Who is more unpatriotic, disloyal and anti-national?

Unpatriotic, Disloyal and Anti-National

I am very concerned that in Paragraph 15 of the Royal Address, the government regards “excellence” as a goal to be achieved in 13 years’ time in 2020, when it should have been a constant and unbroken standard of both public and private service from Independence half-a-century ago.

The most meaningful way for the nation to celebrate our 50th Merdeka Anniversary is for the government to end the denial complex and recognise that driving over a million talented, creative and enterprising Malaysians from our shores in the past four decades because of discriminatory policies is one of our greatest nation-building failures and to summon a national resolve to end the root causes of such continuing brain drain.

Let no one stand up to say that the over a million talented, creative and enterprising Malaysians who had been driven from our shores in the past four decades because of discriminatory policies are unpatriotic, disloyal and anti-national, for if such an argument is to be accepted, then those who had been responsible for the discriminatory policies which caused such a costly brain drain to the country would be even more unpatriotic, disloyal and anti-national.

This brain drain problem must be given utmost importance and priority to stem a new exodus of emigration of Malaysian talents, both Malay and non-Malay.

I had warned immediately after the Umno general assemblies last November that a new exodus of emigration of Malaysian talents, both Malay and non-Malay, would be triggered by the rise of racial extremism and religious intolerance like the “fire and brimstone” Umno assemblies with keris-wielding and May 13 threats of bloodshed, amok and riots, with the biggest casualties being Malaysia’s global competitiveness, the success of the Visit Malaysia Year 2007 and the 50th Merdeka Day celebrations.

This was why immediately after the Umno general assemblies, I had introduced an emergency motion in Parliament on November 21, 2006 to debate the “fire and brimstone” Umno general assemblies, which I had described as “a most serious blot on Malaysian nation-building for over three decades” for three reasons:

• undermining national unity and the Vision 2020 objective of achieving a Bangsa Malaysia;
  • undermining international competitiveness scaring away foreign investment; and
  • raising the question whether the 50th anniversary celebration for half-a-century of nationhood could be meaningful for all Malaysians.

Unfortunately, my motion was not allowed. My worst fears have now come to pass. There was a 2,000 per cent jump in inquries about emigration by Malaysians in the week of the “fire and brimstone” Umno general assemblies.
A migration agent in Kuala Lumpur had told the New Sunday Times that from an average of between 15 and 20 inquiries for migration a day, the phones have been “ringing non-stop” in the two weeks after the “fire-and brimstone” and “keris-wielding” Umno general assemblies last November.

For the week between Nov. 14 and Nov. 19 (the week of the “fire and brimstone” Umno general assemblies), there were about 6,500 enquiries for migration to Australia, 5,500 enquiries for New Zealand, 4,000 for Canada, about 3,500 enquiries for other countries, including Norway and Switzerland.

This works out to a total of 19,500 inquiries or 3,250 inquries a day for the six-day period — or some 2,000 per cent jump.
The callers were of all races — Malays, Indians, Chinese and others.

Malaysians would like to know whether the Cabinet had ever discussed this problem of brain drain and a new exodus of Malaysian talents emigrating abroad — and whether it has come up with any counter-strategy not only to stem any new brain drain to allay widespread concerns and fears about the nation and the future so that Malaysian talents will remain in the country but to reverse the earlier brain drain to help Malaysia achieve the transition to a knowledge-based economy.

[Speech (6) on Royal Address debate in Parliament 21.3.07]

1. #1 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 7:41 pm

Excellent questions you’ve asked there Kit, I applaud you for your rational thinking, and for trying to raise these questions that all Malaysians should be concerned about.

It’s been an interesting couple of days, with Po Kuan’s blog, my email to you, provoking an undercurrent of dissatisfaction to fully emerge to the fore.

Perhaps on another occasion, there will be time to speak about the some of the roots of the problem, parochial perspectives, lack of understanding, education and protectionist extremism.

But you have our support in raising these issues in Parliament!

2. #2 by humanly on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 8:36 pm

The BN policies are the greatest disservice to the people they claim to serve. By driving away good people, the opportunity cost of wealth creation and distribution is too horrendous to pay for short term political gain.

3. #3 by streetwise on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:39 pm

Hi Kit,

Indeed, you are a man of all season.
    I am one of the “silent group of discriminated but loyal Malaysian” who finally write in to say, thank you, Kit for standing up to the system.
    Though sidelined, but as one who was born and grow up in this beautiful country, I always believe in telling foreigners of the uniqueness of our culture.
    However, of late… from the recent brimstone and aggressive stance of UMNO, I have the feelings that our beautiful country is going to “the dogs”
    Please, Kit, continue to shake the establishment till the denial syndrome is reverse in boleh-land.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:54 pm

There is a critical difference between a Chinese wanting to migrate and a Malay wanting to do the same. In the former it is the push factor(s) and the latter it is the pull factor(s). The issue here is in the push factor(s) having a disproportionate influence on migration of that section of the population that would not consider migration given the choice.

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 10:31 pm

“The most meaningful way for the nation to celebrate our 50th Merdeka Anniversary is for the government to end the denial complex and recognise that driving over a million talented, creative and enterprising Malaysians from our shores in the past four decades because of discriminatory policies is one of our greatest nation-building failures and to summon a national resolve to end the root causes of such continuing brain drain.” LKS

Let us not deny it. Politicians driven by ideas of neo- Fascism are not in the denial mode. They are in the ‘attrition’ mode: through an unspoken ‘policy of attrition’ they hope to drive Malaysians they consider a threat to themselves and their offspring to foreign shores.

This resembles the Kelantanese sentiment often reflected in the 50s when PAS-controlled state of Kelantan consistently rejected federal funding because the people of Kelantan prefer to see their state backward and undeveloped so long as they could call the state of Kelantan their own.

When one speaks of issues like the ‘brain drain’ one needs to differentiate between the Chinese ‘brain drain’ and the Malay ‘brain drain’. The latter is almost never articulated by politicians because it is not a problem. How many Malays with Ph. Ds are residing abroad because their services are ‘not needed’ at home? Let us have the figures.

So Kit, when you refer to Malaysians of both races migrating it seems to me you are trying to be accommodating to the point of betraying your ideals. Let us hear from the agencies you refer about enquiries from Malays wanting to leave the country because of the lack of employment opportunities – and by ‘lack of employment opportunities’ I include those who are looking for the kind of employment opportunities and remuneration they think they could get but are not getting.

Let us have the numbers of Malay students abroad who do not return after completing their studies. A trickle of these students fail to return because they fail in their exams, are addicted to the kind of freedom and western lifestyle in countries they were sent to study at tax-payers expense i.e. ‘stragglers’ for want of a better word, who may return when they feel they could face friends and families back home.

6. #6 by hasilox on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 12:37 am

What is the more accurate number of Msians went abroad? I came across articles which put the figure at 2 to 3 millions.

Inability to attract external talents is already bad and shameful enough for a country which aims to achieve Vision 2020. What more we are driving talents away.

7. #7 by grumpy on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 1:31 am

I am one of the Malaysians with PhD who is now a US citizen. I am a senior member in a public university in the US. I knew that one day this debate about patriotism and betrayal would arise and here is my response.
    Not too long ago, I stumbled upon these Malaysian blog sites by LKS and Tony Pua and was shocked to learn about a failing Malaysian research oriented postgraduate university started by TDM in collaboration with a top tier university in the US. That not-for-profit university model is my ideal model for a private university striving to be the best of the best in Asia. To see that university struggling to survive is really sad and disappointing.
    Naively, I wrote an email to the PM offering to take temporary leave from my present position to come back to help this university not unlike what the present NUS president did when he took leave from Brown University to help set up IMRE in Singapore. The Malaysian university’s administrative system is different from that in the US and so there are certain things that Malaysian universities do not need to borrow from the US; and I think it was a waste of money to pay to the US university to set up an administrative system that does not suit Malaysia. With US experience and extensive research achievements, I thought that I could lend my expertise. But the PM’s office did not reply.
    To me, the people may not like each other because of race or culture or background, but there are certain things that are just too important to Malaysia’s national reputation that transcend race, color, or culture. For a university that was set up with such fanfare, only to see it failing is just an insult to Malaysia’s efforts to be a regional center of excellence for education.
    So, who is unpatriotic here? Former Malaysians with world-class expertise that they offer to share for the benefits of their birth-country or those with the selfish intentions to rather see the country’s reputation destroyed simply because of race? This I-rather-burn-it-than-let-you-have-it attitude should have no place in Malaysia’s mentality for the sake of the country.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 5:22 am

YB Kit,

One of things about our political elites (jointly as a group and class and severally as individuals) that never ceases to amaze me is their consistency in being inconsistent, sometimes even flexible, when it comes to reversing or changing anything or any position that could expediently serve the interests of (a) the preserving their power base and political relevance and (b) generate prosperity and make money.

In respect of (a), you’d remember how not too long ago, MB of Johor reversed and jettisoned more than 20 year national culture objective of “Bangsa Malaysia” articulated by ex premier Tun Dr Mahathir as a “nebulous concept” in preference for – what to me – is another equally nebulous concept of “idea kenegaraan”, something which our Education Minister, you will recall, in deference to Johor being the traditional bastion of UMNO appeared to accommodate by using the expression of “Bangsa Negara” in the preamble of the National Educational Blue print.

In respect of (b), you’d recall the current big hype is about Southern Johor Economic Region (“SJER”) and how under Ninth Malaysia Plan (9MP), up to RM15 to 20 billion is likely to be allocated for jumpstarting its development that will require some RM382 billion investment from 2006 to 2025. Everybody is looking forward to a piece of the action. Khazanah Nasional Bhd will take a 40% stake in SJDA. UMNO related companies like Renong since merged with UEM Worlds have 24,000 acres of vacant and developed land there (including Nusajaya) which will appreciate in value. They even toyed with the idea of getting Walt Disney to build a theme park to rival Singapore’s integrated resorts and casinos. (It will certainly help redeem the Renong Debt Management Sdn Bhd’s global bonds). UMNO chieftains are also all excited about the prospective government awards and largesse to be dished out but before all this could happen, SJER must succeed and for this to happen, foreign investors’ confidence is the key – especially Singaporean (investors). Analogy of duplicating the ties between Hong Kong and China’s southern city of Shenzhen for Singapore and Johore Bharu was raised. “When Hong Kong burst at the seams, they needed somewhere to go, and Shenzhen was the most logical progression (in relation to Singapore). So we see that happening here as well,” said Wan Abdullah Wan Ibrahim, managing director of UEM Land Bhd.

So what are they prepared to do to get Singaporean Middle Eastern and Japanese investors to plow funds into Johor and make SJER succeed and prosper?

I’d like to bring to your attention the opinion of the recently formed high powered five-member council including Musa and Malaysian billionaire Robert Kuok – as the affirmative action program of NEP do turn off foreign investors, Malaysia should exempt the southern state of Johor from policies that favor the ethnic Malay majority.

“Policies that give the racial grouping privileged access to government contracts and guarantee a minimum presence in the workplace may deter foreign companies from coming to Johor”, said Musa, who is advising the government on the state’s development.
    Contract awards “will have to be on merit,” Musa said in a March 19 Bloomberg interview. “The Malays will have to face competition.”
    Please read this link appearing under Column of “others” in Online Bulletin Malaysiakini – http://www.malaysiakini.com/link/eNrLKCkpsNLXLy8v10vKyc/PTUotStdLzs/VTywoKNbPSy0vti/ITLE1MjAzMDSwMFArBnISg7z1TCMCvNPDTS3UilLTUotsE4szEwHkqxli

YB Kit, only money will make them reverse and revise the NEP!

I invite you to reflect on the implications of this revision of NEP, if implemented, and maybe consider supporting the government’s initiative – if implemented, this revision or rather exemption constitutes one major milestone in the long journey to dismantle the apartheid architecture set up during Mahathir’s tenure.

I raise this subject here because it is squarely relevant to the blog issue in respect of our major national problem of continuing brain drain of the nation’s best brightest and smartest amongst the young Non Bumipuitras, how to address it and whether this “selective exemption” of NEP in Johor for the sake of mud raking search of profits will mitigate the drain.

Off the cuff, I can think of a few scenarios that are positive:

First, the young and talented can draw hope that this step, if implemented, represents the first major milestone to dismantle the bumi-non bumi dichotomy that not only divides Malaysians but marginalizes the competitiveness of Malaysia in the this Age of Globalisation in which we need to attract and retain both talents and wealth creation in respect to all races so that in turn they will have more to share and less to bicker against each other.

I associate completely with the opinion of Manu Bhaskaran a Singapore-based partner at economic research company Centennial Group that “it would be an exit route, politically” for UMNO in relation to the NEP, which is the main sore point of our brains moving out when all hopes are lost.

Secondly, imagine what would happen if Non malays in droves relocate from other cities and states and move to Johor or Johore Bharu by reason of the lifting of the NEP veil there – what would happen politically, socially and economically there as well as rest of country?

All kinds of other questions will arise. For example what if I register a company in KL but operate the headquarters or even the branch in Johor – will my company be entitled to an exemption of NEP’s application in applying for licences etc ?

Another question : If one can demarcate geographically the NEP’s application and exempt NEP for Johor in the interest of prosperity, what is there to stop the demarcation of NEP’s application along chronological lines to stop the brain drain, all in the name of wealth creation? For example why not exempt application of NEP in relation to all Malaysians below 21 years of Age? This means educational quotas will have to go. The NEP actually causes the most problems in the impressionable minds of the young who viewing their marginalized position immediately take to emigration that in turn exacerbates the problem of brain drain.

Maybe you should think about this implication – including whether if the DAP supports what the Council of 5 proposes, it is a sure way to politically kill it and make it still-born, which is what we don’t want too!

9. #9 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 7:19 am

To Grumpy Ph.D.

How long does it take you to become a U.S. citizen?

10. #10 by grumpy on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 7:28 am

To DarkHorse:
    You are eligible to apply for US citizenship after 5 years of PR. Rather than renew my PR, I applied for citizenship which I got in about a year or so after submitting the application.

11. #11 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 7:35 am

How did you get your PR?

12. #12 by tsn on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 8:31 am

To Godamn Singh:
    No mattter how slim the chance of getting one, by hook by crook just have a try, cos the future for Singh in Greatland is even slimmer and dimmer.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 9:04 am

The most admirable thing about Sdr Lim and his colleagues is that they still have faith that the government can change. The truth is the likes of Sdr. Lim and his offspring would have been better off just leaving themselves instead of carrying on the fight. I am sure they have made the calculation and realize that even if things can be changed in the future, the population of non-bumis who stay will be smaller than those that have and will leave.

In other words Sdr. and his colleague fight, while in the past could be miscontrued as racially motivated, no longer can be technically justified so. This is about benefitting Malaysia and really about the future of bumiputeras themselves. Its why the renew vigor of Sdr.Lim is particularly admirable. In my books, he qualify to be a historical figure next to Tunku Abdul Rahman and Lee Kuan Yew.

Think of this. If Sdr.Lim were to migrate and write his memoirs, he could live the rest of his life in luxury. Sir, you are a patriot.

14. #14 by kenny on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 9:46 am

Well, I am glad many have choices here. The greatest gift God gives to mankind.

My choice, if I can afford is to encouraging my children to move.

I have a son completed his studies in Singapore and is now working there. He has been granted a permanent resident in less than a month after application.

As for my daughter who has been studying locally. She will be able to tell you how discriminating the national school is against Malay. Not only the education system. The teachers are so racist. Many hardly teach, they encouraged the student to attend tuitions. “Come to my tuition if you want to know more”. “You mean your tuition teachers don’t know this”. She wants to learn. Every question asked is being replied with sarcasm. She felt worthless; her keenness to study is not appreciated.

Our house is quiet a distance away from her school and by the time she arrived home she hardly has time for herself don’t talk about tuition.

These teachers are always not around. Worst, if your have a lady. My daughter can even tell which days of the month she will be missing for a week and how about those on no end maternity leaves.

Non-performing teachers were brought to the attention of the headmaster by the student as well as parent. But they just can’t do anything to them. Worst, the headmaster is afraid of such teachers, he is afraid that they compliant to the education ministry. From my experiences, he always swept it under the carpet.

It is so hard to encourage my daughter to stick to the system when she knows that the system is not helping her to make it. There is no other choice. You cannot get into the private school because you will never get a place in the local university. We can’t afford a foreign one. But again what are our chances?

Once, my friend had a chat with my daughter concerning her study. She replied to one question which really saddens me. “Well, why study hard; my parent cannot afford to send me to the university anyway”. She knows their choices. The system don’t help those cannot afford. It marginalizes them and forces them to hate the parent. This will ultimately contribute to an increase in our social problem.

Now, I care less about the system. My younger son is in the private school. I would not send him to the local university even if they offer me a handsome scholarship. I am preparing to move him out. Some place where his worth will be appreciated.

What is the meaning of education today? To me, it is business like any business where making money is the ultimate goal. You pay more you get more. Quality is not the issue, making money is. That is why there are private schools that cheap.

Sorry to sound so negative and discourage. My good old times in the 60s are over. My children will suffer discrimination if they don’t improve themselves and go seek greener pasture.

Well am I unpatriotic, disloyal and anti-national?

15. #15 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 10:32 am

The government can change – if the voters change the government by voting in more opposition parties.

For example if the BN loses its 2/3 majority I am sure the parties will definitely address the problems more humbly.

I know that most people who have migrated may not be interested in a change of government but if you have family left behind you can convince them to become more involved in politics and changing their voting patterns.

16. #16 by lakshy on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 10:47 am

To be fair, there are many Malays who have migrated out of Malaysia as they also see the nation being raped by those in power.

Many Malays are also disillusioned by the local education system that even our own ministers do not use, and instead place their children in international schools. So they have also migrated for family reasons. It is not only the non-Malays who have migrated out for these reasons.

The Iskandar Development Region is just another big project that is gradually going to limp and die down. All of these are to get people excited at prospects and its all being done so that BN can create the feel good factor to help BN win in the coming election. Being a Johorean myself, I dont see this developing into anyth9ing great. It will be done to a very small scale of what is originally envisioned.

No hope of opposition ever toppling the BN. Even if this has a remote chance of happening, measures will be taken to prevent such an outcome.

So as Syed Akbar Ali says in his book “Malaysia and the Club of Doom”, all of us are doomed in this nation.

17. #17 by sotong on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 10:53 am

The government had not been interested in non Malays’ talents to contribute to the progress and development of the country for decades.

Being insecure, they viewed non Malays’ achievements as a great threat to their progress and survival.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 11:45 am

If all of us are doomed it is imperative that we change the government.

My prediction is that somewhere along the way, some bright spark in the army is going to stage a military coup.

Stranger things have happened. Just look at other countries where the “independence” party ruled for may years like India and Taiwan.

In Malaysia it is a little more complicated as the important parties are all racist and I think many Malaysians are all praying for the day when a real leader will emerge among the Malays to begin the process of non-racist politics.

He or she could be from any race but as Malays form the majority the reality is that the person would need to be a Malay. I don’t believe anyone will dispute this requirement for success.

19. #19 by sotong on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 1:02 pm

The enormous problems facing the country today are because of narrow leadership selection processes to lead the country to ensure her success.

The success of the country will come from a non Malay with new and fresh ideas and practical and workable solutions to the numerous problems facing the country.

However, he/she must accept the perservation of the unique culture and traditions of the bumi and will do anything to protect it for the benefit of generations to come.

The interests of ordinary bumi must be protected to perserve the uniqueness of the country, which is the nation’s greatest asset.

20. #20 by lakshy on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 1:54 pm

HJ Angus, I think we all know that the Government cannot be changed. Lesser majority maybe, but no change will happen in our lifetime. So we are all doomed in this nation.

Hopefully once the nation hits rock bottom and becomes like Ethiopia or Sudan or Nigeria, then things begin to change. But by then most of the people who can, would have migrated. So what are we left with? More doom? Not a very promising prospect is it?

21. #21 by dawsheng on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 2:45 pm

Due to the employment opportunities and higher currency value in Sinagpore, many Chinese from other states have moved to stay Johor. After a few years down the road, when the careers in Singapore stabilize but career opportunities in Malaysia, especially in their home state didn’t improve, they most likely will choose to settle down in Johor Bahru.

Today, Johor has the highest numbers of Chinese immigrants from other states, however, this situation has not caused any paranoia among the UMNO leader yet, not as long as the opposition parties like DAP or PKR penetrated and becoming more influential in the UMNO birthland.

If you study SJER carefully, you will noticed that the development plan is impossible for economy like Johor Bahru with only 1.5 million populations to support (as Uncle Kit just highlighted our GDP per capita is five time lower than Singaporean), this rule out almost any types of investment as prescribed in SJER to be possible for Johor.

Pardon me for being suspicious but SJER maybe a conspiracy by UMNO to import more Malay into the state to counter rising Chinese population in Johor. For example, the new state administrative capital in Nusajaya will have 80,000 civil servants once completed, the development plan spread across 2200 km in SJER will be control by GLCs which is owned by UMNO, will justify hundred thousands more of manpower to be relocated to Johor to counter the imbalance proportion of races settling in the state.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 2:56 pm

In short, SJER is still a developmet plan, but it is a development plan that is political rather than commercially motivated.

23. #23 by lakshy on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 10:09 am

Heyyyyyy! If Johor has a high Chinese migrant population, I suggest that they should register to vote in Johor, and vote for opposition for both state and parliamentary seats in the next election.

Then they can show how to lead a state properly, and slowly gain experience to rule the country in the following elections.

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 10:26 am

One of the problems faced by many migrants to Johor is that most tend to work in Singapore and they become rather disconnected from the Malaysian scene.

For one thing many commute daily to Singapore and when you have to spend so many hours away from home, when you return home it is mostly for dinner, some TV and then to bed.

I agree that the least these people should do is register to vote in Johor and yes – the only way Malaysia can develop politically for for PKR and DAP to show they can manage a state free of corruption and with proper administration.

One problem states face is that state revenues are rather limited and have to depend on KL for major projects.

25. #25 by kowtim on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 9:11 pm

There is no brain drain from Boleh Land, only TROUBLE Drain; so said the late Tun Razak to Harry Lee when Kiasu Land was part of Boleh Land. So what is your problem? Hi hi.