Is Abdullah’s government on auto-pilot – strongest possible protest to PM

I have today faxed a letter to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi lodging the “strongest protest possible” at the most unsatisfactory reply to a parliamentary question in Malaysian parliamentary history which totally evaded the specific query posed.

My protest letter referred to Abdullah’s written reply to my parliamentary question yesterday asking “why public confidence in government ability to ensure low-crime Malaysia has reached a new low despite earlier favourable public responses to Royal Police Commission Report and to report on implementation of the commission’s 125 recommendations, in particular on IPCMC”.

In the three-paragraph written answer, Abdullah, who is also the Minister for Internal Security, said the Royal Malaysia Police (RMP) had implemented the Five Year Police Strategic Plan (2007-2011) to address the problem of rising crime and public concerns about crime.

Among the programmes of the RMP Strategic Plan were the setting up of a Crime Prevention Department that involved all police stations apart from having an Internet website to be more customer-centric.

To ensure the people’s continued confidence in the police to fight crime, other programmes have also been implemented including improving the beat and patrol functions with the cooperation of other agencies like local authorities, installation of closed-circuit television camera (CCTV) systems in high risk areas and having the Rakan Cop at all state police contingents.

Abdullah also said that although the crime rate had risen in terms of statistics, the solving rate for serious crimes had also improved from 58.88 per cent in 2005 to 60.11 per cent last year.

I told the Prime Minister that “it is most shocking and totally unprecedented” that the written answer completely ignored the second part of the question asking for a status report on the implementation of the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission and in particular the key proposal for the establishment of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

This is the first time in my 33 years as Member of Parliament where there has been a clear evasion of the parliamentary question asked — in this case on the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission and in particular the IPCMC proposal.

In my letter, I said I appreciated that although the written answer was given in Abdullah’s name, it had not been vetted by him. I also said that I believed that the dishonest reply in evading the specific query on the IPCMC and the Royal Police Commission recommendations had also not been seen by the Deputy Internal Security Minister, Datuk Johari Baharum as I do not believe that with his parliamentary and political experience and background, Johari would have countenanced such ministerial evasion and parliamentary irresponsibility.

Clearly, the parliamentary reply was drafted by a civil servant who did not know how to respond to the question for a status report on the Royal Police Commission’s 125 recommendations and in particular on the IPCMC proposal, as they have become political minefields, and the officer must have thought it better part of valour to avoid answering it altogether.

This represents a most shocking plunge in the standard and quality of governance particularly with regard to Ministerial responsibility to Parliament, setting a most awful example for all other Cabinet Ministers as the written answer is given in the name of the Prime Minister.

This is a setback for Malaysia’s development as a vibrant and meaningful democracy with a First-World Parliament.

In fact, it raises the disturbing question whether we are having an anarchy instead of a disciplined, dedicated, high-performance quality government and Cabinet.

Is the administration of Abdullah now on auto-pilot?

1. #1 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 12:24 pm

It is definitely NOT on auto-pilot!! If it is on auto-pilot, all system will go well as no pilot is required as in the plane!!! But I believe it is without any pilot and there’s no auto-pilot system installed at all!! Malaysia is flying on its own which depends on the wind!! We better jump ship or find ways to look after ourselves!!!

2. #2 by rukunegara on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 1:04 pm

[quote]• To ask the Prime Minister why public confidence in government ability to ensure low-crime Malaysia has reached a new low despite earlier favourable public responses to Royal Police Commission Report and to report on implementation of commission’s 125 recommendations, in particular on IPCMC.[/quote]

Maybe you should reflect on the question itself…

3. #3 by jc on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 3:58 pm

It’s on AU TA – PILOT.

4. #4 by WFH on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 6:09 pm

We should ask whether he kisses with his eyes open, or eyes closed. If he answers in all honesty, and we then draw a parallel for his PM’ship, it spells doom if he does the same in leading the country and the Government.

5. #5 by WFH on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 6:23 pm

With his eyes shut, then in respect of his PM’s salary, it adds a whole new meaning to the term “gaji buta”.

6. #6 by negarawan on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 6:24 pm

Let’s put it this way, it makes no difference to Malaysia if AAB is dead or alive. Period

7. #7 by awesome on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 6:53 pm

No it makes a difference. AAB cannot die now. Sure power struggle. Isha allah it will be well.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 8:05 pm

“Is the administration of Abdullah now on auto-pilot?” Kit

When has the plane been flying? When did it ever take-off? When was there ever a plane or an airport?

9. #9 by setu on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 8:45 pm

side track,
    read the Malay Mail, 26.6.2007 :
    One of the die-hard ‘fans’ happened to be the uncle of Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri, 30, who is charged with murdering Altantuya Shaariibuu in Mukim Bukit Raja last year.
    Azilah’s uncle, Adi Admajah, 65, flew in from Medan, Indonesia, and has yet to miss a hearing since the first day of the trial.
    “Although I have come from far, I don’t mind the small sacrifice I am making for my nephew.
    “I want to show my support and give him strength,” he said.

can some one explain,
    the uncle from Indonesia ?
    his father must be from Indonesia ?
    the Chief Inspector a Malaysian or Indonesian ?
    ? an Indonesian in the Police Force ?
    half a generation, already a Malaysian ?
    confused and curious ?

10. #10 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:59 am

This guy has been on honeymoon for far too long. He snoozes off and imagine the plane has an auto pilot system which obviously it has none. Imagine the disaster which is in waiting. All of us will be roasted.

To be on the serious side this guy is a bit mentally handicap and he does not have any strategy. All he is trying to do is to disguise it by making himself busy outside the country and pretend that all is OK in the country which obviously is not and a simple extension of his inefficiency is the hefty increase of crime rates which he should be responsible not only as a PM but also as the Interior Minister.

The IPCMC is as good as dead. Still-born to be precised.

11. #11 by mendela on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 7:19 am

If Bad-awi is holding the 3 posts (PM, Finance Minister and Internal Security Minister), does it mean he is getting 3 salaries? Wow!

With all 3 key posts under him yet he is still able to have long honeymoon, sure he is a capable man!

It is time to jump ship!

12. #12 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 7:34 am

You must understand, pwcheng, that he is not meant to be a hands-on Prime Minister. This PM fancies himself as being the country’s head of state when he is in fact the head of the executive branch. Somebody should wake up. Is he hearing voices??

13. #13 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 7:37 am

Mendela,

He had to hold those posts because he couldn’t decide who should hold them for fear of antagonizing the different factions. The deputies are de facto Minister in charge of those Ministries.

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:11 am

Since when have the crime solving rate beeen 50%? Something is fishing about that statistic. I did a survey of crime victim within my circle and of the 50 or so incident, only one got solved. This 50% refered to some sort of classification of crime some sort of serious crime like murder, bank robbery etc. It shows that for average person house burglary, snatch thief and charges of corruption etc. THEY DON’T EVEN REGISTER AS CRIME to them…

15. #15 by somethingStirring on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:18 am

Bag-of-weed is okay as our average friendly neighbour but not good enough as national leader.

16. #16 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:38 am

http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2007/06/primary-school-students-in-kuantan-weak.html

The shortsighted policies instituted decades ago for purely political reasons have now come back to haunt us. Year after year we churn out students who are pathetically hopeless in English. Those who have some competency are from either bigger towns or from families who had realized the importance of having a good command of the language.

The most affected by these policies which remarkably lack in foresight, are the poor kampung dwellers and other rural folk, who never really stood a chance from the very beginning….For such is the sad tale of a country ruled by people who either pretend or genuinely don’t know what the people really need.

17. #17 by FuturePolitician on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:40 am

Mr.Lim, You have left MANY FAXes to AAB, You left post-it on his door, you even hand-delivered complaint letters to his office… Does he read them anyway?

Thats all you could do, sadly no more can be done.

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:11 am

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……….

19. #19 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:27 am

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/20070627072306/Article/index_html

Just find out who ordered the information about the Mongolians’ entries into Malaysia last October were deleted from the Immigration database and the murder case would be solved. This is because the erasure of the entry records is to conceal the fact that the victim did not come to this country and hence cover up the murder.

20. #20 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 7:01 pm

“…erasure of the entry records is to conceal the fact that the victim did not come to this country and hence cover up the murder.”

How about the DNA?? The bone fragments and jewelery left behind on the scene by the deceased?

21. #21 by maya on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:14 pm

Sleep, sleep baby sleep,
    sleep undreaming slumber deep,
    stars shine in the skies
    sleepy clouds go sailing by

PS: and before anyone here calls me a plagiarist, i stand accused ( sorry cant remember the author)
    cheers

22. #22 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 5:40 pm

Sometimes when we sit down and ponder on the state of affair of the country, we feel like laughing to ourselves.

It seems that the country is run by a bunch of clowns and bonkers.