Harvard University task force to improve public service delivery – waste of public funds?

The answer by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Health Ministry, Datuk Lee Kah Choon during question time today that the government does not have statistics about the number of patients nationwide who died in ambulance on their way to hospital is the latest evidence not only of deteriorating medical and health services in the country, but of the larger issue of the macro problem of the worsening public delivery system despite all the promises of reform.

I find the indifference and insensitivity demonstrated by Lee’s answer most unacceptable as it was only on Friday that the country was shocked by the news report of the totally unnecessary death of Yusnita Abas, 31, wife of factory worker, Ghafur Mohd Ibrahim because the ambulances at Kepala Batas Hospital were “all out of petrol” and could not send her in time for emergency surgery at the Penang Hospital.

In the 50-year independent history of Malaysia, this is the first time a person had died because all the ambulances at a hospital had run out of petrol — tragic proof that public service delivery system and ethos have been getting from bad to worse.

Such a shameful episode had not happened when the country achieved independence in 1957 and the ensuing 49 years. Why is it happening now?

Developed countries are aiming at ambulance emergency response time within eight minutes, but the Health Minister, Datuk Dr. Chua Soi Lek seemed quite happy with an ambulance response time of more than 30 minutes in his response to public criticisms over businesswoman Zara Davies Abdul Rahman’s traumatic experience in trying to get accident and emergency help from Hospital Tengku Ampuan Rahimah Klang to save an accident victim’s life near the Batu Tiga toll booth on Dec. 13 last year, but in vain.

When Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became the fifth Prime Minister of Malaysia some 40 months ago, he not only pledged a more efficient public service delivery system, warning civil servants not to indulge in the “pass-the-buck culture”, but commissioned experts from Harvard University to strengthen the public service delivery system, reduce bureaucracy and improve civil service efficiency.

The three-member Harvard University task force submitted its report and recommendations to the government in April last year — but it would appear that the Harvard University consultants were all a waste of time, effort and public funds when public service ethos and performance have reached such a low point that what had never happened in the nation’s half-a-century history can now happen — ambulances at a hospital running out of petrol causing an avoidable death!

How could all the ambulances at the hospital of the constituency of the Prime Minister “all run out of petrol”? Who must be held responsible? How many heads must roll? Will any head roll?

Let me repeat my call during my speech in Parliament on the Royal Address debate on Thursday — that the government make public the report of Harvard University consultants to improve civil service efficiency, reveal the costs and the identity of the Harvard University experts.

The report should be tabled in Parliament before the Ministers start their four-day winding-up of the debate on the Royal Address beginning next Tuesday so that MPs can have the time to study the report and raise pertinent issues during the winding-up.

Last month, the Prime Minister announced the establishment of a 23-member task force, named Pemudah, to facilitate the delivery system and enhance economic activity as well as a high-powered committee comprising senior government officers as the implementation arm of the task force.

Is this the outcome of the report a year ago of the Harvard University task force — to set up another task force a year later to find out ways to improve the delivery system? If so, what is the use of the commissioning the Harvard University task force?

1. #1 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 4:48 pm

it is all standard reply fr e useless gov. if any problem occurs, set up a task force to look into e prob. watever report or e lack of it, juz chuck it into e rubbish bin n then forget about it. watever money paid for tt report is of no importance as e report has already served its purpose which is to stall time n let everyone forget wat it is for in e first place.

2. #2 by azk on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 4:48 pm

For heaven’s sake, if for once the ruling gov minister admits their ministry’s weakness and work hard at it, we will move forward.

Keep denying and covering up… loser’s traits.

3. #3 by raven77 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 5:05 pm

Dear LKS,

The service can be improved if there is commitment and there is no interference from ministry officials. Too much dead wood on top but there are solutions…what Harvard advice….load of crap…you only need a common sense attitude. Let me give you a hint. All problems in KKM lead to only one place – BLOCK E1 AND specifically TINGKAT 7. Chua has forgotten all his medicine and is surrounded by morons….but for the sake of this country and patient’s lives I hope you as the leader of the Opposition will keep pressing for change……for GOD only knows that as far as the current MOH officials are concerned our Malaysian lives have become cheap and dispensable…

4. #4 by Winston on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 6:01 pm

The only solution to the problems facing this country is a regime change.
    At the next election.
    Meanwhile, keep whacking away!

5. #5 by smeagroo on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 6:16 pm

Bcos of poor leadership the disease is now spreading to the roots. Why should they buck up in their service offered? Look at the top. They are just learning. And you dare say they are lazy and stupid?

6. #6 by tsn on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 7:24 pm

LKS:From 1957 to 23/3/2007, those fell sick, they didn’t rush to hospitals, they either waiting happily for Almighty to embrace them or rushed to Bomoh.The problem of out-of-petrol ambulance doesn’t arise at all.

Ahkok 2891:the task force is only task without force, tak boleh jalan.

Winston: The problems of the country will not be solved eventhough the regime is changed. Furthermore who is this new regime? PAS and/or Keadilan and/or DAP. LKS himself knows better than anybody else, apart from yelling out all the problems to awake the masses as long as he can, nothing much can be achieved.Before we work towards change of regime, put some thoughts in famous Chinese saying” don’t ever chase away the thieves, but invited in the robbers” die standing.

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 8:00 pm

“In the 50-year independent history of Malaysia, this is the first time a person had died because all the ambulances at a hospital had run out of petrol – tragic proof that public service delivery system and ethos have been getting from bad to worse.”

It also demonstrates the extent of the ‘bodek culture’ among Malay government servants.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 8:22 pm

“Developed countries are aiming at ambulance emergency response time within eight minutes, but the Health Minister, Datuk Dr. Chua Soi Lek seemed quite happy with an ambulance response time of more than 30 minutes….”

But if the response is merely to seek and carry, fatalities would continue to mount! We do not need stretcher services but trained medical personnel with medical to maintain the essential bodily functions of accident victim before he arrives at the ER. What good will efficient stretcher services do when patients arrive at the ER dead on arrival (DOA)?

As a result of this and similar incidents, there will now be a fierce competition among UMNO politicians to bid for contracts to purchase vehicles to serve as ambulances. Later there will be a fleet of ambulances without drivers, equipment and spares – and without petrol.

Life goes on.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 8:25 pm

The difference?? Some enterprising individuals connected to UMNO would be richer.

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 8:48 pm

“The three-member Harvard University task force submitted its report and recommendations to the government in April last year – but it would appear that the Harvard University consultants were all a waste of time…”

I’d have to disagree here.

Employing so-called ‘foreign experts’ is never a waste of time for those involved. How much is paid to these ‘experts’ to come up with a suggestion that an office boy with some common sense could do equally well? As an office boy he has his ears to the ground and knows what is wrong, whilst the bosses were busy shuttling in chauffeur driven cars from one meeting to another too busy to ask how petrol for his car is requisitioned. He could tell you how tyres are being ‘replaced’ and go on to which vehicles, how petrol is being siphoned in the early hours of the morning when tanks are being ‘filled up’ or which bosses are using their chauffeur driven Mercedes to take their wives to the wet market and fetching their kids from schools. He could tell you which bosses are cheating on their wives during office hours.

The truth is we do not need foreign experts with fancy sounding credentials to tell us what is wrong. We know what is wrong.

11. #11 by Cinapek on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:00 pm

Know why Harvard report never revealed? It has only three words ” We give up”.

An ex Malaysian who designs traffic control systems for the likes of cities like Los Angeles, New York etc. once replied “no hope” when I asked him why he did not help to do something about KL’s traffic. I am not sure if he meant the situation is beyond hope or maybe he is trying to say the people he has to work with is beyond hope.

12. #12 by Pengajar on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:03 pm

I cannot understand why the government wants experts from Harvard University to strengthen the public service delivery system, reduce bureaucracy and improve civil service efficiency. It is like admitting that our people are not good enough. I did a bit of internet searching regarding Harvard. It is a good uni but just recently, Princeton came first followed by it and then Yale; all these are ranked using their own U.S. university system. U.S. is having the kind of democracy that is only partially practised and seen in Malaysia. So, am I suppose to think that our government wishes to be Americanised ? Am I suppose to think that somehow the American public service is more efficient than ours ? Or is this to make ourselves look great by identifying ourselves with U.S. because it is still a first world country ? In case any influential figure from the government is reading this, let me tell you this. You send officers to many western countries. But you do not allow them to practise what they know. When they come back, they have to follow a dictatorial kind of working system. In many western universities, students are encouraged to express themselves. Back home in Malaysia, you cannot do your own thing. Every single thing has to go to the boss because of the threat of disciplinary action. You are wasting the nation’s money. If you do not allow your officers to practise what is taught, you should not have sent them overseas. Some of these officers who come back do not come back with an enlightened mind. How could they if it is only a three weeks’ sting ? Instead, when they are given the position, they become power crazy. Do you know that efficiency has something to do with attitude too ? If a person’s attitude is hardworking and knowing he must finish his work before the day ends, he will try his best to finish that piece of work. But if the attitude is that there is always a tomorrow, then the work will never be finished because there are many tomorrows. Do you really need a university graduate to tell you this ? I think an uneducated farmer would be the better person to give a lecture on time management because it is time that gives him a big harvest. So, you have been sending officers overseas for how many years already. What are the results you have seen so far ? Don’t you think you have such a bad time management ?

13. #13 by Jong on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:33 pm

We know what is wrong? …or we don’t want to know what is wrong?

14. #14 by fido on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:50 pm

It’s not we do not know what is the problem…..we are just too proud to admit the mistake and learn because someone out there is making something out of all the funds. This happens today, tomorrow and everyday.everytime…no accountability, no transparency! Tell us, who will be sacked for this blunder? Who should be made responsible for this unnecessary lost of innocent lives?

The same lame excuses happens over and over again in every issues that happens daily, some screwup, someone behind the scene made $$$ out of the whole issue….wake up, govt dept, when are you going to wake up?

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:52 pm

We know what is wrong but pretends there is nothing wrong with what we know so ‘we’ could employ and pay foreign ‘experts’ sharing of course in the cost of the consultation.

Anybody knows the cost of employing foreign experts with dubious credentials to undertake studies and tell us what we already know?

16. #16 by menarambo on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:53 pm

Oh well, everybody knows what’s going on in Malaysia. We know we got useless people running the govt but people still keep voting for them, and people expect a change?

17. #17 by smeagroo on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 9:59 pm

Speaking of Public Funds, YB, pls look into this piece of news I got from Rocky Bru’s blog.

Fox got Khazanah’s project, after all?
    On Feb 1, this blog reported [here] that two ex-editors known to be close to the PM and his son-in-law had set up “the Mother of all PR firms” and will bag the US$15 billion-SJER or Iskandar Regional Development account.
    On Feb 3, I identified this “Mother” as Fox Media, comprising a Shaik fro0m Penang and two former top editors [here]. This posting also said that existing PR practitioners were rather concern that their industry, which is already very competitive, was being invaded by powerful cronies.

For the entire scoop, pls visit :
    http://www.rockybru.blogspot.com

18. #18 by k1980 on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 10:27 pm

70 dalil Pak Lah hilang kelayakan memimpin negara
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/reports.php?itemid=612

19. #19 by teetwoh on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 5:17 am

Either vote this joke of a government out or leave the country

20. #20 by slashed on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 5:34 am

I have to disagree with what many are saying regarding foreign experts. Personally I dont think we should not be quick to argue that it’s stupid or a waste of time or resources etc merely because these ppl are foreigners. I personally feel that we should learn from systems that obviously work. The only reason why we look for them is merely because these ppl are experts – the focus is on their expertise, not who they are or where they come from. If you can easily argue that we should not listen to foreign experts because you may feel that our nation’s dignity is being challenged.. then we can equally argue that students should study in our own country instead of going abroad… we should not be arguing out of prejudice and pride rather than on merit.

Also, Harvard IS the world leader in education, in ANY measure. And no, I m not from Harvard. Whether it is a world leader in the task at hand.. I don’t know LOL

21. #21 by kurakura on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 7:32 am

Y not just hire experts from Singapore who is more efficient than US of A in many areas? National University of Singapore is world class too. And the biggest advantage they have over the Americans is that Singapore understand the problems(corruption, bla bla) and culture better.

It was reported that US healthcare is one with the most inefficiency in the world and Singapore’s is best managed. And Singapore uses the smallest fraction of their budget to run govenrmental units and yet achieve amazing results.

So it all boils down to the fact that Malaysia will never “kowtow” and say “we need ur help, Singapore”, although that’s the best option.

Just my opinion.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 7:42 am

My criticism is in the use of ‘experts’ be they foreign or local in undertaking studies when there is no real intention of carrying out their recommendations.

The employment of foreign consultants has in some cases been abused. The fees paid are not commensurate with the benefits sought and in some cases exorbitant due to corruption.

23. #23 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 7:49 am

Big news! Taib’s corruption exposed in Japan. For the log export, asking the Japanese shipping companies to pay rebet to a HK company. A total of US$25,250,000 paid for the past 10 years (1996-2005), believed to flow into Taib’s family

http://www.asahi.com/national/update/0326/TKY200703260308.html

24. #24 by patriotic1994 on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 8:35 am

Australian government gone extra mile for their ambulance service. See this news: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/6494117.stm

25. #25 by zack on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 9:00 am

“…In the 50-year independent history of Malaysia, this is the first time a person had died because all the ambulances at a hospital had run out of petrol – tragic proof that public service delivery system and ethos have been getting from bad to worse…”

The loss of one life under the any circumtances is a tragedy and AL-Fatihah to Allayarhamah Yusnita
    Let me point out that LKS has openly admitted ..this is the first time in 50 years that a person died this way. And to blame the entire SYSTEM is too much overboard. There must be some very minor unavoidable event on the ground which occur on that day which people only realise later but unfortunately too late to do anything. Fot all we know it just a human mistake made by one very good and hardworking individual … Mistakes happened. After 50 years that this happen does not in anyway says that the SYSTEM is so very bad. What about the hundreds and thousands of life saved because of the SYSTEM. The ambulance drivers stay on call 24 hours a day .. what about their contributions .. they are the unsong heroes … There is no “HARI PEMANDU AMBULAN KEBANGSAAN” … They sometime work at very odd hours because of the emergency call made at these hours…. The SYSTEM are well and intact …..

26. #26 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 9:05 am

The bottom line is they don’t get it. They don’t get it its not about race, its not about systems, its not about resources (more accurately entitlement) etc. Its about leadership, accountability, meritocracy. The problem is while they may not speak it, up and down the government, they think in the former rather than the latter. They don’t think they ignore the latter but the truth is its secondary to the former, making it a mess.

So long as they excuse with the former, its never going to change much..

27. #27 by zack on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 10:56 am

sorry Bigjoe … its about the system …. the system (written or otherwise) dictates all. If not how else would we see so many politician who behave in a certain ways while in power but turned 180 degrees the moment they’re out of the system … take Anwar Ibrahim, Dr. mahathir, Bill Clinton, Jimmy carter (care to add more to the list) …. even non politician behave similarly … kadir Jasin, rocky bru (a sour loser to Kalimullah, khalid ibrahim (the system made him a very rich man mind you!). it’s all about the system and leadership alone will not be enough to change the system and also not even the ballots box … there are some hidden entities at work and in Malaysia we all know what they are ! That’s the reality!

28. #28 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 1:27 pm

I can sign on Neill Armstrong to advise Malaysia to put a man on the moon. And pay him millions in USD.

I wouldn’t sign on Neill Armstrong to advise Malaysia how to deliver clean streets. We can do that ourselves without paying a cent overseas.

So what did we ask the Harvard Task force to do, what were the terms of reference? And how much did we pay?

If YB as Opposition Leader is not privy to such info, then all hope is lost for Malaysia. That is why, we cannot keep barking, barking and barking all the time.

We must put our votes where they bite and give BN some very bad sores in the next GE.

29. #29 by Thomas Lee on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 4:02 pm

To engage the services of so-called Harvard experts is a clear indication of the government’s lack of confidence into our local experts and professors. Such money spent on the Harvard experts could have been used for research work by local Ph.D candidates who will certainly be more well-versed about the local problems than all those so-called foreign experts, particularly from the West. The sad thing is that such contracts are awarded to foreigners, especially from the West, and reflect the colonial hold on many of our people, especially the so-called leaders. We glorify in western education, we trust western brand names, we lead western lifestyle, dressing like white men (I wonder why our schoolboys have to wear ties after Merdeka when, during my time at Bristish-run schools we don’t have to!). We are a nation celebrating our 50th anniversary of “independence”, yet we are still living under colonial culture and influences!

For a start, perhaps we should stop the practice of wearing western attires like ties to school, to work, and to formal functions. During the recent Chinese New Year, it was good to see Chinese ministers and leaders wearing Chinese traditional clothing. The Malays look wonderful in Baju Melayu, than in coat and tie! Tun Dr Mahathir has started a fashion trend with his Asian collar jacket. Let’s dress as Malaysian for this Visit Malaysia Year and from now on.

30. #30 by kurakura on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 7:21 pm

This is not a one off accident. The system itself is not good.

Many yrs ago, before the Commonwealth Games, there is this event called preCommonwealth games where the local athletes hand a lst hand tryout on the facilities and such.

My friend told me he was earmarked to be a “dummy” drowning patient and so to say test the emergency response of the ambulance.

Halfway through the journey, the ambulance stopped for petrol….

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 9:56 pm

“There must be some very minor unavoidable event on the ground which occur on that day which people only realize later but unfortunately too late to do anything. For all we know it just a human mistake made by one very good and hardworking individual … mistakes happened.” Zack

Yes, like the driver siphoning petrol for his use the night before to attend his cousin’s wedding. Or he was supposed to fill up the tank before going home for the day but for the fact that his fiancé called threatening to cancel the engagement if he failed to take her out for dinner.

Mistakes indeed.

You can tell that to the widow or widower or next of kin of the deceased.

The fact that lives have been lost unnecessarily in the past in this way does not mean that more lives would have to be lost. One life lost in this way is one life too many.

Let’s honor Yusnita and those like her who have been struck down in the very prime of their lives. Let’s not politicize the issue.

32. #32 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 10:23 pm

So many “government things” in Malaysia that give rise to many poor standard status.

Police, public service, local council, health service at hospital, local public universities intake and admin, etc. are just some of the image that I could immediately think of.

The only government department now has a good publc service is immigration department.

The 2020 is just a propagandan. But it is the people of Malaysia that voted these people to run the countries for decades.

33. #33 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 11:01 pm

“For a start, perhaps we should stop the practice of wearing western attires like ties to school, to work, and to formal functions. During the recent Chinese New Year, it was good to see Chinese ministers and leaders wearing Chinese traditional clothing. The Malays look wonderful in Baju Melayu….” Thomas Lee

Yes, great idea. Why has no one thought of it?

Ahmad could come to work wearing sarong with nothing underneath, and Ah Chong could come wearing singlet half raised to allow for the cool breeze and Maniam could come wearing only his dhoti and sandals.

Let us reject everything western.

34. #34 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 27 March 2007 - 11:08 pm

“Tun Dr Mahathir has started a fashion trend with his Asian collar jacket. Let’s dress as Malaysian for this Visit Malaysia Year and from now on.” Thomas Lee

Yes, Malaysia is about the only country I know whose Ministers feel the need to pin their names to their chests, whose Prime Minister walks around with his name displayed in a manner as if to tell the rest of us who he is! We know who he is!

It is time we stop this practice. It is silly.

A better idea would be to pin Malaysian flags on their coat lapels to show their patriotism.

35. #35 by zack on Wednesday, 28 March 2007 - 7:36 am

Dear undergrad,

I wrote … “The loss of one life under the any circumtances is a tragedy and AL-Fatihah to Allayarhamah Yusnita”.

At in no particular time did I say that her life is noy important. Its a tragedy and Al-Fatehah goes to her and condolences to her family.
    But my point is beyond Allahyarhamah Yusnita. I would’nt equate one unfortunate mistake to blame the entire medical system which have been in placed for 50 years and which are not always perfect since they are all human who makes mistakes. I looked at a bigger picture and for all the good things that the department have done to the rakyat. SO with due respect to the late Yusnita’s family, I am saying the department should not be blamed entirely for no head of department would wants tragedy to happen under their watch. i believe that what happened is an accident due to an honest mistake of a hardworking individual who regreted it so very much.
    Of course if you are looking for faults you will most definitely find one .BUT look at the big picture at this once ….

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 28 March 2007 - 9:21 am

Zack, I called earlier on Kit not to politicize the issue – and now I’m calling on you to do the same.

You say: “I would’nt equate one unfortunate mistake to blame the entire medical system which have been in placed for 50 years and which are not always perfect since they are all human who makes mistakes…”

Her death has nothing to do with an “entire medical system” but has everything to do with the negligence of a number of individuals.

If I were her next of kin, I would name the Director of Hospital, the State government, the Minister of Health and the Federal Government as defendants. It is a simple case of negligence.

If a case of criminal negligence could be made out, someone or some individuals will have to do jail time. For God’s sake, a human life has been lost here. It may be a human error and it happens all the time, so you say – but it is an error which could be avoided and a life has been lost.

What happens to a productive life the deceased could have led, earnings she could have made to support herself and her family, the loss of the love of a wife to a grieving husband and the affection of a mother to her children? Whilst we cannot bring her back to life, there is a monetary value for the loss.

The law has a name for these – general, special, pain and suffering and punitive damages which could run to hundreds of thousands, and a million or two if punitive damages are included.

The Defendant(s) will have to compensate for the loss. Now here comes the bomb! Are you ready?? It is the taxpayers who pay. Many among them feel that it is time to change the government and many will vote with their feet soon.

37. #37 by zack on Wednesday, 28 March 2007 - 3:10 pm

Dear undergrad,

In certain aspects I do concurred. The systems are just fine. Get those few individuals if you must. Further down, you also suggests to me not to politicize this issue but the end of your statements you add the following …

” …. It is the taxpayers who pay. Many among them feel that it is time to change the government and many will vote with their feet soon….”

What are you saying here? My take is this … in whatever way that you look at things in this country, you can never but to politicise them. The talk by LKS and your suggestion is but just talk. Your break them the moment you have the opportunity to do. No matter Whether your in the govt. or the opposition ….

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 28 March 2007 - 7:46 pm

Zack

I don’t see how a comment like “It is the tax payers who will end up paying for the negligence of government servants” is an attempt at politicizing the issue. That is a statement of fact.

In this country education has been politicized by politicians to the point where our students have had to suffer due to the decline in standards.

I called on Kit as leader of the opposition not to politicize such issues the way BN politicians do. Now I call upon you not to do the same. You seem to be offering apologies on behalf of the BN run government when it is perhaps nothing more than a simple case of negligence. A civil wrong has been done and a life has been lost.

It is also true that every time that happens monetary compensations will have to be made to the aggrieved party or parties. Is it not a fact that taxpayers end up paying for the enormous costs? Is it also not a fact that taxpayers will vote with their feet to ensure “change” come next GE? You call that politicizing an issue??

39. #39 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 29 March 2007 - 5:28 am

You’re goddamn right undergrad2.

40. #40 by zack on Thursday, 29 March 2007 - 7:29 pm

You maybe claimed to be apolitical undergrad … but the fact that you’re here, writing in Mr. opposition’s blog is by itself is being very political …

41. #41 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 29 March 2007 - 7:53 pm

We waste so much ink and breath debating silly, almost inane issues because the ‘Banyak Nonsense’ BN coalition has stirred up so much shit and left us with precious little time to put our heads to work on things that count for ourselves. Instead, we have to spend so much of our waking hours arguing about the shit created and left behind by the shitty ‘Banyak Nonsense’ BN Coalition.

Come next GE, give the shit back to ‘Banyak Nonsense’ BN Coalition at the ballot box.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 29 March 2007 - 10:24 pm

Zack: You maybe claimed to be apolitical undergrad … but the fact that you’re here, writing in Mr. opposition’s blog is by itself is being very political …

Huh?? You have given a new definition to ‘politicizing’ an issue involving nothing more than negligence pure and simple. I am here to depoliticize the issue which Mr. Opposition is trying to politicize — and which you are trying to politicize by taking a different position.

43. #43 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 29 March 2007 - 10:30 pm

You’re goddamn right again, Undergrad2.

44. #44 by zack on Friday, 30 March 2007 - 1:20 pm

undergrad,
    as I said … you may want to claim to be apolitical but unfortunately you’re are not! I’ve been following your writings ( in fact you’re a regular contributor ) and my conclusion ..most of them are very political … In fact we’ve “argued” before. So my question is .. what is wrong with politising issues if get to improve situations ..

To Godamn Singh …. if you want to be part of the discussion ..say something la joe !

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 31 March 2007 - 10:28 am

“Question is .. what is wrong with politising issues if get to improve situations ..” Zack

Education in Malaysia, for example, has long been politicized? For example, it is now some thirty odd years since English as a medium of instruction has been abolished in our government schools and public schools; and the use of English as a language has been deemphasized in others. Look where that has brought us to?? Our academic credentials are now no longer recognized the way they were in the 60s.

Matters have come to such length where today subjects are having to be studied in English like the way they were prior to the mid-70s; and when vernacular schools have gained new popularity among certain segments of the population when they should be declining in their popularity.

It is obvious that narrow Malay nationalism has been allowed to interfere, obstruct and impede the progress of our students. Graduates of local institutions and universities have lost control of the use of English at a time when others are gaining theirs – and benefiting from it.

It is common knowledge that far too much emphasis has been placed on performance at exams to the point where graduates of local schools and universities are graded more for their ability to learn by rote and to regurgitate what they learn than by their ability to think for themselves and use what they learn. If we were to put our students from the same age group in classes in schools all over the United States, for example, they would fare very badly in terms of analytical skills and in terms of maturity of thought etc. Malaysian students just cannot think critically the way students elsewhere could.

If our politicians of whatever political affiliations stop tinkering with nation building concepts for example we would not be in half the mess we now find ourselves in.

Politicizing issues which ought not to be politicized, and done so to benefit politicians and their supporters is wrong because of the harm that that could do to the rest of us. Imagine, for example, if an XYZ party from the opposition were to take over the government, it would put many policies into reverse gear. Then when another ABC political party were later to take control it would change policies again. Imagine what that could do to the country.

So ‘education’ whatever political party is in control should not be tinkered with in that manner to serve some hidden political agenda.

What is wrong with politicizing issues?? That is what is wrong!

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 31 March 2007 - 10:33 am

Our politicians responsible for our national education policies have no confidence in the system they worked ‘hard’ to set up. This is obvious from the number of their offspring now studying overseas instead of locally.

47. #47 by Maddresearch on Monday, 2 April 2007 - 8:34 am

I agreed with the heading! Harvard university task force to improve the public delivery systems is going to be a waste of public funds. Good example would be the Proton purchased of Lotus! After the purchase we manage to convert Lotus into Proton situation and this is another Malaysia Boleh.