Combat corruption – last opportunity for Abdullah to prove he means business

Combat corruption - last opportunity for Abdullah to prove he means business

Question One: Who is investigating the serious corruption allegations against the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) Director-General Datuk Seri Zulkipli Mat Noor?

Answer: Police

Question Two: Who is investigating the serious corruption allegations against Deputy Internal Security Minister, Datuk Mohd Johari Baharum for “freedom for sale” corruption?

Answer: ACA.

Question Three: Will the ACA on the one hand and the Police and Internal Security Ministry on the other scratch each other’s back and exonerate one another?

Who can give a categorical answer in the negative? In fact, will the majority of Malaysians give “Yes” instead of “No” to the question?

Unless the answer to Question Three is in the categorical negative for all or the overwhelming majority of Malaysians, then Malayia has a very serious integrity question and why independent Royal Commissions of Inquiry must be set up to restore public confidence not only in the integrity of the Police, the Ministry of Internal Security and the Anti-Corruption Agency but the Abdullah administration itself

When Johari need not relinquish his post as Deputy Internal Security Minister and Zulkipli his post as ACA Director-General despite very serious corruption allegations against them — the message is clear, that Abdullah is not prepared to ask them to go on leave or transferred to another post to allow for fully independent and untrammeled investigations into the serious corruption allegations to be conducted.

When Abdullah said that generally 85 percent of the reports submitted pertaining to accusations of corrupt practices were unfounded, the Prime Minister seemed to have made a value judgment that he is inclined to the view that the serious corruption allegations against the ACA Director-General and about “Freedom For Sale” scandal belonged to the “baseless” 85 per cent category.

When Johari was reported and photographed in all the media yesterday in a most triumphalist mood, even more exultatory and celebratory than when he engineered the defeat of his former boss, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad in the election to be an ordinary division delegate in the Kubang Pasu Umno Division last year, the message is also very clear — that Johari had nothing to fear from the ACA investigations.

Abdullah should realize that at stake is not just the integrity of Zulkpli, Johari, the ACA and the Police, but his very integrity as Prime Minister who had pledged to make integrity and the battle against corruption the defining characteristics of his premiership and the basic difference with the previous 22-year Mahathir administration.

No Cabinet Minister would advise Abdullah to establish independent Royal Commissions of Inquiry into the serious corruption allegations which have plunged the Abdullah premiership into a grave crisis of confidence because it would set dangerous precedents which could come back later to sting the Ministers concerned.

After all, they were part and parcel of the previous administration which had been tarred and tainted by serious allegations of corruption, cronyism and nepotism, which Abdullah had pledged to break from with his administration turning over a new page.

This is possibly the last time and final opportunity for Abdullah to prove that he meant business in fighting corruption as he promised in his 2004 general election manifesto – by establishing two independent Royal Commissions of Inquiry into the two serious corruption allegations against the ACA director-general and ACA one the one hand and the Police and Deputy Internal Security Ministry on the other.

Abdullah should realize that it is more important to the integrity of his premiership than to Zulkipli, Johari, ACA or the Police that these two independent Royal Commissions of Inquiry should be set up without any more ado into the two different sets of serious corruption allegations under his administration.

1. #1 by Jefus on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 2:53 pm

Sun Tzu had a story of how a general got the Emperor’s concubines into discipline. Heads must roll.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 2:53 pm

Last opportunity? You are too kind Sdr. Lim. As the Merdeka poll shows, most non-bumi have given up. Our PM is so lucky to have such a constructive and considerate critic like you.

As to the bumi voters, the problem is feudalism and entitlement have made them numbed to such scandals. In the face of lack of heros, the mediocre truly thrives among them. If they can accept the insult to TDM, they can accept the corruption so long as they put their head in the sand.

3. #3 by Taiko on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 3:06 pm

Corruption is a very serious case in Malaysia, especially when it involves government officials.

When small fries got into trouble (Zakaria Mat Deros), they got off scot-free most of the time else ‘big names’ would be ratted out not to mention the two ‘big guns’ in spotlight now. So, I believe all the hoo haa will subside soon as ‘big names’ would ensure it doesn’t escalate into a very big problem where all the cronies gets outed.

4. #4 by wizzerd on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 3:47 pm

How to clean the house with a dirty broom? And now, the sweeper is also dirty. The house can never be clean as long as the sweeper and the broom is dirty.

5. #5 by smeagroo on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 4:37 pm

WHO is investigating Zakaria? he is up to no good again after laying low for few months.

Aca? POlice? or the job was given to Epf?

6. #6 by Taiko on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 4:54 pm

Nobody investigates Zakaria. This is because the ‘big head’ of it all said they (his party) will determine whether ACA should probe his financial status. And they kept quiet about it. So, no investigation into Mad Deros case.

Case closed. And all the ‘big names’ lived happily ever after for eternity.

The End.

7. #7 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 5:06 pm

true true even “happy dick” (zakaria) can get off scott free fr wrong doing n get sworn in as a council member. i would not call it mediocracy, i will call it idiocy both on e part of e gov n also those who vote for them. haha… give them 2/3 la. c wat they can do w 2/3 in juz 3 years. last time no 2/3 even 10 yrs also don hav shit up to this amount. all under table work but now not only over e table but they can shout it out loud n still no action taken. remember tt blood sucker who said tt his son should learn fr him how to clone AP’s? all to hear n even in newspaper w/o him denying it or saying he was misquoted but still nothing done.
    Uncle Kit, seriously… w their 2/3, u cant really do anything. like i said earlier, it is time to give e idiot masses a good scolding for voting bn. a specially hot scolding for those who listened to e PM n got engulfed in e flames of e plummeting stock market.
    u should tell all to stop being a bloody stupid idiot and wake up. an incompetent gov is much better than an intelligent gov who is corrupt… but then wat do we hav in bodoh-land, an incompetent n corrupt gov. really speaks volumes about e mentality of e citizens. throw a bone at them n they all come happily wagging their tails n forget about e abuse they got e years before.

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 5:07 pm

I have written a few articles about corruption in my blog as I believe that is one basic reason why we seem to have a few problems that have tarnished many parts of the government;

ranging from the DOE officer who “fell” off a building, the prolonged delay in implementing the IPCMC, the Chief Justice who hinted about corrupt judges, the slip-shod delivery of million ringgit projects and the declining standards of local schools and universities and the recent headline news of the Mongolian beauty who was blown up to ensure her silence.

Yes Indonesia has many natural disasters but Malaysia can compare to her with our own seismic scandals.

Some months back there was a simple case of ministers not paying their fines of speeding. Does anyone know the result or just forgotten with more sensational cases?

http://malaysiawatch.blogspot.com/2006/07/no-more-pussyfooting-please.html

9. #9 by oct on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 5:08 pm

Bet you that both of them will have no case against them. In the end as the PM said, they are baseless. Can you imagine what will happen if either or both of them charged? All the shits will fly. As a good leader, PM will protect all his cronies else no one will support him. There is too much skeletons in the cupboard to be seen by the public. Either way PM will not come out rosy in this. If people like Close one eye and Zakaria can get off so easily, what is this compared to them? The stakes are higher. So it is obvious that in the end semua-nya ok.

10. #10 by unsatisfied on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 5:12 pm

Haha, i don’t think they will charge Mohd Johari, because he is the one who covers all Badawis bussines. And i just read that the judge who is schedule for Altantuya’s case had changed, so where is the law in Malaysia. All had been covered by the rotten BN and their cronies. Oh yeah, i think when Pak lah can’t take action against Zakar-ia, i don’t expect the rest higher profiles BN cronies will get caught.

11. #11 by smeagroo on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 5:45 pm

Apart from corruption our authorities also have this Tidak Apa attitude!

http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/mm/Thursday/Frontpage/20070308094441/Article/index_html

Many hv highlited this issue in the press but looks like no action has been taken by the authorities thus far. Day in day out we see many bikers using the main road along the Fed Hi-way. How many more need to die before these fellas wake up and nab these ppl? They are not only endangering themselves but the motorists as well.

Becos of the tidak apa attitude from them these fellas are getting bolder by the day and by the numbers. How about the motorists using the yellow lanes? How about cars fitted with bright white headlights? The numbers are getting more. Even those heavily tinted windows are not dealt with till now. Whatever happened to the costly machine bought by RTD to nab these fellas? Waste of money!

12. #12 by FamilyMan on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 5:50 pm

Mr Lim,

Firstly who in the Police force is investigation Datuk Seri Zulkipli Mat Noor? A ‘sarjan’? An inspector? Can we trust this investigation to low-ranked officers? And if a detention order is required, is Datuk Johari the one to sign the order?

Secondly, is the ACA officer investigation Datuk Johari reporting back to Datuk Seri Zulkipli Mat Noor and only he has the authority to decide whether the allegations on Datuk Jo are baseless?

Clear and blatant conflict of interest and yet our PM can’t see this. So disappointing.

So to your question 3 – a definite YES from me.

13. #13 by kiki on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 6:31 pm

They simply give up,
    and moving to australia, majority,
    bringing together
    their 80% tax-paying contribution (Dr.M figures %) to bolehland.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 6:39 pm

The only hope for a regime change in Malaysia is when the economy keep on dwindling until it hit rock bottom. As long as BN is able to keep the economy afloat, despite the fact that we are gradually and slowly declining in term of world rankings, voters will prefer stability in the country than voting BN out and vote in the oppositions. here’s why;

As the recent survey has shown, corruption is a way of lfe in Malaysia, we live with it and did not put a stop to it since the day we merdeka, corruptions has probably taken roots at the highest level of our political culture then. Who are the one to blames then? and yes, even though corruption was rampant throught out at least half a century, Malaysia made tremendous progress to become a major trading nation in the world. So what is the big deal about corruptions? As long as the country can progress and the people are well taken care of, right?

Mahathir was the top man for 22 years, many agrees that corruption was rampant during his time, but Mahathir delivered, the people were busy because opportunity were everywhere and people eventually forgot about corruption. The point is, Malaysian will not care about corruption when the economy is doing well.

But Pak Lah is different, he made eliminating corruption as a priority in his government. And He probably knew that it was impossible to do so because he is as old as the country, don’t tell me he didn’t know, or participate in any of the deal, or making the deal himself that one way or another, involved corruption?

The only logic conclusion as to why Malaysian can live with corrupted government is they have acknowledged it to be the way how things got done in Malaysia. But why Pak Lah wants to eliminate corruptions when it is probably the only machinery in Malaysia that delivers and make progress to the country? I think he just want to make a point, see, I told you, without corruption, things won’t work in Malaysia. How else do you think Mahathir can run this country for 22 years? He chose me as PM remember? Make sense….

So voters for the next general elections, while you were angry and complaint shits about Pak Lah, please at the same time look out for potential PM that had the know how, and specialize in promoting corruptions, so we have a better economy and prospect for the country. As in my personal opinion, Pak Lah is not good enough, but he has proved a reality though…

15. #15 by Godfather on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 7:31 pm

What is the use of Independent Royal Commissions if their recommendations may not be followed or implemented ? We seem to be demanding that countless acres of pristine jungle be logged for the sake of producing tonnes of paper to be wasted on Commissions or Inquiries.

Enough is enough. Let the thieves go about their business, let them trip over themselves (as is clear from this episode that they have), and we can all have a good laugh while spreading the truth as widely as possible. Then we all exercise our inalienable right to choose the next government.

16. #16 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 11:17 pm

It’s so sad as the reality sets in that we cannot expect anything good to come out of AAb’s administration.

He is too much sucked into the system and has to feed the corrupt system, he has never been his own man since he became the PM!

It’s tragic because even his religiosity could not save him from the corruption swirling around him; his good upbringing could not stem the tide of rot that threatens to swallow him up. He is just trying to be nice to everyone so that he can keep his PM position, whatever happens. It seems like it’s PM’ship at all costs.

This was the man who said that he fears God. I see the fear of man and BN cronies is greater and overpowering him.

Hope no more for there is no hope left! Vote BN out!

17. #17 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 8 March 2007 - 11:53 pm

I suggest that the Opposition should launch their election manifesto soon with the following as some of the platform:

*Implement IPCMC

*Review of the NS Scheme

*Setting up of a Judicial Commission to appoint judges

*More definitive actions to combat corruption like bringing the some of the 18 prominent cases to court within six months of an election victory

*Have the ACA report to Parliament

*Amend laws that allow for detention without a judicial review within 6 months

*Provide programs that help ALL poor Malaysians improve their lot.

The manifesto should not be too long and easy for the common folks to understand and accept.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 12:17 am

“This was the man who said that he fears God. I see the fear of man and BN cronies is greater and overpowering him.” HORNBILL

It is true he fears the God of the Old Testament – this God is a punishing God.

They all do.

19. #19 by sheriff singh on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 1:04 am

Will Oolong tea work?

No. No way. Why? Because filthy water was used and you just cant get rid of the dirt.

20. #20 by sj on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 1:29 am

Ok here is the million dollar question, if Badawi fails his last chance, what will be the consequences here? I am curious. I really hope retributions and punishments will set in for those who has done wrong to the people of Malaysia, is that possible in this scenario>?

21. #21 by DiaperHead on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 2:36 am

Better than drinking cow’s milk with ginger..! Yuccckkks!!

22. #22 by pwcheng on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 3:58 am

Perhaps George Orwell who authored “Animal Farm” will be able to describe this country more than anybody else. The tale of the society, the animals form and its deterioration into a totalitarian regime mirrored well on UMNO.

The whole episode of investigations are farcical mired with a pair of unseen hands that are ready to give freedom at any cost. This rhetoric and “sandiwara” is being telecast live too often and already stale to most of us. The ending like most Hindustani films are already predictable.

Anyone with some brains and seriousness against corruption will never allow this type of investigation to happen. Police investigating the ACA boss and ACA investigating the Deputy minister of internal affairs. Knowing preety well that these two depts are closely related, what more he being an ex police officer there will be lots of conflict of interests and possible cover up so that “you can scratch my back when I had scratch yours”. What more they are not even ask to go on leave but allowed to lurch around to cover up the trails and I am sure being in the ACA he will know better than most people. This mockery will make us the laughing stock of the world. They will laugh out more loudly when they know that ACA is investigating the Police boss and police is investigating the ACA boss. What a coincident!!!
    Unless you have something in mind, no idiots will allow this to happen in such unique circumstances. We have known of sick society but in this Bolehland there stand stark naked a sick government
    UMNO three cheers!! Thanks for letting us cry until we have no tears.

23. #23 by wozilla on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 4:17 am

HJ Angus,
    You do write good entries, but do you learnt about basic HTML blog settings before?

24. #24 by k1980 on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 7:34 am

Asking the ACA to investigate Uncle Zulkipli, Johari and the rest is like George W Bush asking Uncle Osama Laden investigate Al Qaeda on the Sept 11 2001 attacks.

25. #25 by k1980 on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 8:34 am

Time to say “Good Riddance” to the “Holy PM”
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/letters.php?itemid=2947

26. #26 by Counterpointer on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 9:42 am

If the PM can give us an ACA that can investigate and prosecute any Minister , including himself, without fear or favour, then I’d say he’s serious about wiping out cooruption.

Anything less to me is just like an act of pruning a rotten tree.Even so these pruning works are seen to be done with much reluctance where only the real luckless ones get weeded out.

27. #27 by HJ Angus on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 10:11 am

wozilla
    “You do write good entries, but do you learnt about basic HTML blog settings before?”

I hope my grammar is good enough though.

No doubt the PM has inherited a system that has become corrupt over the past 24 years including 2 under his own watch but he just does not appreciate or comprehend the immense power he wields.

All those files on corrupt officials plus the EO laws must stack up to a major weapon against corruption if there is any intention to make things better for Malaysia.

28. #28 by sheriff singh on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 10:33 am

Confucious, he say, “People with weak stomachs can drink mother’s milk”.

29. #29 by WFH on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 11:25 am

Clang-clang-clang, goes the Bell. Last call, last call, for happy hours…

End of Happy-Hours for AAB & Co.

30. #30 by k1980 on Friday, 9 March 2007 - 3:46 pm

Confucious says, ” Ministers with long fingers will soon get to live in palaces” and “Birds of a feather will eat and crap together”

31. #31 by kiki on Saturday, 10 March 2007 - 12:32 pm

only a total reform with a
    change of government
    will save this land,
    no other solution.

32. #32 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 10 March 2007 - 11:11 pm

Merely barking and talking to mass media is useless.

Action speaks louder than words.

The previous prime minister was also talking big about anti corruption. What had been done? Where are those big fishes?

The present system in police, civil and public sectors are all grown up trees. You could hardly chop them down.

33. #33 by DiaperHead on Sunday, 11 March 2007 - 6:25 am

“People with weak stomachs can drink mother’s milk”. Sheriff Singh

Waah…! Sheriff Singh drinks his mother’s milk with ginger!! Yucccckks!