Muhyiddin should explain whether 1Malaysia is meaningless slogan or serious policy to make Malaysia more competitive by creating a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second?

Deputy Prime Minister and UMNO Deputy President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is getting very defensive.

In Parit Sulong yesterday, Muhyiddin accused me of being more “racist” than him and defended his earlier statement that he is Malay first and Malaysian second, and he asked:

“Tanya Lim Kit Siang sama dia akan mengaku Cina atau bangsa Malaysia.”

It will be tragic if after 53 years of nation-building since Merdeka in 1957, Malaysian politics is reduced to political leaders exchanging allegations of who is more racist.

Firstly, let me state that I have not called Muhyiddin an “ultra”. However, he owes a full accounting to all Malaysians as to whether he really supports the 1Malaysia policy advocated by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and whether Najib’s 1Malaysia is a meaningless slogan or a serious policy to make Malaysia more vibrant, productive and competitive where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second?

I did not invent this definition of 1Malaysia. This definition is clearly spelt out in the official documentation on 1Malaysia, the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap released by the government in January this year, which states:

“The goal of 1Malaysia is to make Malaysia more vibrant, more productive and more competitive – and ultimately a greater nation: a nation where, it is hoped, every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second and where the principles of 1Malaysia are woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society.”

Muhyiddin again challenged me to state whether I am Chinese or Malaysian first.

I had already stated in Parliament that I am a Malaysian first and Chinese second. I am proud of my ethnicity but I have always believed that all Malaysians must rise above their ethnic, cultural, religious and geographic differences to seek a common bond with the Malaysian identity transcending all ethnic, cultural, religious and geographic identities.

The question Muhyiddin should answer is why despite Najib’s 1Malaysia policy, not only he but there is not a single Barisan Nasional Cabinet Minister who is prepared to stand up in Parliament to declare that he is Malaysian first and his or her race second?

In fact, I have a question in the current meeting of Parliament asking the Prime Minister to state how many Cabinet Ministers, and to name them, who regard himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second in line with the 1Malaysia policy and definition.

However, this question was ruled out of order on the flimsiest of grounds when the real reason is that the Prime Minister will not be able to answer this question without causing the greatest embarrassment to his 1Malaysia policy – as up to now no Cabinet Minister is prepared to stand up to declare that he or she is Malaysian first and race second.

If this is the position, where no Cabinet Minister is prepared to fully and publicly espouse the philosophy of 1Malaysia, how could the principles of 1Malaysia” be “woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society”?

It is precisely because of this lack of commitment to the goal of 1Malaysia that the New Economic Model (NEM) has met such a quick demise in the 10th Malaysia Plan.

Just to give one example. The NEM drew a picture of Malaysia in crisis, caught in economic stagnation and the middle-income trap for close to two decades.

It admitted: “We are not developing talent and what we have is leaving. The human capital situation in Malaysia is reaching a critical stage. The rate of outward migration of skilled Malaysians is raising rapidly.”

The answer of the Tenth Malaysia Plan is a Talents Corporation but without any political will to address the real problem for the damaging brain drain which has plagued the country for decades which had been rightly diagnosed by the NEM, viz:

“Globalisation has created a fierce competition for talent, forcing companies and government to recognize that people are the most valuable assets. To compete on a regional and global scale, Malaysia must retain and attract talent. Malaysia must be seen by its people and by others as a land of equal opportunity to earn a good living and provide a secure happy life for each individual and the family.”

In other words, 1Malaysia not in sloganeering but in reality – where Malaysians feel that they are Malaysians first and race second in all economic, political and social aspects in the country.

I have suggested a 1Malaysia Royal Commission of Inquiry on how to achieve the goal of making every Malaysian perceive himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second so that Malaysia can become more vibrant, more productive and more competitive.

Is Muhyiddin prepared to support this proposal?

1. #1 by Thor on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 12:29 pm

This “mad cow” is getting sickening and a nuisance, whenever there’s no grass for him to chew.
    Need not worry, YB Lim!
    It won’t be long that we’ll send it (him) back to it’s cow den for good.

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 12:32 pm

Don’t be bothered over that Moo. After the 13 GE, he’ll be washing cars along the roads of Johor Baru. A ringgit a car, he should get about RM15 a day, enough for breakfast and lunch, but none left for dinner

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 12:44 pm

Seriously? He said you won’t call yourself Malaysian first? I have always said the man may not be an idiot but he is capable of the biggest stupidity.

Essentially his training is too narrow. It actually has some depth but his mind is limited in scope which is why he can do the most stupid thing especially under pressure.

One interesting thing. KJ attacking police over RPK.. It looks like the difference between Najib and Musa Aman is growing. Someone should go ask Musa Aman if Najib wants him out..

Zaid Ibrahim is right. There is a lot of strain on Najib’s administration.

4. #4 by Yong NC on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 1:07 pm

YB Lim said it so clearly in Parliament , that he is Malaysian 1st Chinese 2nd..this was recorded..DPM Muhyiddin please lah, don’t simply open your mouth and talk shxxxt…by the way ur looks and eyes betray you everytime you open ur big gap, same for ur chief too…and also that stupid pekasa head ..wat is hisname …

5. #5 by DAP man on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 2:17 pm

Wonder why the DPM should lower himself to kampong level politics to rouse Malayness when he knows what Kit has already said in Parliament.

Is he saying that he is more patriotic than Kit? Or more patriotic than all the pendatangs?

6. #6 by DAP man on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 2:17 pm

Malaysian? Apa itu?

7. #7 by monsterball on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 4:59 pm

Muhyddin has a very low IQ.
    He is making a fool of himself.
    His boss…the supposedly PM of Malaysia….a low class wheeler dealer got walloped by Sibuans…yet felt no shame.
    Now it is that DPM trying his luck to fool Malaysians.
    Anyway…LKS have said it all..and you can bet….Muhyddin will keep quiet and try something else again.
    Best is Najib saying all football favourite teams got knocked out…and compare UMNO B as a favourite party in Malaysia…with his so call 72% support.
    If so…why is he delaying a snap 13th GE?
    What kind of a Commander is he…unable to take advantage of such a great opportunity?
    Even Mahathir said..he had 52% support and he did call for an early election to be elected officially by Malaysians as our PM.
    Surely Najib knows he is appointed..not elected at all.
    Why talk so much…both of them?
    Actions speaks louder than words.
    Come on Najib…be a man…call for a 13th GE…to show how popular you are.

8. #8 by habis on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 5:23 pm

No wonder after all the years as exMB of Johore our misfit DPM shows his true colour and IQ of a moron.His level of international exposure is a big zero and and he thinks that we Malaysians are fools. It is a shame for Malaysia to have such a low class politician championing racial politics divide and rule strategy and it is time to send this kampong jagoh to political oblivion.It is time to champion the rights of East Malaysian Bumi where the Federal Govt. had neglected during the past decades.Malaysia is for all Malaysians. So please Encik DPM shut your big mouth for whatever it comes out of it is all rubbish and unfit for our ears.

9. #9 by dcasey on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 5:35 pm

“not only he but there is not a single Barisan Nasional Cabinet Minister who is prepared to stand up in Parliament to declare that he is Malaysian first and his or her race second” – Kit

That’s because all these so called ministers, especially that white haired one in Sarawak, is all geared up to call himself “1Canada first… and others maybe 1Aust or 1UK or 1US etc… depending on which country their property affiliations are… so uncle Kit how can you force it out of them to declare themselves as Malaysian 1st?

10. #10 by cintanegara on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 5:55 pm

What A Joke!!!!… LKS wants Malaysians to perceive himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second? Our beloved statesman, Tun Dr. Mahathir has proposed the Sekolah Wawasan to ink children from different language streams (Malay, Chinese, and Tamil National Schools)…,,The establishment of this school will contribute to national integration and racial harmony in this country. Majority Malaysians are saddened that this system was strongly opposed by DAP….Though DAP professes multiracial socialist politics as their theme, in reality, nothing multiracial about their approach….

11. #11 by frankyapp on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 6:09 pm

Frankly must our political leaders especially between the BN and PR always needed to quarrel and accuse each other over anything such as race first or malaysian first or some different of opinion as to how to govern the country. I think both sides should show full maturity especially the BN side. The ruling party should behave pretty well and prepare to answer any question from the opposition in a frank and sincere manner whereas the opposition too should oppose in a reasonable manner,hence displaying the true meaning of a two party democratic system,all working together for people and country. Last but not the least,leave personal matter alone and talk all about the business of how to adminitrate the country better.

12. #12 by undertaker888 on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 6:37 pm

[deleted] As a dpm, we haven’t heard him say anything profound. Dumbfounded occasionally but nothing profound.

As all umnoputras, duit makan first, wave the keris second if challenged. That’s all to it on their ketuanan.

13. #13 by dawsheng on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 9:15 pm

Personally, I feel LKS has been harping on this race issues, given it an over-extended lifespan, and perhaps may have immortalize it, like a never ending Taiwanese soap opera. While I agree Malaysians should be reminded because not everyone is listening, but at least not with the same storyline, the same everything, it is so predictable, I mean what you want me to say, the moment I read “Muhyiddin” it was all over for me. Who the hell know UMNO probably loves it and that’s why they like to provoke you. Honestly, if there’s anyone who think UMNO is not racist he is most likely riding on the gravy train, or near enough enjoying the spillover, these days it is all about marketing you know.

14. #14 by clear conscience mirror on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 9:29 pm

“Stupidity is the cessation of creativity” sums it all for what Moo & Najib are all about

15. #15 by dawsheng on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 9:50 pm

I have suggested a 1Malaysia Royal Commission of Inquiry on how to achieve the goal of making every Malaysian perceive himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second so that Malaysia can become more vibrant, more productive and more competitive. – LKS

Seriously, who still believes in RCI? The moment anything went thru the RCI it came out looking like it, sounding like it, but it’s not it. It is better if DAP and Pakatan just go ahead and show us how to do it.

16. #16 by Jong on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 10:06 pm

This no brainer has nothing concrete to talk about so he just needs to say something lah to show he is ‘working’. mooooooo!!!

17. #17 by aukin on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 10:18 pm

Well, something is very very wrong to say race first follow by Malaysian second. I can read his mind of what he actually wish: All malays are to support UMNO otherwise you are labelled —–, then l don’t need non malay votes.

18. #18 by aukin on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 10:29 pm

The inner spirit of Malaysian first irrespective of educational medium or religious backgroud is of utmost important in nation building. With this inner spirit of Malaysian first, naturally comes national unity amongst the different races evolving into a cohesive Malaysian society. What we have now is cohesion problem.

19. #19 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 4:47 am

BN/UMNO is made up of cows, monkeys, and chicken.

20. #20 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:21 am

Lim Kit Siang is fully aware by now..most of the Royal Commission fellas selected are UMNO B puppets.
    He keeps calling for Royal Commission is the right way to expose what kind of a government we are having now.
    DAP and Pakatan cannot show how to do the right things unless elected to govern the whole country.
    I hope this will throw light to dawsheng.

21. #21 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:25 am

And for cintanegara….when he speaks you can expect his usual UMNO B ambil bodek style.
    He sounds like Muhyiddin.
    I wonder does he looks like him?

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 6:07 am

Muhyiddin is a fat joke!

Call a spade a spade – Yes, Muhyiddin is an ultra, even if he is only a political ultra; he is evey bit the one who is willing to prostitute himself for political mileage over principles – PROSTITUTE in capital letters becos it is big-time.

1Malaysian? Muhyiddin is more like 3/4 Malaysian.

23. #23 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 8:12 am

cintanegara, the school system in the country has been politicized since TDM took over the ministry. And the people had lost faith in it, it is being used for Bn’s political agenda. The result is there for you to see; third rate graduates who just seek ANY JOB to get paid. We have churned out a majority of students who have no direction and worse of all: fear competition! And the 1 Malaysia school falls into that category because it is enforced by a single community. If the job has been well done, you did agree with me that the situation in this country would not be this bad. And today, we hear so much of brain-drain. Why?? if not for this kind of policy. You can spend your time tauting others in this column but the truth will not change; the situation will remain as it is for the next generation. Of course by then Malaysia may be irrelevant in the global trade or scenario; just like Zimbabwe today!!

24. #24 by habis on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 8:19 am

Regrding cintanegara comment by his Beloved Dr Maverik it just goes to show that a product of UMNO B who refused to see all the white elephant projects and the damage done by him draining all our Beloved country funds by all his cronies.Singapore $ was way below Malaysian $ then but just look at it Now with all our rich natural resources we have squandered all our wealth to project the image of one person at the expense of the poor rakyat.

25. #25 by dagen on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 8:55 am

White elephants? Yeah. Daya Bumi. Wot is happening to that gigantic white elephant? Good to have people like cintanegara back here to throw insults at us and to display stupidity and arrogance ala umno punya style. People like him (kassim and gang) – his insults, stupidity and arrogance – constantly remind people like us never to trust umno.

26. #26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:06 am

In Thailand white elephants are priceless and holy…all kept by the King of Thailand.
    In Malaysia…yes so many white elephant projects and must be so..as each one must cost billions..for the devil reincarnated to swell up UMNO B kitty bank to buy up votes and country.
    22 years…still country not bought up…son is making deals…after deals…also no success.
    Yes….UMNO B needs lots of billions…and kopitiam fellas must be alert and brave.
    “You only live twice”…one for your life and one for your dream.
    Our common dream will come true very soon.

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:22 am

Muhyiddin got into problem with his answer “I am Malay first” because he’s scared he would lose their votes. This is evident from his explanation that he would be shunned by all the Malays if he were to say that he was a Malaysian first and a Malay second!

The reason he took that position is because he’s a politician of a political party (UMNO) that professes to champion Malay rather than Malaysian interest. [Rais Yatim of course tried to reconcile by saying clause 3(6) of Umno constitution provides for close relations and cooperation between the races compatible with creation of a single Malaysian race that is strong].

The fact is our core ruling political parties – UMNO, MCA and MIC of the original Alliance – are all communal based, their respective officials and politicians all have to champion respective communal interests for respective communal votes.

And therefore it can be said that the very backbone of Barisan Nasional (whose backbone comprises these 3 main parties with the others also communal) is by character, goals, and political complexion, race based first and Malaysian a poor second, entirely opposed to 1 Malaysia.

The BN is anachronistic : where else in todays civilised world, the ruling coalition’s political parties’ raison de etre is still based on championing one race against the others with the coalition’s leader ironically championing “1 Malaysia”’s Malaysian first and race second as political mantra which is all at once against its own political character, make up and DNA? No wonder his No. 2 is in dilemma of how to say something consistent with 1 Malaysia and also with his position as deputy president of a party championing race!

When one does and professes something inconsistent with one’s own constitution, make up and raison etre one ends up confused.

It is (for lack of better example) like a prostitute whose main purpose of engagement in the sex act is to make money and saying that she is doing it because she has just fallen in love instantly with the customer! How credible is that?

28. #28 by k1980 on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:27 am

http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2577&Itemid=178

unlike poor vincent tan, this billionaire does not need to beg for any betting licence

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:30 am

How can a ruling party’s politician put forth his agenda to make every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first and race second when his own political party in which he fights his political cause and hopes to get votes for it is race first and Malaysian second?

Answer that question first.

If one wants 1 Malaysia to be more than mere political sloganeering, get all communal parties like UMNO, MCA and MIC restructured along non communal lines of Malaysian first and community/race subsidiary.

30. #30 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:30 am

Forget about asking BN/UMNO to explain anything. Go through all the critics of BN/UMNO and chose the one you fear the most, believe its true. Go through all their self-congratulation and don’t believe a thing they say and that is all you need to know.

Take for example. Not more than a couple of months after congratulating themselves of 10% first quarter growth which actually sucks compare to Singapore’s 15.5% growth. Critics then already warned slowdown will happen then and yesterday Najib just confirmed it giving excuse its external.
    Why is it we don’t see them NOT claiming credit because the first quarter growth is also external?

Why do we need BN for again?

31. #31 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:30 am

“And for cintanegara….when he speaks you can expect his usual UMNO B ambil bodek style.
    He sounds like Muhyiddin.
    I wonder does he looks like him?” Monsterball

Hey, it could be him ! The bad grammar, the plagiarising of other people’s work, the lack of common sense – all these point to the fact that it could be the DPM writing in Kit’s blog !

32. #32 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:31 am

DAP and Pakatan cannot show how to do the right things unless elected to govern the whole country. – monsterball

I disagree.

33. #33 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:41 am

You have the right to disagree…dawsheng.
    If you are not in total control….how else can one produce real results?

34. #34 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:46 am

For example…how many corrupted ministers are charged and brought to court…..dawsheng?

35. #35 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:46 am

What do you mean by in total control? Do you think BN is in total control?

36. #36 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:06 am

If anyone still unsure how 1Malaysia came about, it was hijacked from DAP’s Malaysian First by Najib and thru APCO, reincarnated into 1Malaysia. However, unlike DAP’s commitment to Malaysian First, Najib’s 1Malaysia is mere sloganeering to appease non-Malays who traditionally support BN, it was never meant to transform the Malaysian society as we know it, because UMNO political survival depends one thing, the special rights of Bumiputra, this is common fact known to all Malaysians. I think it is wrong strategy to just criticize UMNO as racist, instead DAP and Pakatan Rakyat should embrace 1Malaysia and hijacked it back from Najib.

37. #37 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:07 am

Now I can understand….you are thinking the vast majority Malaysians are supporting DAP and PR…which I fully agree.
    What you missed out is that the Federal government is still under UMNO B control….and that control makes life difficult for DAP and PR..to do their right things for all Malaysians.
    Are you clear now?

38. #38 by Winston on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:20 am

Uncle Lim, we know who the fools and the crooks are!
    It’s as plain as daylight for every body to see.
    For one thing, I’m very glad that the Philippinos have, not only dumped their useless and corrupt government, but the new President has immediately started going after all the perpetrators very vigorously!
    That’s the way to go!
    So, Malaysians, we must also do the same IF we want a good, no-nonsense government!
    Rally solidly behind the PR and give BN a tsunami that it will never recover from!
    So that it won’t even be able to stand in the sidelines!

39. #39 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:23 am

Dawsheng..you seems to totally ignore UMNO B have been controlling Malaysia with their race ad religion politics.
    So UMNO B … MCA MIC all can fight for their races…and you expect DAP to immediately apply a Malaysian Malaysia concept?
    I repeat Malaysian Malaysia…not “1 Malaysia”..with each party taking care if it’s own race…to divide and rule…all over again.
    And please remember…Lim Guan Eng went to jail for few years defending a Muslim girl.
    Do you know that…..and that’s why he is the Penang CM now.
    I am trying to explain why especially DAP needed to fighting for the Chinese in the past…because it is he Chinese..that suffers most under Mahathir and on going.
    I will not waste time to explain in details..except DAP do fight for the minorities Of all races..and right now..is having vast majority Malaysians supporting DAP and PR.
    By the way…vast majority Malaysians are Malaysia Malaysians…so no need for Najib to come out with his “1Malaysia” nonsense..which you will never know….it is a slogan to try to make him look popular and wanted. Najib is playing how to agree to disagree right now…when DAP keDAILan and PAS were doing that before 12th GE,
    It is now..clearly for all Malaysians and UMNO B is clearly for Malays.
    So are MCA and MIC.
    Gerakan had it’s chance to pull out and be great but Tsu Koon chose to be UMNO B’s puppet.

40. #40 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:39 am

Do not keep quiet…dawsheng.
    Do you agree or disagree now?
    And explain…if you still disagree.

41. #41 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:45 am

if moo and the cowherds cannot be malaysian first, then get out of malaysia. revoke their citizenship. ask him and his gang to go back to where they came from.

it is a disgrace to have these type of pendatangs in this country.

42. #42 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:54 am

Sometimes ignorance is bliss. Pakatan Rakyat is daydreaming if they think BN is just going to give up because they lose the ballot box. In case you don’t know, below the surface of this sham democracy all over the world the capitalist, fascist and imperialist thrived, the notion that we voted for a leader so that he can decide our fate is completely outdated, this mindset must change. Should Pakatan took over it’ll turn into a capitalist government soon enough, the only benefit may be distribution of wealth. But with the world economies in tatters, what hope do think we have? It is time we look beyond this sham democracy.

43. #43 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 12:25 pm

I would like to meet interesting minds with the ability to challenge my intellectuality….people like Monster and Godfather don’t quite fit into the mold.… …When they disagree with someone on certain points… they launch personal attack ..Unfortunately they haven’t woken up and responded as one would hope by addressing the core issues…..Someone has taken most of their brains away and they probably didn’t even know it…… Smart people, or at least those whose brains have good first gears…. use their speed in thought to overpower others…My sincere advise…learn from Ekans or Onlooker how to post intellectual comment….… we need smart sounding comments

44. #44 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 1:32 pm

“It will be tragic if after 53 years of nation-building since Merdeka in 1957, Malaysian politics is reduced to political leaders exchanging allegations of who is more racist.”

Absolutely right!! More so if he is the DPM. The fact he needs to defend himself is a sad reflection of the state of affairs of Malaysian nation building after 53 years.

Is he so insecure he needs to find a bogeyman to accuse of racism to win votes? As the man one heartbeat away from the highest political office in the country, shouldn’t he spend more time pondering on how to take this nation forward in these critical times instead of harping on the overuse racism tactics?

For the benefit of those who have never been to Parit Sulong, you will understand why he made such a speech. It is rural Malay countryside even though it is a short drive away from Muar or Batu Pahat and a perfect example of rural Malay heartland that UMNO deliberately kept undeveloped all these years to maintain their grip on their voters. Such a speech will appeal to such voters.

45. #45 by Ricky Zulkarnain on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 2:13 pm

No point of being 1Malaysia while previlleges among races still not equal.If it is purpose of unity then what is Ruku Negara for? In my opinion it just a political strategy after BN lost big number of seats in parliment at previous General Election.How do we live before the concept introduce?

46. #46 by AhPek on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 2:26 pm

“I would like to meet interesting minds with the ability to challenge my intellectuality.”
    cintanegara.

Holy Moses! What are you trying to say! Your statement has sounded so highly ‘intellectual’ that no one can understand.

47. #47 by JJx on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 2:29 pm

The thing I find odd about DAP is that despite all its talk about Malaysian Malaysia, the party still conducts or acts as if it is a chinese party. Go to any DAP ceramahs, you will find the language used is Mandarin despite the fact that there are other races in the crowd.

How can one be a Malaysian first and a chinese 2nd when one’s actions are inconsistent?

48. #48 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 4:05 pm

If there is a question to be ask to Muhiyiddin, as education minister, its can Najib do matematik in English?

A couple of months ago, when he announced a 10% first quarter GDP growth, he said for the year, whiile Bank Negara project 4.5% growth, he think it can go 2% more better. He then go on to announce 10th Malaysia plan with a projected average GDP growth of 6%.

If we started the year with a bang and still ended up at 4% for the year, how to get 6% this year and all the years of 10th Malaysia Plan? Even budak kecik kampung knows the matematik don’t add up. Najib study in England, his matematik also not good?

49. #49 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 4:14 pm

Soooo you can launch personal attacks and we cannot…supposedly cintanegara fella.
    Lets make a deal…you F PR…we F you…okey dokey?
    And wonderful AhPek have said it all.
    You utter totally nonsense…and call that “intellectual” stuffs?
    You call me monster…what are you man…..moo hoo yoon da…choon da look-a-like?

50. #50 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 4:24 pm

What you are saying dawsheng is better to keep voting UMNO B in than test a new devil..is that it?
    Have you understood Philippines…Indonesia…and certainly Singapore….forward for the better?
    Yes..if all voters think like you…very good.
    Voters are most powerful and should decide.
    While few UMNO B are preparing themselves to be in the opposition after 13th GE…how do you conclude…how come they are thinking like that?

51. #51 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 4:30 pm

GEORGE TOWN, July 6 — Putrajaya has spent only RM9,600 in George Town annually for the past three years despite it being a World Heritage site since 2008, Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng revealed today.

If we divide RM9,600 by the population of Georgetown, say, 500,000, then each citizen of Georgetown would have got RM0.02! Heck, it’s only 2 sen. Rounded up at supermarket, it’s ZERO!

Vote DAP and PR next GE.

maybe, DAP ADUN should resign so that Najib can give RM50 million for Georgetown, eh? To fish for votes. But he will get nothing. And Georgetown will get RM50m.

52. #52 by BoycottLocalPapers on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:05 pm

Under 1Malaysia, I didn’t ask too much as I did not expect to be treated equally with the Malay.

All I ask of the PM is to give the left-over money for education to the Chinese and the Indian instead of giving it to the Palestinians.

Why under 1Malaysia, the Palestinians are more important than the Chinese and the Indians?

Why can’t you give that left-over money to the Chinese & Indians instead of giving it to the Palestinians?

As a second class citizen of Malaysia, I am very jealous. If you wanted to treat non-Malays as second class citizens, I can understand. But if you are treating the Palestinians better than fellow Malaysians, then this injustice I will never understand.

I hope someone can enlighten me, why under 1Malaysia, the Palestinians are much much more important than fellow Malaysians.

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:13 pm

Malaysian is Nationality, Malay or Chinese is Ethnicity (race). When someone asked, “what are you?” it depends on who’s audience and context.

Overseas, Muhyiddin will probably answer along nationality lines that he’s Malaysian.

In rural Malay heartland of Parit Sulong canvassing for political support for UMNO and himself – and UMNO is a communal party fighting specifically for Malays’ than all Malaysians’ interest – he would proceed on Ethnic/racial lines and say he’s Malay first. That’s because UMNO is a communal party.

However PKR PAS and DAP are not ideologically based on communal lines (though their membership may be based on more of one race).

Hence its easier for any of the politicians in PKR PAS and DAP to say he’s Malaysian first and race second because each of these Opposition political parties is not communal based but ideologically is more akin to Rakyat based.

When Opposition made resounding gains in last election, the ruling coalition sought to recover lost support by hijacking what it thought was the inclusive formula underpinning success of the Opposition and hence came up with “1 Malaysia” motto premised on inclusiveness of all Malaysians – forgetting that it may be mis-suited by reason of the main parties within BN being still communal in political agenda and appeal.

One can’t pretend to be Cinderella for all the talk of being her when one’s foot does not fit her shoe.

That’s why BN’ honchos get caught in dilemma when asked this question, whether they are Malaysian first and race second and they couldn’t say so.

Kedah Gerakan Youth could rap Muhyiddin for considering himself a “Malay first, a Malaysian 2nd only because Gerakan is by political ideology not race/communal based…

These are the reasons why BN’s main parties, being race based, are anachronistic because the BN’s ideology of 1 Malaysia (hijacked from Opposition) is ahead of and not consistent at all with their traditional race based agenda and appeal.

When strategic advisers to BN formulated “1 Malaysia” they might not have given sufficient thought of how this goal will contradict the communal character and politics of their clientele (BN) that has not yet changed in tandem with that motto that ultimately makes it a butt of jokes from the contradictions arising.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:32 pm

The other part is race based patronage system has over 50 years of communal politics spawned a legion of political and corporate interest in government’s largesse, contracts and licences – in short a web of vested financial interest which will suffer and possibly unwind if inclusive politics under Pakatan Rakyat’s banner were to win election and power.

These vested interests are bent on keeping Malaysia under the race based pecking and patronage political/economic order – and are opposed to ‘1 Malaysia’ as it threatens their interest.

Out of respect for PM, these vested interests will give 1 Malaysia only lip service but are all out to undermine it if it were seriously implemented.

Its not the Opposition that oppose 1 Malaysia.

55. #55 by Loh on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:38 pm

Chua Soi lek said that even if PR controls the federal government grievances of non-Malays would not go away. CSL used Mamakthir’s logic that all communities should not be contented with government policies because it is then fair to all of them. Mamak of course lies through his teeth because he pretends to be more Malay than and Malay and he wants Malays to take advantage of others. He encouraged Malays to prevent other communities from progressing even when they do so at no expense to the Malays. Mamak uses the argument that Malays would then be left behind, as if life is a continuous comparison and Malays should always be jealous of the well being of other communities. Mamaks wants other communities to remain backward, and CSL thought that Mamak has given him the right argument to hide the weaknesses of MCA in allowing UMNO to dictate to them.

CSL said that even though UMNO government has pampered Malays and yet demand for more handouts came from Malays, and hence UMNO is expected to respond to such demands. CSL conveniently pretends not to realize that if one can get anything free by just demonstrating, without any respect for fairness, he will continue to demand. The Malays continue to demand because UMNO continue to feed them at the expense of the weaker communities. That happens now because MCA could not tell UMNO leaders that they have to tell the Malays to be fair, over the past five decades. In fact, UMNO leaders were leading the Malays to project whatever image they choose. UMNO leaders went on stage of its AGM to wave the KRIS and chanted May 13 and then we hear statement from the lesser leaders to tell non-Malays to get lost. It is because MCA leaders wanted to stick with the UMNO government for their own benefits that they dared not tell UMNO the truth. Worse, by being part of the government MCA gave the wrong impression to foreign investors that non-Malays, liked Mamak had said, approved of the racial-discrimination policies, and some believed that there is political stability. CSL said that even if PR comes to power, the situation cannot change.

CSL forgets that UMNO and BN government has proven for the past 50 years that it practices racial discriminating policies. That would continue forever. PR has not been given a chance to prove that it cannot do better. Even if PR cannot change the situation for whatever reasons why should MCA and UMNO have the monopoly of presiding over the failed state? MCA days in government are numbered, because BN will lose the next GE.

It is expected that PR federal government would call those involved in PKFZ to answer for their ill gotten gains; new gaming licenses would be given only to non-profit institutions and toll ways would be nationalized.

56. #56 by AhPek on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:48 pm

So what you are in fact saying is that Jibby has landed himself with a catch 22 problem whereby if he is saying he is Malaysian First,Malay 2nd he is in shit street without a shovel with his rural malay constituency,and if he is saying he is Malay First and Malaysian 2nd then he has a problem with the non Malays which of course is a lesser problem but nonetheless a problem if he also has to depend on their votes to win.
    So the best course of action would be to treat 1Malaysia for its sloganeering value rather than use it as a policy considered important enough for implementation to
    promote fairness with an eventual goal to reach unity amongst all Malaysians to face the global challenge.

57. #57 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:50 pm

Funny thing is happening in Malaysia especially among the malays/muslim people for instant you see arab turned malays trying more than pretty hard to be malays,local malays trying their level best to be liken arabs and of course you also have mamak trying to be real malays. Wondering how on earth these people don’t have any shame to act and live so superficially and still boosted around that they are holier that thou.

58. #58 by Loh on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 6:16 pm

BoycottLocalPapers :
    Under 1Malaysia, I didn’t ask too much as I did not expect to be treated equally with the Malay.
    All I ask of the PM is to give the left-over money for education to the Chinese and the Indian instead of giving it to the Palestinians.

The MCA leaders who participated to help Malaya gain independence in 1957 had exactly the same thought which has landed this place to be a failed state. It is worse now than during colony days when the people could at least be assured of rule of law and public security.

The call for equality is not to deny the poorer Malays the opportunity to avail themselves of government assistance. If government assistance is given out based on needs then poor Malays would benefit without NEP and the claim that NEP is needed to look after poor Malays in rural areas is not tenable. It means that the government servants, paid through public funds, are required to ask questions to assess to decide who are qualified for assistance rather than to base it on the name of the person. It is an operational detail rather than policy. In fact it is because the Federal Constitution took the short cut of helping the poor by grouping them by race that has caused problems of racial segregation in this country. When one enjoys unfair advantage one would not give it up even out of pride!

It is bad enough that some political parties in the country have been established based on race or religion rather than on policies. When government policies give unfair advantage to certain race, the race-based party converts itself into a secret society.

Government services should be independent of political parties, as in all developed countries. When most government servants become active members of a political party government services become an extension of political party. When there is racial inequality, then government policies are implemented with racial biasness. In fact even in the provision of personal services such as in government hospitals, race is a factor that affects the services rendered as perceived by the recipients.
    There cannot be unity without equality. It would be cheaper to make the country united than to acquire more scorpene submarines; that assumes the submarines are really needed for defense as though there were threats across the South China sea, or the Malacca strait.

Race politics poison the society, and it is not limited to the 30% target under NEP which has always been a convenient excuse that the target had not been achieved when the government either doctors the statistics or denies outright the need to evaluate the true situation.

59. #59 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 6:54 pm

Cintanegara says that some of us are not intellectually his type….he says he wants intellectual debate. I think we can debate properly if he gets UMNO to repeal the ISA. I can debate with Moo-hee-din or even with Ibrahim Ali, anywhere, anytime. In the meantime, cintanegara, can you answer the simple question posed by LKS:

Are you Malay first or Malaysian first ? I can tell you now that wherever I go, I tell people that I am Malaysian first, and Chinese second. If you can do the same, then at least we have some basis for intellectual debate. If you can’t, then you deserve to debate with the UiTM undergraduates.

60. #60 by somaris on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 9:08 pm

Dear LKS,
    Im just a simple person and i love my country.I agreed with Boycottlocalpapper. Why they care for palestine people than the All malaysian people who needs money for study and the poor people like the Indians need a lots of help from the Goverment.its our money they are using from the taxes,We Malaysia come first than others. Iam so angry for that such a stupid Goverment that we have. To all MALAYSIAN come GE Kick those BN UMNO out for good. We are the power of the people not them. so better run the country well or else go to hell.
    May God BLESS U and UR FAMILY YB

61. #61 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 9:12 pm

That’s telling off that upstart cintanegera….Godfather.
    Me monster to him…not intellectually enough.
    Infact..all are not intellectually to him..except ekan and one more.
    He is insulting ALL!!!
    {deleted}

62. #62 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 9:36 pm

If the UMNO leadership were to come together and publicly proclaim that they are Malaysian first and Malay second, then this issue would be put to rest. Instead, we have the majority of UMNO leaders pretending to be deaf and dumb when cornered on this issue. Only Moo Hee Din had the decency to say what he really felt, but the rest were just spineless.

Is 1Malaysia only meant for non-Malays ? Is it a test of allegiance for the pendatangs ? Can we just drop this charade if UMNO doesn’t believe in it from the start ? Why extend APCO’s contract if their work on 1Malaysia was never going to fly ?

63. #63 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 10:02 pm

Ultimately, Najib’s 1Malaysia is to fish non-Malay votes.

64. #64 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 11:52 pm

We are already Malaysians after merdeka.
    It is UMNO B trying to split Malaysians .to divide and rule and apply the lowest class of race and religion politics to make sure Malays stay backward and depend on UMNO B.
    Successfully doing that…Mahathir embarked on stealing billions….from Malaysians with the Malays being programmed it is not sinful and not stealing from Malays..but other races..to help Malays.
    As usual…a devil is a devil and those Malays that does not pleases him…joining PAS and other parties opposing UMNO B are all being side lined.
    22 years passed by .
    The 12th GE shocked UMNO B and Najib applied “1Malaysia” to try his luck to fool Malaysians.
    All he did fooled are school children and innocent non voting youngsters.
    “1Malaysia” was a way to accept a Malaysian Malaysia concept…with a twist.
    As UMNO B will always be a party for the Malays….the “1Malaysia” simply have no logic.
    Najib did say unity by diversity…meaning to divide to rule….which is exactly what they are doing all along.
    Not working ..this unelected PM…is out to make deals with Malaysians.
    The fact that MACC sees nothing wrong with that proves UMNO B is truly corrupted to the core.
    And for corruptions…when have Najib ever admit and wrong doings by UMNO B.
    He cannot admit corruptions…nor will any UMNO B ministers..past and present.
    Yes….corruptions is the major decision for voters to decide in 13th GE…to get rid of it or support it to be prepared to be slaves to Najib…when the country’s wealth all stolen..and oil is dried up…in a matter of maximum 15 years.
    “1Malaysia” will flourish when all are beggars to the devils.

65. #65 by monsterball on Wednesday, 7 July 2010 - 12:11 am

What say you…cintanegera?
    Monsterball plenty smart….correct?
    hi ….you want a debate….Godfather will take you on.
    You want to insult…..I will take you on.
    So choose.

66. #66 by dagen on Wednesday, 7 July 2010 - 8:21 am

Boycott Local Paper remarked above

“I hope someone can enlighten me, why under 1Malaysia, the Palestinians are much much more important than fellow Malaysians.”

Ans: Palestinians are much much more important than non-umnoputras.

67. #67 by k1980 on Wednesday, 7 July 2010 - 2:34 pm

How was your golf game, dear?” asked Rosma.

“Well, I was hitting pretty well, but my eyesight’s gotten so bad I couldn’t see where the ball went.”

“You are getting old, Jib!” admonished his wife, “Why don’t you take Hathir along?”

“But he’s eighty-five and doesn’t even play golf anymore,” protested Jib.

“But he’s got perfect eyesight. He could watch your ball,” Rosma pointed out.

The next day Jib teed off with Hathir looking on. Jib swung, and the ball disappeared down the middle of the fairway.

“Do you see it?” asked Jib.

“Yup,” Hathir answered.

“Well, where is it?” yelled Jib, peering off into the distance.

“I forgot.”

68. #68 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 7 July 2010 - 4:02 pm

Welcome 2 d racist land
    D racists refuse 2 admit they r racists but readily label others as racists

69. #69 by johnnypok on Sunday, 11 July 2010 - 1:39 pm

If the cow knows how to talk, Jesus will come down.

70. #70 by good coolie on Sunday, 11 July 2010 - 2:16 pm

I am a human being first and then a Malaysian.
    I am a human being first and then a Christian
    I am an Indian first and then a Malaysian.
    Muhyddin is a Malay first, then a Malaysian.
    He’s a human being first then a Muslim.

Let’s not split hairs on this. I don’t see why this natural order of progression (human being, race, religion, nationality …) should indicate that one is less in any of his parts or nature.

Lim Kit Siang is the old-world Malaysian. Perhaps he is a Malaysian rarely conscious of his or others’ race. We could all wish we were like him.