there are 10 more layers of thick dark clouds hanging above it.!!!!!

8. #8 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 12:22 pm

Raja Petra has come with another damning article against the IGP.
    It’s all there on Malaysia Today.
    The rot in the police force is beyond redemption.
    Wow, extension of contract for IGP and pay rise for police.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:05 pm

“…..Beginning today, I want criminals to fear the police, every second of their lives.” Hahahahahahahahahaha!! What a Joker. Lost touch with reality.

Musa also said: “I am giving a stern warning to policemen who are involved in taking bribes and misuse their powers.” Hehehehehehehehe. Only “stern” warning nothing more. Business as usual.

Royal Boleh Bincang Police Farce.

10. #10 by k1980 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:17 pm

This is truly MatJeninland… first the pm dreamed of Nobel laureates crawling out from every nook and corner of the country, now this igp had “a dream to see the (police)force above all in the world.” Next, the anak mertua is going to have a dream of him overtaking Bill Gates to be the richest in the world. When will these Mat Jenins fall from their coconut trees and crack open their numbskulls?

11. #11 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:34 pm

They will walk the talk…at snail’s pace or like an old man with a tongkat. While the robbers and thugs are moving at face pace they will be lagging far behind. THen come next year they will again shout the same promise of wiping out crimes. THe only thing they can wipe off is the “crumbs” and “rezeki” that come along their way for being so “ineffective”.

12. #12 by Ghost on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:42 pm

Everytime we see something outside of ourself, don’t separate ourself from it, instead, merge with it. Become one with it. We are one with everything.

We can never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete.

13. #13 by Ghost on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:46 pm

Dear Pak Lah, can your tell us your understanding of Life? Please, we need to know whats your pespective about Life.
    You can never demand for respect, earn it!

14. #14 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:52 pm

15. #15 by hang tuah on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 1:58 pm

musa, what to clean up and fear ? the gangster head is you according to mt. when r u going to rebut the claim ?

in this land of boleh, “macam-macam ada”. just cant believe the tidorman can extend your tenure.

shake head……

16. #16 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 2:10 pm

tidurman needs protection ma. If body guard fired, who will protect his sleep? He will be having sleepness nites man!

17. #17 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 2:16 pm

I again pose the same question, “What is AAB smoking? Gimme some of that good stuff”

18. #18 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 2:25 pm

A Malay and a Chinese went to the police station to lodge a report about an accidents involving their vehicles. The Malay was in the wrong but the fortunate thing was the Chinese driver had a witness who had also gone to the police station with them.
    The policeman taking down the report told the witness, ” If you want to be a witness you must be present in court when the case comes up for hearing. If you don’t turn up we will arrest you and lock you up.
    Now do you want to be a witness.”
    Well, the frightened witness ( a Chinese) declined to be a witness and walked out of the police station.

19. #19 by Toyol on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 2:36 pm

Malaysia Today article has erased all doubts about the integrity of the force. The whole world knows. Its astounding to note that nothing is being done about it. If LKS tables this in Parliament, for sure it will be shot down with the excuse that it is not important.

How can the police force be trusted when the heads are all corrupted. Looks like the police is run by the mafia and they will bump off those who don’t work in cahoots with them. This is really BollehLand.

20. #20 by Joetan on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 2:39 pm

As far as I know, everybody has across a corrupted policeman before with at least once in their lifetime. This is to show how rampant corruption in Malaysia is. So, In my opinion the police force will never agree to the implementation of IPCMC. Agreeing to that is like stabbing themselves because corruption is a police culture and a culture cannot be easily changed.

21. #21 by kleptocrats on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 2:40 pm

I am sick of all these lip services again and again. Sudah berapa kali? Sama like this case – The mayor promises to come out with solutions to our traffic jam problems. Sekarang mana dia? Langsung no news at all.

22. #22 by gana on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 3:20 pm

Corruption will never end at any level and at any govt. department untill BN rulling the country,,,,,,,,,,,,,,let us realise that the root is BN without cutting it how it will end

23. #23 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 3:46 pm

“Beginning today, I want criminals to fear the police, every second of their lives.” so said the IGP.

On the same day he said this, some robbers robbed a taxi driver in North Johor and after tying up the taxi driver and putting him into the boot, the robbers wrote “Polis Bodoh” on the taxi. That is how much they “fear” the police. The contempt the criminals have for the police is manifested in the ever bolder crimes they are committing.

Just as the Johor CPO was spinning about the increase in police presence in Perling to the press, some robbers decided to rub his face in the cowdung by attempting a robbery in my neighbour’s house in Perling at the early hours of 8pm. This boldness surprised and frightened me. They are either sending a message that the police are completely useless and they own the streets or the police is closing one eye. Either way we are screwed. Need to lay my hands on a gun and some parangs.

24. #24 by Anti_NEP on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 3:47 pm

Why must the police put up blockade on the highway to issue summonses to motorists caught with speeding and causes traffic jam on the highway? Why can’t they post the summonses to the offenders?
    Encik, macam mana mau settle? Kalau mahu buang itu gambar 50 ringgit.

25. #25 by manutd79 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 3:58 pm

Racial and religious discrimination is rife in our police force.

My cousin’s motorcycle was stolen by a Malay guy and the policemen were reluctant to arrest the guy. They gave an excuse that the motorcycle has to be brought back to balai for 3 weeks for investigation. In the end the thief was set free because my cousin couldn’t afford and bother to leave his bike at the balai.

In another higher profile case in Seberang Perai where an Indonesian robber was killed when trying to attack and rob a family, the policemen initially wanted to charge one of the family member for murdering the robber even though the killing was an act of self defence. The robber had earlier slashed another the father with a parang and was attacking the others. In the ensuing scuffle, the wife had to push the parang into the robber’s abdomen to protect her children. It was only until the local residents ridiculed the police and engaged the help of some politicians that the lady was freed of the murder charges. Ridiculous! The whole family had to move out of their house since they could never trust the police to protect them anymore, just in case some of these Indonesians come back for revenge.

How can we trust the police force?

26. #26 by hang tuah on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 4:00 pm

this must hear rap in you tube is racist. do u think so ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOf3zzVRZ7Y

treat it as a song with no other motive.

enjoy……..

27. #27 by Utopia on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 4:17 pm

28. #28 by democrate on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 4:58 pm

Like father like son u hv such a naive PM a naive CPO is brought up. Empty vessel !! talk and never been done !

29. #29 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 5:29 pm

Almost everybody knows about the reputation of the police. The politicians from UMNO knows about this but they need them to scratch their back so in return they had to protect them to the extent that the IPCMC had to be thrown out of the window.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 9:34 pm

“Now do you want to be a witness.”
    Well, the frightened witness ( a Chinese) declined to be a witness and walked out of the police station.” Libra

So what’s the morale of the story?? The policeman is inaccurate when he said whenever you are called to act as witness and you do not appear in court you will be arrested. It is only a half-truth.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 9:45 pm

Toyol: “The police whilst confirming his (the Malay motorcyclist) fault encouraged us (expatriate owner of the car) NOT to pursue the matter with the motorcyclist and claim insurance instead. Who is going to pay for the lost NCD?”

The policeman has no business giving his personal opinion on what he thinks you should do.

Many times it has nothing to do with race.

A Malay friend went to report a case of CBT involving his office boy and was asked by a Malay policeman on duty what was his (office boy’s) race and the sum involved. Does justice come with race and amount of money lost whether large or small? He was in other words saying there would be no investigation because the report was made against a Malay and the sum lost was only $1,000.00. How ridiculous is that??

32. #32 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 12:58 am

this was reported in the China press about 2 days back, one taxi driver, was rob and beaten up by a group of thieves, upon leaving, they scratch these words on the taxi bonnet “POLIS BODOH”, this only shows that no one, not even law abiding citizens respect the man in blue anymore, for the criminals, catch me, but can the court convict me? for the others, it’s RM 50 “kau tim”; to both parties, it’s more nuisance than fear, fear of what, pocket bocor that is…… no more respect for the law.

The next time, when you visit your local majistrate court to pay traffic fines, why not sit a little longer, just to hear how much one have to pay base on race…….. you will be extremely enlighten.

For instance, similar offence some might pay RM 50, whilst others pay RM 150, why fear when fear is so cheap?

What Fear talk you? the title should be macam mana nak settle?

Why is it under this PM, eveyone sleep talks through their hole? bung-sai said it, AAB says it, DPM says it and now Mus 2……

Respect for who again Mus, didn’t quite understand your question, could you please rephrase that again?

33. #33 by Plaintruth on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 6:28 am

My friends motocycle stopped at an intersection, a car sped by from left to right. The car somehow sway and hit a small front part of the motocycle. This send my friend down on the down and the car was gone.

When my friend gone to the hospital for a severe cut and reported to the police, the police issued a summon for him. for the trouble of the police coming to the hospital to take the statements. The summon was for not controlling his motocycle and caused the injury.

He went to the police station and talked to the police cheif. The police chief said “ini boleh selesai…. senang saja”. The police chief took out a printed cardboard with names and date and “donations”. He said his son is in the football team and need some sponsorship. For him, RM100 is a good “voluntary” sponsorship.

Realising what was going on, my friend paid the RM100 and the summon was taken care of (the police chief took back the summon).

34. #34 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 7:26 am

Who says the police is not people friendly?

Here your friend got to save some money through donation. He could have ended up paying multiples of $100.00 and possibly spend some time in the lock-up!

35. #35 by smeagroo on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 9:35 am

That donation is just a ploy. THe money goes into their happy-hours fund or after-hours karaoke sessions. You think they gv a hoot abt their sons’ future? NOt when the father is behaving like a crook!

36. #36 by clausmaun on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 2:16 pm

Having read all the negative comments I feel sad for the police force who to a large extent have done a great job in maintaining law and order in our country. I respect and honour the police force. The criminal problem is in existence all over the world and as crime fighters get upto date on latest crime fighting techniques the crooks seem to be one step ahead. Just imagine if the police force was abolished, our wives and children will fall prey to roobers, rapists and what not even all this condemning writers will be fearful to even step out of their houses. To let the police force do their job well, the public must appreciate them and be law abiding citizens and the YB should keep thair hands clean and not interfere with police work. There was once a good fearless OCPD in Klang doing a good job cleaning up the town of criminals but suddenly he was put in cold storage in a police training institute…WHY???? if good cops are transfered out then what is left will be the scummbags. Thats why all the shit now with the police force.

37. #37 by Loh on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 3:48 pm

///Beginning today, I want criminals to fear the police, every second of their lives.”///

But the current situation is the police fear the criminals, in their waking hours. The police are only feared by law abiding citizens who can’t be sure whether they were uniformed criminals.

38. #38 by smeagroo on Thursday, 5 July 2007 - 5:53 pm

For ur info, in my housing estate, each hsehold hv to fork out RM30 per mth to hire security guards to do patrolling. DOnt we hv enough of financial problems of our own?

39. #39 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 7 July 2007 - 5:00 pm

There is no need to make this and that declarations, just do it and show the results. People will be convinced only results show.

Musa is not first on the job. This is his extension of service as IGP, and he being in the Police Force for umpteen years as very senior officer in the Force.