MCA leadership showing itself even more irrelevant after its ignominious rejection by voters in Sarawak state elections

The MCA leadership is showing itself to be even more irrelevant after its ignominious rejection by the Sarawak voters in the Sarawak state elections on Saturday.

MCA President Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi had gone to Sarawak as Barisan Nasional paramount Chinese leader and other MCA Ministers and leaders as “heroes” and “saviours” of SUPP but they all returned as pygmies.

One of the biggest mistakes made by SUPP in the recent Sarawak state elections was to expect the MCA and Gerakan leaders to save them, when SUPP leaders should have realized that these very MCA/Gerakan leaders could not save themselves or their own political parties!

This is the reason for the recent extraordinary MCA political gyrations with the MCA President egging on SUPP to boycott the Sarawak state cabinet while a MCA Vice President called on Tan Sri Abdul Taib to quit as Sarawak Chief Minister as he has lost the support of the Chinese community in the state.

All very correct and proper – except they reek of political hypocrisy and raised a mountain of questions, such as what the four MCA Ministers and seven Deputy Ministers are doing in the Federal Cabinet; why Chua did not review MCA’s earlier unprincipled decision in 2008 to be part of government when he took over as MCA President but instead was more interested to get his son appointed as Deputy Minister and elevate his confidantes in government through the Senate backdoor; and whether the MCA leadership would dare to tell Najib to resign as PM as it is asking Taib to quit as Chief Minister?

But the most shocking, irresponsible and despicable MCA gyration occurred when the MCA leadership accused the DAP of “inciting racial sentiment among the Chinese to secure its historic victory” in the Sarawak state elections.

The MCA leadership just does not understand the nature and dynamics of the political awakening in Sarawak – that Sarawakians voted for Pakatan Rakyat in the 15 seats won by the DAP and PKR as well as in the other constitiuencies not as Chinese, Dayaks, Malays or Melanaus but for change, justice; equality; clean, honest and accountable government; and an end to the rampant corruption, land grabs and gross abuses of power.

Sarawak voters are pioneers in the new politics based on issues of justice, equality and integrity rising above race and religion; while the MCA leaders are still mired in the politics of race and money which will despatch them to political oblivion.

But what is most shocking and deplorable – at best the insensitivity and at worst the complicity of the MCA leadership with Utusan Malaysia, helping it to stoke the rabid extremism of Umno’s official organ in its unceasing campaign against Najib’s 1Malaysia policy, particularly in its anti-national “1Melayu, 1Bumi” call.

Time has come for the MCA leaders to end their political gyrations and acrobatics since their hapless Sarawak outing and declare whether they are prepared to join forces with DAP and Pakatan Rakyat to tell Utusan and Umno in no uncertain terms that the “1Melayu, 1Bumi” call is totally contradictory and against the 1Malaysia policy propounded by the Prime Minister – that we are in 2011 and must look into the future and not in 1946 only looking back into the past!

1. #1 by drngsc on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 5:24 pm

Dear Kit / DAP / fellow Malaysians, please be magnanimous in victory ( in this case, minor victory ). You have have made some headway, but the war is still ahead. Who knows? maybe MCA will leave BN and join the opposition?
    Politics have no permanent enemies.
    Please plan for the next GE. This is not yet time for champagne.

We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya.

2. #2 by rockdaboat on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 6:16 pm

MCA is in self denial syndrom.
    It cannot accept the fact that the Chinese no longer trust or need MCA.

MCA can go on rotting for all we care but PLEASE PLEASE don’t say you represent the Chinese in this country!

We don’t need you and we are ashamed to be associated with you, a bunch of losers.

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 6:21 pm

Moral-less Chinese A$$$hole-ciation.

4. #4 by hallo on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 6:37 pm

It’s a rat

It’s a rabbit

No, It’s a RUN-NING DOGS

They are their Master RUN-NING DOGS

The Chinese RUN-NING DOGS

Bark….bark…..bark

We better go now….the RUN-NING DOGS protect their evil MASTER worry we the HUMAN BEINGS out smart their MASTER

Bark…bark…bark

5. #5 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 6:41 pm

It has long been concluded that MCA is irrelevant and has lost its creditability.As long as their leaders continue to sell their souls for money and positions,the party will be as dead as the dodo.

6. #6 by balance88 on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 6:58 pm

MCA is just like a pot calling the kettle black. When MCA does not have a leader with integrity, how can it go round advising others to do the right thing.

It is quite hilarious that a party of MCA’s stature now, with minimal Chinese support teaching SUPP what to do when its president requested for a deputy ministerial post for his son!!

The Chinese voters are now more knowledgeable and well informed and are not easily swayed by pre election sweeteners. There is no difference with having a Chinese minister in the cabinet and not having one there. Either way, the Chinese ministers only takes care of themselves and only cares for the Chinese voters for political gains.

The Chinese voters can see through it. So what if there is no Chinese representation in the cabinet. If the govt of the day really wants to care for the Chinese voters, he’ll find a way to do so. It can also be done by a Malay or an Indian minister if they are sincere about it!

By the way, why must the Chinese voters be warned that they will not be taken care of simply because they did not vote for BN. Are we not a democratic country that we can vote whichever we deem fit? We seems to be claiming to be democratic but in reality practising authoritarian rule. Its like pointing a gun at a person’s head, telling him he has the right to make a choice between jumping off the cliff and not jumping off. Either way he is dead!

7. #7 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 7:34 pm

MCA President Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi had gone to Sarawak as Barisan Nasional paramount Chinese leader and other MCA Ministers and leaders as “heroes” and “saviours” of SUPP but they all returned as pygmies. by Sir LKS

Ah leg..Ah leg.. poor thing.That thing also shorten by 5 inches.Like pygmy’s one.Yo Yo

8. #8 by hallo on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 7:37 pm

Are the latest one…

1 Bumi ialah 1 Dumi

cos all no need to think but just follow blind by color no consent about corruption, injustice

Just follow blind like DUMI

9. #9 by yhsiew on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 8:16 pm

The MCA leadership should have cleaned up its backyard first and put right everything before attempting to give advice to SUPP during the Sarawak election.

10. #10 by monsterball on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:33 pm

MCA is virtually dead.
    CSL knows that too well.
    CSL needed to talk anything to get some attention for MCA.
    Latest news….few MCA leaders supported what CSL said…showing so many good for nothing will support anything spoken on behalf of MCA..anything..are considered good.
    It is geting attentions in whichever ways CSL can think of.
    He got the whole world attention.
    He is MCA President because of that..and so he has to prove he can get Malaysians attentions…particularly Malaysian Chinese voters.

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 10:05 pm

Pookey muck umno does not understand democracy. democracy to them means you must vote for us or we will unleash perkosa and pembela kambing dan lembu.

Well Phark umno and BN. the more you oppress us the more we will be vigilant. we don’t get handouts from them thieves anyway. dem!!! how I hate their hypocrisy and arrogance.

12. #12 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 11:12 pm

Chill out baby.I very understand you,and me too,stand no more of their blardy nonsense that triggered my standing up to phark them always ‘from and to’ upside down.Monsterball ‘ll squeeze them(nor liap ba ku li) hard till they will never oppress or stand up to the ultimately Rakyat’s choice for change!

13. #13 by cseng on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 11:57 pm

MCA tak tau malu la… CSL mana ada tau malu? porn star ma…
    Is the postal votes ready? ask CSL who self-claimed rep for chinese select Kuching or Penang, test and see…

14. #14 by undertaker888 on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 7:29 am

can dap or pkr start a collection of signatures to hand to united nations that we want external observers in the next general elections?

if they are real honest people who pray 5 times a day I am sure they will have no objection. if they are a bunch of thieves and cheaters they will surely disagree and trigger perkosa and pembela kambing Dan lembu to step up their noises.

15. #15 by wizzerd on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 8:29 am

Utterly disgusting for MCA to join the chorus with UMNO to attribute DAP’s headway into Sarawak as racial politics.
    The issues are not racial in nature, you MCA dimwits but issues of transparency, justice, accountability, and good governance.
    Looks like MCA cannot accept the reality that the rakyat had rejected them. They had to voted in the next GE to drill the message into their thick skulls.

16. #16 by wizzerd on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 8:30 am

typo…Looks like MCA cannot accept the reality that the rakyat had rejected them. They had to voted OUT in the next GE to drill the message into their thick skulls.

17. #17 by wanderer on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 10:21 am

MCA, MIC and Gerakan begar political are history….SUPP welcome to the Eunuch Club!
    PR should pay more attention preparing and recruiting new talents of good pedigree….stop wasting time with shameless deranged low-beings known to all as running dogs…

18. #18 by Peter on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 12:57 pm

What do one expect from a party led by a pornstar. Just look at the ex-president Ong Tee Keat. This poor guy has been sidelined and completely ignore by the party and his ungrateful comrades for his guts and dignity.
    This is a fact, being good, honest and dignify will not get one anywhere in UMNO/BN. You can be right, but you will end up dead right.
    BN component parties have all became irrelevant to their respective communities since 0308. However, these leaders are so adament that they acted like what the chinese used to say “dead chicken kicking at the rice bowl cover”.