At 84, the fire still burns!

By Ahmad Mustapha

Singapore’s Minister Mentor, Lee Kuan Yew, who was Singapore’s founding father, has always been very direct in his comments. This was the man who outsmarted the communists in Singapore (with the innocent help of Malaya then and the willing help of the British) and who later outwitted the British and outpaced Malaysia in all spheres.

Singapore practices corrupt-free meritocracy and Malaysia affirmative action. The former attracted all the best brains and the latter chased out all the brains. The Singapore cabinet consists of dedicated and intelligent technocrats whereas Malaysia has one the most unwieldy cabinets. Not only that, brain wise it was below par not even good for the kampong.

With that kind of composition, one that is very brainy, naturally Singapore , with no natural resources could outstrip Malaysia in every aspect of development. Malaysia, on the other hand, was too much preoccupied with its Malayness and the illusory ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ and was also more interested in useless mega iconic development rather than real social and economic development.

Whenever Kuan Yew utters anything that deemed to be a slight on Malaysia , voices were raised admonishing him. Malaysia would never dare to face reality. That Singapore had shown that it could survive was a slap on those who believed that Singapore would fold up once it left Malaysia . Therefore it was natural that these doomsayers would try to rationalise their utterances to be in their favour to combat on whatever Kuan Yew commented. Its political jealousy.

Singapore achieved its development status without any fanfare. But here in Malaysia , a development that was deceptive was proclaimed as having achieved development status. It was trumpeted as an achievement that befits first world status. This was self delusion. Malaysians are led to believe into a make believe world, a dream world. The leaders who themselves tend to believe in their own fabricated world did not realise the people were not taken in by this kind of illusion.

Lee Kuan Yew believed in calling a spade a spade. I was there in Singapore when the People’s Action Party won the elections in 1959. He was forthright in his briefing to party members as to what was expected of them and what Singapore would face in the future. Ideologically, I did not agree with him. We in the University of Malaya Socialist Club had a different interpretation of socialist reconstruction. But he was a pragmatist and wanted to bring development and welfare to the Singaporeans. Well! He succeeded.

Malaysia was so much embroiled in racial politics and due to the fear of losing political power, all actions taken by the main party in power was never targeted towards bringing wealth to all. Wealth was distributed to the chosen few only. They were the cronies and the backers of the party leadership to perpetuate their own selfish ends.

Seeing the efficiency and the progress achieved by Singapore caused the Malaysian leadership to suffer from an inferiority complex. That Malaysia should suffer from this complex was of its own making.

In a recent interview, Kuan Yew said that Malaysia could have done better if only it treated its minority Chinese and Indian population fairly. Instead they were completely marginalised and many of the best brains left the country in drove. He added that Singapore was a standing indictment to what Malaysia could have done differently. He just hit the nail right there on the head.

Malaysia recently celebrated its 50th year of independence with a bagful of uncertainties. The racial divide has become more acute. The number of Malay graduates unemployed is on the increase. And this aspect can be very explosive. But sad to see that no positive actions have been taken to address these social ills.

Various excuses were given by Malaysian leaders why Singapore had far outstripped Malaysia in all aspects of social and economic advancement. Singapore was small, they rationalised and therefore easy to manage. Singapore was not a state but merely an island.

There was one other aspect that Malaysia practises and that is to politicise all aspects of life. All government organs and machinery were ‘UMNO-ised’. This was to ensure that the party will remain in power. Thus there was this misconception by the instruments of government as to what national interest is and what UMNO vested interest is.

UMNO vested interest only benefited a few and not the whole nation. But due to the UMNO-isation of the various instruments of government, the country under the present administration had equated UMNO vested interest as being that of national interest. Thus development became an avenue of making money and not for the benefit of the people. The fight against corruption took a back seat. Transparency was put on hold. And the instruments of government took it to be of national interest to cater to the vested interest of UMNO. Enforcement of various enactments and laws was selective. Thus a ‘palace’ in Kelang, APs cronies and close-one-eye umno MPs could exist without proper procedure. Corruption infested all govt departments, the worse is the police and lately even in the judiciary.

Singapore did not politicise its instruments of government. If ever policisation took place, it is guided by national interest. To be efficient and to be the best in the region was of paramount importance. Thus all the elements like corruption, lackadaisical attitude towards work and other black elements, which would retard such an aim, were eliminated. Singapore naturally had placed the right priority in it’s pursuit to achieve what is best for its people. This is the major difference between these two independent countries.

Malaysia in its various attempts to cover up its failures embarked on several diversions. It wanted its citizens to be proud that the country had the tallest twin-tower in the world, although the structure was designed and built by foreigners. Its now a white-elephant wasting away. It achieved in sending a man into space at an exorbitant price. What for purpose? These are what the Malays of old would say “menang sorak” (hollow victories).

It should be realised that administering a country can be likened to managing a corporate entity. If the management is efficient and dedicated and know what they are doing, the company will prosper. The reverse will be if the management is poor and bad. The company will go bust.

There are five countries around this region. There is Malaysia , and then Indonesia . To the east there is the Philippines and then there is that small enclave called the Sultanate of Brunei . All these four countries have abundance of natural resources but none can lay claim to have used all these resources to benefit the people. Poverty was rampant and independence had not brought in any significant benefits to the people.

But tiny Singapore without any resources at all managed to bring development to its citizens. It had one of the best public MRT transport systems and airlines in the world and it is a very clean city state. Their universities, health care, ports are among the best in the world.

It is impossible to compare what Singapore has achieved to what all these four countries had so far achieved. It was actually poor management and corruption, and nothing more. Everything is done for the vested interest of the few.

Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines and the Sultanate of Brunei need good management teams. They would not be able to do this on their own steam. I would advise that they call on Kuan Yew to show them what good governance is. Why look East to Japan when it is just next door across the causeway.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by AhPek on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:15 pm

And every year the General Auditor’s report stating overwhelming spending and wastages far exceeding budgets go unheeded.The files in so far as the UMNOPUTRAS are concerned are fit to be put away to gather dusts.

2. #2 by AhPek on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:40 pm

The truth is,Melurian,the people of Malaysia are sodomised by this shameless bunch of UMNOPUTRAS, and don’t tell me you’re not.If you’re not,you must be one of the sodomisers then.

3. #3 by megaman on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

Singapore is not perfect and some even say that Singapore is not even better than Malaysia …

But the thing that irritates and annoyed a lot of Msians is the fact that Malaysia can easily be better than Singapore in a lot of things that currently Singapore beats us at.

Our economy could easily be bigger than Singapore’s.

Our rakyat can easily get bigger better pay on average compared to Singapore’s.

Our healthcare can be better than theirs.

Our army and police can definitely be better than theirs.

All these are very possible because we have natural resources, abundant land and resourceful local talents.

It is simply because we have a bad governance. ONE single drawback killed all the advantages we have and in the end we lose out. This is what that Msians in Singapore see day in day out when they compare Singapore and Msia.

Say you want to say but the fact remains. Singapore beats Malaysia at nation-building and development simply becoz they have a competent government and clear effective policies that work.

Out of nothing, they build a nation when we started off with so much yet today we have so little.

4. #4 by megaman on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 1:23 pm

Sorry … corrections … our economy IS BIGGER than Singapore just that our GDP per capita sucks compared to Singapore’s …

Which means our rakyat is poorer.

5. #5 by melurian on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 1:46 pm

“But the thing that irritates and annoyed a lot of Msians is the fact that Malaysia can easily be better than Singapore in a lot of things that currently Singapore beats us at.”

the thing is some ppl don comprehend this. with just “average” decent govemment, malaysia can easily surpass singapur, this I must admit. but the reality is our gov’s performing below par, even they mess up things they can easily bailed out by excuses and accepted (and supported) by public. this is very sad sad case……. sgpura and probably us and a must be very envy with our gov – no joke.

6. #6 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:06 pm

/// but the reality is our gov’s performing below par, even they mess up things they can easily bailed out by excuses and accepted (and supported) by public. ///

melurian, how long more do you think the government can keep on bailing out failed Bumi companies? When is the oil & gas running out?

7. #7 by natsinned on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:07 pm

“Singapore was small, they rationalised and therefore easy to manage. Singapore was not a state but merely an island.”
    Being this the reasons, lets choose the state that its size is comparative, plus or minus. Measure the cooporate governance of this Malaysian State vis-a-vis to Singapore ever since independence. Is it close enough to compare???. Touch your hearts, Mr Malay of Malaysia and answer this simple question in the relation to your faith that you are “professing” in the name of your “Malaysian” Allah(trade mark for Malaysia Only).

8. #8 by trublumsian on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:11 pm

melurian,

congratulations. u just pass with flying colors the kind of minds the government wants!

9. #9 by trublumsian on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:35 pm

“the star reported today the government is setting aside RM3 million for young Indians to be entrepreneurs. the Indian community is elated with the huge windfall and is grateful for the opportunities for the young minds.

turning to news at the state level, the executive committee of terengganu has just announced that it will set aside RM3.4 million for the purchase of 14 mercedes benzes as personal rides for the executives. the selfless officials are elated with the huge windfall and is grateful for the opportunities be served by the rakyat.

more news on the national front, the star also reported the police has raised the issue of receiving inferior quality in the shipment of RM100 million worth of equipment. the complaint negates a recent euphoria in the huge windfall and opportunities to use the best gear in meeting the needs of a massive traffic jam and navy seal styled capture of the anwar.

turning our focus to the business and employment news, the federal government released today a report there has been, more than ever, applications for government jobs this year. this is positive news for all as it shows more young minds are taking a serious look at the civil service. on a related note, the economy to-date has been encouraging as malaysia’s gdp is still larger than that of singapore’s. debt is holding up at a healthy level as this allows for a larger denomination of the ringgit currency and also allows the printing of more money.”

10. #10 by Godfather on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:39 pm

Congratulations, melurian, you have gone a step ahead of Mike Tyson, who still has difficulty understanding English. The comment about “average decent government” being able to propel Bolehland past Singapore is debatable, but what we agree upon is that we have had mediocre governance for the past 30 years.

11. #11 by AhPek on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:58 pm

“……..is the fact that Malaysia can easily be better than Singapor in a lot of things that currently Singapore beats us at.”. megaman.

How so? The only advantage that Malaysia has is land size and natural resources given by Tuan Allah.The rest of the items mentioned like average pay, health care,police army or police,pray tell how Malaysia can easily be better than Singapore for these are not naturally given things.

12. #12 by AhPek on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 3:28 pm

TheWrathOfGrapes,Sir,

China has even a far larger economy than all those countries mentioned by you.Her GDP is 3.42 trillion.To further assist melurian to comprehend this figure 1 trillion is 1,000,000,000,000 and 1billion is 1,ooo,ooo,ooo.
    But I don’t understand,sir,how come you find many china girls coming here making many of our men really happy in Malaysia! China is very rich,what!!

13. #13 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 4:02 pm

Yes, AhPek, correct, correct, correct. In fact, China’s economy is even bigger at 6.99 trillion on a ppp basis. By the same token, Indonesia is also very rich with GDP of 837.8 billion. Indonesian are so rich that they have to smuggle themselves across the border to become illegal immigrants and to rob and bludgeon AhPeks for their money. And don’t forget India – also welly welly rich with GDP of 2.989 trillion.

14. #14 by AhPek on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 5:39 pm

TheWrathOfGrapes,I think all these happenings ie people from all these rich countries coming here to make our men happy and also coming in as illegals to rob our people are getting a bit puzzling and confusing for our brains to comprehend,perhaps we should ask melurian to tell us how is that so.

15. #15 by cheng on on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 11:19 pm

Those who still think Msia had a bigger GNP than Spore, U are wrong, if go by nominal value. Msia GNP is bigger only if we use PPP value. Melurian ! Wake up lah ?

16. #16 by Tpg2Sin on Saturday, 2 August 2008 - 11:58 am

The last time I had the opportunity to go to Singapore was in 1994. It was one of the places that I visit a lot during my primary school days. Normally as part of our trip back to my father’s hometown in JB, we will normally drive to Singapore and stay there for a night or two at either our relatives or at my mom’s friend place. After 1994, most of my relatives have decided to go back and stay in Johor and my mom’s friend has since move back to Germany. So, when I was given the opportunity to go to Singapore for a conference recently, I was quite excited.

Singapore to be brutally honest was impressive. No cities in Malaysia can be compared to Singapore. Being in Singapore is like being in a European city. The only thing that brought me to reality that I was in Asia is the weather. The first thing that I notice is the cleanliness. Over the years I heard a lot of people talking that Singapore was clean and you can hardly find any rubbish lying around. I guess the Republic strict enforcement was to be blame for this. But it is actually a good thing. I would prefer to have a clean country than a dirty one. Some politician might say that Malaysia is still cleaner when compared to Indonesia or Thailand. I actually don’t care about who we are cleaner than. What I care is how to improve and surpass the one above us.

I went to the Singapore Central Business District (CBD) that afternoon. Riding the MRT, I couldn’t see how the landscape of Singapore was. But emerging from the MRT station at Raffles Place, I suddenly had the feeling that I was now in New York. Around me were tall buildings, most of them owned by banks. I was in the middle of the CBD. There was a small garden there which I assume where the office workers around here would sit and eat their lunch. The environment was impressive. The planning was superb. You don’t see any building that is foreign in that area. It was a fruit of thorough planning.

Later in the evening, I walked from the CBD up to Clarke’s Quay, along Singapore River. Clarke’s Quay is the home of G-Max reverse bungee. It looks like a fun ride but I dare not to ride it since I have acrophobia. Besides that, there are a lot of tourists hangout place here such as bars, clubs and restaurant and amongst them, Hooters. This place was packed with people despite being a Monday night. Most of them are foreign tourists, but with Singapore having so many foreign expats, it is almost impossible to distinguish them apart. This is a stark contrast compared to KL, where hangout places such as in Jalan P.Ramlee are pretty much empty except for weekends.

However, despite all this impressive development that Singapore has, one thing that really caught my attention is how people in Singapore treat each other. People in Malaysia are always given the idea that Singaporean is racists and apply double standards against the Malays. Malays in Singapore are treated badly and all preferential treatment is given to the Chinese and Indian. My personal experience and through conversation with Singaporean themselves is a stark contrast from the rumors we Malaysian hear back home. They are actually living in harmony. No clear tension appears in their society. The basic rule there, which is the same in any developed country, is that you have to earn anything you want. Be it wealth, respect, position or even benefits. Basically you compete in a fair playing field.

Comparing Malaysia to Singapore is a taboo for Malaysians. We keep saying that we are better than them. In my honest opinion, we are currently 10 years behind them in almost all aspect. Malaysia and Singapore was on equal level before 1995. After the financial crisis, we are still crawling but Singapore has actually sprinted to become a developed country. Our leaders keep saying Malaysian need to copy or take some European countries or US as a role model in our quest to become a developed country. You don’t actually have to look far. Just have a look south of our borders. Instead of copying Japan or Korea, we should take Singapore as example and improve ourselves.

17. #17 by Tpg2Sin on Saturday, 2 August 2008 - 12:01 pm

My view on Singapore
    Posted by d.E. under Trips | Tags: cbd, clarke’s quay, malaysia, mrt, singapore |
    http://papabear959.wordpress.com/2008/07/22/50/

18. #18 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Saturday, 2 August 2008 - 11:08 pm

/// melurian Says:
    Yesterday at 11: 07.09
    still, do you agree malaysia (on current situation) “richer” than singapur? malaysia with higher gdp, with higher revenue is richer than singapur ? I’m not saying malaysians, but malaysia as country.///

melurian, I finally figured out your logic. Silly me, how slow of me.

So, by your logic, the total IQ in your family of 10 members is 800. The total IQ in my family of 4 is only 600. So, 800 > 600. Therefore your family as a whole is smarter than mine. I am not saying your family members’ average IQ, but your family.

No wonder I am so slow and couldn’t keep up with your superior IQ. Hit myself on head. Duh…

19. #19 by ChinNA on Saturday, 2 August 2008 - 11:19 pm

Brain drain is present in both countries. However, I believe there is a net gain for Singapore.

Anyone knows the facts if my gut-feel is true?

Singapore has a dominant Chinese population. … a significant of them from Malaysia. Recently a Malaysian won the top prize as one of the best food stalls.

A few of the current batch of MPs are from Malaysia.

There are persons from Malaysia who are successful in Singapore and it is seen in all levels of the society, from food stalls to MPs.

Chew on that and we all get indigestion.

20. #20 by davelim881 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:26 am

melurian 11 07.09

You are correct, Malaysia is richer than Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and Singapore etc, in terms of GDP. I am glad that you think this way.

21. #21 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:01 am

Likewise melurian will say a family of 8 with a household income of RM3000 per month is better off than a family of 3 with a household income of RM1500 per month. Why not after all RM3000>RM1500 right or not? You think I am stupid,meh he’ll say.

22. #22 by tai kormeng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

There is a common saying among Singaporeans, ” Luckily for us, Malaysia is governed by the so called Umnoputras. Otherwise, we Singaporeans would have nowhere to stand”

23. #23 by Chombi on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:08 pm

‘Golden Service’ should now trim its fats

I would suggest that:
    1) All govt. servants grade M54 and below travel on economy class flights, and Jusa C to A travel on business class flights, only Turus on first class, on official duties & training(domestic & abroad). A side-effect of accelerated promotions – MAS golden lounges now crowded with civil servants, some barely 40; not unlike the flock of young(baby book-keepers) CEO of GLCs(TNB,TM,Maybank +) from Khazanah’s coop.
    2) Oversea trips for participants of Jusa courses should be replaced with visits to domestic destinations.
    3) Prevent attendance at the regular RM 4000 per head 3 day courses(on negotiation skills -the lack of which had resulted in our loss of Batu Puteh!) by the Harvard Business School, Charles River Centre (previously attendance was ‘paksa-rela’ through a letter from PM’s dept.).
    4) Check abuse of office cars(including free petrol); some head of depts. are accused of enjoying the previlege of using 2 perdana V6 – 1 as official car for head of dept. and another kept at home,reserved to be purchased on retirement at a nominal price.
    5) Indispensability of senior govt. servants – propose YB to request facts on no. of govt. servants (by grade & position)whose services have been extended(on contract), in certain cases a few times, and provide rationale for such extensions. Such incidences demotivates the others and encourages propagation of the ‘old ways’.
    6) Excessive time away from office by Head of Depts – on field trips and ceremonial functions(opening/launching ceremonies of activities – eg. training sessions, regional meetings, following ministers, visiting branch offices all over the country).
    Suggestion: their out-station activities should be approved by the KSN and their monthly travelling claims should be verified by the same. A summary of the annual total of such claims should be documented and presented to the KSN, while the details should be scrutinised by the Auditor General.

24. #24 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:57 pm

The Auditor General Report is but a piece of scrap paper not acted on by anybody only fit to be put away to gather dust.That’s how screwed up this country is!!

25. #25 by melurian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:38 pm

siapa cakap norway, sweden, swiss gdp > malaysia. sweden, norway, swiss gdp > 400k. malaysia ~180k. singapura ~160k. ape cakap. malaysia got petroleum, rubber, palm oil, agriculture, manufacturing factories, it’s obvious malaysia is richer than sgpura. and the country afford to lose millions and billions and still cool about it. so wat sgpura has huge reserve, esp in u.s money, when they store in u.s money, it’s u.s money anyway. it’s like to put your money in bank and don use it. where as malaysia use the “income” to fatten the gov ppl, mansions, build nice infrastructure like klcc and penang bridge – money it’s not like arak, it’s wise to spend it rather to keep for donno how long…..

26. #26 by flyer168 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:15 pm

Dear YB LKS,

I had trained in UK, then served in the Corporate world in Singapore in the mid 60s to the early 70s under LKY with his mentor Dr Syed Hussein Al Atas heading the UM there.

It was tough initially as a Malaysian Malay, but the experience & lessons I learned whilst working there…..a Billion dollars cannot buy me the “Corporate Discipline, Training, Responsibility & Accountability to be the “Leader & the Best” in one’s “Vocation”.

It was well worth the “Blood, Sweat & Tears” which allowed me to later enjoy the “Fruits of my Hard Labour”, including my CPF savings in “Sing” Dollars .

Those were the qualities that I still maintain & had impressed upon with my children when they were younger & my grandchildren now.

LKY is a top Academic scholar, a Professional & an astute Politician who had worked hard & struggled in the early years after the breakaway from Malaysia with no natural Resources to talk about.

In comparison to Malaysia with all its Natural Resources, etc under 05 PMs since then….

LKY had his many “Trials & Tribulations” in his time, but he quickly recognised the shortcomings & rectified/refined the policy/ implementation to make it successful.

LKY single handedly managed & guided Singapore to be the Leading Asian Hub of Economic, Financial, Professional, Academic & Educational Excellence, etc. within four deacdes.

One can call it “Democracy”, “Guided Democracy”, “Autocratic”, etc but he managed to CONTROL the situation to achieve the IMPLEMENTATION Phase & the SUCCESS of the POLICY to BENEFIT its CITIZENS ie the MRT, the HDB, the Highways, etc

His cabinet Ministers & Civil servants would rather do unto themselves for any wrong doings than face LKY – that is what I call “Acountability & Integrity to “Achieve” the nation’s
    “Aspirations”. The Taxpayer’s money well spent on any projects for the benefit of its citizens.

LKY is a well respected “International Statesman” who has succeeded and achieved his “Aspirations” to put Singapore on the International map as the Premier “Asian” nation to be reckoned with Internationally.

Today I am enjoying my profession in the Global Corporate scenario
    with that Discipline, Integrity, Accountability & qualifications, experience, etc speaking for itself in the Global context.

Yes, We could have saved “Billions” of our tax money over the years, if only our BN government had put their “Ketetuanan” Ego aside to Acknowledge & Accept their “Shortcomings”, Learn from , affiliate with, form an Alliance with their Singapore Partners, etc….

Today, our BN government has literally sold out our National assets , Telecommunications, Databases, etc to Singapore such that Singapore can “Strangulate” Malaysia in more than one ways without even crossing its borders.

If Malaysia continues on this “Trajectory”, one of these days….Malaysia could become part of the Singapore-Batam Archipelago. No?

Do we still want to blame Singapore, Sabahans, Sarawakians, the Chinese, Indians, Malays, etc for Malaysia’s WOES ???

Here’s something to ponder -

10 Sins Against Humanity :-

1. Politics without Principles…
    2. Wealth without Work….
    3. Enjoyment without Conscience….
    4. Knowledge without Character…..
    5. Business without morality…..
    6. Science without Humanity…..
    7. Religion without Compassion….
    8. Rights without Responsibility….
    9. Power without Accountability….
    10.Development without Sustainability

flyer168 in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

27. #27 by Jibai on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:48 pm

Hey everyone,

No need to argue on which country better. The truth is already out there. Even yourself have an answer. Just accept it.

Comments are closed.