Why I returned

By Walter
May 30, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

MAY 30 — I left Malaysia in 1988 not long after the upheavals in the Malaysian political scene, which included Operation Lalang and the sacking of the Lord President.

I spent a total of 16 years away — in Singapore, the Middle East, France and the US — as an expatriate, and experienced living abroad. During the period, I had many opportunities to become a permanent resident elsewhere but home is where the heart is… and my heart was not in any of those places. Once our youngest child left for university in 2004, I chose to return to Malaysia. Why?

1. This is my country; I was born/raised here and my family and friends are here, regardless of what label others may put on me.

2. I remain optimistic that better days are ahead. There are other similar minded citizens of all backgrounds in this country and if we combined our time, talent and treasure, we can change the system.

3. It may take us more than one general election but I shall remain resolute and, to borrow the words of Martin Luther King Jr, dream our dream that one day our children and our children’s children will not be judged by the colour of their skin but by the strength of their character.

4. I choose not to let a small group of selfish men with puny minds continue to plunder the nation’s wealth and waste the lives of the next generations.

I want to stand and be counted. Come the next general election, the person or persons who share such hopes and aspirations will have my vote and I will persuade others to join me in this campaign to make the difference.

1. #1 by wanderer on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 10:49 am

You are 16 years too late!!!…don’t cry for Malaysia Walter, there will be monsoon every year without you.

2. #2 by beachBum on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 11:47 am

Cmon wanderer, at least he came back.

3. #3 by wanderer on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 12:14 pm

So beachBum, miracles will happen?…Bolehland will once again become a melting pot of mixed races living happily together?
    “Actions speak louder than words”

4. #4 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 12:25 pm

It is good to return home. Your votes are counted for MP and state assembly.

So, vote wisely and search and read more on Internet like http://www.sarawakreport.org and see how corrupted Barisan Nasional’s coalition in Sarawak.

Also see how our Malay friends in Penang were marginalised by previous Gerakan government and see how our Malay friends and Indian and Orang2 Asli friends in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak are marginalised.

You shall find that those UMNO’s cronies and UMNO politicians (like previous Selangor chief minister) are so wealthy.

Also read more at roketkini.com and keadilandaily.com.

Also see how RM888 billion were taken out illicitly from 2000 to 2008: http://iff-update.gfip.org. Do you think Mahathir is/was stupid and not knowing these?

Why Mahathir allowed illegal immigrants in Sabah?

Search and see.

5. #5 by bush on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 3:26 pm

If you are “ACCEPTABLE” for your parent (country)to treat you like an adopted kid by taking away and discriminate your right to further your study and business opportunity just to benefit your relative (wastage, corruption, handouts on AP/contracts, NEP..etc) then you should come back to continue with the discrimination policy till your next generation.

Hope this will not be too late for you to migrate when the Bumi population reaches 75% and they want to blood the Chinese minority group because you guys had taken the wealth from them. (This is our Mamak’s statement to Bumi)

You need to be a Millionaire to retire in Malaysia due to the F..k out policy in education and healthcare. While in developed country you don’t really need to worry not to become millionaire.

6. #6 by drngsc on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 4:05 pm

Hi Walter,
    You must have many contacts with Malaysians still abroad. Please ask them to help us. Register to vote. When GE 13 is announced, please ask them to take two days leave, fly home to vote, have dinner with their love ones here, and then fly back to work.
    we need all the votes that we can muster, to make Malaysia a better place for the future generation. Please help us.

We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya. They think they own the place. we need to change them.

7. #7 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 - 10:18 pm

At least Walter is giving us very encouraging statements and i agree with him.Better late than nothing and i like that part-the Luther King’words.Wanderer,i think you are a bit too harsh,no offend intended.What monsterball will say about this leh?Quite interesting article indeed.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 1 June 2011 - 12:31 am

Jeffrey,i don’t hear anything from you on this article.Maybe can you share your two hoots about this topic?