Miracle of revolution of public service delivery system in 12 days’ time on June 14?

Malaysians are very surprised by the revelation by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi yesterday that the government will be implementing a new public delivery system in 13 days. (New Straits Times).

Addressing Kuala Lumpur City Hall senior officials during a one-day tour of the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Abdullah said he wants all state leaders and ministers to ensure that the government machinery is prepared to implement the new government delivery system in 13 days.

He said he gave the instruction at the National Physical Planning Committee meeting attended by all menteris besar, chief ministers and several ministers in Putrajaya on Wednesday.

Abdullah said: “I hope the ministers will follow up on the matter. This is important as we only have 13 days to go. We want them to monitor the state of preparedness to carry out the new government delivery system.”

This is a most extraordinary and cavalier manner to launch a new and major policy initiative like a new government delivery system — with the bulk of the civil service from all levels still in the dark and the 26 million Malaysian completely ignorant about the so-called new public delivery system, while mentris besar and chief ministers and “several ministers” were given the alert only on Wednesday!

Is the government capable of performing a miracle in 12 days time by June 14 to revolutionize the public delivery system which has been getting from bad to worse in the past four years?

In the absence of more information, Abdullah’s revelation can only generate widespread national skepticism and cynicism especially as of late, the government had never been more bumbling and bungling in the 50-year history of the nation — which is not confined to an ever-lengthening list of “crack-ups” of new government buildings, whether the brand-new administrative capital of Putrajaya; the RM270 million world’s second largest court complex in Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur or the Parliament Building after RM100 million renovation.

Today’s press highlighted another two instances in the litany of government building and public construction defects and mishaps:

The statement by the Minister for Housing and Local Government, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting in Kampar yesterday that government buildings need not obtain certificate of fitness (CFs) before they are occupied (The Star) has reinforced rather than banished public concerns about the safety of public buildings and the quality of the public service delivery system.

Ong said government buildings do not require CFs from the local authorities as their designs came under the responsibility of the Public Works Department (PWD), and all government buildings built under the supervision of PWD are professionally self-certified.

With the Parliament and the world’s second largest court complex as examples, and now the Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs in Putrajaya, who would have confidence with such “self-certification” or even the PWD’s supervision?

Furthermore, why are Ministers and top government officers ignorant about whether government buildings need CFs or not. The Minister took a week to find out whether CFs are necessary for government buildings while even the former Chief Secretary, Tan Sri Samsudin Osman, never knew that government buildings do not require CFs.

This was why Samsudin in his capacity of President of Putrajaya Corporation made the statement in April that all government buildings in Putrajaya were issued with CFs in order to allay public concerns about the safety and standards of government buildings and public constructions in Putrajaya.

What is this “revolution” that the Prime Minister has in store for the country with regard to a completely new government delivery system which he is to unveil in 12 days’ time and how is he to ensure that it is not going to be another case of “all talk and no walk”?

To ensure the success of this “new public service delivery system:”, the Prime Minister would be well-advised to adopt a more consultative approach to involve the participation of all stakeholders in the country, in particular MPs, political parties, professional organizations, chambers of commerce, NGOs, the media, to seek their inputs before any final announcement of a “revolution” of government delivery system is made.

1. #1 by moong cha cha II on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 5:20 pm

wow, this would be great news.

i can now collect my land title from the Shah Alam Land Office in 13 days, instead of waiting 6 months to 1 year.

2. #2 by Unladen Swallow on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 7:14 pm

Its only natural to be critical of the Prime Minister and his office. In any case, I’m intrigued. Would this mean heads are gonna roll, especially government ones? A comeback of Pak Dol’s early days in office?

Let us wait and see.

3. #3 by ahkok1982 on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 7:25 pm

all i see is misdirection. get everyone hyped up or blur about what’s to come n forget what has happened. different trick, same intention. in the end, he is juz focusing all the sharp arrows at himself.

4. #4 by mata_kucing on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 7:43 pm

Anyone who thinks that things are going to come alive in 13 days time will be in for a deep disappointment. The rot has already set in long ago and this is not going to change overnight. This is just a pre-election vote-fishing ploy like the salary increase. Public servants will not suddenly crawl out of their comfort zone, salary increase or not. How long do you think the police can keep their smile? As long as nobody have to answer for not taking their responsibilities seriously, the current situation will go on. Want to bet? Look at how ministers behave and how little they do and you will get my drift.

5. #5 by Educator on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 8:05 pm

If I can get my refund from Income Tax Board, not in 13 days, but even just one day before the GE, I’ll vote for BN.
    Want to bet your bottom dollar on it?

6. #6 by Winston on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 9:33 pm

This government has been talking about having senior police officers to patrol tourist centers and enrolling sixty thousand additional policemen.
    What happened to these promises?
    We are very short of even ordinary rank and file policemen to go on the beat let alone senior police officers! Unless this country has more senior officers than the rank and file staff. How often does one see even an ordinary policeman on beat duty? In tourist areas? Anywhere?
    It is extremely doubtful that these senior officers have time to patrol the streets? With the crime rate as it is, they hardly have time to shit!
    The lack of logic is astounding! However, Malaysians swallow it.
    With regard to the recruitment of sixty thousand extra policemen, does anyone know how many the government has recruited since the announcement?
    Those of you who have info, please enlighten us.

7. #7 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 9:38 pm

Many citizens in the country do not have any high hope of what Abdullah said as new delivery system.

Just reminisce of the many statements he had made in the past, regarding corruptions, police brutality, human rights abuses… after the ‘speech’ and announcements, everything back to square one.

Do not expect any ‘new’ delivery system to come along to replace the old delivery system and to expect some miracles in the improvement in the public delivery system.

8. #8 by smeagroo on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 10:33 pm

Just another GE gimmick to show the rakyat that HE IS WORKING on something to benefit the rakyat. Bet you there will be lots of other gimmicks to fool the rakyat. I cant believe that after sleeping for 4 years he can suddenly wake up with a zeal to work. MOst people would continue to day dream and laze under the sun.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 10:52 pm

Is it all coming under the Syariah system?

10. #10 by Alvin on Saturday, 2 June 2007 - 11:01 pm

Based on AAB’s track record, i am unconvinced for what he is about to unveil.
    However as a loyal citizen, i really do wish he meant what he has planned and intended although its long awaited.

i dont wish for this to be all just TALK with all hype and no tangible actions.

12-13 days is not too far and i am together with all fellow malaysians eagerly await this moment

11. #11 by akarmalaysian on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 12:43 am

ok…i am also a loyal and patriotic malaysian.lets see wats going to happen next after the 13 days…lets give our PM a chance to work out wat he has in mind for the benefit of the people.lets keep our fingers crossed.look see look see b4 we hammer sekali lagi.it wud only be fair to reserve some respect for our dear PM.

12. #12 by toyolbuster on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 1:41 am

Have you heard of “Abdullah and The Magic Lamp”? Well, now you have. And you guys thought he had been sleeping all these while. He was actually blinking his eyes like “Bewitched” and hoping to create miracles. At least he’s got determination. Keep trying Bodohwi. It might just work in the next 13 days.

13. #13 by BoDo Singh on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 7:10 am

“Would this mean heads are gonna roll, especially government ones? Unladden Swallow

The only things that are gonna roll would be his balls if he were to try to roll heads.

14. #14 by BoDo Singh on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 7:49 am

I have heard of Abdullah 37.

15. #15 by unknowngrouse on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 9:49 am

Maybe he meant 12 weeks?

16. #16 by greenacre on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 4:59 pm

During the Tunku days ,I was (too Young) told that when there is a need for three officers for a particular department, then the order will be provide only two. So I asked why? there will be work for them to do. I skip the other two as I have no material. But during Mahathir’s time it was operasi Isi penuh. Fill it to the brim.
    they don’t know what to do/so you can see knitting ladies and smoking joe right in the working table of a high court. Nothing added.just as seen in land office and high court.

17. #17 by DiaperHead on Monday, 4 June 2007 - 1:16 am

Sorry, greenacre. Hard as I tried I just couldn’t understand what you mean!

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Monday, 4 June 2007 - 2:09 am

Forrest Gump is back!

19. #19 by Godfather on Monday, 4 June 2007 - 9:50 am

This is one guy who says something today, and then promptly forgets what he said the next day. Because he forgets so easily, no one in his close circles has to worry about executing what he directed or ordered. If there is no follow-up, there is nothing to worry about, because the Boss will not remember.

This is a sad state of affairs for Bodohland – the ministers run around doing their own thing because their boss can’t remember anything he wanted them to do. The civil service do their own thing – which is akin to doing nothing – since there is no follow-up on accountability.

20. #20 by Jonny on Monday, 4 June 2007 - 6:12 pm

Pray to God, not another tok kok thing. Content got, but no implementation. Just a promosi for General Election.