Shame and dishonour the culmination of 22 yrs as Works Minister – will Samy resign?

MIC President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu confessed yesterday that he is too ashamed to meet people, attend meetings or go overseas as he would be asked about the deplorable state of construction highlighted by the series of government building or public construction mishaps and defects, like collapsing ceilings, cracked walls and internal flooding from burst water or sewerage pipes.

Samy Vellu does not seem to realize that he is not the only victim of the recent spate of construction mishaps and defects as they have also brought shame, infamy and dishonour to the government, 26 million Malaysians and the nation with Malaysia becoming the laughing stock in the world as a country which boasts of having the world’s tallest twin towers but yet incapable of building or maintaining safe structures like ceilings, walls, water and sewerage piping.

It is sad and pathetic that the culmination of Samy Vellu’s 22 years as Works Minister (his first stint from 1979 to 1989 and second stint from 1995 till now with six years as Minister for Energy, Telecommunications and Posts from 1989 to 1995, totaling close to 28 years as Cabinet Minister) is so shameful and dishonourable, not only for him but also for the government, people and nation.

Shouldn’t Samy Vellu step down from the Cabinet to set an example of culture of responsibility for such a dishonourable culmination of his 22 years as Works Minister — failing which, shouldn’t the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi dismiss Samy Vellu as Works Minister to allow Malaysia to turn over a new page?

Would there be any Minister who would dare to voice out at the Cabinet meeting tomorrow that Samy Vellu should resign to salvage the honour of the Cabinet, government, people and nation?

How many Barisan Nasional MPs would dare to openly support the call for the resignation of Samy Vellu when Parliament reconvenes next Monday?

1. #1 by ContractorclassA on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:32 pm

Needless to say loh,,,,,,,please step down Ah Samy-san. Go play golf lah,,,,

2. #2 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:34 pm

YB, most of the projects were not handled by JKR, so why blame Semi Value? These projects were awarded to cronies of the previous government, with many layers of middlemen getting rich, while poor quality was delivered. But it’s not Semi Value’s fault.

But there is no denying the fact about the deplorable state of our infrastructure. We claim to be the champions of MSC yet we have narrowband access. What a joke! When countries are delivering 4Mb/s to home users, we are struggling with poor line coverage, and 0.4Mb/s.

We have highways that are jammed. Not only NS highway, but Pasir Gudang Highway too! Street lights that fail in storms. Power failures during storms. Floods, poor domestic flight schedules etc.

Spread of H5N1 indicating third world mentality.

Poor medical and dental coverage for the masses.

Now aren’t these signs of a crumbling economy? And when the powers that be are immune to it, we are all doomed. Nothing is being done to address the many infrastructure defects in the country.

Investors will just go elsewhere. They are spolit for choice.

But dont blame Semi Value for all this.

3. #3 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:37 pm

resign? shouldn’t he takes the cue from japanese ministers who FAILED to carry out their duties and pay the price withe their LIVES? or Pak Lah could demote him to be a mere tukang sapu sampah at the place of his choice. no, that’s too lenient. we’re talking about 28 years of FAILURE here. apologies are not enough.

4. #4 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:38 pm

Malaysia should had incorporated the Japanese work ethic of harakiri in its Look East Policy — corrupt/incompetent/worthless ministers and their lackeys should be encoraged to slit their bowels or at least jump down from their highrise offices to take responsibility for their failures.

5. #5 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:43 pm

lakshy, we know that the projects were not done by the jkr (joker?). but who gave the “go ahead” at whoever doing it other than our “beloved” samy blue?!

6. #6 by Kingkong on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:51 pm

If we were to follow genuinely the “Look East “policy; the feeling of shame, Semi-value should jump down from the Twin Towers by now. At least, the Japanese Agricultural Minister did something to honor himself to repay the wrong deed he did to the Japanese people.

Our VIP parasitic politicians only learn the “ kick back “ bad habit of the East but never learn to upkeep the good virtue of honor to the people. It is indeed a half past six learning.

7. #7 by qkp on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 2:57 pm

Samy should just resign…..We hear enough of his “semi-value” excuses.

8. #8 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 3:44 pm

Sudah 22 tahun da, tiap tiap tahun pun ada cerita, muka pun dah setebal tembok cina, pun tahu malu ke? Hang rasa, malu pun tahu nak ejalah!

9. #9 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:16 pm

“YB, most of the projects were not handled by JKR,” – lakshy

Ultimately, who pays for these screwed up projects? if Malaysians pays for it, then we have all the right to question the respective minister, and they owe us a decent answer not just some crroked 1/2 pass six answer from incompetant minister.

most projects were awarded to the previous government, it is said in the paper, a responsible person would have pointed out and stood his ground then and there, and he would have ask his new boss to initiate investigations to his old boss, did he? of course he did not [deleted]

Ok, so if these works are not done by “Jangan Kerja Rajin”, then in theory, they are not responsible for it right? so is it really God’s fault? for the recent flooding in KL or the bocor incidents?

if it’s God’s act, then do we need a works minister? or shouldn’t we be needing mopre minister of God? so, what is the works ministry really responsible for?

if responsible for nothing for so long, even like the toll concessions, the deplorable conditions and the non-existance maintenance of the public infrastructures, shouldn’t he just step down? [deleted]

10. #10 by mendela on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:38 pm

Samy boy is just [deleted] for the UMO and its many cronies.

Samy boy is bringing big shame to Indian community.

Samy boy must go!

Samy boy needs another transplant, this time not for his hair, but for his pea-size brain!

11. #11 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:42 pm

Ayoyo aneh semi value your face is thicker than the elephant skin. You feel malukah? Need RM 23 million just to check the leaking putrajaya? [deleted]

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 4:59 pm

This shows that although Samy Vellu’s reputation is dead,

SAMY VELLU’s conscience is not yet dead.

Still got hope. Now, Samy, your conscience is telling you to RESIGN – that’s the least you can do to preserve your sanity and self-respect and the greatest thing you can do for the nation, the Indian race and your religion TODAY!

A man’s self-worth does not consist of the cars, credit cards or cash he has. The best measure of his worth must be the independent voice of the people. AND the people have spoken.
    GO, SAMY, GO…RESIGN TODAY. IT takes courage and moral fibre to do this, boy!

13. #13 by manutd79 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 5:04 pm

I believe that to certain extent Samy’s hands are tied due to the non-competitive awards of projects to cronies which are not capable. This is probably why Samy is always trying to blame others.

14. #14 by grace on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 5:13 pm

Samy Vellooooo,
    GET LOST, WILL YOU?
    YOU HAVE OUTSTAYED THE WELCOME!!!
    You think you are doing an excellent job? Ha!Ha!Ha!
    You make my toes laught.
    You have been told off by Pak Lah quite of number of times and yet you tak malu. Tambah lagi mau jack Pak Lag by plagarising a peom dedicated to Pak Lah’s marriage. You still think people are fools and do not know where the sources are!!!

15. #15 by ContractorclassA on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 5:13 pm

semi value says: Utter rubbish,,,
    we taxpayers say: Yes, tonnes of rubbish

16. #16 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 5:39 pm

guys, how about a petition for sammy blue to be sacked? if we collect at least 13 million signatures, that’s already half the population.

17. #17 by gianthunk on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 5:42 pm

Mr. Samy will only resign when the day he need a Tongkat to walk about.

He may be part of the system but this guy do not regconise the word accountability. He act as a Taiko no matter what you say.

When a guy being too long in power. He will become arrogant, LCLY and thought all Malaysian owed him a living.

And his skin is gettin thicker. What MALU is he talking about?

18. #18 by raven77 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 5:52 pm

Kicking outthis guy is not going to make a difference. A convenient scapegoat he is but must surely take part of the blame for dancing with the devil. The crooks are in the EPU and MOF and contractors/cronies all appointed from there. Malaysia’s obvious descent to piratisation starts there. You need to get rid o the DG of EPU and Minister of Finance……only then things will change…..knocking off chaps downstream will be a waste of time….

19. #19 by justice_fighter on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 6:08 pm

aiya, don’t expect any kind of strern action to be taken by the sleepy Pak Lah. He is the most useless PM in the world. Never again be conned by all his empty promises, never again trust any words said by him. You will only get disappointment at the end. The only solution is to change the whole government by voting BN out. Let people know that the country badly needs a stonger opposition party to be the check and balance. If we have a strong opposition party, the BN govetnment won’t be so arrogant, ignorant and irresponsible!!

20. #20 by ContractorclassA on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 6:32 pm

,,,,100% in agreement with you, brother justice_fighter,,i have 2 votes ready for kit-san,

21. #21 by proz on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 6:57 pm

Not so soon, can’t wait to see what is next?
    And how matters are being handle.

22. #22 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:02 pm

sorry folks…you are asking someone who doesnt even knw wat shame is and a face as thick and maybe thicker than an elephant…u guys dream on.look at the way he twist and turn issues.we knw wat he is capable of.the day he step down will be the day whn hes made off enuff for his entire generations.as long as i am concerned…hes one of the finest example of the most arrogant and brainless minister in malaysia.

23. #23 by hermes on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:12 pm

What is wrong with all the defects? Malaysia deserves what it gets.

It is the malaysian culture. Accept mediocrity. Do not ask for first class quality in anything. Why? because it will rock the boat. Also, if you try to question the malaysian culture of doing things you will be acused of trying to show off or to put your peers in a bad light. So? just keep quiet and do things the malaysia way. Life is too short to get into a hassle and you will nto get future jobs. Accept things and do not rock the boat. It will not benefit you. On the other hand it may land you in trouble. Because there is no acceptance of quality and no protection for whistle blowers.

I had a friend who was trained overseas and came back to work. Being used to doing quality work he tried to do the same for whatever jobs passed to him He was accused of doing too good a job. He was accused of being “too professional”! Needless to say he has now left malaysia with his skills to the benefit of Singapore.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:18 pm

“MIC President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu confessed yesterday that he is too ashamed to meet people, attend meetings or go overseas as he would be asked about the deplorable state of construction…”

Hey, you can always resign! Nobody is forcing you to stay.

25. #25 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 7:28 pm

‘Shame’ and ‘Honor’ are not in the vocabulary of Samy. Also ‘Honesty’. He had even proudly claimed that he took time off to write a poem to dedicate it to his beloved boss in conjunction with his boss’s remarriage. A poem that he stole from two other poems. When discovered by others that he plagiarised, he did not even bother to do the right thing (i.e., to apologise and admit or to terminate his own life). Instead, he got his kaki/ma chai to take the blame! What kind of minister/MP do we have? A disgrace to all Malaysians!

26. #26 by nkeng on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:07 pm

Samy must go harakiri
    and become a biri biri
    otherwise go India
    and become a normal indian boy

27. #27 by Utopia on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:36 pm

Samy is time for you to leave,
    So that Malaysia can turn over a new leaf.
    You can opt to become a Sami,
    Or you could spend your time cooking kari.

Malaysians might forget but not fogive,
    Even if you send them many gifts.
    Why keep complaining that you have no face?
    Cause you sold them away in the first place!

28. #28 by UFOne on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 8:53 pm

Remember, you people want Datin Rafidah to step down and remember she said she will only do so when the PM tells her to do so. Dato’ Samy is also in this sort of position. In the eyes of the boss, they do no wrong. So they stay on still appearing before the public eyes, still having the verbal authority endorsed by all the powerful and reigning, still finding favour in the eyes of his bosses and you all can continue to voice your frustrations and he or she is still around. The boss still thinks that he is an asset. Should Dato’ Samy leaves, the boss will need to find someone capable enough. As long as there is no one capable, of course, the boss would not release him. 22 years and for any normal working person, that is a hell lot of experience.

29. #29 by hasilox on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 9:11 pm

Semi to resign? I think he prefers to die in his seat.
    To hell with all the problems. He has to die in his seat, nothing more nothing less!

30. #30 by Utopia on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 9:33 pm

EXTENDED VERSION:

Yo, yo… Everyone listen up!

Everyone come listen to my Samy song,
    Please learn it cause it won’t take too long.
    Sing it to your friends and family,
    Let them know BN’s and Samy’s tryanny!

Samy is time for you to leave,
    So that Malaysia can turn over a new leaf.
    You can opt to become a Sami,
    Or you could spend your time cooking kari.

All Samy thinks about is just money!
    He’ll start new projects if noone gives him any.
    Samy runs when things go wrong.
    But he forget that he is just wearing a thong.

He confessed to make publicity,
    Hopefully people will have some sympathy.
    BN will make this as an excuse to forgive,
    Everything has been planned and now conceived!

Trust me Samy will not leave,
    He’ll give many excuses that we’ll not preceive.
    He might ask why Rafidah is still here,
    Many people say because she shed her tears.

Samy will get many credits even if he resigns,
    For all the money disappeared in the contracts he signed.
    People in BN knows no shame,
    They’ll put Samy into the Hall of Fame.

Malaysians might forget but not forgive,
    Even if you send them many gifts.
    Why keep complaining that you have no face?
    Cause you sold them away in the first place!

PS from MC Utopia:
    Thanks for listening to my rap,
    I can go on forever with BN and their crap.
    For now, that’s all I want to say,
    There’s more to come in the future days!

31. #31 by RadicalScope on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:32 pm

utopia: if sammy literally becomes a sami, the hindu teaching will definitely be altered. he will plagiarize other holy books, and then twist and turn hinduism to the extend that all the hindu followers will believe that there is a toll just before you cross to the other side.

32. #32 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 10:48 pm

Way to go Utopia!

But I doubt Semi Value will go!

33. #33 by gunlock on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 11:09 pm

semivalue will only step down when he got his ‘Tun’ so that he got the immunity to shield him from ppl digging up all his wrong doings in the past and present and in coming future. too many bugs in the carpet

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 11:45 pm

Whaaaat!! A “tunship” gives you immunity from criminal prosecution??

35. #35 by toyolbuster on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:04 am

Ayoyo Samy,

What u gonna do when the rain comes down
    Hard on your head and off goes your crown
    Whenever the roof comes crashing
    You keep getting the lashing
    But do you know the meaning of shame
    Hell NO cos you are too thick skinned to take the blame

Samy O Samy, you just make me sick in my tummy
    Are you really that thick or just being slimey
    What should we do to you O shameless Samy
    Cos 22 or 28 years is way too many

36. #36 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:19 am

This is clearly a warning from the Almighty. Whatever evil deeds Samy Malu had done in collaboration with the devils from UMNO, he can hide it from the people but he cannot hide it from the almighty.
    Dear Samy Malu, you are already fatten up during your 22 years or so working with the devils. Your conscience must be pricking you now for you to admit of shame which is something very rare from you, but it is not too late to leave the palace of the evils. If you don’t repent the gate of hell will open wide waiting for you.

37. #37 by padzac on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:19 am

That petition idea is a good one. Don’t just talk… start one today. Whether it happens or not.. at least “they” would know how the rakyat really feel.

38. #38 by padzac on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:21 am

This is the website for petition online. http://www.petitiononline.com/

One of you who are good with words perhaps can go compose a petition.

39. #39 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:45 am

As Work Minister, I suggest Samy Vellu should campaign that all JKR personnels should be Indians, cheaper and better as well as easy for Samy to communicate with them.

40. #40 by mendela on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 1:13 am

Samy, if you choose to stay, pls stop serving the UMO and its many cronies. Learn to stay “no” to them!

Pls do something good for your many poor Indian comrades!

41. #41 by mendela on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 1:14 am

should be “say”, not stay.

42. #42 by shawnshawn on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 2:40 am

Semi Value,
    Hey it’s ok if your building ‘bocor’ or highway ‘senget’ meaning got more money to come for your croonies… anyway it’s stand out for the name Pay contract in Full get the Semi Value finish product!!

43. #43 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 3:22 am

My God save Samy-No-Value!

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 3:26 am

“It seems that someone had doctored photographs showing several Perak DAP leaders as if they were engaged in sexual acts.” Malaysia Today

What’s all this about guys??

45. #45 by Unladen Swallow on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 7:26 am

Looking for stuff to jack off to?

And on Samy, everyone knows the sonovabitch’s immortal. He’ll be party commander for life, I tells ya.

46. #46 by good coolie on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 8:40 am

Semi-value, support coming for you from an unexpected quarter! Why should you resign? Do the UMNO ministers resign when things go wrong in their ministries? Do the MCA ministers do so when they goof- up? Just carry on brother. Try to find something to cover up your failure with – something like that artificial arching-bridge wig/
    artificial hair. Remember you are not alone. You are not solely responsible for the sorry state of Bolehland(read between the lines)

47. #47 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 8:51 am

A “tunship” gives you immunity from criminal prosecution??

In Malaysia, even if you are connected with or a member of UMNO and the BN you have immunity. If you are the head of the judiciary, Police, ACA you also have immunity. If you know prominent people you have immunity. If you are prominent leader you are also save.
    In short the prisons are for Opposition party members and the common folks with no connections.
    One can go to jail for accepting a RM 50.00 bribe but gets immunity for receiving RM 50 million. This is Malaysia.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 9:22 am

We’re Malaysians – not Japanese.

Even tendering an apology, much more resignation, is not part of our political culture.

They don’t even resign when integrity and credibility are controversial, let alone mere failure in discharging ministerial responsibilities. (We’ve got ministers embroiled in Australian PR, APs and other kinds of other controversies, and are today still ministers).

Public office and ministerial position is not so much of responsibility of service to public and nation but a reward to self for loyalty, subservience, suppressing one’s conscience to serve the larger agenda of one’s political boss or party….

If S. Samy Vellu were to resign, it would be a dangerous precedent for more than half the cabinet ministers to be called upon to do the same.

It must be recollected in Samy Vellu’s favour that he – at least – “confessed that he is too ashamed to meet people, attend meetings or go overseas…..”

The confession of shame is already a major concession that sets him apart and a “notch” higher than many other high public officials who don’t even confess to being ashame!

49. #49 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 10:09 am

So Prime Minister General Tojo can just “confess that he is too ashamed to meet people, attend meetings or go overseas…..” and his World War 2 crimes can be forgiven and he would not be hanged?

50. #50 by madmix on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 10:58 am

Why blame Samy? He is just a tool of his UMNO masters who cleverly make him take all the flak while the dodge the bullets hiding behind him. Of course being front man and bag man has its rewards.

51. #51 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 10:58 am

Oh, Samy Vellu, I thought you would have made yr resignation announcement by NOW!

Why are we waiting? Why are we waiting? Why are we waiting?

52. #52 by lakshy on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 11:34 am

When this guy said he is ashamed, its not because its his work. It’s because of his cabinet colleagues, and boss. You huys missed his point!

Bocor here and bocor there because of contracts given to his ex-bosses cronies. So the country looks like its run by a half past six cabinet, which in truth it is.

In the midst of all these problems, his new boss goes and gets married. Whats not to be embarrassed about?

53. #53 by shaolin on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:07 pm

Aiyoyo Sami Velooooooo,

22 years of experience as Works Minister,
    Creating such ‘Taufu projects’ in this BolehLand,
    Main Contractors and cronies excape blaims,
    Sub Contractors got all the Bad names!!
    When can our Sami speaks out again,
    To utter ‘Where’s the LOGIC’ of this Bolehland??

Please Sami Please,
    Not to disgrace Malaysia any more,
    It is NOT difficult to step down,
    I know YOU have guts and courage,
    To say FAREWELL to us all,
    Remember this, SEMUA BOLEH and You Boleh!!

54. #54 by rayden on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:24 pm

You have no shame in the past,
    You wont have any shame now..

Please lar Uncle Samy,
    Even Uwe Boll can act better than u..

“YB, most of the projects were not handled by JKR,” – lakshy

Dear lakshy,
    Just one thing in mind,
    There’s one saying, Kepala Tak Betul, Badan Pun Tak Betul

When a head of a department is not doing well, so do the subordinate. If he pay more careful attention of each running project, problems will never happen.

55. #55 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 12:32 pm

SV is just a part of the bigger problem.

Malaysians have not matured enough to get rid of racist parties and support a 2 or 3 party system of multi-racial parties.

Even the SMART tunnel project to reduce floods would not have been so easily passed with a proper study of the problems.

http://malaysiawatch2.blogspot.com/2007/06/kl-floods-nice-photo-but-wrong.html

56. #56 by Kingkong on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 1:31 pm

Sometimes, it is not because such good for nothing person won’t resign, but because he is scared of resigning. Once he is out of position, and he is no longer able to cover up his sins, and many misdeeds would be dug out, and at that time death is better than alive. His political enemy may put him in jail for a slow death.

Japanese hara-kiri may not be a bad solution. These “Look East “people could never have learned the essence of the East.

By the way, a Singapore minister also did that Hara-kiri.

57. #57 by mendela on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 3:20 pm

Well said, Kingkong.

Look at the Fat Lady, Tahi (CM of Sarawak), and many others, they all worry once they stepped down, they will get no cover up and may be put to jails.

So, it is a waiting game, drag, drag and drag till all of them die from lightning strike or tsunami!

58. #58 by rayden on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 3:28 pm

Well,
    If there’s a petition to force this moron to resign,
    im definately going to be the first one to sign in.

59. #59 by Jimm on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 4:30 pm

He will step down, once there is a TUN status waiting for him.
    It’s all about immunity now.
    He knew that he have ‘walked’ the walk in the tunnel of darkness.
    The amount of challenges he faces, the many lies that he have forgotten that he used before, his team players are not as effective as those he used to have, his influences are rattling and lesser, the ‘businesses’ to manage businesses are costly, his health are worsening … all these .. entirely chosen by himself have come to the final curtain. Losing his brother lately kills off his survival strides.
    He really need that TUN to keep his remaining days ‘peaceful’.
    Everyman have to come to face with his own truth self one day before his task ends. The balance of the journey depends on his self realization and the price he traded for.

60. #60 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 6:26 pm

It may be Samy’s dishonor but it is our shame as Malaysians to have to tolerate this kind of behavior and not be able to do anything about it.

61. #61 by firehawk on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 - 10:24 pm

Samy, we love you! Even if u have rainbow hair!

Sorry not helping the debate but this man will NEVER step down. He will need to be removed.

Maybe Uncle Kit you know this and are trying to start a reformasi for the cowards that most of the MIC members are.

62. #62 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 2:23 am

The relationship of Samy Vellu and his co-cabinets is basically that of unhealthy co-dependency and co-conspirator euphimistically called ‘sharing of power’. The co-dependency perpetuates unhealthy mediocrity and corruption much like a weak monarchy and his strong warlords. The weak monarchy cannot function properly resulting in his warlords pillaging the citizens at large.

To solve the problem either the monarchy has to go and eventually the warlords too or the warlords have to go first. Uncle Kit is suggesting the Samy the old warlord has to go to be kind to old mediocre King basically because he is still popular despite. Choosing not to do anything is to choose mediocrity. So Malaysian have to decide, what should go first?

63. #63 by RadicalScope on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 8:36 am

why not the whole kingdom? after all, this is a democratic country; chosen by people, for people. all we have to do is NOT to vote for the fools. i need co-authors for a blog on the candidates for the next GE. anyone? email me at [email protected]

64. #64 by Jong on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 10:06 am

“He really need that TUN to keep his remaining days ‘peaceful’. ” – Jimm

What he needs doesn’t mean what he deserves! We’ve already two spoilers there in the “Tun-Club”, his two former BN collegues – Mahathir and Ling Liong Sik . I suppose all retired BN Cabinet Ministers are guaranteed a place in the club? So Lim Keng Yaik is already on the queue?

65. #65 by Godfather on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 10:30 am

Long after we are gone, there will still be Semi Value by the campfire with the new UMNO stalwarts, with bags of goodies by his side, and good ol’ Semi saying “One for you, one for me….”

66. #66 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 4:28 pm

You only see such ugly scenario in Malaysia: dictatorial leader of a political party refused to budge & graciously give way to the young, energistic, visionary and capable second echelon of leaders.

Look at UMNO, you have Mahathir; MCA, you have Ling Liong Sik; Gerakan, you have Lim Keng Yaik, MIC, you have Samy Vellu, in Sarawak, you have Mahmud Taib…..

Is there a dearth of quality leadership in the whole population of the country except the handful of people who thought they are demi god?

It is utter rubbish!

67. #67 by gunlock on Thursday, 14 June 2007 - 6:15 pm

our ‘tun’ship actually stand for TheUNtouchable. wait till semivalue and tahimakmur get their untouchable status and will they step down. what’s up next? demivalue and kehmehmakmur?

68. #68 by ktteokt on Friday, 15 June 2007 - 6:19 am

what sort of minister is samy vellu? trying to evade all responsibilities for his “boo-boos” in so many government projects? first we have the “lousy highway” in ampang, then the cracked flyover in kepong. to this samy vellu says it is not his business. then come the rm90 million renovation for parliament house which left its roof leaking and then the new court complex in kl which became a “fish pond”. all these, samy vellu had renounced responsibility. if the minister of works is not responsible for all these, then who should? the minister of defence? the minister of health? or the minister of education?

awarding contracts to cronies has gone to the extreme now and things are beginning to show its side effects. what sort of standard does the ministry of works practice in awarding projects in tenders? i think the most important criteria in deciding who gets the job is whether they have connections. awards are not given based on merits and experience and the guy getting the award is never the guy executing the job. by the time the sub contractor who actually carries out the work gets the job, it would have gone through umpteen hands and left him minimum profits. so how is he going to provide high quality work?

69. #69 by shaolin on Monday, 18 June 2007 - 11:14 am

Ktteokt,

100% agree and we give you full support NOT to vote BN
    to TEACH BN a lesson!! What is your opinion, friends??