BN troubled as Pakatan rally draws more support

By Clara Chooi

KUCHING, April 11 — Barisan Nasional (BN) was left red-faced last night when two separate rallies across the city featuring Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his arch-nemesis Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim drew vastly different crowd numbers.

The usually conservative Sarawak folk arrived in droves at Anwar’s rally in the Batu Kawah constituency just 30 minutes outside of the city, all clambering to listen to the opposition leader and Pakatan Rakyat (PR) bigwigs like DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng and PAS spiritual leader Datuk Seri Nik Aziz Nik Mat.

According to observers at least 8,000 were in attendance, causing a major two-hour traffic congestion on the roads leading to the ceramah venue.

Held at the same time in the same city, Najib’s 1 Malaysia meet-the-leaders session paled in comparison.

Even with the bussing of people from various neighbouring constituencies into Kuching South City Hall’s indoor stadium, only a thousand were seen in it.

Each participant were given a 1 Malaysia t-shirt to wear to signal unity and flags to wave at BN government leaders as they made their way into the stadium.

Accompanying the BN chairman were the five Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) candidates, and political bigwigs like Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein.

After the prime minister followed the red carpet trail leading into the hall to the sounds of hoots and whistles from the white-shirt supporters, hundreds were seen streaming out, choosing to opt out of listening to his speech.

Instead, they were seen loitering around the stadium complex, chatting and feasting on the hamburgers and mineral water that were handed out.

Even as Najib’s function kicked off, large numbers were seen lounging in the buses and vans that had ferried them into the venue.

When the prime minister began his speech, large groups of people, garbed in the 1 Malaysia t-shirts, decided to stream out of the hall.

The packed crowd listening to Anwar last night at the Pakatan Rakyat rally last night.

Others appeared to look bored but clapped dutifully at Najib’s punchlines or when those around them did so. The bleachers steadily emptied out as the night wore on.

While the BN chairman tried to temper the people’s growing anger against Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud by pleading with them to believe the chief minister’s succession promise, the thousands that gathered at Batu Kawah cheered as PR’s leaders told them to believe otherwise.

According to reporters at the venue, Anwar received steady attention from the crowd thoughout his speech.

In his element when addressing such large audiences, the opposition leader told Sarawakians to believe in PR and its leaders, adding that “Pek Moh”, the Hokkien term used to describe Taib, and his men in government, needed to learn from Lim, Nik Aziz and other opposition leaders.

“They have never stolen state land from the people,” he pointed out.

He drew from PR’s experiences in the Selangor and Penang state governments, pointing out that “in Selangor you get free water but in Sarawak only the rainwater is free”.

Sarawak will go to polls this April 16 in an election that is fast becoming BN’s to lose.

While PR’s leaders have long admitted that BN would successfully defend its hold over the hornbill state, many have also expressed confidence that the pact’s numbers win the state assembly would be significantly reduced.

BN presently has 63 seats in the 71-seat assembly while DAP has six and PKR and Parti Cinta Malaysia have one each.

1. #1 by hallo on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 12:13 pm

They are the devils

They are the evil minded human being

They are the corrupted politicians

They are in the law are criminals

They bn are coming……

They bn are coming ….to abetting us, lead us to, with their greed of devils, want to destroy us as the God beloved children to work against the righteous GOD, to vote them and supporting their devils of Greed against GOD

They bn are coming….to cover our minds, our eyes, our sense of righteous, with their corrupted devil minded of Greed……

They bn are leading us with their GREED to against our pure heart, our simple mind, our sense of justice, our sense of right and wrong, lead us with their corruption devils of GREED against JUSTICE, AND RIGHTEOUS….

They the corrupted politicians

They have robbed our rightful tax money billions

They have stolen our native lands

They have leading us to racism

They have tried destroying our rights freedom of religions

For your family, we must standup fight the corrupted politicians
    For your wife, we must standup fight the devils, for fairer, more security and justice Malaysia

For your children, we must standup fight the corrupted politician criminals destroying our future generations in this land Malaysia, for a fairer and justice country

Don’t weaken your mind, don’t soften your heart with corrupted politician criminals, Standup firm, standup determined, for our better future, we must VOTE FOR CHANGE

Without a country free from corrupted politicians, the country future will be in the dark of devil hands

We must VOTE FOR CHANGE, A COUNTRY FREE FROM CORRUPTED POLITICIANS DEVILS

We must VOTE FOR CHANGE, A BETTER FUTURE FOR OUR COUNTRY

We must VOTE FOR CHANGE, BRIGHTER FUTURE FOR OUR CHILDREN, FREE FROM CORRUPTED POLITICIAN DEVILS

TELL EVERYONE

Yes, we will……..UBAH….UBAH…UBAH

VOTE FOR CHANGE…VOTE FOR CHANGE….VOTE FOR CHANGE

WE ARE THE PEOPLE, FIGHT FOR BRIGHTER FUTURE OF FAIRER, JUSTICE

WE ARE THE PEOPLE, VOTE FOR FREEDOM OF RELIGIONS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE, VOTE FOR FREE OF RACISM, CORRUPTED POLITICIAN DEVILS

FOR OUR BELOVED COUNTRY MALAYSIA

FOR MYSELF, FOR MY SONS, FOR MY CHILDREN, FOR MY FAMILY, FOR MY FRIENDS

Yes, We will…..UBAH….UBAH….UBAH

Yes, We will…..VOTE FOR CHANGE….VOTE FOR CHANGE…VOTE FOR CHANG

WHEN WE VOTE, WE CAN NOT VOTE FOR CORRUPTED POLITICIAN CRIMINALS, DEVILS OF GREED AGAINST GOD

WE ARE GOD BELOVED CHILDREN

WE MUST FIGHT AGAINST DEVIL OF GREED

WE MUST FREE MALAYSIANS FROM DEVIL OF GREED THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS

SAY IT LOUD, WE WILL VOTE FOR JUSTICE

SAY IT LOUD, WE WILL VOTE FOR CHANGE

SAY IT LOUDER, WE WILL VOTE FOR RIGHTEOUS AND JUSTICE

Yes, We will ….Ubah…Ubah…Ubah…

Vote for CHANGE…Vote for CHANGE….Vote for CHANGE

2. #2 by Jong on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 1:10 pm

Santa comes early to Kuching with goodie-bags of tupperware for appetiser? Interesting,
    who could the lucky tupperware agent/dealer be, ….Mak Bulat?

…Lu tolong bini gua, Gua bini mest tolong Lu.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 1:17 pm

It’s very good sign that Sarawakian has finally open up their eyes to see through what is good from evil.Hope sarawakian will walk the talk when the polling date comes.Ambil yang jernih(Virtue PR),buang yang keruh(Corrupt BN).Yes,yes,we want PR and we reject arrogant,racist and corrut BN.

4. #4 by Comrade on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 1:18 pm

Sarawakians, “It’s now or never” by Elvis Presley

It’s now or never
    Tomorrow will be too late
    It’s now or never
    Sarawakians must not wait

Go all out and do it
    Kick out PBB/SUPP & company
    Rally behind PR and Uncle Kit
    Vote PKR/DAP/PAS for better prosperity

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 1:31 pm

But how are the others, PKR and PAS, doing? The best DAP can do is to win 15 seats that’s about all. If the others don’t deliver, then DAP’s success means nothing. It won’t be enough to make things happen.

So let us not get too hyped up. Show results. Go help the others and report how they are doing. Are they pulling in the crowds too? Last I hear your allies are having a tough time in the interior.

6. #6 by tak tahan on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 1:56 pm

Sarawakian,think for a moment of this toady faced(i bra him),umno’s mouth and tool to discriminate,suppress and hinder our progress.With no second thought and fear been forced to mire again in poverty,boot out the corrupted BN regime led by najis and shit of the shitty gangs.Shit shit shit.
    http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2011/04/perkasa-abomination.html

7. #7 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:41 pm

Yeah, PR must strive 2 win ALL contested seats – UP d goal 2 TAKE OVER n RULE S’wak state
    DAP, PKR, n PAS – B UNITED, 1 4 all n all 4 1 mah or I tolong U, U tolong me lor
    NR has a plan 2 retire pekmo n replace him with KTK, d loser fr Pg

8. #8 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:48 pm

Free food, free T-shirts, free $$$, free transport, free goodie-bag, free entertainment, still less rakyat went 2 BN’ s ceramah
    NR now asking d binatang fr Sabah n CSL 2 offer free seks n videoing 2 attract more 2 his talks

9. #9 by tak tahan on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 3:15 pm

Aiyoh.Terrible la…True or no?

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 3:41 pm

Batu Kawah is a Chinese majority constituency (the only seat won by the ruling coalition in the 2006 state polls). That 8000 would attend PR’s ceramah and if this seat would swing to DAP/PR will not be surprising taking into consideration the anti PeK Moh/BN general mood of the Chinese. Before one revels in the tsunami reaching Sarawak shores, one has to have a good sense of prevailing mood of the rural seats/voters. The electoral lines are drawn based on rural weightage. Will PKR deliver there? There are doubts here. Opposition couldn’t even get into the long houses.

11. #11 by dagen on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 4:06 pm

It is obvious. Cara umno as usual. Hand-outs. Angpaus. Bribery. Incentives. You help me, I help you. So people gather there for some of these goodies. Not to support the silly idiot who is speaking, even if that idiot is the PM. For decades this has been umno’s favourite tool to win support. And it worked. But now people are wiser. This same tool is being used by the people for some immediate gain or enjoyment. And why not? It is their money in the first place. A tool to win support has now been turned into a tool to humiliate umno. There you have it umno. Times have changed. Black and white tvs are long gone. Cassette tapes, cartridges and such stuffs too are long gone. Soon even CD players will become obsolete like the walkmans. And you umno are still relying on a sorely antiquated tactic to win voters’ support. Yor are out of date. Way way out of date. Good luck to you.

12. #12 by wanderer on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 4:22 pm

Those especially the bumiputras of the land still chose to believe in the deranged low beings from UMNO/BN, they deserved to be screwed further…do you prefer to live like “Beggars” in their own land? Wake up, long house chieftains!
    The milky sky is shifting away, a promise of a better tomorrow, so Sarawakians grab your opportunity for change!

13. #13 by Ray on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 4:25 pm

UBAH >>Taib- Najib BN Evils will beget more Evils….
    All Poor Rural Urban Unsurvivable Sarawak People ……Wake up now and DO NOT Be So Easily cheat by these Free Election Goodies like Free Tupperware containers , few Tin cans of Sardine Fish Milo etc, Free Zinc Roof,Free this and that ..>>>How long will these goodies last you??>>>>>Only PR can Deliver and serve you well with Much Better Lifetime Survival Goodies like Native Security Bond, Real Economics Growth-Share Dividences generous payout ,Government Ministry Civil Service Jobs and Open-tender Projects development contract .
    Lets Ask ourseleves >> Which Goodies do you All Sarawak People want??? …Decide Now BN langsong No Hope for your Future .
    Only Hope will be and can delivered by Pakatan Rakyat if PR elected into Parliament 2011 by you All Semua Sokong PR…..
    Vote PR into Putrajaya now.
    Remember in this Globalised Internet World community>>You can be either the Hopeful type or the other so called “”HOPELESS”” group..BN Taib kaki…..see his 2 Hopeless sons

14. #14 by Jong on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 10:56 pm

” Even as Najib’s function kicked off, large numbers were seen lounging in the buses and vans that had ferried them into the venue.”

– Must be so boring for them. Sounds familiar, like a bunch of ‘rented crowd’! LOL!!!

15. #15 by monsterball on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 11:20 pm

When have anyone heard 1000 went to hear Najib speak in a nice clean Stadium…with goodies given out..and 8000 gathered at an open place to hear Oppositions speak…in the history of Sarawak State Elections?
    Yes…almost all the 8000 were Tiab’s supporters ..one time or another…no doubt about it.
    They came to hear Oppositions speak and they can judge for themselves..who are telling lies and who are truthful.
    If you read all reports…you may actually think BN is the Opposition….where head counts are concerned.
    Like the Lord of the Jungle….Najib is yelling for all Federal Ministers to go over to Sarawak and help.
    Hornbills are all gone to be fitted with DAP rockets.
    Maybe Najib should bring few houndogs from Mainland…to fight flying birds with big beaks? In few minutes..all houndogs will be beaten to pieces….hahahahahaha
    Mabe time to bring the two Russian made subs….to fight enemies and trators?
    Do that…he wll be admitted into a room with crazy horse.
    What else can he think off?
    His God father?

16. #16 by born in Malaya on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 11:38 pm

To all Sarawakians, whether they are staying in the jungle or city, wake-uplah , please do not vote this, evil, arrogant, corrupted and racist government. For your own future sake, vote PKR.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 12 April 2011 - 12:17 am

Wow..wow..now hornbills transformed to flying machine to shoot.shoot.shoot..tat..tat..tat..precisely as machine guns.. incredible..canland hornbills.. and i love that.Attack now than could never ever will be this lifetime chance to get even,after and over..Speak,act and decide your rights steadfastly since the new transformed high tect hornbills are up in the sky ready in missiles and rockets to fire those evil.

18. #18 by ablastine on Tuesday, 12 April 2011 - 9:48 am

PR is probably going to win in the cities and more developed areas but that will hardly be enough to have any impact on the overall number of seats. The less informed and easier to bribe rural constituencies are still very much impenetrable with voters still clinging on to blind loyalties to a corrupt and dying regime. PR should concentrate their resources on grey constituencies like the semi-rural areas where there is still hope that some voters have received and understand the message which the opposition brings. If PR can bring the fence sitters to their side which is not difficult given the momentum and the moral high ground it is holding, the tsunami of change which we all hope for may just be possible. If the opposition lacks election funds all they need to do is to ask (in the internet or on site such as this) from supporters not only from East Malaysia but in Penisular as well. You may be surprised as to how much you can collect from a people united to bring a corrupted government down at all cost.

19. #19 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 8:39 am

“Even with the bussing of people from various neighbouring constituencies into Kuching South City Hall’s indoor stadium, only a thousand were seen in it.”

Oh yes, even the”thousand” was sent by SUPP.

Clearly, somebody is really “takut” now. Cyber attack on MALAYSIAKINI will not save them!!!