Lets celebrate the 56th National Day in unity and harmony, by taking the first step to acknowledge and respect the patriotism of the 51% of Malaysians who voted for Pakatan Rakyat and 47% who voted for Barisan Nasional in 13GE

Something is very amiss in the air with the approach of the 56th National Day anniversary on Saturday.

Even the Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek toyed with the idea of introducing a law to make it compulsory for every premises to fly the Jalur Gemilang through the month of Merdeka but he backed off three days later after admitting his extreme disappointment on discovery that government quarters in Putrajaya are not leading the example in flying the national flag.

He complained: “They are still waiting for the government to give them flags”.

Why is this so?

At the Pakatan Rakyat mega-rallies both before and after the 13th general elections on May 5, Malaysians regardless of race, religion, region, age or gender stood proud and tall to sing the national anthem when it was played – demonstrating their patriotism and love for the country.

Could such patriotism simply evaporate?

Of course not.

I agree with commentator Kee Thuan Chye that “patriotism is what you carry in your heart – your love for your country….It is something that makes you decide you will fight to protect it, perhaps even die for it.”.

As I had occasion to say in Parliament, it was because of my patriotism and love for the country, in pursuit of my Malaysian Dream for a better country for all Malaysians regardless of race, religion and region, that I was prepared to lose my liberty to be twice detained without trial under the Internal Security Act.

This is why I look askance at the “patriotism” of leaders who were prepared to wax rich through corruption and abuses of power at the expense of the people’s rights and national interests.

Invariably, those who shout loudest about “patriotism” are often the true knaves of the country, as there is considerable truism in Dr. Samuel Johnson’s famous saying: “Patriotism is the last resort of scoundrels.”

Return to the reality of present-day Malaysia.

For over a hundred days after the May 5 general elections, the majority of Malaysians from all races who had voted for Pakatan Rakyat had been maligned and the target of calumnies, and together with Chinese and Indian bashings, the Prime Minister and his government have failed to prove that they are Prime Minister and government for all Malaysians!

It is still not too late for Malaysians to celebrate the 56th National Day in unity and harmony – but the first step that must be taken is for everyone to acknowledge and respect the patriotism of the 51% of Malaysians who voted for Pakatan Rakyat and 47% who voted for Barisan Nasional in the 13th General Elections.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 - 8:56 pm

The 51% is patriotic. They voted for a better Malaysia.

Some of the 49% is also patriotic. They voted, however mistakenly, for what they believe to be good for Malaysia. But a certain % are not patriotic, especially UMNO members, because they voted to line their pockets. That cannot be patriotic by any definition.

2. #3 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 - 8:59 pm

It wasn’t 51%. It was at least 53%..

3. #4 by good coolie on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 - 10:41 pm

About 10 years ago, when I was at a park near my house, I noticed a little girl of three or four running earnestly across my path. She reached a dustbin and popped a piece of sweet wrapper into the mouth of the bin.

Three days ago, I noticed a grown up woman emptying her car (an expensive Mercedes) of some rubbish. She was throwing an assortment of rubbish from different parts of her car into a drain by the side of the park. She was just twenty feet from her house!

Quiz: who is more patriotic?

• #5 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 29 August 2013 - 8:44 am

Depends.

If the woman is umno ppl then her patriotism is not subject to questioning. No matter what.

If the woman declares her support for umno then she is definitely patriotic and she can get away with the littering act.

If the woman is neither of the above then she is definately not patriotic. More than that. She would also be anti-malay (read umnoputra), anti-islam (jenis umno), anti-gobermen, anti-agung, ungrateful and a communist and she should therefore return to the country of her ancestor.

And the child?

Well depends. Just repeat the logic above and the answer would become obvious.

Jib Jib 1 Boleh.
      Ros Ros 1 Cantik!
      Endless Possibilities.
      Unlimited Stupidities.

4. #6 by Winston on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 - 10:41 pm

This stupid nut has the cheek to try to ram this down our throats!
    Serve this stupid nut right!!!
    This just shows the degree of stupidity and brain dead jokers in the ruling party!!!!
    Nothing very surprising!!!!!

5. #7 by Noble House on Thursday, 29 August 2013 - 3:54 am

I love my country, it’s the government I’m afraid of.

6. #8 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 August 2013 - 7:52 am

What is next? Wearing jalur underwear is compulsory during the month of merdeka? Where does all these “retards” come from? Can these people show just 1% of intelligence?

Why not make it compulsory for all people like him to declare they are corruption free? That’s more useful to the public. Stupid.

7. #9 by sotong on Thursday, 29 August 2013 - 10:26 am

The real and true patriotic are the QUIET ones working hard and minding their own business to make the country a better place.

8. #10 by bangkoklane on Thursday, 29 August 2013 - 1:41 pm

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2013/08/28/how-does-king-daughter-view-america-50-years-after-her-father-dream/
    “It was at that point that he said he heard the voice of God say; “Martin Luther King, Junior! Stand up for justice! Stand up for righteousness! And I will be with you until the end.”

9. #11 by silat88 on Friday, 30 August 2013 - 4:51 pm

does he check his facts before opening his
    mouth first the flag flying proposal Minister ?
    perhaps he can pass a law to penalise the government at Putra Jaya for not flying the flag.
    now dat is an idea to consider

10. #12 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 4:51 pm