Hello, PM, Malaysia needs you to act now

Zaid Ibrahim
January 04, 2014

Dear prime minister,

If I were still a member of parliament, I would table a motion of no confidence in you.

The Speaker would probably reject it even before it could be debated and votes counted, but I would do it anyway.

Your indifferent silence and total lack leadership on the “Allah” issue is bringing this country to the brink of catastrophe, one that neither you nor the government will be able to pull us back from once it is too late. The clock is ticking.

It is not my intention to ridicule you, for you have my utmost respect, but what else can be done to move you to act and manage the dangerous situation we are in at this moment?

This cannot be allowed to continue because there are elements, real troublemakers, who will bring turmoil to our peace-loving people.

You must first recognise that this is the most difficult, volatile and dangerous issue the country has ever had to deal with.

Never before has a conflict of this gravity been allowed to fester for 30 years with no solution in sight.

The problem did not start with you, but under your charge, it has reached the stage of implosion.

The animosity between Muslims and Christians has reached fever pitch and unless it is managed promptly and with sensitivity, the outcome will be grave for the whole country.

You may think that so long as the majority of Muslims in Tanah Melayu are kept appeased, the problem will disappear. You are wrong. The problems are more serious than you think.

The whole of the Federation of Malaysia will implode Mr Prime Minister, if nothing is done.

The people expect you to do something beyond spouting rhetoric to an Umno audience.

Like I said before, convene a meeting of the Rulers’ Council. Call for a meeting of the Council of Churches. Offer them something that all good leaders do: peaceful alternatives.

Talking to one another is the way civilised communities conduct themselves. Leaders who inflame the situation must be hauled up and discipline imposed on the rabble-rousers.

That is what you must do, because that is what leaders do.

The act of confiscating Bibles by an institution of the state is not carried out anywhere else in the modern world – this surely should alert you that something has gone out of control.

You must remind the country that you are the leader and that there is no one else. You must order a stop to such actions and if Jais does not accept your orders, then you must act accordingly.

We are facing an issue of public order and national security and you, as a leader, must recognise this and be prepared to act.

There are maybe just three million Christians in the country but believers and followers of other faiths are also watching how this situation develops.

The whole world is watching us, and it is watching how you deal with this.

You may be a moderate to David Cameron and Barack Obama, but the real test of your mettle is in your ability to find a peaceful solution to the problem in hand and not make Malaysia a news item like Central African Republic or South Sudan.

You have to act now.

This is not the time for false courage and saving face.

A century ago, Franz Ferdinand declared that the Weimar Republic would not be treated like a “second-rate power”.

Then British prime minister Lloyd George was equally vehement that Britain would not let any other power dictate the politics of Europe.

The protagonists would not back down and when Ferdinand was assassinated the bloodbath began.

Millions died and entire European civilisations were left in tatters. All because no one wanted to look second rate and no one wanted to back down. There were no leaders in Europe then, only those who wanted to save face.

In this conflict in Malaysia today, both sides are full of emotions. They need cool heads to temper their actions.

They need someone to bring them together. Here, the prime minister needs to summon all the strength he has and provide a peaceful solution to the problem.

This is what the country urgently expects from his leadership. – January 4, 2014.

1. #1 by bruno on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 3:15 am

The first one to haul up is Mr Moo.

2. #2 by bruno on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 3:18 am

No excuses for Najib.His deputy Mr Moo has to face the big stick.No second guessing on the part of the PM,as Mr Moo has not in any way discouraged the Umno Selangor from wanting to protest in front of the church.In fact it is the other way around.

3. #3 by bruno on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 3:20 am

No wonder our educational standards have gone to the dogs.

4. #4 by Noble House on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 3:28 am

I remember Patrick Teoh playing one of my old favorites in his POTP session over BFM every Saturday afternoon — and it goes like this:

http://www.jango.com/music/Elvis+Presley?l=0

5. #6 by bruno on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 3:30 am

If little Napoleans are allowed to run loose like crazy horny dogs on a crusade,cheered on by their political masters,we should all know what path the country is heading.

6. #7 by boh-liao on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 5:55 am

Ha, ha, ha, peeM, did U read dis
    http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014/01/04/Crime-deputy-ministers-house/
    Very interesting n thought-provoking piece of news

WHAT is d average income per household in Sarawak?

Look at d humongous mansion n d number of luxurious cars (incl a merc, apa CLASS itu? Better than dat of a CM?)
    So SUPER-RICH, $$$$$ oozing out from every pore

Obviously a highly successful Bumiputra flooded with $$$$$, so much better than millions of average-income, poor, n hard-core poor Bumiputras n non-Bumiputras

YET, he n similarly SUPER-RICH n highly successful Bumiputras continue 2 b entitled 2 ALL SORTS of DISCOUNTS (eg when buying houses) & freebies (eg scholarships 4 their offspring) n high-income generating amanah saham schemes

So, peeM, is dis d objektif of Never Ending Parasitism (NEP)?

No wonder Rela members tempted 2 hv a share of his wealth

Dis also tells us dat Rela membership is apa-apa pun boleh, so b careful n alert when we hv Rela members around during a function – Harapkan Pagar, Pagar Makan Padi

7. #8 by boh-liao on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 5:57 am

Ha, ha, ha, peeM, did U read dis
    http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014/01/04/Crime-deputy-ministers-house/
    Very interesting n thought-provoking piece of news

WHAT is d average income per household in Sarawak?

Look at d humongous mansion n d number of luxurious cars (incl a merc, apa CLA$S itu? Better than dat of a CM?)
    So SUPER-RICH, $$$$$ oozing out from every pore

Obviously a highly successful Bumiputra flooded with $$$$$, so much better than millions of average-income, poor, n hard-core poor Bumiputras n non-Bumiputras

YET, he n similarly SUPER-RICH n highly successful Bumiputras continue 2 b entitled 2 ALL SORTS of DISCOUNTS (eg when buying houses) & freebies (eg scholarships 4 their offspring) n high-income generating amanah saham schemes

So, peeM, is dis d objektif of Never Ending Parasitism (NEP)?

No wonder Rela members tempted 2 hv a share of his wealth

Dis also tells us dat Rela membership is apa-apa pun boleh, so b careful n alert when we hv Rela members around during a function – Harapkan Pagar, Pagar Makan Padi

8. #9 by boh-liao on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 7:15 am

Hey, LKS, abt dis Jais thingy, don’t just push everythingy 2 najis u UmnoB/BN
    What abt PR-controlled Selangor?
    What do U hv 2 say 2 dis?
    http://beta.malaysiakini.com/news/250918

9. #10 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 8:15 am

You can forget Najib or anyone else in UMNO finding a real solution out of the trap of their own making..The issue is can they find the excuse and cheating to get out of it?

This issue is different than any other UMNO has ever faced in the past – the basic truth is HUNDREDS of years old. There is no one to blame for it. Its enshrined in fundamental universal rights today. Its religion, not culture or economic. UMNO just got too big for their britches with their excuses and blaming.

10. #11 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 12:10 pm

My Dear Zaid Ibrahim,

Thank you for your ‘Open Letter’. I see you are continuing this ‘UMNO-style’ tradition even though you are out of the fold.

I am indeed glad you are not in my Cabinet or in my government, or in Parliament. Thank A Llah.

Rosmah and I are on our holiday cum umpteenth honeymoon to visit my step son and see his new New York apartment. He did well on that Wolf thingy and is the French toast of Wall Street.

We are also trying out our new toy plane. Boy it sure is cool, this plane. Rosmah just love the jacuzzi and karaoke room. It even got a gostan feature allowing us to see the New Year 2014 sunrise on both sides of the Pacific on the same day !! Talk of modern technology !!

Anyway, my mind is kinda ‘blur’ at the moment while I am on holiday (and the country rocks!).

If there is anything ‘urgent’ to do like launching VMY 2014, kissing babes, floods, or just practising ‘elegant silence’, please refer to my incapable stand-in Muhyiddin Ya Singh who will do the needful if he is capable of doing and thinking of anything at all. I have left everything in his incapable hands including doing the strokes. Let him gain some ‘experience’ so that when I finally decide to retire, he is ready to take over, and A Llah help us all.

In the meantime, please accept my New Year Greetings and I hope everything will still be OK when Rosmah and I finally return from our cuti-cuti sambil belajar world trip.

Seen you soon.

(Take care of yourself and protect yourself from the floods and from Kim Jong-Un.)

Najib TR
    Rosmah M

11. #12 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 5 January 2014 - 6:13 pm

Oh pm,
    Perhimpunan besar oleh umno baru_a selangor pdrm akan kata perhimpunan haram (sepertimana pdrm kata perhimpunan perhimpunan besar yang lain, pdrm jangan 2×5 pulak).

Tapi mufti perak barangkali akan cakap darah umno baru_a selangor itu halal (sepertimana mufti perak kata pada turun, ehh mufti jangan 2×5 pulak).

Ohh, aku keliru…

Tapi yang pasti bila bab makan suap dua dua pasti satu kepala – DIAM ! Kan ?

Enjoylah kamu dengan plane baru, kalau berdua duaan balik dari new york, boleh trylah berasmara dalam kapal terbang.

Ikhlas,
    Rakyat merana…barang naik…

12. #13 by Cinapek on Monday, 6 January 2014 - 12:48 am

There is a saying “when the going gets tough, the tough gets going”.

In our PM’s case, it is “when the going gets tough, the PM is gone”.

Likewise, when the education issue gets tough, the DPM is gone.

And when the crime situation is bad, both the IGP and HM are gone.

13. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 6 January 2014 - 7:50 am

Zaid,

Pssssh!

Najib is having a snooze. No, he is in deep slumber.

Pssshh!