ACT MEAN AND FAST AGAINST UTUSAN MALAYSIA

by Rtd Brig-Gen Mohd Arshad Raji
mind NO EVIL
Tuesday, May 10, 2011

What words can I use to describe Utusan Malaysia’s (UM) recent report that some Christian group is plotting to turn Malaysia into a Christian State? What words can I describe a UM report which says that a Christian group together with the DAP is plotting to appoint a Christian as the Prime Minister? The only words that I can used to describe all this are DISGUSTING, IRRESPONSIBLE, DANGEROUS and a pack of LIES.

How on earth could the editors of the daily approve such a report that is unsubstantiated, and knowing full well that the report can be a cause for serious racial strife between Christians and Muslims of this country. This is not the first time UM has reported on issues that can bring devastation and worse still the disintegration of a well tested multi racial and multi cultural Malaysian society. How could the Home Minister be so lame in not wanting to impose stricter rules to prohibit UM from publishing reports that can bear serious effect on racial harmony?

Personally, I have had enough of UM, and I dread the day when this blessed nation of ours sees the repeat of the bloody May 13 incident. I would like to ask the entire UM editorial board, where were they during May 13, 1969 i.e. 42 years ago? I think most were mere kids sucking milk bottles. Some may be slightly older who knows not what suffering and fear is all about. Just ask the soldiers on how they felt trying to maintain the peace throughout the entire troubled period, and most will say that they do not wish to go through a similar period again. I was lucky because I was in Tawau then, but my parents who were residing at Kg. Datuk Keramat lived in fear.

Let me tell this to the entire UM editorial board that you don’t know what it is like to go without sleep. You do not know what it is like to be shot at. You do not know the ordeals that your parents have gone through to protect you. You do not understand what fear is and how it affects your physical and psychological well being. You do not understand what pain is, and there are thousands of others that you do not understand. So please cease writing all this garbage, and stop practicing gutter journalism.

Personally, I do not think what was reported is true. And I do not believe the Christians in this country would want to do what was stupidly reported by UM. The repercussion is too great and no one would want to see this country disintegrate and destroyed by some unscrupulous instigators of violence who gleefully hides themselves behind their sponsors. And if ever your report turns to be true and is realized in the future, I will not blame anyone else but the UM and your sponsors for their own stupidity.

To the Home Minister Hishamuddin Hussein, you have to act mean and fast, and do not let the instigators and those behind these reports be left scot free. The people know who owns UM and if you fear to act professionally, then you deserve to be called a COWARD.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 12:28 am

D voice of a good man; more M’sians must VOICE their discontent over d LIES n MORE LIES of UM, hentam UmnoB n its nonMalay partners in evil deeds
    SHAME MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP, etc 4 supporting UmnoB n UM in dis devilish crime of stirring up racial n religious trouble in our nation
    CONFRONT any member of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP, etc dat U know n ask them “WHERE is your SHAME n CONSCIENCE supporting UmnoB?
    Ask them “Is dis what U want fr UmnoB/BN 4 yourself n your descendants?”
    It’s high time 2 get uninformed n KIASI members/supporters of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP, etc 2 CHANGE n VOTE 4 PR in d next GE – kick UmnoB/BN out 4 a better future

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 12:33 am

“To the Home Minister Hishamuddin Hussein, you have to act mean and fast,… and if you fear to act professionally, then you deserve to be called a COWARD.

May I add, a STUPID COWARD.

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 12:39 am

Kerismuddin is powerless. He either has to toe the line with the right-wing faction, or he could see himself out of a job. It’s survival and it appears that the ultras are having the upper hand.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 1:03 am

That’s the mafioso’ code of ethic.Ka ki lang ma.We know all the sandiwara one whether it’s mafia movie or cartoon movie.I’ve to sleep to keep from reading too much sickening and baloney crabs.Good night.

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 1:14 am

Rtd Brig-Gen Mohd Arshad Raji says “act mean and fast”. Compare it to the country’s top leader’s response: he sets out to “allay fears” generated by the UM’s reports (The MalaysianInsider report 12-05-2011 by Shazwan Mustafa Kamal. That’s not correct response. It is a weak one. How many times can one go out to allay fears fanned by those who fan them? May as well put a stop (mean and fast) of and at the source so that one need not go on and on allaying that which is unnecessarily being created again and again, being encouraged by lack of will to confront the mischief.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 1:42 am

Helloooo, d keris chap is NOT powerless, he is 1 of d masters of UM n thus he got POWER1
    D powerless 1s r CSL n KTK: YES, minister; I sokong UM if U said so, no problemo, sokong, sokong, just don’t sack my son or me

7. #7 by ekompute on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 5:14 am

QUOTE: “How could the Home Minister be so lame in not wanting to impose stricter rules to prohibit UM from publishing reports that can bear serious effect on racial harmony?”

And what do you expect from a keris-waving Home Minister? Seems like this sob learns nothing from his father who has been affectionately called “Bapa Perpaduan”.

8. #8 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 6:52 am

Hishammudin! For a man with your BACKGROUND, I am totally ashamed of your action and your mental faculty!!!

9. #9 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 7:54 am

they have been a coward for far too long. they are keeping the rural malays stupid and ignorant puff up with race and religion rhetorics thru the msm.

that’s their protection to shield them for their brutality and arrogance.

10. #10 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 9:28 am

Take note of the message being send out:-

‘We Must Capture It At All Cost”

11. #11 by Loh on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 9:58 am

Utusan Melayu was certainly despicable for creating rumour. But should that rumour bring about another May 13? It should not be and it can’t be.

The Prime Minister should be the person who serves the interest of the nation. Why should only Muslim be good enough to be the person serving the nation? If we accept only Muslim is capable, we are superstitious, believing that only person who profess a certain religion has the required quality to serve as PM. If that is not the case, then the argument would be that because Muslims are the majority, only the person who represents the majority should be Prime Minister. In that case, the minority will not be represented, and they will have to accept that the prime minister would only represent the majority. However, if it is argued that the prime minister would also represent the minority who are not of the same race, why then cannot the prime minister represent the majority who are not of the same religion as the prime minister? Yes democratic election accepts the results of the decision of the majority, but the person once elected does have the responsibility of the entire nation.

If it is argued that the prime minister serves only the majority, then the interest of the minority are suppressed. If the minority can never get representation, then democratic election will be unfair to the minority since their interests would never be represented. Overtime, the minority would have to change the political system to overthrow parliamentary procedure. But the world over considers that democratic system is the chosen means of governance in a modern society which ensures peaceful change of regime, where applicable. Consequently, democratic system pre-empts violent means of having the interests of the citizens in the minority group looked after. For that the government outside Malaysia strive to serve the interests of all its citizens, and they hope to win the votes of the people who would support government policies which the leaders consider to be the correct approach to serving national interest. In such countries, political parties campaign based on the policies which they consider would best serve the needs of the people, and hence the nation. On the other hand in Malaysia, the government in power chose to serve the interests of the majority voters, and they tailor their policies to have the people polarized. Race and religion are the point of departure for forming vote-banks.

The people outside Malaysia vote for the political party which they believe would best serve their interest and the nation. Between elections the people might express their views where relevant, but they would not intend to change the government by force. The judgement day comes the next election, and they might decide to change the regime. The outcome of election results is respected. There is no issue of sensitivity and peace in terms of people expressing their views, including religion and race.

The BN government fails in its duty to promote democracy in the country and to abide to rule of law. Otherwise why should a newspaper report have so much repercussion? It is bad that Utusan Melayu created rumours. The government has not taken action against Utusan Melayu. It should also not take action against any other newspapers. In that case, newspaper publication should not be licensed.

12. #12 by habis on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 10:41 am

To MCA,MIC,Gerakan,SUPP,PPP and all the rest of the coalition partners in BN until NOW there is not a word objecting to UM irresponsible reporting.Why? The simple fact is the leaders of all the component parties are COWARDs hiding under the sarong of UNMO without which no more crumbs for them if they ever Dare to utter one word.The Silence is deafening and predictable because these parties are NEVER EQUAL partners in the first place. Bravos to Rtd Brig-Gen Mohd Arshad Raji for your honest and sincere comments from the bottom of my heart for we all belong to the same generation where race,colour or religion is blind to all of us unlike the suckers in UM..

13. #13 by dagen on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 12:17 pm

Dear BG Mohd Arshad,

Beware. Umno does not like to hear words like that, even if they are true and absolutely sensible and practical. Umno will surely find a reason to nail you. If they have no reason, then one would be created (like the sex tape thingy involving someone i believe to be tamby and an indon woman).

So take care. And vote umno out of office.