Corrupt to the core!

Azly Rahman
[email protected]

Hai orang-orang yang beriman, makanlah di antara rezeki yang baik yang Kami berikan kepadamu dan bersyukurlah kepada Allah, jika benar hanya kepada-Nya kamu berserah (Al-Baqarah:172).

This comes from the website of the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA), whose slogan is Tingkatkan integriti, Hapuskan rasuah.

I am tired of contradictions. And of slogans. The nation is tired of them too.

Who but the ACA can we turn to report corrupt people, corrupt practices? We have become a pathetic nation made helpless by the revelations we are reading daily. Things are falling apart.

Yet we have a general election coming – one in which even the Election Commissions itself cannot claim to be independent. How many dozen ‘Royal Commissions’ of Inquiry have we asked to be set up since Independence to help us uncover truths – how many have materialised?

We no longer have any shame as a nation. Even worse, we still vote for vultures.

Corruption runs in the veins of the body politic – in business, politics, religion, education, culture, etc. Even in our mind. Even in our language.

Consider the Approved Permit issue, the half-bridge to Sinagpore, the ECM Libra-Avenue Capital merger, you name it…we do not know where these cases are going. History tells us that we will not see consequences, nor see anyone resigning voluntarily. We do not have any shame. Unlike the Japanese.

Even our universities are seeing corrupt practices. We see students thrown out for speaking up, academicians axed for taking a stand, lecturers made to feel good about how moral and benevolent the government is, and how academic-cronyism is taking shape.

Conferences in public universities are about discussing feel-good themes, presenting papers to make feel-good communalistic ideologies feel elevated, and going into academic detail of how to parrot government propaganda better. How do we expect to produce critical thinkers among graduates when critical analyses about our society are seldom produced and presented. From our public universities to our think tanks, we see lethargy in the way we view society and politics.

Our consciousness has been corrupted by the fear, fantasy and fetish we have structured into our mind though a funneling process of depthlessness of thought. Only if we had the Malaysian version of the great Argentine medical-doctor turned social messiah, Che Guevara, as education minister, We would see true transformation of the education to fight corruption of the soul, mind, and flesh.

Experience with ACA

Two years ago, I wrote a letter to the ACA head calling for an investigation into possible corrupt practice and abuse of power of the administration of Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM). I asked for investigation into the nature of promotion of academic staff and how personal preferences are made, and into the composition of committees responsible for dismissal.

I wanted to know what transpires during meetings and how political the decisions are. How could a committee consisting of learned men and women throw out lecturers who were merely seeking explanation of the contents of a letter that demand their kowtowing to leaders known to be abusing power? How could the higher education minister refuse to deal with the issue and allow the universities to breed fear?

I am still waiting for the ACA director-general to reply. I want him to carry out investigations. As a citizen, I have the right to know what happened in those two instances in my career.

I wanted to go this route before seeking legal help. My claim was that abuse of power had been committed in the two cases. I knew that I could not get any help from the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, prime minster nd several other ministers I had written to, requesting investigation into the political nature of the dismissals.

Like many citizens, I now do not have much trust in the ACA. I do not think the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Rulers, prime minister and elected representatives are interested in seeing UUM being investigated for corruption of power and abuse of privileges.

I do not think the government is interested in investigating how agencies like Biro Tata Negara are corrupting the minds of youth in a systematic pogrom, programme and process of closing of the Malaysian mind. I do not think these people are interested in fighting corruption. I do not know what they are interested in, for that matter.

Are agencies such as the ACA and National Integrity Institute merely interested in helping the government blind the people with the idea that corruption need to be battled?

I think we are turning into the Philippines of Marcos and the Indonesia of Suharto. Or into a Colombia. Or a Nigeria. This is frightening. Especially when the system has evolved into a corrupt one.

Our nation does not even know where to begin in dealing with this issue. People are busy making ends meet while the powerful are busy satisfying their greed.

What then must we do? Dare we dismantle this system entire?

I am tired of contradictions and slogans. So is the nation.

Dr. Azly Rahman,
Educator & Adjunct Professor;
Foundations of Civilizations, Education, & Politics

1. #1 by Taiko on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 1:43 pm

Which is why I don’t like to contribute my tax to the government and the corrupt agencies.

I’ve made it a point to cut off my room’s telephone line rather than keep feeding them RM26/mth for nothing. I’d claim back all the money the government taxed me by all means. I’d rather keep my money in more trusted banks than in government-created banks like RHB which need bailouts by using our EPF money. The list goes on.

I shall not let them profit from me – not even one bit!

2. #2 by smeagroo on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 2:22 pm

I ahve RHB crdt card but will stop using it. We just need to tell the stooopid EPF that they cant play with our money. I have said it once and am going to say it again, “if I wanna screw with my money, let me do it my way!”.

And dont you find it disturbing that EPF wont allow withdrawals for contributors to offset loans and debts but they can blew our money away by bailing out companies? Who will come to our aid to bail us out when we are in a shit hole?

3. #3 by azk on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 2:33 pm

And just how do you propose we dismantle the current system?

You will need to destroy it first.

4. #4 by Libra2 on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 2:43 pm

“I do not know what they are interested in, for that matter.”

I know. They seek self-gratification. Money/wealth that can be piled up to the heavens. They want power equivalent to that of God’s. They want to live up to a 100 years
    They fear no one , not even God. They don’t believe in eternal damnation. THEY DONT HAVE A SOUL!

5. #5 by blueheeler on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 3:28 pm

With an election looming, every gaffe that the current govt makes should mean more votes for the Opposition from on-the-fence BN-voters. I just hope that the Opposition can capitalize on this, and make every voter think carefully before putting a cross next to the BN candidate.

6. #6 by Winston on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 3:54 pm

Well, as I have said a number of times in this blog, Uncle Lim must go all out to wrest the reigns of government from the grubby hands of the BN.
    There are no two ways about it.

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 3:59 pm

“Conferences in public universities are about discussing feel-good themes, presenting papers to make feel-good communalistic ideologies feel elevated, and going into academic detail of how to parrot government propaganda better….

…I think we are turning into the Philippines of Marcos and the Indonesia of Suharto. Or into a Colombia. Or a Nigeria. This is frightening. Especially when the system has evolved into a corrupt one. ”

We are really taking on the worst traits – Marcoses’ shoes, Suharto’s businesses, Mugabe’s farms et al. – and, I agree, Azly, we propagandize it in our universities and in our media in the good ol’ traditions of communism – so that we get plenty of froth (heck, who cares about substance!), plenty of feel-goodness (frothy as hell; differing in but one vital aspect – whereas hell is permanent, this feel-goodness is transient!). Then we put on a warm coat of paint and call it whatever you fancy – ‘Malaysia Boleh’, ‘Hadhari’, ‘Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang’, ‘Wawasan 2020’ or one of those unending streams of slogans that mean as much to an adult as it would to a baby.

Yes, “I am tired of contradictions. And of slogans. The nation is tired of them too.” I puke at the way language has been hijacked and murdered by such slogans! Nothing means anything any more.

Integrity has become a four-letter word.

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 4:01 pm

Expanding on Azly’s parallels between Bodohland and some third world countries such as Nigeria and Colombia, I would like to include Zimbabwe. A country which victimises its minorities and tries to chase them out, a country where opposition politicians are intimidated, framed, harrassed and jailed. A country where the judiciary and the security services are beholden to those in power. A country where real news is suppressed and the mainstream media propagates “feel-good” news only.

Only difference between Zimbabwe and Bodohland is the 1,700 pct inflation in the former, but we are slowly and surely getting there with this bunch of crooks in charge.

9. #9 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 4:44 pm

it seems to be quite true that bodoh-land is becoming more of a communist country rather than a democratic country. or maybe just demon-cratic.
    In the communist structure, everyone is supposed to be equal while the commanders live a much wealthier and comfortable life. Well, in bodoh-land, most of the people are becoming equally poor while those BN leeches becoming fatter. with frequent brainwashing
    And the irony is they ban all those movies by local directors because they glorify communism.
    The only thing is that there are still so many more bigger idiots who continue to vote for them. even much bigger idiots who complain about BN making their lives difficult but hav yet to register as a voter.
    Then also we can have army or police personnels whose votes are controlled by BN and their votes can float around to help those in need of more votes. We also have dead people who can still continue to vote for BN. People who live in KL but their vote counts in Johor.
    What democracy are we talking about? There was no democracy in the first place. Just another feel good name.

10. #10 by Jong on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 5:07 pm

After all that has been said in this blog, we definitely like to know YB Lim, is DAP ready and prepared for General Election?

BN must GO!

11. #11 by mwt on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 5:39 pm

Azly called it “CORRUPT to the CORE” and Dr Anwar Ibrahim called it “MASSIVE Endemic CORRUPTION” in his latest interview with ABC.
    He is coming back to ACTIVE POLITICS despite Legal BAN and will run for PKR June Presidency Despite being BARRED from Political Office till April 2008
    He claimed he has No personal enemies, but Good Friends and in active Negotiations with DAP & PAS- ensure Malaysia emerges vibrant, effective liberal democracy & che sara’, sara’ for reform agenda on the rule of law, free media & more competitive economic policies -rid country off Massive Endemic Corruption.
    His corruption conviction does not involve any remunerations or land or share. And he challenged if there’s one evidence of one inch of public land, or one share or one contract awarded to any of my family members. If you have evidence of that I resign, or you can charge me
    In his latest effort to woo non-Malays vote, he declared issues raised by the non-Malays are reasonable demands in line with the concept of sharing. So he says there are more than 15 public universities, at least three or four should be headed by non-Malay academicians.
    It’s NOW or NEVER, shall we give him his last chance to make some noise in Parliament after the next GE?; More details of interview transcript at:
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/03/dr-anwar-ibrahim-interviewed-by-abc.html

12. #12 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 5:52 pm

Well, just read today’s The Sun newspaper… That Khir Toyol guy (deleted)… 3,700 illegal factories. He is now just going to legalize them and saying that it is easier to monitor legal factories compared to illegal ones. I will really give him 2 thumbs up his butt for this damn stupid comment.
    I will give him one good reason why monitoring illegal factories is much easier compared to legal ones. Since he already know that those 3,700 factories are illegal, serve them a notice of eviction, tear down those factories and there wont be any more factories to monitor. How he uses his non-existant brain is a wonder.

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 6:14 pm

Smeagroo says: “Who will come to our aid to bail us out when we are in a shit hole?”

This is EPF’s idea of scatological humour. The thing about shit is you only get to smell it if you are close enough. The other thing about shit is you may not bother about it unless it is dropped in your own garden!

Well, to all EPF contributors – we should all be up, fired and furious, because we can smell the shit that EPF is stirring up with our money. AND WE ARE MIGHTY BOTHERED BECAUSE THE SHIT IS BEING DROPPED IN OUR RETIREMENT GARDEN!

We can’t REMOVE or sack EPF’s investment clowns. BUt we can begin by sacking the BN clowns who put them there to shift the BN shit into the public domain.

So, please, EPF contributors, the millions of us. Let’s get the BN shit out of our sight.

14. #14 by Godfather on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 6:53 pm

They have taken so much money from illegal factories so why should they close them down ? Every licence renewal is a toll, every expansion is a toll, and all the products these illegal factories made will be tolls.

Why do you think that illegal DVDs continue to be manufactured and sold in the streets with impunity ? Who do you think benefits from these illegal activities ?

15. #15 by pwcheng on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 8:58 pm

Dear Azly, I cannot more than agree with what you have said in your letter. Your are just stating the truth and nothing but the truth. All of us are very angry and frustrated over this. It is like a disease whereby they know the source, the cause and the cure but they just do not care and let it manifest. Well they have their reasons for that but whatever the reasons they are simply not sustainable in good governance which they are totally lack of.

The next question is what can we do about it as express in one of your statements (which I totally share your sentiment) “We no longer have any shame as a nation. Even worse, we still vote for vultures”.

By default it is very difficult to dislodge an incumbent especially in politics (because the incumbent will always have advantage of financial firepower which in this case are mostly accumulated through corruption , logistic support, control of the media, control of the election commission, gerrymandering and etc, etc.). This is obviously made worse by our geopolitical landscape where the unity of the people are fragmented by the racial divide and all this while they are making use of the NEP as a tool to hoodwink the rural Malays, when in fact it is only benefiting their cronies with very little going to those really in need, maybe a bit of crumbs which will make a poor man happy. That is why they will never give up the NEP because this is a handy and powerful tool for them to keep on hoodwinking the Malays. If the educated Malays can somehow expose their ploys to the rural and ignorant Malays we can win 50% of their votes. Remember the rural voters have a better weightage for their votes because the one urban seat voters are sometimes equivalent to 4-5 times the number of voters in the rural seat.

To the Chinese we know that they are starting to dish out some goodies for them and it is well front paged in all the leading newspaper. Yesterday SundayStar (11/03/07 ) page F25 there was a huge bold print ” A step in the right direction” accompanied by some well written promising statements below and a huge photo of our education minister. All these tricks are stale to us (because after the election it will be ” A stab in the right direction”) but with their media power they can still hoodwink a big percentage of the Chinese especially the rural folks. The Chinese must do their job of getting this message to all the rural folks as well as some ignorant urban folks. With this chances of getting 60-70 % of the Chinese votes are there. If we can convinced the Indians and others for 40% of their votes the battle can be won provided they do not have any tricks up their sleeves like confining the Agung in . Langkawi in th 1999 GE.

I think the Chinese are ready for a change for most of them are disillusioned with their lame duck party leaders who only know how to nod their head in total agreement with their master without knowing how to distinguish between right and wrong.

Go for it DAP and PKR!!! This is your chance and make sure you get at least the 2/3 majority, otherwise they will change the rule of the game to get you where you started.

16. #16 by grace on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 8:59 pm

I do agree with Mr. Lim that our many of our officials and ministers are not ashame of their acts of corruption. Some even caught red handed with millions of dollars in cash in Australia. He can still bluff the court that he cannot understand English??? White lies! My God! Those religious quotations meant nothing to many of them when it comes to money! Most of the have faces with thickness of elephant hide!

17. #17 by taikohtai on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 9:01 pm

We were once colonised by the Europeans. But having won our ‘independence’, we are now subject to another power – local warlords who are hypocrites of the highest order.
    We all have our own dreams but looks like only those in the gomen are able to make theirs come true. Unfortunately, their dreams have nothing to do with making Malaysia a better place for the next generation and the generations to come. But the rakyat is weak, wreaked by self interest, short sightedness and kiasu attitude.
    We need strong and sincere leaders but how many of us are prepared to vote for change?
    I continue to cry for Malaysia…….:(

18. #18 by dawsheng on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 9:07 pm

Though it has not yet confirm that this is the election year, but I am very impatience already, what kind of election result this time will be? Will Malaysians still vote for BN and I will be getting insults from them everyday for the next five years? That will be 2010 or 2012 already and I cannot imagine a life like that for the next five years or ever. Should I suffer with those Malaysians who voted BN or just get out of this beautiful country that is turning ugly because it is run by stupid people? I am undecided which I shouldn’t, but I certainly can’t take this shit for even one more day, and I really hope those Malaysian who voted BN the last time thinks with their heads and not with their asses in the coming GE. There is no future with BN and its promises, there is no life because they rather trreat you like a robot than a human being. Need anymore proves for that?

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 9:39 pm

This is EPF’s idea of scatological humour. The thing about shit is you only get to smell it if you are close enough. The other thing about shit is you may not bother about it unless it is dropped in your own garden” HORNBILL

Holy shit!!

20. #20 by pwcheng on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 10:08 pm

So what happen to the man who was caught in Australia and who claims he cannot understand English. We can be good clowns to make the whole world laugh.

21. #21 by mandela on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 10:16 pm

grace, that “speak-no-English” crook is now UMO information chief!

AAB is by far the most impotent and laziest PM Malaysia ever produced.

22. #22 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 11:03 pm

it is one thing to say tt he doesnt understand english. i may still give him the benefit of doubt as i do partially believe tt he is stupid enough to not understand enough english. but then on e other hand, e judge who let him off is also another rot.

23. #23 by WFH on Monday, 12 March 2007 - 11:11 pm

This article of Dr Azly is the most clearly written that I have read coming from him. Completely absent are the tough intellectual language he used a little too often previously, now replaced with simple straightforward direct and hard hitting words. I thank you, Dr Azly.

You are still waiting for your justice, I am still waiting for mine, we are still waiting for ours, all of us right-thinking concerned citizens of this country. Having gone through the courts’ system to fight a good fight for years now without positive result when one knows one is right takes a heavy toll on one’s being. I cannot trust nor believe one iota that the processes in place serve anybody other than the devils who presently call themselves the Govt of Malaysia.

As Donald Trump says, ” YOU’RE FIRED”, hear those words o’ Govt of Malaysia.

When a person passes, one will observe that the last breath is accompnied with an unexplainable tremble of the deceased’s body. I think that is what is referred to as death throes. I therefore see the spate of horrific scandals of top-level corruption, of extreme extravagance, greed, of instilling raw fear and terror by the unrestrained might and sheer arrogance displayed by the ruling Big Brother UMNO as the equivalent of this govt’s death throes.

It’s time is up.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 12:09 am

Malaysia has gone the way of countries like India where corruption is seen as the reward for public service. But for countries like India and Indonesia, ‘corruption’ acts like a lubricant that keeps the wheels moving. In Malaysia, it is about keeping up with the Joneses, about greed and power. If there is such a thing as a ‘positive’ and ‘negative’ form of corruption, Malaysia is a good example of the latter. If you were to take it away the machinery of public service will not collapse or the wheels grind to a halt.

We need a political leadership and government that is responsive to the will of the people. We need to bring back the rule of law.

This will never happen until there is a change in government. Even if a weak government were to come into power, fractionalized by political in-fighting for some years to come, it would still be a step in the right direction. If a dose of political instability is necessary for change to occur then so be it.

25. #25 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 1:24 am

impotent???!!!!
    WOW!!!

26. #26 by Richard Teo on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 1:45 am

There is no credible leaders in UMNO any more. All of them are corrupt to the core.The glimmer of hope that Annuar promise and offer is perhaps the only light at the end of the tunnel.Our country cannot be worse off then it is now.Maybe we should give another chance to Annuar to redeem himself and this time we will hold him to his promises.

27. #27 by sonicwall on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 8:16 am

Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s Islam Hadhari government is a big embarrassment to the nation:

source: http://bumiputera.blogspot.com/2007/03/abdullah-ahmad-badawi-is-in-great.html

Examples:

1) His Director-General of the Anti-Corruption Agency is under investigations for a series of corruption and rape charges.

2) His Deputy Minister of the Internal Security is under investigations for the abuse of power and corruption.

3) His National Service camp commandant was sacked without any reason for trying to protect the health, safety and welfare of the trainees.

4) His Tourism Minister stupidly said that “out of 10000 unemployed bloggers, 8,000 are women, and they use all sort of ways to cheat others”.

5) His local government council “closed two eyes” on councilors building illegal mansions, and then brutally-arrested and bullied a member of the public who did not settle his parking fine.

6) His state government cruelly demolished the homes of the poor people.

7) His immigration officers inhumanely arrested sick and unwell UNHCR refugees who are registered as Persons of Concern (PoC).
    His city hall authorities forced Hindu temples to relocate to industrial wasteland.

8) His Cabinet ministers are criticizing each other publicly on a daily basis.

28. #28 by somaris on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 8:17 am

YB UNCLE LIM,
    Time to move fast ,get all the help from all our beloved malaysian from this blog to tell all their friends and family to vote for DAP

29. #29 by somaris on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 8:24 am

I done my part.my friends and family are doing their part.No more Bn.Im worry in 5 yrs time wht will happen if bn still the same.All malaysian friend from this blog .its time to help DAP and PKR to kick Bn out.MAY GOD BLESS U LKS.
    lastly hope DAP and PKR are into one for all malaysian.

30. #30 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 8:37 am

We are not the Philippines or Nigeria but actually worst like Mexico and Brazil. These states, even after the main party is kicked out, cannot get rid of corruption and the original party keep coming back and corruption continues. As a result, the country is perpetually mediocre, not in deplorable state but never in a good state – its literally perpetual slavery for a segment of the population.

Now the PM is announcing Mission/Vision 2057 basically laying the groundwork for perpetuating the corruption and NEP after 2020. After all why mention it in the same breath as 2020?

Its clear polls are coming and this is the dual message it plans to send to the community – the gist of UMNO strategy all these years. It reassures Malay continue protection while subtlety sending a warning to non-bumis not to demand their rights or things will get worst.

Its time the ransom stop. No vision with corruption should be the clarion call of oppposition politics.

31. #31 by Counterpointer on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 8:52 am

Corruption is the hot topic of the season.Notice that the gomen including the Old M seems to be keeping a very low profile while this hot topic is raging.Wow, not even a peep from the Old M.They are all in denial mode.

They are all perhaps waiting for the fire to die out in a few weeks time before attention is diverted to other issues and Corruption is again forgotten for that time being.And then it’s business as usual for the gomen.

As Dr.Azly asked “What then must we do?”

We must not let this fire die out, we must continue to feed this fire that is keeping the issue hot until the gomen comes clean and out of denial mode.They must be made aware that this issue is the one issue that will bring them to their knees.

Enough is enough.Say no to BN and Corruption.

32. #32 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 9:02 am

Richard Teo says: “There is no credible leaders in UMNO any more. All of them are corrupt to the core.The glimmer of hope that Annuar promise and offer is perhaps the only light at the end of the tunnel.”

Ex-DPM Anwar said recently that anyone can check on his assets. He doesn’t have an inch of land taken from the government or ‘stolen’ a sen etc. and, may I add, he doesn’t own a yacht or an aeroplane despite his years as DPM and Finance Minister.

I say, give him a chance for 5 years to bury the ugly faces of corruption. Give PKR/DAP 5 years to put integrity, accountability and good governance back into government.

Under TDM (square!) i.e Tun Dr Mahathir and Tun Daim Mohd, none of them would dare come out with a statement that they have not taken an inch of government land etc. etc. Was Anwar trying to tell us something? I am unconvinced Syed is the first Bumi billionaire. Why dont’ someone ask Daim for his personal worth? Those years when he was the Finance Minister and UMNO’s treasurer – he was holding UMNO’s purse and the nation’s purse; then he also plays the stockmarket for his ‘pasar malam’ pocket money! Nobody really knows and few would eeven dare whisper what is in each purse and how the ‘spoils’ were divided amongst the purses!

Well, let’s see Anwar clean up the old mess and put good governance in place. Anwar has been so badly ‘smashed’ up, I think he is like the guy who has been ‘smashed’ in a road accident and would never dare speed on the road again. Such a man, having learnt his lessons in a very painful way, would be experienced and careful in his governance.

But, everything else said, I think this next GE is also going to be a tough one for the Opposition. Simply because BN has almost got its ‘war-chest’ full. The stockmarket has brought in billions into their coffers. And those deals like the ECM LIbra deal, the RHB deal- where are all those $$$$$$$$$ going?

Many will be seduced into helping the BN machine – the motorbike gangs, the kenduri gangs, the hamper gangs etc etc., if you like to call them – they will be given ‘petrol’ money, ‘nasi lemak/kunyit packets’, ‘hampers etct. etc.

So the opposition must be prepared to fight a clean fight and the people must not yield to the seductions of the flesh that will last only until the GE is over. All in all, the BN seducers will only need to ‘spalsh’ for 1 month and Malaysians might forget. So pass the word around so that we are all prepared for BN ruses. I would hate to see any opposition leader being seduced by big bucks and big bottoms!

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 9:27 am

The only hope for change is the emergence of a strong intercommunal alliance between DAP and PKR to contest the elections. It will not be a perfect union but the need to defeat the ruling coalitiion at the polls would be a strong catalyst for change.

Anuar Ibrahim carries a lot of political baggage from his days in UMNO and integrity is still a problem to many who otherwise would lend their support to PKR. There is a need for a strong ideology if PKR is to rise above its image as a political party for political opportunists.

A man like Anuar who spent so many years in jail is contrite enough to want to make the change. I don’t believe he’s the same person. I say he’s the best bet PKR/DAP have in wresting control and re-take the government for all working class Malaysians.

Can the leaders of both parties not fight among themselves and work to present a united front?

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 9:31 am

As for money politics, what is there to prevent a voter from taking their money (BN) and vote for the opposition?

35. #35 by oct on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 10:20 am

You all think that BN would allow the Opposition to unseat them. There is more at stake. If the Opposition is the ruling party, BN will know that most their leaders will be facing corruption charge. There will be unrest created by them so that the Opposition will not be able to handle it. So at all cost, they will defend their rice bowls. People like close one eye, palace MP, HOD of civil services, local councillors and etc will be shivering as they will be investigated and charged. It is so clear that BN will not let this to happen. On one hand, let’s hope we can do such dynamic change of govt and perch the corrupted ones

36. #36 by kptan on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 10:31 am

Opposition & NGO must pressure government for imposing more control to prevent listed company’s directors drained out company money by having all sort of benefit.

37. #37 by grace on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 12:34 pm

Mr Lim,
    Those religious quotations are very good and ideal only if those officials and ministers are really God-fearing.
    I remember quite vividly that TDM wanted to use religion to instil fear among the cabinet ministers and officers to the extent that they won’t take bribes.

But the end results: Their mouths are now larger than the Great White Shark!

If the Government is serious in combatting corruptions, they need not go far to to learn the tricks. Consult our Southern neighbour, Singpore how to do it. I am sure she is ever too willing to help!
    Ooop, maybe we are too proud to ask Singapore. After all we are ‘Tuan’ in this region. Maybe use Hong Kong as a model.

But then, even though we can adopt 100% HK’s model, do we have the right officers to carry out the jobs! The officers must be highly intelligent and honest – not the unemployable graduates please! Sigh. Susah la!

Aiya, Mr. Lim, I think we are equally as frustrated as you are. I give up la!

I really salute you and colleagues for fighting tirelessly against those incorrigibles . Only small thing that we can help you is to vote you and partners and our unceasing prayers to God to bless you and all.

38. #38 by Taiko on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 5:51 pm

Oct: “If the Opposition is the ruling party, BN will know that most their leaders will be facing corruption charge. There will be unrest created by them so that the Opposition will not be able to handle it”

I think everyone should ponder about this quote again. I’ve been saying a long time, here and in other forums, that if UMO loses power, they’d brook no qualm to incite racial riots like the one they did in 1969.

Therefore, opposition parties should come up with a plan before they gradually unseat the powers-that-be.

And we should also keep asking UMO and its supporters: are they going to accept defeat when they loses in the election?

I think this is a very important question that every citizens of this country should ask.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 - 9:28 pm

“I think everyone should ponder about this quote again. I’ve been saying a long time, here and in other forums, that if UMO loses power, they’d brook no qualm to incite racial riots like the one they did in 1969.”

If UMNO loses control of P’ment and several of the States, there will be some political instability. But for there to be ‘change’ there must be some political instability – one is synonymous to the other. Such instability is true only in the short run as powers re-align themselves and structural changes made. Now here comes the danger: individual UMNO leaders fearful of what could happen to them and their families would work to ensure that the country remains politically unstable long enough to re-take the government.

Hence the role played by PKR and their leaders is extremely crucial. The DAP on the other hand must make its move in tandem with the demands of political reality – shifting to centre from the extreme right. PKR must be careful not to be seen leaning to the left too much. The leadership in PKR must not over-extend themselves to the point where they lose touch with the grassroots. They can only be as “progressive” as the average Malay allows them to be.

It calls for careful planning by politically astute political strategists from both camps.

40. #40 by Taiko on Wednesday, 14 March 2007 - 1:09 pm

undergrad: “instability is true only in the short run”

Not quite. In fact, it’s far from the reality. Once this country plunges into anarchy, there’s little hope for us the non-UMOs, especially “you-know-who”.

Only UMO can promise peace. Therefore, the people would give them back the power.

This is, I think, one of the most difficult problem to tackle. In order to overcome this problem, there has to have a plan, which I call it “become the majority”.

It’s a pity a lot of people take no heed such advice. But I will never give up. I will continue to propound and educate the masses on the importance of becoming a majority.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 14 March 2007 - 9:51 pm

Let’s look at the changing demographics of a country like the United States – and see if there is anything we can learn from it.

Today the fastest growing population in the United States is the Asian population but their numbers are small – only about 4% of some 320 million people. Next comes the hispanics or Latino population – the second fastest growing population in the United States and their numbers are such that by 2050/5 they would outstrip the white population and become the majority race for the first time in its history. The blacks are not growing as fast and are relatively small in numbers, having been overtaken today by the Latino population.

In Malaysia, the Malay population is still very much a rural population, struggling with subsistence issues. Their infant mortality rate may be higher than the national average but their birth rate is also high. It is a fact that poorer families tend to have a higher birth rate. The net effect is a faster growing population.

The Chinese population is very much an urban population, has a lower infant mortality rate and a lower birth rate. The emphasis is more on the quality of life, and the preference is for smaller units. Government policies work against their having large families. The educated tend to postpone marriages until in their late 20s or early 30s. The net effect??

I do not see a “demographic” solution.

42. #42 by Taiko on Thursday, 15 March 2007 - 8:57 am

undergrad2: ” ‘demographic’ solution ”

Your understanding of the demographic solution is not the same as mine. Your version will never materialize.