Christians pledge to respect Islam’s position, says Najib

Bernama | May 12, 11

Najib Abdul Razak said leaders of Christianity in the country have pledged that they respect the position of Islam as official religion and have no intention of challenging the provision enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

The prime minister said the group had also given their undertaking to cooperate in nurturing peace and harmony between the various faiths so that Malaysia would continue to be a peaceful and prosperous nation.

“I am glad to inform that Christian leaders have given two very important and meaningful undertakings (today),” he told reporters after attending a luncheon with the Christian leaders at his office in Putrajaya today.

Among those present were two ministers in the Prime Minister’s Department, Koh Tsu Koon and Idris Jala, as well as the
chairperson of the Malaysian Christian Federation, Bishop Ng Moon Hing.

At the meeting, Najib also emphasised to the Christian leaders that the government needed time to study several views presented and problems faced by them.

“It’s not the intention of both parties, whether the government or the Christian leaders, to highlight these matters openly until they have been amicably resolved.

“Once a decision is made and the matter resolved amicably, only then will we say something openly,” he said.

Asked what the problems were, the prime minister said: “Once it is settled, we will make a statement openly.”

He said similar dialogues could also be held from time to time with other religious groups in future because he had already held a meeting with Islamic leaders and intellectuals yesterday.

Asked when the dialogue with the Christian leaders had been planned Najib said his office had planned the meeting two weeks ago although he had intended to have it much earlier.

Uneasy over ‘Christian plot’ reports

Asked on the reaction of the religious group on the issue over Christianity recently, Najib said the Christian leaders felt uneasy over the news as published by the media.

“They have accepted my advice that we remain calm on the matter and not to do anything that will increase tension among the community,” he said.

Utusan Malaysia on May 7 reported on its front page that a gathering of priests from all over the country in Penang discussed an agenda to make Christianity the official religion of the country.

“That’s why we have to be careful in this matter so that any issue that can cause uneasiness and tension in the country should be avoided and that we must use wisdom in tackling and managing these issues,” he said.

Meanwhile, the prime minister said he was still waiting for the outcome of the police investigation on the issue concerning Christianity.

“Let the police investigate first and when the time comes, we find the best way to resolve it with wisdom before making a decision,” he said.

Najib said that as a whole, he was satisfied because the government’s efforts in holding the dialogue had been appreciated by the Christian leaders.

“Hopefully through this approach, we can demonstrate the government’s determination to cooperate in efforts towards national peace and prosperity desired by the majority of Malaysians,” he added.

– Bernama

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 6:03 pm

BUT NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND???

Christians pledge to respect Islam’s position, says Najib

2. #2 by Equalizer on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 6:12 pm

First, did the Christian leaders really made this pledge or was it just Najib’s words so that he could look good in Utusan’s headlines tomorrow. There was no mention of any pledge by Christian Federation of Malaysia chairman Ng Moon Hing in the Bernama report. And if they did, why should they make the pledge when they have done nothing wrong. In the Meeting there was also absolutely no mention of action to be taken against Utusan of the bloggers for seditious and false reporting.

3. #3 by DAP man on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 7:03 pm

Since when did the Christians refuse to respect Islam? So why the need to reinform a non issue?

Najib again used the Christian leaders for his own political agenda. He used them.

4. #4 by habis on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 7:34 pm

In the first place the christians DID NOT create all the furore and they knew fully well that lslam is the official religion under the Malaysian Constitution so please may I know what action to be taken against UM and bloggers for their seditious false reporting inciting racial unrest and instigating instability in our country.The meeting is a non issue and serves jibby’s political agenda.

5. #5 by tak tahan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 7:39 pm

He is not worth a cent to be trusted.Ah Bengs,Alis,Muthus knows that.

6. #6 by Cinapek on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:01 pm

“Once a decision is made and the matter resolved amicably, only then will we say something openly,” he said.

What does this mean? Lu tolong gua, gua tolong lu? Amicable settlement meaning you agree to support BN in GE13 and in return Jibby will grant you some of those things you have been begging for the last several decades?

Ever heard of the Stockholm Syndrome?

7. #7 by Cinapek on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:09 pm

“the prime minister said he was still waiting for the outcome of the police investigation on the issue concerning Christianity.”

True? If so why did his good cousin already issued a letter of reprimand to Utusan? Hisham supervises the PDRM. It is logical to assume he must have received the police report on who is the blatantly guilty party and has no choice but to do something and so chose the mildest of penalty i.e. “inviting Utusan’s Chief Editor to Putrajaya” and issuing a warning letter.

So why don’t you ask your cousin? Or still want to sandiwara?

8. #8 by burn on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 2:34 am

why wanna pledge, when one did not do any wrong!
    instead, they’re the one that should apologize by having a full page apology advertisements in all medias for their wrong doings. at least, the people knows of their wrong doings.

salam…

9. #9 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 9:46 am

Wow, UM n NR hv scored a huge victory bcos now d Christian grp is perceived as d villian
    Almost like saying: Christians hv repented over their folly n pledged not 2 do it again
    They kissed my hand, begged 4 forgiveness n pledged not 2 challenge d Fed Constitution

PERCEPTION, my dear, matters n a NEGATIVE perception is certainly bad
    Dis whole thing was ochestrated 2 blanket d earlier yet-2-b-settled g od/a llah, church attack, n BM bibles issues, n 2 turn d tables on Christians (kena conned/trapped)

10. #10 by on cheng on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 4:35 pm

no logic, when some one falsely accused you of something which you never do, you need not pledges anything !
    Utusan also not so wrong, big culprit if the so called big dog (if exist)

11. #11 by on cheng on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 4:36 pm

why njb nvr meet utusan or big dog ???