I AM INSULTED…

— Patricia Anne Martinez
The Malay Mail Online
August 12, 2013

AUG 11 — As an ordinary Malaysian Christian, specifically a Catholic, I want to place on record that I am deeply INSULTED.

I just watched the programme “Pope from the end of the world” on the Astro History channel. It is a biography (and nothing else) of Pope Francis. Perhaps it was featured before, but it was the first time I watched it.

Before the programme was aired, the following appeared on the screen: “THIS PROGRAM PORTRAYS DEPICTION OF RELIGIOUS FIGURES AND REPRESENTS VIEWS OTHER THAN MUSLIMS’. VIEWER DISCRETION IS ADVISED.”

The disclaimer — if it can be called that — was shown FOUR TIMES throughout the programme.

I feel insulted because the statement shows a deep insensitivity, as if a programme about the life of the head of my Church is something on par with pornography or material of dubious ethical and moral value.

There is no such cautionary statement before the repeated showing of programmes such as the Victoria’s Secret Lingerie collection, or for that matter Miss Universe or Miss World (and there is a fatwa against beauty pageants in Malaysia!), to advise Muslims that “views” other than their own are being aired, and “discretion” is advised.

The statement advising Muslims about exposing them to views other than their own and that viewer discretion is advised intimates therefore that aspects of the programme COULD BE OFFENSIVE to Muslims’ point of view.

Since when is Pope Francis, who on August 7, 2013 offered Eid greetings to Muslims, offensive to Muslims?

I would like to point out that it was the first time a Pope himself was greeting Muslims for Eid or Hari Raya Aidulfitr, because in the past, the greetings from the Vatican came from the Pontifical Institute for Inter-religious Dialogue.

Pope Francis’ statement included: “I wish to emphasise the importance of dialogue and co-operation”; “I reiterate my hope that Christians and Muslims may be true promoters of mutual respect and friendship in particular through education” and concluded with, “I send you prayerful good wishes that your lives may glorify the Almighty and give joy to those around you. Happy feast to all.”

Just how threatening or offensive to Muslims’ views could a BIOGRAPHY of such a Pope’s short tenure be?

Apart from what I have quoted above, early into his papacy before Easter this year, Pope Francis performed the ritual of washing the feet of human beings — a replication of what Jesus Christ did, and which is a symbolic ritual of profound humility by the clerics in the Catholic Church. This Pope chose to go and wash and kiss the feet of men and women in a juvenile detention centre, INCLUDING WASHING AND KISSING THE FEET OF AT LEAST ONE MUSLIM.

Frankly, there is much an ordinary person — Muslim or otherwise — could learn from such a human being, just as I am willing to learn from the Dalai Lama, the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), and others.

Pope Francis espouses and LIVES humility. The programme showed many examples of it from the early hours of his papacy when he appeared without the expensive accoutrements of his office. The programme showed Pope Francis BEFORE the traditional blessing of the ecstatic crowd below his balcony, bowing before them and ASKING FIRST FOR THEIR BLESSING INSTEAD. This was one of his first actions as the new head of millions of Catholics around the world.

Do know also that the programme voice-over pointed out that “as a Jesuit, the Cardinals chose the best person for the terrible crises the Catholic Church is experiencing”. So no, the programme wasn’t promoting conversion to Christianity, it was an objective evaluation of the “status quo.”

He has lived up to this prediction. Pope Francis, with courage, has commissioned the equivalent of the IPCMC: experts from all over the world who are not clerics, to advise him about reforming the Vatican administration (the Curia) and the Vatican bank. So I reiterate: there is much in the biography of such a leader from which we in Malaysia could learn!

When I started writing this, I was very angry and insulted. But I am concluding in tears.

As I have for many years, this Ramadan, I fasted for some days in empathy with my Muslim brothers and sisters (not just the worthy one-day Fast for Malaysia). I greeted my Muslim “family” in Malaysia and around the world (we are, after all, from the lineage of Abraham and almost all scholars agree that Muslims, Jews and Christians are from the Abrahamic line…) for Hari Raya, for Eid.

Do I blame Astro for insulting me? Not really. They were most INSENSITIVE to me as a non-Muslim. But a deeper analysis would lay the blame squarely on those with power and authority over our lives in Malaysia, especially over religiosity.

What Astro did was reflective of the way we Malaysians are forced to live in this country: accusations — founded and unfounded — of “insulting Islam” (and no other religion, despite threats and ensuing justification about burning my sacred text, the Bible, for example), of being rendered with lesser rights by Islamic law enactments because we are non-Muslims and, most of all, by the way Islam is appropriated and wielded in the most negative way for political expedience or quick, cheap self-glorification for political gain.

It is certainly not what a great world religion like Islam is about, it is certainly not how Pope Francis spoke about Islam in that programme that Muslims’ had to be advised about “viewing with discretion.”

As an ordinary Malaysian, I am not just insulted about the insensitivity with which a programme close to my religion was aired. It made me think about everything else I experience as a non-Muslim Malaysian. It even made me think about the insults and hurts that some of my Muslim brothers and sisters ALSO experience from fellow Muslims, not just from non-Muslims.

This Malaysian is not only insulted but also deeply hurt. For so many of US ORDINARY MALAYSIANS.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 10:41 am

Do people believe that the likes of Najib do not know that non-Muslim are being insulted and persecuted in this country? He knows so well he won’t admit it because HE IS PRODIGAL,irresponsible just like any trust-fund child with penchant for fleshpot and worldly pleasures.. How do people think all monarchies ended up irrelevant?

Not only that, Najib knows that even if he tries his best, he won’t make a difference. If the truly religious right brings up his less than religious past and go after him with the same vitriol they go after the rest of us, he and Rosmah would be luck being a garbage collector.The man is IMPOTENT against these forces.

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 10:47 am

Expect more nonsense from umno.

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 10:50 am

And oh yes, soon (my guess), bibles and holy books of other religions too would be required to carry a similar “viewers discretion” warning.

4. #4 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 10:56 am

And and and finally (again my guess) we the nons would be required to cite orally a similar “discretion” warning everytime before we talk to a non-nons like so:

Kroni bin Umno: “Hello Ah Chong.”

Ah Chong: “MY WORDS AND EXPRESSIONS MAY CONTAIN VIEWS OTHER THAN MUSLIMS’. YOUR DISCRETION IS ADVISED.”

And only after that: Hello En Kroni. Apa khabar.

5. #5 by Bamboo on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 12:38 pm

Pope Francis is a very admirable Pope for his humility and good sense and willing to do things to promote common good in this world. His personal greetings for the Muslims for this festival is one of them. Unfortunately this is not appreciated very much among Malaysian Muslims, and for the matter Muslims in other parts of the world. Belittling /insulting other’s religion dont elevate your own religion but reflect badly of your own deficient true understanding of your religion.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 1:42 pm

Communal politics rears its ugly head.

7. #7 by Winston on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 2:45 pm

Well, well, well.
    Don’t get angry.
    Get even!
    Starting right now, all those who are not in favour of UMNO/BN should go all out to campaign for everyone to ensure that its voting base, especially among the rural folks in both West and East Malaysia are neutralised.
    The same should go for the civil servants and the armed forces.
    Go all out to remove their whole voting base, no matter where they are found.
    Make that a top priority!!
    However, having said that, everything and anything that can nullify their effectiveness in garnering any votes must also be used against them.
    Make sure the smirk is wiped off their stupid faces!!!

8. #8 by silat88 on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 4:29 pm

so much for their self proclaimed progressive religious state. try going to Dubai and Jordan and see if this is what they do. nothing short of being fanatical. All Religions should be respected nor is any one religion more superior or inferior. that country is going down and real quick with this “attitude”.
    leave hile you can as in this instance the grass is really greener elsewhere

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 6:03 pm

Don’t be insulted. In 1Malaysia you are expected to turn the other cheek, cower in fear and suffer in silence. To do otherwise might attract threats of charges for sedition, insulting a religion or race, face 1,000 police reports against you by very ‘sensitive’ and offended people and get hauled to jail.

On the other hand you could take the lead and stand up for your rights etc especially when your elders and leaders are content to remain quiet, docile and obedient and don’t care anything about it.

10. #10 by on cheng on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 8:33 pm

In future, wonder, if there will be a country in SE Asia, where, a non muslim cannot eat bak kut teh with nasi lemak together,or carsiew with ketupat, it will be a big offence??

11. #11 by tak tahan on Monday, 12 August 2013 - 10:14 pm

Hidup nasi lemak,hidup ketupat,hidup kangkung belacan,hidup katak i-bra-him,hidup aneh zul bin haram jadah and the most of all the must hidup umno-jenis-islam.The only ones that can truly hidup in SE Asia and the rest of the world.Yo man terus hidup la…????

12. #12 by good coolie on Tuesday, 13 August 2013 - 12:46 am

I belief the author is a student of Islam. I am, too, albeit in a much lesser way. I tell you, the way Islam is portrayed by certain extremist preachers and politicians is not the real Islam.
    It might come as a surprise to some that, in some parts of the world, Christian centres of worship (e.g. churches) are lent to Muslims for them to worship in, and mosques lent to Christians in the same way. There is considerable good-will between Christians and Muslims. Muslims in Malaysia would be shocked to know that there is a splendid mosque in Vatican City, which was built on the initiative of none other than the then reigning pope.
    The fear of conversion to Christianity is what makes Muslim leaders suspicious of exposure to Christian leaders. It is a fact that Pope Francis and, before him, Pope John Paul II, have attracted many people to Christianity by their exemplary life.
    So, the warning-label on the package is designed to prevent conversions to Christianity from among the Muslim Community: it is not meant to insult Christianity or to disparage Pope Francis.
    However, I agree that the label is out of place in a documentary like this because it demeans the ability of Muslims to think for themselves and to appreciate the program without the interference of clumsy, jarring notifications.

• #13 by megaman on Tuesday, 13 August 2013 - 11:23 pm

What’s wrong with attracting people to the religion by leading an exemplary life as a great example ?

No one should be against people converting to Christianity because they found inspirations in its leaders. Vice-versa, if people flock to Islam for the same reasons, I would be very happy too.

No flimsy warning labels or text would prevent such things. It is ridiculous and rightfully insulting not only to the non-Muslims watching the documentary but even more so to Muslims as it really reflects badly on them.

Shake head! … Sometimes I feel really frustrated that ignorant are the masses and the enlightened so few.

13. #14 by bryanbb on Wednesday, 14 August 2013 - 1:06 am

Lately the religious purist in the country have been lashing out at anything and everything perceived to be an insult to Islam that it seems to have created a very cautious atmosphere bordering on paranoia at what may be deemed offensive.they seem to be harping on the most petty of issues and make it into a full blown national controversy . Sadly that is the mood of inter religious sentiments in the country. No discourse , un negotiable , un acceptable if there is a whiff of an offense they can manipulate as an excuse to their design, they will be jumping on and riding the “Insult to Islam “wave so fast, most will be caught with their pants down,literally asking “Where did that come from?”. Guess the anti Islam theme is “de-rigeur” in Malaysia at the moment.