Swearing at police not an offence

26 Jun 2011 | The Telegraph

Scotland Yard has told its officers that bad language on its own is not a good enough reason to detain someone.

The guidance has been given on Justify, Account and Record memo cards, which are carried on patrol.

According to The Mail on Sunday the advice states: “The courts do not accept police officers are caused harassment, alarm or distress by words such as: f—, c—, b—–ks, w—–s.”

It also informs officers that to place someone in handcuffs “for officer safety” is “not sufficient” and “we can handcuff anyone but we must be able to justify it”.

A spokesman for the Met was unable to confirm the exact date the guidance was issued, but said the cards had been in use “for several years”.

He added: “The Metropolitan Police Service issues officers with a memo card providing useful guidance on the execution of their powers.

“This includes advice regarding appropriate note taking and ensuring that they have appropriate grounds for an arrest.

“In particular it reminds them that the courts do not accept that simply swearing at a police officer is grounds for an arrest and illustrates how the MPS has had to make settlements in the past when officers have arrested solely for this.”

1. #1 by Joshua on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 4:59 am

Sadly and unfortunately, the people suffering under the prevailing scenario has been swearing and cursing daily against the illegal Governments and the socalled illegal leaders and the relevant authroities are included.

So how long can be nation be sustained by such illegalities and rottenness?
    Total change for the better tomorrow.

http://fresh-air-in-iggg.blogspot.com/

2. #2 by dagen on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 9:09 am

Good. Test our police force this july 9th with some nasty expletives.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 10:02 am

In 1Malaysia, the single word ‘Bersih’ whether spoken or not, will land you in jail or detention under ISA to eat lousy fish curry.

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 10:08 am

Is it an offence to call UMNO “D-U-M-B-O”?

OR “MUMBO-JUMBO?

OR “S-I-C-K-O”?

OR “RACIST-O”?

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 10:51 am

Try swearing and cursing a police officer in a remote location without any witnesses present and more likely than not your bullet-riddled corpse would be found with a parang you had never ever seen in your life in your hand.

6. #6 by dagen on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 11:55 am

In umno’s lexicon, “bersih” is the new word for “kotor”. And wearing “black” means challenging “ketuanan umno”.

7. #7 by cemerlang on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 1:47 pm

Obscenities come naturally for some people because they have been using it so much that they think it is part of life to sh-t someone or or p—t mak kau or whateverlah. It does not have to be the actual obscene word but clean words which carry a certain connotation example selalu makan kari ayam. Now that bersih has become a taboo word, what other words can be used as replacement. That’s neat. Neat also has other meanings. Obscenities help to carry weight to your emotions. Like when you are angry and you start yelling ” this is bad “. Enforce it with damn which is not an obsene word and people will know that you are really really really angry. Oh damn ! This is bad !

8. #8 by good coolie on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 10:38 pm

But why swear at police officers? I think anyone who swears has to be kicked in the crotch. Those who swear at police officers should have their tongue cut. I dislike filthy swearers.