Janji Detepati or Janji Diketepi?

REFSA (Research for Social Advancement) | 29 August 2012

In conjunction with Malaysia’s 55th year of Independence on 31 August

Janji Detepati or Janji Diketepi?

In the run-up to our 55th Merdeka Day celebrations, the federal government has been particularly keen on reminding Malaysians of all it has done for us.

Full-page newspaper advertisements and massive roadside billboards trumpeting ‘Janji Ditepati’ (Fulfilling our Promises) and a theme song of the same title make much of recent BN federal government handouts such as the RM500 Bantuan Rakyat 1 Malaysia cash payments, RM100 student aid and RM200 book vouchers for students.

As generous as these may seem, they are mere peanuts in comparison to the largess heaped upon the elite and connected. The student aid and book vouchers totalled RM550 million and RM263 million respectively. Elsewhere, at the stroke of a pen, the government forgave former Malaysia Airlines chairman Tajudin Ramli’s debts – a total of RM589 million! And let’s not forget the RM250 million NFC scandal which saw loans for cow-farming being used to procure expensive cars and ultra-luxury condominiums instead.

The ‘promises’ the government has fulfilled are mere crumbs in comparison to the munificence shown to its cronies. Just two sets of cronies alone quietly reaped hundreds of millions of ringgit, while millions of Malaysians are exhorted to be grateful for the mere hundreds of ringgit each receives.

Alas, this is but a small example of the federal government ballyhoo that diverts attention from the issues that really matter and the Janji Diketepi (Promises Unfilled). Our parting shot: 55 years after independence, KL still floods, even after multi-billion ringgit mega-projects like the SMART tunnel.
____
REFSA is an independent, not-for-profit research institute providing relevant and reliable information and analyses on social, economic and political issues affecting Malaysians with the aim of promoting open and constructive discussions that result in effective policies to address those issues. Topics REFSA has covered include the deployment of the national police force, the national Budget, procurement policy in the state of Penang, and the federal government’s Economic Transformation Programme (ETP). Please visit us at www.refsa.org.

1. #1 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 12:25 pm

JANJI DITUNAIKAN, DUIT RAKYAT DITUNAIKAN

2. #2 by machiavelli on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 1:27 pm

Recently there were 2 cases of statutory rapes in the news whereby the defendants were let off lightly. Reason being they were young, first timer had bright futures and the acts were consensual.

But who are protecting the victims who were young, first timers, had bright futures and were naively willing?

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 1:34 pm

The government is unfair. While it gave a politically connected person RM589 million, it gave only RM500 to each household.

4. #4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 2:03 pm

Rias Yatim said LKS can sit next to Najib if he attends the Merdeka Day celebration.
    Anwar and Hadi come..special seatings will be arranged.
    LKS should go to Sarawak for a holiday …Anwar to to Penang to see what LGE has arranged and support him….plus a tete-a-tete with Mansor and LGE….and Hadi do his gig with PAS ….wherever he chooses.
    Keep away from the Devils.

5. #5 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 2:22 pm

The Jelebu frog thinks he is a damn smart fisherman.
    Support Najib’s Merdeka gig..means “Lets
    forget the past” responding to Najib’s call.
    Tomorrow…NGOs are walking in protest against the Govt…and that Jelebu frog wants PR politicians to sit besides Najib…and insult the NGOs??
    Stupid low class fishing technique.

6. #6 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 2:24 pm

Sit beside Najib to insult NGOs walk???
    Rias Yatim thinks he is so damn smart.,

7. #7 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 2:38 pm

wow ! so much money! Nowadays young people’s thoughts are different. Old people think it is wrong. Young people could not be bothered. Is it the young people who sue ? Or is it the old people who sue ?

8. #8 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 2:52 pm

Ini baru betul Janji tidak ditepati…Kerajaan Negari Pulau Pinang sepatutnya membawa kesejahteraan kepada Rakyat bukan menyusahkan mereka!!!! Janganlah hanya suka menjaga tepi kain orang lain sehinggakan kain sendiri koyak pun tidak disedari….

The horrid traffic jams and endless hours wasted weaving through a daily gridlock on most roads are a common sight in Penang. There are tremendous social and economic costs to the hours wasted behind the wheel each day. The situation is chaotic with virtual standstills during peak hours and weekends.

9. #9 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 2:59 pm

You can always depend of cintanegara to put out a comment to run down the Opposition management… or something else.
    In this case..it is about Penang traffic jams.
    Not one word of better roads…better city plannings by Federal Govt.
    Traffic jams are all over Malaysia!!!
    Cintas’s rambutan tree must be baren.
    He speaks like a farmer with no brain.

10. #10 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 3:08 pm

hoi ..cintanegara..kerajaan Negeri Pulau Pinang best di Malaysia.
    Bila apa best performed buat buat dari PR…cintanegara tak puas hadi….mata jadi hijau..banyat jealous.
    Apa hul aku nak sokong anak2 Syaitan???
    Bodoh melayu.

11. #11 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 3:17 pm

yes…cintanegara…blame all traffic jams onto lousy LGE’s management in Penang.
    LGE must be a Superman to solve all problems created by puppet..KTK for 18 years.
    Penang have advanced by leaps and bounds on many fronts….all ignored.
    And you are the result of Mahathir’s 22 years creation.
    PS: Hope to meet cintanegara and knock some sense into his head. Sometimes..saving a lost soul is important. Can cintanegara be saved??

12. #12 by Winston on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 3:33 pm

This country has a National Debt of hundreds of billions of Ringgit.
    It’s a very resource rich country and for it to run up a such a huge debt means only one thing.
    That the wealth from these resources have been siphoned off!
    Otherwise, the savings from such resources would mean that we should be having a National Reserve of billions, if not trillions, of Ringgit!
    Can anyone in the devils’ party account for this?

13. #13 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 3:34 pm

hoi cintanegara….who cheat who?
    Who steals from Malaysians?
    Small portion given back to Muslims…billions balance stole from minorities…especially from Chinese…all OK??
    They can keep that to do what they like?
    No wonder Mahathir took RM1.2 billion and helped his son…you did not disagree.
    You really BODOH Melayu….very few left.
    Smart Muslims treat you like a clown too.

14. #14 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 4:32 pm

//Bodoh ???????//

Racial slurs and profanity are obviously unethical, ….don’t show disrespect for people’s race, religion, backgrounds, social status etc. Don’t put people down just because they have different thoughts/views…

15. #15 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 6:32 pm

Bodoh means bodoh.
    Smart thoughts can be detected.
    Mahathir is bodoh too.
    He your hero?

16. #16 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 6:32 pm

Hoi cintanegara so how much did you get from umno? Kalau nothing, bodoh betul lu. Perempuan mamak dapat beratus ratus juta. Anak (errr mungkin cucu) kutty (ejaan ikut orang barat “cootie”) dapat berbillion billion. So how much you dapat. Cowgirl tu dah declare which umno people is free of PROBLEM. So what is the size of your problem? Berpuluh puluh ribu? Beratus ratus ribu? Berpuluh puluh juta? Beratus ratus juta? Or more?

17. #17 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 6:37 pm

After 13th GE…talk to Malaysians about respect and disrespect.
    Right now….Bodoh Vs Smart ….Patriots Vs Traitors…Devils Vs Angels
    Which group do you belong to?
    I am 100% sure you belong to the Bodoh group….thus the Traitors and the Devils..all wrap into one.
    Correct???

18. #18 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 6:58 pm

Don’t put words into my mouth…..you slimy double headed baby snake.
    I am not a racist nor insulting Muslims…..at large.
    It’s bodoh people like you that keep depending on one political party..as if all the politicians are like gods to you.
    You belong to the People’s Power group….or powerless to be guided like a dog by politicians????..tell me.
    People Power has finally arrived.
    Join us and behave like a man.

19. #19 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 7:59 pm

As far as Cintarambutan is concerned, Najib has fulfilled his promises. Najib took over all the rambutan lands and listed the rambutan cooperative. When the rambutan crop is not up to expectations, Najib still declared healthy dividends. As if that wasn’t enough, najib gave angpows to all the kebun rambutan owners like cintarambutan. From taxpayers’ funds.

That’s why cintarambutan is an ardent supporter of the slogan.

20. #20 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 8:02 pm

Janji di tepati sebab rambutan sudah di beli. Dengan duit rakyat.

21. #21 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 8:16 pm

Rambutan tak manis…tak sedap makan…Najib pun beli habis pakai rakyat wang…tolong voters…harap voters tolong dia…’You help me. I help you”
    Itu voters di kampong2 harapan Najib…sumua otak sama Cintaramputan…BODOH.

22. #22 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 8:23 pm

Tetapi banyat orang kamong2 sudah jadi pandai.
    Itu la…perkin Najib takot announce 13th GE.
    hoi Cintanegara….that’s facts…not an opinion at all.
    We also know why Najib keep delaying 13th GE for personal reasons….don’t we….cintanegara.
    Talk la….important issues and not traffic jam in Penang to run down DAP management.
    You banyat busok hai la.

23. #23 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 8:37 pm

Tiap2 kali balek blog…memang tarok comments tak sokong PR management atau PR politicians.
    Apa hal ku sokong hantus dan pencuri curi orang2?
    Orang “atas” tak mian politik…tetapi itu “ORANG” tau siapa hadi busok ..hadi biak.
    Ku hati busok atau biak?

24. #24 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 - 10:45 pm

Janji Kopi-O. Wink. Wink.

25. #25 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 30 August 2012 - 6:29 am

Bloomberg online 29 Aug. 2012: Mandatory read for BN’s politicians. Every cent you steal from Government coffers is a meal stolen from Malaysia’s hard-core poor!

Poor in India Starve as Politicians Steal $14.5
    Billion of Food

By law, those 57,000 tons of food are meant for Kishen and the 105 other households in Satnapur with ration books. They’re meant for some of the 350 million families living below India’s poverty line of 50 cents a day.

Instead, as much as $14.5 billion in food was looted by corrupt politicians and their criminal syndicates over the past decade in Kishen’s home state of Uttar Pradesh alone, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. The theft blunted the country’s only weapon against widespread starvation — a five-decade-old public distribution system that has failed to deliver record harvests to the plates of India’s hungriest.

Please don’t go to your temples, churches or mosques to pray like hypocrites do when you are stealing food from your Rakyat. You must be worse than worms that squirm in cesspools which do not steal.

26. #26 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 30 August 2012 - 9:30 pm

Constantly pi pandu kereta masuk itu SMART tunnel la.
    SMART=Selalu Masuk Air Ribut Tunnel.

Lepai tu pi bising Kat BN mengapa 55 tahun masih masuk air lagi

27. #27 by monsterball on Friday, 31 August 2012 - 12:31 am

Try driving from Tampoi to Johore Baru.
    I am sure Cintanegara have that experience.
    What about Melaka Bunga Raya Road?
    Lord oh Lord….the long long jam to S’pore at causeways.
    Smart Tunnel guaranteed by UMNO b …no more floods.
    Millions were spent decades ago….what happen?
    Millions were spent at Melaka Riverside on retainer walls for tourists….walls are falling down!!
    Billions collected on palm oil and timber in Sabah….for decades…each year…why is it.still the poorest State in Malaysia?