Explain DAP-SNAP merger invite, PKR tells Kit Siang

By Clara Chooi
April 21, 2011

KUCHING, April 21 — Sarawak PKR demanded a clarification today from Lim Kit Siang for inviting SNAP to merge with DAP without prior discussion with his Pakatan Rakyat (PR) partners.

SNAP, a Sarawak-based opposition party, came at odds with PKR during the just concluded Sarawak polls after seat distribution talks broke down.

Warning that such a merger would affect the existing relationship between PR’s key coalition partners — PKR, DAP and PAS — Sarawak PKR chief Baru Bian said today that Lim, as a veteran leader in the DAP, should explain his suggestion.

“Sarawak PKR is surprised to learn that Lim Kit Siang wants a ‘merger’ of DAP and SNAP. Since we are PR partners, we would appreciate a clarification of this proposal from Lim and the DAP,” he said in a statement today.

Baru, who was one of three PKR candidates who triumphed in the just-concluded Sarawak polls, reminded Lim that SNAP had attempted to “undermine” PKR by contesting against the party and forcing multi-cornered fights.

“SNAP has also consistently been negatively critical of PKR for reasons best known only to them.

“If anything, PKR Sarawak is deeply disappointed and saddened by SNAP’s approach within PR since we have always regarded SNAP as our partners,” he said.

Prior to the polls, SNAP had also promised not to campaign against DAP and PAS but it did no such thing with PKR and clashed head-on with the party in all 26 of the seats it contested.

Despite this, the party failed to capture a single seat and its candidates even lost their deposits in 24 constituencies after they failed to garner one eighth of the votes cast.

“As proven by its disastrous electoral performance, SNAP has no electoral machinery, little political capital and even less social clout on the ground.

“The total votes garnered by all of SNAP’s candidates combined were less than those garnered by independent candidates. SNAP came in last in almost all multi-cornered fights,” Baru noted.

He added that SNAP’s fight in the Sarawak campaign had only served to confuse the electorate, weaken PR and help Barisan Nasional secure a victory.

BN managed a landslide victory in Saturday’s polls when it recaptured its two-thirds majority and won 55 seats in the 71-seat assembly.

“We are therefore deeply puzzled by Lim’s purpose in suggesting a ‘merger’ between the DAP and a party like SNAP.

“It is Sarawak PKR’s considered opinion that such proposals should be thoroughly discussed behind closed doors.

“This would ensure that all component parties of PR fully understand and endorse the objectives of such a possible merger; which ultimately must strengthen the coalition,” he said.

Without discussion, Baru added, such a merger would confuse PKR and DAP members as both parties had stood shoulder-to-shoulder during the polls to campaign against both BN and SNAP.

He added that such mergers by any partner in PR should be made to enhance diversity and reflect the multi-ethnic politics promoted by the pact instead of deepening any existing cleavages.

As an alternative, Baru suggested that SNAP dissolve and allow members to join other parties.

“In this way, we believe that SNAP cannot ever be made use of as a vehicle to further undermine the stable coherence of PR in the years to come,” he said.

Baru was commenting on a suggestion by Lim on Tuesday calling for a merger between DAP and SNAP to accelerate the Dayak “political awakening” and capitalise on the swing of votes from the local communities in support of the PR.

Speaking to The Malaysian Insider today, SNAP president Edwin Dundang said the party was elated at being “wooed” by political parties from both BN and PR, citing PR’s DAP and BN’s Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Umno as examples.

1. #1 by BetterSarawak on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 7:38 pm

Dear Master Lim, Merging with SNAP isn’t a good idea and waste of time. They have no clear directions in the agenda and beliefs. They would not serve the people efficiently and they are just like BN. I am speaking from my short experience with their sub-branch in Kuching as publicity Chief some 13 years ago. I quit after a month because they were only interested in personal benefits.
    To make things better and simple, recruit Dayaks professionals directly, train them and guide them properly like what the current elected YB are. The Future belong to the younger generator and we help and support.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 8:09 pm

///Sarawak PKR demanded a clarification today from Lim Kit Siang for inviting SNAP to merge with DAP without prior discussion with his Pakatan Rakyat (PR) partners.///

I believe Kit was only suggesting and collecting views from bloggers. There is still much to find out whether the merger is feasible before Kit can put anything into official action.

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 8:17 pm

This should be looked upon as a merger of two unequal partners. In truth, it should be seen as an acquisition, as the target is really weak as recently proven. Even if SNAP gives an additional 2 pct of voters, it is worth having.

Finally, Baru Bian should also think about the alternative effect if SNAP decides to accept BN goodies, and ends up joining BN.

4. #4 by Winston on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 8:59 pm

Uncle Lim, the views of #1, BetterSarawak is valid.
    More than valid. It’s based on experience.
    In fact, the PKR has many bitter lessons from those who hopped from the BN
    and turned out to be absolute disappointments.
    Even until the last moment of the Sarawak elections, one of SNAP’s official joined
    the BN. This should start the alarm bells ringing!!
    And the last paragraph of BetterSarawak smacks of common sense.
    Hand-pick the best locals, imbue them with the DAP’s ideology and nuture them
    for the next GE. There is no time to lose!
    It’s far better to be safe than sorry.
    There is no time for regrets.
    The next GE will make or break the country!

5. #5 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:02 pm

SNAP had been too long in the BN coalition. It is not going to be easy to ‘cleanse’ their leaders off BN mentality. I think they will bring more problems than benefits to PR. Additionally, they are already a spent force as evidenced by the just concluded Sarawak state election.

A good and better alternative for PR is to open their doors to SNAP members. This too, will avoid rifts in the PR coalition.

PKR/PAS have every right to ask DAP for clarification on its invitation to SNAP to merge with DAP. Personally, I think LKS, being an old hand at politics, has no intention to slight PKR or PAS when he propose the DAP-SNAP merger. He was only testing the water, so to speak, and, had the response been positive, I am sure the other partners would be informed to discuss and throughly debate the issue.

Anyway, I am of the view that, in future, all matters affecting PAS,PKR and DAP be discussed before any announcement in the press media to avoid misunderstanding. This time, I think LKS was too quick.

6. #6 by Jamesy on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:07 pm

“In this way, we believe that SNAP cannot ever be made use of as a vehicle to further undermine the stable coherence of PR in the years to come,” he said. – Baru Bian.
    —————————————–

That’s why I said in my earlier comment that the merger between DAP and SNAP is not a good idea, YB Lim.

It would put DAP at risk of sabotage than a whole lot good!

7. #7 by Loh on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:08 pm

///Perkasa has announced its spearheading of the “1Melayu, 1Bumi” movement, warning Malays that the Chinese were seeking ultimate political power.In backing ///–MalaysianInsider

So racist Perkasa is the implementor of racist Utusan melayu’s racist programmes and the racial opportunist Mamakthir is the patron of the racist movement in the country.

8. #8 by Loh on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:24 pm

///Sarawak PKR demanded a clarification today from Lim Kit Siang for inviting SNAP to merge with DAP without prior discussion with his Pakatan Rakyat (PR) partners.///

The statement throws light on why PKR and SNAP could not have a electoral understanding in the recent election. PKR seems to behave like UMNO.

DAP, PKR and PAS are Pakatan Rakyat partners because they agree on the common stand which could not have gone against the ideology of the individual parties. Thus the component parties are free to strengthen its base. DAP’s proposed merger with SNAP would only strengthen the power base of DAP and SNAP would benefit Pakatan Rakyat. The fact that SNAP could not work out an electoral pact with PKR in the recent election cannot mean that SNAP has risen to be the permanent enemy of Pakatan Rakyat. Unless Sarawak PKR considered an enlarged group of DAP threaten the balance of power within Pakatan Rakyat, the demand for explanation is ridiculous. If PKR harbours the zero sum game mentality, there will be no way Pakatan Rakyat would ever take over Putrajaya. It would be useless of Pakatan Rakyat to Malaysians who loathe BN to see Pakatan Rakyat in association with UMNO in PKR name.

• #9 by Jamesy on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 10:44 pm

It’s not about PKR behaving like UMNO or what-not. It’s about consultation. DAP-PKR-PAS are in the same ship, and that ship is called Pakatan Rakyat. So if any member of the ship wants to do something which can affect the other members of the same ship, the least you could do is to sit down and talk. That’s all. That’s what Baru Bian is saying. Unlike UMNO who makes certain government policies in UMNO internal circle and not the cabinet .i.e without consultation with other members of BN. So who’s behaving like UMNO? DAP?

9. #10 by Loh on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:34 pm

///MCA leaders are standing firm being party chief Dr Chua Soi Lek’s warning that the Chinese community will lose its representation in government should the party do badly in the coming general…///–Malaysiakini

That is a welcomed reassurance that after the next general election UMNO will no longer have MCA to window dress. Yes-men from the Chinese community are no representatives of the community. MCA cannot be expected to change after having been in the same mold for decades. This is especially so when it is headed by a soiled person who depends on the goodwill of UMNO leaders to stay out charge for criminal offence on his personal conduct.

The lesser leaders of MCA demonstrate that they care about their own fortune more than their own personal prestige. The interest of Chinese community counts for much less, if any.

10. #11 by loo on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:43 pm

Though I have much disagreement with folks such as ktemoc, I felt that it’s a brilliant move. I believe DAP has enough capacity in weed out the undesirables within SNAP. It’s not accepting SNAP wholesale

Oh come on! If PKR is a merger between Parti Rakyat & Keadlian, why can’t DAP do the same with SNAP? Anyway, it’s a suggestion by LKY

As for the rhetoric by these PKR leaders, don’t bother. Perhaps, PKR has their selfish reasons why they refused to see this brilliant act…..PKR would lose the taikoship…..perhaps, we should ask Tian Chua…..Why everything there is a major election, he would then to drop the bomb

If DAP can’t these goons, I can’t. If I were LKS, I would bite these PKR leaders, ask these questions…..

Why Dominique Ng was not sacked when he committed the ultimate betrayal in contesting in padungan? Perhaps, we should ask Tian Chua or better still Azmin Ali……Is it PKR idea of saboing DAP over the Padungan? It’s PKR’s idea of swapping seats

In malay, kalah tak apa, gaya mesti ada……What a BS lah…..We should give PKR the middle finger…..PKR should eat the humble pie & stay the hell off DAP path especially in Sabah & Sarawak

Perhaps, we should ask Tian Chua……Apa jadi dengan kerusi Derga? Last minute, the ex-state exco from Kedah chip in to contest resulting in defeat in that area? Or the departure of Lunas & Batu Arang adun? Both of them full fledged adun members

If I were LKS, I would up the ante that Tian Chua must go……I can add the music effect by Moody Blues to make folks like Tian Chua his stupidity

PKR stop playing big brother in PR. If I can make Anwar realised this

Or by the way, it could be extended to SAPP….I know that some DAP Sabah leaders have bad feud with SAPP

If I am not mistaken, it was LKS who started the ball rolling in entering the East Malaysia sector……Just as the stranded general in Bastogne…….Aw! Nuts! to PKR……

• #12 by Jamesy on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 10:31 pm

In that case, you should ask DAP to leave the Pakatan Rakyat pact and show PKR the middle finger, and DAP can happily merged with SNAP or whatever party you might think fit.

11. #13 by Loh on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 10:01 pm

///Many Malaysians, including myself, consider the matter as far from being closed because all the earlier unanswered questions are still awaiting responses, especially from the PM himself.

These questions are as follows:

1. What were the motives of the two police officers convicted of killing Altantuya as they appear to have no earlier connection or previous knowledge of her?

2. How did they obtain the C4 explosives and who approved the release of this strictly restricted materiel to them?

3. The third accused Abdul Razak Baginda – who was acquitted of the charge against him – is a political analyst with known ties to Najib. A transcript had surfaced of alleged text messages between them. What did the sms exchanges imply?

4. Why was DSP Musa Safri never investigated when he gave orders to his officer Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri to help Razak Baginda? Azilah had testified in court that Musa told him Razak had a problem because someone threatened him and he [Azilah] was to lend assistance to Razak.

5. Why was Altantuya’s record of entry missing from the immigration records? Have the immigration officers responsible provided a credible explanation as to how Altantuya’s entry details seemingly disappeared?

6. Why has the immigration department not carried out an internal inquiry, and the other higher authorities carried out an independent inquiry, into this serious breach or if they did, the report not made public?

7. Why were the three affidavits and video interview of P. Balasubramaniam, who was engaged by Abdul Razak Baginda as private investigator and who has since vanished, not investigated?///–Koon Yew Yin, CPI, MalaysiaToday

I too wonder why Najib was so interested to establish a RCI to know the identity of the actor in the pornography screened at Carcosa when the sex act did not end in the death of the women in the video. But a Mongolian woman had died and had her body blown to pieces does not appeal to his curiosity. The world wants to know who ordered her killed. Does Najib not know the meaning of priority? If he does can he explained why the sex video is more important than a murder involving a foreigner, and the case is known world wide. Why Najib chose not to have the case closed properly and had relied on RPK’s statement to claim that he was not involved. If Najib is concerned that public might think that he was involved, he should have the properly established body to cleanse his name.

12. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 10:08 pm

Not always….Lim Kit Siang does the right things…and this is one…he is asking for trouble.
    Yes…riding high in Sarawak…why help one against DAP.
    Why can’t LKS suggest SNAP disolve their party and all members …..most welcome to DAP where few will be considered seriously for important posts in Sarawak.
    LKS asked for trouble…he gets it.

13. #15 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 11:52 pm

Aiyah..small matter la..no worry..and we,in fact,do not know the whole storey yet..

If feeling jitters or not satisfied within the coalitian,why wash your underwear and linen in public.One can call,messaging,signaling,satelliting or whatnot.Taxidriver,i love your idea but i think LKS would not be like the quick and easily young one this time to let go his ‘steam’ pipe of ideals.Let’s wait and see.Give me your taxi no. and details cause i trust in you.

14. #16 by sheriff singh on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 12:06 am

What is wrong should the DAP merge with SNAP if done properly?

Wasn’t PKR a merger between Keadilan and PSM?

Maybe Baru wants PKR Sarawak to merge with SNAP but DAP beat them to it?

15. #17 by tak tahan on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 12:29 am

How’s cintagenara?Just wonder if he is enternally injured or not?CSL said tak syiok,too loose and spoiled crackpot.No hard feeling ya..

16. #18 by sheriff singh on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 12:53 am

He’s on crack and pot. No time for anything.

17. #19 by ekompute on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 2:47 am

QUOTE: “Sarawak PKR demanded a clarification today from Lim Kit Siang for inviting SNAP to merge with DAP without prior discussion with his Pakatan Rakyat (PR) partners.”

Sounds very interesting… did Part Keadilan discuss with its Pakatan Rakyat partners when it merged with Parti Rakyat Malaysia?

18. #20 by CK-LA on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 6:16 am

It’s a strategic master stroke to publicly invite an almost bankrupt SNAP to join emerging DAP for a few good reasons:

1. It’s a preemptive strike by hopping ahead of BN that might be thinking likewise.

2. It shows that someone in the PR is willing and able to work together with SNAP.

3. It makes DAP a more racially diverse party inwhich it throughly need.

4. It gives SNAP a life saving rope to pull itself out of being oblivion.

5. It’s a win-win for both as they can only strengthen from here on.

Election is democratically based on your ideology first (inwhich DAP is providing), but you need people to cast you in. Additional Dayaks and Ibans votes will provide a timely boost for the coming general election. Let’s be smart about it – start educating these rural folks who have been living in the dark and show them the potential of an alternative…just look at Penang!

19. #21 by Taxidriver on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 7:08 am

The fact is Parti Keadilan-Parti Rakyat Malaysia merger was mooted long before the formation of Pakatan Rakyat. The talk took more than a year before they inked the partnership to form the present Parti Keadilan Rakyat Malaysia or PKR. Then PR was not even conceived yet.

But, whatever it is, the more important things in a partnership is respect each other, be sincere and understanding, accomodating and humble enough to seek the opinions of partners with healthy discussions. Digging into the past of one partner is not going to be helpful to the partnership; it’s like openning up old wounds. Can you imagine a situation of a husband-wife quarrel wherein they bring up the past to accuse each other?

20. #22 by loo on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 2:32 pm

Taxidriver,
    What digging up the past are you talking about? Those are facts! Ask how Indian chiefs such as Tian Chua having the cheek to ask Kula to give up Ipoh Barat seat in the eve of 2004. Ask those PKR Perak clowns….Yes, Lih Kang, yes…..block the plan of appointing Kula as the mayor of Ipoh. Oh, what about the famous comment our Dear Tian Chua…….One can’t expect to stand on traditional seats such as Kampar……12th GE. Worst, even PKR has the cheek to chope the Dudong seat on the eve of the Sarawak 2006 GE

Taxi driver,
    LKS has been extremely kind to these goons. Me not so kind. Read ktemoc blog….he lagi not beri beri kind….He literally ask Azmin Ali (Chief negotiator or is it instigator) & even Anwar to go?
    Oh, before these goons wanna open their mouth, I suggest these goons take a look at their mirror.

Tian Chua,
    Who choose Tee beng to stand in Nibong Tebal? You right? What about Wee Wee boy who wee on every DAP leaders including Karpal Singh.

Tian Chua,
    YOU ARE FIRED!

Guys & gals,
    PKR wanna carry on their stupid excuses especially through their propaganda machine, Malaysia chronicle……CARRY ON man! I would personally expose all the stupid wrongdoing by PKR. I might even sink it.

PKR,
    Carry on man! Or eat your humble pie, stay in the sideline.

P.S : By the way, what the hell Hasnar Ebrahim banning its own PKR members helping Ansari in Batu Sapi campaign. Ask Tony Pua, how piss he’s when Fuziah Salleh unilaterally declare that PKR shall campaign in Batu Sapi…..I don’t have to be there to know while PKR doing their internal campaign, DAP took up the mantle battling PBS…..Might as well give it to DAP the seat.

I can give you one long list of sins by PKR……The weakest link in Pakatan Rakyat……Let the whacking session begin till the mouth of all these Indian chiefs of PKR stop

Wanna bet, AZMIN ALI WANNA EAT STAMPIN PARLIAMENTARY IN THE 13TH GE……I BETTER TELL VOON LEE SHAN ABOUT THIS