Sanctity of Parliament violated – Chin Huat sings Negaraku on arrest (YouTube)

YouTube video of police violation of sanctity of Parliament with unprecedented mass arrests of BERSIH activists in parliamentary precincts yesterday, Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2007.

What was their crime? For upholding the Malaysian Constitution for wanting to have free and fair elections?

Writers Alliance for Media Independence chairperson Wong Chin Huat held up the Constitution and sang Negaraku when he was arrested by the Police in Parliament yesterday to tell the world that he committed no crime except for his love for the country and to protect and promote the Malaysian Constitution.

See this most touching and memorable episode captured for posterity by Lim Swee Kuan in YouTube.

Also arrested at the same time as Chin Huat were Suaram executive director Yap Swee Seng, Centre for Independent Journalism executive director V Gayathry (both on YouTube) and Pusat Komas programme director Mien Lor.

DAP MPs Chong Eng (Bukit Mertajam), Fong Kui Lun (Bukit Bintang), M. Kulasegaran (Ipoh Barat), Chow Kon Yeow (Tanjong), Fong Pokuan (Batu Gajah), Lim Hock Seng (Bagan), Chong Chien Jen (Bandar Kuching) and I were taking the four for lunch outside Parliament when the police swooped and intercepted them while in parliamentary precincts as if they were “top villains” of the country!

Shame for Parliament! Shame for Malaysia!

1. #1 by Jamesy on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:01 am

Another Ops Lalang in the making?

2. #2 by Chong Zhemin on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:03 am

I told my friends that Malaysian police set up road blocks at all the major roads to parliament. the police also dragged tian chua out of his car. and pak lah even said that it is okay for the police to arrest civilians “outside” the parliament!

My friends reply was “Isn’t Malaysia a democratic country?”

What can i say?

3. #3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:08 am

Try taking away the right to steal from a den of thieves, and this is what you get.

4. #4 by Daniel Quah on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:18 am

When the BN politician daylight robbery…corruption..didnt see the ACA or Police act so fast…when come to normal helpless citizen..they tend to be MORE efficiency…come on, it is clearly the police is control by the ruling gomen…50 yrs is ENOUGH time FOR CHANGE…VOTE THEM OUT!!

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:23 am

This is indeed a sad day for all law abiding citizens – and like Kit says a sad day for the nation! Tunku, Tun Razak and Hussein Onn must be turning in their graves!

Though the arrests took place outside Parliament House they were effected within the premises of the House.

Do the police know what they are doing???

6. #6 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:26 am

If only the police can arrest every citizen and then screen them one by one and find out who are th robbers, thieves, rapists, monkeys that burn flags and jump outside down in front of US Embassy, keris wielding maniac, loud mouth ministers, etc.

IF ONLY THE POLICE has balls instead of tails.
    IF ONLY THE POLICE has a mind to think instead of a 2mb microchip processor brain.

7. #7 by Toyol on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:30 am

The BN govt is afraid. They are certainly not for fair and free elections because if it were, there is a high probability of them losing the 2/3rds. So they resort to underhanded tactics and throw democracy and human rights out the window. People are now fighting for democracy and freedom from tyranny.

My office of about 150 people of all races are already incensed by what is happening. I am really proud that my colleagues of all races (Malays, Chinese and Indians and a few Eurasians) have finally come together. We , the Chinese and Indians have explained that we are not against the NEP, only the implementation. They fully agree with this! They also cannot understand why there cannot be a call for free and fair elections. I am also glad that they share all our concerns…where is our country heading now?

8. #8 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:36 am

That means, parliament, constitution, national flag , national anthem mean nothing to some polis. These (supposed Msian) don’t know anything about Msia.

9. #9 by anak_malaysia on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:39 am

this is how when a lame loser work.

I was expected things like that to happen. Pak Lah is fighting a losing game. Since he can’t fight like a man (i mean politically, not like some MIC fella challenging fist fight with a woman), he resorted to used ISA and other government agencies. Another Ops Lalang in making. This is how a loser work.

50 years is enough, vote for a change. Say NO to BN.

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:57 am

What was most contrasting to me is when Wong Chin Huat was arrested, how civil Sdr. Lim and the arresting officer, a chinese, was. As opposed to when Mustafa Ali, a Malay elder, was man-handled and Hissamuddin just walked by. This is future PM material? This is Malay glocal?

Adakah Budaya kita untuk biadap dan menindas orang tua dan orang lain?

11. #11 by sj on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:15 am

If Malaysian still vote for BN/UMNO, they really deserve to be punished for it. So exercise your voting rights wisely, preferably with some common sense and not quasar stupidity.

12. #12 by Ninja on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:17 am

“The guests-of-honour were Subang Jaya assemblyman Datuk Lee Hwa Beng and his wife Datin Lee Soo Soo…….

……..Lee later pledged a contribution of RM2,500 for the evening’s get-together and promised a further RM5,000 for the Chinese New Year celebration next year.

Lee and Chan later gave away prizes to the games winners.

According to Chan, the Gooodyear Court 7 block consists of about 660 apartment units and 160 low-cost houses that total up to about 820 homes. There are more than 3,000 residents living there. ”

Is this consider as a vote buying and corruption by MCA for the coming Election? No wonder DAP not able to capture SJ.

13. #13 by choonchoy on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:17 am

Whatever hope of democracy in Malaysia has been destroyed. From Razak to Bodohwi all are tyrants [deleted]. Dr.M I wish you a long live so you can see the full bloom of the seeds you planted. All future generation will remember you not as Bapa Kemajuan but rather Bapa Kemushanan Negara. The Destroyer of the Nation. Live long,Dr.M!!!

14. #14 by hotsync on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:19 am

Malaysia is currently being run by thugs (PDRM) and mafia (BN) family. 50yrs of merdeka back to zero thanks to our rubbish, sleepy, moron PM.

AAB is a failure, his actions/decisions should be trial one day. [deleted]

15. #15 by Ninja on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:33 am

The police road block is the tactic used by the corrupted BN to frustrate, provoke motorists and make motorists angry against BERSIH activists. The police together with the corrupted leaders of BN will purposely set up road block whenever the activicts are organising something. They wanted to make the public and motorists to think that the road block was the result of the activists action.
    Their main motive is to trouble and frustrate the public so that the public will hate the activists.
    They don’t really care about the public who suffer, they only care about their main motive. They will try to create more suffering for the public in order to achieve their main objective….

16. #16 by Short-sleeve on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:33 am

How come the “Police Raja Di Malaysia” are so extra efficient in arresting peaceful protesters but seem to be clueless in finding Nurin’s murderers??

17. #17 by PapaMike on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:51 am

I have to admit that I have been a BN supporter all this while in my 60 years of existence. But many recent events have forced me to rethink my choices for the next GE. The arrests at Parliament tops the cake. The opposition has my vote for the next GE.

18. #18 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:01 am

Now we know why PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi pressed for IGP Musa’s extension of tenure? He has uncompleted “business” to attend to.

He’s not interested in Altantuya’s, Nurin’s or the hundreds of rape and murder cases because they bring no bonus to him.

19. #19 by pengembaraglobalisasi on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:07 am

vote them out this time…….for sure.
    haprak

20. #20 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:10 am

PM claimed to have large ears. Large ears have large holes too. What goes in comes out quickly too.

What’s happening to this country? Why is the government, elected by the people, so afraid of receiving a memorandum or petition from the people in a civilised manner?

Why did the government direct the police to block roads, causing inconvenience to the people, and to prevent civilised people from submitting their memorandum or petition to the government?

Doesn’t the PM with big ears want to listen to the voices of the people?

Operation Lalang or Padam has been launched!

21. #21 by Rosel on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:14 am

Our police are way behind the “police culture” of developed nations and don’t go far, just visit Singapore. The politicians of our ruling party are using them freely as their bouncer and the police will not hesitate to help them. This is the culture. As long as they can get some pocket money from these lords, they are happy and the point is, it is yet another culture. When i was young, I showed a wallet containing lots of money that I found on the roadside to my father who was a policeman then. I told him that I wanted to hand over the wallet to a nearby police station and he surprised me by saying “NO, don’t pass it to them as they are not trusted. Get the address on the IC and deliver personally to the rightful owner”. Until now, I can’t trust the police. Just take a deep look at the FRU faces when they form the wall. None of them looks friendly AT ALL, but then the Police aspires to be a friend of the citizen. How bizzarre.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:18 am

To BN MPs and Assemblymen who read YB Lim KS’s Blog: Please search your soul and conscience. Please do the right thing and speak up.

Do you really sell your soul and conscience just to hang on for a position in the current government and for some monetary gain for yourself and your family?

Can you really sleep in peace with a clear conscience?

23. #23 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:18 am

Bersih stresses that Tan Sri Abdul Rashid, whose service is continuously marred with recurring electoral frauds and manipulations, is not fit for the job and must go immediately. All parliamentarians must therefore vote against this Constitutional Amendment Bill so obviously being rushed through to keep him the job is an insult to both the Constitution and Parliament.

1. In principle, Bersih has no objection to the extension of the retirement age from 65 to 66 years for all members of the EC. The removal of an EC is constitutionally stipulated to be done in the same manner as a Federal Court judge, whose retirement age has been increased from 65 to 66 years, such synchronisation is not objectionable.

2. The Constitutional Bill, if passed through both chambers of the Parliament and consented by HM the Yang diPertuan Agong by this December 31, will however become a back-door extension for Tan Sri Abdul Rashid whose birthday falls on the same day. In other words, Tan Sri Abdul Rashid has to retire if Article 114 of the Federal Constitution is not amended in time. On the other hand, if the amendment is passed, Tan Sri Abdul Rashid may stay on effectively till June 2009 with the conventional half-year extension after retirement. In other words, this will ensure that Tan Sri Abdul Rashid oversees the next elections.

3. The Constitutional Bill, hastily tabled for first reading in Dewan Rakyat on November 20, 2007 and scheduled for second reading on December 11, 2007, is therefore a “Save Rashid” Amendment. Such a “Save Rashid” Amendment, by reducing the Federal Constitution to a tool to serve the interests of one individual especially one unfit for the job, is an insult and assault to constitutional democracy.

to find out more…

http://www.jeffooi.com/2007/12/operasi_3m_mana_maruah_malaysi.php#more

24. #24 by Jonny on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:24 am

And today I read in The Sun – that the demo during Rice’s visit is approved by the police as it does not touch on national-sensitive issue.

How would we react if there are Americans having a demonstration in New York condemning on our poor records of human rights? And they’re burning the Jalur Gemilang Malaysia flag as well?

Will we make all the hoo-hah monkey noise? Like what the orang utan crowd did during Rice’s visit?

We shall never reach 2020 by how we’re doing things now. That is why the goal post has been shifted to 2057.

25. #25 by melurian on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:25 am

funny, kit, why weren’t you arrested ? your face clearly seen in the bersih march!

26. #26 by sj on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:31 am

The next rally people should just make big big replica of tombstone, and label it, Democracy, and you people be creative and pick the date or events on the tombstone.

27. #27 by fm2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:31 am

Should we have another defination for ‘DEMOCRACY’?
    Democracy (in malaysia) = corruption, no law, UMNO taikor

28. #28 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:40 am

sj,

The people should carry the Malaysian flag with the word “under seige?” placed diagonally across it. They may get the police to arrest us for suggesting so but there’s that question mark(?), so we are asking the big Q.

29. #29 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:48 am

“50 years is Enough, Vote them out”
    I am hearing this thousand and one times. Yes we want to vote them out but the crux of the problem now is we are denied a Free and Fair Election and that is what we are fighting for and that is what they are fearful of, for they know they thrive on deceit, corruption, plundering and dirty play and without any of this will cripple them. The 50 years had only gave them plenty of time to implant all these. What societies want is to see a better future for the country and their children but they are bent on “destroying” it for their own benefits, come what may. They will tell you to uphold the constitution but they will tear it to shred if circumstances need them to do so. The 50 years had allowed them to consolidate all this which is showing results that will bring more harm than good for the country by tearing up the 3 pillars of the constitution, whereby the legislative and judiciary is now under the Executive which is no other than UMNO.

Looking at what is happening recently what hope do we have in getting them voted out. Even denying them 2/3 majority looks impossible. Imagine the attorney general acting as a prosecutor in the session court which under normal circumstances will never happen and he is suppose to be such a busy man that it took him umpteen months to look into the IPCMC. What does that signal to all of us? Thy will get the full force of the government machinery as they had connived together to zeronize any effort for a change of government. At any cost they will want to be the government until Kingdom comes for plunderers will never stop plundering until they milk everything dry. Then they will leave or probably ousted but they will have the last say of “you see you people do not know how to run the country”.

To me there is no other way to change the government except to bring this up as an international issue as they are just too powerful in the local turf. There is simply no fairness built up from their old thinking of biasness and now full blown and out of control and getting worse by the day. The media is so tightly controlled by them that most of the bad news is suppressed. They will only publish all the good news about the government, albeit how credible it is , is only for the people to decide!!!!

30. #30 by Aramaitii on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:49 am

Malunya…..This is the ulimate show of disrespect towards those who fought for our independence.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:59 am

Urging Malaysians to give him more time to fulfill the promises he made during 2004 general elections, Abdullah said they were not to be achieved within five years but for the long haul.

“I don’t plan to come in (as Prime Minister) for five years and I’m out… I’m looking ahead and looking ahead is (the year) 2020. Don’t expect me to do things by the third and fourth year,” he said during a question and answer session after delivering a speech at the Khazanah Global Lecture Series here today.

Abdullah said the battle against corruption was “very difficult” and the problem could be tackled from the “preventive” or “curative” angles.

Thus far, the government had focused mostly on the preventive aspects to fight corruption by setting up the National Integrity Institute and improving the public sector’s delivery system, he added.

He said delays in the public sector’s delivery system could lead to corruption because they motivated certain quarters to resort to bribes in order to speed up the process.

“I am aware of people’s criticisms against me… I want to succeed more than anyone else because I want to be responsible for what I said,” Abdullah said.

Same shit different toilet! Can you imagine he wants to stay until 2020?

32. #32 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 12:02 pm

I didn’t write any four letter words in my past many postings. Why am I on the moderator list? Not fair one.

33. #33 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 12:02 pm

ok! Thank you.

34. #34 by melakatoday on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 12:34 pm

Act of a very disillusioned, desperate Abdullah; whom i thought has fallen into the trap set up by heavyweights within UMNO; wanting to topple him.

Another thing, during the ‘resignation’ of TAR in early 70’s, Peninsular were faced with the worst flood ever.

Don’t tell me the recent signs of flash floods again were but the indications, omen that a big name falling to the ploys of who else but…… from within…….

35. #35 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 1:24 pm

Not only Singapore, but even Vietnam, has surpassed Dollahland in attracting FDI
    http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=301746

36. #36 by budak on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:03 pm

if RM200 can vote Dr. M out from Kubang Pasu…
    what else cant be done in UMNO…
    even own member also “kena hentam” till bedridden…
    make police report also “kena censored”…

what if another RM50 to Polis meRaja Di Malaysia…
    for their good work “memBERSIHkan” BERSIH supporters @ Parliament… :-)

37. #37 by pky103 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:18 pm

I am deeply saddened by the acts of this present government :(

38. #38 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:32 pm

Why, arrest a 13 years old boy, n drag an old man (mustapha ali) inside Parliament, PDRM only bully weak n old. wan to cipta rekod or what?
    Maybe just amend that election only restricted to member of parties that have rule the countries for more than 7 years, once n for all, lagi senang, others dont have the experience, n qualification la! or these members shall have 3 votes, other 1 votes, fair la! these member have experience la!

39. #39 by Plaintruth on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:50 pm

The way the UMNOPUTERA and their collaborators (a.k.a police) and the malay governement machineries ruling this country in the last 50 years, we are very close trailing Nigera as climbing to be one of the top corrupted country in the world.

Where is the law? who enforce the law?

We the people can not stand any more.

The corrupted government could have control all the news media (TV, Radio, newspaper, magazine) but it can never touch the internet and the words of mouth.

A storm is brewing in the last 20, 30 years and it is getting stronger. The raykat has been oppressed and we still have the vote come election time.

Tell your neighbours, tell your friends, tell your relatives, tell your childrens about what is going on.

We can not stand this status quo anymore. One man one vote. Every one can make a different.

Get UMNO out of the governement.

40. #40 by cheeyong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:08 pm

When I read about the arrest, my blood boiled. When I watch the video, it even made me more furious. So this is the state of affairs now in Msia. Positive thing in the video is that PAS and DAP together facing a common enemy. And to BN, please bring your election date here because there will be 4 votes from my end and it will be not for BN. And my other friends and relatives have all made up their mind who to vote for. Again not BN. So bring it on……

41. #41 by lakshy on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:01 pm

Yes Chee Yong. Get the message to more people. Especially the older folks and women folk. If elections are going to be delayed, please get more of your friends and relatives to register. And convince them to vote OPPOSITION! Both for State as well as Parliamentary seats!

42. #42 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:29 pm

Dissemination of information via YouTube is not enough. We have to make DVDs and distribute them far and wide. If we can’t win the hearts and minds of the masses, then the cause is sunk.

43. #43 by eyeopening on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:37 pm

I am 50 yrs old and have always been loyal to the ruling government. Today is a sad day for all of us. The ruling party has gone crazy. There is a law of karma which says that every action has an equal reaction. For all the injustices all these years they are going to reap the reactions. This is law of nature. You can never run away. Every human being should try their best to act justly and be honest.At the end of the day, we are answerable to our own selves and then to the power which created us.
    This has awoken the voting public and we cannot be complacent any more. We need to be more responsible in the next elections!

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:58 pm

“When I read about the arrest, my blood boiled. When I watch the video, it even made me more furious…”

This UMNO led government has made it worse for themsleves.

Images of innocent looking peace loving citizens are seen being arrested, some as they sang the country’s national anthem and some arrested within the grounds of Parliament and many seen talking to the media as they were being led away!

Don’t they realise these images are being beamed across the world through the power of the internet?

It is good publicity for the political opposition. It comes with no cost! It is more than a million banners screaming “Oppression” hoisted from every lamp post througout the county can hope to accomplish. Please continue.

To those yet to be arrested, resist arrest with shouts of “Hidup Malaysia” so that more pictures could be taken. Give interviews to the foreign media as you sit in the Black Maria or as they lead you away. Photographers among you should snap away and record each and every arrest for the YouTube.

Campaign for the next elections has just begun. You do not need the date to be announced to do that!

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:20 pm

Raising a copy of the Malaysian Constitution and singing the Negara Ku may be meaningful to Malaysians watching and listening but the rest of the world does not know what you are singing about. Americans, for example, do not sing to their Constitution but to their flag which by the way is strikingly similar to the Malaysian flag.

So carry a flag and make sure you raise it as you are arrested with shouts of Long Live Malaysia – that makes more sense as the rest of the world watches.

Those familiar with the lyrics to the Star Spangled Banner are reminded of the last four verses of the national anthem:

“Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation!
    Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
    And this be our motto: “In God is our trust”:
    And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave
    O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.”

46. #46 by dapbestrong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:44 pm

Time to show the BN to the door. No more rubbish.

47. #47 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:48 pm

It’s not time to show BN to the door. It’s time to kick BN out through the door

48. #48 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:36 pm

Why bother to look for the door? Just throw them out head first through the nearest window.

49. #49 by carloz28 on Thursday, 13 December 2007 - 12:14 am

Throw? We bring the window to them!

50. #50 by ktteokt on Thursday, 13 December 2007 - 7:47 pm

If upholding the constitution is an arrestable offence, then many loyal citizens of Malaysia should be thrown in jail!

51. #51 by Be fair on Friday, 14 December 2007 - 11:34 am

Hahaahha Malaysia has always been the play ground of Bumiputras. GUYS SAFE YOURSELVES THE ARGUMENTS. WE HAVE SEEN IT OVER N OVER AGAIN.That’s why i have never worked in Malaysia. I told my friends i would rather die of hunger else than come back to Malaysia n work.

52. #52 by Be fair on Friday, 14 December 2007 - 11:42 am

*elsewhere

53. #53 by ktteokt on Friday, 14 December 2007 - 6:28 pm

Motto of PDRM – “Bersedia, berkhidmat”. Who should they bersedia to and who should they berkhidmat for? Think where their pay is coming from? Ungrateful XXXXX

54. #54 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 11:34 pm

We still have in Malaysia Rukun Negara around
    Though it often appears to remain in the background
    With all its principles still solid and sound
    Let’s use them more often to turn Malaysia back on its ground

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 151207
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sat. 15th Dec. 2007.

55. #55 by ktteokt on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:56 am

Samuel, don’t ever mention the existence of the Rukunegara. It is but a piece of paper fit for wiping asses. I have been drilling on just four words in this sacred document but no one seemed to be able to offer an answer. What did they mean when they wrote “membina masyarakat yang adil” in the Rukunegara? Can they ever be adil if the NEP is kept alive? Can they be the least bit adil when the special bumiputra rights are maintained? And they have the guts to bring this sacred document to outer space to read. Or perhaps they feel that this document is only fit there, when no one is able to hear what has been read?

Since its inception, and till today, how much has the government done to ensure the implementation of what has been written? It was but a smoke screen to blind the other races after the May 13 incident and only fools would believe what has been written.

And to imagine that we (the rakyat), especially school going children, were made to swear to this “piece of useless paper” in the seventies under the hot sun during school assembly. This would have made every one of the school children (myself included) commit blasphemy, swearing something which is untrue.