RPK allegations of top police corruption – urgent parliamentary debate next Tuesday

There is no better way to review the implementation of the Royal Police Commission’s recommendations after two years than to start with the front-page headline of Sin Chew Daily street edition for Thursday, “Police cannot refuse to accept report” following reports that in the case of the abduction-gang rape of a 19-year-old girl and her 22-year-old boyfriend in Johor Bahru on Monday, attempts to make report on the oncoming crime was shunted from Larkin Police Station to Tampoi Police Station and again to Johor Baru Tengah Police Station or the crime could have been averted with prompt police action.

Why is the problem of the police refusing to accept a report still prevalent in the country when it is supposed to have been rooted out for good two years ago?

When the Royal Police Commission started its public hearings in early 2004, police refusing to accept reports from the public was a common complaint.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

As a result, the then Inspector-General of Police Bakri Omar summoned a meeting of police chiefs from across the country in May 2004 and warned that any police officer who refused to accept a report would be dealt with severely, and this warning was to be communicated to all police officers throughout the country.

But today, this most basic and elementary police duty to accept reports from the public is back again in the public limelight. Is police reform making progress after two years of the Royal Police Commission Report or are we back to square one?

Sack the police officers in Larkin and Tampoi police stations who refused to take police reports about the ongoing crime resulting in the abduction-gang rape case in JB on Monday and suspend their superior officers and the perennial problem of police refusing to accept a report would be ended instantly and permanently.

But will this be done, or will the whole charade of public warning to police that they cannot refuse to accept reports from the public be repeated again and again only to be ignored by the police rank-and-file.

The Royal Police Commission has three objectives in its recommendations, viz, to reduce crime, to eradicate corruption and to create a world-class police service which is human rights sensitive.

The horrendous crimes in Johor Baru, with three shocking robbery/abduction-cum-gang rape in the last month, has further highlighted the worsening crime situation in the country where Malaysians, visitors and investors are in fear of their personal safety.

There is now a move for a 100,000-signature campaign to restore to the people of Johor Baru their fundamental right to be free from crime and the fear of crime, whether in the streets, public places or the privacy of their homes.

In the past three years, violent crime in the country had doubled instead of being reduced.

As for eradication of corruption, nobody believes that any dent to this problem in the police force had been made. In the past, top police officers had denied that corruption in the police was a grave problem, yet in the recent salary revision, the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan inadvertently admitted to this problem when he said there was now no excuse for the problem of corruption in the police force after the pay rise.

I have today given notice to the Speaker, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah under Standing Order 18(2) to move a motion of urgent, definite public importance in Parliament on Tuesday, June 19, on the serious allegations of corruption and abuses of power against Deputy Internal Security Minister, YB Johari Baharom (Kubang Pasu), Inspector-General of Police and other top police officers on the Internet by both named and anonymous websites, and the failure to take satisfactory action to protect government credibility, integrity and authority.

Some 14 weeks ago Malaysians were shocked by news reports of RM5.5 million “Freedom for Sale” allegations accusing the Deputy Internal Security Minister of releasing three men held under the Emergency Ordinance which appeared on anonymous websites with the heading: “Datuk Johari — The Most Powerful But Corrupted Deputy Minister”.

Immediately, the IGP called for an “open and fair” investigation into the allegations, declaring that the allegations cannot be dismissed as baseless, until the investigation was completed.

However, although the Anti-Corruption Agency had completed its investigations into the RM5.5 million “Freedom for Sale” allegations “shortly after” the deputy minister was questioned by ACA officials on March 19 and the investigation papers were in the hands of the Attorney-General’s Chambers, and the Deputy Minister himself had repeatedly called for the outcome of the investigations to be made public, the country is still kept in the dark about the outcome of the ACA investigations.

On June 3 and 9, 2007 the Malaysia-Today news portal carried two articles by Raja Petra Kamaruddin in his series “The Corridor of Power” on organized crime and the Police, alleging corruption and abuses of power implicating the IGP and top police officers, including a RM2 million corruption allegation against the IGP.

What actions have been taken to investigate the serious allegations against IGP and top police officers in the Malaysia-Today articles?

Is the Police now more human rights-sensitive? The refusal of the Police to accept the Suhakam inquiry findings that excessive force had been used by the police against protestors at the KLCC demonstration on petrol and power price hikes in May last year and to take disciplinary action against the errant police personnel provides a negative answer.

The refusal of the Police to accept the invitation to take part in this second-year review of the Royal Police Commission’s recommendations today is another sign that the Police has still a great distance to go to become human rights-sensitive.

The lack of political will is the cause for the lacklustre response and poor implementation of the Royal Police Commission’s recommendations, particularly its key recommendation for the establishment of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

How can there be political will when there is no proper political authority and responsibility for an efficient, competent, incorruptible, professional world-class police service?

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is also Internal Security Minister, but he is an absentee Minister. The person who is in charge of the police portfolio is the Deputy Internal Security Minister, Datuk Johari Baharom who is waging a cold-war with the police — so no one is really assuming political responsibility over the police.

The result is setbacks on all three objectives of the Royal Police Commission — to reduce crime, eradicate corruption and create a human rights-sensitive police.

(Speech at the “Second Year Review of the Implementation of the Royal Police Commission’s Recommendations” organized by Amnesty International Malaysia and SUARAM at Shah’s Village Hotel, Petaling Jaya on Friday, 15th June 2007 at 11 am)

1. #1 by Godfather on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 3:50 pm

The SJER isn’t going to succeed. We can’t even protect our citizens and we are asking foreigners to come to JB to help us develop the SJER ? The only foreigners who would come are those who row across the Straits of Malacca and these can only add to the crime rate.

Lee Kuan Yew’s description of JB as a “crime-infested” and “rubbish-strewn” town across the causeway is most apt.

2. #2 by RadicalScope on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:06 pm

this sure reminds me of the robocop series, where we have the head of police serving the villains. now, who will take the role of robocop and save the day?

3. #3 by burn on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:12 pm

only thing they will do, is to tranfer those involved to another place. why keep on transfering those officers, it make no different.
    best thing to do is to sack them! but do please start from the top first! if kepala in-charge knows nothing, then there is something wrong!

4. #4 by good coolie on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:22 pm

If you complain against the police, you will get this stock answer: “All our officers act correctly and professionally except for a few purple sheep”! The fact is that the police is becoming an authority independent of, and outside, the greater authority which is the government of this country. Why can’t they accept the Royal Police Commission’s recommendations?

5. #5 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:23 pm

Just as Singapore S.M. Lee Kwan Yew said, J.B. is a cowboy town, with gun slinging and parang waving cowboys having field days in the town, ala, city of J.B.

Police under I.G.P. Tan Sri Musa could do nothing about the horrendous situation. Musa himself was the Johor C.P.O. before he ascended to the I.G.P. throne, so he knew J.B. situation at the tips of his fingers. Yet, the security situation in J.B. never improved ever since S.M. Lee K.Y. made his statement years ago!

There is plenty of truth in the statements by S.M. Lee K.Y. on the poor security situation in J.B.; just like there is plenty of truth in the “Human Traffiking Report” published by the State Department of Justice of the U.S.A. days ago, whereby Malaysian the foreign minister, Hamid, and his colleagues, including P.M. Abdullah Ahmad Badawi himself, all indulged in a state of self-denial.

P.M. Abdullah promised “new delivery system” by the civil servants and the ruling politicians, but sad that, it is nowhere to be seen or to be felt.

And that after RM8 billion in additional allocation for the payment of salary increase to all the civil servants in July 2007, attitude, work culture of civil servants (Malays) remain steadfastly in the negative. Nothing ever seems to have moved or improved in the quality and efficiency of the public services, e.g., Police, Immigration etc… and many like Income Tax refund…

May be Larkin and Tampoi Policemen in Johor Baru refused to accept or “play tai chi” (delaying tactics) any reports by the 2 victims of serious & violent crime, rape, robbery, assaults, due to the fact that, the victims are non Malays, and of other minority race!

We are quite sure if the victims were Malays or Indonesiasns, the Policemen will act instantaneously with gusto too. Cases and evidence to this effect can be seen and read in the press almost daily.

P.M. Abdullah really has to show to the nation that things had improved in the country. What is the use of him dreaming about how the country will be in 2025, when the bread butter issues today and yesterday cannot be handled and resolved by him and his administration? Then let the citizen of the country decide in the coming general election.

He always preached the use “carrots” and not “sticks”. His charges and cronies had finished eating all the carrots that there is, and lying in slumber, imagining about the country would be in 2025!

All will be doomed, if he continues as such, and some will be more doomed than others when the crutches snap. PM Abdullah will to get titanium crutches that are guaranteed for life to his fellow Malays in the civil service and in the ruling government and its administration.

6. #6 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:25 pm

Doesn’t the salary increase of RM8 billion to all civil servants help to shift their paradigm?

7. #7 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:28 pm

We understand the victims of the crime were non Malays. Has that prompted the policemen in Larkin and Tampoi refusing to accept report to be made?

8. #8 by Libra2 on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 4:40 pm

If RPK’s stories on organized crime and police is true, and I believe they are, then I would say PDRM has its reached the nadir in credibility, honesty, efficiency, patriotism and reliability. It is beyond redemption and the rot is complete.
    The present government, which is beholden to the police and in fact ‘fears it’ is not in any position to bring about any change. Now the Police rules the government. The die is cast.

9. #9 by Toyol on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 5:16 pm

The basic problem with all civil servants are the same. If there is nothing in it for them, to hell with the public. It is no wonder with this mentality that we are where we are. We will be the same 50 years from now. I can already imagine it!

10. #10 by pwcheng on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 5:22 pm

# shortie kiasu Says:
    June 15th, 2007 at 16: 25.58

Doesn’t the salary increase of RM8 billion to all civil servants help to shift their paradigm?

For your info, the salary increase is to make sure they get more votes from the civil service which had more than 1.2 million voters and of which more than 95% are Malays. You can be sure at the end of the day , everything will be as usual in the civil service, cannot be better but can only become worse.

In so far as the police is concerned, we can only see the best of them in the 50s and 60s where most of the commandants are British. Never will we see anything similar, let alone better, so long as bodohland is in charge, whether it is Pak Lah, Najib or any UMNO nincompoop.

11. #11 by Cinapek on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 5:38 pm

It was only recently the CPO Johor boasted that two new police stations will be built in JB to bolster the crime prevention efforts of the PDRM. If the standard practice of the PDRM is to shunt police reports from station to station, perhaps more stations will allow the PDRM to shunt the victims even more? And hopefully this will help the files and reports to be lost in th process? And to help delay the response of police to respond to the crime so that they are safe from the parang wielding robbers?

Johor residents are now prisoners in their own homes. As evidenced by the latest few cases of rob and rape, even accompanied by their menfolks are not safe enough anymore. In fact the rapist delights in attacking victims who are accompanied by their menfolks, slashing them first before abducting the woman and raping them. Their arrogance and brazen acts are clear indications of their mockery of the ineffectiveness of the PDRM. They know they can act with impunity and the PDRM either would not or could not catch them.

The man ultimately responsible for the country’s security, the man with the high sounding title of Internal Security Minister is off “makan angin” again leaving behind an ineffectual assistant whom the PDRM has no respect for to resolve the worsening security situation. AAB will claim he is on the phone to his assistant all the time, just like he claimed he was calling Najib from Australia when Johor had its worst floods in 100 years.

The country will descend into anarchy soon. What can the average citizen do since they cannot expect to be protected by the police? You have to start protecting yourself and give an eye for an eye. If the police would not or could not rid the streets of the criminal elements, sooner ot later the people will have to do it themselves.

12. #12 by Cinnamon on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:15 pm

I just could not believe police officers refuse to accept reports. In every police stations there is a sort of poster which states clearly that no police station has the right to refuse to take reports, irrespective of where the incident happened.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:17 pm

“The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is also Internal Security Minister, but he is an absentee Minister.”

Now that he has a new toy to play with, we should not expect him, a honeymooning Prime Minister, to be present any time soon. Let the guy catch up with lost time. We do not want to have a sleeping-on-the-job PM looking tired, do we??

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:25 pm

“Sack the police officers in Larkin and Tampoi police stations who refused to take police reports …”

This is unheard of in any country that calls itself developed. But then of course, Malaysia is not one of those!

The police officer is first a police officer. It does not matter if he is from Larkin or Tampoi police station. Have any police officer, the OCPD included, charged with dereliction of duty for not taking any report. Any issue concerning which station has jurisdiction over the matter is best sorted by the police themselves.

There is a failure of leadership which goes right up to Cabinet level – the Prime Minister included.

The IGP has to answer to this. Management by crisis is just not good.

15. #15 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:29 pm

It was reported in the Chinese paper today that some hot shot police officer says that the police in JB is working really hard…. have confidence and do not doubt their ability to solve crime.

in the very same paper today, it also says that the mastermind of this serial rapist group was caught and subsequently release in 2004 for lack of evidence.

If the police had really done thier job then and there in 2004, gang would not have seen the light of day, and the biggest joke is that despite of their inept investigation in 2004, they will be getting a big fat “deserving” raise.

16. #16 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:33 pm

Thank you uncle Kit for raising this issue for us in the parliament.

17. #17 by pongsakling on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:48 pm

For normal citizen like us, to make a police report is just a procedure, for them to make a statistic, nothing more but for VIP or those Datuk from BN, who make police report, I believe the whole batch of policemen in that police station will involve and come out to catch the criminals. Double standard, just like NEP!
    I think the police will accept only 30% report from non bumi only!
    Maybe the quota already been fill when the victims want to make a report!
    Happy honeymoon Mr Prime Minister and may GOD bless your rakyat so when you return from your honeymoon and be a happy Prime Minister hopefully you can do something for the safety of your poor rakyat.

18. #18 by PureMalaysian on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 7:13 pm

Similarly, when there are rape case coming to hospital, there are also police officers who are too lazy to take up the case — they will call up the doctor in charged to “discuss” the possiblity that the doctor “drop” the case, by claiming that there is no sign of rape.

I am sure this is even more shocking if made public!

19. #19 by RadicalScope on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 8:20 pm

asking the IGP to do something? hoho, he’ll do something, alright. read these:

Part 1 – http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/corridors.php?itemid=5150

Part 2 – http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/corridors.php?itemid=5224

once you’ve read both (yes, BOTH. no shortcuts), you tell me: what do you think the IGP will do. my email is [email protected]. hate mails are welcomed, but will never be entertained.

20. #20 by justiciary on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 9:04 pm

Maybe this time people like LKY were to pass a comment about the horrendous security situation in JB,I am sure those UMO fellows who reacted impulsively to his previous remarks will remain dumb like a mouse.

21. #21 by k1980 on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 9:34 pm

Off-topic, but very urgent considering its implications

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Friday/National/20070615074809/Article/index_html

A task force will be formed to study the need to regulate Internet sites with pornographic and seditious content….”These include blogs which post inflammatory content against other races or religions and not just blogs on politics or those which criticise the government,..”

22. #22 by Ron on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 9:48 pm

The abduction-gang rape of a 19-year-old girl and her 22-year-old boyfriend in Johor Bahru on Monday was not the only case.

Here is another case:
    http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,133182,00.html?

23. #23 by zzzzzzzzzzz on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 9:54 pm

PDRM wants the cases to be genuine cases or else they will be closed. The pay hike would not make much difference because the government servants have been starved of enjoyments in life so now with the pay hike, they are going to spend on these enjoyments before it is too late. Well if the local municipal council is not going to do anything because there is no evidence and the PDRM is so, so about it, then we have to be busybody snoopers. g ! We should be given some incentives.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 10:00 pm

In my life I have come across corrupt senior police officers, corrupt generals and of course corrupt politicians. How do I know? There is something we call ‘straight from the horses’ mouth’.

25. #25 by dawsheng on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 10:44 pm

“There is now a move for a 100,000-signature campaign to restore to the people of Johor Baru their fundamental right to be free from crime and the fear of crime, whether in the streets, public places or the privacy of their homes.”

This is a strange development in our country. The issue of crime is currently the hottest topic in Johor Bahru, same as tomorrow event at 2pm, and it keeps me guessing how the event will turnout. Will it develop into a street demonstration and lead to uncontrolable situations? It will be highly emotional, many people are upset and disappointed after being so patience with the police force and yet many Johoreans fall as victims of crimes, these were heinous crimes, people got robbed, murdered and raped, even your house is not safe and the frequency is worrying. A father woke up in the morning found his daughter murdered, later the autopsy revealed she has been raped, one is not safe even in your own house.

Then there is this strange coincidence, most victims tends to be Chinese, that tells you better becareful of being one. Perhaps Chinese womens got raped because they wore skirt, and the Chinese man got robbed and beated because the are rich, but whatever the modus operandi it is about race, so is tomorrow’s event. I imagine one hundred Chinese gathered in Johor Bahru tomorrow asking the police to protect them, don’t you think we have gone awfully wrong somewhere?

26. #26 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 11:04 pm

I had talked to many people before about how safe Singapore is and they always say that Singapore is very different from Malaysia i.e. Singapore is a city state and Malaysia is a big country!! I remember Malaysia gov. like to use this to tell rakyats that that is the reason why there are so many problems in Malaysia. I have a different view altogether, is our country bigger than China? Japan? Germany? etc. It got nothing to do with the size of the country, it is very much to do with the people who should ensure safety, law and order!!! Never buy this idea again that we are a big country and so it must be out of control!!! do keep in mind that we have the highest ration of gov. servant per population in the world!!!
    I salute YBLim for you can keep your cool even after so many years talking to a bunch of dreamers!!

27. #27 by moong cha cha II on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 11:07 pm

crime rate in JB worrisome, as Singaporeans always say.

& i think Singaporeans also remember how they were treated under CLOB.

johor flooded, Singapore get blamed.

gantries put up, so that Singapore cars have to pay.

so how IDR ?

28. #28 by smeagroo on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 11:14 pm

how does a payrise wipe out corruption within the force? If they are on the take for thousands each month or even more, asking them to stop and accept the “peanuts” payrise is an insult to their intelligence.
    Why shld any one of them settle for anything less when the top is looking after them and they looking after the top.

29. #29 by dawsheng on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 12:31 am

“In the past three years, violent crime in the country had doubled instead of being reduced.”

How can this be when we are a model Islamic country? Haven’t we becoming more Islamic than ever before? Is this what you call an Islamic country? Violent crimes are everywhere.

30. #30 by dawsheng on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 12:37 am

“How can there be political will when there is no proper political authority and responsibility for an efficient, competent, incorruptible, professional world-class police service?”

I believe there’s a limit to everything, including patience. The day we are convinced that the police force no longer protect us, it is time we took the law in our own hands and that day is near. If the police does not protect us we will have to protect ourselves.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 1:02 am

“The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is also Internal Security Minister, but he is an absentee Minister. The person who is in charge of the police portfolio is the Deputy Internal Security Minister, Datuk Johari Baharom who is waging a cold-war with the police – so no one is really assuming political responsibility over the police.”

Perhaps now the underworld had assumed responsiblity over the police force, the prime minister and his deputy minister. That explained why everything is out of control. We are in a crisis.

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 2:04 am

“Then there is this strange coincidence, most victims tends to be Chinese, that tells you better becareful of being one. Perhaps Chinese womens got raped because they wore skirt, and the Chinese man got robbed and beated because the are rich, but whatever the modus operandi it is about race, so is tomorrow’s event. I imagine one hundred Chinese gathered in Johor Bahru tomorrow asking the police to protect them, don’t you think we have gone awfully wrong somewhere?” dawsheng

I wouldn’t go that far. There are racist elements both sides who want you to feel that way for self-serving reasons.

It is poor enforcement of law and order going to new lows.

Talking about short skirts and Mercedes Benz. I am not sure about what the short skirt has to offer but I am sure what the Benz has to offer – at least you can drive the Benz across the border and have it cannibalized for spare parts.

To some the tudung is more of a challenge. In corporate law it is called piercing the corporate veil.

33. #33 by TheThinker on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 2:22 am

Take a moment and look at the system of both rape cases. . .they wanted money, but they proceeded to physical violation . . and in both cases forced the men to watch – this sounds disturbingly familiar as in the Indon Riots, Nanjing Rape e.t.c. . . . the objectives were to stage a public rape whereby the local inhabitants are so distraught and disgusted by the event that they leave the place and never return . . .

‘To Induce An Exodus Of The Locals’

. . . they want us out of here . . . uniformed or not, knife/keris wielding or not . . .

34. #34 by dawsheng on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 2:25 am

“I wouldn’t go that far. There are racist elements both sides who want you to feel that way for self-serving reasons.

It is poor enforcement of law and order going to new lows.” Undergrad2

I guarantee peaceful Johoreans won’t want to go that far but aren’t we forced into a situation far from being safe in our own home. The feelings on the ground smells of racism, can we help it? It cannot be allow to go on further and must be stop immediately or else the outcome of poor enforcement of law and order will be dire consequences, we are stepping into a dangerous zone.

35. #35 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 3:10 am

Abductors-rapists in Johore (a state controlled by BN mobsters).

Indian snatch thieves who smash and stab in Klang Valley (state and FT controlled by BN mobsters).

Strange, these do not happen in PAS-controlled Kelantan. The situation is so bad, maybe they should castrate rapists and amputate snatch thieves. And those who use their brains to steal from government coffers or engage in corrupt practices should have their heads decapitated. Of course, these are not civilised choices. That is why with a stupid, ineffective BN running a government like a dog-house, we are forced to make a sea change. We need to put PKR/DAP in the government and co-opt RPK to be the Internal Security Minister. This guy is like the CIA + FBI all rolled in one.

Then there is this other problem: Police who doubles as criminals, criminals who doubles as police. What’s the difference? Ask the IGP. Sometimes, you can identify a devil by looking at his face long enough, be they politicians or police. Try looking at BN politicians and some of our more famous (infamous) policemen. What’s the difference?

THere is this other saying: ‘Birds of a feather stay together.’ It simply means crooks wear the same feathers. The way politicians and police are feathering their nests, one wonders if they aren’t of the same ornithological species.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 7:02 am

“The situation is so bad, maybe they should castrate rapists and amputate snatch thieves. And those who use their brains to steal from government coffers….” HORNBILL

If you castrate rapists and amputate other bits of the human anatomy, you’ll find a lot of angry and unsatisfied wives walking the streets. We don’t want that!

37. #37 by izrafeil on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 9:23 am

GAJI DAH NAIK, APALAGI YG DIA ORANG NAK?!

38. #38 by jackpot on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 10:15 am

The incidents in JB is horrific. SM Lee was not wrong when he commented about the state.

Remove racial discrimination and we have a safer place to live. At least lessen the worry

Gaji naik only next mth, that’s why now action lambat sikit !!!!

39. #39 by silhouette on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 10:22 am

YB Mr Lim Kit Siang,

Can you do a list of parliamentary sittings showing when the members were present and absent from parliamentary sittings. It seems that they are keeping themselves away from sittings under the flimsiest of reasons. Let the country know how ofhen these donkeys attend parliament. It seems the only the same vocal persons are attending parliamentary sittings as shown on TV.

40. #40 by Libra2 on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 10:53 am

Johor is a BN stronghold with the Chinese being the strongest supporter of the coalition. This could be taken as an endorsement of the way the state is being run.
    It could be taken as support of the police force.
    So what good is 100,000 signatures. Why not convert them into protest/opposition votes in the coming general elections.

41. #41 by dawsheng on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 11:25 am

“So what good is 100,000 signatures. Why not convert them into protest/opposition votes in the coming general elections.” Libra2

That’s right Libra2, that is the proper way. Uncle Kit, Johoreans would love to see a stronger opposition presence in JB, at least give them a choice this coming GE.

42. #42 by justiciary on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 11:42 am

Many of us are wondering why most of the heinous crimes are commited by a particular race.Despite their religious teaching since young,attending mass prayer every week on top of five per day,exposure to frequent n regular religious programmes over the electronic media,being part of the most institutionalised religion,yet these people can inflict such immense injury upon others.Besides obtaining illegal financial gain (cash,car,mobile phones etc)through robbing,they also slashed the victims with parangs and gang raped the woman victims.(in the most recent JB case,the woman victim was also forced to do oral sex after being gang raped).These sad happenings can even happen during peaceful time.What about if there is a war?

43. #43 by i_love_malaysia on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 1:39 pm

Read my lips – It got nothing to do with race, it is the wrong belief system!!!

44. #44 by i_love_malaysia on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 1:45 pm

Dont you think the Chinese triads who run prostitution rings, gambling, ah long, pirated DVDs, estacy pills etc are not directly and indirectly contributing to all these ills in the society?? E.g. after watching obscene DVD (mostly supplied by Chinese runners) , some of these people who cant control themselves will look for way out and what will be the end results???

45. #45 by i_love_malaysia on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 1:53 pm

For your information. All the big shorts, YAB, YB etc already having personal body guards and they also carry fire arms to protect themselves. It is the ordinary people like you and me who will suffer when there is any robber or gangster stopping us!!!
    Who can we call?? I think it is good to apply for firearms if you are eligible, else better pray hard that nothing will happen to you and me as we cant expect much from the gov. until there is a big case!! may be the minister is robbed or some big shot is shot then immediate actions will be taken!!!

46. #46 by Polis Serpihan on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 2:12 pm

If the government makes a proper open inquiry on this matter, and all the officers involved to give statement under oath, I believe the truth will surface. There are a few officers who are willing to give statements but not on the close door investigation. Becoz it will end up with no further action…

47. #47 by Jong on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 4:54 pm

“Johor is a BN stronghold with the Chinese being the strongest supporter of the coalition. This could be taken as an endorsement of the way the state is being run.” – Libra2

Johoreans, you deserve what you sow. I am sorry I have to say that. You are so blinded to the BN hypocrisy. Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew was right afterall. It’s a known fact that Johor is the most unsafe and rotten state in the country. Everyone knows that.

Johoreans, do you want to continue living in fear? If not do something about it. Problems like these did not only happen yesterday, has been for decades, yet you guys kept voting in BN to office, why? Something is terribly wrong here. Do you know Dawsheng?

48. #48 by Jonny on Saturday, 16 June 2007 - 10:15 pm

Not even safe in my own backyard. And even on the road!

49. #49 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 3:36 am

RPK allegations of top police corruption :

If the police prostitute themselves, then what is the difference between prostitutes and the police?

YB, this indeed requires urgent parliamnetary debate.

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 6:21 am

The triad has got the police chiefs by their balls for years.

“If the police prostitute themselves, then what is the difference between prostitutes and the police?” HORNBILL

51. #51 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 6:26 am

Naaah …! That would be too lenient.

52. #52 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 6:42 am

The real crime really is all those men and women in the Police force and would like to be in the police force that DO NOT WANT to be corrupted. Ther resignation to irresponsibility and corruption is the real crime against bangsa, Islam and negara.

Why fight over Lina Joy went real blasphemy is already taking place everyday?

53. #53 by khoyamliang on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 6:54 am

In Malaysia, indeed it takes a gigantic amount of political will to see any reforms through as far as citizens’ safety is concerned. Even the former Prime Minister Dr Mahathir said in Singapore in 2004, ” ….if you feel like killing, come to Malaysia.” (Report of Singapore’s Today newspaper in 2004)

Besides the Royal Police Commission’s recommendations, let’s consider some of the other points:
    (1) Increase the present police force by 50%, and the breakdown of police personnel include 60% Malay, 40% others- Chinese, Indian, Eurasians, Iban/Dayak, Kadazan/Dusun. Every member of the police force, including the rank and file, is required to handle both Bahasa Malaysia and English; after all, in Malaysia you are dealing with a lot of foreigners as well.
    (2) Do a thorough assessment and test to wipe out those bad apples and those lazy cops. Put them in a security company, set up by Khazanah Nasional Berhad, to do some security work, rather than ” play play with citizens’ safety”. In a way, they still can contribute to country.
    (3) Subject every police post, team, district, department, Bukit Aman, etc. to monthly or quarterly audits, conducted by a commission answerable to the Parliament. On a yearly basis, engage an international body( it can come from the Commonwealth countries) to independently assess the performance of the police force and publish a report.

For those very unfortunate victims of the recent heinous crimes in Johor which had racist overtones, I have these for you: have the courage to live on and have peace of mind in your life, the country and community is always with you. And for those thugs who sowed hatred and violence, you will meet with a tragic end!!!

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 6:59 am

Leave Lina Joy alone. She has nothing to do with corruption – not even corruption of the soul.

55. #55 by taikohtai on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 6:30 pm

Lets face it: Malaysians cannot be trusted to police themselves. The cancerous corruption has reached new heights and since it started from the very top, Malaysia has little hope of self-cleansing.
    So bitter medicine must be applied. Malaysia needs an outsider to do the job. This outsider can come from any Commonwealth country but must be a Muslim to be line line with the country’s status.
    Malaysia boleh? Answer: TIDAK!!

56. #56 by RGRaj on Sunday, 17 June 2007 - 8:07 pm

shortie kiasu said:

**We understand the victims of the crime were non Malays. Has that prompted the policemen in Larkin and Tampoi refusing to accept report to be made?**

I read today in the Star that the rapists were Malays. So the answer to your question is most probably a “yes”.

57. #57 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 18 June 2007 - 7:01 am

It could explain why but it need not necessarily be the reason why. You know the difference. So Raj stop your trolling.

58. #58 by sotong on Monday, 18 June 2007 - 10:44 am

This has nothing to do with race.

The social and family values are breaking down……there is strong emphasis on material welbeing by hook or by crook with bad leader/s showing bad example for our young ones.

Our country is very stressed, confused and lost…..there is no quick fix.

59. #59 by RGRaj on Monday, 18 June 2007 - 6:55 pm

**Godamn Singh said:

It could explain why but it need not necessarily be the reason why. You know the difference. So Raj stop your trolling.**

——————————————————–

Come on Singh, it’s not as if you’re not at all aware of the prevailing mentality of the Malaysian police force.

Sheesh…

60. #60 by kenobi on Tuesday, 19 June 2007 - 1:46 am

AM WILLING TO VOLUNTEER MY SERVICES AS A POLICE CHIEF IN JOHOR BAHRU. SALARY NOT REQUIRED. WILL PERFORM SIMPLE TASKS SUCH AS REDUCING THE CRIME RATE BY IMPROVING POLICE EFFICIENCY.