This is the blackest day for Parliament in 50 years.
In utter contempt of the sanctity of Parliament and the honour and dignity of Members of Parliament, the police arrested over 20 people in the parliamentary precincts.
Among those arrested were PAS leaders Mustapha Ali and Dr. Hatta Ramli, Parti Keadilan Rakyat secretary-general Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and Information chief Tian Chua, Parti Sosialis Malaysia protem chairman Dr. Nasir Hashim as well as activists from the Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (Bersih) including Suaram executive director Yap Swee Seng, Centre for Independent Journalism executive director V Gayathry, Pusat Komas programme director Mien Lor, Writers Alliance for Media Independence chairperson Wong Chin Huat, PAS Research Centre director Dr Dzulkifli Ahmad and Harakah advertising manager Mokhtar Rosaidi.
I was eye-witness to the police arrest of Mustapha, Yap Swee Seng, Wong Chin Huat and Gayathry within the precincts of Parliament. In fact, I was accompanying Yap, Wong and Gayathry out of Parliament when the police abused its powers to effect the arrest within parliamentary precincts during lunch-break.
I protested strongly against such a most shameful episode in the annals of Malaysian history in 50 years when Dewan Rakyat resumed sitting after lunch recess, proposing a privilege motion to direct the Police to release all arrested within parliamentary precincts – as the police arrests should have been made outside Parliament. However, there was no support whatsoever from any Barisan Nasional MP or Minister.
Nine DAP MPs and one PAS MP also met the Speaker, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah to lodge the strongest possible protest and he said he would seek clarification from the Inspector-of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan.
The blackest day for Parliament in 50 years after the Black Sunday of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in his fifth year as fifth Prime Minister of Malaysia.

#1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:23 am
At that time, the people of Bolehland will be mired in poverty, the remaining politicians will be struggling to keep their heads above water, and there will be inquests into the hidden fortunes of [deleted]
#2 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:32 am
…and we can’t do a damn thing about it!!!
#3 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:35 am
Here’s more of what Abduallah Badawi had said:
On whether the position of prime minister had eroded his image as “Mr Clean” and “Mr Nice Guy”, Abdullah said: “I know, God knows, I’m clean and I’m still nice.”
However, he added being nice did not mean being weak. “As far as I am concerned, what is right is right. What is wrong is wrong… If I have to sign a detention order for ISA (Internal Security Act), I will do it without feeling guilty,” he said.
=========================================
Sure God knows! We don’t!
He’s wrong when he said “Right is right” when he failed to act that left is left.
#4 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:35 am
oops add
#5 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:36 am
HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ALL!
#6 by sj on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:42 am
Marcos and his cronies stole the Philippines blind for 19 years. How long do you reckon Badawi and the den of thieves have to steal from Bolehland ?
You forgot to add another 22 years of blindness to Malaysia. Malaysia will be a country that has been duped for at least, 3 decades. Yes, we are heading towards the Marcos incident. History repeats itself.
#7 by Man_of_Honour on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:37 am
What have our King been doing? It’s really sad to say that the biggest terrorist party control our government.
They rob the rakyats’ hard earned money and still think that they are doing us a favour.
Our King, are you really comfortable with the current administration? Rakyat are suffering out here. Do you hear our plea?
There is no more justice in Malaysia, no more freedom, no more rights. And it’s no longer a safe place to stay.
#8 by lakshy on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:01 am
AAB’s actions now is a form of cleansing too!
#9 by lakshy on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:03 am
From Wiki
[E]thnic cleansing is a well-defined policy of a particular group of persons to systematically eliminate another group from a given territory on the basis of religious, ethnic or national origin. Such a policy involves violence and is very often connected with military operations. It is to be achieved by all possible means, from discrimination to extermination, and entails violations of human rights and international humanitarian law.”[3]
The official United Nations definition of ethnic cleansing is “rendering an area ethnically homogeneous by using force or intimidation to remove from a given area persons of another ethnic or religious group”[4]
sound familiar?
#10 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:45 am
We cannot stereotype all Malays as UMNO’s supporters, MCA Chinese and MIC Indians too are UMNO’s supporters, at the same time, there are a fair share of Malays who understand the Hindraf issue and may not vote UMNO. Malays who has their eyes opened can also see how some of their own who lives in rumah setinggan, where their fate is worst than the Indians in the plantations. We will not lose Malay votes, but we have lost votes from radical Muslims for sure, that’s because they will never vote multi-racial political party like DAP or PKR. Have we really lost anything? judging by Abdullah’s action, I think we are winning, that’s for sure.
#11 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:22 am
The only good thing about this is that they arrested a good number of Malay opposition leaders. This makes more difference than anything else frankly. It will chip away at Badawi confidence to take harsher action.
The biggest question to me is what will Anwar do as a follow-up. As the defacto opposition leader what can he do to up the stake? His choice is not easy. He can easily up the stake by organizing the biggest rally ever and have himself arrested OR he wait it out and contest in a real GE. But the problem is the GE is likely before he is eligible. What then? Do he up the stake now or do he wait another 4/5 years?
Bersih need to organize another rally, a mega one, and have Anwar/Nik Aziz in front. The best strategy would be to do it during the campaign period of the coming GE, preferable at the start of the campaign period. An overly aggressive government action during that period would turn off even the Malay heartland and reduce vote for UMNO and for sure would galvanize Sabah voters. In fact, they should have a separate one in Sabah to co-incide with a KL rally.
The ease of which UMNO changed the Constitution to accomodate the career of one man scares the living daylight out of me. Denying BN their 2/3 majority is urgent and lets face the fact. BN is going to win comfortably in the next GE and chances of denying the 2/3 is small without a recession.
#12 by sotong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:23 am
The previous PM did the same and lasted 22 years………this could work for the present PM.
#13 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:04 am
Jeffooi has some youtube posting that is interesting.
They arrested Mustafa Ali although he was inside Parliament. The policemen, clearly were not sure what they were doing but wanted to just follow order to arrest. It was shameful. They did not want to show court order, they did not allow Mustafa Ali, an elected MP to enter Parliament, they dragged away by force the old man as Hissamuddin just walked by (this is PM material to walk away from brute action against an elder? This is Melayu glocal?). At least they could have a public prosecutor follow the police on this one.
How can you stop MPs from going into Parliament? How many Parliamentary rules and not to mention procedural law was violated by these arrests?
Langar undang undang indeed.
#14 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:33 am
“…they dragged away by force the old man ..” Bigjoe
The didn’t have to do that. All they need do is inform the person he is under arrest and inform him why. They put their hands on him and cuff him. They didn’t have to talk to him, answer questions or show proof of anything. If he resists arrest then they are allowed to use reasonable force to effect the arrest.
Do they know what they are doing? Aren’t they trained at all in the law of effecting an arrest?
#15 by Toyol on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:36 am
It was a crazy day yesterday what with the massive traffic jams…all caused by our dear policemen. I could see they were not happy at all with the situation. I don’t blame them. All major roads into and out of the city was blocked…not sure why? Maybe there is a hidden agenda!
#16 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:09 am
What do we expect a village idiot leading a bunch of gobloks, with Kera Jahat the de facto pm? So now the whole nation has gone nuts!!!
#17 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:14 am
There’s no two ways, we must vote BN/UMNO out! Send the tremors. Taiwan did it, so did Australia.
Please let’s stop further rot and save this country of ours.
#18 by raverus on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 12:58 pm
Police state!!
#19 by g2geetoo on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 1:19 pm
dont tell me, our beloved King also “kecutâ€â€¦ says budak.
The Rakyat is in a platter to be served on the table already! Birds of a feather flock together. It’s a Umno power struggle and both Team A and Team B are scheming their many plots to out smart each other.
Sigh…….Badawi has disappointed those who offered him a hand!
#20 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 1:19 pm
undergrad2, you said:
“The didn’t have to do that. All they need do is inform the person he is under arrest and inform him why. They put their hands on him and cuff him. They didn’t have to talk to him, answer questions or show proof of anything. If he resists arrest then they are allowed to use reasonable force to effect the arrest.”
- mind you that was within the confines of Parliament house, my friend!
#21 by budak on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 1:32 pm
Parlimen..???
Malaysia got Parliament House..???
Malaysia democratic country…???
this is the 1st impression from my friends from oversea…
#22 by lakshy on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:12 pm
kid, if you are really studying, its best you concentrate on your studies so you dont have to repeat a third time.
#23 by hutchrun on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:44 pm
RPK writes:
When Chong Kah Kiat files his suit against the government in the Kota Kinabalu High Court because of the fatwah by the Sabah Mufti that Buddhist statues are haram and can’t be allowed, that would make the Buddhists angry. When the attempted murder trial of the HINDRAF supporters starts, that would make the Hindus angry. And when they act on the police report against Abdullah for his crime of sabotaging Mahathir in the Kubang Pasu division election, many in the top echelons of Umno will come forward to testify to ensure that the noose around Abdullah’s neck will become tighter.
http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/index.php?itemid=1042
#24 by hutchrun on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:48 pm
UMNO’S RELIGIOUS INTOLERANCE
UMNO comes out with fatwahs declaring Buddhist statues haram and forbids its erection while PAS allows the largest Buddhist statue in the country.
UMNO demolishes Hindu temples while PAS summons Hindus for a meeting and offers them permission to build one though they never asked for it thinking that surely PAS would say no if Umno says no.
And Abdullah Badawi’s Islam Hadhari is NOT as liberal as what UMNO says it is.
And this will make the Chinese sit up and take note… whether the Umno government and Abdullah’s Islam Hadhari is tolerant to Buddhists and Hindus.
And luckily the UMNOMember of Parliament’s resolution in Parliament that missionary schools be made to remove all Christian religious symbols, statues and crosses was vetoed.
If not the Christians too would join the Buddhists and Hindus in opposing the government.
http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2007/12/sabah-muftis-fatwa-buddhist-statues-are.html
#25 by emgbrl on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:28 pm
Dear Malaysians,
Let us all channel our Dissatisfaction & Disgust with the corrupt ruling UMNO Racist/Fascist Government by actively campaigning to all our friends,relatives, colleagues, neighbours & everybody else to VOTE WISELY & to REDUCE the BN Majority in BOTH State & Parliament Seats in the coming GE.We must do this in our Temples, Churches, Mosques and other places of worship.Not forgetting learning institutions and our workplaces as well.
The UMNO Govt is now Increasingly DESPERATE and has started its campaign to divide the People by Race,Religion , Political affiliation & Economic Class by its Daily Propaganda in the Media.
We must strive to open the eyes of all Malaysians and win their hearts & minds including those in the rural areas. Let us start this process NOW while there is still time!There are just TOO MANY issues going out of hand currently and this country is slowly but surely descending into CHAOS.
Too much energy is being wasted by fighting over too many issues. CHANGE begins internally in our OWN MINDS. Great Empires have been brought down by the will of the People when they all come together and speak in ONE VOICE!!!The Opposition should also speak in ONE VOICE and form a UNITED FRONT for the People!!!(THE PEOPLE’S FRONT/BARISAN RAKYAT)
Let us not allow the BN Propaganda Machine to succeed in dividing the People Further & Further in our minds!!!
Only when Malaysians are TRULY UNITED can this GIANT BEAST called BN be brought down to its knees!
Enough of Demonstrations & Petition Writings!!The UMNO-BN Govt can only be DEFEATED at the Ballot BOX!!So let’s work hard to deny them their majority at BOTH STATE & PARLIAMENT levels!!!
12/12 12:12:25
#26 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:02 pm
Can someone compile the litany of lies spread by PM/DPM?
Remember the Bumi and non-Bumi equity: 10, 20 or 90%? The whole issue has died down. Typical way to deal with the public knowing that memeory is short & media exposure is stifled.
Then the 18 corruption cases?
Then the…and the…and the….and the… ad nauseam…ad infinitum
I am so sickened and wearied by the profusion of lies and scandals. These monks simply have no morals. I am emotionally exhausted!
#27 by carloz28 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:01 pm
V for Vendetta……
#28 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:28 pm
“Made in Malaysia” Marcos in the making!!
#29 by liaw3003sc on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:52 pm
I’m real sad over the country’s situation. We love all Malaysian irrespective of race or religion (because God say so). The Hindraf only want to ask the government to provide systemised help to the poor Indian but the whole thing has been turn bloody upside down by the UMNO dictated government. What a shame and pity.
I believe many Malaysians are now being ‘lip tied’ by the government and PDRM’s threat of detention and invocation of ISA. What can we do now? Will someone please share some light.
The government must help the non-Malay poor like Felda taking care of their settlers; RM100 million allocation announced few days ago by DPM for various assistance to the settlers (including to provide 6 months post graduate training to settlers’ children with RM1000 monthly allowance!). What could the RM3 million allocated through MIC do for the whole Indian community?
And are the poverty statistic true? I have big doubt. Even if it is true. it must be a big failure on the part of the government if our Malay fellow country men is still having such a high poverty rate! Yes, we must also help them; get them into Felda scheme, or are they refusing to go? Just work as an oil palm plantation harvester will already net them easily RM500 a month; the poverty dividing line. In our resource rich country, I’m really puzzled if someone could not earn more than RM500 a month! I think its high time to put in at least 40% of non-Malay officers in the related ministries or departments to help reduce the poverty faster. I’m sure they will be able help achieve the poverty eradication target in no time! (I have the same idea for PROTON; why we need foreign partnership, we just need to pour in at least 40% non-Malay staffs and expect the radical change! I sincerely hope that my fellow Malay countrymen will take this as a practical and effective way to solve PROTON problem, and not as doubt to Malay’s capability).
I know there are so many Indonesian workers getting more than RM1000 a month just by doing oil palm fresh fruit bunches harvesting for the local oil palm small holders in Kluang. And if I’m not wrongly informed, many Felda settlers in Bukit Goh near Kuantan are employing Indonesian to do the harvesting for them, instead of doing it themselves. Are they still living in poverty? Are their income already net of payment to those Indonesian?
#30 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 11:12 pm
How dreadful to carry out any arrest
Before having the chance to take lunch rest
Hope we still have brains to do what is best
Lest we have to bear the brunt of being the world’s jest
(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 151207
Http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
Sat. 15th Dec. 2007.