Start of another new round of political persecution of Anwar most deplorable and despicable

The start of another new round of political persecution of Parliamentary Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is most deplorable and despicable and must be condemned by all right-thinking Malaysians.

The police calling up Anwar to give his statement with regard to the report lodged by a police officer DSP S. Shanmuga Moorthy claiming that Anwar had knowingly given him false information concerning the “Datuk T” sex tape and thereby committing an offence under Section 182 of the Penal Code (punishable by six-month jail or fine of RM2,000) is clearly politically-motivated and masterminded by the political masters of the police.

This is another example why the police have not been able to regain public confidence in its efficiency and integrity as an independent, impartial, professional and democratic police force which would not allow itself to become the catspaw and playthings of the “political masters” but would fully dedicated itself to its national mission to protect the personal safety and security of Malaysians and all persons in the country.

The Malaysian police will never be able to regain the confidence of the Malaysian people so long as they are forced to continue to “play the political game” of its political masters, as was very obvious in the police clampdown on the July 9 Berish 2.0 peaceful rally for free and fair elections as well as in its gross misuse of powers in the Emergency Ordinance detention of Sungai Siput MP Dr. M Jeyakumar and the PSM activists.

The new round of political persecution of Anwar is also proof of the hollowness of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s National Transformation Policy – exposing the sad fact and truth that Malaysia has a long way to go to restore and uphold the independence, integrity and professionalism of key national institutions in the country to ensure that they should always serve the highest national interests and not the myopic interests of the powers-of-the-day.

1. #1 by dagen on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 3:02 pm

I mean look effort and money have been expanded to produce the clip alright. So lets not waste it ok. Well, ok ok ok yes so it was tamby with an indon slut but the point is do not let umno’s money and effort go to waste just like that. Cook up something with it. I dont know. Somehow. Just cook up an offence so that anwar can be charged for it.

2. #2 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 3:51 pm

In a way, I think such naive action by BN is good in the sense it will allow the people to judge the kind of Gomen we have. They forgot that this is 21st Century and even those who are not well verse with politics will wonder why such action is taken against DSAI. It becomes so obvious that the agenda is political and nothing more. UMNO is caught in the proverbial saying” the deeil and the deep sea”. One would ask :Why? It looks so foolish but BN still wants to pursue it. To me, it is just harassment to keep DSAI occupied for awhile so that he has less time to talk to the people! That is it! When the very people who put up the video had committed wrong which would have him in jail but freed on political expediency; this will certainly start and alert Malaysian thinking about their future!

3. #3 by yhsiew on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 3:57 pm

I read recently in the news that an ATM machine of a certain bank was carted away by thieves. The police should go and investigate such serious crime to restore people’s confidence in public security instead of “playing the political game” of its political masters.

4. #4 by SENGLANG on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 4:24 pm

BN is going to doomed very very soon.

The latest Oxford justification on the Condo Lembu was that they are having excess fund so they decided to invest to real estate?

Come on, please. You mean get the loans from tax payers and invested in real estate. Now let us CSL? Can the people less hateful with all these nonsense happening?

5. #5 by rockdaboat on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 4:41 pm

Another kampung tactic, the only thing they are capable of.

Anyway, prosecution or no prosecution, it doesn’t matter, we will still vote Pakatan.

6. #6 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 4:56 pm

Najib is trying very hard to frustrate Anwar to give up politics..or even commit suicide…life not worth living.
    Anwar is smiling…so used to all punishments without reasons.
    Anwar declares he is PM in waiting makes Najib mad.
    Anwar is given physical inconveniences.
    Najib is secretly suffering from mental tortures..migraine…seeing ghosts…seeing thousands stoning at him …sweating making bed like swimming pool.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 5:43 pm

I tell you, UMNO/BN has to be rid of for one simple reason – we can’t let our children believe that Jerks don’t get punished. THIS is perfectly clear that UMNO/BN and its machinery are overwhelmingly FIRST CLASS JERKS…

If UMNO/BN is not kicked out, I don’t know how any parents can look in the eye of their children and ask them to behave and do good. Don’t blame anyone when your children turn out to be Jerks if you vote UMNO..

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 6:20 pm

PDRM is so badly screwed, you cannot expect anything straight from it.

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 7:11 pm

If the Opposition thinks and believes PDRM were catspaw for “political masters” why does its defacto head Anwar keep resorting to lodgment of police report to counter allegations? Isn’t that unnecessarily providing the excuse for police to commence investigation against the person who lodged the report than the person against whom report is lodged? There’s not much meaning behind making police report. Everyone is lodging police report against the other for all kinds of things to harrass inconvenience and intimidate for political agenda – so the issue of good or bad outcome really boils down to which side of the political divide the person making the report and the other reported against sit! For example in 1998 Anwar lodged a report against Khalid Jafri for accusations in his book 50 Dalil Kenapa Anwar Tidak Boleh Jadi PM. Though police charged the author of the book with malicious publishing of false news, it was the investigations then that led Anwar being charged for Sodomy I.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 7:12 pm

Continuation from preceding post (currently under moderation) : Flash forward to the recent, the same happened when he lodged police report against Datuk T’s trio. They got charged for displaying publicly porno and on conviction got off with a slap on the wrist but the investigations led to a court trial in which findings of US experts in Dartmouth were introduced, and now this case where Anwar’s police report is used against him under section 182 of Penal Code of giving false information to public servant on reliance of which the public servant acted injurisous to another party. If you think that investigations from your police report will be done by catspaws why do you still make such a report and play into others’ game? Those who never learn mistakes from history will be destined to repeat them. Its one of the reasons why I say LGE should not resort to making a police report against those making malicious allegations against his innocent son.

11. #11 by Loh on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 7:30 pm

Anwar now has to prove that he was not in the video, but witnesses to the trial of Datuk Trio said Anwar was in it. The evidence given was not relevant to the case, but now it is handy for the police to initiate actions.

The police’s main task is to look after the safety and security of the people. But the police choose now to pay attention to serve the ruling party to get the leader of the opposition party busy with court cases, rather than to ensure safety and security for the people, which the police has proven to be lacking in effort. Was the police short of manpower assigned to work on improving safety and security for the people? Why then should police expend resources on proving whether a police report was the absolute truth, which has no relevance to improving safety and security for the people. It only shows that the police is involved in party politics, and it is not ashamed to be known that police is politicized.

12. #12 by bruno on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:30 pm

Probe Anwar,he is collateral damage anyway.Probe the small lembus in Petronas,but do not probe the mama lembu fron NFC fame.

13. #13 by bruno on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:34 pm

Thamby Chik’s reputation is better than Anwar’s,says the police.Not the other way around.There was instant silence in the room,you can even hear a pin drop.

14. #14 by monsterball on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 9:58 pm

Anwar’s faith and truthfulness is tested to the limit….before he achieve his mission to be PM.
    Najib spring from nowhere…to occupy the seat.
    Anwar will be an elected PM by the People.
    Najib still sit at that position appointed by his party..feeling no shame at all.
    He needs Tamby Chik..Ibrahim Ali…IGP and AG…to help him.
    Anwar will be a PM ..even in jail and the People Power….will decide…whether Najib likes it or not…no one cares.

15. #15 by rockdaboat on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 10:15 pm

Thamby Chik’s reputation is better than Anwar’s?

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

16. #16 by k1980 on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 1:43 am

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=22710:rm10mil-cow-condo-an-investment?-thats-a-lot-of-bull-pkr-tells-khairy&Itemid=2

Calls have grown for Shahrizat to resign. And to clamp down on PKR to prevent from further explosive revelations, the police have told Anwar they have begun a new probe on him in connection to the Datuk T sex scandal.

Transparency body Global Financial Integrity estimates that between 2000 to 2009, RM888 billion was siphoned out of the country in illicit money flows.

17. #17 by monsterball on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 3:54 am

The more they try to persecute Anwar….the more powerful he has become.
    Think of Philippine’s Aquino and you know what I mean.

18. #18 by k1980 on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 6:56 am

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-M5t6QhrIdwk/Trx5vivdI7I/AAAAAAAAUsU/udurBoRNp1c/s400/sharizar.jpg

MIC should had demanded these RM9.8 million condos for those squatters in Kg Buah Pala, who merely received RM600,000 double-storey houses. See how the mamak gal is smiling in the photo!

19. #19 by k1980 on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 6:59 am

Sharizut is cursing, why you all are coming after my condo? It costs only RM9,800,000…. go after the javanese toyol and his RM24,000,000 palace!

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 10:46 am

Has Anwar committed an offence of giving false information to public officials injurious of 3rd parties that he is investigated for? We have not yet been provided details. However generally, it is trite that a crime is just about anything that lawmakers and enforcers say is a crime! And it is almost like criminal law begins at the point when someone takes to doing something someone else does not like and in the power to influence authorities to take action. One may ask why so arbitrary? One reason is that most set of criminal laws are replete with provisions that try covering every conceivable act and conduct. Secondly the provisions are expressed in words and words are open to subjective interpretation. It is semantics and its play and implications.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 10:47 am

In Lewis Carroll’s nursery rhyme book “Through the Looking-Glass (1872), Humpty Dumpty discusses semantics and pragmatics with Alice. I don’t know what you mean by ‘glory,’ ” Alice said.
    Humpty Dumpty smiled contemptuously. “Of course you don’t—till I tell you. I meant ‘there’s a nice knock-down argument for you!’ ”
    “But ‘glory’ doesn’t mean ‘a nice knock-down argument’,” Alice objected.
    “When I use a word,” Humpty Dumpty said, in rather a scornful tone, “it means just what I choose it to mean—neither more nor less.”
    “The question is,” said Alice, “whether you can make words mean so many different things.”
    “The question is,” said Humpty Dumpty, “which is to be master that’s all.”
    Whether what one does is lawful or unlawful then becomes very much on what the Master having power over the interpretation and enforcement of law says it is or is not. It depends on malice, good faith fairness, or reasonableness of law maker enforcer and interpreter. And of course who has power to enforce his will. Often it boils down to as simple as that.

22. #22 by monsterball on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 10:55 am

The more rounds of political persecutions planed for Anwar….the more Anwars will be born to look like Anwar…speak like Anwar.
    And Anwar and PR are no fools…especially Anwar.
    A real freedom fighter like him is never afraid to die for the country.
    If that happens….payback days will sweep the whole of Malaysia with thieves and robbers running for their miserable lives.
    Dead or alive….Anwar will be PM.

23. #23 by born in Malaya on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 12:19 pm

The only way to reform the police force is to change their boss. Election is near, make use of it.

24. #24 by monsterball on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 2:09 pm

We need a daredevil to be PM….not afraid to replace all the unqualified people in the government…starting from the Police and Law Depts….then school teachers….and so on.